The Fairfield Inn Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Service4.7
  • Value4.2
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
47 Reviews

Write A Review

a wonderul stay

5 on December 11, 2014

It was outstanding in every way you could imagine. I would recommend the Fairfield Inn to every one.


Great Visit

4.4 on November 21, 2014

We stayed in the JEB Stuart room and ate dinner and Sunday brunch in the restaurant. We really enjoyed our stay! The history of the building is simply incredible! The food was good and Jeff made us feel comfortable and welcomed. Highly recommended! If you're a history buff, this will be a memorable experience.


Looking forward to future visits! Good food, felt like family, beautful rooms!!!!

4.8 on November 05, 2014

Tony and Bev from NJ. Felt like family, very relaxed, good food, warm and welcoming staff. Rooms clean and beautiful, updated bathrooms a pleasant surprise for an Inn of this age. I am gluten free due to celiac disease and Jerry, the chef, could not do enough for me. Will definitely recommend to friends and look forward to future stays!!!


Fairfield Inn stay Oct 3-4

4.8 on October 24, 2014

Wonderful place to stay, Staff was very friendly. Beautiful home.


Lovely

5 on October 16, 2014

Loved our stay at the Fairfield Inn. Loved our room we were very comfortable and loved some of the period appropriate furnishings. We had dinner both nights at their restaurant and the food was wonderful. Sunday brunch was outstanding!


Great atmosphere, ok service

4.4 on October 07, 2014

The condition, amenities, atmosphere, etc. were great. The restaurant on-site was convenient and the meal was pretty good. The only recommendation that I already e-mailed the Innkeeper about was the breakfast. There wasn't any clear communication for meal options and the server simply gave us a large slice of ham, french toast, eggs covered in cheese, and a pastry. Sounds great for some people probably!...unless both people avoid pork, and one person avoids dairy products. It was a bit presumptuous and annoying considering most of the meal would go to waste when he only needed to simply ask. It just left us on a sour note. Otherwise, enjoy!


Exceptional!

5 on October 06, 2014

My husband and I stayed overnight in the Patrick Henry room. We were graced with the innkeepers hospitality as soon as we arrived. After enjoying some quite time in the bear claw tub we headed downstairs for dinner. Absolutley delicious! What a joyful experience and wonderful piece of history. I loved the ideas of the coins, and to follow tradition, we left behind a few ourselves. This was our first time at a bed & breakfast. You set the bar pretty high! Mr. & Mrs. Crum ¿


Take a Relaxing Step Back into The 18th Century!

4.0 on September 17, 2014

This was my second stay at the Historic Fairfield Inn. Although the Inn has changed owners since our last visit, we found it to be just as comfortable, clean, quaint and friendly as it was when we stayed there three years ago.The manager was polite and friendly. He suggested we upgrade to the J.B. Stewart Room because, being a bigger room, it has a sofa with a pull out bed which proved to be more comfortable than a roll away cot. The room was spacious and comfortable, with a window air conditioner, and a huge ensuite washroom with a jacuzzi tub. The beds, pillows, and bedding were comfortable and cozy, providing a great night's sleep. It was a corner room with windows on two walls which gave us lovely views of Fairfield.The hot breakfast was prepared and served by the chef, who has been with the Fairfield Inn for 30 years. It consisted of orange slices, an omelet, bacon, french toast, orange juice and coffee. The chef was amiable and friendly, discussing the stories of ghostly encounters & "night time visitors" with us, which is one of the main reasons we choose to spend a night there whenever we visit Gettysburg. My only recommendation is that the Inn makeover at least one suite to include two beds, either using twin beds or double beds. Not all couples and families want to share a bed during their stay and cots/pull-out sofas will never be as comfortable as a real box spring and mattress bed. I highly recommend the Fairfield Inn and its dining room (especially the chicken and biscuits!!) if you wish to take a step back into the 18th century, with the comforts of the 20th century.


Historic

4.0 on August 27, 2014

Overall a great stay at an historic inn. Breakfast was plentiful, but somewhat unimaginative. Floors in bedroom sloped, and bed sloped making sleeping difficult. Sloping floors understandable in an inn of this age. Had dinner there one night which was delicious.


Enjoyable Stay and exceptional staff!

5 on July 31, 2014

My only regret at this inn is only being able to stay one night. The inn keeper and staff ( Mary Lou and Terry) provided great service. My child and I enjoyed our stay in the Patrick Henry room.


Grumble Jones Was A Great Host

4.6 on July 19, 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Grumble Jones room for one night (the girls were away with grammy). It was a really great experience. The rooms are a nice mix of antiquated and modern. You still get the old time feel but have things such as electricity and running water. It's a win/win. The room was very clean and I actually looked for dust and couldn't find any. The best part was the basket of free cookies in the hallway. A nice clean room is great, but free cookies in the hallway is better. There is a camera near the cookies so I only took two packs. The historic tour of the building is also a must. It's amazing how old the place is and is really cool to think of how many people have stayed and dined at this place. A true relic. There are two things I really enjoyed about this place even more than the room: the employees, and the food. The owner is down to earth and has a sort of dry sarcastic sense of humor that I really enjoy. He mixes that friendliness well with professionalism and makes you feel as if you're at a posh five star resort owned by your family. We felt very welcomed. The rest of the staff was down to earth and professional all rolled into one. They aren't stuck up or snooty and really make you feel like they know you. So, the most important part is the food. There is no need to stay at the inn to eat dinner there and this place should be on everyone's bucket list of places to eat. You won't be disappointed. The ham and bean soup is great. I could eat a bucket of the home made biscuits. Really great food all around and a cool atmosphere. If you need another reason to eat there let me just say, freshly baked warm peach pie. That should be enough. All in all, I will absolutely be returning to eat there and hopefully stay another night sans the kids.


We had a great time. Thank you!

5 on June 12, 2014

We had a great time at the Inn, Gettysburg and near by Adams County Winery. We could not have planned a better weekend away. The food at the Inn was very good and well worth the money. Staff was very helpful, accommodating and made us feel welcome. Thank you again and we are planning to stay here the next time we come to the area.


1 year Wedding Anniversary trip

4.4 on June 06, 2014

Loved the authenticity of the house and the rooms. Very historical. It was updated with some modern amenities but did not lose the feel of a 250 year old mansion. The hospitality and food were fantastic. Great time...

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind comments. We try very hard to make your stay a pleasant experience.


Best Bed and Breakfast ever!

5 on February 25, 2014

We stayed at the Fairfield Inn over the Valentine's Day weekend. It was like stepping back in time and absolutely beautiful and well taken care of. We were great very warmly from the moment we walked in. John was very nice and helpful in getting us checked in and even provided us with a bottle of champagne since it was Valentine's Day. We stayed in the 1757 suite which is in the old part of the house I can only say it was everything I thought it would be....so historic and well kept. The dinner in the restaurant was absolutely delicious and so was the breakfast in the tavern in the morning. John was extremely nice to lend us his touring CD for the Gettysburg Battlefields as well. Aside from the historic charm, I was very impressed by the cleanliness of the inn as well. I would HIGHLY recommend anyone to stay at the Fairfield Inn for any occasion or if you are just interested in sharing a part of history. Absolutely looking forward to staying there again!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your very kind words. It sounds like you two enjoyed yourselves, and I hope to see you here again soon.


Outstanding Staff!

5 on February 21, 2014

Inn Keeper was fabulous and very helpful. Stay was great and very cute.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your very kind words. I hope you will stay with us again soon. John


Hardman Wedding

4.8 on January 21, 2014

Our story began at The Fairfield Inn on May 8, 2013. That is where my husband proposed to me. The experience at dinner that night was so incredible we decided to have our wedding ceremony there. We communicated with John about a month before our wedding date. He asked questions and made several suggestions for us to consider regarding the ceremony and dinner. He emailed the dinner options so that we could get a rough estimate of how much and what kind of food our guests wanted so they wouldn’t have to wait long to be served. We met with John the week before our wedding to make the final preparations. The Fairfield Inn was decorated for Christmas, and with the snow outside, it looked like a winter wonderland! John asked if there was anything we wanted to change or add any of our own decorating ideas. John emailed us the day before the wedding to see if we wanted to have the fireplace lit for the ceremony and if we wanted to upgrade to a suite for no extra charge. The day of the ceremony we arrived at 1:30 (the ceremony was at 5:00). All the chairs were set up for the ceremony. John and the staff wanted to know if everything was to our liking. After the ceremony, chairs were put back and the tables were arranged for dinner. During this thirty-minute time period, guests were invited to the parlor where hot chocolate was available. Guests were also able to take a walking tour of the Inn. The food was excellent and portions were sufficient. During the meal, John gave a brief history of The Fairfield Inn. We spent the night in the Patrick Henry room. The room was beautiful and clean. Breakfast the next morning was delicious. The combination of The Fairfield Inn and its history, the snow, and Christmas made our wedding magical!! We have received only positive comments from our family and friends about our ceremony. Thank you to John and his staff for making our wedding experience a truly positive one.

Innkeeper Response
This was a lovely couple with a very nice ceremony. I wish them well in their future life together. John


Interesting and Historic

3.6 on December 14, 2013

The inn keeper and employee are great people and very personable. General Grumble Jones room had a lot of character to it. The diners were very nice.


Lovely inn

5 on December 10, 2013

Lovely inn and we will be back and ghosts made several contacts with me but I didnt mind them I'm used to it I was born a psychic medium and I am civil war reenactor so I expect it


Historic and Charming

4.0 on December 09, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here and it was perfect for anyone devoted to American history and pretty scenery. Its an easy, scenic drive from Gettysburg and the owners are kind and helpful. No its not super fancy but the sense of place and the opportunity to find yourself in a different time makes for the perfect vet-away.


Thanksgiving get-away

5 on December 02, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the J.E.B. Stuart guest room which was very nice. Terry the head chef cooked a delicious Thanksgiving meal and John the owner is a heck of a nice guy. We will be staying there again in the near future.


Americam Historic Tour of Pubs, Taverns and Inns.

4.8 on November 23, 2013

I do appreciate the ambience that I feel as soon as I enter an historic establishment. It was quite obvious that the proprietor has taken a good effort to maintain an American Icon. I will visit again as soon as my travels take me Gettysburg, Pennsylvannia, Victor Palo.


Charming Bed and Breakfast

5 on November 15, 2013

Such a wonderful place to get away to.


Great historic inn.

4.4 on November 05, 2013

Very spacious room with nice modern appointments, such as cable tv and functional bathroom. Staff very friendly and accomodating. Nice breakfast. Excellent place for a romantic getaway.


just needs a little loving...

3.8 on October 31, 2013

THE place is a great place for bnb .....The food at the inn was the best that i ever had breakfast was served hot and ready to go ,the dinner was just as good. food was served just like heared from other who stay there .. the rooms are very nice and big , they need to up date there beds and sheets a little ,knowing that they have a new owner it just needs a little time and loving, this place has a chance to be the best in pa bnb ... tony


Very pleased with the Fairfield Inn

4.4 on October 29, 2013

We have stayed at the Inn several times in the past and were hoping that this stay (our first time under the new ownership) would be as enjoyable as in the past and it was.


Historical

4.4 on October 19, 2013

The history of this inn is truly amazing. We enjoyed the welcome from John and the self tour through the Inn was very interesting and enjoyable. The brunch was very delicious and the service excellent. We had ordered a cheese platter for supper with a bottle of wine. John had emailed us in Australia asking as what type of wine we wanted. It was disappointing no wine was provided even though we had prepaid for the wine. The cheese platter was very nice. We had also emailed John and advised we needed to depart at 6am on check out and asked could we have a pre packed breakfast. I asked John about this again when we arrived. Disappointedly we were not given a pre packed breakfast even tho breakfast was part of the price paid. Otherwise a delightful historical lace to stay at.


Fairfield Inn October Stay

2.4 on October 18, 2013

Okay Inn; rooms are adequate but a few things left a sour note. Had planned for a wine and cheese platter in the room upon arrival; however, this wasn't in the room and had to wait about an hour or so to get it. I also found out I that they had to reapply for their alcohol license so no wine - but no discount for that was provided. Also, room cleanliness lacked a bit. Full trash can still in the room after housekeeping had been in; had a bath towel with a blood stain on it that should have been caught before it made it into the room. Won't stay there again. Not a great place for the rates they charge.

Innkeeper Response
I am very sorry that your stay was not a good one. Clearly you should have had a better one. I now have a new housekeeper who is very thorough in her work. As far as your statement that there was blood on a towel, I am embarassed that we provided a stained towel. It is absolutely unacceptable to have stained linen. On a bright note, I have replaced all old linen with plush new towels. I hope that you give us another chance in the future.


pleasant

4.2 on October 14, 2013

dirty towel on back of bathroom door, bathroom had only one bar of soap and was not real clean


September 2013 stay

4.2 on October 01, 2013

We had a great time at the Inn. We were visiting Gettysburg and the location was close to the battlefield. We'd stay again!


Surrounded by history

4.2 on September 28, 2013

We really enjoy staying at bed and breakfast inns to experience their history. The Fairfield Inn, with its 250 plus year's history, was absolutely fascinating. It is one of the oldest B & B's that we had ever stayed in, but it is so well maintained that any signs of age only add to it's charm. The staff was very attentive and the food excellent. We enjoyed ourself so much that we stayed a second time on our way back through Pennsylvania!


wonderful vacation.

5 on September 25, 2013

We loved our stay at the historic 1757 Fairfield Inn. It was so much more than I expected. The daily breakfast was tasty and filling. The Inn keeper is very pleasant and runs a great Inn. We had a few very minor issues and they were handled quickly with graciousness and humor. We ate at the Tavern there one evening and it was very delicious! The bedroom was roomy, the bathroom was clean and modern. The Inn had a lot of character . We toured the Inn and I loved all the twist nd turns and antiques. It had a great sense of history. We would definitely recommend this Inn. We were very comfortable there.


If visiting Gettysburg again we would stay here.

4.4 on September 06, 2013

We would most certainly dine here again! Our dinner was the best we've had in a while. Our room was much bigger than I expected; the bathroom alone was huge (J.E.B. Stuart). Service was great and everyone was friendly... Totally recommend staying here.


Loved it!!

5 on September 04, 2013

my Mom and I both loved our stay at The Fairfeild Inn. It is a very charming place full of history and very close to Gettysburg and other areas we needed to go to. Annette was just fabulous as a server and assistant inn keeper. she was always availible when needed and met all our needs. She even found peanut butter for my waffles!! John, the owner was fabulous as well. Mom needed a sandwich after the chef had gone for the night and he made one for her and didn't even charge me for it. It was these little things that made it even more special. We stayed in the Three Colonols room on the third floor. If you stay there in the hot months, ask for a fan to help the a/c's keep things cooler.


I'd go back again

3.8 on August 25, 2013

A welcome relief from staying in the hectic city of Gettysburg. We enjoyed out stay, although it was a bit strange staying in a bed and breakfast where the owners weren't there. That's a first for us and we usually travel and stay at bed and breakfasts or inns. Breakfast was good and the service was excellent! Definitely nice to stay somewhere that welcomes children of all ages!! Thank you!!!


great history

4.0 on August 11, 2013

A fantastic historic property. The staff was very friendly. We were visiting nearby Gettysburg, a 15 minute drive, and the Fairfield Inn offered a quiet alternative to more noisy places in Gettysburg itself. It was a very enjoyable stay.


Great stay near Gettysburg

4.4 on August 03, 2013

We wanted a B and B experience near Gettysburg, but more affordable than in-town options. The Fairfield more than met our needs. The short drive to Gattysburg was no,problem.


A wonderful experience

3.8 on August 03, 2013

A comfortable, friendly and incredible Inn. I will be going back! Truly a terrific experience! Thank you to the staff for making our stay so lovely!


Great location, history, and friendly service

5 on July 30, 2013

Highly recommend great Gettysburg story.


An experience of a life time!

5 on July 28, 2013

An unforgettable experience. We stayed at the 1757 suite which is suppose to be haunted. We didn't experience anything, but had a wonderful stay during the 150th Commemeration of The Battle of Gettysburg. Breakfast was to die for and the dinner Saturday night was especially nice. While enjoying our lovely Civil War dinner we suddenly had an unexpected but very entertaining visit of General Lee and wife. The staff and owners was super friendly and helpsom and we recommend a stay.


We love this Inn and will come again. Nothing like staying in a well kept facility that was built in 1757. The ghosts are very friendly also. I highly recommend this experience for everyone.

5 on July 22, 2013

Sandra Daniel South Point OH


nowhere else compares to The Fairfield Inn!

5 on July 22, 2013

This bed and breakfast is by far the best I have ever stay at! Everyone is very friendly, the rooms are clean and cozy, the food is amazing. Walking into the Fairfield Inn is like stepping back into history, can't even find the words to describe! It is close to Gettysburg, yet far enough away that it is quite and peaceful. This was my second stay and I would recommend the 1757 room though my goal is to stay in each room at the Inn within the next several years. I do believe there are spirits, yet in the 1757 room, it is comforting and cozy and not even noticeable to anyone not looking for them. The last time I stayed was in the Jeb Stuart room, in which, if you are the ghost hunting type, I would suggest that one.


Already Planning Our Next Stay!

5 on July 18, 2013

My husband and I were in town for the 150th anniversary of the Battle of Gettysburg and wanted to stay someplace "historic". Well, we definitely found it! From the pennies on the "wishing walls" to the claw-foot tub to the seemingly friendly paranormal activity...this place is great! Wonderful people and delicious food! Plus...they -unlike the local chain hotel in town that we spent the 2nd half of our stay at- did NOT seem to jack up the prices (almost triple at the chain hotel) just because of the demand for the 150th! Thanks for everything, John and Annette! - Tim and Connie Rohrer, West Bend, WI


Fabulous Fairfield

4.0 on June 08, 2013

Very nice time - other guests were very friendly and we had some good laughs together. The staff person we had the most contact with (Ass't.) was very helpful and pleasant.


Love this place, have stayed twice and will again

4.0 on June 05, 2013

The food is wonderful, the people are friendly, and the inn is beautiful - well worth the short drive from Gettysburg. However, I did have a bit of a bug problem in the room - I think there must be a hole in/by the window facing the parking lot in the Patrick Henry suite? Gnats -dead- all over the curtain there, and about a hundred little bodies in the beautiful tub as well. Live ones at night, as well as a wasp and a few stinkbugs (I hesitate to include these as the little blighters are everywhere, but I still do think they are coming in that window). I didn't get a chance to mention this to the staff, sorry, guys. Gave cleanliness a three because the bathroom bugs were a 1 but the rest easily a 4 or 5.


Two and a half centuries of history

3.8 on May 23, 2013

Fascinating historical inn. Because they had very recently changed ownership and their liquor license was pending, we were worried that my son's college graduation dinner might not be that special, but the chef and kitchen staff did not change and the food and dining experience were wonderful!


Don't miss this one of a kind place

5 on May 13, 2013

We arrived to find people in period costumes preparing for a wedding. There is plenty of room for every gathering and all beautifully decorated. This is a place to go for a true get away. The food was excellent particularly the country breakfast freshly cooked for each party. The hostess was engaging and made our stay unforgettable.


Fairfield B&B

5 on May 10, 2013

Our stay at the Fairfield was a very enjoyable time and well spent. The owner and staff were very friendly and saw to our every need or question. I would highly recommend a stay there and we are actually looking to the next time for us to go back.


The Fairfield Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $130 - $225
  • Reviews (47) 4.5
  • Rooms 6
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-7176425410

Visit Website »

View details

Top