James Manning House Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
41 Reviews

Write A Review

Great spot for R&R

5 on June 09, 2014

Beautiful home, delicious food, warm hospitality. Highly recommended.


Warm & Welcoming B&B

4.8 on February 07, 2014

We were guests at James Manning House this past October for the first time. My husband and I received a warm welcome from Warren and Janet (in spite of our late arrival). Since we were the only guests that evening, they were kind enough to upgrade us to the larger suite. Our night was warm and cozy with the fireplace burning. The highlight of our stay was the delicious breakfast and the warm conversation. We will definitely be back soon and recommend to our friends! L&B


Wintery Weekend

4.8 on January 26, 2014

We had a great stay at the James Manning House. We have come to that area for years and learned so much more about the history of the area, the eating in the area and some shops in the area. The hosts were so interesting to talk with and also interested in what we had to say. They accommodated our every need. I would go back in the New York minute. It was a great time.


Would love to move in

5 on July 10, 2013

My husband, myself and another couple stayed with Warren and Janet for our second visit recently....They are so welcoming and warm...seems like we returned to old friends or even family when you are with them...wish we could get there more often.....maybe we will.....


Absolutely fabulous

5 on June 19, 2013

We stayed at The James Manning House for my 40th birthday. It was a special birthday, and thus we wanted something nicer than your standard motel/hotel fare. The Manning House is quaint, quiet, and surrounded by picturesque, old-world type scenery. I love historical settings and old buildings, and The Manning house gives you a sense of being a part of history while still enjoying the amenities befitting a modern establishment. It's the best of both worlds. The owners were friendly without being intrusive, and the food was excellent. They always had various types of coffee available at all hours along with fresh-baked treats. This was important to a night owl and confessed foodie like me. I will go back one day which is saying a lot since I'm from the midwest, so getting to PA is not a hop skip and jump endeavor.


Excellent B&B

5 on May 19, 2013

Warren and Janet were outstanding hosts, my wife and I could not have asked for more. The accomodations, service and food all exceeded our expectations. I strongly recommend and will visit again.


What a B&B is all about

5 on April 07, 2013

This is what a B&B is all about. The home is appealing, warm and friendly. We went for a birthday celebration and it was more than we could have hoped for. Our hosts were just terrific and we can't wait to go back again. As someone who has visited a number of B&B's, I highly recommend The James Manning House as a "must stay." Thank you Janet, Warren and Louie for making us feel so welcome. Diana and Alan Karmin Westfield, NJ


Very CLEAN, cozy, quiet and relaxing. Loved it.

4.8 on December 09, 2012

We stayed for two nights in Nov, 2012. The entire home was very clean, which is important for us because we have allergies to dust, mold and perfumes--but we had no problems at all. Janet and Warren were wonderful hosts. The food was excellent and they even had their own homemade brandy, jellies and lots of other goodies for us. The home was beautifully decorated and very cozy and peaceful, with lots of interesting things to read and enjoy in the sitting and living rooms. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely return!


Pennsylvania Jewel

5 on October 17, 2012

Recently stayed at James Manning House for our fourth mutli night stay. We love returning to this fine establishment. Janet and Warren are wonderful people and provide an excellent experience. The breakfasts are lovingly prepared,, delicious and plentifull.


The Best B&B Ever!

5 on September 11, 2012

I can't say enough about this B&B. Everything was fabulous and the owners, Jan & Warren, could not have been better hosts. Great food, vintage historic home, very clean, beautiful grounds and gardens. We couldn't have been happier at any B&B!


Great B&B

4.0 on September 03, 2012

The best B&B we have ever been to. The owners were so awesome. Very friendly...


The Perfect Home Away From Homw

5 on August 13, 2012

Our stay ar the James Manning House was the perfect home away from home. Not only is the Inn BEAUTIFUL and so well maintained but InnKeepers Warren and Janet were the most wonderful hosts! We definitely plan on returning to this cozy Inn located in one of the most scenic and lovely areas of PA's Endless Mountains - Highly Recommended!!!! Oh - and the breakfast was absoultly delicious!!!


Could not have been better!

5 on June 01, 2012

This is a charming and extremely well-kept B &B in a lovely village located in the prettiest landscape the area has to offer. If this were not enough: Really warm hosts, wonderful home-cooked breakfasts with new surprises every morning, and a well-sized room very comfortable room. Stepping outside the house a spacious and very pretty garden, with a bench overlooking a lawn/meadow gently sloping down toward a wooded area. Simply delightful!


A Delightful Experience!

5 on May 29, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by the accommodations and genuine hospitality found at this wonderful Bed and Breakfast. I had booked the James Manning House mainly for its proximity to Honesdale, Pa for a family event. Resting in and relying on this Bed and Breakfast as our "headquarters" for a family funeral was so easy and pleasant to do. The ambience was wonderful; the hosts absolutely delightful and the Breakfast large and lovely. I would and have highly recommend this Inn as a place to stay that would enhance any trip to NE Pennslyvania. Mary Maloney, Virginia.


Delightful

5 on May 14, 2012

A wonderfully gracious home and hosts. All the amenities; good breakfasts; hospitality par excellance.


The JamesManningHouse is one of the top 3 places we have stayed in this Country

5 on October 16, 2011

The James Manning House and the Innkeepers are truly incredible. My husband and I have not traveled the world but have been in 23 of our 50 states and this B&B is one of the very finest places we have stayed. I've spent $450 per night for a room in Boston in the past and I must say our accommodations here were more impressive. You are welcomed from the moment you pull in...you feel like you purchased the home and it is yours for your stay. We only stayed one night on our first visit here but will be going back as soon as we have the time...Outstanding doesn't really do this home justice.......Our thanks to Warren and Janet....G. Cooper


Indiana Bikers

5 on September 29, 2011

We arrived on our Bikes in some rain but were greeted with big smiles and lots of conversation. They were very warm and friendly people. The Bed and Breakfast was excellent. We have stayed in other Bed and Breakfast but this had to be the Best Yet!! Clean and very beautiful home. Truely enjoyed the stay and will return if back in the area again!! Highly recommend!


August 10,2011

4.4 on September 15, 2011

Warren and Janet totally exceeded my expectations in every way. When we pulled in on our motorcycles, it had just started to rain, so Warren pulled their vehicle out of garage so we could put our bikes out of the rain. Then, seeings how we hadn't had dinner he offered to go get take out for us so we would not have to take the bikes out in the rain. The whole house was ours and it was wonderful. From the spotless rooms with beautiful quilts, (the sample of home made wine), the homemade snacks, the spectacular breakfast, everything was exceptional. They really went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and felt like we were truly part of the family. Will definetly stay there again when we are anywhere close. Thanks again. The Rockwell's


We went back for more

5 on September 10, 2011

Stayed there on Thursday 8/25/11 for the first time. It was for just one night before we went on to another accommodation for the weekend for a family reunion. My husband and I loved it. Breakfast was so amazing, gourmet. This was the best B&B we've ever stayed in. After the family reunion we were hit by hurricane Irene and so we could not go home. We called Janet and Warren to see if we could stay Sunday night. We lucked out. We brought along 2 other couples with us who enjoyed it as much as we did.


A wonderful place to stay

4.0 on August 20, 2011

This is a beautiful place to stay. The gardens and home are wonderful to look at and immaculate. The hosts, the Heinlys are so friendly and were very helpful with directions. I would definitely go back.


A GREAT Stay!!

5 on May 06, 2011

My family and I arrived in PA to visit our Great Aunt! The James Manning House exceeded all expectations. The hosts could have not been more friendly, the rooms and house were clean, bright and airy and the food was AMAZING!! Thank you so much for making our stay that much more memorable.


Wonderful Retreat

5 on November 22, 2010

I always try and stay at the James Manning house when I visit the Himalayan Institute. Warren and Janet are wonderful, warm hosts, sharing their knowledge of the area with guests and offering an inviting place to unwind from the outside world. The inn is very clean, quiet and beautifully decorated. I love the gas fireplaces in the rooms!


Wonderful first time experience

4.2 on October 27, 2010

We had always stayed in hotels and motels when traveling. The Manning House was suggested to us and was our first B+B experience. We were a bit nervous about staying in the house of strangers. Our hosts, Janet and Warren, put our fears to rest almost immediately with their welcoming and friendly manner. Our room was spacious, comfortable and extremely well appointed. All the modern conveniences were there, but nicely hidden so as to not ruin the historic charm. When we experienced the first of two breakfasts we were (to say the least) very pleased. The food was exceptional. Bravo! to the Heinly's. You will be seeing Kathi + Eric again


Delightful people at a wonderful place

4.6 on August 10, 2010

A nearby B&B had no room and refrred us to Warren and Janet Heinly's James Manning House. From the moment we set foot in the foyer we were taken with the warmth and quiet cordiality of our hosts. They made us feel as if we had dropped in on old friends. Their wonderfully restored home lacks no amenity that a reasonable traveler could desire. I was delighted that the bed in our room. the Berks Room, was firm and inviting with crisp linens and comfortable pillows. To cut to the chase, Warren and Janet are charming and interesting people, knowledgable about the area and quite willing to entertain and offer snacks to our children (who were staying at another nearby establishment) until we arrived. Breakfasts were especially good, but may be lunch-killers if one is not careful and doesn't say "STOP!" You absolutely cannot go wrong if you are fortunate enough to find a vacancy at the James Manning House.


Comfort and cozy

4.2 on July 07, 2010

Our stay was for two nights, we were very comfortable. The atmosphere was cozy, and relaxing. The Innkeepers were very sociable and friendly . I will always remember waking to the aroma of a delightful breakfast.


Family Time

5 on March 23, 2010

This is an exceptional B&B located in a very pleasing rural area; the accommadations were outstanding and the hosts were exceptional. It was like being at home. We have been twice so far and can't wait for the next visit.


Super.

5 on December 12, 2009

We had a great stay. The rooms are super clean, comfy matresses, owners are very welcoming, make you feel at home, beautiful home and decor.


I don't think you can find a better place

5 on November 08, 2009

We stayed two nights for our anniversary and by far it was THE BEST! The owners were very helpful and friendly, the will help pick out restaurants in the area and are great cooks. If there is one place i would suggest it would be this place!


Raising the Bar

5 on November 01, 2009

Janet & Warren's phenomenal attention to detail --decor, food, hospitality, & assistance in planning our activities--made our visit an extremely enjoyable experience. Having stayed at many B&B's in N. America & Europe we have no hesitation in stating that you have set a new standard and raised the bar. We are looking forward to our next visit to James Manning House.


Best Ever

5 on October 20, 2009

We had not been in this area of NE Pa. Our friends booked us in the James Manning House. I can only say FANTASTIC. Lord willing ~ WE WILL ALL GO BACK


The jackpot weekend

4.8 on September 22, 2009

We were invited to a family wedding in our home town and where to stay is always a problem. We decided to check the internet to see if we might find a new place in the area. We hit the jackpot when we discovered the James Manning House. Every aspect of our stay was perfect.


Loved the experience!

5 on September 12, 2009

This was our first stay at a B&B and we loved the experience! Warren and Janet are excellent hosts. We felt completely welcomed into their home. The decor was pleasant and quaint. I loved the unique details in our room.. the stained glass, the heated floor in the bathroom, the fireplace, and fresh-cut flowers. The grounds behind the house are also very park-like and enjoyable. Breakfast was delicious (homemade stuffed french toast, peach sausage, fruit parfait, and pear bread). We were sad to have to leave after only one night, but can't wait to return!


Beautiful and Relaxing

5 on July 05, 2009

Staying at the Manning house was the highlight of our trip to Pennsylvania! The historic house was beautiful and comfortably outfitted for guests. We enjoyed touring their gardens set in a gorgeous woodland setting, eating the scrumptious breakfast and having relaxed conversation with the hosts. We recommend this to anyone who want to have a wonderful bed and breakfast experience.


Excellent B&B Inn

5 on June 16, 2009

Highly recommended – we booked 2 nights, but stayed for 5! Interesting Federal style house with very nicely decorated well equipped clean rooms and comfortable beds. Outstanding quality breakfasts - varied daily menu and generous quantities. Warren & Janet are fantastic hosts that really make you feel at home.


Amazing

4.0 on May 31, 2009

Our stay at the James Manning house was simply amazing. The rooms were spacious, the decor was warm and pleasant, and the hosts made you feel so very pampered. It was a wonderful treat for us to feel so welcomed and to have such delicous food. The atmosphere was like a home away from home and we recommend the James Manning House to all of our friends and family as being the best place to be to get away from it all in style.


Simply the best!

5 on December 02, 2008

Everything about the James Manning House was spectacular! Our bedroom was very spacious and clean. The hospitality of Warren and Janet was warm and welcoming, and the breakfasts were better than we've had at any B&B. We highly recommend an overnight stay at the James Manning House.


James Manning

4.6 on November 10, 2008

We had a very enjoyable two nights stay at the James Manning House. The room was beautifully decorated and had a very homey feeling to it. The breakfast we had was very delicious. There was so much food and it was all delicious. The host Warren and Janet, were very accommodating and a delightful couple. We would recommend this inn to anyone who is looking for a wonderful place to escape to and have delicious food and meet two very charming innkeepers.


"Charming"

5 on October 15, 2008

An 1819 Federal style home. Beautifully decorated, spacious rooms, coffee or tea or water always available (with homemade goodies, too)! Excellent breakfasts. Friendly hosts always willing to please. Very clean. Cute little porch to sit out on with a cup of tea & a book.


Warm reception

5 on October 05, 2008

Innkeepers, Warren and Janet, treat you like a treasured family member. Our room and the inn itself were spotless and exceptionally well appointed. The surrounding grounds were beautiful and well tended. Breakfast was superb. You will not be disappointed.


A Great Find

4.8 on July 30, 2008

This B&B has it all and comfortable rooms, hot and cold drinks, warm cookies, beautiful gardens and wonderful innkeepers!


Wonderful and Relaxing

5 on July 07, 2008

Great food, hospitality, terrific, beautiful surroundings. Made us feel like family. Very clean and organized services. We hope to stay here again.


James Manning House

Details

  • Nightly Rate $90 - $130
  • Reviews (41) 4.8
  • Rooms 3
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5702535573

Visit Website »

View details

Top