Landhaven Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Services4.9
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
61 Reviews

Write A Review

Great stay!

5 on November 05, 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful two-night stay at Landhaven. Our room - The Bittenbender - was incredibly comfortable, and included a huge bed, a gas fireplace, and a BodySpa in the bathroom that has to be seen to be believed. Donna and Ed were excellent hosts, and we very much enjoyed having interesting conversations with them over a delicious breakfast prepared by Donna, and as they showed us around their impressive property. We will definitely be staying at Landhaven again when we're in the area, and hope to catch a show in their concert space next time. Thank you for a wonderful stay!


5 stars

5 on October 18, 2013

Donna and Ed Land are the perfect hosts and their B&Bs is top notch. The room was perfect in every way. I would recommend Landhaven with 5 stars.


Excellent

4.8 on October 18, 2013

The Landhaven is an excellent B&B. Donna and Ed made us feel warmly welcomed. The accommodations were lovely and breakfast was wonderful!


Slice of Paradise

5 on October 06, 2013

Donna & Ed have clearly found their calling as Inn Keepers! Landhaven is charming. The setting is peaceful and comfortable. It feels like going home. The views are beautiful, and the breakfast was divine. The rooms are clean and cozy. The ability to stroll upstairs after a concert was an added bonus. Perhaps the best part of all was the interesting conversations with Donna, Ed and other guests. We can't wait to go back!


Outstanding

4.6 on September 04, 2013

The rooms were outstanding and service and dining, it had a lot of memorabilia from a former general store.


Excellent!

4.6 on August 29, 2013

Lots of fun! Wonderful folks and delicious food!


Fantastic

5 on August 23, 2013

Donna and Ed are fantastic - beautiful place - excellent food - lovely area.


PLEASANT

4.8 on August 21, 2013

This B&B was very pleasant and clean. The owners were friendly and welcoming. Their beds were so comfortable. Best night sleep in long time!


WHAT TO SAY BUT

5 on August 21, 2013

ALL WAS GREAT!


Great Hosts!

4.4 on August 19, 2013

Great hosts, lovely rooms and music too! Perfect spot to unwind, go to a house concert, relax and enjoy delicious breakfast the next morning. Have stayed 5 times at the Landhaven and will go back again.


Great breakfast!

5 on August 19, 2013

Friendly hosts, charming antique accommodations and great breakfast. All with a quiet, countryside view!


Warm, witty and welcoming

5 on August 19, 2013

As a gathering place for lover's of fine food, fine music and witty conversation, Landhaven is unique. Beds and baths are super comfortable.


Outstanding!

5 on June 12, 2013

Amazing settings, owners and history! It was like being with old friends. Can't wait to get back there!


Amazing & Well Worth It!

5 on June 11, 2013

I was taken here by my boyfriend as a surprise getaway weekend. I could not have enjoyed myself anymore than I did. The family is so sweet and I'm excited to not only return myself, but send my parents for their anniversary next month.


Birthday Surprise

5 on October 08, 2012

My boyfriend planned a surprise get away not too far from home. We had an amazing time. The live music was an added bonus. Donna & Ed were so friendly. Food was fab! Definitely will go back!


Landhaven

5 on August 13, 2012

Wonderful hospitality!


Landhaven

5 on August 10, 2012

Innkeepers, Donna & Ed, were wonderful hosts... very welcoming and friendly. Donna is a fantastic cook & likes to show it while Ed cares for the facility. Landhaven is filled with antiques. These folks put the Bs in Bed & Breakfast. We loved staying there.


Great experience

5 on May 30, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful experience at the Landhaven Bed and Breakfast. The rooms are lovely. The mattresses are great. And the bathrooms and showers, well, they're simply fabulous! Donna and Ed are wonderful hosts. Located in the heart of rural Pennsylvania. Just a great place to get away for a couple of days.


Stay at Landhaven if you value excellent company, food and music!

4.8 on June 14, 2011

I have stayed at Landhaven three times - all the way from the United Kingdom to partake of good music, good food and good company. Donna and Ed treat you like family. They are wonderful hosts and so enthused about the musical concerts they put on. They made each stay harder to say goodbye! You will love this place..... Donna (UK)


Landhaven Bed & Breakfast

5 on November 28, 2010

Donna & Ed were terrific hosts. They made everyone feel part of a family. Many people said they want to return to Landhaven.


Landhaven

4.0 on November 28, 2010

Ed & Donna were such great hosts, we felt so comfortable there. The entertainment was great!


A unique and delightful experience

4.8 on November 14, 2010

We came to celebrate my birthday. Next time we'll come to celebrate this unique B&B. Rooms are spacious; baths contain massage showers & Jacuzzis, breakfast was delicious, & our hosts, Ed & Donna were gems. But maybe best of all was the Sat. night folk concert held on the premises -- lots of local folk, homebaked free refreshments & top-notch music. Can't wait to return.


Concert & Stay

4.8 on October 17, 2010

My husband & I came to see Frog Holler play in the adorable Antique Store and were blown away by all the interesting people!


"Landheaven"

5 on October 11, 2010

I heard another guest comment that this place should be called Landheaven, and I agree. Quiet & cozy, great decor & vibe. And Donna & Ed are 2 of the nicest people on the planet!


Landhaven is truly a "haven"

4.6 on August 25, 2010

This is my 4th stay at Landhaven and I have never been disappointed! Donna and Ed have that knack for making you feel like family and like you've "just come home." The beds are incredibly comfortable, the food is scrumptious, and their joining us for breakfast creates very lively and entertaining conversation - you don't want to leave the table! I'll be back!


Had A Wonderful Stay

4.8 on May 19, 2010

We had a wonderful stay, Donna and Ed are very warm and friendly. The breakfasts were outstanding. We would make Landhaven a must stay destination when we are in the area again.


Like meeting family you never knew you had

4.6 on May 10, 2010

Donna and Ed are as warm and friendly as they are savvy. They made us feel so welcome and recommended a great place for dinner nearby. We were in town for a race that was being held locally and they were determined to make sure we were in fighting shape for our event. They're specially prepared breakfast and grand tour of their premises kept our nerves at bay and our tummies full. Thanks for making our stay so special!


In for the Tough Mudder

5 on May 08, 2010

Weekend of May 2, 2010. What a great surprise landing at Landhaven! Ed and Donna are gracious and relaxed folks who really make you feel at home. I had the pleasure of sitting in on their Saturday night concert (Jonathan Byrd) and had a very restful evening. If you want a nice getaway, this is a great spot.


Landhaven

4.6 on April 20, 2010

It was awesome! Donna and Ed were the nicest people (so nice in fact I made up my very own "Donna Dance" to show my appreciation :) ). I would definitely come here again; I want to try out all the neat rooms!


Landhaven

3.2 on March 30, 2010

The owners of Landhaven could not have been nicer. The rooms were clean and very comfortable but very minimal amenties. They had a basket of half-used toiletries for use and while the brands were good, that was a bit strange. The downstairs lobby could have been dusted/cleaned prior.


Quaint and Ecclectical

4.0 on February 10, 2010

We loved our stay at Landhaven. We were never without something to admire - whether it be the beautiful inn itself, or the interesting collections. We loved the evening entertainment!


debunks every fear your spouse may have about B&B's

5 on January 23, 2010

Landhaven in Barto, PA is that rare B&B that offers rustic simplicity combined with modern luxury. The proprietors (Ed and Donna Land) are entertaining hosts that seem to truly sense the level of attention required by each guest. Over a glass of wine (OK - 2) I learned that Donna is a seasoned chef (breakfast the next day proved her stories to be true-) and that Ed is a skilled blacksmith specializing in historical recreation and sculpture. The rooms were spacious and comfortable without feeling dainty or overly decorated. Every piece of furniture is meant to be used! No scary, fragile furniture, no lace covered tissue boxes. The bathrooms (we were treated to a tour of the whole place) were as modern as any 5-star hotel - and yet were styled in such a way that they blended perfectly with the room decor. I enjoyed a HUGE whirlpool tub in my room while a friend traveling with us had a bubble-bath in a footed tub that she described as "perfect". Staying at Landhaven is like visiting family - without the risk of judgments or fighting. I would recommend this place to anyone- reserved or rugged - who needs a respite from the day to day race and pace of modern life. It is called Landhaven - but (in my mind) will now be called My-haven


Felt Like Home

5 on January 20, 2010

We saw wonderful music and loved the room and the whole building. The hosts couldn't have been friendlier!


Retreat

5 on November 02, 2009

Restful and very relaxed atmosphere. Went to get away & enjoy quiet countryside.


Landhaven

5 on October 28, 2009

Wonderful room, breakfast, innkeepers, and price. We loved it! We will be back!


first timers to a b&b

4.0 on October 11, 2009

My husband & I attended a wedding no hotels around so we stayed at a b&b for the first time. It was very relaxing. Our bed was so comfortable!!!!! we slept very well. The shower was nice 8 jets & I loved the cool sink in the bathroom. It was a nice experience Donna & Ed are very friendly - easy to talk to. We would do a b&b again.


Music & More

5 on August 17, 2009

I love that the B&B has a concert hall (former general store) attached. No worries about having fun at the concert, then just walk up to bed. Very personable owners.


Special Find

4.0 on August 07, 2009

Innkeepers Ed and Donna Land had us feeling like long time friends almost as soon as our visit began. Ed gladly spent time with us sharing the inn's history and other tales of the area. Donna didn't mind us hanging around her kitchen. The primary reason for our trip was John Gorka's concert. The reason we'll return...a wonderful place with fabulous people.


Landhaven

5 on August 05, 2009

The concert and the conversation were so much fun, The accommodations were lovely. We can't wait to go back.


Landhaven is great

5 on July 30, 2009

This was our second stay at Landhaven. We love this B&B. The setting is beautiful. The inn is so comfortable -- the atmosphere so friendly. Donna & Ed Land are the greatest people. Can't wait to return next year!


Wonderful place

5 on July 27, 2009

Wonderful place, I will go there again soon


Our Stay at Landhaven

3.8 on June 20, 2009

Innkeepers are exceptionally welcoming...we felt like family! Beautifully appointed rooms, each with it's own beautiful bath. Lots of local history and charm in the entire building. Donna is an excellent cook! Both Donna and Ed are so charming and warm... they make it a fun place to visit.


loved this B&B

4.4 on May 27, 2009

The hosts were wonderful and very accommodating. This was so much more than your average B&B- add to that the peace and serenity of the country.


Landhaven

5 on May 13, 2009

Ed and Donna make this wonderful B&B a second home. The rooms are extremely comfy and the breakfasts are always a surprise and fantastic. we stay here often.


Lovely

4.6 on April 22, 2009

This was my first B&B experience and i'm so glad it was at the Landhaven. It's a wonderful Victorian house with great charm and such kind hosts!


excellent stay

5 on April 17, 2009

Landhaven is a beautiful property in a lovely Berks Country village. Ed and Donna are perfect hosts. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.


nice stay

4.4 on March 19, 2009

nice stay


Landhaven B & B

4.6 on March 17, 2009

We had a wonderful time and most importantly "relaxing"


Landhaven

4.8 on March 03, 2009

It was a very friendly atmosphere and the knowledge the owners had with the history was unbelievable. I will recommend this B&B!


Above and Beyond

5 on February 23, 2009

Donna and Ed are very hospitable people. This was our first stay at a B&B and we pass the word on about this comfortable B&B!


first B&B experience

4.4 on February 18, 2009

Stay was result of a birthday gift. Delightful experience. hosts were as social, hospitable, and accommodating as could be. There was evening entertainment, and of course, a fabulous breakfast!


Sleep well

4.2 on January 09, 2009

My husband and I were delighted with room and the inn, but most of all, the innkeepers. They are very gracious and wonderful hosts!


Bravo!!

4.8 on December 10, 2008

Lovely old house, clean, neat- Great food and people!


Landhaven

5 on November 25, 2008

great stay!


Landhaven

4.8 on November 25, 2008

I stayed at the Waldorf-Astoria last night, already I like this better.


What a treat!!

4.4 on November 18, 2008

My boyfriend and I spent a night at the Landhaven to escape our hectic lives. This was our first visit to a B&B and our expectations were exceeded. Donna and Ed were great hosts. Our room (the Pilgert) was very quiet and cozy. The jacuzzi was such a nice addition to the room. We will definately be back again!


Historic and Relaxing

5 on July 25, 2008

What a lovely place! It's an amazing building from the 1800s and the inn keepers are incredibly knowledgeable about its history. But the place does have its modern touches, like the spa shower with multiple soothing water jets. Other plusses were the tasty coffee cake and fine conversation over breakfast. And I can't leave out the friendly outdoor cat. She was quite the charmer, hopping up on my lap as I enjoyed the morning sunrise coming up over a farm field.


A perfect night's sleep

5 on July 21, 2008

The beds were so comfortable and the sheets and towels were very luxurious. We were very impressed with the ultra modern and sleek bathrooms...who doesn't like a little pampering in the bathroom? Ed and Donna are two of the kindest people you will ever meet and we had the opportunity to meet some of the locals in Barto. Everyone was more than friendly and we thoroughly enjoyed everyone. The local restaurants turned out to be surprisingly good for such a small town. We will be back there very soon for another relaxing weekend.


A True Find!

5 on June 22, 2008

Ed & Donna are very gracious hosts to this intimate B&B experience. We had the pleasure of touring all 5 beautifully restored bedrooms. Our room (the Pilgert) was comfortable and quiet with a luxurious jacuzzi bathroom. Breakfast was outstanding with some good story telling afterwards. We didn't want to leave. Not a far drive to several points of interest. Weyerbacher brewery and Manatawny vineyard as well as several good restaurants. We look forward to many more memories to be made at Landhaven. After just one nights stay we felt as though we had a full week's rest!!!


Sleeping on a cloud.

5 on June 12, 2008

We just stayed at Ed and Donna's B&B for the 2nd time and had another wonderful experience. The rooms are each uniquely decorated and every bathroom has it's own outstanding features. But the towels and bedding top it all. The towels are so soft and absorbant and the beds are so comfy that you never want to get out. That is until you smell the yummy aromas coming from the kitchen. You'll never leave hungry! What a wonderful experience.


Fabulous!

5 on January 06, 2007

This is a great place! The innkeepers are warm and dedicated. The food is remarkable and the room was outstanding. We so enjoyed our stay, and felt truly pampered. I'm planning a trip to the area again, just to stay at Landhaven and see the local haunts.


Landhaven

Details

  • Nightly Rate $115 - $135
  • Reviews (61) 4.7
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-4843501750
  • Phone 1-6108453257
Top