Hamanassett Bed & Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
27 Reviews

Write A Review

Intimate Wedding Package and Family Weekend Stay

5 on June 29, 2014

My family and I had an amazing stay at Hamanassett. My new husband and I arranged to get married there through their intimate wedding package option and with that took the opportunity for most of our family to stay on site with us. The accommodation was lovely, the beds were comfortable, the breakfasts were divine and the service was exceptional. We felt that Ashley and Glenn were very accommodating and made our wedding day very memorable. The grounds were beautiful and even though we live close by we feel we were truly transported somewhere else. The small touches add to the stay as well and I know we will be going back routinely.


Fabulous Experience

5 on December 11, 2013

Luxurious accommodations, warm welcoming hosts, elegant home and grounds. Accommodated special dietary needs with no problem, perfect balance of helpfulness and respecting privacy. A perfect choice for those looking for a rejuvenating getaway.


Can't wait to return

5 on August 30, 2013

My husband and I spent our anniversary weekend here. Glen, Ashley and Corinne were fabulous. We stayed in the Windsor room which was extremely nice. The building and grounds are beautiful and welcoming and close enough to many sites such as Longwood Gardens and Winterthur. Breakfast was a culinary treat and my husband thoroughly enjoyed the homemade chocolate cookies each day. Looking forward to returning to this lovely B&B.


The Place in Greater Philadelphia

5 on August 01, 2012

For the last two weeks in May we had the great fortune to stay in the Meadows Cottage at the Hamanassett Bed and Breakfast near Media, PA. We needed to find a furnished rental/lease that would accommodate two adults and two older yellow labradors. Ashley and Glenn Mon go out of their way to attend to the needs of all guests. On a few occasions, B&B staff member Corine was made available to feed and walk our dogs. One day, yours truly allowed his wife to take off in the running Sienna without the key for the keyless ignition. A simple inquiry to Glenn evolved quickly into Glenn providing me with the keys to his LR3 Land Rover. Glenn didn’t even give it a second thought. There are many sights and wonderful place to eat in the Brandywine Valley. Glenn and Ashley are on top of them all and enjoy special relationships with many of the locations. Our time was otherwise occupied but we’ll look to them for help the next trip up. The cable TV and WiFi worked perfectly. There wasn’t any appliance, pot, pan or kitchen utensil we could think of that they didn’t have. Just bring groceries and you’re good to go. My one disappointment was that we only managed to make it up to the main B&B twice for breakfast. A reviewer from the New York Times had highlighted their breakfast and he was right on. Our last Sunday there we enjoyed fresh waffles with melted butter and Pecan Bourbon Maple Syrup. Ashley gave us the recipe. Hamanassett is a perfect place to come for a romantic weekend getaway from New England or Washington DC. Glenn and Ashley host special getaway packages that with room and board included are a steal. Periodically they have cooking classes run by a professional chef. We will definitely go back again, with or without the dogs. And if your travels take you to the greater Philadelphia area and you’re looking for fully furnished accommodations why on earth would you go to a Residence Inn or one of those suite hotels?!


Attention to Detail

5 on June 18, 2012

I had the most wonderful night and was blown away by the attention to detail. Ashley and Glenn Mon have certainly taken the fine art of hosting to a higher level. Hamanassett is located close to many wonderful sites and attractions, but we choose to spend the evening on our balcony enjoy the quiet splendor of the evening sun, and the view of a lovely garden and coy fish pond. The food was wonderful, and when you take into account everything that you get as a guest of Hamanassett, the price is truly a steal.


Exceptional place to stay

5 on September 19, 2011

We celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary at Hamanassett. Ashley and glenn could not have been more gracious or more helpful. Our room was beautiful, breakfast was fantastic, and we enjoyed the game room and the grounds. We have stayed at a number of very nice B&Bs in the past, but this was truly exceptional.


Wonderful way to spend our 30th Anniversary!

5 on April 26, 2011

We treated each other to a romantic getaway at this amazing bed and breakfast as our 30th Wedding Anniversary just so happened to be Easter Sunday this year. A very warm "thank you" to Glenn and Ashley and to their staff who are just as wonderful. The house is clean and inviting and the breakfasts are made with love. There is so much to see and do in the area and coming home to our beautifully appointed room where fresh baked cookies and a nice cup of coffee awaited was a very much appreciated bonus. We are sure to be back and will bring our friends with us.


Great Weekend Retreat!

4.0 on April 09, 2011

My husband and I recently spent two wonderful evenings at Hamanassett B & B. We had planned on visiting the orchid show at Longwood Gardens, and the proximity of this inn to the Gardens made it very convenient. Upon arrival, we were met by Glenn, who gave us a tour of the inn, explained the few basic rules, and made sure we were comfortably entrenched in our gorgeous room (with one of the largest bathrooms I have ever experienced in a B&B!). He gave us some great recommendations for dining, attractions to visit, and directions to same. The next morning we met Ashley, who served amazing choices of breakfast. We dined family style with the other guests, and had the opportunity to meet some very pleasant and interesting folks. Glenn and Ashley couldn't have been any more helpful, and we certainly plan on keeping their Inn at the top of our to-do-again list!


It Just Gets Better and Better

5 on January 17, 2011

In December, we stayed again at Hamanassett, probably our 10th visit. We're always eager to go back to Ashley and Glenn's hospitality and the beauty of the Brandywine Valley area. Each time we go, there is a new delight. Elegant and sophisticated, but relaxed enough to be very comfy, this B&B rates our highest loyalty. From the beauty of the house and grounds, to the luscious bedlinens, every detail is attended to. And the innkeepers are always willing to help you find new restaurants and great activities, bending over backward to make yours a wonderful stay. Hint: whatever you do, don't miss breakfast. It's divine!


"A Most Memorable Experience"

5 on December 20, 2010

Our heartfelt thanks to Innkeepers Ashley & Glenn Mon as well as their staff (Jessica) for a most enjoyable experience..... Not only were the accomodations superb but the welcoming surroundings made it all the more pleasurable. The daily epicurean surprises that awaited us each morning coupled with friendly conversation made for a truly home away from home atmosphere. Our four legged children Molly, Bingo and Belle also give high fives for a wonderful stay in the Carriage House.. Would we do it again..... You Betcha !!!!


I enjoyed your home.

4.6 on August 24, 2010

Checked in late Sunday 8/22. Everything went as we had discussed on the phone. Really liked the personal name tag on door of our room. Certainly not in the wrong room with that. Only problem was the window A/C unit right above our head over the bed. Keep the room cool-but cycled on and off all night (I awoke each time). Should switch to those units that have the condenser outside on the roof and only the blower in the room. Breakfast was superb!!!! The owner was warm and friendly. We will still come back some day (we just may ask for another room).


Everything a B&B Should Be!

5 on August 11, 2010

The inn and its keepers have lots of personality and charm. The food is fantastic. I got a lot of wonderful nights' sleep but was sorry to see my stay end so quickly. I can't wait to come back and bring my husband and friends to the Cooking School!


Wonderful Stay

4.4 on July 15, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Beautifully appointed home, service and hospitality. Wonderful breakfast, superb. Everything done right, would stay there again.


Outstanding B&B - you will be delightful surprised by it!!

5 on May 26, 2010

Ashely and Glenn were wonderful hosts. This couple understands hospitality! The inn was decorated beautifully. The grounds were pristine. This place is a rare find and a great value. The house and the room we stayed in (Devon) was like walking into another place and time. The food was GREAT! The best part was Ashley Glenn, as they went out of their way several times to make sure we had a pleasurable experience. Do not miss out on this B&B!!!! Thanks again Matt & Sandra


Do Yourself A Favor - Try Hamanassett

5 on April 29, 2010

I cannot say enough good things about Hamanassett - good breakfast, rooms charming and comfortable - but best is you hostess and host - Ashley & Glenn. Accolades to both!


Authentic

3.4 on March 23, 2010

The house was beautiful, with real 19th century details everywhere, antiques all around the house and breakfast was delicious.


Absolutely Phenomenal Service

5 on March 03, 2010

The Mon's know how to provide exceptional value and service!! Loved the property, ambiance and thoroughly enjoyed the stay. Would highly recommend the destination to anyone!


Highly recommended!!!!

5 on February 25, 2010

We were so pleasantly surprised with everything about this B&B and can happily encourage others to discover it for themselves.


Relaxing with execptional service

4.0 on February 18, 2010

Our stay at the Hamanassett was wonderful. Glenn and Ashley Mon (owners) were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast and afternoon treats were wonderful. Real fireplaces in the parlor and dining room are a real plus. Glenn and Ashley take pride in their business and it defiantly shows. You will not be disappointed in staying with them at the Hamanassett. The Inn itself was very clean and very historic. Our stay was very relaxing, and we look forward to visiting again.


A 'phenominal gem'!!!

4.8 on February 13, 2010

Words can not explain this gem of a B&B, nestled in Brandywine country, minutes away from Media and Swarthmore. We have had the pleasure of staying at Hamanassett many times over the last year and a half and hope to stay there a lot more in the years to come. With each room designed with a theme, the extreme attention to detail and Ashley and Glenn treating their guests with wonderful warmth, and a property in an absolutely magnificent condition, one simply can not say enought about Hamanassett...As parents of a Swarthmore student, we recommend this B&B highly to all parents, and a wonderful place to stay while visiting with our children. Without a doubt Hamanassett has become our home away from our home in Seattle and can not wait to be back...Must mention the stunning breakfast experience and we recommend you plan a long and leasurely (and extremely delicious) experience. We are delighted to learn about the cooking class and hope to attend one of the lovely cooking experiences (see the website for more information). We recommend this property extremely highly from all the B&B's we stay in around the world...


Best of the Best

5 on February 03, 2010

Absolutely fantastic. Our 1st B&B exp. & I don't think anything else will measure up. House and grounds are beautiful and close to all attractions. Can't wait to go back.


A sophisticated but relaxing haven in the Brandywine Valley

5 on February 01, 2010

I stay at Hamanassett Bed & Breakfast and Carriage House several times each year and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else. The Brandywine Valley is a small paradise of gently rolling hills, stately old trees, history, and hospitality and to me, the top-notch hospitality provided by Ashley and Glen Mon exemplifies the reason people love B&Bs. The house is large and gracious - beautifully decorated in a sophisticated but comfortable way - and well located. It nestles at the top of a hill, surrounded by meadows and a koi pond. From luxurious bed linens to top-level bath amenities, freshly baked cookies, a crackling fire or sherry on the patio - anything that makes you happy will be here. Best of all, Ashley is a truly charming host and serves multi-course breakfasts to linger over late into the morning. Hamanassett is an experience that will leave you wanting to return again and again, as I do.


Hamanassett

4.6 on February 01, 2010

A beautiful place to stay. Cozy bedrooms w/ everything one would need and special treats. Delicious food and friendly hosts.


Top Quality and Romantic

5 on January 04, 2010

We are B&B lovers and vets. Hamanasset is as good as it gets; outstanding in all aspects of what we seek. We have already been return visitors. We will continue to have this as first on our list for future repeat visits. It is high quality and romantic, as advertised. The rooms and common areas, with beautiful and antique furnishings, provide a warm and comfortable atmosphere, with more to discover in each additional visit. Everything is kept to the highest standards of maintenance and cleanliness. Breakfasts are a gourmet's delight. Most important, Ashley and Glen knock themselves out to personally serve and share. They see your need and do much more than could be expected. Hamanasset is in a great area to explore, whether it be Longwood Gardens; the Dupont residence (Winterthur); the Brandywine area arts and museums, wineries, Simon Pearce glass factory and store, and many fine restaurants; train day trips into Philadelphia; and too much more to list.


Nothing short of fabulous.

5 on December 30, 2009

One of the best B&B in the northeast! Incredible surroundings, food, and hospitality. Near all the the Brandywine Valley attractions but off the beaten track.


exquisite

4.4 on July 20, 2009

Lovely antique setting in historical home. Great attention to details, scrumptious breakfast, hosts go out of their way to give information and made one feel at home.


The Best!

4.8 on April 03, 2009

I have stayed here for business many times and gone back for sheer pleasure. (Swarthmore Parents: Definitely stay here!!) The house is beautifully appointed and maintained. Ashley and Glen could not be more generous hosts. Glen even went out to buy a DVD he knew we wanted to watch! The breakfasts are to die for (and you may, with a touch of butter and cream in everything); but Ashley will customize menus if you really want to stay on your diet. There is much to do right in and around the house - pool table, games, piano, grandfather 'clock' music box, etc. And then there are Longwood Gardens, Winterthur, Brandwine Valley Museum (think Wyeth) nearby. I can't recommend it highly enough.


Hamanassett Bed & Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $199 - $295
  • Reviews (27) 4.8
  • Rooms 7
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-6104593000

Visit Website »

View details

Top