Spencer House Bed And Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining5

Score Breakdown based on
9 Reviews

Write A Review

Great Location in Erie PA

3.8 on August 03, 2014

The inn keepers and their cat family were very friendly. Our room provided enough room and was very comfortable. Breakfast was fantastic and a variety of things were provided. We especially enjoyed hearing a little history about the home.


Awesome B&B

5 on June 19, 2014

My wife & I celebrated her birthday with 2 nights at the Spencer House, and it was exquisite. The house is beautifully decorated and impeccably clean. The rooms are spacious and the beds are very comfortable. Joy and Fletcher were awesome hosts. Joy is definitely in her element when entertaining and Fletcher is an excellent cook. Our stay was made more enjoyable by their enthusiasm. We met and shared breakfast with people from all over the world, very interesting. I look forward to staying there again, and so should you!


Relaxing Stay

5 on September 14, 2013

Great place , Thanks to Joy and Fletcher we had such a relaxing stay, first time at a B&B and wont be our last, the place was amazing , centrally located to everything check out the Tap House pizza GREAT and Smugglers Wharf great crab cake sandwiches, and Fletchers breakfasts where fantastic, Thanks again Fletcher & Joy look forward to our next stay, Steve & Bill , Lower Burrell PA. (9/12-14)


A great getaway

5 on June 26, 2013

My wife and I chose the Spencer House because we wanted to escape the rat race and try something new. We had never stayed at a bed and breakfast before, now we know what we had been missing. Fletcher and Joy have really high standards and it shows in everything from the immaculate rooms, to the lovely decorations, to the outstanding breakfasts. I usually skip breakfast, but found myself watching the board to see what was on the menu for the next day. Our hosts gave us great advice on where to eat the rest of our meals. We had a great time and managed to de-stress. I can't imagine staying in a hotel when the Spencer House is available.


A Fabulous House - A Fabulous Stay!

5 on June 12, 2013

The Spencer House is gorgeous with such beautiful woodwork and decor. We stayed in the Presidential Suite which was pristine and roomy. We could have spent the entire time in the house and would have been content. The owners, Joy and Fletcher, made us feel welcome and made our stay extra special. Extraordinary breakfast - cinnamon chip pancakes, scrambled eggs, sausage!! We will definitely be returning!


Winter getaway

5 on March 18, 2013

My husband and I "escaped" to Erie just after Thanksgiving and chose Spencer House partly because of the great reviews we read. We weren't disappointed. Fletcher had been working on Christmas decorations, he even had 2 trees set up with victorian decorations. The house was like a step back in time with the wonderful high ceilings and heavy doors, but it felt fresh and new. The hallways had been freshly painted from dark red to a soft coffee, and the new wallpaper was so rich. Joy has a collection of 19th century lithographs that are as old as the house which she hung up the 3rd floor staircase. It's worth going up just to see them! We chose the Spencer Suite, which was also redone--the historic shower and tiles gave way to the most comfortable king bed and big TV. And breakfast--wow. Fletcher is an amazing cook. We'll be coming back again, there's a beach and a zoo that weren't open, so there's a lot to do next time.


We Made the Right Decision

4.6 on November 12, 2012

My husband, brother and sister-in-law were fortunate enough to spend a weekend in early November 2012 at the Spencer House. The trip would not have been the same had we stayed elsewhere. Joy and Fletcher were the hosts one imagines when planning a stay at a B&B. With the first words of greeting, we knew we had chosen the right place. We felt that we were visiting old friends, though we had never before met. As host and hostess, they were spot on. Our every need was met even before it became a need. The house was impeccable, beautifully appointed and comfortable. I can’t imagine not getting a good night’s sleep in the very comfortable beds! Before calling it a night, we spent our evenings in the “common rooms” relaxing and exploring the beautiful “heavy-on-the-wood” rooms, filled with vintage pieces and books, and partaking of the beverages stocked in the little fridge upstairs. Nothing was “hands-off”. A good breakfast is one of our criteria when choosing a B&B. Spencer House was #1 in this category from the start. Fletcher served beautiful, delicious meals, prepared to perfection. None of that snooty, “gourmet” food fit only for a ritzy photo op that wouldn’t fill a bird! This was real food: scrambled eggs with cheese, herbed potatoes, thick-cut bacon that makes your mouth water, strawberry pancakes, a variety of fruit juices—just to name a few selections. And I would be remiss if I did not mention the coffee (made by Joy); This was a cup ‘o “joy” one looks forward to drinking in the morning. Joy and Fletcher showed a real interest in getting to know us and enjoyed conversing with us, and were never at a loss for an entertaining anecdote or two. They were a pleasure, and when we left, we knew we would miss them. We also laughed a lot on this trip. That is always an indicator to me of a good get-away and time well spent. I do not see how one can go wrong by staying at Spencer House Bed & Breakfast. Do yourself a favor. Book a stay today. Monica E. Smith


Best Value in Erie

5 on October 16, 2012

My husband and I recently spent three nights at the Spencer House and we had a fantastic time. The house is a gorgeous Victorian situated in the heart of downtown with off street parking. The owners, the Colemans, were the most friendly and accomodating innkeepers. Their daily full breakfast was to "die for". A better value than a local hotel, We would definitely stay here again.


Refreshing surprise

5 on July 06, 2012

We selected this B&B with a bit of trepidation, as there were some less than flattering reviews. However, it was apparent that ownership had recently changed (spring of 2012) and newer reviews had a brighter tone. We could not have been happier with our choice. The new owners are wonderfully hospitable and seem genuinely enthused about what they're doing. The property is a real gem - classic period decorations and the stunning oak woodwork downstairs make this 1850s victorian a unique spot. Despite a heatwave, A/C throughout the house made even our 3rd floor bedroom a very pleasant place. While still under some renovation, everything was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was delightful. If you're ever in Erie , we highly recommend a visit with Fletcher and Joy at the Spencer House.


Spencer House Bed And Breakfast

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8144640419
  • Fax 1-4138457403

Visit Website »

View details

Top