The Teacher's Pet Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.9

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Service5
  • Value5
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining5

Score Breakdown based on
17 Reviews

Write A Review

lovely country retreat

4.8 on June 02, 2014

Dave and Judy are the most gracious hosts. This charming house is full of antiques and the grounds are just gorgeous - be sure to have coffee on the porch. And you won't need lunch - breakfast is delicious and generous!


Wonderful B&B

4.8 on May 25, 2014

This place is absolutely wonderful! The owners go above and beyond to make your stay pleasant. Rooms are great, food is delicious, the decor is cozy and inviting. Just a really great place. Do yourself a favor and stay here.


Perfect Couple's escape to country without loss of modern day perks.

5 on January 08, 2014

This B and B is a unique blend of quiet old time country living and old fashioned food and hospitality coupled with thoughtful modern touches. The well appointed historic house was wonderful- both the room, parlor, and eating area were very pleasant. While this is an old farmstead style house it has been tastefully and carefully updated- heating seemed just right and no drafty windows or other excessively historic but non functional elements. It was quite comfortable! We also enjoyed both the in room cable TV and wireless internet access- which was a snap to pick up with our samsung tablet and android smart phones. We also greatly enjoyed the loving and welcoming demeanor of our wonderful hosts Dave and Judy who balanced genuine conversation with space for quiet time and couples fun. They offered great suggestions for things to do including the outlet mall, state parks, and great places to eat! Our advice is stay here, enjoy the B and B and enjoy the conversation with your hosts (take good notes their advice is spot on). Teachers know best!


Log Cabin

4.6 on October 25, 2013

The log cabin was nice. I think once the fireplace is running and a TV is installed it will be nicer We did enjoy it. All in all, our stay was quite enjoyable. Bob and Judy Clum are wonderful people and know how to treat their quests.


Anniversary Get-a-way

5 on October 17, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Dave and Judy's comfortable and cozy retreat! The house is decorated with incredible antiques! We loved the charm of the house!! The breakfasts were scrumptious! Delicious apple fritters were so good and the French crepes with homemade strawberry jam were out of this world!!!! My favorite part was sitting at the breakfast table and listening to all of the amazing stories told by Judy and Dave! What a pleasure!!!! Judy and Dave are truly extraordinary, wonderful people and we enjoyed this get a way tremendoulously! We will definitely visit again! Thank you Judy and Dave for a memorable few days! Thanks for the yummy cookies and pumpkin roll! Next visit we want Dave to play the piano for us! Cindy and Mark from Pittsburgh


Wonderful stay in a charming B&B

5 on October 06, 2013

Had a wonderful time this weekend at The Teacher's Pet Bed and Breakfast! The room was delightful, the host and hostess were charming, tasty cookies, a fabulous breakfast a very good value, too....would love to stay again sometime..Thanks so much!


Found the tranquility we were seeking

4.8 on May 24, 2013

We enjoyed the Teacher's Pet Bed and Breakfast. Warm and friendly hosts in a quiet country setting. The traditional English breakfast was delicious. We needed to get away and found this B&B exactly what we were looking for.


Hope to Return

4.4 on March 21, 2013

The heart of a Bed and Breakfast experience is the host(s) and the Clums ensured that our time at The Teacher's Pet would be well worth the money and time. They are both genuinely nice and they truly enjoy people. They make you feel welcome in amazing short order. They provide so many nice, and homey touches, like homemade cookies as you enter, candy and a warm fireplace in your room, a brief tour of the home, and a wonderful breakfast. We could have spent hours just looking at and learning the story behind so many of their beautiful antiques. One night wasn't enough. We look forward to visiting again. Thank you Dave and Judy.


very very nice folks!

5 on March 04, 2013

Very enjoyable! Great breakfast, beautiful suroundings, lovely hosts...highly recommended!!!


Very Nice

4.6 on October 21, 2012

We had a great time. The house is just far enough off the main road, so it is very peaceful. We heard no cars at all. We were welcomed into the home with fresh cookies, and Dave gave us a tour of the downstairs (the breakfast area, and the parlor). Judy showed us upstairs to our room. The entire house is like a museum. Very well decorated with very old antiques. In our nightstand we found a bedtime stories book dated back to 1890. We loved using our Gas fireplace at night. The parlor welcomes you with a TV, movies, complimentary coffee (k-cup), and a few drinks and beers. In the morning, the breakfast table was beautifully decorated. We had fresh fruit decorated with a flower and mint, orange juice with orange sherbet in it (fantastic), and amazing french toast, bacon, and fresh eggs they get from their neighbors chickens. I can eat a lot, and even I was filled. Dave and Judy themselves are very charming. They have lots of amazing stories. They will chat with you but are very good at knowing when you want your space. When we left, we signed the guestbook. It was full page after page of good comments. The only negatives (and I really had to try to come up with negatives): We had 6-7 stink bugs in our room. But they were easily caught and flushed. In no way is this Judy/Daves fault. Anyone who lives in the general area can understand. The water pressure (shower) was a little low. But again, it's an older house, so very understandable. Overall, I can't wait to go back. Everything was great.


Great place

5 on July 23, 2012

Wonderful stay. Comfortable bed and delicious breakfast. I shall return.


Comfortable and charming!

5 on June 24, 2012

My husband and I truly enjoyed our stay at this beautiful B&B. The hosts were charming, with lots of stories to tell! As another reviewer stated, although the conversation was great, the hosts also knew when we needed our privacy. The house was beautifully decorated with wonderful antiques, and our room was quiet and comfortable. The homemade chocolate chip cookies were excellent as well as the full breakfast. We wouldn't hesitate to head back for another stay!


Beautiful, relaxing stay with great food!

5 on June 13, 2012

My husband and I spent the weekend at this charming B&B. We loved the peaceful beautiful gardens and antique-filled rooms. The breakfast was huge and very good-a full English breakfast with the best raspberry-blueberry muffins we have ever tasted! There are plenty of activities nearby include Moraine State Park and McConnells Mill. We enjoyed our stay very much and plan to return as soon as possible.


A gem of a B & B!

5 on May 13, 2012

After a day of kayaking and hiking I was looking forward to settling into this lovely place for the night. My room, decorated with unique antiques, took me back in time. The bed was inviting and quite comfortable. It was also very quiet which is very important to me for a good nights sleep. The next morning, Judy and Dave made a wonderful breakfast--the most delicious french toast, eggs, bacon and sausage, fresh fruit and orange juice with orange sherbet! Judy's special touches, like fresh chocolate chip cookies, made me feel very welcome! I would definitely return in a heartbeat. I try to stay in B & B's when I can and this one tops my list!


A+ for these former teachers:-)

4.6 on March 23, 2012

This is a fabulous find. My only fear is that too many will discover it! The location is optimal, although deceptively inconspicuous; the hosts charming, entertaining, and delightful with plenty of good stories to tell, but not overly intrusive and they know when to leave you alone to enjoy not only the comfortably antique equipped privacy of your room, but to wander the grounds and nearby fields to get lost (as I did) in natures grandeur. Does this sound too cliche'? Well, if you want the kind of Bed and Breakfast experience that you've read or seen depicted in any good story, then yes, it is perfectly so! It was everything I hoped a romantic weekend would be. The owners are also knowledgeable about local activities and dining options and recommended Shakespeare's Inn just a few minutes up the road, another great find. Can't say enough nice things about these folks and their Pet. Breakfast was delicious and generous, and the discount price we received was like icing on the cake. Can't wait to go back.


Anniversary to Remember

5 on November 15, 2011

Two gracious hosts who made us feel welcome and pampered our entire stay. Their attention to detail made our anniversary one to remember. We plan on returning soon! The Richards


Loved it

5 on October 25, 2011

My wife and I loved our stay. The hosts were very friendly and knowledgeable of the area. It was a great weekend. We will be back.


The Teacher's Pet Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $95 - $95
  • Reviews (17) 4.9
  • Rooms 2
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 724-368-8920

Visit Website »

View details

Top