Carlisle House Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
55 Reviews

Write A Review

Wonderful stay!

5 on July 10, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the Carlisle House and loved everything about it! Mary and Alan were such wonderful hosts and keep this place running like a well-oiled machine. The room, accommodations, and breakfast were all amazing. We will definitely be staying here again if we are ever back in the area! The Carlisle House quickly made our "Top 5" best places that we've ever stayed. Thank you!!


Clean, accomodating and super friendly

4.2 on April 06, 2014

Booking a last minute visit to my niece at nearby Dickinson college, we decided to use our Bed and Breakfast gift card to pay for our stay. When I had trouble booking it through the website I contacted the Carlisle House directly, and Mary and Alan opened up another room for us specifically so we could book it through the B and B .com website (a requirement for our gift card)...that was only the beginning of their outstanding service. The room was beautiful, and Mary and Alan helped us out with where to dine in town, even offering to call ahead to speak with restaurant owners about my special dietary needs. Breakfast was also delicious, and before checkout we spent nearly an hour chatting with Mary and Alan about the town of Carlisle and being in the Bed and Breakfast business in general, something I've always been interested in. Needless to say, we had a wonderful stay and will be visiting them again soon.


Exquisite B&B!

5 on July 27, 2013

We just stayed for the second time at the Carlisle House but it won't be our last visit! Everything about this B&B is lovely and welcoming. The Innkeepers/Owners, Mary and Alan, are a delightful couple and extremely helpful in suggesting restaurants (of which there are many!), sights to see, events at Dickinson College, and all things Carlisle, PA. The breakfasts are delicious and the atmosphere conducive to lingering over just one more cuppa!


The wonderful Carlisle House in PA

5 on July 24, 2012

we loved that Carlisle House; our one night stay was too short and we hope to visit again. The food was delicious and our hosts, mary and alan were very welcoming and warm. Thanks for a great stay !!


Carlisle hospitality

5 on July 05, 2012

Absolutely fantastic place in Carlisle, PA. Mary and Alan were extremely gracious hosts and the quiche Alan prepared at breakfast will not soon be forgotten. I highly recommend this place if you are looking for a comfortable B&B while exploring central Pennsylvania.


Fantastic Carlisle House

5 on June 30, 2012

A lovely warm welcome awaits guests arriving at Carlisle House. The beds are the most comfortable I have slept in anywhere. The breakfasts are wonderful and every preference is catered for as far as humanly possible. I have just returned from my 3rd visit and am already looking forward to my 4th visit in 2014. Alan and Mary Duxbury are wonderful hosts and run a superb Guest House. Chris Couldridge, Somerset, UK.


Home Sweet Home

5 on June 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at the Carlisle House. Mary and Allan were gracious and welcoming. From our warm welcome at the front door, to assistance with our luggage, and every amenity in between (and I mean every amenity), our stay was heaven. Our room was cozy and comfortable and the linens felt like silk. Breakfast was extraordinary and the conversation delightful. We will definitely return to Carlisle, and will only stay at the Carlisle House.


Had a great time

4.8 on June 11, 2012

We had a fantastic time at the Carlisle house and would highly reccomend staying here. Mary and Alan were very nice and the place was beautiful.


A perfect base of operations for expolring historic Cumberland County

5 on June 09, 2012

Call a deal in advance. This place is busy and rightly so!


I can't wait to go back!

4.8 on May 30, 2012

We had a wonderful experience. Great room, great food and wonderful hosts.


Warm friendly Inn keepers, great food, convenient location

4.8 on May 29, 2012

My stay in early May, 2012 at the Carlisle House was wonderful. Mary & Alan were gracious and helpful Innkeepers with tips for things to do and places to eat locally. I was there doing genealogy research and they shared some of the history of the house and of Carlisle. I particularly enjoyed the breakfast served. It was delicious with homemade baked goods and quiche daily....hard to stay on my diet this week--too many tempting treats to pass up. I will definitely stay at the Carlisle House again when I am in the area and would recommend the B&B to friends.


Comfortable, quiet, and relaxing

5 on April 07, 2012

We had a wonderful stay in Carlisle and the Carlisle House was charming! Alan is the perfect host and his breakfast was amazing! Our room had everything we needed and we enjoyed our stay very much!


Wonderful experience - can't wait to return!

5 on April 07, 2012

Our stay at the Carlisle House could not have been more perfect. Delicious homemade breakfast, beautiful room (lovingly decorated with incredible attention to detail) with free Internet and a modern, private bathroom. Innkeeper is warm, fun and helpful - we received a terrific restaurant recommendation the night we arrived. Carlisle House does a great job balancing privacy with the fun of starying at a B&B. Sheets are incredible, too!


Fantastic stay, incredibly relaxing, great service

5 on March 30, 2012

The Carlisle House strikes the perfect balance between traditional charm and modern amenities, and Alan and Mary know exactly how to offer great service, without that "hovering" sense you sometimes get at small B&B's. And the home cooked breakfasts are outrageously good! Highly recommended.


The perfect B&B experience!

5 on March 28, 2012

The rooms are beautiful, the breakfast delicious and Alan and Mary are perfect hosts. Their attention to detail is outstanding.


College Tour

5 on October 29, 2011

My daughter and I spent the night with the Duxburys in Carlisle for a central Pennsylvania whirlwind college tour trip. Spacious rooms, luxurious accommodations and a lovely hostess and "witty" host. Charming town.


An Outstanding Stay

4.8 on July 28, 2011

Mary & Alan are warm and personable innkeepers that treat their guests as though they are family. They provide exceptional service, delicious homemade quiches and outstanding accommodations for a perfect visit.


Home Away from Home

4.4 on April 07, 2011

Like may Carlisle House guests, we (retirees) are return clients. The House is well situated to enjoy the charms of Carlisle and its excellent restaurants with brief walk. The home is being constantly upgraded. I particularly enjoyed the power shower in the Rose Room suite. Mary and Alan are wonderful hosts who make every effort to make one really feel "at home." Bob, Charlottesville, VA


We love the Carlisle House!

4.6 on March 02, 2011

Mary and Alan are superb hosts. Excellent service and wonderful rooms.


Exceptional Carlisle Weekend!

5 on February 27, 2011

Once again I experienced a great weekend at the Carlisle House! Mary and Alan are fabulous hosts. On this visit I had a suite with three other friends...great accommodations and a scrumptious breakfast. While in town, be sure to dine at the Green Room.


A great retreat!

5 on October 24, 2009

We had a wonderful time staying at the Carlisle House. There were so many little touches that added up to a luxurious and relaxing stay! The bathrobes, spa tub, turn down service, amazing breakfast, coffee in the room - it was all perfect! We can't wait to visit again!


Fantastic Stay at the Carlisle House

5 on September 22, 2009

My stay was entirely too brief - only one night. But, I was able to enjoy a wonderful room (The English Library), a spectacular breakfast (Mary and Alan's French Quiche) and great company. The innkeepers are consummate hosts. Thank you for a perfectly lovely stay.


A lovely stay in Carlisle

5 on August 31, 2009

Wonderful setting, friendly & helpful owner - beautiful in every way!


Historic B & B

4.0 on July 08, 2009

Beautiful home, lovely location with many wonderful restaurants within walking distance. Enjoyable.


Well Deserved Reputation

5 on June 16, 2009

While Mary's quiche is certainly worth a rave ... her personal attention to our interest in the town and ensuring that we enjoyed meeting with her other guests was much appreciated.


Felt Like Home

5 on April 10, 2009

Had a wonderful (too short) stay at the Carlisle House. Mary and Alan made us feel right at home. Gave us a great dinner suggestion and the homemade breakfast in the morning was spectacular. We were in Carlisle visiting Dickinson on our first stop of many college visits that week. Mary couldn't have been more helpful and she sat with us at breakfast and gave us a great insight into the school. We loved our room- very cozy and CLEAN!! It felt like home. Wish all of our other "hotels" were as nice as we continued our week. I could barely get my daughter up in the morning as she was snuggled in under the comforter in her own bed that connected to mine. We will definetely be back especially if my daughter chooses Dickinson. Thanks for a home away from home.


A great B&B and a great town

5 on March 12, 2009

My husband and I stayed in the English Library for a weekend getaway... our first experience at a B&B. Mary and Alan were wonderful, very accommodating and inviting. The room was beautiful and had everything you needed. Breakfast each morning was at your leisure and Mary made an excellent quiche one morning and a breakfast casserole the next. Be sure to check out the old Carlisle Theatre! We also enjoyed the Market Cross Pub, Back Door Cafe, and California Cafe. A quaint town with lots of book stores, antique shops, and boutiques... A great relaxing weekend. One that we hope to repeat in the future! Thank you Mary and Alan!


A Wonderful B&B

4.6 on February 01, 2009

We chose the Carlisle House as a place to stay the night before and night after our wedding. It was a great choice. Our room was fabulous and Mary & Alan really make an effort to make sure all guests are well cared for. We highly recommend this B&B. -Brandon & Summer, Portland, OR


Perfect for either a girl getaway or a romance getway

5 on January 26, 2009

This was our first mother-daughter stay at a bed and breakfast. It was so inviting and cozy. My college age daughter is sure to be staying at B&Bs instead of hotels in the future. I hope to be back soon with my husband.


Great experience

4.8 on November 06, 2008

We had no problem getting into our room even though we were early. The breakfast was hot, delicious, and beautifully presented. The innkeepers have great taste in furnishings and style in general. We would have loved to stay longer!


The Best

5 on August 21, 2008

Enjoyable morning conversation and very helpfull with things to do around the area.


The BEST !!!!

5 on August 14, 2008

We highly recommend this bed and breakfast. They really set the bar very high. The Carlisle house exceded our expectations by far! Mary and Alan are two of the most sincere, welcoming people we have met. They made our experience extremely enjoyable.This bed and breakfast is at the very top of our list.


Even in the rain...

4.6 on July 29, 2008

It's not hard to understand how Carlisle House has earned its fine reputation. The Inn Keepers are very accomodating and professional...the rooms are lovely...the amenities make the stay especially pleasant and convenient...the common area is convenient and inviting...and the location is perfect. Oh, and I wouldn't want to forget, the breakfasts are wonderful. Even a weekend of rain didn't dampen a wonderful family weekend and the graciousness of the Carlisle House.


perfect city B&B

4.0 on July 28, 2008

We recently enjoyed a one night stay, and liked the urban location, in the Historic district of Carlisle. It was fine walking at night, and the local restaurant that Mary recommended was wonderful. Our room was simple & sweet. The breakfast was very good, with a homemade souffle.


Great bed!

5 on July 27, 2008

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at The Carlisle House. My room was beautiful and the breakfast was wonderful. The best part was the firm, comfortable bed. I got a great night's sleep. I would definitely stay there again.


Enjoyable Stay

3.6 on July 20, 2008

The room was beautiful and very comfortable. Alan and Mary were very helpful with restaurant recommendations and making reservations as well as letting us know about local events going on while we were there. We would definitely stay there again.


Very Pleasant

4.0 on July 14, 2008

Welcoming hosts, comfortable period accommodation. Pleasant Town. We recommend staying at the Carlisle House D & C, Port Stanley, ontario


Awesome Place

5 on July 02, 2008

Very attentive innkeepers. A weekend stay in Carlisle that was perfect with their help. Next trip will be for a longer stay at the Carlisle House.


Great Stay in Carlisle

5 on June 23, 2008

Every year a group of friends that I graduated with come to Carlisle for Alumni weekend to play golf, tell the same old stories and drink beer. Typically we stay at the COmfort Suites but I was late in booking this year so a friend of mine suggested the Carlisle House. It turned out to be a great idea. My stay at the Carlisle House was outstanding. The room was huge and the breakfasts were terrific. The person I was staying with even asked Mary for one of the recipes from breakfast so he could make it for his kids. I would recommend the Carlisle House to anyone.


At Home in Carlisle

5 on June 09, 2008

Innkeepers Mary and Alan have done everything possible to make you feel at home at their Carlisle House bed and breakfast. The rooms at the lovely Victorian inn are beaufully appointed and feature comfortable chairs for reading or relaxing; comfortable beds; a refrigerator stocked with complimentary soft drinks; and a dvd player attached to the television. In addition, our room had a double jacuzzi tub. Breakfasts here are delicious, served in a spacious dining room featuring fine art. A hot dish such as a quiche and home-made pastries such as multi-berry muffins join the array of yogurts, fruits and cereals on the buffet. Carlisle is a beautiful town, filled with interesting architecture, shops, and restaurants. Warm and generous, the Duxburys provide the ultimate bed and breakfast experience. Carlisle House is one of the best bed and breakfast inns that we have stayed at in years of traveling.


Wonderful B&B Experience

5 on June 04, 2008

My fiancée and I stayed at the Carlisle House while in town for a college friend's wedding. The accommodations were spotless and expansive; the staff were welcoming, friendly, and informative; and the breakfast quiches were superb! I can't imagine that there is a better B&B experience than this in the Carlisle area!


Very nice B&B with great hosts

3.8 on May 18, 2008

This B&B more than met my expectations. Mary and Alan Duxbury are great hosts. I would definitely come back and stay again.


A great B&B

5 on May 11, 2008

This is a wonderful B&B to stay at if you get the chance!


Wonderfull B&B

4.6 on May 09, 2008

Wonderfull time. Convenient to many outside activities around town. Service was excellent!! Very pleasent Hosts. Look forward to another visit in the future.


Home Away From Home

4.8 on March 26, 2008

The innkeepers are masterful hosts, making you feel like family. We would return again and again.


Best B&B

5 on January 29, 2008

I've traveled extensively and have never enjoyed a B&B as much as the Carlisle House. The location is within walking distance of downtown, the rooms are lovely and we look forward to the breakfast quiche. Mary and Alan provide an atmosphere that makes you want to return, again and again!


Quiet and Restful, Yet Well-Lcoated B&B

4.8 on January 26, 2008

We're very fond of the Route 11 Corridor, within which Carlisle is well situated. Antiquing and apple orchards are but a stone's throw away. Most recently, we selected Carlisle House as a launching pad for attending the Pennsylvania State Farm Show in nearby Harrisburg...a "don't miss" event if a mix of agriculture and good old-fashioned American-style entreprenurial drive holds any appeal for you. But above all, don't forget to take a stroll around the surrounding Historic Carlisle District and drink in the wonderful architecture. -Ed Weiler & Cathy Jabara (Arlington, VA)


Mary and Alan have thought of everything.

5 on January 07, 2008

We always stay in B&Bs while traveling. This is one of our very favorites. Great location for walking. Good restaurants nearby. Comfortable and up-to-date while preserving historicity.


The Carlisle House is absolutely fantastic!

5 on January 02, 2008

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the Carlisle House. The beautiful rooms, gracious hospitatlity and the amazing breakfasts were so much more than we expected. In fact, we are already planning our next visit.


Excellent Accomodations!

5 on August 19, 2007

This property is beautiful and located in the historic section of town and within walking distance to some fabulous dining spots. The rooms are elegant and kept spotless! We found the innkeepers to be exceptional hosts! The morning breakfasts were wonderful (quiche, baked goods, fresh fruit, cereal, yogurt, granola, oatmeal, fresh-squeezed juice and coffee/tea)and served in a delightful dining room. Fantastic place - we will return!


review

4.4 on August 17, 2007

Super friendly and terrific people


Lovely, warm and comfortable

4.4 on July 22, 2007

Our visits to the Carlisle House have been lovely, warm and comfortable. Mary and Alan are thoughtful hosts who always go out of their way to introduce us to others at breakfast. As creatures of habit, we have made it our family tradition to stay there both while dropping our son off and upon picking him up after his 3 weeks at CTY at Dickinson College for the past 3 years. We highly recommend the Carlisle House.


Delightful Time In the Hearth Room

5 on May 16, 2007

We have just experienced a delightful 3 night stay in the Hearth Room of Carlisle House and I assure you that you will not be disappointed with your experience there. This is the first "B&B" room that we have experienced that is NOT overstated in its promo material. You'll be pleased! We will return to Carlisle House next time we're in the area.


Rare Gem

5 on May 13, 2007

We spent an evening at the Carlisle House and wandered around historic old Carlisle PA, which is a fine home for a superb regional museum, wonderful old brick and wood buildings, and a walker's treat. The House was centrally located and this added to the pleasure of our stay. Our room was quiet with period furnishings and modern amenities. The breakfast was just right and our hospitality was delightful. We hope to stay there in the future and look forward to another visit to this peaceful town.


Pennsylvania English

5 on May 13, 2007

Forget Pennsylvania Dutch, this is a very English area, and Carlisle is a very English town! Our hosts were Alan & Mary, and they made our stay there absolutely delightful. We stayed in the English Library and enjoyed the English Quiche for breakfast, and chatted in out native Northern English with our English host. Mary, who is a native of Carlisle PA was able to give us lots of helpful advice about the area. All in all it was by far our best B&B experience of our tour so far, and I can't really imagine how it could be bettered.


Carlisle House

Details

  • Nightly Rate $159 - $319
  • Reviews (55) 4.8
  • Rooms 10
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-7172490350
  • Fax 1-7172490458

Visit Website »

View details

Top