Recent Reviews in Panama City, Panama

We'll be back!! at Balboa Inn Bed & Breakfast - Panama (Panama City, Panama)

4.8 reviewed on October 05, 2013

A group of eight spent over a week at the Inn and were thoroughly impressed with Bill and Mieke and the service extended to us. We loved the breakfast, had a comfortable bed, an air conditioned room, and a refreshing shower. The little craft store on the first floor was a better value than on the street. The hosts went out of their way to make us feel comfortable - just like we would have been at home.

View more reviews for this inn


Simplemente perfecto at Baru Lodge Panama (Panama, Panama)

4.4 reviewed on February 27, 2013

Baru Lodge y su anfitrión Erwin Goerke, simplemente hacen lo imposible para que tu estadía sea inolvidable, 100% recomendable.

View more reviews for this inn


A gem for the right person at CASA ALBROOK (Panama, Panama)

3.6 reviewed on December 25, 2011

"Met expectations" is a good rating for me, judged against rates and local conditions. I stayed for 19 days, enjoyed it and expect to return. This is a fledgling operation with lots of good intent but modest practical hospitality experience. Albrook, as a former US base, has few access points, making it quiet and safe. The casa is a converted house of typical US Canal Zone construction. There are 6 bedrooms, 3 shared bathrooms (each with shower), a communal kitchen, two eating areas, and a living room. Some thought in fleshing out amenities still is needed but all rooms were functional and the beds comfortable. The feel is somewhat between a B&B and a hostel. Management is very friendly and responsive. The owner is multilingual but not resident. One can get by with only English by communicating through the owner. Functional Spanish or Portuguese will let you interact directly with the resident managers (lovely married couple) and access to lots of local knowledge and interesting conversation with them and other visitors. If you stay long enough it can begin to feel like a home. It is not (yet) for persons who expect all details to work smoothly all the time - of course, Panama isn't for those persons either. My personal requirements are cleanliness and quiet. The premises were cleaned thoroughly every day (except when the maid quit without notice; this happens in Panama) and noise was not a problem. The thought of fleas and barking has me hoping the owner reconsiders his intent of welcoming pets. I have stayed several times at a nearby (similarly named) hotel, for significantly more money, which gained me a private, but cramped bath. I have also stayed at a larger chain hotel near the Amador causeway (for even more money) and been unimpressed, except by the lack of personal interaction. I highly recommend Casa Albrook to anyone comfortable with adjusting to life's small twists and turns, and not needing 24h service.

View more reviews for this inn


Panama is a 'sleeper' at Balboa Inn Bed & Breakfast - Panama (Panama City, Panama)

4.4 reviewed on December 10, 2011

The Balboa Inn met and served all our needs! My wife and I were really pleased with our choice of staying in the Balboa area. The morning walks were a highlight. Alcon hill is in your backyard! The B&B hosts were wonderful and aimed to please. Each day we planned out day excursions or just relaxed and enjoyed the property. We stayed 5 nights; giving us a great opportunity to get a feel for the city and the surrounding area. You will not be disappointed.

View more reviews for this inn


An Oasis of Calm at Balboa Inn Bed & Breakfast - Panama (Panama City, Panama)

4.6 reviewed on March 07, 2011

Date of review: Feb 24, 2011 This inn is located in a beautiful residential neighborhood that is near many of the best attractions in Panama City (the locks, Casco Viejo, Ancon Hill and others). Formerly part of a U.S. military housing complex, the neighborhood also benefits from a reliable water and sanitation system infrastructure that is lacking in many other areas of Panama City. Mornings begin with delicious fruits and breakfast cooked to order -- all complimentary -- and a host of exotic birds and animals (including the endangered agouti) darting through the lush backyard vegetation. Thor, the host and owner of Balboa Inn, is very thorough and efficient in maintaining high standards of maintenance and operation. His excellent staff (including the wonderful Melany and the personable housekeepers) are exceptionally attentive and go out of their way to help all of the guests with daily plans and arrangements. We will definitely return to Balboa Inn if ever we visit Panama City in the future.

View more reviews for this inn


A charming and quaint B&B at Balboa Inn Bed & Breakfast - Panama (Panama City, Panama)

3.6 reviewed on November 19, 2010

This is a very quaint and easily accessable inn, so very close to many interesting and unique areas one would want to visit in Panama City. The staff is very knowledgeable about the area and most helpful with the trips and services that are offered locally. It made our stay in Panama City so very enjoyable and we look forward to our return.

View more reviews for this inn


Great value, excellent location at Balboa Inn Bed & Breakfast - Panama (Panama City, Panama)

4.0 reviewed on December 16, 2009

This Dutch/American managed inn is a true gem. The friendliness and helpfullness of the staff (Gina & Thorwald), the beautiful and convenient location, the excellent breakfast, the cleanliness truly make the Balboa Inn our home in Panama.

View more reviews for this inn


Mil gracias Balboa Inn at Balboa Inn Bed & Breakfast - Panama (Panama City, Panama)

4.4 reviewed on January 30, 2009

We stayed 3 days at Balboa inn at the beginning of our 2 week stay in Panama. We had read great things on Trip Advisor and were not disappointed. Thorwald & Gina are great people and were really, really helpful in answering any questions we had about getting around in Panama City and nearby attractions. The were especially helpful in sorting out hotel stays and flight arrangements to Kuna Yala (San Blas) Our room was small but comfortable and kept spotlessly clean. The breakfast bufffet was extensive and with different daily specials each day. We never enjoyed such a quality breakfast during the rest of our stay in Panama! The neighborhood is very nice and safe with lots of trees and birds. One day we saw a group of five toucans. We felt at home straight away and that feeling stayed the same throughout our stay. Thanks for helping to make our time in Panama so memorable!

View more reviews for this inn


Very nice relaxing place to stay at Balboa Inn Bed & Breakfast - Panama (Panama City, Panama)

4.0 reviewed on January 28, 2009

I stayed at the Balboa in on my arrival to Panama. I had never been to Panama and as I am traveling by myself, it was comforting for me to find the driver from Balboa waiting to greet me. It was even more comforting after two days of travel to find such a nice clean place with my room being perfect. Wireless did not work in my room, but that was no problem. The next morning following a wonderful breakfast I sat out on the covered lanai and let my family know via e-mail I had arrived in Panama with no problems. Wireless worked perfectly out there.and sitting there listening to the birds was a beautiful setting. The next day Gina gave me instructions on a nice walk along the seawall. Very nice walk with wonderful directions. I then returned to Balboa where their driver took me to Albrook to catch a flight to Bocas del Toro. My stay could not have been nicer nor could the people there. I felt very welcome and right at home. I have recommended the Balboa to my son and his friends. They spent a night there and loved it. Another friend of mine will spend a night with them in a week so I've already recommended them to others and will continue to do so. I already have reservations to spend the night there again on my way back home. It will be a great way to say goodbye to Panama.

View more reviews for this inn


'A Treasure' at Balboa Inn Bed & Breakfast - Panama (Panama City, Panama)

4.6 reviewed on September 21, 2008

Balboa Inn Bed & Breakfast Aug 2008 On a recent trip to Panama City Panama we stayed at our first bed and breakfast-‘The Balboa Inn’. What a treasure! While they had opened in June and were still in the remodeling stage, the rooms were very clean…..white sox walk on the floor clean. The location we liked because it was quiet. It is near the Panama Canal Administration area in a very nice residential neighborhood. While it is away from downtown, it is centrally located if you wish to visit the beaches. Image eating a nice buffet breakfast on the covered terrace. Now add listening to and watching the tropical birds. Itspoiled us. Saskia and Thorwald , your hosts, along with their staff, literally do their utmost to make your stay not only pleasant, but memorable. And the cost is very reasonable. The best way to judge any establishment is would you recommend this to others and would you come back. The answer is quite simply-Yes…yes!

View more reviews for this inn


Friendly helpful staff, clean airy rooms at Balboa Inn Bed & Breakfast - Panama (Panama City, Panama)

4.2 reviewed on September 11, 2008

Enjoyed the area, close to main roads but secluded. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good and always on time. Rooms were clean and substantial.

View more reviews for this inn


The Balboa Inn is a winner at Balboa Inn Bed & Breakfast - Panama (Panama City, Panama)

4.0 reviewed on July 31, 2008

We stayed just 3 nights at the Balboa Inn but we can see Saskia & Thorwald have a winner here. The location, the big outside terrace surrounded by a beautiful garden, the Tucans and other wildlife and above all the outstanding service make it a no-brainer for us where we'll stay during our next visit to Panama.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}