A Sentimental Journey B&B Reviews

Overall
4.4

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Services4.4
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Dining4.1

Score Breakdown based on
36 Reviews

Write A Review

Great B&B

5 on May 06, 2014

My Children and I stayed at A Sentimental Journey B&B this past April. The place is a treasure trove of interesting memorabilia! It is kept very clean and my kids said the beds were so comfortable. The rooms were all a very nice size and decorated beautifully It's in a fantastic location within easy walking distanec to town and many attractions. The owners of this B&B are some of the nicest people I have ever met. They're very friendly and accommodating. We arrived at 10pm and they couldn't have been nicer about getting us in the house. They can tell you anything you need or want to know about Gettysburg and go the extra distance to make your stay comfortable and memorable. It's a 5 star accommodation at a very affordable price. Highly recommended!


Had a great time

5 on August 30, 2013

Loved it


Extremely Happy, Perfect Spot

4.8 on May 14, 2013

The bed was slightly stiff for my preference, but everything else was beyond my expectations.


Our Favorite Place To Stay

4.0 on August 27, 2012

My husband surprised me a few years ago with a trip to Gettysburg and a night in a B&B. He really didnt know what he was looking for and at the time we went, it was hard to find a place. He happened to get a room at Sentimental Journey and the rest is history. We love it and have been back multiple times since! The location is perfect for what we like to do an see. The atmosphere is cozy and friendly. The owners are wonderfully accomidating. And the open kitchen was a joy. And the glider on the front porch is the perfect place to relax in the evenings. We live close enough to G-Burg to make day trips throughout the year. However, we always schedule at least one overnight stay and it is always at Sentimental Journey.


Great first floor entrance

3.8 on November 19, 2011

We stayed here in late July 2010 during the week. A neat place. Proprietors were great and were helpful. I thought I was back in the 1940's. Will stay here again.


A home away from home

5 on August 07, 2011

We visit Gettysburg often. The Sentimental Journey is our favorite place to stay. Barbara and Steve are gracious and warm innkeepers. Our stays are always memorable.


Family friendly

4.4 on July 26, 2011

We own a B&B in Ohio & like to try other B&Bs. The historic inn was decorated beautifully. The innkeepers were very friendly & helpful. Everything was very convenient including their system for check in, keys, breakfast room & check out. The bedding was very comfortable & made our stay even more enjoyable. The breakfast room was surprisingly very well stocked & a neat idea as opposed to a full breakfast.


Lovely Stay

5 on July 18, 2011

We have stayed at this B&B several times now. The rooms are all nicely decorated and are always very clean. Barbara and Steve are friendly and help to make sure that we have a relaxing stay. The location is great, as you can just walk to many of the Gettysburg attractions.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for staying with us and leaving such a nice review on the inn!


super B&B mit einmalig netten Besitzern!

4.8 on June 16, 2011

Wir haben nicht vorher gebucht, sondern haben spontan an Barbara Tür geklopft und sind sehr freundlich empfangen worden. Wir haben zwei Nächte dort verbracht. Die Zimmer sind individuell und liebevoll gestaltet und sehr sauber! Die Atmosphäre ist freundlich und ungezwungen. Auch die Zimmerpreise sind absolut in Ordung. Leider gibt es kein warmes Frühstück, aber der Speiseraum (eine Küche im Stil der 50er Jahre) ist stets gefüllt mit Leckereien wie donuts, muffins, Joghurt usw. Es ist als wäre man bei Freunden zu Besuch! Vielen Dank für diese Gastfreundschaft!


Great for a Quiet Getaway

3.8 on June 13, 2011

Went here for a yearly girlfriend getaway. Upon walking through the door you feel like you have stepped into a WWll era home, which is a surprising change for a Gettysburg B&B. The rooms are tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. The innkeepers are very gracious and helpful. They do not live on premises, but make sure you have their 24-hour cell number. Breakfast is on your own from their kitchen which is stocked with pastries, cereal, juices, coffees and snacks and open 24 hours. The bed was extremely comfy. Parking is in the back of the building, off the street. Everything in the town of Gettysburg is within walking distance. All in all, this was a very nice B&B with a great value for the convenience of the location!


Gettysburg Getaway

3.4 on May 24, 2011

No hot breakfast, but kitchen always well-stocked Innkeepers are very nice, very friendly Charming decor EXCELLENT location


Sole weekend getaway

4.2 on November 27, 2010

Love the room decor. Staff was very friendly & unobtrusive. Location was perfect in relation to what we wanted to see!


Wonderful step in to yesterday!!!!

4.0 on November 19, 2010

We stayed there for a night on Veteran's Day of this year and absolutely fell in love with the charm of the place! Barbara was very friendly while she took us to our room and showed us the house. It really was like stepping back into the 40s! The location was excellent because we were able to walk to the Farnsworth house for dinner and then down the street to a diner the next day. The house was mostly empty so we could see the other rooms. It was quite cozy in our room. Some people get all hung up on room service and want mints on their pillows, but not us! Sentimental Journey was just like going to spend the night at a friend's house. We just made ourselves at home and enjoyed our stay. We would DEFINITELY go back!!


A Sentimental Journey B&B

4.6 on October 20, 2010

Wonderful inn with 24 hour kitchen -- all rooms decorated in period style. Innkeepers could not be more helpful.


A pleasant spot in a great location

4.0 on October 17, 2010

We came up from Northern VA for a quick visit to Gettysburg Battlefield & its environs. Just needed a simple spot to rest our heads. We found it here. Easy walk to shops & restaurants in the square, comfy beds, plentiful coffee, tea & snacks available 24/7. Engaging decor & friendly innkeepers.


Lovely Stay

4.0 on October 16, 2010

I am most impressed not by the comfortable, pleasant guestrooms & living areas. I am most impressed by the amazing welcoming spirit of the Proprietors who proved that they cared about me even after I left. I mistakenly left a cell phone there. They looked for it, found it, and freely sent it to me so kindly! I was still on the road when I lost it, and the phone was waiting for me when I returned home. All of this says I will go back there again if I am in the area. You should go there too. - Margo R.


Delightful! Outstanding in its Price Range.

5 on June 01, 2010

Pleasant room, comfy bed, delightful and well-stocked come-and-go kitchen, warm and friendly hosts - we hope to visit again! Great location too!


A Sentimental Journey

4.8 on May 27, 2010

A sweet antique-filled room. Old-fashioned kitchen full of "free range" goodies. Excellent location in the middle of everything. Very nice people.


Just like home

5 on March 21, 2010

My husband and I stayed on week. Just like home, quiet, comfortable and reasonable. We were able to walk everywhere, and at night enjoyed the swing on the front porch. Will definitely return again!


ONCE UPON A TIME

4.8 on March 13, 2010

Many things make a place a wonderful memory, but it's a rare coming together of all variables, which end up making one place rise above others. Such was my experience at A Sentimental Journey during a son/ father trip. Cindy Codori-Shultz of Sleepy Hollow Ghost Tours invited us on this magnificent nostalgic journey. I knew she wouldn't steer us wrong with accommodations when I said I wanted something special and memorable. A Sentimental Journey is located in the heart of 'Ghost Country' near the Farnsworth Tavern and the Rupp House and up street from the home of my son's favorite Jennie Wade. It offers a refuge from the thoughts that permeate your mind after seeing the battle sites that cradle the town like a fist. When you walk through the door you've morphed back into the forties. I was instantly a child moving about Mom's living room examining all of the items that long ago vanished from my life. A climb up the staircase revealed my old stove, icebox and the Formica kitchen set where I sat every day of my childhood. It was filled with every possible comfort food, fruit, coffee, tea and hot cocoa. Walking the hall, I opened the door to find my Mother's bedroom set, piece for piece! It was a little unnerving as my Mom has been gone for many years and this was a trip for my son to see about Ghost's in Gettysburg. It would be just like my Mom to crash our private party. I awoke to discover my child had left without telling me. I ran down the hall to the kitchen where one has access to food 24/7. Near panic I went to Aces High adjacent to the B&B and found Steve entertaining my boy as if he was his own. He told me he had even gotten him to just look at the many models and detailed military memorabilia on display. If you like the personal, hands on, we really do care about you as people and think it has disappeared from America, I suggest you try A Sentimental Journey. International Press Assoc.


Peaceful

4.4 on March 11, 2010

I have stayed at the inn many times and I love it there. It is clean, quiet and it is within walking distance to almost everything. The price is right even in the summer months. I look forward to my next stay. Marcy - Point Pleasant Beach, NJ


Wonderful

5 on March 10, 2010

Always a great stay. Like being at home but treated like royalty.


Relaxing Getaway

3.0 on March 10, 2010

B&B was located within walking distance to everything we wanted to see. Was clean, friendly, had self-serve breakfast which was available all day.


Our Gettysburg Favorite

5 on March 10, 2010

Definitely one of the nicest places we've stayed in G-burg. We tried a more expensive B&B there and were not impressed. The continental breakfast is easier with a family and allows us to be flexible with our time.


A Sentimental Journey

3.4 on March 09, 2010

The location is centrally located with off-street parking. The theme rooms are a lot of fun, and the owners are great people. I definitely recommend.


A Journey Back In Time

4.8 on March 03, 2010

A Sentimental Journey to remember. Journey back in time to WWII era. This Inn is in town and convenient to all. Barbara and Steve are great hosts and anticipated our every need. We will definitely be back.


A Great Experience

5 on March 02, 2010

Great place, very friendly and helpful owners. Centrally located. All rooms bring you back in time. The 24 hr free kitchen is awesome..Enjoyed ourselves so much just made reservations again.. Everyone should experience "A Sentimental Journey" in time... Susan Olaschinez


Gettysburg Delight!

5 on March 01, 2010

Great place to stay, conveniently located, friendly atmosphere and hospitable hosts.


a wonderful journey

4.2 on March 01, 2010

My husband and I had a wonderful weekend and the house was very quiet and clean


Pleasant surprise in Gettysburg

5 on October 17, 2009

Convenient, clean, quiet, family friendly, great location


A Sentimental Journey B&B

3.8 on October 06, 2009

This B&B was charming with all the antiques in each room. We liked our room and the variety of breakfast food offered to the guests -- something for everyone! We had a nice welcome from the owner. We would stay again.


Great place to stay in Gettysburg

5 on April 23, 2009

Great theme rooms-can walk to many places-excellent job by Barbara- will stay there again.


Everything was great!

3.2 on November 20, 2008

The staff was very pleasant and helpful. My only criticism is that our room got very hot at night. We were not able to be in control of our own room temperature.


A Step Back in Time

4.4 on October 14, 2008

Excellent location for walking to many sites or with a short drive. Great value & most congenial hosts.


Sentimental Journey

3.0 on October 14, 2008

Our stay was pleasant and memorable. The couple who own the Inn were very friendly and we enjoyed our stay.


a very sentimental journey

5 on August 28, 2008

we enjoyed a peaceful sunday nite here. our 3 year old was welcomed here. great place to take kids of all ages.clean rooms and baths. breakfast table was filled with something for everyone.themes of the rooms had meant alot to me. great place for history buffs and proud Americans.


A Sentimental Journey B&B

Details

  • Nightly Rate $114 - $149
  • Reviews (36) 4.4
  • Rooms 6

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-7174200058

Visit Website »

View details

Top