Nest Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Services4.9
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
36 Reviews

Write A Review

Delightful

5 on July 01, 2013

My husband and I spent one night at Nest in June, 2013. Marco and Sally have a wonderful home and our room was perfect. Breakfast was delicious and our stay could not have been more pleasant. We highly recommend staying here.


Creative & Lovely B&B

5 on June 25, 2013

Recently my sister from Colorado and I stayed at the "Nest". We had a wonderful time. This B&B was beyond our expectations! We stayed almost a week and every morning we were greeted by the most extraordinary couple Marco and Sally. They made the most delightful breakfasts. The atmosphere of their home is so peaceful, clean, and creative. It was perfect from the steam showers to the well manicured grounds. The personal touches throughout this B&B are amazing, each one has it's own "story"...I would recommend this five star B&B to anyone who is looking for a restful hideaway in the Poconos. We will be back! Sherri from Maryland


Perfect Getaway

4.8 on May 02, 2013

We came to The Nest for our 15th Anniversary. What a perfect getaway! The Nest provided a perfect place to relax and enjoy mother nature. We were a short drive from some amazing hikes, but would have been perfectly happy staying at The Nest the entire time. There was plenty to do there between the game room, a massage, and the hot tub. I highly recommend a stay!


best bnb ever

5 on February 19, 2013

Modern, organic, and wonderful. The house is GORGEOUS, (the backsplash in the kitchen photos is even more stunning in person), the game room is awesome, and Marko has an impressive sci-fi library you can borrow from during your stay. Two monster furbabies are ready to say hi and keep your feet warm. In short, the best bnb I have ever been to. The hosts are the nicest people ever, and Sally 's homemade granola is yummy....you MUST stay here!


Beautiful as well as immaculate.

5 on September 27, 2012

Thank you Sally and Marco for a great week in the Poconos. My wife and I had wonderful time . Your warmth as hosts is such a pleasure . The food was very good as well as Sally's beautiful plates she prepares . Marco is very knowledgeable about the area and they both were very willing to share and lend a nod to places and things to do in the area . The Nest is immaculate ! A cut above most Bed and Breakfasts . We have stayed in many B&B's the Nest is the finest .Thank you for the experience ,and we will be back. Frank and Charyl Woolsey


modern, natural, luxurious and fun

5 on August 30, 2012

We loved staying at Nest. Nest is like a modern retreat, combining tasteful luxury and a comfortable, clean, and natural atmosphere. The heated pool, hot tub, steam shower, game room, and delicious breakfast are just a few of highlights of the place. The hosts (and their dogs) are lovely, hospitable, and the heart of the accommodations. Spoil yourself here! We had a great time.


Wonderful Getaway

5 on August 26, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed staying with Marco and Sally this past weekend. They where wonderful hosts. Their house is absolutely beautyful with breathtaking beauty out every window. The food was stunning in both presentation and taste. Hope to return soon!


Awesome B&B in the Poconos

5 on June 13, 2012

My husband and I highly recommend this B&B. We stayed there in the first week of June 2012. It is an awesome home with friendly owners, Marco and Sally. If we could have a home built for us it would be this house. It is definitely a must see to experience the character and calm serenity of the home. It is in one of the most beautiful settings, the Poconos. Lovely mountains of trees, good hiking, and beautiful waterfalls. The breakfast was fantastic. We would recommend getting the full breakfast. The room is nice and the bed was super comfortable. They have sweet, friendly dogs whom are easy to fall in love with. I have allergies and did not have a reaction to them at all. Our only regret is that we were not able to spend more time there!


As good as it looks!

4.8 on May 07, 2012

Great setting, excellent amenities, wonderful food -- they even accommodated some pesky dietary needs seamlessly. Spent a lot of time sitting out on the screened-in porch with a book, and also did several sessions of pool and wacky vintage pinball down in the game room (and one in the hot tub) -- all perfect for anybody needing some unwind time, although I'm sure it would be a great base for exploring the region as well. Hosts were very helpful with finding things in the area, and fun personalities to chat with over a meal. Highly recommend, hope to return!


Modern getaway in the Poconos

5 on January 03, 2012

My fiance and I found the Nest Bed to be the perfect getaway during our New Year's Eve trip to the Poconos. The house itself is incredibly gorgeous and surrounded by breathtaking nature. Although the drive to Milford might be 20 minutes away or the ski resorts may be a half hour drive, the scenery and views are stunning and make it well worth the trips. The Nest Bed is perfect for friends, couples, or family to go out and unwind and have fun. We had dinner there, which Marko and Sally made according to our tastes (they made us swoon with the salmon and mushroom risotto and homemade applesauce) and dressed beautifully. Breakfasts were equally as delicious, with fresh-squeezed orange juice that made our mornings complete. We were really impressed with the attention to detail and how warm the home made us feel with its inviting character, which is probably due to Marko and Sally's effortless charm. We were absolutely in love with Tulo, who couldn't have been nicer or more well behaved. He even greeted us in the mornings by grabbing a magazine or brochure...I could've gotten used to that. We're definitely going through Tulo withdrawal now that we're back home! The pinball machines, pool table, and ping pong table in the basement definitely entertained us and gave it that extra dose of fun. We also loved the steam showers, with subway and honeycomb tiles that I wished we could take with us. I'm sure there's more that I'm forgetting, so feel free to check out my blog post where I highlighted some of our favorite details from the trip. Thanks again to Marko and Sally (and Tulo!) for giving us such an amazing first B&B experience. Here's my blog post: http://youwannatalkjive.com/our-new-years-eve-adventures/


What a pleasure.

5 on November 25, 2011

We took advantage of the Nest's midweek special and stayed a Wednesday and Thursday night in mid-November. We had such a great time. Mark and Sally are wonderful hosts; knowledgeable, friendly, detail-oriented. The house is beautiful and comfortable in a lovely wooded setting. And Tolu, their golden doddle is so lovable and friendly, like a giant stuffed animal. We asked Mark to cook us dinner for the first night and it was delicious. Breakfasts (continental with the mid-week special) were more than adequate. And the pinball machines were an added treat. Can't over-recommend this b&b.


Modern, luxurious and affordable!

5 on September 26, 2011

We had a great time at this bed and breakfast. We were looking for a "mini-honeymoon" location somewhere and it fit the bill perfectly. The food was great, all of their recommendations were spot on and we enjoyed their home. It was beautiful and a great idea for anyone looking for a modern place to stay!


Girls' Getaway

4.6 on July 08, 2011

Four of us girls spent two nights at The Nest this July...it was fabulous! Tulo, the adorable dog, the salt water pool, the relaxing jacuzzi, and the host and hostess were just wonderful! We will definitely be going back!!!


Marko and Sally have a winning formula!

5 on April 25, 2011

We were looking for a "babymoon" weekend away and stumbled upon the website for Nest. Having stayed at other bed and breakfasts, we thought we'd try out Nest, which looked very different than other B&B's we had previously stayed at. We couldn't have been happier with our decision. Marko and Sally's departure from the traditional Victorian bed and breakfast really set them apart, and though their bed & breakfast is definitely more "modern," it still had all one would hope for-- a relaxed, intimate environment with really gracious, down-to-earth owners who are fabulous cooks. The personal touches we found at every corner definitely added to Nest's "homeyness" and reflected Sally and Marko's personality. (Their dining area, for example, was decorated in such a way that it felt like you were eating under the sea :)). Speaking of dining, Sally and Marko are committed to using local and fresh ingredients which meant that everything was absolutely delicious-- from the homemade granola to applesauce to the locally made sausage. Every meal (breakfast, lunch, and dinner in our case) was a culinary delight! We also took advantage of the fantastic amenities--my husband couldn't stop raving about the steam shower and the "best hot tub" he'd ever been in. The pool table and pinball machines were also welcome diversions for our weekend. Lastly, we opted to get massages from Badea and Soul, who came to Nest, and we thus got to pamper ourselves without having to leave the grounds :). Given that Nest is only 2 and a half hours away from the city, we'll definitely be inviting our NYC friends the next time around! A HUGE RECOMMEND!


Beautifully designed and crafted home with every detail attended to

5 on March 15, 2011

My husband and I loved our stay at Nest. Mark and Sally were very warm and generous and their hospitality was wonderful. The breakfasts were delicious and beautifully presented. There was lots of variety as well. I would only caution those who are trying to maintain their weight to mention that beforehand or just let it go and enjoy yourself for a day or two. We did partake in a couple's message, which was made available in their third story loft. I highly recommend this. The women who came to administer the message were wonderful. My Husband was worried that his feet were going to be ticklish but after 20 minutes he was sleeping! The architecture of the building is not like your typical Victorian bed and breakfast. It was all designed and built by the the owner, Mark. You can tell there is a lot of thought and love that was put into this place and it makes it a joy to stay here. One of the other great pluses in my opinion is the steam shower/sauna in each room. We also took advantage of the hot tub and loved it. We probably spent too much time in it. The only down side I would say is that we both seemed to be sensitive to the amount of chemicals in the hot tub. It smelled strong and our skin itched a bit after. I would ask him to maybe not put so much in. Perhaps that was just us and perhaps it was just that we were in the water for too long. I'm not sure. All in all, it was a really fantastic experience and one I can highly recommend. I imagine we will be back again.


Great getaway!

4.0 on January 03, 2011

Both my partner and I stayed here back in September and everything was wonderful. Rooms beautiful, comfortable and clean! Mark and Sally were very knowledgeable and helpful as well. Sally's breakfasts were delicious. And one can not forget charismatic and adorable Tulo. We will definitely go back!


Wonderful Weekend

5 on November 09, 2010

Our stay at the Nest was a Christmas present for my husband and me. Wish we hadn't waited so long to use it. Our stay was wonderful. The hospitality given us by Marko and Sally was so welcoming. The breakfast was delicious and they even worked with me with my dietary restrictions. I would highly recommend The Nest.


Weekend Getaway

4.6 on October 26, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed two nights at the Nest to celebrate his 30th birthday. We had an amazing time. Marko and Sally's hospitality was beyond expectations. The house was everything we hoped for and so much more. And the breakfasts five star. The local area offers various scenic adventures and the property itself provides relaxation as well as entertainment. We certainly would recommend any couple seeking a reasonable weekend getaway.


Everything Outstanding!

5 on October 11, 2010

By viewing the posted pictures, I knew beforehand that this was a lovely place that I would enjoy, but the pictures don't even come close! It is a feast for the senses! The hosts were very attentive to every detail, and everything scrupulously clean and neat. Breakfast was definitely the best--beautiful as well as delicious. This is a wonderful find!


Worth every penny ... a perfect weekend getaway.

5 on October 04, 2010

My husband and I could not have asked for a better place to stay during our trip to the Poconos. The hosts, Sally and Marko, are wonderful; they're very social and knowledgeable, and they have mastered the perfect mix of being readily available and letting couples have their space. They provided plenty of information on things to do with recommendations for restaurants and activities along with brochures and maps. The house is amazing (modern but charming and suited for the woods) in a beautiful wooded area with a great game room, wonderful shared-space, and decks complete with a pool and hot tub perfect for star-gazing. While the private rooms are not suites, the accomodations were spacious enough and had everything we needed. We did not take advantage of their spa packages, but they have great studio space for a couples massage. Breakfast was fantastic every day. Also, don't let the presence of a dog, Tulo, scare you off if you are allergic to dogs; the dog is hypoallergenic, and while I was skeptical, my dog allergies were not bothered in the slightest by him even after spending time playing with him. Overall, we couldn't have picked a better B+B. Highly Recommended.


Oh, so splendid is The Nest!

5 on August 20, 2010

This B & B far surpassed our expectations. The place is gorgeous...everywhere you look there is something beautiful to see, both inside and outside. The innkeepers are lovely, so friendly and helpful and not at all intrusive. The food was delicious and Mark and Sally made excellent recommendations for food , hiking and shopping. As if this wasn't enough, their dog, Tulo, was such great fun. Luke and Rosemary Philadelphia, Pa


Golf package

5 on July 20, 2010

Mark and Sally We had a wonderful stay at your lovely B&B! The pool was a welcome relief and so relaxing after a day of travel and then golf. We enjoyed both golf courses - Great Bear was really beautiful. Breakfast was fantastic...Mark you need to give my husband cooking lessons! If we came again, I wouldn't feel the need to go anywhere - we would just relax right there! The bed was super comfy and the steam shower was great! Your suggestions for dinner were fabulous - we loved both places and the food was fantastic!! Loved the "small plates" at The Fork Thanks again for a great stay!!! Rod and Bonnie Boyce


The Perfect Birthday Present

4.4 on July 05, 2010

My wife and I celebrated my birthday at the Nest and we thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our stay. The home was spotless and very well appointed with comfortable bedrooms and a cheerful breakfast nook. Mark and Sally served up delicious meals and offered expert advice on local attractions. We especially enjoyed lounging by the pool at the end of a hot summer's day. I highly recommend the Nest for anyone interested in a quiet, peaceful, dreamy escape. I can't believe I just said "dreamy" but it's true!


Great find in Dingmans Ferry

4.4 on May 03, 2010

Had a wonderful two night stay mid-March. When we arrived Mark greeted us at the door. There is a no shoe policy which is fine. Mark took our bags, but after we took off our shoes he handed them back which I found quite odd. Also, since there is a no shoe policy the stairs from the ground floor to the rooms are hardwood and there is no railing. My wife and myself thought they were a bit slippery and a handrail would have been nice. The electronics in the room were great, never have been exposed to HD. The crosiant French toast the first morning was great, don't like Mark fool you that he isn't a great cook. Overall, a very pleasant stay.


Yes to the Nest!

5 on April 05, 2010

My wife and I received a two night stay with our black lab for one of our wedding gifts. We took the easy drive from Philadelphia to the Nest on the beautiful Valentine's weekend of 2010. Everything about our stay was amazing! Mark and Sally cook up delicious breakfasts, the rooms are modern, clean, and comfortable, and the steam showers are amazing! Tulo, the resident golden-doodle puppy had a blast with our dog, who may have enjoyed the Nest more than us! Mark and Sally gave us great suggestions for nearby snow-shoe hiking trails in the park and local restaurants with amazing food and great atmosphere, such as the Forks at Twin Lakes in Shohola, PA. We hope to return some day so that our dog can be reunited with Tulo and so we can enjoy the Nest during the summer or fall months. Thank you Mark and Sally for all your wonderful hospitality!


Everything we wanted came true!

4.8 on March 28, 2010

My boyfriend and I came for the weekend. Marko and Sally took care of us like family. I still miss Tulo after about 3 weeks. Breakfast was delicious. Everything they recommended from hiking trails, to restaurants, to the couple's massage at the spa was unbelievable. The room was extremely well-equipped and super duper impeccable. The steam shower rocked! We loved the style and furnishings of the house...just our taste. None of that creepy great-grandma victorian, dusty crap. We didn't want to leave! And the conversations were terrific. We can't wait to come back! Love, Ana, Richie, & Lilly


Great Place!

5 on March 07, 2010

I wanted to take my wife on a weekend excursion (a birthday present) to the Poconos. I found this gem just searching the Internet. Here are some highlights and info that might help you make a decision to stay: 1. Number 1 is Tulo. I am not really a dog fan, but after meeting Tulo, I changed my mind. He is playful, but mild mannered. He is also well trained by Mark and Sally to not go up to the guest rooms. 2. The house is very clean (a very important consideration for me) 3. Close to Shawnee and Delaware Water Gap. 4. Pool (although we couldn't enjoy it in the winter) 5. HDTV in bedroom (didn't use it, but it's a nice feature) 6. The steam shower was very nice. 7. Mark and Sally are great hosts. Mark cooked a delicious croissant french toast breakfast. They are both friendly, but not overly so. Mark also helped us plan for a day of tubing at Shawnee and hooked us up with some discounted tickets. 8. Flat rate for the rooms Overall great stay and experience. If you are looking to stay in the area, look no further, Nest is a great place to land.


A Wonderful Getaway

5 on February 04, 2010

My wife and I were guests the first week the Inn opened. We felt it was one of the top B&B experiences we have ever had. The grounds are beautiful, secluded and quiet. The outdoor pools is beautiful and relaxing. The Inn itself is just wonderful. The attention to detail was right on. The steam shower was a pleasant bonus, and the room was tasteful and contemporary. The host and hostess were the best part. They were so friendly. We had such a great time with them. We got to share the rare experience of this huge flower they have, blooming late at night (yes, it blooms at night). For my wife and I, it was the perfect weekend away. Seriously. We brought our tandem bicycle and stored it in their large garage, and went riding every day. We hope to spend a weekend there this summer.


Perfect weekend getaway

5 on February 01, 2010

I just returned from a wonderful weekend with my husband at Nest. Marco and Sally were truly wonderful hosts - so friendly and welcoming. They really made us feel at home - always ready to talk, fill us in on great restaurants and things to do around town. My husband and I work during the week in NYC and being able to drive such a short distance but really feel away from the city is a great feeling. The house itself was spotless. The rooms were super cozy, decorated extremely tastefully and very very comfortable. Extra surprises that really set this place apart were the wood burning stove in the kitchen and the steam shower (like a personal sauna!). And every morning the breakfast was really out of this world and extremely fresh and tasty. We went skiing at Shawnee and Marco got us a great deal with lift tickets. Nest was the perfect distance from Shawnee while still maintaining individuality and charm that the large commercial and touristy hotels and resorts do not have. Overall a great experience! (and as a side note, if you get a change eat at the Fork at Twin Lakes - it was amazing! even to our city tastebuds. Marco and Sally recommended the restaurant and it was truly a find).


Spectacular

5 on January 12, 2010

We reserved two rooms for two nights at the Nest while traveling from Connecticut to see relatives in Dingmans Ferry. The beauty of the place, the comfort of the house next to the warmth of the hosts and the spectacular home cooked, gourmet breakfast made it for an excellent weekend my husband and I together with my parents visiting from Europe enjoyed. (My father is still talking about the wild life he was able to see through the large windows all over the house.) Adina Pelle-Focht


Lovely!

3.8 on January 11, 2010

The rooms are quite nice and luxurious! Mark and Sally have considered all the details. We especially enjoyed the game room, steam showers and deicious breakfasts.


spending the night in a contemporary work of art

5 on January 07, 2010

Over the New Year holiday we had the good fortune to spend three nights at this remarkable contemporary B&B. The house is one of the most beautiful we had ever seen, truly a work of art. The room(s) were beautiful, comfortable and well appointed. Each room has a private bathroom with a relaxing steam shower. Our hosts Sally and Mark were delightful, unobtrusive but attentive who made us feel comfortable and at home. The food is outstanding and the dinners are not to be missed delicious and so reasonably priced. The house sits on three+ beautifully landscaped acres. The setting is serene and close to the Delaware Watergap National Recreation Area and the charming town of Milford. This is a four season site with much to do in the surrounding Poconos but also a delightful place to just kick back, relax and read. My wife and I cannot wait for our next chance to visit. Rick Small, Scituate, MA.


best relaxing and recharging weekend

5 on December 28, 2009

One could not do anything but feel at home and feel the stress melt away. Marco knows what feeding the soul is. Many thanks.


Contemporary comforts

4.8 on August 11, 2009

This is a beautifully appointed home with luxury hotel-level accommodations. The steam shower is fabulous! Mark and Sally are warm and welcoming and offer a useful local's perspective on the area attractions and activities. I strongly recommend this B&B.


Simply Outstanding

5 on July 31, 2009

An incredible property exceeded only by the hospitality of our hosts, Mark and Sally. Gorgeous home, accommodations w/ steam shower, gardens and heated pool. Breakfast was delicious each day and our optional bag lunches (for a bike ride) contained a surprise of gourmet treats that left us amazed - and full. If you are looking for a stuffy, fluffy b&b then this is not your place. If you want to be with cool people in a gorgeous home surrounded by beauty, then the Nest is the place to stay. We will definitely return.


Perfect getaway

4.6 on July 21, 2009

The Nest is a beautiful home on a beautiful property, near various beautiful waterfalls and hiking trails. Mark and Sally are amazing hosts - extremely helpful and accommodating. We enjoyed the excellent food and conversation, and even managed a dip in the heated pool despite a torrential rainstorm. We look forward to visiting again.


Nest

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 001-5706864950
  • Mobile 001-5702281050

Visit Website »

View details

Top