Hurst House Bed & Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.9

View details

  • Guest room4.9
  • Services5.0
  • Value4.9
  • Cleanliness5.0
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
90 Reviews

Write A Review

Will be back

4.0 on April 11, 2014

Best in Lancaster county


Every room has a view!

5 on February 23, 2014

What an excellent view of Lancaster County! We actually live not very far from the Hurst House B & B and thought it would be a nice place for a one night getaway. We were not disappointed and we'd love to go back again! We found it to be a peaceful and restful place as well as very clean, lovely decor, wonderful breakfast, and the inn keepers (the owners) very hospitable. We couldn't have asked for more!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for taking time to write a great review. Hope to see you again. Bert & Rich


No need to look further!

5 on February 21, 2014

My fiance and I stayed her over the weekend of Valentines Day, this is the third year in a row we stayed here for that weekend. You will not find a more beautiful home, or more wonderful and friendly hosts. The view from the rooms are spectacular, and the food served is delicious. I highly recommend staying there for any reason. I am going to be booking another stay soon, and bring friend with us. You will not be disappointed .

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review. We're looking forward to your next visit with The Hurst House.


Outstanding B&B...not to miss if you are in the Lancaster area!

5 on December 02, 2013

My husband and I traveled with friends to this wonderful B&B. We stayed two nights and enjoyed every minute! Rich and Bert were so welcoming and made us feel like we were so special. We have been to many, many B&B's and this is at the top of our list. Don't hesitate to stay here because we guarantee you will love it!


Great Stay

5 on November 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed for a weekend here to celebrate our anniversary. We had a wonderful time. It is an absolutely beautiful place, the pictures are spot on. It is within 30 minutes of almost anything including Lancaster city. The owners served a wonderful breakfast and were incredible welcoming and hospitable. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it.


A Castle on a Hill

5 on November 02, 2013

I wish I could give more stars! We had a lovely stay at The Hurst House. The house is stunning, and Rich and Bert Hurst were absolutely perfect hosts. It is true: we came as guests and left with wonderful new friends. I could not recommend more highly. John and Helen Ellis


Wonderful Experience

5 on October 28, 2013

Thanks to our children's generosity, we spent several nights at the Hurst House to celebrate our anniversary. Rich and Bert do a wonderful job of making guests feel right at home, and what a home it is! All the extra touches make it very special. The nights were restful and the breakfasts were delicious. We've already recommended this B & B to friends. Joe and Mary Lou


Truly, a highlight of Pennsylvania Dutch country!

5 on October 24, 2013

Our two-day stay at The Hurst House was one of the highlights of our recent visit to Pennsylvania's Amish country. It is close to the attractions, but situated high on a hill overlooking some very beautiful countryside. Rich and Bert have done a great job building a truly wonderful "house" that really does (as other reviewers have said) feel like a home. The breakfasts are great, the rooms have balconies, and the shared spaces are truly beautiful and homey-feeling at the same time. Be sure to walk around the grounds, hang out with the pets, and watch the swans on the pond. If we return to Lancaster area, we'll definitely stay here and nowhere else! Thanks, Rich and Bert, for a great stay!


Tranquil Setting

4.0 on October 18, 2013

My fiancee and I stayed at the Hurst House in September 2013 for a weekend getaway and we got exactly what we came for. The owners, Bert and Rich, are very warm and inviting meeting your every need. The property is situated on top of a hill that overlooks Amish country and it is so peaceful. The grounds are beautiful! I would highly suggest making this one of the B&Bs that you stay out. We will definitely be going back.


It's really a home

5 on September 14, 2013

After our stay at the Hurst House B&B I felt it should be renamed the Hurst Home B&B. We felt like we belonged at this B&B with its very friendly host, magnificent views, relaxing wide porch and delicious breakfast.


Found a hidden gem

5 on September 05, 2013

We recently stayed 2 nights at the Hurst House B&B. The many times we have stayed in the Lancaster area we never knew this place existed, until we picked up a copy of B&B magazine at our local AAA office. As soon as I saw the picture of Hurst House I knew I wanted to go.Pictures don't do it justice. You have to see this beautiful house for yourself. The house is Victorian gingerbread style. The views from the huge wrap around porch are amazing, We spent the whole evening just sitting on the deck down at the pond, watching the swans, the heron trying to catch fish and just listening to the sound of the water. If you want a place to just relax and forget the stress of everyday life this is it. From the wonderful food, to Pepper and Freddie and most certainly the most wonderful hosts .Bert and Rich make you feel like part of the family. Just go and have an amazing time, you will leave refreshed and ready to face the world again. Can't wait to go back


Didn't want to leave...

5 on August 19, 2013

This is the most fantastic place! There is nothing you could want that this Inn doesn't offer. Inn is not even the right word. It's a hilltop Victorian mansion, run by the sweetest couple. Staying here was liking stepping back in time, yet with all the modern conveniences. Every room has a balcony with an amazing view. The grounds are beyond beautiful. Breakfast was a culinary masterpiece. What you get for the price- is a home away from home- but maybe better! :) Cant wait to go back!!!


We'll be back!

5 on August 19, 2013

We both immediately fell in love with this beautiful home! The panoramic views are breathtaking and we felt like we were on top of the world! We were impressed by how very clean and well decorated every room in this home was and we loved the delicious breakfasts. It is clear to see how much love and care has gone into making this home so inviting, peaceful and beautiful. Not only do we plan on returning there in the future, we're considering putting in an offer to buy this gorgeous home when (and if) Rich and Bert are ready! Thank you so much for a fantastic stay. We feel like we've just made two new friends! Please give a hug to Freddy and Pepper for us! ~ Russ & Sandra, Long Island, New York.


lovely bed and breakfast

5 on July 18, 2013

What a wonderful inn! The inn is spectacular and the views from every room is simply breathtaking. There is a pond on the property with swans, fish, and I think a bull frog. You can walk the grounds or just relax on the large, beautiful porch that surrounds the inn. The innkeepers are friendly, warm, and very helpful. I look forward to returning to this magical place.


Couldn't be happier!

5 on July 13, 2013

We went for rest and relaxation and we got it. It's a great place to stay and spend time. The view was spectacular. We enjoyed the rocking chairs on the porch, the lovely flowers, the swan pond and the exquisite décor. A pleasingly delicious breakfast topped off a fantastic stay.


Serene and charming area for a Bed and Breakfast

4.8 on July 07, 2013

This grand home overlooks a truly beautiful surrounding countryside. The serene atmosphere of the manicured Amish farmlands only adds to the friendly but comfortably elegant home. The attention to every detail only made us feel even more welcome. Rich and Bert's property is gorgeous from the swans on the pond, colorful gardens to the private seating areas to just relax and take it all in. A must-stay place if you are in the Lancaster area!


Beautiful B&B

4.8 on July 06, 2013

We came to Hurst House after looking at leaflets in the local Visitor's Center. It is a stunning house, set in an elevated position, overlooking farmland not far from many Amish attractions. Our bedroom was delightful, sparkling clean with a very comfortable bed, armchairs, and best of all a small balcony to sit out and enjoy the view. There was also a common sitting room, which we didn't have time to enjoy. Breakfast was served family style in very good company.


The best place I have ever stayed

5 on June 19, 2013

The Hurst House is so charming in every way. We love going to visit this wonderful bed and breakfast. If you have not been there I so think you need to go, you will not want to leave. There is a view from every window in the home, this morning I sat on my deck for coffee and relax and watched the sun come up and listen to many horse and buggies go by looking over a pretty view. I have been to the Hurst House 16 times in the past 4 years. I always tell my children this is what I want for a Christmas gift, so I can go again, I am planning to book the whole house in Nov. for our friends to share this lovely home. We do this every year and have a great time. Go see for yourself. Joan Bowman


Our favorite bed and breakfast

5 on June 06, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our 36 wedding anniversary. We've stayed at a lot of bed and breakfasts all over the US but this is our favorite one thus far. Rich and Bert are wonderful host and hostess. The house and grounds are breathtaking with views of the pond/swans and the Amish farms. The house is very clean. A lot of thought has been taken in furnishing the home. You have to check this one out for yourselves.


Beautiful B and B

5 on June 05, 2013

The Hurst House Bed & Breakfast was a wonderful weekend getaway! The home is beautiful and the property is immaculate. The innkeepers, Bert and Rich are delightful and very welcoming. We will look forward to a repeat visit.


exceptional vantage point

5 on May 31, 2013

Set on a hilltop overlooking the farmland in the valley below. Beautiful views from all angles. Resident swans navigate the property's pond. It's a lovely getaway, offering restful tranquility--or plenty of sightseeing, shopping and historic sites to visit for the more active. This is worth a return visit.


Best Bed and Breakfast we stayed so far

5 on May 20, 2013

We found this B&B on BedandBreakfast.com and what attracted me was the photo of the house and how it sat on top of a hill overlooking the Amish farms below. It was my Wife's Birthday and she loves the Lancaster area. The owners were not there (B&B owners/keepers have to take vacations too) but Sylvia their inn keeper did an excellent job in welcoming us and making us feel at home. The other couples we staying at the inn were a delight to be with during breakfast. We talked for a couple hours each morning. The home...what can I say...it was the most beautiful home I have ever stayed at. A lot of attention to detail was put into this home from the antiques in it down to the door hinges! For sure will stay again and I would recommend this B&B to anyone! Evelio & Garcy


Beautiful Bed and Breakfast

5 on April 29, 2013

What a wonderful way to spend a weekend away. It was the most beatiful home I have ever been in. And the hospitality was exceptional. I hope we can get back to The Hurst House for another great stay. Thank you Rich and Bert for a great weekend.


New B&B with old style charm

4.8 on March 15, 2013

An absolutely beautiful B&B with friendly hosts. Most of the B&Bs we've been to are older possessing that old style charm, but lacking modern features. On the other hand, this B&B is very young and meticulously designed, built and decorated. The details are like none you'd expect - 40" solid oak doors, remotely controlled night lights that plug directly into the recessed outlets in the window sills, beautiful hardwood floors, imported chandeliers, decorative inlays in the kitchen cabinets that match those in the bedroom doors, closet lights that turn on automatically upon opening the door, etc. You can see that owners knew exactly what they were doing when they built this beautiful home atop a mountain with 360 degree views. Exceptional.


Can't wait to go again.

5 on February 19, 2013

This was our second trip to Hurst House, and really can't wait to go back again. We were there last February for Valentines weekend, and we were there again this Valentines Weekend..We checked in on Friday, 2/15 and left Sunday 2/17. Rich and Bert are the perfect hosts, and make you feel like one of the family. The house is abosultely georgeous, the food is exceptional....and the views from the rooms are spectacular. I am thinking this will be a Valentine tradition. We are hoping to get there sometime over the summer, and bring friends along. We have told so many people about this place. It was one of the best weekends I had in a long time!! Thanks Bert and Rich! See you soon!


Wonderful!

5 on February 12, 2013

We spent a weekend at the Hurst House celebrating my boyfriend's birthday. We had chosen the Hurst House based on my parents' glowing recommendation and were not disappointed! The house sits upon a hill where you can see miles of the Amish countryside. Rich and Burt were such sweet and helpful hosts. I left my necklace there and they kindly shipped it back to me. I cannot wait to return! THANKS!


Mother/Daughter get away

5 on February 05, 2013

My daughters birthdays are in December so I treated them to this lovely bed and breakfast and then we spent a day shopping at King of Prussia.The Hurst House is just beautiful. The views are breathtaking and the hosts, Rich and Bert, make you feel right at home.


Amazing experience

4.8 on February 02, 2013

What a wonderful, amazing B&B. We stayed there at the end of January for our 40th anniversary and it was magnificent. The house is beautiful, the views are breathtaking. The rooms are very nice. What I loved most is I am handicapped and they have an elevator and a room with a handicapped bathroom. So nice. We enjoyed the game room with pool and ping pong. Rich and Bert are the best hosts. They made us feel right at home. We definitely want to return. I would recommend this to anyone. A most enjoyable weekend. Dennis and Vicki, January 2013


Family Reunion at Hurst House

4.8 on January 04, 2013

We had a wonderful time at this beautiful home. Rich and Bert went above and beyond the call of duty. We arrived late because of bad weather and they had a meal for us. This home is beautiful and Rich and Bert make you feel part of the family! I'm sure we'll be there again! --Roger and Nanci, Bellingham, MA


Our Surprise Trip

5 on December 18, 2012

My husband and myself stayed here last year and was amazed at the beauty of the place so we just knew it was the ideal place for my parents to renew their wedding vows for their Golden Wedding Anniversary. This was all arranged as a surprise with the help of Rich and Bert (who are amazing people), we had friends over from England too and we just had the most wonderful weekend ever, my parents and their friends were in awe and so touched by their surprise!!!! Rich and Bert make you feel so welcome and invite you to treat their home as your own. I would highly recommend a stay here and we will most definately be going back next year!!!!


Our three day getaway

4.6 on November 11, 2012

We came to Hurst House with our friends for a few days of r&r. It was the lovliest B&B we have ever stayed in!! Neat and clean, picture perfect, comfortable and welcoming, and Rich and Bert were so friendly and courteous. They made us feel right at home. Have already recommended the Hurst House to friends. We hope to come again soon.


Outstanding!

5 on October 24, 2012

I would say this was the nicest BNB we have ever stayed in. The views are amazing! Rich and Bert are great people that love what they do. Highly Recommended!


Most beautiful B&B

5 on October 21, 2012

Everything about this B&B is outstanding. The location on top of a hill commands spectacular views and a real sense of escape. The house is such a labor of love - every detail is exquisite and arranged with such taste and artistry. This is also a fairly new home so it feels more luxurious and sparkly clean than other B&Bs I have stayed at. There is a lot of warm wood work, beautiful lamps, and floral decor in mostly rose/mauve colors. It is the perfect place for a romantic get away. The place feels like a castle on a hill and you are the prince and princess. Bert was a fabulous host and made us feel like family the moment we stepped in. We can't wait to go back!


A castle in Pennsylvania Dutch Country

5 on October 19, 2012

We had a wonder but short stay at the Inn last week. The building is breath-taking as is the view from any porch or window. A private lake with swans, expansive public areas, library, game and media rooms and balconies everywhere. A MUST stay!


Magnificent views, excellent value, outstanding service

5 on October 17, 2012

My husband and I carefully research B&Bs for our vacations. When we were looking to stay in the Amish country./Ephrata the week of October 8-12, 2012, I found the Hurst House. It had all the amenities we wanted, a great location and excellent rates, The photo of their stunning property on their website caught my attention right away. When I called to book a room Bert was gracious and her warmth came across the phone right away. We were warmly greeted upon our arrival and given the VIP treatment. Both the interior and exterior of the property is beautiful. Our room was lovely, with beautiful views (all the rooms have great views of the countryside). Breakfast each morning was a delicious array of selections (don't EVEN THINK about counting calories!!!). Rich and Bert made us feel like family and provided superior customer service - as well as providing advice on sightseeing, restaurants, etc. They grew up in this area so were knowledgeable. We are already planning a return visit. An excellent value - We highly recomend this B&B!!


What are you waiting for????

5 on October 09, 2012

I have been going to the Dutch Country for over 40 years, stayed in literally over a hundred different places and finally found Utopia. Loved this place, easier to point out the bad things...NONE!!! Already planning return TRIPS (Multiple). Thanks to our Host Bert and Rich we enjoyed your company and the new friends we met. What are you waiting for... BOOK THIS PLACE NOW!!!! mary and paul, nj


First but not last stay

5 on September 15, 2012

We stayed one night at Hurst House last week and just loved it. Everything was clean and orderly. We liked the common room with the coffee machine, snacks and lots of reading materials. It was quiet at night, no people coming and going and of course no traffic noise as they are not near any major roads. Breakfast was delicious and filling. We felt as though we had our money's worth and will definitely be back!


Well worth a visit

4.6 on September 10, 2012

I stayed at Hurst house in September 2011 with my mother. The hosts Bert and Rich were very welcoming and accommodating. Their house is beautiful and has amazing views. Everything was very clean and tidy, the rooms were spacious and well furnished and the beds very comfortable. We were served a delicious home made breakfast. My mother describes the house a' peaceful haven with spectacular views'. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would go back again. Bert and Rich, the hosts when out of there way to make our stay very personal and pleasant.


Second Stay as wonderful as the first!

5 on September 04, 2012

What a wonderful place for an escape! Peaceful surroundings, gracious hosts, and a storybook home. Every detail is perfect, from the sweeping porch offering views of the pond and surrounding farmlands right down to the embellished brass hinges on the handcrafted oak doors. Bert and Rich are wonderful people who take every opportunity to make you feel at home. Rooms are spotless. Breakfast is always beyond the call - this weekend it was fruit plate, warm coffee cake, baked oatmeal, ham and eggs - all served at table with linen napkins and lovely serviceware. You will be trying to decide when you can come back before you even leave!


Extraordinary home overlooking Amish Farmland

4.6 on August 31, 2012

The Victorian-style home shows what a labor of love it truly was for the builders--the innkeepers themselves, Rich and Bert Hurst. We especially like the gorgeous detail in all the woodwork. The view from our room was awesome, the food good and plentiful. Our stay was much too short but we will visit again in the near future. Our only difficulty was finding it without our GPS.


Hurst House, Heaven on Earth

5 on August 29, 2012

My name is Dante, my wife Sandy and I stayed at the Hurst House over the past weekend. Boy, did I need that. The Golden Pond room was terrific. We would sit on the balcony and enjoy the true Pennsylvania countryside, including a great view of the lovely pond out back (thus Golden Pond room). The only thing better than the House and Food wer Bert and Rich. Both interesting and engaging Hostess and Host. Got along great with the guests and the experience had a real comfortable and almost Family feeling. Highly recommended from a well traveled couple


Best B&B Ever!

5 on August 27, 2012

We stayed at The Hurst House and found it to be a fantastic B&B. The house and rooms were magnificent, and the hosts, Rich and Bert, were some of the nicest people we've ever met. The views from any window in the house were amazing. TOP OF THE WORLD, MA!!! I shouldn't say this, but the prices were amazingly affordable. We'll definitely be back..... Ellen & Mike Henry, E. Windsor, NJ


Absolutely gorgeous views inside and out

5 on August 27, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Hurst House the view of the countryside was gorgeous and the house and host were very inviting. Thank you!


Hurst House, much more than a B&B

5 on August 25, 2012

There are so many good things to say about this property and the hosts who are the owners, designer and builder of this beautiful home and surrounding property. The home sits on top of a high hill overlooking the beautiful farmlands of the Amish and Mennonite families, and we had such a wonderful view from our balcony. The early morning view with the fog rolling in was a splendid spiritual experience. Rich and Bert are perfect hosts and made us feel more like family than guests and we are looking forward to staying at their home again.


Fantastic Bed & Breakfast

5 on August 24, 2012

The Hurst House was fantastic and beautiful on the inside and on the outside. No expense was spared when he built the house. Rich and Bert were fantastic and treated us like family. Bert is a fantastic cook.


The Best B&B

5 on August 20, 2012

Bert and Rich are absolutely the best hosts. We just love Freddie. We will be back again. Valerie and Mark


Wish we could have stayed more than one night!

4.6 on August 18, 2012

What a nice way to celebrate our 42nd wedding anniversary! The inn and grounds are SPECTACULAR! Where else can you have a 360 degree view of the surrounding farmlands? Innkeepers Rich and Bert were most gracious, helpful and pleasant. The room was well equipped and clean. We definitely recommend The Hurst House and hope we can stay there again!


Slice of Heaven

5 on August 16, 2012

The Hurst House is a true gem. Beautiful inn, magnificent property, and wonderful innkeepers. We can't say enough about The Hurst House. Mike and Cheryl New Jersey


Spectacular!

4.8 on August 11, 2012

The Hurst House is a true work of art. Clearly the house was built and is maintained with an eye for detail. We were amazed with the beauty of this home and it's awesome location. Being located on the top of a hill allows everyone to enjoy spectacular views from every room in the house. My wife and I thouroughly enjoyed coffee on the porch early in the morning relaxing with nature. What an opportunity to reconnect with the beauty God created! Be sure to feed the swans and gold fish in the pond. Rich and Bert are excellent hosts and truly make you feel at home. They enthusiastically share their blessings with all their guests. Each day started with a sumptuous multi-course breakfast. The Hurst House is so beautiful and Rich and Bert are so friendly we already made reservations for November! Looking forward to seeing you again, Christine and Steve


Close to home yet so far away

4.8 on July 06, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Hurst House Bed and Breakfast! The surroundings ourside were of the lush & green farmlands of Lancaster County Pa. I looked forward to the end of the day so I could sit on that big porch with the rocking chairs! The inside of the home...lavish is a word that kept coming to mind. Not gaudy or overboard but tastefully decorated and furnished. I felt pampered by it all and also 'at home' at the same time. They have a saying "come as guests and leave as friends". I truly felt that! Very friendly and they definitely have the gift of hospitality. Breakfasts were delicious! Would go back anytime!


Great B&B

5 on July 01, 2012

We had 2 rooms at the Hurst House B&B in late June, 2012. We can't say enough about how great the entire stay was for my entire family. The entire property is just amazing, not only for the fantastic views, but also for everything about it. The house alone is spectacular, but Bert & Rich Hurst made us feel welcome and entirely comfortable from the moment we arrived. They both are such nice people that we felt like a part of their family and that we had known them for years. My wife generally does not care for B&B/s as a whole, but she was so impressed with the Hurst House and with Bert & Rich that she said she would like to go back again when we have the opportunity. We certainly recommend the Hurst House with our highest praise.


Our fantastic weekend getaway with friends.

5 on June 18, 2012

There are not enough words to explain what a great time we had at The Hurst House. The home is so lovely, the grounds spectacular and the views are as well. The food was perfect. The hospitality was perfect and the fellowship superb. Having Freddy around was not too bad either. We will definitely be returning in the future. Bert and Rich are the best.


The Center of Amish Country

5 on June 12, 2012

Great location and great hospitality! The views from our room were breathtaking. We watched amish farmers plow their fields from our balcony. Rich and Bert were very friendly and we felt like family after only one day.


To: B & R From B & R

5 on June 01, 2012

Hi B & R, Every thing was wonderful, from a good night sleep to a great breakfast. Hope you have made some tonic... See you in Oct. B & R


Beautiful and Breathtaking

5 on May 31, 2012

Our stay at the Hurst House was amazing! We have been to many B&B's and this one is the best. The breakfasts were delicious and the house itself is stunning. Each room has a beautiful scenic view as well as a balcony to sit outside and enjoy the view from. All you see is beautiful land as far as the eye can see. The rooms are big too and everything is decorated perfectly. The pond in the backyard is huge and has 2 beautiful swans in it. Bert and Rich are sweathearts and we can't wait to return in October. This place is a must go to! Top of the line experience. Loved it. Heather and Tom-East Brunswick, NJ


Outstanding Hospitality

5 on April 30, 2012

Simply delightful weekend. Enjoyed every aspect of the visit: beautiful house and rooms, great breakfasts, fantastic scenery, and wonderful hosts!


Luxury at its finest

5 on April 30, 2012

We had a business/pleasure combination 4 day, 3 night trip to the area and found the Hurst House on the internet. We could have not been more pleased with our stay here. We have told everyone that we have spoken to about the trip what a great B & B the Hurst House is. Rich & Bert could not be more hospitable. They accommodated graciously our request for early breakfasts (even on a Sat.) The house is so clean and inviting. We enjoyed seeing pictures of their family. The furnishings are so luxurious and delightful. And the views are indescribable. Beautiful farmland, and even a covered bridge in view from the back of the house! Of course, the pond/lake and swans were a highlight, as well. If we ever go back to the area, we will "visit" with the Hursts again. And we mention to our friends and family who are visiting the area that at least one night of luxury is well deserved. The Wilsons, Lawrenceville, GA


If you want to stay in a truly luxurious B&B, Look No Further

5 on December 31, 2011

We needed a place to stay and were referred to the Hurst House by another innkeeper who could not give us a room. The innkeeper said it was such a beautiful place, so we expected it to be nice. But when we got there, we thought we had made a wrong turn and were going to be chased off the property. It was such magnificent a home and setting that it far exceeded our expectations. The room was lovely and spotless with a beautiful view of surrounding hills, farmland and an adorable pond with a footbridge and swans! Bert and Rich received us warmly and saw to our every need. They were so patient and kind and friendly that we felt immediately at home. And on top of all this, the rooms were very moderately priced. You could not ask for more in a B&B, or for better hosts. We highly recommend this unexpected jewel. Thank you Bert and Rich.


Hospitality at its Best

4.8 on September 18, 2011

Our first experience with a B&B far exceeded our expectations. A beautiful home with immaculate rooms and excellent views. We can't say enough about the home cooked meals, but what stands out the most is the hospitality that is extended to each guest. You will be warmly welcomed by Bert and Rich as guests and depart as friends. It is our hope to return again someday. The Edelbroich's


Elegant and Romantic

5 on August 21, 2011

We recently spent a couple of nights at the Hurst House.From the beautiful room, the private balcony and fireplace,wrap around veranda, spectacular views,and delicious breakfast this bed and breakfast is truly a gem! Owners Burt and Rich were warm welcoming and extremely knowledgeable about the area. The house is spacious and elegant. It was the romantic get away we were looking for and more.If you are going to be in the area this is the place to stay. Isabel and Bob Westchester N.Y.


Exceptional B & B Relaxing Getaway

5 on July 23, 2011

My wife and I have stayed at the Hurst House B & B on several occassions. This is by far the best B & B we have stayed at. The view from your personal balcony is breathtaking. Burt and Rich are the ultimate hosts. Rooms are all beautiful and tastefully decorated. Breakfast is always different and exceptional. You can sit on the wrap around porch and just relax in a rocking chair and do as little as you want. We have every intention of going back as much as we can. What they say is quite true. "Come as guests and leave as friends". We have made wonderful friends and look forward to our next trip back. Herb & Diane Lynch


Heaven on earth

5 on February 10, 2011

one of the nicest people i ever met!! have stayed 3x and can't get enough!! Maritza and Tony Estes, Scranton, Pa


Destination B and B!

5 on October 12, 2010

The Hurst House has the look and feel of a 19th century Victorian with all the conveniences of a 21th century 5 star hotel, even including a handy elevator, whisper quiet air conditioning, and the best possible service from hosts Bert and Rich. Believe the reviews! This b and b is almost too good to be true. We counted over 15 quiet and secluded seating areas to read a book or enjoy the ambience, each with a glorious view of the spectacular scenery below. Every detail has been considered to make a stay at Hurst House memorable, and if you need entertainment, You are in the nicest part of Pa Dutch country with the hoofbeats of horse and wagon, fine dining, and the countryside just moments away. A tremendous value.


The very Best!

5 on August 13, 2010

One cannot say enough about how truly spectacular Hurst House is! Beautiful is putting it mildly! The warmest hospitality coupled with delicious breakfast! We have stayed in some of the best hotels in the world and have found Hurst House to be very special! And this review is truly NO hyperbole! Just comments from the heart!


Peaceful and Rejuvenating!

4.6 on July 29, 2010

I can't say enough good things about the Hurst House B&B! From the beautiful hilltop setting and each peaceful balcony to the wonderful host and hostess, this is a hidden gem in the middle of Amish country! Time to rest and relax and put life back in perspective. Thank you!


Just perfect!

5 on July 06, 2010

I highly recommend the Hurst House B&B. My husband and I recently spent a long weekend there while we were cycling around Lancaster County. Located on a hill, the house has beautiful views of the surrounding farmland. The house is truly in the heart of Pennsylvania Dutch country. While cycling around the area, we saw countless horse and buggies, and many Mennonite and Amish families live in the area. We were looking for a getaway from New York City, and a getaway it was! Sitting in the rocking chairs on the huge porch among beautiful gardens was so relaxing. At the end of each day of biking, we took a long swim in the pond (complete with a dock and gazebo) on the property. Our room (Golden Pond) was spacious, comfortable, well decorated, very clean, and had a balcony with a view of the pond. The inn is very quiet - we almost never heard other guests. The owners, Bert & Rich Hurst, are incredibly warm and welcoming. They made us feel so comfortable in their home. They have so much knowledge of the area and can recommend all the best places to see. The breakfasts they prepared each morning were delicious - eggs, potato and vegetable quiche, pancakes with fruit, local sausages, homemade jam, fresh fruit - yum! The "gathering room" had cookies, tea, coffee, and other treats for a midday or midnight snack. Bert and Rich went far beyond what I would have ever expected. I had to do a minor repair on my bicycle, and Rich voluntarily took out his tool set and fixed it for me. They invited us to join in on their Fourth of July celebration. The B&B is a short drive from Lititz, Bird in Hand, and Intercourse, and only about 20 min from downtown Lancaster. If you are cycling, the location is perfect - the B&B is located among the most beautiful farm country and best cycling roads that we encountered on our trip. I have stayed at a number of B&Bs, and the Hurst House was, by far, the best one. Go there! You will not be disappointed!


Review of Hurst House Stay

4.8 on June 29, 2010

Fantastic time with Bert and Rich at their exceptionally nice home with a $10M dollar view! Exceeded my expectations in everyway...hospitatility, service, food, and facilities....so much nicer than staying at Embassy Suites etc. WE will definitely go back again and again.


Hurst House

4.4 on June 03, 2010

Beautiful home and wonderful people! We felt very welcome - would love to return :)


360 Degree View - Spectacular

5 on June 03, 2010

The Hursts are a wonderful couple who have opened their home to share with those who enjoy views of a lifetime - great food, fantastic accommodations - history abounds and Bert and Rich share that great history of the area. We had a wonderful time.


Wonderful Place to Celebrate an Anniversary...

5 on May 05, 2010

Accomodations are very well appointed and beautiful. Bert and Rich were wonderful hosts. I would definitely recommend to others.


Valentine Weekend

5 on February 14, 2010

We discovered a treasure in our backyard as our children gave us a gift certificate to enjoy a getaway at this local B & B. The Hurst House has an impressive location with a scenic view from every window. However, the real gems are the owners, Rich & Bert; who made us feel like a part of their family but treated us as guests the entire weekend. Their servant hearts & hands, eye for detail and wonderful conversation create an atmosphere of relaxation and instant friendship. A special treat for us was a delicious Valentine meal (Lancaster Co. family style)in the home of a nearby Amish family. Returning home we both commented how boring our breakfast will be tomorrow after what we experienced this weekend!


Wonderful Experience

4.0 on February 12, 2010

Just an incredible experience! Far above what we ever expected. The best place in Lancaster Co. We were treated with so much honor and respect. Felt like royalty. We definitely will visit again and tell everyone about it.


First time stay at B&B

5 on January 11, 2010

We had wonderful experience that couldn't be topped! Can't believe other B&B are comparable. The owners Rich & Bert Hurst treated us like one of the Family. Will definitely return this spring!


Four Night Stay Was Not Enough!

5 on November 16, 2009

What a glorious time our family had at the Hurst House. My Dad is weathering and when we asked him where he would like to go; anywhere in the world, he chose Lancaster. There are many paths we travel in our lives, but I sure am blessed we chose to stay at this inn. Every detail of this B&B is centered around a wonderful and relaxing escape. The ELEVATOR is a plus! Believe me, when Bert and Rich say "Come as guests, leave as friends", they surely mean it! This B&B and the owners are treasures. ---The Beales


So glad we chose Hurst House

5 on October 25, 2009

Haven been given the gift of a bed and breakfast getaway, my husband and i looked at many many sites before settling on an area to visit our choice to stay at Hurst house was an amazing one from gorgeous views (even in the rain), a pond with swans, to hosts who were so welcoming and generous we would recommend this B&B to anyone, as well as hope to return ourselves


Overnight Delight

5 on October 06, 2009

This was our first bed & breakfast experience and I doubt very much if it could ever be better than this! The hosts, Bert & Rich, are a delightful couple. They have the true gift of hospitality. They go out of their way to make you feel at home. The house is absolutely beautiful, as well as the grounds. The pond with the swans is a sight to behold, along with the panoramic view of the Amish countryside. The rooms are beautiful with every detail a delight. The breakfast was delicious and served in the beautiful dining room. What a joy and blessing it was to spend a night in this home with a couple that made you feel so welcome. Chuck & Denice Glen Burnie, Maryland


A beautiful experience

5 on October 06, 2009

Ths is an amazing home with spectacular views of Dutch farmland. Our innkeepers are so friendly and made our stay a fantastic memory. It is a beautiful house.


The Best of Lancaster County

4.6 on August 16, 2009

The Hurst House Is the most beautiful place we have stayed. Breath taking views and the owners are two gems. Friendly and very welcoming to their home. When we left we knew we had made new friends and will be returning very soon. Berts breakfasts are wonderful and Freddie has a way of stealing your heart. Do yourself a huge favor and check them out. The Sauls of Woodstown, NJ


The best Ever!

5 on August 15, 2009

We were in awes when we arrived at the Hurst B&B. Not only was the house beautiful, the location is perfect. The Inn sits on top of rich farmland with a fantastic view. So relaxing. The generosity of the Inn Keepers, Bert and Rich, are way beyond what one would think and the breakfasts are the best. We can't wait to return. Becky & Rich Hadley, MA


Perfect family getaway - with a wedding too

5 on August 11, 2009

We recently got married at the Hurst House and rented the entire B&B for the weekend. We had a very small ceremony - 11 people including us - and then we stayed at the Hurst House with our family for the entire weekend. Our family is scattered from PA to CA, so it was great to be all together in one place. The whole experience was fabulous! The owners are extremely accomodating and welcoming and helpful. They helped me take care of a plethora of arrangements beforehand (I currently live in DC, so I needed all the help I could get in PA) and remainded exceptional throughout our stay. I highly recommend the Hurst House to absolutely anyone. The B&B itself is very large, extremely clean, and the rooms are spacious and lovely. The breakfasts are delicious and the hosts make you feel like part of the family. It's a great place for a weekend alone or rent the whole thing (5 rooms total) and have a family getaway like we did. They have a very large "recreation" room downstairs with french doors that open to the absolutely breathtaking grounds. The downstairs has a full kitchen, a large area for tables or other seating, a pool table, and a ping pong table. It was perfect for our wedding (and I also know they host large weddings on their grounds, but we were able to fit perfectly inside). Outside there are tiered stone patios - including one circular area perfect for the wedding ceremony. There's a large pond with a gazebo and bridge, which made for lovely pictures. And the views are breathtaking - 360 degress of farmland right in the heart of Amish country. I really think it's perfect for any occasion and I highly recommend the Hurst House Bed and Breakfast. Call and see for yourself, you'll be glad you did after just one conversation with the owners.


Closest to Heaven on earth!

5 on July 30, 2009

We stayed at the Hurst House and just fell in love with the beautiful house and lake. The mountains and the tranquility was a bonus! We had the pleasure of sharing a bottle of wine with "Bert". She's is a very charming hostess with a lovely family. You definitely come in as guests and live as friends. We look forward to returning very soon. Carol and Robert


Arrive as guests, leave as friends

5 on June 12, 2009

My wife and I both have stayed in many b&b's over the last several year's and both agree that the Hurst House is by far the best b&b. Rich and Bert treated us as family from the moment we checked in up until our checkout (reluctantly). The house and grounds are absolutely gorgeous and we cannot wait until we can have another get away to stay at the Hurst House again.


Superb

5 on June 12, 2009

Our son and daughter-in-law were married at the Hurst House in April, and they rented the entire house for the family. We have stayed in countless bed and breakfasts during our many years of travel, and this was the most outstanding. The facility was terrific, breakfasts were delicious, and the innkeepers were personable and helpful. This is a delightful place, and we highly recommend it.


Like visiting friends

5 on June 04, 2009

When we pulled up , Rich came out to greet us with an umbrella, even though it was barely raining. This is the kind of service we received the entire time we were there. The house, grounds and view are outstanding. Freddie(the dog) is precious, and so well behaved. Bert was like an old friend -we had so much fun. She even took me shoe shopping and for ice cream while my husband was in his meeting; which, by the way, was held in their conference room/facility (also nice).We are hoping he has more business in the area soon so we can come back and visit!


a restorative interlude

5 on May 05, 2009

this was a much needed rest and restoration for us and the peace and beauty of the surrounding country side and small towns was reflected in this fabulous home and the genuine welcome and attention to us displayed by our host and hostess.The Hurst House,its grounds and its furnishings are perfection.


May Stay

4.6 on May 05, 2009

My husband and I stayed at The Hurst House over the weekend. This was our first time at a bed and breakfast. The Hursts are fantastic hosts. Our room was immaculate and comfortable. We had a wonderful view of the surrounding farms from our room's balcony. Although we were one of three couples staying at the house, we had enough space to feel like we were the only ones there. Breakfast was delicious and perfectly proportioned.


Magically amazing!

5 on April 18, 2009

Breathtaking views, incredible attention to detail in hospitality and architecture of the home, serene setting, beautifully appointed rooms! Staying here was a last minute decision and I was thankful a room was available. My husband and I celebrated our 38th wedding anniversary this weekend here and I dare to say it was more enjoyable than the original place we went on our honeymoon. The kindness and graciousness of Rich and Bert in sharing their beautiful home will long be remembered and appreciated. Betty and Don Ramaley, Easton Pa.


A needed weekend getaway

5 on April 18, 2009

My husband and I needed a weekend getaway from all the stress of life in March 2009. What a GREAT escape for us. This getaway was perfect. It is in a great area away from all the stress of life. The grounds were well kept, the house was absolutely beautiful, the owners greeted us even though we arrived later than expected. Despite being the only guests there for the weekend they catered to our needs (Thanks for the playing cards!!) and breakfasts were great. Thanks to this weekend we even went and bought a coffee maker just like yours! (in the gathering room). We look forward to returning again. Oh, and let's not forget Freddie!!! What an awesome and smart dog.


Wonderful Home Wonderful Hosts

4.6 on April 13, 2009

Peace and tranquility with a view to die for! Rich and Bert made us feel so welcome in their beautiful home and provided so much information on the local area, we had a wonderful weekend. The rooms are so well designed and extremely comfortable with all the finishing touches anyone could hope for. We hope we have a chance to revisit Hurst House and enjoy American hospitality at it's best.


an absolute delight

5 on March 06, 2009

A terrific weekend...wish we had another day or two! My husband and I needed a getaway and we found the Hurst House right in our back yard! From the moment we arrived we felt at home. The home is spacious with an amazing attention to detail, yet it is so welcoming. We enjoyed our time downstairs playing pool, never made it to the ping pong table. The Gathering Place up in the 2nd floor was a perfect living room to rest, read and watch tv...the cookies and coffee were a great touch! Our room was perfect and breakfast was wonderful. I enjoyed my walk around the lake out back..watching the swans. Beautiful landscaping. The Hursts truly have the gift of hopsitality and we appreciated the many extra special kindnesses that were extended to us. It was a much needed rest before returning to the grind. thank you so much for opening your home to us. We can't wait to return. Marge and Dick Lancaster County, Pa


Hurst House Bed & Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $130 - $180
  • Reviews (90) 4.9
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-7173555151

Visit Website »

View details

Top