The Tillie Pierce House Reviews

Overall
4.2

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Service4.4
  • Value4.2
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Dining3.4

Score Breakdown based on
25 Reviews

Write A Review

Great location in downtown Gettysburg

3.2 on July 23, 2014

Stayed for two nights as part of visit to Gettysburg. The innkeeper was excellent in terms of her knowledge of the house and the area, and provided great recommendations for restaurants. The room was very sparse and there were no controls for the AC, but it was comfortable and met our needs for our stay. Don't count on much of a breakfast here; plan to eat at one of the many local restaurants for much more variety and healthy choices.


Quaint and very close to shops

3.0 on June 28, 2014

We had never stayed in a B&B before. The location was fine as was the room, but we never saw the proprietor other than when we checked in so we could ask no questions about the area, sites to visit, etc. and that was very disappointing. Not sure we will opt to stay in a B&B in the future.


What else could you want?

4.6 on November 09, 2013

Do yourself a favor, stop reading the reviews and book the room - you won't be sorry!


Completes the Gettysburg Experience

5 on October 13, 2013

Recently stayed at TPHI again and the experience just gets better. When you walk through the doors, you do indeed step back into time. The innkeeper, Becky, is second to none…she will make you feel most welcome and ensure your stay is top-notch. Be sure to ask her about the history of the house. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable. It is true that the TPHI is haunted but it is delightfully so. Probably some of the best sleep I get is at this place…very relaxing. Its location can’t be beat as you can pretty much walk to any place you want to go. The next time you are in Gettysburg, be sure to stay here. Had to enter a Dining Score...though dinner isn't served here, you are within walking distance to great dining experiences. ~ Robert


5 Couples and a Birthday in a Great House

4.6 on September 16, 2013

Sept 2013, 5 Couples came to Gettysburg to celebrate the history teachers 40th birthday. We stayed at the Tillie Pierce and were very pleased with the choice. The places boasts of a central location in town minutes from The Square, shopping and a variety of nice restaurants. The rooms are beautiful, many antiques and period pieces in a newly renovated Civil War house - the best of both worlds. The manager, while seemingly not there, somehow had the central rooms and kitchenette cleaned and stocked at all times. They could not have been more accomodating, because we booked the house, our ghost hunt had unlimited access, including the attic and basement. I highly recommend that when planning a Gettysburg trip do not gamble on your rooms, try and book at Tillie Pierce.


A step back in history

5 on July 13, 2013

We had the most exciting time in Gettysburg this past weekend! July 9,10,11 2013, we stayed at the Tillie pierce house, this is our fourth time there, at the house, we love EVERYTHING about the "home", that is what it feels like to us and the Innkeeper makes you feel that comfy as well. We would encourage everyone to embrace the experience, not only on the battlefield but the whole community! Go for yourselves and feel the feel on your own because 'words' can't really do it for you! One piece of advice, get a professional tour guide for the battlefield, you won't be sorry.thank you Becky. Folks from cape may area, New Jersey


Stayed in the pink room

4.4 on July 02, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this B&B back late Summer 2011. The manager informed us that it was active and we didn't know what she meant. Later that night just before 9 pm the manager asked if we'd mind if ghost hunters were in the house until 2 am...we didn't mind. Both my wife and I experienced weird things that night. We're not into lghosts or the paranormal at all! Our room was extremely hot all night and I struggled sleeping all night. My wife heard steps going up and down stairs over and over between 3 and 4 am. The room just felt weird! The next morning the manager stated that none of the ghost hunters were there past 2 am and no one was up. We stayed in the pink room


Very nice place, very friendly management

4.4 on April 17, 2013

This was our first visit to the Tillie Pierce House. My boyfriend and I have stayed at 3 other B&Bs in Gettysburg and we like to try new ones each time. The home is beautiful. Our room was very nice. Location is great for walking to everything near by. There are three parking spots in the back for certain rooms, we were in one of them, so we did have a spot to park in. I'd be weary of staying in a room that didn't have a spot. This is not the B&B's fault though, they are located in a central location with not a lot of extra room for parking. There wasn't really a breakfast in the morning. They have a 24 hour hospitality room, which was great for me. Cold bottles of water whenever I needed it. Was very nice. Also had yummy baked treats. But other than that as far as breakfast it was a self serve cold cereal, packaged oatmeal, fruit or the baked goods. They also had a Keurig coffee maker. Wasn't the normal breakfast that you would get at a B&B, but that was ok for us. We always go to Hart's for breakfast when we are in Gettysburg at least one of our mornings and that was that morning. Overall it was a nice place.


absolutely love the tillie pierce house

5 on February 08, 2013

Tillie pierce recently went under new management, and I must say that they new owner greg is absolutely awesome! Very personable, helps you carry in your luggage, talks to you like your a friend, constantly makes sure your ok...etc. he's wonderful!


We would return

2.8 on December 31, 2012

I wouldnt call this a true Bed & Breakfast It reminded me more of a small hotel with only 5 bedrooms. My Husband and I stayed at the tillie Pierce House in December for our Anniversay. It was our first time at the Inn. I could not rate dining b/c they don't offer dining there, just have a continental breakfast so we ate breakfast out but they were nice enought to ask if we would like anything. And they made sure to leave us cookies for when we came in at night as a little snack. Which was a nice touch. You are pretty much on your own at the Inn after checkin. Which we didnt mind. We were the only ones staying there at the time. And really we came and went as we please. We did have some experiences at the Inn and logged it in their log in book. But the Inn was warm and clean. We stayed in the suite that had a nice sitting room. If I had to say anything I would change would be the Pillow's (too flat) I usually bring my own when I traveled but I forgot too this trip and the sheets. We found them to be very hot. Other than thant we really had a nice stay. I highly recommend Dobbins House for dinner. (reservations a must) We did the Gettysburg battle field tour which was great! We did some window shopping and went on a Extreme Ghost Tour thru Black Cat. We had a great weekend!!


weekend with my wife

4.0 on December 24, 2012

Had a great time, Had the pink room and the home was a fantastic place to stay at and look forward to staying again.


Great Evening in a Historical B and B le young man greeted us for breakfast. It was toast and buns not what I thought we would be getting

4.2 on November 23, 2012

Our suite was exceptional and the mattress comfortable making for a great sleep. We didn't have dinner there but went to the Pub in the Gettysburg Square. There was no staff on duty and we were the only guests. A very personable young man greeted us in the morning and we had an ok but cold breakfast. He called around so we could get a copy of Tillie Pierce's book as they were out of stock. Our daughter is a doctor in the Canadian Army and her days are filled with treating veterans from Afghanistan so it would be an excellent read for her. Overall it was a terrific night in a Historical site. The museum and battlefields were of very high quality.


Wonderful stay!

5 on November 11, 2012

We had a wonderful stay! The staff was great! The rooms were beautiful! Will definately be returning!


Would stay there ag ain

3.8 on November 01, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay. Personnel were very informative with things to do in gettsburg. I do think offering something warm for breakfeast (pancakes, etc.) would be nice. But all in all really had a nice time.


My first B&B stay...awesome!!

5 on October 30, 2012

Innkeeper was so helpful, made me feel right at home, and I will be returning when I have more vacation time!! thank you for everything, Chris W.


Lovely Inn

3.6 on October 27, 2012

Other than the name being misleading, it is not a B & B - it is an inn.. The suite was excellent, the service excellent, location excellent. Reallly enjoyed the spacious suite and bath-- disappointed no one came to "play" with us.. Very quiet.


Great Getaway

4.4 on October 25, 2012

After many years of traveling to Gettysburg this was our first stay in the Tillie Pierce. We traveled with another couple (family members). It was their very first visit to Gettysburg, and they could not stop complementing on everything. My husband and I were in the suite and the other couple in the green room. Both rooms were immaculately clean, and the staff were so friendly. I would highly reccomend this Inn and they will be definatly be seeing me again!


Tillie Pierce House

2.8 on October 11, 2012

Check in was fine, the place was clean and the accommodations were good. However, breakfast was never served due to the server being unavailable. There was also no one there at check out time, so the keys had to be left on the desk. if you stay in one of the front rooms there is a lot of traffic noise all night long.


A wonderful stay!

4.8 on October 05, 2012

Had a wonderful stay. The room was clean. The bed was comfortable and the staff were just awesome. Breakfast was so yummy with lots of choices. We will stay here again in the future!


A wonderful bed and breakfast.

4.6 on September 20, 2012

The Tillie House was a wonderful place to stay, very clean and a great value. The only lacking is enough parking.


I love the tillie Pierce House !!!

4.6 on September 03, 2012

The place is awesome and right on the main street of downtown. The paint colors and furniture are of the period. The original floors remain. The bathrooms look of the period but are private in each room and very modern and accommodating. It is bright and cheerful and the staff is eager to please. Terrific B&B which I have stayed at more than once and will stay at again. Thank you. R Klinger Linglestown.


Great B&B

3.8 on August 27, 2012

Everything was great...the room, the atmosphere, the food, the other guests and especially the paranormal activity. Don't worry, nothing creepy. We have pictures of many orbs, a manifestation of a baby doll, we even saw an orb "dancing around" with our night vision camera. We will definitely be back again!


Awesome

5 on August 26, 2012

We had a wonderful time and the staff was very nice and informative. Would definately recommend. There was a family that stayed the same time we were there and their daughters ghost hunted and caught orbs on their camera and said at 3 oclock in the morning their water turned on.. Close to everything in town. Hands down would stay again !


It was ok, but way too pricey for what you get.

2.6 on July 20, 2012

We only spent one night at the Tillie Pierce House. The nicest thing was location, It is downtown where there is lot of historical stuff to do. The girl that was running it was nice, but not particularly polished. She could not recommend a restaurant in the area. Also, when we asked about tours, she would only recommend the ones that were run by the owner of the house. There is so much there to do, but we got our recommendations from the tours beside the house and just across the alleyway. The room was roomy and bed was very comfortable. There were a few dust bunnies. They had "John Wayne toilet paper". That is just uncalled for! It might have been worth half what we paid.


Fun experience

4.2 on June 06, 2012

We enjoyed the time we spent in this House. We did not know it is hunted until we get there. I had experienced the three ghosts at night, they all were really nice to me, but i did wake up in the 4am.... Good service, and discount on the Irish restaurant, ghost hunting .... we had really good deal.... Must stay if you want to experience something differences////////


The Tillie Pierce House

Details

  • Nightly Rate $125 - $175
  • Reviews (25) 4.2
  • Rooms 5

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-7173982847
  • Toll free 1-8558743723

Visit Website »

View details

Top