The Fairfield Inn Reviews

Overall
4.4

View details

  • Guest room4.3
  • Services4.7
  • Value4.2
  • Cleanliness4.5
  • Dining4.5

Score Breakdown based on
148 Reviews

Write A Review

Best Bed and Breakfast ever!

5 on February 25, 2014

We stayed at the Fairfield Inn over the Valentine's Day weekend. It was like stepping back in time and absolutely beautiful and well taken care of. We were great very warmly from the moment we walked in. John was very nice and helpful in getting us checked in and even provided us with a bottle of champagne since it was Valentine's Day. We stayed in the 1757 suite which is in the old part of the house I can only say it was everything I thought it would be....so historic and well kept. The dinner in the restaurant was absolutely delicious and so was the breakfast in the tavern in the morning. John was extremely nice to lend us his touring CD for the Gettysburg Battlefields as well. Aside from the historic charm, I was very impressed by the cleanliness of the inn as well. I would HIGHLY recommend anyone to stay at the Fairfield Inn for any occasion or if you are just interested in sharing a part of history. Absolutely looking forward to staying there again!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your very kind words. It sounds like you two enjoyed yourselves, and I hope to see you here again soon.


Outstanding Staff!

5 on February 21, 2014

Inn Keeper was fabulous and very helpful. Stay was great and very cute.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your very kind words. I hope you will stay with us again soon. John


Hardman Wedding

4.8 on January 21, 2014

Our story began at The Fairfield Inn on May 8, 2013. That is where my husband proposed to me. The experience at dinner that night was so incredible we decided to have our wedding ceremony there. We communicated with John about a month before our wedding date. He asked questions and made several suggestions for us to consider regarding the ceremony and dinner. He emailed the dinner options so that we could get a rough estimate of how much and what kind of food our guests wanted so they wouldn’t have to wait long to be served. We met with John the week before our wedding to make the final preparations. The Fairfield Inn was decorated for Christmas, and with the snow outside, it looked like a winter wonderland! John asked if there was anything we wanted to change or add any of our own decorating ideas. John emailed us the day before the wedding to see if we wanted to have the fireplace lit for the ceremony and if we wanted to upgrade to a suite for no extra charge. The day of the ceremony we arrived at 1:30 (the ceremony was at 5:00). All the chairs were set up for the ceremony. John and the staff wanted to know if everything was to our liking. After the ceremony, chairs were put back and the tables were arranged for dinner. During this thirty-minute time period, guests were invited to the parlor where hot chocolate was available. Guests were also able to take a walking tour of the Inn. The food was excellent and portions were sufficient. During the meal, John gave a brief history of The Fairfield Inn. We spent the night in the Patrick Henry room. The room was beautiful and clean. Breakfast the next morning was delicious. The combination of The Fairfield Inn and its history, the snow, and Christmas made our wedding magical!! We have received only positive comments from our family and friends about our ceremony. Thank you to John and his staff for making our wedding experience a truly positive one.

Innkeeper Response
This was a lovely couple with a very nice ceremony. I wish them well in their future life together. John


Interesting and Historic

3.6 on December 14, 2013

The inn keeper and employee are great people and very personable. General Grumble Jones room had a lot of character to it. The diners were very nice.


Lovely inn

5 on December 10, 2013

Lovely inn and we will be back and ghosts made several contacts with me but I didnt mind them I'm used to it I was born a psychic medium and I am civil war reenactor so I expect it


Historic and Charming

4.0 on December 09, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here and it was perfect for anyone devoted to American history and pretty scenery. Its an easy, scenic drive from Gettysburg and the owners are kind and helpful. No its not super fancy but the sense of place and the opportunity to find yourself in a different time makes for the perfect vet-away.


Thanksgiving get-away

5 on December 02, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the J.E.B. Stuart guest room which was very nice. Terry the head chef cooked a delicious Thanksgiving meal and John the owner is a heck of a nice guy. We will be staying there again in the near future.


Americam Historic Tour of Pubs, Taverns and Inns.

4.8 on November 23, 2013

I do appreciate the ambience that I feel as soon as I enter an historic establishment. It was quite obvious that the proprietor has taken a good effort to maintain an American Icon. I will visit again as soon as my travels take me Gettysburg, Pennsylvannia, Victor Palo.


Charming Bed and Breakfast

5 on November 15, 2013

Such a wonderful place to get away to.


Great historic inn.

4.4 on November 05, 2013

Very spacious room with nice modern appointments, such as cable tv and functional bathroom. Staff very friendly and accomodating. Nice breakfast. Excellent place for a romantic getaway.


just needs a little loving...

3.8 on October 31, 2013

THE place is a great place for bnb .....The food at the inn was the best that i ever had breakfast was served hot and ready to go ,the dinner was just as good. food was served just like heared from other who stay there .. the rooms are very nice and big , they need to up date there beds and sheets a little ,knowing that they have a new owner it just needs a little time and loving, this place has a chance to be the best in pa bnb ... tony


Very pleased with the Fairfield Inn

4.4 on October 29, 2013

We have stayed at the Inn several times in the past and were hoping that this stay (our first time under the new ownership) would be as enjoyable as in the past and it was.


Historical

4.4 on October 19, 2013

The history of this inn is truly amazing. We enjoyed the welcome from John and the self tour through the Inn was very interesting and enjoyable. The brunch was very delicious and the service excellent. We had ordered a cheese platter for supper with a bottle of wine. John had emailed us in Australia asking as what type of wine we wanted. It was disappointing no wine was provided even though we had prepaid for the wine. The cheese platter was very nice. We had also emailed John and advised we needed to depart at 6am on check out and asked could we have a pre packed breakfast. I asked John about this again when we arrived. Disappointedly we were not given a pre packed breakfast even tho breakfast was part of the price paid. Otherwise a delightful historical lace to stay at.


Fairfield Inn October Stay

2.4 on October 18, 2013

Okay Inn; rooms are adequate but a few things left a sour note. Had planned for a wine and cheese platter in the room upon arrival; however, this wasn't in the room and had to wait about an hour or so to get it. I also found out I that they had to reapply for their alcohol license so no wine - but no discount for that was provided. Also, room cleanliness lacked a bit. Full trash can still in the room after housekeeping had been in; had a bath towel with a blood stain on it that should have been caught before it made it into the room. Won't stay there again. Not a great place for the rates they charge.


pleasant

4.2 on October 14, 2013

dirty towel on back of bathroom door, bathroom had only one bar of soap and was not real clean


September 2013 stay

4.2 on October 01, 2013

We had a great time at the Inn. We were visiting Gettysburg and the location was close to the battlefield. We'd stay again!


Surrounded by history

4.2 on September 28, 2013

We really enjoy staying at bed and breakfast inns to experience their history. The Fairfield Inn, with its 250 plus year's history, was absolutely fascinating. It is one of the oldest B & B's that we had ever stayed in, but it is so well maintained that any signs of age only add to it's charm. The staff was very attentive and the food excellent. We enjoyed ourself so much that we stayed a second time on our way back through Pennsylvania!


wonderful vacation.

5 on September 25, 2013

We loved our stay at the historic 1757 Fairfield Inn. It was so much more than I expected. The daily breakfast was tasty and filling. The Inn keeper is very pleasant and runs a great Inn. We had a few very minor issues and they were handled quickly with graciousness and humor. We ate at the Tavern there one evening and it was very delicious! The bedroom was roomy, the bathroom was clean and modern. The Inn had a lot of character . We toured the Inn and I loved all the twist nd turns and antiques. It had a great sense of history. We would definitely recommend this Inn. We were very comfortable there.


If visiting Gettysburg again we would stay here.

4.4 on September 06, 2013

We would most certainly dine here again! Our dinner was the best we've had in a while. Our room was much bigger than I expected; the bathroom alone was huge (J.E.B. Stuart). Service was great and everyone was friendly... Totally recommend staying here.


Loved it!!

5 on September 04, 2013

my Mom and I both loved our stay at The Fairfeild Inn. It is a very charming place full of history and very close to Gettysburg and other areas we needed to go to. Annette was just fabulous as a server and assistant inn keeper. she was always availible when needed and met all our needs. She even found peanut butter for my waffles!! John, the owner was fabulous as well. Mom needed a sandwich after the chef had gone for the night and he made one for her and didn't even charge me for it. It was these little things that made it even more special. We stayed in the Three Colonols room on the third floor. If you stay there in the hot months, ask for a fan to help the a/c's keep things cooler.


I'd go back again

3.8 on August 25, 2013

A welcome relief from staying in the hectic city of Gettysburg. We enjoyed out stay, although it was a bit strange staying in a bed and breakfast where the owners weren't there. That's a first for us and we usually travel and stay at bed and breakfasts or inns. Breakfast was good and the service was excellent! Definitely nice to stay somewhere that welcomes children of all ages!! Thank you!!!


great history

4.0 on August 11, 2013

A fantastic historic property. The staff was very friendly. We were visiting nearby Gettysburg, a 15 minute drive, and the Fairfield Inn offered a quiet alternative to more noisy places in Gettysburg itself. It was a very enjoyable stay.


Great stay near Gettysburg

4.4 on August 03, 2013

We wanted a B and B experience near Gettysburg, but more affordable than in-town options. The Fairfield more than met our needs. The short drive to Gattysburg was no,problem.


A wonderful experience

3.8 on August 03, 2013

A comfortable, friendly and incredible Inn. I will be going back! Truly a terrific experience! Thank you to the staff for making our stay so lovely!


Great location, history, and friendly service

5 on July 30, 2013

Highly recommend great Gettysburg story.


An experience of a life time!

5 on July 28, 2013

An unforgettable experience. We stayed at the 1757 suite which is suppose to be haunted. We didn't experience anything, but had a wonderful stay during the 150th Commemeration of The Battle of Gettysburg. Breakfast was to die for and the dinner Saturday night was especially nice. While enjoying our lovely Civil War dinner we suddenly had an unexpected but very entertaining visit of General Lee and wife. The staff and owners was super friendly and helpsom and we recommend a stay.


We love this Inn and will come again. Nothing like staying in a well kept facility that was built in 1757. The ghosts are very friendly also. I highly recommend this experience for everyone.

5 on July 22, 2013

Sandra Daniel South Point OH


nowhere else compares to The Fairfield Inn!

5 on July 22, 2013

This bed and breakfast is by far the best I have ever stay at! Everyone is very friendly, the rooms are clean and cozy, the food is amazing. Walking into the Fairfield Inn is like stepping back into history, can't even find the words to describe! It is close to Gettysburg, yet far enough away that it is quite and peaceful. This was my second stay and I would recommend the 1757 room though my goal is to stay in each room at the Inn within the next several years. I do believe there are spirits, yet in the 1757 room, it is comforting and cozy and not even noticeable to anyone not looking for them. The last time I stayed was in the Jeb Stuart room, in which, if you are the ghost hunting type, I would suggest that one.


Already Planning Our Next Stay!

5 on July 18, 2013

My husband and I were in town for the 150th anniversary of the Battle of Gettysburg and wanted to stay someplace "historic". Well, we definitely found it! From the pennies on the "wishing walls" to the claw-foot tub to the seemingly friendly paranormal activity...this place is great! Wonderful people and delicious food! Plus...they -unlike the local chain hotel in town that we spent the 2nd half of our stay at- did NOT seem to jack up the prices (almost triple at the chain hotel) just because of the demand for the 150th! Thanks for everything, John and Annette! - Tim and Connie Rohrer, West Bend, WI


Fabulous Fairfield

4.0 on June 08, 2013

Very nice time - other guests were very friendly and we had some good laughs together. The staff person we had the most contact with (Ass't.) was very helpful and pleasant.


Love this place, have stayed twice and will again

4.0 on June 05, 2013

The food is wonderful, the people are friendly, and the inn is beautiful - well worth the short drive from Gettysburg. However, I did have a bit of a bug problem in the room - I think there must be a hole in/by the window facing the parking lot in the Patrick Henry suite? Gnats -dead- all over the curtain there, and about a hundred little bodies in the beautiful tub as well. Live ones at night, as well as a wasp and a few stinkbugs (I hesitate to include these as the little blighters are everywhere, but I still do think they are coming in that window). I didn't get a chance to mention this to the staff, sorry, guys. Gave cleanliness a three because the bathroom bugs were a 1 but the rest easily a 4 or 5.


Two and a half centuries of history

3.8 on May 23, 2013

Fascinating historical inn. Because they had very recently changed ownership and their liquor license was pending, we were worried that my son's college graduation dinner might not be that special, but the chef and kitchen staff did not change and the food and dining experience were wonderful!


Don't miss this one of a kind place

5 on May 13, 2013

We arrived to find people in period costumes preparing for a wedding. There is plenty of room for every gathering and all beautifully decorated. This is a place to go for a true get away. The food was excellent particularly the country breakfast freshly cooked for each party. The hostess was engaging and made our stay unforgettable.


Fairfield B&B

5 on May 10, 2013

Our stay at the Fairfield was a very enjoyable time and well spent. The owner and staff were very friendly and saw to our every need or question. I would highly recommend a stay there and we are actually looking to the next time for us to go back.


fairfield inn

4.8 on April 07, 2013

The owner Saul had extensive knowledge of the area ....it was wonderful to be surrounded by so much history. We had the Easter dinner and it was great. We'll be back.


Great time

5 on April 05, 2013

Our host, Sal, was great. We did a tour of the Inn and had a great stay!


One of the best times we have had

5 on March 31, 2013

We can't give enough accolades to the Fairfield Inn and the Innkeepers. The Inn is amazing, full of history. The Innkeepers were friendly and full of information about the area. If we return to Gettysburg, we will stay there! Highly recommended.


nice weekend

3.6 on February 28, 2013

The staff was very friendly. We were sorry to see Andie gone but Katie was a nice replacement and very kind. Sal, the owner, stopped by our table to chat so it was nice to meet him as well. We LOVED the antiquity of the place and how that had been respected and preserved. This is the place to stay if you enjoy and love old, historic things. The history of the place speaks volumes and it is so great that the current owners respect that and have worked so hard to enable it to continue. I hope the new owners do the same, but I feel they will. Our only "beef" was that the air conditioners had not been removed in two windows and it was February so the room was chilly and the bedroom area took a long time to warm up. It made for good sleeping though. We had paranomal experiences in our room but nothing threatening...just prior lives intertwining with ours! We have stayed at 4 B&Bs in Gettysburg and each has it's ups and downs. The neatest thing here was the 250 + years of living that this beautiful Inn has to share.


lovely Inn

5 on January 25, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Fairfield Inn a lot and will definately be back to discover the rest of Gettysburg. The rooms were really tastefully decorated and clean. The Inn Keeper was just amazingly caring and above and beyond to accomodate our requests.


Overnight at the Inn at Fairfield

3.8 on January 24, 2013

we stayed for 1 night while visiting family in the area. The Innkeeper was wonderful and very accommodating as I had asked if there was a place to store our food and cold packs as we were traveling and had some food on the go. The breakfast was very good. Fairfield is a very quiet town and it was a perfect place to rest our heads for 1 night. We did not spend much time at the inn, but thought it was clean and comfortable. The heating system is a little loud (could hear the pipes rattling every time the heat came on), but small issue and really goes with the territory of an older building. Towels were nice and fluffy!


Beautiful B&B

4.6 on January 24, 2013

We had a great time in this amazing part of history.


treated like royalty

4.6 on January 15, 2013

we were treated very well. the first night's dinner was disappointing but the second night the regular chef was there and the food was amazing. we will be going back


Christmas 1860's Priceless!

5 on December 19, 2012

World class accommodations, quiet, relaxing, entertaining, affordable time travel to the 1860's. History abounds, I will be returning! We were the only "living" guests for two nights, but we were not alone. Doors opening and closing, talking in whispers and many footsteps but never anything visible. Not threatening or intimidating, just there! Not a negative but some guests could become un-nerved.


Like going home

5 on December 17, 2012

Staying at the Fairfield Inn is like going home. We love it there. While the rooms and food are outstanding it's the feeling of coming home that keeps us coming back. Steve and Robin


Great place to stay, charming, historical, and wonderful owners and staff

5 on December 09, 2012

My wife and I had made a reservation for the Inn's delicious Thanksgiving dinner, and decided to stay the night vice drive back home after dinner. The room was spacious, charming and very cozy. The bed was very comfortable as well; we were well rested after a good night's sleep. The breakfast was simply delicious, and server and cook couldn't have been more friendly. This was our second time staying there, and both times the experience was awesome. Fred and Susan


Very unique Historic Inn

2.6 on December 08, 2012

The Inn is very old and unique. Service and food were adequate and friendly. Enjoyed our stay but was not exactly what we were expecting from pictures and room descriptions on the web site.


Beautiful inn steeped in history

4.6 on October 12, 2012

We arrived on a chilly, rainy autumn evening and were welcomed warmly by the owners who personally brought us to our room. Let me just say that this inn is over 250 years old! Original hardwood floors, now with a distinct slope, covered with oriental rugs. We stayed in the Grumble room, named for a confederate general with a sour disposition, apparently. Big, comfortable, fourposter bed. Modern bathroom fixtures. A brochure on the antique vanity gave a self-guided walking tour of the inn and the historical significance of each room. After touring the place we realized that above us was a hidden attic room used for the underground railroad, and below was a parlor that had been turned into a field hospital after the battle of Gettysburg. Dinner next to the roaring fire featured chicken and buscuits, bean and ham soup, and pumpkin fritters. If you're into history and enjoy being pampered, you really can't ask for more.


The Fairfield Inn

5 on October 12, 2012

A lovely Inn; welcoming host; great facilities; staff friendly and very efficient.Will definitely go back again.


Quaint. European-like atmosphere.

3.0 on October 10, 2012

Very quaint bed and breakfast. It reminded us of staying in Ireland with the home-like atmosphere of the dining area. Rooms are very unique. You need to have good balance as most flooring is uneven in the bedrooms. There is a step up in our room to use the bathroom facilities. Possibility of literally falling out of the bathroom if you are not aware. Bed was very squeaky (noisy) with the slightest of movement. Enjoyed our stay. Staff very informal, nice.


1575 Suite 10/05-10/06/12

4.4 on October 09, 2012

The home’s beautiful. I say home (not b&b) because we felt welcome. We were greeted promptly, selected a wine, and Sal offered to help with luggage. The servers used the home's historic features to access our room before us, so we were welcomed with the wine and cheese tray. We added the wine tasting to our package and got lost (for an hour) en route to the winery. I suggest a map for guests not familiar with the area (RT 30 was confusing). That is my only complaint and it was no one’s fault. The winery was amazing. Upon returning, we relaxed in our room before dinner. When walking down the stairs, we were greeted by Sal, who asked if we "would be joining [them] for dinner". Again, we felt welcome in their home. Sal told us he would prepare a table for us. We took this time to explore the home. Sal found us shortly after and escorted us to our table. We had the Romantic Dinner for Two, and which I highly recommend. We sat at an intimate table with comfortable chairs. (I only wish they had been recliners after all the food we ate!) Everything from the soup and salad, to our entrees (St. Michael and their famous chicken and waffles), to our desserts (Hot Fudge Sundae and Fudge Lava Cake), and the service, was perfect. We left for the evening (Ghost Hunt) and returned after 2a.m. Sal gave us a house key, so it felt like coming home. We quickly fell asleep in the warm, cozy bed. In the morning, we wrote in the suite’s journal and had breakfast. Again, the breakfast was above and beyond any continental breakfast one might expect from a hotel. We were served quiche, sausage, fresh fruit, cereal and yogurt. Even the juice (pineapple-orange) tasted fresh. After breakfast, we took the self-guided tour of the home. There is so much history within those walls. While walking out the door, we again ran into Sal, and he thanked us genuinely for coming. We will definitely be returning.


The Fairfield Inn, early October 2012

4.6 on October 08, 2012

We used this as our homebase for our visit to Gettysburg, it was wonderful. The owners are very helpful and accomodating and the food was phenominal. Absolutely no complaints.


Beautiful Place, Loved the History

4.4 on September 27, 2012

My husband and I spent our anniversary weekend here, and we were very happy with our stay. Sal and his staff were very welcoming and hospitable. The Inn, itself, was beautiful with so much history and charm. It was like stepping back in time when we walked through the door. We stayed in the 1757 Suite after Sal upgraded us as an anniversary gift. The room was beautiful. The Mansion House restaurant was charming as well, and the food was delicious. All in all, we loved the Historic Fairfield Inn and would love to come back.


A good Gettysburg weekend break

3.4 on September 20, 2012

An overnight Romantic package with dinner, good value and a nice historic Inn. A patio for cigar smokers would be a nice add but overall a good experience


Anniversary Visit

5 on September 11, 2012

What a wonderful find and place to escape! I had booked the Fairfield for a single night after seeing a review on CNN and wished now I'd had time to stay longer. Just a short drive from Gettysburg, staying at the Fairfield is like becoming one with history. I have to admit, walking into a more than 300 year old B & B was a bit intimidating as I was almost afraid I'd break something! But Sal and Joan make you feel like family in their home. We stayed in the "Grumble" room at the top of the stairs with it's beautiful 4 poster bed. The antiques in the room gave it a very authentic Civil Ware-era feel. A modern bathroom provided a comfort our forefathers couldn't have imagined. There are far too many stories that have evolved around the Fairfield to tell in this review; Why coins line the walls and are stuffed in every nook and cranny -Of the spirits said to walk the halls and surprise unsuspecting guests. No ghostly visitors for us overnight as we sunk into the old bed.. but what was that which darted behind me while awaiting a delightful french toast breakfast prepared by Sal himself? Perhaps we'll have a closer encounter in our next visit to Fairfield Inn, which I pray is soon.


Friday night anniversary stay

3.4 on August 28, 2012

My wife and had a pleasant and quiet stay. Breakfast was awesome!


Second time as wonderful as the first!!!!

5 on August 20, 2012

This bed and breakfast not only has history and charm, it has a warm and welcoming staff who truly care about their guests. We will be back!!!


A Very Pleasant Stay

4.0 on August 19, 2012

We had a very pleasant stay at the Fairfield Inn. They made us feel very welcome and at home. Food was absolutely wonderful! We plan to return at least five more times to stay at each of the rooms!


Great place

4.6 on August 18, 2012

Great place to get away with that someone special. There food is awesome.


Outstanding!

5 on August 15, 2012

Everything about our stay was wonderful-- rooms, food, service, location. Highly recommended.


Amazing stay

4.6 on August 09, 2012

My husband and I were blown away by the food (both breakfasts and dinner) and the genuine friendly service we were treated to during our stay. We've stayed at quite a few B&B's but the Fairfield Inn was easily the best.


Great stay, lots of history, wonderful time

5 on August 02, 2012

Great surprise when General and Mrs Lee came in while we were eating dinner. What a wonderful couple they are. Great time on our historical tour of Pensylvania and Virginia. Tom and Suzanne Kimbrell


Great place to stay, my family and i loved it.

4.2 on July 31, 2012

From the minute we arrived Sal and Joan made us feel like we were part of the family. Didnt get a chance to dine here but it looked all good. Friendly, cosy. Recommended to all.


Will definately be back

5 on July 30, 2012

We enjoyed our stay so much we're sending my parents. The staff was very courteous, professional and informative about the history. The entire "feel" of our room and surroundings were very "homey". We'll definitely be back.


Wonderful Inn

4.0 on July 19, 2012

Charming and comfortably furnished with period furniture. Staff is exceptionally friendly and knowledgable about the area. Located only a few miles from Gettysburg, it is the perfect getaway location!


amazing stay!

5 on July 18, 2012

Had a great time, friendly staff, wonderful owners, extremely clean, awesome food! Can't wait to stay here again!!


Place of great history and character

4.2 on July 13, 2012

I wanted to stay in a place near Gettysburg that wasn't just another ordinary run of the mill hotel or motel. The Fairfield Inn fits this category in more ways than one; this is a place with a great history to it especially from the Civil War and before. The rooms were extremely clean and bear a strong resemblance to hotel rooms of the 19th century but with the modern comforts that we would expect today. In terms of price, it is great value considering that one would most likely pay more for the same type of accommodation in Gettysburg itself. The staff were wonderful and friendly. The restaurant served good food and is fairly good value in comparison with what one might find in Gettysburg. If you like a quiet location within 15 minutes of Gettysburg, with an illustrious history, and something different from just another motel or hotel this is the place for you.


Great stay at Fairfield Inn

4.4 on July 10, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the fairfield Inn . very friendly people. Very Clean. Would def stay again. Food was excellant.. Lisa


Birthday stay

5 on June 13, 2012

Stayed the night of my birthday. Had a wonderful time. Will have to come back again.


One of the Best!

5 on June 12, 2012

The only thing better than the rooms and service is the dining! Hosts Mary Lou and Andy attend to your every need, while owners Joan and Sal never let you forget that you are their guests. Do not fail to enjoy a wonderful dinner on at least one occasion. Faye and Ted Chamberlain


A quick getaway

3.6 on June 06, 2012

First and foremost, we would like to say that everyone at the Inn was so pleasant and made you feel at home, that alone would entice us to return. A little more effort should be applied to the carpeting in the upstairs hallway and some of the upholstered furniture, it is not too inviting. This is a very old historical building and will not sparkle like a Ritz-Carlton, but just staying in this building with such history is worthwhile especially if you are a civil war buff. Regarding the bedding, our mattress was not that comfortable, but we feel that with luxury mattresses and some high quality sheets, this B&B would be first class. Our food was very good and would return again, even if it was for dinner only.


Great Stay at The Fairfield Inn

4.2 on June 04, 2012

Quaint and historic. Has the character hard to find in our modern world. Would recommend to anyone staying in the Gettysburg area. Present owners are restoring all to original, and doing an excellent job. The staff is very friendly, in a genuine sort of way. All in all simply a great place to stay. Thanks again to the staff for the excellent service we received.


A fine Anniversary outing

5 on June 04, 2012

I wish to convey a huge thank you to the staff and owners of this wonderful inn. I surprised my wife with the 2 days away and that could have been a disaster, but the quality of the place, the food and the helpful staff and Andi's wonderful laid back demeanor made it a wonderful time. I have already recommended it to some friends, and will continue to do so. By the way, I knew nothing of the inn's "haunted" history, and I must say that learning of it made an extra amusement and fun twist to our stay. It certainly wouldn't have deterred me had I known. I think it is an enhancement. I also love the story and the tradition of the "wishing wall" Thanks again to The Fairfield Inn for a wonderful time.


Great Stay

4.2 on June 02, 2012

Stayed in the 1757 room and was nice to stay in a room that has much history.


Well worth going an Inn

4.6 on May 31, 2012

We had a great time for breakfast, dinner and our stay at the Inn. Everyone was so nice.


May 2012

3.6 on May 23, 2012

Nice place and friendly owners and staff. Bed was a bit uncomfortable and bird nest next to the window very loud. Close proximity to the Bluegrass festival which was great.


Grumble Jones

5 on May 11, 2012

The dinner and service was excellent. It was interesting to see how the house had been renovated to its current use.


What history!!

4.2 on May 10, 2012

The Inn was beautiful. The decor and renovations were fantastic, and the staff was so helpful, friendly and fun. It was relaxing and so interesting!


Fairfield Inn

4.0 on May 07, 2012

The food was great and the accomodations were as well. The Inn is very charming and overflowing with history.


Historic Inn takes you back in time

4.4 on April 30, 2012

Though the floors tilt at alarming degrees, and the stair railings sway when you touch them, there is no escaping the feeling that you are being swept away to another time.


Enjoyable visit

4.6 on April 18, 2012

Dinner at the Inn was exceptional, especially the prime rib. The paranormal history of the Inn added to the stay. The owners and staff were very pleasant and professional. Gettysburg is nearby. My wife and I enjoyed our visit and will stay here again.


Fairfield trip

5 on April 12, 2012

The hosts were outstanding!


Great Stay

4.6 on March 07, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and I have to say, nobody was haunting our room :-( Other then that, the food was awesome, the lamb was just great and service was excellent. We got a tour of the entire Inn, including rooms that haven't been rented out yet. Everything was very clean and the staff was very helpful with everything. We would love to go back and stay there during the summer months for a weekend.


Great Getaway for the Weekend

4.2 on March 02, 2012

My husband and I came for a short weekend trip and absolutely loved the Fairfield Inn! Its clearly cared for with love and the service was fantastic! We will definitely be returning!


Wonderful getaway that takes you back in time

4.6 on February 23, 2012

Romantic escape to another time. Wonderful restaurant. Stellar service.


Ready to go again

4.6 on February 08, 2012

We arrived on a Friday afternoon and Andie welcomed us immediately. She showed us our room and gave us a tour of the Inn. We loved it. My husband and I were looking for a place for a girls weekend...this is perfect. It's also for a couple to enjoy some downtime. We're already told friends about it. Ready to go again.


The Suite

4.8 on February 02, 2012

The service and people in the inn were wonderful. They were happy and cheerful to greet us and meet us. The dining was superb and all the food was extremely fresh. Thank you for the experience. The suite was better than could be expected.


Unique Find

4.2 on January 23, 2012

The staff was so accomadating and the dinner and breakfast was exceptional, a true historic gem.


New Year's Eve 2011

3.0 on January 21, 2012

We visited on New Year's Eve 2011. The ambiance of the Inn is very nice. The hospitality was wonderful. The room (Grumble Jones) was nice, very 1700's - which I expected. The bathroom was a nice upgrade. We brought a bottle of champagne and an ice bucket and glasses were quickly brought to our room to accommodate us. The dinner was wonderul. Entertainment, great - they have a Irish, Celtic group that performs once a month and they were terrific. Everyone in the owner's immediate family was present and made us feel very welcome. Andie - an employee there was the best of all. She was very welcoming and accommodating. A wonderful place to go. Near Gettysburg - which is a plus. The only compaint was the bartender. At first, I just thought he was the surly type, but quickly learned that he really didn't want to be there and was not shy about letting you know. It was New Year's Eve and I knew they wouldn't be staying open late, but he practically pushed us out and then ignored us when we returned from dinner. All in all, nice place and wonderful accommodations but need a new bartender.


Loved our stay at the Fairfield Inn.

5 on January 20, 2012

My friends and I stayed at the Fairfield in celebration of their birthdays. The service, food, knowledge of the area, and cleanlienss were exceptional. We are planning another trip to Gettysburg and the Fairfield Inn sometime in July of 2012.


Lovely B&B

4.2 on January 15, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Fairfield Inn. Would definitly reccomend the Inn to any friends visiting Gettysburg!


Fairfield Inn

4.0 on January 11, 2012

We had a wonderful and relaxing stay at the Fairfield. The hospitality and the food were fantastic. We loved being surrounded by so much history in such a lovely home.


Anniversary

4.2 on December 19, 2011

What a wonderful weekend We will return to the Inn again


The Fairfield Inn

4.8 on December 01, 2011

We arrived the Friday after Thanksgiving and stayed until that Sunday. If you love history and 18th century architecture, then you'll love the Inn. Yes, the floors slant and the the doors creak a bit, but Sal and Joan have done an excellent job turning it into a 21st century B&B. We stayed in the Grumble Jones room on Friday and it was wonderful. There is a four-poster bed and a updated bathroom. We had closet space, had we needed it, and our own thermostat. We mostly were out in Gettysburg and Adams County, and at night there were plenty of blankets to keep us warm. On Saturday, we moved into the 1757 Guest Suite, which was considerably bigger. It also has staircases down to the dining room, though they are thoughtfully kept locked and blocked. Still, it was wonderful to imagine how the original family lived 200 years ago. Andi was a big help. We left or keys and ran off, and when we came back, she had moved our bags over to the 1757. We bought the Romantic Get-a-way package and could order anything on the menu. Anything! As Sal explained to us, he hates to get a "deal" only to find out that you can't order this or that, so he decided that he wouldn't do it that way. We had a hard time choosing our meal, since we could see others' meals and kept saying, "That looks good!" And they were good. People, rooms, food - they were all great. We can't recommend the Fairfield Inn enough.


Amazing place! Great experience.

5 on November 23, 2011

This was a last minute weekend getaway and we were fortunate to get a room here. It was beautiful and the food was out of this world. Everyone was so welcoming and friendly, we really felt at home. This was our first stay at a B and B and we will definitely visit this one again!


Cozy, comfortable, charming!

4.6 on November 14, 2011

We love Gettysburg but loathe the bustle of its main drag. The Fairfield Inn is a little bit off the beaten track, but in the best way. We had a charming, restful weekend and we’ll definitely be back again soon. We stayed in the Three Colonels Suite, which is tucked up by itself on the third floor. It might not have felt so private if there had been someone staying in the adjoining room, but with the sitting room and large bathroom (clawfoot tub!) as buffers, we felt like we had the house to ourselves and didn’t hear a peep from anyone else all night! The room faces the road, but the noise wasn’t bothersome to me, but it’s something to keep in mind if you’re a very light sleeper. The heating system was also a little loud, but if you’re there during warm weather or not a particularly light sleeper, it’s no big deal. Have a glass of wine, take a bubble bath in that glorious tub, and Abraham Lincoln himself could wander around your room bellowing the Gettysburg Address and you’d sleep right through it. Now, if you’re looking for immaculate elegant surroundings The Fairfield Inn probably isn’t for you. The house feels as old as it is – it was built in 1757 – and the wobbly creaky floors are testament to that fact. It’s not a museum-type place, where you’re afraid to bump into a dresser because you might break a billion-dollar ancient Stickley masterpiece. The rooms are comfortable and cozily lived-in. You can peek around at the other rooms if they’re unoccupied, and the J.E.B. Stuart room looked a little fancier to me, but again, this isn’t the Ritz. Breakfast was simple and delicious, and everyone we encountered was delightful, warm, helpful and genuinely interested in our happiness. P.S. The “ghost tour” culture is huge in Gettysburg and Inn has been featured on Ghost Lab. I’m neither a skeptic nor an enthusiast, but there were a couple unexplained things that happened in our room. It was actually kind of charming, and not spooky or scary in the least.


5 Star Stay

5 on November 11, 2011

I can't say anymore than that. Not one thing I would criticize


Very Pleasant Stay

3.4 on November 07, 2011

I was upgraded upon arrival. One can't complain about that of course. I would say that it was a lovely experience and would recommend Fairfield Inn to family and friends. Only critique would be they need to make sure the room has been dusted, especially under a bed that is so high off the floor that you can see dust gathered underneath it. Also at breakfast during suitable weather there should always be a fire in the fireplace. That was a disappointment.


Wonderful Inn with outstanding service

4.4 on October 24, 2011

We celebrated our anniversary here and had a wonderful experience. Sal, Joan, Andi and family do a great job making you feel welcome and comfortable. Located in a lovely area close to the battlefield, the Inn has a good deal of interesting history with a window view to an underground railroad room! Rooms are well furnished and very clean. The dining experience was excellent. I would highly recommend this inn.


Fun Couples Getaway!

4.8 on October 12, 2011

What a great value and wonderful restaurant. I highly recommend prepaying for the dinner. The owner, Sal is a great host. We loved the history too. We WILL return!!!


2 nights at Fairfield Inn

5 on October 10, 2011

This place is beautiful and full of history. The owners have done a wonderful job to make sure you have a very pleasant stay. Their food is top rated as well. Great place to stay, and we can't wait to visit there again.


Our too brief stay at the Fairfield Inn.

3.8 on October 09, 2011

We only stayed one night - would like to spend at least 2 nights the next time. We stayed in the JEB Stuart room and were very happy with it. The beds were comfortable and I loved the whirpool bath. We were very satisfied with everything.


Fairfield Getaway

5 on October 06, 2011

the food at the fairfield was absolutely amazing! the service was as well! i enjoyed my stay and cannot wait to return!


birthday getaway

3.8 on September 29, 2011

probably the best B&B we have stayed so far in the Gettysburg area


Excellent!

5 on September 28, 2011

The owners and staff are extremely friendly and could not do enough for us. The food was excellent and the house was spotless. They definitely exceed our expectations.


Fairfield simply Fabulous

5 on September 27, 2011

Visiting Gettysburg we found the perfect Civil War era property. This is the most delightful, warm and friendly inn around the Gettysburg area. Andie, the Innkeeper made us feel like we were visiting a favorite aunt. She could have written the book on what how to perfectly run a B&B. Spacious rooms, f-a-b-u-l-o-u-s food, and an amazing history. (My parents stayed in J.E.B. Stuart’s room, used as his headquarters during the Civil War. We stayed in the 3 Colonels Suite, and didn’t want to leave!!!) To illustrate their service and attentiveness, they noticed I had thrown out my GPS (it broke on the trip) and they carefully retrieved it from my garbage thinking I had mistakenly tossed it. I cannot wait to return, for the Fairfield Inn is the epitome of the B&B experience.


BEST in Gettysburg

5 on September 21, 2011

Visiting Gettysburg we found the perfect Civil War era property. This is the most delightful, warm and friendly inn around the Gettysburg area. Andie, the Innkeeper made us feel like we were visiting a favorite aunt. She could have written the book on what how to perfectly run a B&B. Spacious rooms, f-a-b-u-l-o-u-s food, and an amazing history. (My parents stayed in J.E.B. Stuart’s room, used as his headquarters during the Civil War. We stayed in the 3 Colonels Suite, and didn’t want to leave!!!) To illustrate their service and attentiveness, they noticed I had thrown out my GPS (it broke on the trip) and they carefully retrieved it from my garbage thinking I had mistakenly tossed it. Wow. Make sure to eat in the Tavern for a treat. I cannot wait to return, for the Fairfield Inn is the epitome of the B&B experience.


This will be a favorite of ours!

4.6 on September 11, 2011

I booked this for a mid-week getaway for our anniversary. My husband was fascinated by the Inn's haunted reputation. The place is warm, inviting, and wonderful, located just 8 miles from Gettysburg. Sal and his wife Joan are fantastic, fun, interesting. They love to share information about their inn. Andi was terrific, very helpful with making our touring plans each day over our tasty breakfasts. We also had dinner 2 days at the Inn, we found prices reasonable, traditional fare was very good, especially the home-made soups and the pumpkin fritters! Dinner service was very nice, we enjoyed talking with the other guests, and our servers, Cindy and MaryAnn. It was great fun to exchange stories of what we'd seen and photographed with the other guests in the afternoons at the tavern. Many went on ghost tours and investigations, and my husband and I caught a few "orbs" in some of our photos, too! All in all, we had a wonderful time. We send our sincere appreciation to Sal, Joan, Andi, MaryAnn and Cindy; we look forward to coming back to visit you again next year!


Charming, historical, friendly, and a perfect fit for a Gettysburg experience.

3.2 on September 01, 2011

Extend your Gettysburg experience and stay at this charming inn. All unoccupied rooms are open for viewing, and each has its antique charm. See the very unique Underground Railroad hidden room through a viewing window. Enjoy a nicely made inn breakfast du jour. It is about 7 miles from Gettysburg. Kids are welcome, though not in the bar area (understandable) and there is no game room or pool, just fyi. Not a problem for us, though. Worth a one night stay upon completion of your Gettysburg visit.


The perfect addition to a history lovers trip to Gettysburg

3.8 on August 21, 2011

Great customer service and the meals were wonderful! Loved the history of the inn.


No Ghosts Seen or Heard

4.0 on August 15, 2011

We stayed during the last weekend of July '11 and it just happened to be the hottest. However, our stay at the Fairfield Inn B&B was delightful. Our room was overly heated due to the weather and the little air conditioner couldn't overcome the heat, but this was cheerfully rectified the next morning when a fan was found and put to good use in our room. The staff at the inn was helpful, polite and took the time to chat with you. We ate at the inn also and had delicious meals. The wait staff was eager to please and our food come hot and on time. We were told that ghosts have been seen and heard from time to time at the inn. Happily we didn't see or hear any. We will be back again to enjoy another stay and delicious breakfasts and dinners.


Memorable anniversary celebration location

3.8 on August 13, 2011

From the moment we arrived, our welcome was warm & everyone was friendly and accommodating. Jim was very helpful and took great care of us. We were at the Fairfield Inn to dine and stay overnight for our 26th wedding anniversary celebration. We enjoyed pre-dinner cocktails in the tavern followed by a delicious dinner. My husband raved over his rack of lamb and I had the roasted duck with fig......wonderful! The waitstaff was exemplary. The history of the Inn can be found throughout the home, with a complete history written to explain each room. Again, the staff was helpful and knowledgeable.....always prepared to answer our questions. Our overnight stay in a well appointed room upstairs was highlighted by breakfast the next morning. The Inn keeper and her daughters welcomed us, chatted with us and served us a delightful breakfast. We will certainly return to the Fairfield Inn. Would love to go back in during the holiday season just to see the period holiday decorations....and to try their "Infamous Chicken & Biscuits"!


Fairfield Inn

4.6 on August 10, 2011

The owners and innkeeper are very attentive to guest needs. The food is excellent. This inn is an easy drive to Gettysburg and a great place to stay away form the tourist hustle of Gettysburg.


Overnight at the Fairfield Inn

4.0 on August 03, 2011

I was looking for a romantic getaway for me and my husband. For us, the Fairfield Inn was the ticket! We stayed in the Three Colonels Suite. Now, you must take into consideration that the Inn was built in the 1700's. Knowing that, you will be expecting unlevel floors.....unlevel everything. But, we love that. We love the history of the Inn. We love the colonial feeling. The Inn was very clean. The staff was extremely nice and very helpful. We ate dinner there and it was very, very good. I ate my first pumpkin fritter! Delicious! I would highly recommend the Fairfield Inn!


Wonderful

5 on August 02, 2011

Sal was a wonderful host. From him carrying in our bags, to showing us to our room, explaining the history of the Inn and the delicious breakfast he cooked, it was a wonderful experience.


History and Happiness Was Made at the Fairfield

5 on August 02, 2011

The family-owned and operated Inn were nothing short of warm and charming throughout our stay. My fiance and I rode our motorcycle on our brief vacation and the Chardon family, along with their staff professional staff, made every moment count. Next year, we hope to take our kids to share in the history that makes up the region and especially, to show the children where history was made - and enjoyed. Thank you so much, Joan and Sal - you will see the Mitchell's again next year!


our stay

4.2 on July 11, 2011

the room was extremely neat and clean.we also loved it because of the history of the building.the people including the inn keeper and the chef couldnt be nicer.we would definately stay there again.


Loved this place!!!

5 on July 07, 2011

This was the perfect getaway for us!!! We loved the room and felt right at home. Only wish we could have stayed longer. We will be back!


great stay at the fairfield

5 on June 30, 2011

andy and her daughters were great,the staff were very pleasant and eager to make our stay memorable


Girls Retreat

5 on June 27, 2011

My girlfriend and I left out husbands and kids at home and went for a ghost adventure weekend in Gettysburg starting with staying at The Fairfield Inn. The inn was beautiful, the staff was super nice and spent plenty of time making us comfortable, getting us drinks, giving us a tour. Dinner was just great, I had the crab cakes my girlfriend had the chicken and biscuits. And our taping at night in the dark we picked up a male voice that said "hi" and nobody was in our room but us. That was just a bonus. Whether you believe in ghosts or not this is a wonderful place to stay. We will come back.


History Buff

3.8 on June 26, 2011

We loved our entire experience at the Fairfield Inn including dinner with our extended family and our room. However, we were disappointed about a couple things including the portion sizes of the dinner for the price and the fact that the tavern closed at around 9:30 PM and we weren't even able to get a night cap before bed-time. Of course we could have gone out locally, but we had looked forward to celebrating our anniversary all in one location (the Inn). :o( Overall, the staff was GREAT. Everyone was extremely accomodating. The food was delicious and the atmostphere was just as we had expected it to be - historic.


outstanding

5 on June 24, 2011

very personable attentive and sincere attitude regarding the desire to satisfy or exceed the guests expectations....


June, 2011

5 on June 18, 2011

This was our second visit to the Fairfield Inn, but the first time we spent the night. If you like to go back in history, this is a terrific place to visit. The decor looks as much like it did in 1776 as is possible. A very authentic place with historical background. The neighborhood is also full of historical architecture. Service at breakfast was wonderful. I can't recommend the Fairfield Inn enough!


Greatest place to stay.

5 on June 16, 2011

Every one was so kind you dont meet people like this very often they made us fill at home. The food was great,The rooms were clean, The dinner show was outstanding you dont want to miss it. I just want to say thank you to everyone at the Fairfild Inn for making our stay very special and thanks for all the memories we had a great time.


Very pleasant experience

3.8 on June 13, 2011

A very charming old house with an amazing history. The bedrooms are refurbished, but since the owners retained the original character of the house, the floors are crooked and some may be put off by the rustic feel (we were not). Try to get a room near the back, as the inn is on a somewhat busy street and the road noise can be distracting at night. The highlight of our stay was the graciousness of the staff, especially Andi and her daughters. They treated us as if we were family. The homemade breakfast was outstanding, and the mornings were peaceful sitting in the parlor drinking coffee and enjoying the quiet. We would definitely go back.


exceeded my expectations

4.0 on June 06, 2011

The Inn is beautiful and the owner and staff were friendly we loved the place and our next trip there we hope to stay again.


A Too Short Stay at the Fairfield Inn

5 on May 27, 2011

We have never seen, in this country, the unique combination of food, staff, and atmosphere that we found at the Fairfield Inn. We plan to return and have given glowing reviews to family and friends. Charlie Thompson


Wonderful visit

3.4 on May 23, 2011

Very friendly staff, we really enjoyed our stay. Lovely hotel.


Comfortable, Friendly and full of History

4.8 on May 14, 2011

We were delighted with the Fairfield. The owners, Sal and Joan, could not have been more accommodating; starting with the booking process, room selection and a few extras we wanted. We asked for flowers, wine and snacks in the room on arrival. Sal somehow found beautiful flowers on Mother's Day weekend and located our preferred wine. We stayed in the 1757 Suite, which is 250 years old, nicely redone and cozy. We looked at other rooms, including the enormous Three Colonels Suite, which has a balcony, more windows and would have been great if we had our kids with us. Some of the upholstery was old but it fit nicely with the house. Ditto the oddly fascinating parlor chandelier. We didn't eat dinner at the inn so we can't comment on that. We did, however, have good breakfasts, cooked at the time we chose and without delay. The bacon and scones were to die for. The free internet was a plus. The inn is about twelve minutes from the battlefield, further than some other accommodations. We thought this would be a plus because we'd be away from the crowds but it turned out to be a non-issue in early May. It might be nice in the summer though, when Gettysburg center is supposed to get pretty congested. But the key to our enjoyment of the place, besides the owners, was that it oozes history. Every room has a story and they'll tell you all about it. For us this was a deal-maker. We were there to visit Gettysburg's battlefield for the first time. We had the unique pleasure of being able to begin and end those visits at an inn that accomodated Robert E Lee and his officers after the battle ... and the underground railroad ... and... and... and. The history never stops at this place. That fit our agenda perfectly. So we were happy at the Fairfield and would stay there again. If you like modernity and 90 degree angles and dislike the eccentricities of old buildings, you'd probably prefer someplace else. There are plenty of such accomodations in and around Gettysburg.


Fairfield Inn Getaway

4.0 on May 12, 2011

Very enjoyable stay. The innkeepers were warm and hospitable. The accommodations were clean and comfortable. Would definitely stay at the inn again.


Old fashioned Hospitality with a very modern menu

4.0 on April 26, 2011

As soon as we arrived we were personally greeted at the door. The slanted staircase catches your eye first off, then the decore and squeak of the floor boards. You know you are stepping back in history. We were seated beside the fireplace and felt like royalty. Our meals were supurb. Highly recommend if you are looking for something unique.


great place

3.4 on April 24, 2011

The entire staff was very friendly. enjoyed staying in a historic place and touring the inn. I would stay here again.


Hughes April 15-17

4.8 on April 21, 2011

Thank you Jim for keeping the bar open on Friday night to accomodate my out of town party....and for giving us directions to take the back way out of town on Saturday so we could make it to the wedding despite the roads being flooded. We will be back! John Hughes Tucson, AZ


great experience

4.2 on April 05, 2011

Our room was very cozy and clean. The staff went out of their way to ensure our stay was enjoyable. We decided to have dinner at the Inn also and it was wonderful. Would definitely stay here again.


Pleasent time

3.6 on April 03, 2011

Except for the bartender (little cranky) in the tavern part, the staff was amazing. The food is always good and we enjoyed the live entertainment.


Home away from Home

5 on March 28, 2011

You know you've chosen a great place to stay & eat when everyone there makes you feel like family. Exceptional service. Dinner was wonderful, relaxing & definitely no stress. We originally booked the Patrick Henry room, but were bumped to the Colonels Suite. What a great surprise to us. The rooms & the entire inn are beautiful. We highly recommend anyone to stay here. We are definitely going to come back again.


Fairfield Inn- historic, charming, and fun

4.2 on March 17, 2011

It is the oldest continuously operated Inn in the country. The building is historic and extremely well maintained. The rooms were nicely decoarted and very clean. The best part was the tavern! -very cool!


Outstanding weekend getaway

5 on March 03, 2011

Planned a romantic getaway for the weekend. Room and staff were terrific and made our stay wonderful. Felt comfortable and at home. Would highly recommend and will return. Great value in the Gettysburg area.


Thanks for a great stay!!!!

4.8 on February 25, 2011

I'm normally not a huge fan of B&B's, but my mind was forever changed on this trip. The friendly service, cozy room (The Patrick Henry), and wonderful food were a real treat and you truly felt appreciated for being there. The Innkeeper, Andi, took great care of us and treated us like family. What a great place!! Oh, and did I mention the food? Not only was our dinner fabulous, so was our breakfast the next morning. We were expecting something light, but were served omelets, bacon, fruit, and toast. I highly recommend the Fairfield Inn!


Fairfield Inn

4.0 on January 22, 2011

We stayed on a cold evening in January. It was MOnday and the resturant was closed. Sal the Innkeeper took great care of us and we had the run of the B&B as we were the only guests that night. Full breakfast in the morning. This is a true old B&B and the rooms are true to their formaer era. If you are looking for luxury this is not the place but if you are looking for hospitaility and a pleasant stay this is the place.


Excellent winter escape!

5 on January 18, 2011

Wonderful place and people! History abounds. Our only regret is that we weren't snowed in and forced to stay longer!


Ambience and Charm Galore!

4.0 on January 12, 2011

My husband and I booked a last minute get away and weren't sure what to expect. We got the WOW factor the minute we stepped in the door. The staff bent over backwards, the food was fantastic, and the room we had was cozy and perfect. There is a great little walking tour you can take on your own that you will really enjoy if you like history- This is definitely one of Gettysburg's best kept secrets. We'll be back!


The good and...

2.8 on November 29, 2010

Overall, I wish to emphasize that I enjoyed my stay at the Fairfield Inn. I will start with what I liked. The staff was very courteous and attentive and the building has a wonderful history. The building itself has the potential to be fantastic, what with all its' tilted stairs and wide pine flooring. The food ranged from perfectly acceptable to quite good and was mostly in line with what I would expect from a reputable B&B. Service was excellent. And thankfully, I saw no ghosts. Now for the criticisms; having stayed at many B&Bs in the past, I was disappointed with the fact that the building renovations are something of a hodge-podge of appropriate materials and Home Depot bargains. For example, many of the interior doors were of the luan panel variety and Pergo flooring was used in the 1757 suite. Seriously? Pergo flooring in an historic 250 year-old building? While I understand the practicality of such decisions, I felt that it robbed me of the full experience of the Inn. I stay in such places because of their history and because typically, the Innkeepers/owners attempt to immerse you in the period. The Fairfield Inn fell short of this goal IMHO. At over $200/night, I expect an attempt at authenticity. As my final observation of the building, the 2nd floor hallway carpet was terribly dirty. I don't understand why you would want paying guests to note such obvious deficiencies about your Inn. May I also add that when a supervisor wishes to critique his or her employee, it should be done in a discrete manner and not in a public setting where dining guests cannot help but overhear. This was an incredibly awkward moment in many guest's stay (seeing the expressions of diners in the room). Sorry to seem so critical. Your Inn could be great and I would hope that you would make this your objective.


Another outstanding visit

5 on June 23, 2010

Our favorite place to stay in Gettysburg. Charming, friendly, and historic. The entire staff is great and the food is to die for.


We'll definitely be back!

5 on April 01, 2010

We recently stayed for the weekend at the Fairfield Inn, and loved every minute of it! I'd read previous reviews, and expected less-than-perfect service, but they exceeded my expectations by far! Dinner was exquisite, breakfast was fabulous, the rooms were beautiful (we were encouraged to check out vacant rooms) and the service was perfect. I want to mention, in particular, the woman who served breakfast and cleaned the rooms--she'd only been there 8 months, but seems a pro at the whole B&B thing! She was friendly and down-to-earth. She told us a lot about the inn and seemed eager to make our stay as comfortable as possible. I only wish i knew her name! I'd definitely recommend this inn to others--it had the eccentricities of a 250-year-old building with every modern convenience. Just perfect! :)


We slept in Genl Robert E. Lee's Room!

5 on November 17, 2009

We really did - We actually stayed in the guestroom where Robert E. Lee stayed! This place is unbelievable. You can sleep where Patrick Henry slept or eat in President Eisenhower's favorite dining room. We added on a getaway dinner package for only $39.95 per couple and had filet mignon dinners - no catches, no restrictions. We ordered anything we wanted. The innkeepers are very helpful and made us want to stick around and have a drink with them in the Tavern. The tavern is awesome too.. it has the largest fireplace I have ever seen and they even had a fire in it while we ate breakfast - very cozy and charming. The Inn is on the Confederate Retreat from Gettysburg and only 8 miles west of the town. It is so nice, highly recommended.


Historical and Beautiful

4.8 on May 26, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Inn over Memorial Day weekend 2009. It was a wonderful stay, everyone is so nice and the food was excellent. We stayed in the Patrick Henry suite; it is so beautiful. It is great that we could take a self-guided tour of the Inn to be able to see the other rooms and the Underground Railroad area. This is a great place to stay if you enjoy history.


Incredible history, Very impressive

4.0 on October 11, 2008

We were in awe at the homes age and history, it was a privelege to be able to stay in such a home. Highly recommend a visit here. Service and hospitality were wonderful, could not hope for better. The breakfast was very good and plentiful.


Historically Fabulous

5 on September 04, 2008

This is one of five Inns in America that has been serving people since the 1700's and it shows. Every detail was attended to. The dining room serves wonderful food from what General Robert E. Lee ate during his retreat from Gettysburg in 1863 to Rack of Lamb (which was unbelievable and priced under $35 for a full-rack!!!). We stayed in the Patrick Henry room which was delightful and filled with momentos from his stay at the Inn in the 1700's. His speach "Give me liverty or give me death" was available for us to take home. You can take a self-guided tour of the property and see where the run away slaves hide during the Civil War, but it is best to sit in the tavern and ask the bartender questions. We had a great time. We highly recommend this Inn.


The Fairfield Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $130 - $225
  • Reviews (148) 4.4
  • Rooms 6
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-7176425410

Visit Website »

View details

Top