Recent Reviews in Paris, Kentucky

A Wonderful Birthday Present at Forest Retreat Bed & Breakfast (Carlisle, Kentucky)

5 reviewed on April 25, 2016

A birthday present that was a total surprise after a day at Keeneland. A memorable, rustic, charming, serene historic venue in rural KY. Filled with KY history. You will not be disappointed. We will be back! Lynn and John

View more reviews for this inn


Historical getaway & country charm at Forest Retreat Bed & Breakfast (Carlisle, Kentucky)

4.6 reviewed on February 29, 2016

My husband and I stayed there as a bed and breakfast. The property is beautiful... Horses, rolling hills, etc. We loved the historical home and breakfast was great. The mangers are hospitable as well,

View more reviews for this inn


A perfect end to a business trio at The Guesthouse at Rosecrest Farm (Paris, Kentucky)

5 reviewed on November 21, 2015

My wife had business in nearby Midway, and I suggested we reserve a night at Rosecrest rather than simply turning around and driving the 5 hours back home. What a treat! We got our business finished and spent a Friday afternoon, night and Saturday morning there. The fall weather was crisp, our hosts Lyra and Charles were great, the guest house is actually separate from the main house (a plus), rooms had their own keys for security, breakfast was great and we got a tour of the farm. And Lyra answered every one of my questions on the tour. Next door is the famous Claiborne Farm (home of Secretariat) and we saw a Secretariat grandson at Rosecrest, which is also conveniently located just 3 miles from Paris, Ky. The cozy and well-decorated guest house has three bedrooms, and there were two other couples there while we stayed, making for great breakfast conversation. If you go, bring your favorite drinks or bottled water with you. Two small water bottles are provided with a large chocolate horseshoe. Lyra was so good about letting us stash a few cans of soda and a bottle of wine in the kitchen fridge. We stayed in the Derby Suite upstairs - oh, it is worth the few extra dollars. The mattress (often literally a sore point for us) was wonderfully supportive, and the room was CLEAN. Rosecrest Farm turned our chore trip into a fun time and some memories. Thanks, and we hope to return!

View more reviews for this inn


An Incredible HIstorical Experience! at Forest Retreat Bed & Breakfast (Carlisle, Kentucky)

5 reviewed on November 10, 2015

My wife and I have stayed at dozens of unusual and luxurious facilities at various places in many of the eastern states in the U.S. and in Scotland and Israel as well over the past thirty years but NEVER have we experienced such a wonderful facility such as Forest Retreat !!! Our ten days there will go down as some of the best we ever spent ANYWHERE! If you have even a small interest in U.S. and Kentucky history then Forest Retreat is an experience you will not want to miss. The "historical ambience" of this beautifully restored mansion that was built by an early governor of Kentucky is almost overwhelming! The owners deserve the highest praise for first restoring and now preserving this very early 1800's mansion and filling it full of antiques and significant historical artifacts of many kinds. Each day there my wife and I would discover new and amazing items in one or more of its many rooms to wonder over and admire. The many outstanding books collected for the library of Forest Retreat are also a "feast for the mind and eyes" for all who stay there to enjoy. The owners agents, Todd and Allysha, were absolutely great to deal with and we wish them the very best in their efforts to showcase this absolutely outstanding rental property. Rest assured that we will be looking for future opportunities to return to Forest Retreat and once again enjoy its beautiful hilltop views, its interior splendor and its historical presence. We give FR 5 Stars as a vacation or special event destination! Dorian Cook, Author: Kentucky in The Early Years, Volume 1 - Heroes and Hostiles

View more reviews for this inn


Anniversary weekend at The Guesthouse at Rosecrest Farm (Paris, Kentucky)

5 reviewed on September 12, 2015

My wife and I stayed at Rosecrest B&B for our Anniversary. It's a beautiful setting with rolling hills and horses. Accommodations are nice and the breakfast was awesome. We received a tour of the farm upon arrival and were invited to walk around and meet the horses. It was a relaxing and romantic time.

View more reviews for this inn


Tranquility at The Guesthouse at Rosecrest Farm (Paris, Kentucky)

5 reviewed on June 30, 2014

We came to celebrate a birthday and anniversary weekend and our stay at Rosecrest was wonderful! Lyra was very welcoming and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The town is small but you can easily travel to Lexington or other local attractions. Staying on a working horse farm was an exciting experience and a great way to spend a weekend away. We'll be back!

View more reviews for this inn


Great Weekend! at The Guesthouse at Rosecrest Farm (Paris, Kentucky)

5 reviewed on July 23, 2013

The Guesthouse at Rosecrest Farm is awesome! It's a beautiful farm with acres and acres of unbelievable land. There are a bunch of Thoroughbred horses (some of which raced in the Kentucky Derby) throughout the farm along with many Hereford cattle grazing throughout the pastures. As soon as we got there Lyra, the owner, showed us our room, the Blue Grass Room, which was located in the Guesthouse. Everything was spotless and of the highest quality. The house had so much character and there is not one bad thing to say about it. After we got situated, Lyra gave us a tour of their farm while teaching us about the business of breeding derby winners and was extremely knowledgeable about the sport. After we explored the farm we headed into town and ate at a fun spot called Grey Goose. The next day Lyra made us an amazing breakfast and we had great conversations throughout the morning. Lyra's attention to detail and her desire to produce a unique experience made the trip for us. I would recommend this place to anyone and definitely plan on returning in the future.

View more reviews for this inn


A Wonderful Experience at The Guesthouse at Rosecrest Farm (Paris, Kentucky)

5 reviewed on April 06, 2013

Outstanding in every way! Guest house is very homey and comfortable. Breakfasts are delicious. Hosts are gracious, and have lots of interesting stories about the racing world. You can stroll the grounds, pet the horses and give them treats, pet the barn cats, watch the cattle, etc. You cannot go wrong staying here! It is not just a B&B, it is an experience!

View more reviews for this inn


PERFECTION at The Guesthouse at Rosecrest Farm (Paris, Kentucky)

5 reviewed on March 27, 2013

We spent in three nights at Rosecrest Farm, we found everything excellent, very comfortable, a great welcome, breakfast really good, Lyra our host we very hard working and really friendly. The farm is very tidy with some good looking horses and cattle. The location is perfect for exploring the area, get booked in, you will have a great time

View more reviews for this inn


Kentucky paradise! at The Guesthouse at Rosecrest Farm (Paris, Kentucky)

5 reviewed on October 29, 2012

This was a wonderful find for visiting the Lexington, KY area. The owners could not be more gracious or helpful. The accomodations are wonderful and breakfast is delicious and served in the dining room with a spectacular view of the farm. If you enjoy thoroughbreds and and great hospitality, you'll be delighted with your stay at Rosecrest Farm. We could not have been happier during our stay of 3 nights!!

View more reviews for this inn


Great B+B Find in Lexington, KY vicinity! at The Guesthouse at Rosecrest Farm (Paris, Kentucky)

4.8 reviewed on August 21, 2012

Great experience on a working Cattle and Thoroughbred farm. Nice private setting in guesthouse with great accommodations and great views of the entire farm. For Breakfast, and this is unique, you have a choice of either breakfast in the guesthouse or at the owners restaurant just a short drive away in downtown Paris! We tried both and both were exceptional! Very relaxed experience with great congenial owners. We have stayed at four B+B's in this area and this one is the best! Highly reccomended!

View more reviews for this inn


Sweet Kentucky Home! at The Guesthouse at Rosecrest Farm (Paris, Kentucky)

5 reviewed on September 06, 2011

Stayed at this wonderful guest house during a trip to Kentucky with family. We all felt at home and Lyra was the most gracious hostess you could ask for. It is a guest house so very private. Close to Claiborne Farm and the Kentucky Horse Park. Wonderful food and clean as could be!

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful home, beautiful horses at The Guesthouse at Rosecrest Farm (Paris, Kentucky)

5 reviewed on August 10, 2011

My huband, sister, niece, and I had the incredible experience of staying at Rosecrest during the World Equestrian Games and we could not have been more pleased. Every detail was perfect - the best cup of coffee, the most delicious food, the gracious hosts, the elegant and comfortable rooms, the sun rising over the pastures and the mares and foals trotting up to the fence to say "Hello"...my only complaint is that I could not stay longer. I will visit again and I give this lovely guesthouse my highest recommendation.

View more reviews for this inn


Pretty darn perfect! at The Guesthouse at Rosecrest Farm (Paris, Kentucky)

5 reviewed on August 10, 2011

My boyfriend and I spent last weekend at Rosecrest Farm and it really was the perfect Bluegrass experience. The room was nice and cute - we opted for the less expensive queen room so it wasn't huge but it was very nicely decorated with stylish simplicity. We were greeted by Lyra who promtly took us on a lovely tour of the grounds and let us feed the horses many of whom were related to big Derby winners. Amazing. Breakfast was great both mornings but the second morning was especially fun... Lyra runs an adorable cafe, "Lil's," at an antique soda fountain in Paris and she gave us the choice to eat there. Absolutely charming! I lived in KY for about 10 years and this ranks among my best memories.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}