Germantown Homestay Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Service4.6
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Onsite Dining4.1

Score Breakdown based on
18 Reviews

Write A Review

A sweet get-away

4.4 on April 29, 2016

My husband and I always enjoy visiting Philadelphia and were looking for an alternative to a hotel. The Germantown Homestay was a perfect fit, located in a neighborhood filled with historic homes and close to parks, and less than a half-hour's drive from center city Philadelphia. Our room was very comfortable and relaxing. The innkeepers, Molly and Pekka, were attentive and welcoming- and a continental breakfast (good coffee) was served outside our door at exactly the time we had requested it! We will certainly return for our next trip. I'm so glad we discovered this cozy gem.


The Best Home Away From Home

5 on January 07, 2016

Molly and Pekka exceeded our expectations. They were very welcoming and friendly. The room was very clean and large. They provided a great and filling breakfast too. Would recommend this place to everyone.


Amazing House

4.4 on November 15, 2015

There is just something wonderful about this house. Once you walk through the doors you feel this sense of peace and tranquility. I would love to know more of its history. I stayed on the 3rd floor and shared a kitchen and bathroom with Eva, who is nothing short of delightful!


I could not have been more pleased!

4.4 on October 12, 2015

I am so happy to write a review for this wonderful home away from home. I am originally from Philadelphia, and grew up in the southwest part of the city, so I was pleased to find a place close to all of the things I loved; and that made me feel at home. I came in for just one night from Pittsburgh, to attend an Eagles game with my spouse, who is originally from Louisiana but a die hard Eagles Fan. Molly and Eva were warm and gracious host, and made us both feel very welcome. Eva was kind enough to meet us in the late evening when we arrived, and took time to really talk and get to know us. She was full of insight and a true pleasure to chat with. Our room was extremely clean, and although we shared a bathroom on the third floor with Eva, it was a non-issue, as it was clean, stocked, and never a problem to access. We stayed out late to explore the city, and had no trouble getting in, or disturbing the house, which made me feel extremely comfortable. The television in the room, had anything we could think to watch Netflix, Hulu ect.. and we slept comfortably into the late morning without any interruption. I would definitely stay again, the property was so cute and the section of the city is perfect for anyone looking to have easy access to downtown attractions, and the comfort of a quiet neighborhood. We did not eat any breakfast (per my request) so I can't review that, but on the morning of our departure, fresh coffee and fruit was left for us which was lovely. Highly recommended, Chadd and Joy


Home away from home!

4.8 on March 20, 2015

I stayed with Molly, Pekka and Eva for the last 4 months while working it the Philadelphia area. I could not have asked for a better place to live! I had my own room and shared the kitchen and bath on the third floor. It was the best of both worlds, I had my privacy when I wanted , but also had people around if I wanted to visit or ask about local restaurants and events. The house is great, the people wonderful and I would definitely recommend them for long term stays as well as short term ones.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks, Amy, for your nice review. We really enjoyed having you. You are a great guest/housemate and we miss you! Molly


Wonderful Relaxing Stay

4.4 on March 08, 2015

We spent a wonderful weekend visiting with our daughter and going to the Flow Show. Molly and Pekka are wonderful hosts. They were very attentive and had a great recommendation for an Italian restaurant. The room was beautiful and we had a very restful and refreshing time. Very nice to have the attached bathroom although not being able to stand up to shower was a little difficult. Having breakfast brought up to the room was certainly a very nice touch. Thanks to both of you.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks, Folks! Hope to see you again soon.


Great Value!!

4.6 on June 17, 2013

My husband and I needed a place to stay near friends who live in the city,. We found this B&B, stayed three nights and will definitely return. The location is great, the room spacious and easy to live in. Molly is kind, generous and friendly yet one has plenty of privacy. In addition, it's a great value.


A clean well lighted room, tastefully decorated

4.2 on January 19, 2013

After spending an afternoon delving into archives at the nearby Germantown Historical Society, this was a nice place to relax and unwind, rather than race back to the series of trains that brought me in and out of town. A fascinating collection of books inhabits the room and the hallway outside. A pleasant place to wake up after a good night's sleep. The cost is moderate, breakfast of fruit buns and juice was surprisingly filling.


Mollie is so sweet!!

4.8 on October 25, 2012

I found this great B&B through Drexel University's College of Medicine website, and I'm so glad I decided to stay here! When my boyfriend and I arrived at the B&B, Mollie was there to greet us at the door and she even offered to drive us to go pick up some dinner. We stayed at Germantown for 2 nights and Mollie was so accommodating the whole time. I had to wake up really early both mornings, but she never complained and always had breakfast ready with a smile. The breakfast is delicious too -- an assortment of warm pastries + jam, fresh fruit, your choice of hot beverages, and OJ. Mollie is great to talk to, her house is gorgeous, and her little dog George is so sweet. All in all, everything about the stay was very pleasant and thanks for being such a great host Mollie! Hope to see you soon :) :)


HOME PARADISE

5 on July 02, 2011

RECENTLY, I MOVED TO GERMANTOWN, PA BECAUSE I FOUND A JOB WITH THE DEPARTMENT OF VETERANS AFFAIRS. WHEN I READ THE REVIEWS ABOUT GERMANTOWN HOMESTAY, I TOLD TO MYSELF, THIS IS THE PERFECT PLACE FOR ME. WHEN I ARRIVED TO THE BED AND BREAKFAST, MOLLY, THE OWNER WAS VERY POLITE AND WELL EDUCATED WITH ME. HER HOUSE LOOKS LIKE A DOLL HOUSE, IS BEAUTIFUL, CHARMING AND TRULY, A HOME. THE BEDROOM WAS VERY CLEAN WITH A COUNTRY STYLE. MOLLY HAVE A BEAUTIFUL FAMILY AND THEY OFFERED ME MANY ATTENTIONS, LIKE HOW TO USE THE PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION, WHERE TO BUY FOOD AND SHOWED ME THE AREA OF GERMANTOWN. I STAYED ABOUT 4 DAYS AND REALLY, WAS A GREAT EXPERIENCE THAT EXCEEDED MY EXPECTATIONS. FOR ME GERMANTOWN HOMESTAY IS MY HOME IN GERMANTOWN AND I FOUND ANOTHER FAMILY. IF YOU WANT A PLACE LIKE YOUR HOME, DIFFERENT, UNIQUE, QUIET, COMFORTABLE, BEAUTIFUL, CLEAN ..DONT HESITATE TO STAY IN GERMANTOWN HOMESTAY, IT IS THE PERFECT PLACE FOR YOU... GERMATOWN HOMESTAY IS YOUR HOME PARADISE...


Definitely more than worth the money!

4.4 on October 09, 2010

We came to Philadelphia only for the night on Thursday so that we could see the Barnes Foundation before it moves the following Friday morning. The home is on a nice little street and only 15 minutes away from the Barnes Foundation. It's very large and incredibly homey. We couldn't get into town until late, and Miss Molly Smith stayed up and waited for us to get in at 10:30pm and didn't make us feel like we were inconveniencing her at all. Our room was large, incredibly clean, and very cute. We talked for a little bit and had mentioned that there aren't any pictures of her place up online! So we decided to help her, and together we took pictures and made a Facebook page. For those of you interested, visit the facebook page by searching for Germantown Homestay. Breakfast was put outside of our room in the morning. There was a day bed in the room as well, so had we brought another person with us, there would have been room for them as well. We will definitely stay here again when we return to Philly for another visit. Miss Molly also e-mailed us to make sure we got home okay. For this price, you're only going to be able to get into a 2 star hotel like a Super 8. I suggest picking Germantown Homestay, it's cleaner, it's more comfortable, it's in a great location, and the host has grown up there and lived there her entire life so she can help you with anything you need.


Can't say enough about the hospitality!

5 on September 09, 2009

I came to Philadelphia with my two daughters from a small village in Alaska. Needless to say I felt quite out of my element in the city. We had a large nice bedroom filled with beautiful antique furniture. There were double french doors in the bedroom leading to the private bath with deep tub. But it was not so much the surroundings as it was the kind and warm hospitality that is rare to find that meant so much to me. Molly went out of her way to locate bikes in the shed and spent alot of time attempting to get the tires filled with air. She drew us maps and gave us an article on the nearby arboretum which she thought we'd be interested in and called the locksmith when I thought I locked my keys in the rental car. Molly and her lovely family made us feel so at home being so far from home. Their home for our four day stay was truly my sanctuary. I completely agree with the review titled "the nicest place" and also agree "if you need a place to stay in Philly this is where you want to be".


Great experience!!!

4.6 on May 25, 2009

This was our first time in a B&B, we had a great time with Molly and her family! The house is lovely, clean, and quiet, close to the train station! We were very surprised by the big bedroom and bathroom. Also, they were very helpful and kind people! Great experience!


Wonderful time

4.0 on October 15, 2008

I enjoyed staying with the Smith's. They were helpful, warm and welcoming. They know alot about Germantown and Philadelphia to aid in once stay.


The Nicest Place

5 on June 08, 2008

The Germantown Homestay is the friendliest home in which my wife and I have ever stayed. Jeff Smith, the proprietor, was extremely helpful to us in so many ways. He called my cell phone a couple of times as we were driving there to check on whether we were having any problems – which was especially fortunate because I made a wrong turn at a complicated interstate interchange, and then I couldn’t figure out how to get back to where I needed to be, so he directed me. We stayed at Jeff’s home for 2 weeks, and we made several day trips. Jeff gave me maps, and he called my cell phone whenever I was returning from a different direction to check on us (although I never had any trouble again). He brought us breakfast at whatever time we requested – and we enjoyed the apples, bananas, hard rolls, coffee, and orange juice. When we took the train to New York City, Jeff drove us to the station in the morning, and he came to the station to pick us up at night. He made accommodations when our daughter joined us, and he let her use her laptop computer on his wireless internet connection – which was of immense help to her in looking for an apartment. The location is near I-76, and it takes only about 10-15 minutes to drive to central Philadelphia or the University of Pennsylvania (unless you try to do it during rush hour). Google the address and print yourself a close-up map of the I-76 exit – after you exit, watch the overhead sign for Lincoln Dr. Turn right at Rittenhouse St. (a stop light), and left at Wayne Ave. (you have to turn, because it’s one-way the other way after that). Then go one block on Wayne Ave., and you’re there (on the right far corner). There are several restaurants and two grocery stores within a few blocks of the home, and there’s a big Target store on the other side of the I-76 interchange. If you need a place to stay in Philadelphia, this is where you want to be.


Lovely stay, generous hosts

4.2 on January 22, 2008

This was my first stay at the Germantown B+B. The room was very comfortable and clean. The hosts were outstanding and really went out of their way to help me get places that I needed to go. I would definitely recommend this B+B and would stay there again. Thank you!


Great

4.0 on August 20, 2007

The Germantown B&B was my first B&B experience. It was affordable and comfortable. I found the owners to be very friendly.


Germantown B&B

4.0 on April 19, 2007

This was our first experience at a B&B and it was great. Breakfast was wonderful and our room was comfortable and unique.


Germantown Homestay

Details

  • Nightly Rate $85 - $90
  • Reviews (18) 4.5
  • Rooms 1

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2679344562
Top