Moon Shadow Bed & Breakfast, Inc. Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
92 Reviews

Write A Review

1st time in Hershey, PA

4.6 on September 18, 2014

My husband and I had a nice stay even after our initial snafu. After arriving we discovered that Moon Shadow did not have a record of our reservation. We had our confirmation email from B&B.com. Our original room that we had reserved and paid for 3mo inadvance was re-reserved by another guest weeks later. That guest was a regular for this B&B and was also scheduled to check in later that evening so we were given an alternate room which was more spacious but not nearly as luxurious as the more expensive room we paid for. We still had a nice time although I would have preferred having the room we paid for in advance.


The MOST relaxing weekend Getaway!!!

5 on August 22, 2014

My fiancé and I brought my mother here for her birthday and she was in tears from so much happiness! This is by far the B&B we have been to. No traffic or any noise. This place definitely takes the award for PEACE and TRANQUILITY! Ralph and Mary were so sweet and hospitable. The breakfast was so tasty and fresh. We will definitely return!


Quiet and restful

4.2 on August 16, 2014

Great place to stay in the Hershey area.


I would return

4.0 on August 05, 2014

We stayed in this location for 3 nights. I have to say the rooms were great. A little warm at night for me but my wife was comfortable. Isn't that all that really matters? Anyways, the inn keepers were wonderful and nice. My only issue with this location was the food. I am an ex-chef, and in my opinion the food appeared to be frozen and they did not do much to hide it. The omelette had water in the plate (water in the bag when microwaved and then dispensing on the plate). There were a couple others that I questioned as well. Other than the food I would return. I am not sure I would pay what I did (179.99/night) but I would return.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your review. I myself am a former chief of 9 years with 2 country clubs as well as 1 hotel located in the Mainline. As a chief I am sure you know when adding milk to eggs this is what happens in order to keep them moist instead of the dry texture you will get at a local dinner. I can assure you we certainly do not serve frozen dishes to any of our guest. The next time you're here stop down in the kitchen and introduce yourself and share your culinary skills. We welcome the input in order to serve our guest in the best manor possible. We look forward to your next visit.


Moon Shadow....

3.6 on July 18, 2014

Lovely place, quiet, romantic, beats the crowded hotels any day. Have already recommended my friends and family to stay here if they ever travel to Hershey, PA...


wonderful retreat!

5 on July 13, 2014

I went here for my birthday, and was blown away by how wonderful it was! Breakfast was delicious, the bed was so comfortable, and the Jacuzzi tub was icing on the cake! I definitely plan on coming back.


Lives up to the great reviews!

5 on July 08, 2014

My wife and I spent our anniversary/holiday getaway at Moon Shadow and thoroughly enjoyed our stay! The room was lovely, the breakfasts were delicious with a little holiday flair, and Ralph & Mary were the sweetest, most accommodating hosts! We had high hopes based on all the great reviews, and still our expectations were surpassed! Thank you Ralph and Mary! We will definitely stay at Moon Shadow again the next time we're visiting the area!


Memorable Romantic Getaway!!!!

4.8 on June 18, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Tuscany Suite at Moon Shadow for a one night romantic getaway and it was perfect! The bed and breakfast is absolutely beautiful. We will definitely be visiting again! Rosia & Todd York, PA

Innkeeper Response
Thank you, we really enjoyed meeting you and hope to see you again, thanks.


Wonderful visit!

5 on June 13, 2014

This was our second stay at Moon Shadow, and we have already booked for next year. It is a beautiful place, and while quiet and secluded it is also incredibly convenient to everything.

Innkeeper Response
You two really fly high in our book too. Thank you we enjoy having you; see you next June.


Awesome stay!

5 on June 12, 2014

Tuscany suite is very romantic and private. This was our second time there. Ralph and Mary are super nice. Breakfast was amazing!!!! Short drive and easy to get to Hershey.

Innkeeper Response
You're a great couple we sincerely appreciate your kind words and hope to see you again. Thank you.


Loved it!

4.4 on June 07, 2014

We loved our stay at this bed and breakfast, the owners were very pleasant and made delicious breakfast! This property was very relaxing, Will definitely go back!!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you, your kind words mean a lot to us.


The Perfect Romantic Weekend

5 on June 03, 2014

My Husband and I stayed here for Mother's day. It was amazing. We had a great, relaxing, and peaceful night. We will be coming back!!!

Innkeeper Response
Wow, thank you we will do our best to make your next stay even better.


Thunderstorm

3.8 on May 20, 2014

Or stay was wonderful. The hot water does take a while to get to the faucet but is hot once it arrives.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you, glad you enjoyed your stay.


Amazing B&B!

5 on April 30, 2014

Ralph and Mary were wonderful hosts! The Garden Suite was beautiful which included a jacuzzi tub and even a fireplace. It was spacious and the bed was one of the most comfortable I've slept in. Breakfast was delicious! I would definitely recommend Moon Shadow!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you, thank you, thank you. We meet some pretty nice people and you guys are the best.


My Birthday Gift

4.0 on April 23, 2014

Room and property were beautiful, and Mary and Ralph were very nice and easy to talk to. Our stay was very memorable. K and A

Innkeeper Response
Thank you.


Choose Moonshadow if you're in Hershey!

5 on April 19, 2014

Very friendly b&b hosts; rooms spacious and well-appointed; delicious breakfast served on time; bed was extra comfortable. We would definitely stay here again!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your review, hope to see you again.


Just what we needed

5 on April 09, 2014

Our stay was peaceful, our massages were relaxing and the good was amazing. Mary and Ralph were great !

Innkeeper Response
We're happy you enjoyed your stay, thank you.


Great bed and breakfast

4.8 on April 02, 2014

This was exactly the getaway my wife and I needed. Moon shadows was amazing. The room was very clean and cozy. The owners were extremely friendly and the breakfast was the best I've ever had. We will definitely be going back.

Innkeeper Response
We're happy you stayed with us and a big thanks for your gracious review.


Loved This Bed and Breakfast!!

5 on March 28, 2014

Ralph and Mary were both very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was delicious. Would definitely go back again!!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you, we look forward to serving you again.


Couldn't have had it any better!

5 on March 13, 2014

Ralph and Mary are such wonderful hosts. The cocoa suite was perfect for our group of six. We will definitely be telling all of our friends about you! And we will be back! Thanks so much for REALLY going out of your way to make a group of grown women who spend a weekend acting like teenagers feel welcome and wonderful!

Innkeeper Response
You guys are a hoot, one thing though, you promised to leave me some "Wine Ice Cream"; OK, who ate mine?


The Best of the Best!!!

5 on March 11, 2014

It is absolutely a wonderful place to go to get away and relax and be pampered. It's like they took the best qualities of all the bed and breakfast and put them in one place!

Innkeeper Response
Thanks, that's what we intended.


Quiet Relaxing Destination

4.6 on March 06, 2014

Ralph and Mary are very gracious hosts. Having breakfast in our room was a treat! The room was spacious, clean and inviting. In a nice quiet area only 10 minute drive to the Hershey area. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend Moon Shadown as a destination.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you, we enjoyed meeting you.


Fluffy Pancakes

4.8 on February 25, 2014

Ralph & Mary were very friendly. The room was very clean and enjoyable. The pancakes in the morning were AMAZING - so FLUFFY!! :)

Innkeeper Response
I agree, Mary's pancakes are incredible. Thank you for stating that.


A relaxing getaway

4.6 on February 24, 2014

My husband and I are so glad that we found Moon Shadow B&B for a recent getaway. We immediately felt welcomed and relaxed. The room was incredibly comfortable and the views were amazing. We made use of the beautiful fireplace, the roomy jacuzzi, and had some of the best massages of our lives at Serenity, the onsite massage and sauna space. We look forward to returning in the future!

Innkeeper Response
On behalf of Jodi and Jenn, our Masseuses, we thank you for your review. Hope you find the time to stay again.


Perfect place to stay for a baby moon

4.6 on February 11, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for our baby moon this winter, and the couple that run the b+b did a wonderful job of making everything very relaxing. From accommodating to my wife's gluten free diet to making sure her massage was everything she wanted they do an excellent job.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you, getting it right the first time is our goal.


Pleasant surprise in Hershey

5 on February 07, 2014

After researching the Hotel Hershey, including its pricing and availability, I decided to look elsewhere for lodging for a getaway weekend and stumbled across the Moon Shadow B & B online. A fantastically clean, well-accommodated and quiet B&B near central Hershey that was perfect for our getaway needs. Ralph and Mary, the owners, were very friendly and helpful without being overbearing or intrusive. The Sunday morning breakfast delivery was fantastic. Meeting the family pets was a bonus! I couldn't recommend a B&B more highly than Moon Shadow. I will stay again when traveling in Hershey.


Great spot for anniversary celebration

5 on February 03, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Moon Shadow B&B for only one night to celebrate our anniversary. The location was peaceful, the couple who run the B&B were so friendly, and the food was amazing during the breakfast served in your room. We would love to stay again sometime.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you, we hope to see you again too.


Peaceful night away

5 on January 21, 2014

My wife and I spent the night at Moon Shadow as a get away night. The room was nothing less than perfect. Ralph and Mary were great hosts and we would recommend the Nautical room to anyone. From the fireplace to the jacuzzi, we had a perfect night. The bed was so comfortable that we would have traded our sleep number for it in a heartbeat. Of course the highlight was the 2 course breakfast served in our room the next morning. Like I said, perfect.

Innkeeper Response
Awe-shucks, thank you for the glowing review. We love what we do and the people we meet. We hope to see you again some day.


A Wonderful Night for Two!

4.8 on January 16, 2014

In the Hershey area over the weekend for a festive gathering with friends, I looked for a place that offered more than just a bed. I had "cute room", fireplace, Jacuzzi tub and "bed and breakfast" all on my wish list. Our stay at Moon and Shadow B&B was all that and more! Thank you Mary and Ralph! Looking forward to our next visit!

Innkeeper Response
Your welcome look forward to your next visit. Thanks for the kind words. Ralph & Mary


Awesome place to stay!

4.6 on December 30, 2013

My husband and here have stayed here twice in the Garden Room and find it to be a very nice getaway. The room is very spacious and nice, including a fireplace and jacuzzi tub. It is also a very easy drive to Hershey Park, and its a great place to stay as a couple to avoid all the kids in the more mainstream hotels in that area. We would stay here again in a heartbeat and highly recommend it!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you, we hope to see you again.


outstanding

5 on December 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at moon shadow bed and break for our 12 year anniversary. it was the best experience. The keepers were very friendly the food was out if this world!! Excellent taste in decorating. We hope to go again!!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for your kind words.


Anniversary Getaway

5 on December 18, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary here December 13-14. This bed and breakfast is OUTSTANDING!!!! The rooms are clean and well decorated, the owners are so friendly, the breakfast served in your room is wonderful and the serenity massages we had were the best!!!! We highly recommend Moon Shadow!! I hope to make it back this summer, they have a beautiful pond with sitting area!!! Thank you Ralph and Mary for a fabulous anniversary getaway!!! Kathi and Dave

Innkeeper Response
Kathi and Dave it was a pleasure serving you; it's folks like you that make this endeavor worth while. Ralph & Mary


Very nice & clean!!!

4.4 on December 15, 2013

The room was very nice & very clean!! No real complaints at all. Innkeepers were very friendly and accommodating!! Only thing I feel the need to mention is I think the rooms are a little pricey. For $189 a night you can stay at a local hotel and have an unground pool to swim in, unlimited breakfast and a jacuzzi in your room. But overall I would recommend this B&B.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your comments.


Lovely stay at Moon Shadow B&B!

5 on December 13, 2013

Ralph and Mary are absolutely wonderful hosts! The room was amazing. Better than we ever imagined! The hot tub was spectacular, with candles and matches all ready for us. The fireplace was nice and cozy during our snowy stay, and we left feeling so refreshed and relaxed! Breakfast had multiple courses and was just delicious. I can't wait to have another visit!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you, Thank you, Thank you; we're happy you didn't let a little snow dampen your sense of adventure.


A hidden Gem

5 on November 29, 2013

This was our second time here and can't wait to visit again. This place doesn't lose its charm.

Innkeeper Response
We have high regard for the two of you, thank you for taking the time to place your review.


Great time!

4.2 on November 22, 2013

The room was very nice and the breakfast was delicious! I would recommend this to anyone who wants a nice getaway.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your review, it means a lot to us.


Review of Moon Shadow

4.4 on October 29, 2013

Very nice stay here! The owners are so nice and really care about providing a relaxing and comfortable atmosphere for their guests. Beautiful property and the breakfast was delicious!


Cocoa Suite

5 on October 25, 2013

Service was friendly, food fantastic and the room was extremely relaxing

Innkeeper Response
We enjoyed meeting you, thanks.


Our Great Fall getaway to Moon Shadow B&B

4.0 on October 23, 2013

Special thanks to Ralph and Mary for allowing us to enjoy their B&B. Each morning we were served a most delicious breakfast and always with a smile. Our room was so neat and clean and refreshed when we arrived back in the afternoon. We would most certainly recommend this B&B as a pleasant ,welcoming place to stay. The Walker's from N.C.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for the kind words we're happy you had a great stay.


Great weekend B&B

5 on October 03, 2013

I stayed there for a weekend in late September, one Friday night in the Garden Room and one Saturday night in Tuscany room. They were very accommodating with the switch (that's all that was available on fairly short notice) and move our bags for us while we were out for the day. The rooms were fabulous - the view, the bathroom, the dining area, etc. - even the smell of the room was amazing. The owners were also very friendly and seemed just like the neighbor you wish you had. I have been to many B&Bs where the owners were just rude, really strange, or just made you feel awkward. That is not the case at Moon Shadow. Only negatives which are extremely minor were the area and dinner. For the area - there is Hershey Park (which we did not go to), and in my opinion, that's mostly it. If you just want a romantic weekend away, then it doesn't really matter though. The breakfast was excellent, and even brought to you in your room. The dinner was recommended as Harper's Tavern which was nearby, but was absolutely horrible. Maybe I just had different expectations and it wasn't really my crowd, but it was a terrible food and dinner experience for my husband and me. Overall, I would recommend the B&B to everyone!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you ever so much for your review; we take every comment to heart. Thanks too for your response on our recommendation for dinner, we need to hear those as well.


A Sweet Country Oasis

5 on October 01, 2013

This lovely B & B is private, accommodating and very welcoming. Mary and Ralph were receptive to our late arrival (even speaking with us twice when our GPS failed!) and showed us to our suite. The bathroom (with hot tub) was clean and well-stocked; our sitting room where breakfast was served to us and the lovely huge bedroom (gorgeous view of the rolling lawn) was even better than we'd expected. Next time we're coming back for a longer stay!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you, we loved having you.


Will Stay Again

4.8 on September 19, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Moon Shadow B&B to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The accommodations were superb and the Spangenbergs were a lovely couple. It was wonderful to open the windows at night and hear the only the owls. The grounds were well maintained and there were opportunities to enjoy the outdoors, either on the deck with the water feature, the patio, or into the wooded area behind the B&B. We will definitely stay again.


Cute, clean and peaceful B&B for our getaway

4.0 on September 19, 2013

My husband and I came to the B&B for a short anniversary getaway. We were hoping to "escape civilization" for the most part and we succeeded. Overall, our experience there was perfect! Pros: -Rooms were immaculate and well decorated -Small touches really made the stay feel B&B special (robes in the bathroom, candles/matches, playing cards, in-room fireplace, a wine bottle opener, glasses, extra blankets/pillows, snacks in the hall and extra k-cups and a personal in-room Keurig for my husband's coffee addiction) -Price is well worth what you get! -Owners were very friendly, helpful and hospitable whenever we needed anything -GIAGANTIC whirlpool bath that was incredibly relaxing -Beautiful, serene deck sitting area with koi pond and waterfall -Breakfast in your own room. Some feel this is a con, we personally appreciated having a private breakfast together. Cons (sort of...): -We could hear our intoxicated neighbors through the wall off and on which made things slightly less relaxing. We solved this with music and/or the TV and it worked out fine. No different than a hotel room in this regard. -Sheets in the bed were itchy and seemed to be getting old, not very comfy. We ended up laying on top of the more comfortable of the two layers. The bed itself and pillows were fine though - we did get a good night's sleep! -Breakfast was a bit of a let down (we are a little picky and often our expectations are too high). The stuffed french toast was delicious but everything else seemed like an afterthought (canned fruit cocktail, some very sugary coffee cake...not a very balanced breakfast as far as nutrition goes either). -Cheap toliet paper. I think if a B&B is going to cut costs anywhere, it should not be on the toliet paper! :) All in all, we would definitely stay again - and hope to! It was a such a relaxing trip for us, which is just what we needed. Thank you, Ralph and Mary - we have already recommended it to several of our friends!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you, we are very pleased to have your review. And, thanks for the Cons as well we need those to assure a pleassant stay for all.


Excellent Get Away

4.8 on August 19, 2013

It was our first visit to Hershey Park and was more than pleased with our stay at Moon Shadow Bed & Breakfast! In researching places to stay, the other hotels with suites were incredibly over priced and didn't offer much more than basic accomodations. I was so surprised at how clean and very spacious the Cocoa Suite was when we arrived. With a private entrance, patio, two bedrooms, full kitchen and bath, and two living room areas, a whole family could comfortably stay at in this suite! My sincere Thanks to Ralph and Mary for a First Class presentation of the amazing breakfast, also! Very charming, and would strongly recommend these accomodations to anyone!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you, you were ideal guests we really appreciate you kind words.


Perfect Getaway

5 on August 19, 2013

Thanks Ralph and Mary. Only spent one night but everything exceeded our expectations. Breakfast was first class. Richard & Julia

Innkeeper Response
Thank you very much, it was a pleasure meeting you. Richard, weddings are supposed to be loud :-)


Relaxing B&B

4.6 on July 26, 2013

Very enjoyable and relaxing location. Bed was comfortable and breakfast delicious.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you, we appreciate your comments.


Romantic and all the comforts of home

5 on July 20, 2013

We had an amazingly romantic stay for four nights. It was like being at home but with an amazing home cooked breakfast every morning. We LOVED staying here and would totally come back again!!!!

Innkeeper Response
WOW thanks for the review, we enjoyed having you.


Hershey birthday stay

4.4 on July 07, 2013

This was great it was about 10 minutes from hershey park and perfect stay great service and room was great definately recomend it

Innkeeper Response
Thank you, it was our pleasure.


Friendly, Beautiful, Convenient

4.8 on July 05, 2013

We stayed here one night after a day at Hersheypark. We had made reservations at least a week before, but we called that day and asked if we could come in later after the park closed. The owners were very helpful. Everything looked great, the food was good, and the neighborhood was beautiful for a morning walk. We'd stay here again.

Innkeeper Response
We enjoyed meeting you hope to see you again.


Wonderful romantic get away.

5 on June 21, 2013

My husband stayed for two nights in the Tuscany room and just loved it. It was very spacious, clean and romantic. Ralph and Mary really made sure we had everything we needed. They even went above and beyond and put a microwave in our room for medical needs. We would def. visit their B&B again.

Innkeeper Response
It was a pleasure, thank you for your kind words, hope to see you soon.


Once we found it, the place was lovely

4.2 on June 21, 2013

Because the B&B is not in Palmyra, we ended up asking the local fire department how to get there. They were very helpful. The room was quite nice, with a 2 person whirlpool tub, an excellent shower and a comfortable bed. Breakfast was served in the room and I did miss the opportunity to talk with other guests about the area attractions. We were sent to a local restaurant for dinner (Harpers) where we enjoyed a steak entrée. Our stay was enjoyable and we would recommend Moon Shadow to anybody travelling in that part of Pennsylvania.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you, and as we discussed the bridge detour didn't help, but we're glad you enjoyed your stay.


Wonderful time!

5 on May 30, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful time!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you, we enjoyed having you. Please come again.


Very Peaceful and Relaxing

4.2 on May 06, 2013

Innkeepers were very nice and accommodating, rooms were super clean and the location is very convenient to Hershey Park. The view from the Tuscany Room was amazing!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you, you are a very nice couple and we do hope to see you again.


Perfect B&B

4.0 on April 18, 2013

We loved the location...out in the countryside and so peaceful! It was great to open the windows and not hear anything but the birds and the wind. The food and service were great. We really enjoyed getting food delivered directly to our room. The hosts were nice and accomodating.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you We enjoyed serving you.


Perfect!

5 on March 13, 2013

My wife and I chose to spend a romantic weekend at Moon Shadow B&B to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary. We couldn't have made a better choice. Moon Shadow Ralph & Mary's B&B gave us the amenities of a 5 start hotel, but made us feel the comforts of home as well. Don't go somewhere else for your getaway....this is where you wanna stay. I think my wife and I will be celebrating many future anniversaries at Moon Shadow. Jim & Tina 3/8 - 3/10, 2013.

Innkeeper Response
What a nice couple, may you enjoy 25+ more. Thanks


Charming and Relaxing B&B

5 on February 28, 2013

Are stay at Moon Shadow Bed & Breakfast far exceeded our expectations. Ralph and Mary are friendly and excellent innkeepers. The Tuscany Suite was spacious, clean, and romantic. Breakfast was delicious. Thank you and we will be back again.

Innkeeper Response
What a nice couple, may you enjoy 25+ more. Thanks


Girls Night Out Package

4.6 on February 19, 2013

We booked the Girls Night Out Package for my sisters 40th Birthday celebration and it was a wonderful retreat for myself, sisters, sister in law, and mother. We were pampered with massages ( the best I ever had) and the use of the sauna. The newly built serenity spa is a short walk down a wooden step path from the suite. It is private and comfortable with a fireplace located in the small building with 2 massage beds that are divided by a curtain. Afterwards, we had use of the large cocoa suite ( more like an apartment) included with the package deal. We utilized it well. There is a small kitchen that we had snacks and beverages while others were enjoying their massages. We also made use of the Wii system and had a "Just Dance" competition between us girls. It also had a cozy electric fireplace that provided a lot of warmth and ambiance. For dinner, we ordered some delicious Chinese food from a nearby restaurant in which the owners offered to pick up for us! The owners,Ralph & Mary, were welcoming and met all of our needs. Also worth mentioning are the very COMFORTABLE beds and my sister tried out the jetted tub and loved it! The in room breakfast provided the next morning more than exceeded my expectations - Yummy! With my sisters in Connecticut and others from Pittsburgh this was the perfect meeting place for us to truly relax, and hang out. If the weather was a little warmer, we probably would have made use of the lovely deck, small pond, and acres sorrounding the Inn. You cannot go wrong staying here, I promise. - Diane

Innkeeper Response
And you were great too; thanks for your confidence and review, BTW how did the picture work out?


What a wonderful little getaway!

5 on February 11, 2013

The room was tastefully decorated. Breakfast in the room was delicious and a wonderful treat. Ralph and Mary were delightful. We can't wait to come back!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you, it is our pleasure to serve.


Convenient to Hershey, lancaster, and Lebanon

3.2 on January 17, 2013

The Garden Room was very nice. We enjoyed the jacuzzi and breakfast in our room . A negetive is that we could here the people in the room next to us. There was a heavy layer of dust above the wardrobe but otherwise the room was clean and neat. the Garden room was roomy and having the Kuric in the room was also nice.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you, feedback is always important to us.


Great views and outstanding service

5 on December 12, 2012

We along with friends stayed at Moon Shadow while attending Farm Aid Concert in Sept. The owners went out of their way to make our stay amazing. They even made my breakfast Gluten-free at request. The Tuscany Room with views of rolling hills and trees was very lovely, tastefully decorated and just what we were looking for. Ralph and Mary, thanks so so much for your hospitality. Connie & Mike Moran

Innkeeper Response
Caring people like you make it a pleasure to serve. Thank you.


Five Star!

4.8 on October 13, 2012

This is an outstanding B&B which is purpose built. Every extra touch is present. Breakfast in the room was a delightful departure.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you, we'er glad you enjoyed your stay.


Great Stay at Quaint B&B

4.2 on October 07, 2012

We loved Moon Shadow Bed & Breakfast. Our room was clean and nicely decorated, the owners were friendly and very helpful, and the food was great!

Innkeeper Response
Thanks,we enjoyed meeting you.


Excellent first B&B experience!

4.8 on September 30, 2012

My girlfriend and I wanted to take a weekend away from everything and this was the perfect place! We stayed in the Nautical Suite for two nights and loved every second of it. We arrived Friday night and were welcomed by Ralph and Mary in the office. After we were shown to our room, we went out to dinner at one of the many local restaurants. We woke Saturday morning to the smell of bacon and strawberry cream cheese stuffed French toast. What a wonderful breakfast! We spent time out on the beautiful deck and listened to the running water of the koi pond. The two person Jacuzzi tub was heavenly! And it's a good thing there's plenty of hot water. After a fantastic Sunday breakfast of berries, potatoes, and cheesy egg and sausage bake, we had to pack up and leave. The whole weekend was a wonderful, relaxing time. We are definitely planning on returning! -Steph and Andrea


Excellent

5 on September 24, 2012

Hidden Gem! Top notch. Highly recommend.


Best Weekend Ever

5 on August 19, 2012

I booked the Tuscany Suite for our stay this past weekend. It was absolutely gorgeous! The view was beautiful, bed was comfortable, jacuzzi was the perfect size, and we even played a game of Scrabble that they left in our room. The mini fridge came in handy and the bathrobes were super soft! The breakfast was amazing! We loved everything about this place. I even proposed to my girlfriend outside sitting on the deck by their pond at dusk. It was so perfect. What a great place to be able to say we started this journey together! Highly recommend to everyone!


8/5.12

4.6 on August 11, 2012

The facility was excellent including a comfortable, tastefully decorated room, beautiful bathroom with jacuzzi..we also loved the deck and pond..breakfast delicious, served IN ROOM & on time, host/hostesses were cordial and welcoming..we would love to return! Mike Stitt

Innkeeper Response
Thanks Mike, look forward to your next visit.


Great First Stay at a B and B!

5 on August 07, 2012

Thank you so much for the wonderful experience at your B and B. Rich and myself (Linnette) stayed in the Nautical Suite for 4 nights/5 days (7/23-7/27). It was great! Thank you for the delightful breakfast each morning, which was different each day and thank you for the simple conversation in the morning when I didn't want to get out of bed. You made us feel at home in your home. The jacuzzi and our very own glass of wine, was a great way to relax at the end of a long day at Hershey Park! I also liked that there were little snacks for us outside of the room, and flyers for things to do around the area. Thank you Mary and Ralph! You made our vacation memorable.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you Linnette, We enjoyed having you and Rich.


Lovely--privacy & tranquility at Moon Shadow B & B!

4.6 on August 03, 2012

Moon Shadow Bed & Breakfast provided a tranquil respite for our wedding anniversary, all while being just a ten minute drive away from the main attractions of Hershey. Upon check-in, my husband and I were promptly and cordially greeted by the innkeepers, Ralph & Mary, and shown to our large suite shortly thereafter. The two-room Tuscany Suite was incredibly spacious with an ensuite two-person jacuzzi tub bathroom, two televisions, a beautiful fireplace and several seating options. Accompanying the ample-sized suite were a few useful amenities, such as, a personal Keurig, mini-refrigerator, board games, books and take-out menus. The room's great bay window was a perfect spot to take in the morning sun and enjoy the sights and sounds of nature. A delicious breakfast served in-room at a romantic table for two was also quite enjoyable; we particularly savored the cream cheese and strawberry stuffed french toast. Also, the inn was nice and well cared for. The only minor things to bring to attention were the fact that there was dust on top of the head board, and the soap pump in the bathroom was only about 1/4 filled...perhaps these were just mere oversights since all else was clean and dust-free. Overall, my husband and I had a lovely stay in the Tuscany Suite and we would certainly consider staying at Moon Shadow Bed & Breakfast again!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you, we appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again.


Perfect Getaway.....

5 on July 20, 2012

Everything was absolutely perfect..... It was just what we needed, a quite weekend away to spend some quiet time together. John & Angel NJ

Innkeeper Response
Thank you, we're very happy to have you as guests.


Wonderful and Relaxing

4.6 on June 25, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful 2 night stay. We had a beautiful room and very gracious hosts. Breakfast was very good, especially the stuffed french toast.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you, the French toast is always a big hit.


Pleasant Stay at the Moon Shadow B&B

4.0 on June 01, 2012

My boyfriend and I recently spent 2 nights in the nautical room. We were looking for a cozy B&B close to Hershey Park. The Moon Shadow B&B seemed to fit the bill. We were greeted by Ralph and Mary, the innkeepers, who were both warm and inviting. After a quick check-in process, Mary showed us to our room where I was pleasantly surprised. The room was larger than I had imagined. It was quaintly decorated in a nautical theme, as the name suggested. The bed had comfy linens to make you feel right at home. The room was outfitted with a breakfast nook, cable tv, wi-fi, gas fireplace, ceiling fan, mini fridge, coffee maker, bottled water and plenty of coffee and teas. In the fridge there were 6 of the largest chocolate covered strawberries I have ever seen, which I requested for an additional charge. We then moved on to the bathroom. Oh, the bathroom. It was huge and glorious and everything I could ever want. There was a beautiful 2 person jacuzzi in the corner with several tea light candles along the side. I would recommend leaving a matchbook for the candles, as we had no means to light them. The shower was a good size with a great waterfall shower head and there were 2 plush robes hanging nearby. There were mini soaps, lotions, shampoos and conditioners for us but I wasn't a fan of how they clearly had been used from the stay before. I would prefer to have fresh mini bottles, still sealed. Our fist night there, we enjoyed a glass of wine out on the back porch by a small water feature. It was charming and a nice end to the evening. We woke up early each morning for a 2 course breakfast and fresh coffee made up by Mary and served by Ralph. The getting up early wasn't our favorite since we were on vacation and wanted to sleep in a bit. Overall, our stay was everything we were looking for. The price was great, the room was beautiful and spacious, we had all the basics plus some extra perks. I would recommend this B&B to any couples looking for a nice short getaway.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you we enjoyed having you.


Great Time

4.6 on May 25, 2012

This was our first B&B but it will definitely not be our last. Ralph and Mary were extremely friendly and went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. They have a beautiful home and we very much enjoyed our stay in the Cocoa Sweet. Only about 10 minutes from Hershey and no more than 30 minutes from pretty much anything we wanted to do, the location and surrounding area could not have been nicer. Cocoa sweet had 2 huge TV's, with 900+ channels on them in HD, a Wii, and board games as well as a full bathroom and kitchen. The pond and deck out back is beautiful, and especially nice to sit near at night! I actually chose this spot to propose to my girlfriend and I don't think I will ever forget that. Couldn't have asked for a better place for our anniversary. Breakfast was phenomenal every morning, served with fresh fruit and juice. Would definitely go back!

Innkeeper Response
We are so very proud you decided to pop the question here at Moon Shadow B&B. You are two very nice people and we wish you a happy, loving, prosperous life together.


3rd anniversary

4.8 on May 16, 2012

Me and my husband stayed at the moon shadow b&b this past weekend for our third wedding anniversary. We stayed in the tuscony room. It was absolutley beautiful. Pictures do not do this place justice, inside or out. Not only was our room spotless but the breakfast they served was delicious. I would recomend staying at the moon shadow b&b to anyone. We will definetley be returning!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for the kind words, we enjoy having you.


The Real Hershey Kiss

5 on April 03, 2012

Stayed at the Moon Shadow while attending a concert at Hershey, also celebrated our 26th anniversary. We stayed in the Garden room which was tastefully decorated, spacious and immaculately clean. We enjoyed the Jacuzzi tub, fireplace and comfortable bed. Breakfast is served in your room and the innkeepers very accommodating to any wants or needs you might have. If you’re looking for a quiet getaway for special occasion, place to relax or traveling through and just looking for a great night sleep, this B&B has it all. It truly is the best kept secret around Hershey!


Wonderful B&B

5 on March 27, 2012

My husband and I completly enjoyed our stay at the Moonshadow bed and breakfast. The room, location, breakfast, and details were all PERFECT for a romantic weekend away from every day life. I spent quiet time just looking out the window and experiencing the quite and tranquiliy of the location. Ralph and Mary were amazing hosts! And what a plus the delivery of breakfast right to your room :)

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for the kind words. Look forward to serving you again sometime.


Stay at Moon Shadow B&B

4.2 on March 15, 2012

Ralph and Mary were wonderful hosts and we enjoyed them immensely. Their home and property are beautiful. They also provided good recommendations for local restaurants. Would stay here again.

Innkeeper Response
Thnak you we look forward to seeing you again.


Wonderful getaway!!

5 on February 23, 2012

This will be our new get-away! What a beautiful and relaxing place - Ralph and Mary are fantastic and we loved every minute of it!

Innkeeper Response
Awe Shucks it was our pleasure; thank you for the kind words.


Best Bed and Breakfast Experience

4.0 on February 20, 2012

My wife and me stayed her this past weekend. I cannot say enought about Ralph and Mary's "home and hospitality" We stayed in the Tuscan"room" it was absoutely amazing. Ralph and Mary were the best they gave us "room" but were there if we needed anything. it was a wonderful experience from the room, breakfast (delivered each morning) to the area. They are the best and we hope we can return soon to be pampered again! Thank You Ralph and Mary. Bill and Judy

Innkeeper Response
Thank you, It's people like you that make our job a pleasure. Look forward to seeing you again.


Honey Moon Stay

5 on February 14, 2012

We had a great time staying there. We traveled all the way from Nebraska to see Hershey Park and Spa since my wife is a chocolate freak. Everything we wanted to see and do was close by. Plus even after a week of staying it was hard to leave. Some key things I liked. Great breakfast. Plenty of towels. Directions to shopping centers Hershey Park, and Museums.


Simply Wonderful

4.8 on January 24, 2012

Me and my wife needed a getway from the kids (even for one night) And we are totally happy we picked moon shadow. We will be making return trips for sure.

Innkeeper Response
We look forward to serving you again sometime.


"Just Right"

5 on January 15, 2012

The Moon Shadow Bed and Breakfast was an easy 20 minute drive from the Farm Show that my husband and I attended last week. The Nautical Room we stayed in was beaufully decorated and included many nice extra touches such as terry robes, a Keurig coffee pot and pods, and tea lights on the Jacuzzi. We especially liked that our room had a separate entrance and breakfast was served to us at the table in our room by Mary who brought us delicious food like orange pancakes with homemade orange syrup and fresh maple syrup. Mary offered us the perfect combination of privacy and pampering which we really appreciated as we have been to many bed and breakfasts where the owners have spent way too much time hanging around talking to us. The only negative would be that we weren't given a choice of breakfast foods or the time it was served, but as we were flexible on the time and everything we were served was delicious, it didn't really matter. I am sure that if we had requested a different time or breakfast food, Mary would have been accommodating. We have been to many bed and breakfasts and Moon Shadow is our favorite one. The grounds and view are beautiful and we hope to come back sometime in the summer when we can enjoy the outside.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you, we enjoyed having you.


Great Breakfast

3.8 on January 05, 2012

Loved that breakfast was served right in the room and it was delicious. Disappointed that the room wasn't cleaned very thoroughly between the previous guests and my stay. Hair from previous guest all around the bathroom and dog hair on the sheets. Made me doubt how clean any part of the room was. If you aren't picky about those things there's nothing else to complain about. The property was beautiful and owners were very pleasant. Great location. Not sure I'd stay again though.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your feedback without which we would not know what we are doing right and what's not quite right yet.


Almost perfect

4.6 on December 18, 2011

Stayed in the Cocoa suite. This is a FANTASTIC place. We were so surprised at how beautiful it was. We actually decided to cancel the plans we had in Hershey for the evening and just come back to the suite for the evening after dinner. And the Innkeepers are about the friendliest people you could ever meet. The only thing I wasn't hot about was breakfast. It was some sort of egg and sausage casserole. Maybe my taste are just not refined enough. Maybe there should be a choice? Even so, we would still highly recommend this place!!!


Wonderful getaway

4.8 on November 29, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Moon Shadow for a weekend getaway and I could not have been happier! The room was great and all of the extra touches made it such a wonderful experience.


Awesome

4.0 on November 23, 2011

My fiancé and I stayed here in Nov and we loved it! First, the B and B is somewhat secluded and a very quite spot. The Tuscany is fantastic. It’s a large room with a separate sitting area. The bathroom was beautiful. The Jacuzzi tub was spotless, big enough for two (My fiancé is 6ft 4 inches and I am 5ft 11 in) and we were able to enjoy the Jacuzzi. There were ample towels, yes a lot of towels…and they were beautifully cleaned…very white and soft. The shower was beautiful too, with a towel Ralph conveniently close by… the lighting in the bathroom was done well too….you can dim the lights etc... The bedroom…the bed is huge and the remote control fire place was just perfect. The flat screen TV was a nice addition (yes there are two!) We used it to listen to our favorite music station and watched a few movies. A lot of light from the large windows. You could also sit in the sitting area in the bedroom; enjoy some wine and the scenery out the big window. Suggestion: If you plan to sleep in that may not happen as the morning sun shines through. Sun block drapes will be a nice addition to give us the option to sleep in. Food: Mary and Ralph bought us breakfast in our room 8:30am. Breakfast both mornings was awesome! Loved the French toast! They also have snacks available upstairs. Very convenient. We ate dinner at the Harper Tavern…about 5min away and at Ficinni in Hershey about 15 min away. Both were awesome. The Hershey outlet is conveniently close by too. We went there and spent hours. The Moon Shadow has a lot of outdoor areas you can enjoy. The deck by the water fall is awesome. We enjoyed a glass of wine and my fiancé’ smoked his cigar. We enjoyed the nature around us. Even though we visited in November we could still enjoy the deck.


Moon Shadow, Moon Shadow

5 on November 20, 2011

We stayed in the Garden room about a year ago and had an amazing time. The innkeepers were very polite and welcoming. Their home was beautiful! The jacuzzi tub was wonderful, the fireplace warmed the whole room, the bed was the comfiest we've ever slept in and the morning breakfast (french toast) was to die for. We are actually planning to return this upcoming Friday. Thank you for a wonderful stay! - Dez and Ben


Well Needed Getaway

5 on November 08, 2011

Spent a wonderful weekend here. Ralph and Mary were great and the breakfasts were delicious. Will definetly come again.


Great Romantic Getaway

5 on July 11, 2011

My husband and I needed a Romantic getaway and this was the perfect place for it! The Tuscany Suite was awesome - very large with a sitting room and bedroom, each with their own TV. The view from the bedroom was so peaceful and the two person jacuzzi tub was so relaxing! The breakfast was delicious and the Innkeepers, Mary and Ralph, were very helpful and friendly. Would definitely go back again!


Wonderful-One of The Best!

5 on November 17, 2010

Terrific B&B! One of the best I've visited. The owners were extremely gratious and accomodating. We thoroughly enjoyed the beautiful Tuscan Suite, view, hot tub, breakfast and robes. It felt like we were home and We shall return! C&J


A private getaway

5 on April 21, 2010

This B&B was fabulous. We stayed in the tuscan suite and were totally pleased with the decor and the view from the picture window. This is an extremely private getaway - private entrance and breakfast in your room. The bathroom was exquisite with a jacquzzi for two in addition to a shower. Breakfast was delicious and served when you requested. You better not be on a diet! The innkeepers were more than gracious and available for any of our needs. We highly recommend this B&B and are anxious to return.


Awesome Get-a-way

5 on April 20, 2010

So relaxing and great hospitality! Definately will return!


Perfect time - busy days and relaxing, luxurious nights

4.4 on April 16, 2010

The bed is ultra-comfortable; breakfast is yummy - can't wait to go back when the weather is warm and eat on the deck! The sky at night is breathtaking, so quiet and serene. Definitely one to keep on the short list!


Moon Shadow Bed & Breakfast, Inc.

Details

  • Nightly Rate $139 - $179
  • Reviews (92) 4.7
  • Rooms 4
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone (717) 641-3123

Visit Website »

View details

Top