The Swope Manor Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.9
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Onsite Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
29 Reviews

Write A Review

A Frequent Stop!

5 on August 29, 2016

My wife and I have returned to the Swope Manor because of it's excellent location and comfortable surroundings. Gettysburg PA is a very special vacation stop and the Swope Manor only adds to the experience. Staff is very accommodating and the breakfast is always delicious! We will return!


Wonderful Experience!

5 on June 27, 2016

We had an opportunity for a quick one night getaway. Since we live only about 1 hour from Gettysburg, it seemed like the perfect place to go... We were SO pleased with our choice of the Swope Manor. We felt like we were getting the most for our money. The week-night rate was very reasonable, and we called to make the reservation so we could use our AAA discount, and saved another 10%! We chose to stay in the Cabernet Chamber because it boasted a queen bed & jetted tub. The room was clean and very pretty with decorative paintings on the light fixtures and a unique painted bathroom sink & toilet -neat and unique touches! Also, the jetted tub was just as relaxing as I hoped it would be! The Cabernet Chamber had a little traffic noise, but nothing that kept us awake. It was in close proximity (one block) from the center of town (Lincoln Square), which made it perfect walking distance to many shops, attractions, and our personal favorite eating spot - The Pub. Overall, the house was quiet. I liked that the stairway was carpeted. It eliminated any noise of anyone going up and down the stairs. The house was a little confusing to navigate...there were little hallways all over the place. But once you got the hang of it, it wasn't too bad. Breakfast was AWESOME! The employees of the B&B were very nice and accommodating. The recipes for their breakfasts were shared with the guests, which I thought was very sweet! Overall, my husband and I would definitely stay here again. We would recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a relaxing atmosphere to enhance your historical Gettysburg vacation!


Our First Bed and Breakfast Experience

5 on June 20, 2016

This was our first bed and breakfast experience and it was over and above our expectations. We stayed in the Miss Dorothy Suite. The room was inviting, relaxing, clean and very comfortable. The entire house was beautifully decorated. Each morning Bruce's breakfast was better than the previous. Most important to us was the attentativeness of the staff. They were sincerely concerned with our enjoyment of Gettysburg. We are looking forward to our next stay and would recommend it highly.


Beautiful home with convenient location

3.6 on June 16, 2016

The rooms at this B&B were very lovely. We stayed in Miss Dorothy's suite which faces the street. The bed was comfortable (although the pillows had a liner which was loud) and the room spacious enough for a family of three to stay comfortably. The staff was helpful and friendly. The breakfast delicious. It is an easy walking distance from restaurants and shopping.


Experiencing Gettysburg

3.8 on May 22, 2016

Excellent B&B, breakfast Wednesday was lots of fund with the friendly folks at the table! We got special service on Thursday, as we had to be gone before the regular time for breakfast, in order to meet for our horseback tour. This house is right in downtown, so be prepared for street noise.


A place you cannot go wrong with if you are staying at Gettysburg

5 on May 12, 2016

The Swope Manor is one of many bed a different breakfast places at Gettysburg, however it stands from the crow with its excellent staff service, spotless cleanliness and value for your money. They offer one of the yummiest breakfast we've had in years and the rooms are beautiful with this Victorian style that makes you feel like you are back in time. We are very pleased with our stay and we will be coming back next year for sure!


Valentines Weekend Getaway

5 on February 17, 2016

Best B&B in Gettysburg. The breakfast is delicious, and the rooms are beautiful. The staff were courteous and helpful. The history of the building is interesting, and it is very convenient to great restaurants and taverns. We will be back for sure!


love it here!

5 on February 17, 2016

This was our second time staying here and both visits were wonderful! Everyone is always very friendly and helpful. Our room was spotless and comfortable. Everything is decorated beautifully! We'd be happy to stay here again in the future.


An excellent experience!

5 on January 25, 2016

Maria and Bruce were amazing. She welcomed us and set the tone for our stay. Bruce made us a delicious breakfast. Both were pleasant and personable and made the stay memorable. The home was absolutely amazing. We loved it and will return to the Swope Manor for our future stays in Gettysburg

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for your kind review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay here at the Swope Manor, and we look forward to your return!


Not totally happy with New Years Eve stay

3.2 on January 10, 2016

This is an honest assessment of the Swope Inn from this past New Year's Eve from neither friends, family, nor staff. First let me say the Inn is very well kept and the rooms are comfortable, however, being an old and historic it has its limitations on noise. The staff should direct the guests to refrain from long, loud, discussions and/or bickering in the hallways outside the doors of other rooms. We were able to clearly hear a minor argument between other guests outside our door. Secondly, the holiday we spent there was New Years Eve .... a decidedly late night event, yet the greeter did not offer us anything but an 8 am breakfast ...take it or leave it. Not even a mention of compensation should you not desire a such an imposition as that early morning breakfast. The Inn had a later breakfast that was being taken up by a party of 16 guests leaving the 6 guests who were left to choose between a few hours of sleep before breakfast or sleeping in and eating elsewhere...again....no mention of compensation. When I booked the room there was no mention of the large party for breakfast nor that there wouldn't be any other accommodations made for anyone else. It appears to me that this policy only benefits the Inn staff and is very unprofessional since Breakfast is often half (or more) of the experience. There should have been another table utilized in any one of the 3 large common rooms downstairs. Therefore, I cannot recommend this Inn for New Years Eve. It just seemed lazy and inhospitable to guests whose sole purpose in choosing an upscale Bed and Breakfast is to be indulged.


Best in Gettysburg!

5 on October 20, 2015

Probably the most meticulously decorated rooms in Gettysburg and each suite/room has it's own newly renovated bathroom. Great attentive staff and a quality breakfast to start your day. It's not the highest price place to stay - just the Best!


A wonderful weekend getaway!

5 on June 11, 2015

Excellent service and accommodations! We had a wonderful time! Breakfast was delicious!


Wonderful B&B

5 on May 27, 2015

My wife and I stayed in the Gettysburg Suite for our 15th anniversary and it was fantastic! The room was very clean and spacious and the bathroom was amazing with both a tub and a large shower. The meals were delicious. The service made me feel like I was at a 5 star restaurant. The courtyard is beautiful and well manicured and the pictures (or lack there of) do not do it justice. We spent a relaxing evening in the courtyard around the fire after a day of walking about. My Compliments to all the staff on a giving us a great experience for our first time in Gettysburg. This B&B will not disappoint you!


amazing retreat

5 on May 25, 2015

I cannot say enough great things about Swope Manor. The Inn was breathtaking and the people were top notch. Beautiful suite, beautiful inn, amazing breakfast, close to everything.....I didn't want to leave!!! Thank you!!! Shawn Downs California, MD


Beautiful B & B

4.4 on May 14, 2015

Beautifully restored B&B in heart of Gettysburg. Walking distance to shops, restaurants, etc. Delicious hot breakfast served in the morning, inn keepers were very friendly and there was always a variety of beverages available along with a tasty bakery item each day. We really enjoyed sitting on their lovely deck overlooking the private garden. Very nice.


Outstanding

5 on May 13, 2015

Nothing but Great things to say about The Swope Manor. Bruce and John were Great in every aspect during our stay. I would Highly recommend The Swope to anyone wanting a getaway in Gettysburg. Gabe and Janine, Frackville PA


The Perfect B&B

5 on April 29, 2015

Don't let the quaint exterior fool you. The Swope Manor is absolutely gorgeous with many spacious and well appointed common areas. Suites are large, well decorated and very comfortable. The pictures on their website do not do the Swope justice. The outdoor deck has a gas fire pit which was perfect for a glass of wine outside on a cool night . Most amazing was the property manager, Van, who made us all feel catered to but also so comfortable that we felt like we were in our own home. We have been to many B&Bs but the Swope has been our favorite. Ken & Melissa


Fall in love with Gettysburg

5 on April 14, 2015

Between the fantastic and beautiful house, Swope Manor is one of the most spacious, unique and luxurious places I've stayed. Van and Bruce were just so informative, gracious and truly kind. Will absolutely make Swope Manor one of our destination places..


A WONDERFUL find!!!

5 on April 06, 2015

The mgr (Bruce) was so accomodating and friendly. Beautiful quilts in each room. A gourmet breakfast. The common rooms and deck were just lovely. Will definitely return.


Charming B&B

5 on April 01, 2015

Both my wife and I stayed there over the 3/27/2015 weekend for her birthday and all I can say is it was outstanding and would stay there again.


Great in all aspects...

4.6 on March 24, 2015

When you're staying in a place as historical as Gettysburg, you need to stay in a place like the Swope..Given that the house is originally from the the early 1800s, it is in incredible condition and the furnishings are spectacular. The room was very well appointed, great big bath...and the service was very welcoming (Van had some great tips) and the chef was very friendly. Will definitely be returning when next in town.


Best weekend getaway ever!

5 on March 19, 2015

We chose the Swope Manor for two nights as an anniversary weekend getaway. It was very well-located, within walking distance to shops and sights; we even walked to the battlefield! We were warmly greeted by Van and given a tour of the immaculate, period-decorated mansion. Everything exceeded our expectations, including the wonderful breakfasts...you absolutely have to try the chef's Creamy Blueberry French Toast Casserole, which I now have the recipe for. Recommend without hesitation! -Jonathan & Aimee Fernback


FIne Gettysburg B&B

5 on March 04, 2015

Recently Stayed at the Swope Manor. Great location.. convenient to all the shops and restaurants'... The Room war warm and perfectly kept... Great bed... the Sitting rooms were great... a wonderful library... Van and Bruce were our host, and they served a killer breakfast to the folks in the B&B. We met some great people from the surrounding states.... Highly recommended !!!


Delightful weekend away

5 on January 21, 2015

My husband and I wanted a weekend away, and I researched a lot of different B&Bs in Gettysburg. I'm SO glad we chose The Swope Manor! We'll definitely be back. Our room was lovely (we stayed in the Gettysburg Suite), and the breakfast was delicious.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for taking the time and submitting a review of The Swope Manor. We appreciate the kinds words and work very hard to attend to all of our guests needs. Hope to see you again.


Amazing little pre-wedding getaway!

5 on August 28, 2014

The Swope Manor was our first B&B experience, and it set the bar really hig. Breakfast was delicious each morning that we were there, and the room that we stayed in, Miss Dorothy's Suite, was beautiful. I couldn't have asked for a better place to get away to for a weekend!


Gettysburg bed and breakfast is top notch!

5 on August 02, 2014

We stayed at the Swope Manor July 20th-24th. Positively lovely from the first floor to the third! Very charming, clean, cozy and inviting. Prices excellent. Not a better deal in downtown Gettysburg. Very convenient to all major downtown Gettysburg attractions. Very friendly and accommodating staff. After our visit, I will always make this my place to stay if I have the opportunity to return. Van, the inn manager, was so helpful as we asked many questions about things to visit in town and Bruce, the chef, was so friendly and made us many a wonderful breakfast. Top notch all the way around! Don't miss this lovely bed and breakfast on your next visit to Gettysburg.


Wonderful B&B

5 on July 29, 2013

Everything about this bed and breakfast was wonderful. The innkeeper, Van, was so friendly, the room was great, the location fantastic and the breakfast was delicious. My husband and I found this place for a weekend trip to Gettysburg and we are so glad we did. It was within walking distance to the square. The rooms were very clean and so nice. We also were able to get a view of some of the other rooms and we loved every one we could see. Any room would have been a nice option. The breakfast was a full, hot breakfast served by the innkeeper and his family. It was truly a great stay and we would most definitely stay there again. I would definitely recommend this B&B to any relative or friend.


Beautiful and elegant.

5 on June 10, 2013

We had a lovely stay at Swope, Van our host made sure every detail of our visit was perfect. He even made me toast out of a special bread I had. The location is just minutes from the downtown square and all the shops. The FREE shuttle stops right in front.


A luxurious step back into history!

5 on June 07, 2013

I had the honor ofbeing one of the first guest to stay at The Swope Manor Inn and our experience was fabulous. I had visited the house prior to its opening in April and would share with you that this is a home like none other in the Gettysburg area. The owners and Wonderful Innkeeper, Van Richards, created a masterpiece that really exceeded our expectations. To say that the Inn is beautiful would be an understatement. The attention to the smallest details and special items in every room made our visit a truly memorable weekend. Breakfast was awesome and we especially liked the fact that Van spent almost an hour giving us a tour of the entire home and many details of the history of the home, made famous by George Swope, a notable figure in the civil war era history of Gettysburg. Every room in the house is beautiful so you can't make a wrong decision when selecting a room. The Inn is located right near the center of town so all the nice restaurants are a very short walk. Parking in Gettysburg can be a problem, but there is a huge parking area right behind the Inn so that was never a problem for us I have stayed at about every B&B in Gettysburg and would say that this is one of the nicest you will find. Definately a great value. Oh, and my fiance' wants me to add that the rooms were the cleanest shes ever seen and the bathrooms were beyond beautiful.. My only complaint about my visit to the Swope Manor Inn,,,,,, was that I had to come home. Can't wait to go back.


The Swope Manor

Details

  • Nightly Rate $145 - $205
  • Reviews (29) 4.8
  • Rooms 13
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-7173982655
  • Toll free 1-8889639714

Visit Website »

View details

Top