Heritage House Inn Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.3
  • Service4.7
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
25 Reviews

Write A Review

A nice place to stay and enjoy.

4.0 on August 28, 2014

Room (Iron Horse) - clean, large, nicely decorated, comfortable bed; street noise entered due to window air conditioner. Bathroom - clean; 50's era fixtures are fully functional but do show their age. Service - Very kind, polite, friendly. Knowledgeable about Johnstown area. Willing to meet any request we made. Note: Caretaker lives nearby but can be reached any time via phone. Cleanliness - We found it to be clean. Orderliness - The 'Man Cave' was slightly cluttered; but is that not what a 'Man Cave' is all about? Snacks - Wonderful 24/7 fresh cookies! Social Hour - We arrived about 5:15 but this was not offered to us. Breakfast - Excellent! It was made with fresh local foods and indeed tasted fresh and delicious. Location - Within walking distance of winery, churches, river, restaurants, Heritage Museum, etc. Downtown is a slightly further, but still certainly close enough to walk to. Note that Johnstown is largely blue collar and this neighborhood reflects that. I would stay there again, but in Summer I'd request a non front street-facing room. Side note: The B&L Wine Cellars tasting room was a highlight of our visit.


Don'tstay

1.0 on July 24, 2014

food was disgusting; kitchen filthy dirty; the whole place needs a good cleaning; the owner left us ALONE on our last night there as she was returning to Florida!


Amazing breakfast! Great people! Great rooms! HAPPY HOUR rocks!

5 on December 11, 2013

Pecan french toast was amazing ! We thoroughly enjoyed talking with the owners, they are wonderful people! Happy hour was great! I gave five stars in every category and that says it all!


Fantastic!!!!!

5 on July 01, 2013

Absolutely one of the best places we have stayed. We were in town for our daughters wedding and could not have been taken better care of. Maryann went out of her way to make us feel at home. Breakfast was fantastic every morning and happy hour was a nice break from some very busy and rushed days. We will stay here again.


Like coming home....

5 on June 14, 2013

I stayed at The Heritage House over Labor Day weekend of 2012. What a wonderful surprise it was for me to stay somewhere that made me feel like I was coming home. Beautiful decor, wonderful food, warm environment and people who treated me like family. I could not have asked for a more wonderful experience and will always stay with them before I stay anywhere else when I visit "home".


love this place

5 on December 17, 2012

A group of us stayed at the heritage house for a getaway and to ski. We had a great time. The rooms were very clean. We felt more.like family than guests. The owners were very knowledgeable about the town and was really.cool. the food was great!!! It definitly was a better breakfast thEn a hotel!!! I would recommend this.plAce.to anyone we really loved it. We will plan to go back sometime soon


Amazing trip

5 on December 16, 2012

Came here with all my friends to go snowboarding at hidden valley. I'm in my late 20's so we were a little skeptical seeing that B&B's are more of an older thing to do. Boy was I wrong. The atmosphere was amazing and the people were very accommodating. The food was awesome, especially the triple berry pancakes and cream brulee french toast. Great recipes!! Thanks for the great memories and the great stories at breakfast. Had a blast. Me and my pack of friends will be returning for now on.


Great experience

4.8 on October 07, 2012

We visited the Heritage House Inn with another couple staying in the Iron Horse and Duck Room suite. Ginny and her family made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. The rooms were very clean and met ours needs quite nicely. The evening social hour included drinks in addition to some great hors d'œuvres. We ended our visit after enjoying a first rate breakfast. Would definitely stay at the Heritage House again.


Wonderful and fun experience.

5 on August 31, 2012

I stayed at the Heritage House in Johnstown in August for two nights. As this was my first bed and breakfast experience and my first trip to Johnstown I did not know what to ecpect. My stay there was so enjoyable and so much fun that I would like to visit the area again; and I will definetly stay here when I do. I cannot imagine anyone being more helpful or friendly than Maryann and as for the food at breakfast, it was delicious. My room was comfortabe and peaceful and I looked forward to returning at night after exploring Johnstown. If you are thinking of going to Johnstown Pa. this is the place you want to stay.


Bed, Breakfast and afternoon appetizers!

4.6 on August 18, 2012

I came to town for a funeral and felt lucky to find somewhere on line to stay. Turned out to be a wonderful place. MaryAnn was very friendly and helpful. As for her cooking abilities, breakfast was AMAZING! And I honestly have never stayed at a B&B that served afternoon snacks. Nice surprise upon arrival. Felt very well cared for and about.


Trip with grandson

4.4 on August 17, 2012

First time we stayed in Johnstown. The owner and Mary Ann were so friendly and accommadating. Enjoyed our time there.


The Only Inn in Town

4.0 on July 06, 2012

We were in town for a wedding and we couldn't have been happier to stay at the Heritage House Inn. The service was great, the breakfast was delicious, and the owners couldn't have been more accommodating. A few of the rooms still need updating but they were comfortable and my stay was enjoyable. Thanks for a great weekend!


The Perfect B & B

5 on June 25, 2012

We so enjoyed our stay at the Inn. Our hosts were wonderful people and the hospitality was excellent! Breakfasts were SPECTACULAR and we always looked forward to the afternoon "Happy Hour". Our room (Irish Room) was clean, cozy and the bed most comfortable. We couldn't have asked for anything more. Hoping to have the opportunity to return. Many thanks to you Ginny, Dennis and Marianne for making our stay so wonderful. Mike & Sharon Auburn, NY


Great Hosts and Wonderful B&B

4.4 on June 11, 2012

We can echo the same great words as previous reviewers, so we won't repeat them. The first night we stayed in the Irish Room, which has a small private bath and queen sized bed. Wanting a bit more room, we moved to the Chesapeake room the second night with the king sized bed and larger bath. We peeked into the other rooms which were all beautifully decorated. There is also a comfortable living room to sit and relax and a “man-cave” for those who want to watch sports on the big screen TV. The breakfasts were outstanding. The Santa Fe eggs and French Toast Creme Brulee were wonderful! In the early evening, the social hour included white and red wine, several types of quality beer (Amberbock, Heinekin), and unusual snacks such as onion-cheese-toast canapés and homemade cookies. Iced and hot tea and coffee were available throughout the day. Ginny, Dennis and Mary Ann are great hosts and are a wealth of knowledge about Johnstown and its history. They pointed us to several attractions that we might have missed. They even invited us along to a local church festival on Saturday evening which we thoroughly enjoyed. You cannot get this kind of personal service and local flavor at the chain hotel. If you want boring, all-look-the-same rooms, mass produced continental breakfasts and to hide away from the locals, then go to a hotel. If you want to get a taste of the local culture, sample some wonderful home cooking, and converse with friendly people, then try the Heritage House. Dan and Lynette


Felt Like Home

5 on June 04, 2012

This was our first stay at a B & B and we were so pleased with Heritage House. We used it as our home base as we explored the Johnstown Flood Museum, the National Flood Memorial near South Fork, and the Heritage Museum in Cambria City. We enjoyed a round-trip ride on the 121st anniversary of the Johnstown Inclined Plane (as well as complimentary birthday cake at the top) and strolled over a few blocks from the Inn to check out the Annual Polkafest. June 1-3 was a weekend with plenty going on in the area and we were close to all of it at Heritage House. The Inn itself is charming with themed rooms and common areas loaded with antiques interspersed with the comforts of home. We stayed in the beautiful, spacious Chesapeake Room decorated in shades of blue and beige. It has a king-sized bed and a lovely day bed plus an upholstered chair, chest of drawers, and wicker dressing table and stool. Like every room in the former church rectory, it includes a charming fireplace.We booked the room to include a private bath, which is spacious and bright. Most notable at this establishment, however, are the innkeepers, Ginny and Dennis, and their friend and right-hand gal, Mary Ann. She is a treasure, always ready to help with information, congenial conversation, and cooking that will make your mouth water! She was our hostess for the weekend, since Ginny and Dennis had some obligations on Friday and Saturday. We had a delightful weekend and will return to Heritage House on our next trip to the area.


LOVELY 2 NIGHT STAY

4.8 on May 16, 2012

My 2 sisters & I stayed here for 2 nights in early May. Ginny, Dave & Mary Ann were most gracious & accomodating. We enjoyed getting to know them & chatting with them. The breakfasts were gourmet & evening snacks & wine outside delightful & relaxing. The house is charming -- high ceilings, wide staircase & large rooms. Thank you!


Opening Weekend Thunder in The Valley 2011

5 on April 22, 2012

My husband and I . Ron and Heather had a truely wonderful expeirence at this lovely B&B. We felt right at home and are really looking forward to visiting with them for this years Thunder in The Valley. We will also be celebrating my husbands birthday is just before hand so I look forward to a romatic getaway that is just what every couple needs at least once in a while and what an Awesome place to have to stay. Close to all we need to enjoy the bike rally.


AMAZING!

5 on March 04, 2012

My boyfriend and I went to PA for a ski trip to Hidden Valley Ski Resort with 2 other couples and 3 friends and we all stayed at the Heritage House the weekend of Feb 24-26. We stayed in the Irish Room which was absolutely phenomenal! It was slightly offset by it's own little hallway and had it's own adorable little bathroom. It was clean and cozy and had a nice view of the back yard where we could see the fresh fallen snow. I got to peek into the other rooms our friends were in and they all were individually themed and equally as impressive. Each had colors and decorations that enhanced the room theme and made it feel like home. Even more impressive than the rooms was the breakfast we had!! They really make you feel like you're in a home and not an inn with the warm dishes and fresh fruit, coffee, and orange juice. I can almost taste the creme bruilee french toast now... DELICIOUS!! Besides being close to the ski resort, the B&B was down the street from the Phoenix which had a great atmosphere and food s well! Even if ski time is over, we are all already making plans to go back and visit! I cannot wait to get back! Dibs on the Irish Room!! :)


Felt right at home for the holidays

5 on January 31, 2012

Our family stayed at the inn on Christmas eve and Christmas day. The house was decorated beautifully and so cozy. The food was delicious and they even went above and beyond with special options for our 4 year old. Staying here brought back so many memories for us and made us feel like we were staying with family. David and Ginny have done such a wonderful job with preserving a piece of history. The rooms were spacious and comfortable and offer lots of storage. We will stay here every time we come back into town :) The McCleland Family

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for the lovely review. We really having you and we were tickled to see how Cash enjoyed his Christmas visit. We look forward to your next trip to Johnstown!


Outstanding Stay!

5 on January 30, 2012

We checked into the Heritage House Bed & Breakfast on Thursday night January 19th through Sunday the 22nd. We were impressed right away with the rooms. The rooms were large spacious and comfortable with a lot of attention to the decorating (each room has it's own theme.) We had a large group and took all but two rooms. There were eight kids in our party and the Inn was very accomading to our needs. There are plenty of bathrooms adjacent to the rooms. The best thing about our stay had to be the breakfasts. Every morning was a new culinary treat. We had Southwestern quiche, Baked egg Fritatta, German Apple Baked Pancakes but my favorite of the weekend was Ginny's Creme Brulee French Toast. The Inn was close to many historic amenities including the incline plane, historic flood museums, hiking trails etc... Our destination on this trip was Hidden Valley Ski Resort which was about forty minutes away. We also stopped in at the Heritage Museum directly across the street from the Bed and Breakfast which was a very entertaining stop with the family. We will definitely go back and are already talking about next visit. It's refreshing to see a city like Johnstown still filled with small independent shops and restaurants and unique places to visit.

Innkeeper Response
We enjoyed having your family and the kids were a lot of fun. We look froward to having you visit again soon!


Perfect Location and Warm Welcome!!

4.8 on November 04, 2011

What a great find for my family in Johnstown!! We wanted to be close enough to downtown to walk to most historic sights and this was the perfect location!! Ginny was a friendly and gracious hostess and was able to provide delicious meals that met our needs with the food allergies one family member had. She bent over backwards to make sure the food was appropriate! Loved the Inn's historic building-and the information Ginny and Mary Ann provided about the town so our visit could include all of the historic sights.The afternoon "refreshment time" was a wonderful addition we took advantage of the wonderful food and to just relax and visit with other guests. I am anxious to come again another time to see how all of the renovations work out since they were only opened a few months when we visited. I would definitely recommend this to anyone wanting a bed and breakfast with a warm welcome and personal attention. Thank you for a wonderful visit!!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for the great review! I only just learned that I could send a reply, but wanted to tell you that we really enjoyed your stay too. The soy allergy was challenging, but it was actually a great learning experience for me! We hope to see you back again soon.


A Wonderful B&B and with such interesting history!

4.8 on August 21, 2011

The home is lovely, the rooms clean, the breakfasts are different each day, and Ginny is just such a mavelous cook AND creative! Breakfasts were so good,even gourmet! and each afternoon ,late, snacks or appetizers were put out! The Innkeepers are great people, and know a lot about the history of the house and the area. Definitly on the list of repeats!


Johnstown's Heritage is All Around You

3.8 on August 17, 2011

In oldest and most interesting part of Johnstown. Safe nearby access to bike trail. Happy hour was a delicious, thirst-quenching respite. Great venue for the many nearby festivals and baseball tournaments. Gracious Ginny enjoys cooking and baking according to her guests diet or desires. Handyman Dave's aspirations are evident everywhere you look. They have a comfortable inn with a great location. My wife and I will be back soon -- this time as autumn leaf peepers.


Good Start

4.4 on August 07, 2011

We were so glad to find the Heritage House Inn. Its location is ideal for those touring the historic sights of Johnstown. The Fitzpatricks bent over backwards to meet our needs and make us welcome, pointing us towards fine places to eat and getting us oriented to the locale. Rooms were large and comfortable and there was ample common space, too. We loved the wide steps and high ceilings of this old rectory. The only quibble we had with our shared bathroom (not a problem, as we were with friends) was that it still awaits updating. The sumptuous breakfast and wonderful, abundant snacks and beverages were much appreciated. Off-street parking made arrival and departure very convenient. We definitely recommend Heritage House Inn B&B for anyone visiting this part of the Laurel Highlands!


What a Wonderful Place to Stay!!!

5 on August 04, 2011

The Heritage B&B is a remarkable trip back in history, with the architecture of the late 1800's to the decor of each of the themed rooms. The innkeepers are the friendliest anywhere, and Ginny Fitzpatrick is one terrific cook.......striving to serve a different delicacy every morning. Spending time at the Heritage House Inn has been a pleasure and I look forward to returning again and again.


Heritage House Inn Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $75 - $135
  • Reviews (25) 4.6
  • Rooms 7

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8142544319
  • Mobile 1-2402161314
Top