Recent Reviews in Ottawa, Illinois

Will be back at The Homestead B&B (Plano, Illinois)

5 reviewed on December 20, 2013

As first time B&B goers, my husband & I were thrilled at our experience at the Homestead. Chef & Mary Kay immediately made us feel right at home. I don't think I need to try any other B&B- I;ll just come back here!

View more reviews for this inn


Exceptionally friendly service at The Homestead B&B (Plano, Illinois)

5 reviewed on June 11, 2013

This homestead experience was outstanding as a whole. The unique decor, intricate woodwork and personable staff boasted of style and etiquette of years past.

View more reviews for this inn


Friend's Getaway at The Homestead B&B (Plano, Illinois)

5 reviewed on June 07, 2013

A wonderful and charming place to gather with friends. Our Hostess was not only gracious but charming and knowledgable. Greeted with fresh homemade lavendar cookies at check-in and wine and cheese in the evening. It was a wonderful place to laugh with friends or just curl up in one of the many private spaces with a good book. We enjoyed walking the beautifully landscaped property and sitting outside to enjoy the patio and ambience. The rooms were clean, comfortable and charming. My friends and I will definitely be back again! Peggy B.

View more reviews for this inn


Great! at The Homestead B&B (Plano, Illinois)

4.6 reviewed on May 22, 2013

The Kollat Room is charming and cozy, it is all I needed after a long day driving. Everything very clean. A very beautiful place. I was also glad I could walk to take the train and enjoy some reading. I would for sure come back.

View more reviews for this inn


A hidden treasure at The Homestead B&B (Plano, Illinois)

5 reviewed on February 06, 2013

This is a beautifully restored mansion and yet the hosts have made it very cozy so you do not feel intimidated by the fine furnishings but can relax into them. Each evening we were treated to wine and cheese or fresh cookies from the oven. Breakfast was always sumptuous and plentiful enough that there was no need for lunch! I stay at bed and breakfasts a lot and this is the best so far.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect Simplicty at The Homestead B&B (Plano, Illinois)

5 reviewed on January 25, 2013

Whether you are looking for a romantic get-away or just for some place to get some peaceful rest, look no further. I lodged here for several nights while on a working trip, and I cannot recommend a better environment. The Homestead B&B provides the most comfortable and homey service one could ask for. The architecture is beautiful, the beds are beyond comfortable, and the morning breakfast is delicious. Mary-Kay and Chet are the kindest pair you could meet and do everything they they can to make sure your stay here as pleasant as possible. The home itself has a fascinating history dating back to the late 1800's and provides you a deep appreciation for the space. This is without a doubt the place to be for any occasion. Highly recommended.

View more reviews for this inn


Warm and inviting at The Homestead B&B (Plano, Illinois)

5 reviewed on November 19, 2012

Thank you Mary Kay for treating me like a member of your family. I grew up in the area, but most of the family has move to the surrounding towns. So instead of picking a "fight" with siblings, I picked your place (in the center of them all). I am so glad I did!!! Your place is so warm and inviting and perfect for a weekend getaway or to spend the holidays. The 1850's charm of the house made it feel more like home than a bed and breakfast. The food was amazing and the service was wonderful. If I am ever back in IL, please keep the light on for me.

View more reviews for this inn


Perect Girls Getaway at The Homestead B&B (Plano, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on November 13, 2012

Just returned from a girls getaway at The Homestead and it was just what I needed! Cozy, welcoming, amazing murals and very clean! Lots of warm, inviting places to curl up with a good book or fun magazine with a glass of wine. We enjoyed lunch in Yorkville and all the adorable boutiques and antique shops in Morris. Can't wait for a return visit - my husband might even get to come along the next time.

View more reviews for this inn


So much history and great care. at Fox River Bed and Breakfast (Ottawa, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on November 13, 2010

We have stayed here for our 3rd time. We love it and we love Charlotte. She feels like family to us. I would recommend her place to anybody!

View more reviews for this inn


A fantastic place to stay at Fox River Bed and Breakfast (Ottawa, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on October 17, 2010

I really enjoyed my stay, this is my 3rd visit and each time I have been completely satisfied. The rooms are very nice & comfortable. The owner Charlotte is a great host. We loved our stay.

View more reviews for this inn


What A GREAT Place! at Fox River Bed and Breakfast (Ottawa, Illinois)

4.6 reviewed on March 29, 2010

WOW! Such a peaceful place! I loved the big welcome me and my girlfriends received when we arrived! Not just from Miss Charlotte, but the pets as well! I felt like I was home! Charlotte provided so much history of the place it was amazing! There was plenty to do around the home with the trails and river nearby. We stayed in the Lindbergh room which is beautiful! The home is amazing; so comfortable. I will definitely visit Charlotte again!!! Thank you Charlotte!

View more reviews for this inn


More than Expected! at Fox River Bed and Breakfast (Ottawa, Illinois)

5 reviewed on March 24, 2010

I stayed at the Fox River B&B last weekend with a couple friends. It was so relaxing and comfortable. Charlotte is a wonderful hostess! The setting is in the beautiful countryside and the rooms are beautifully decorated. Breakfast was great and I loved the relaxing music and great tea selection. Definately going back whenever I can!

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing, Comfortable, Anxious to return! at Fox River Bed and Breakfast (Ottawa, Illinois)

4.6 reviewed on March 22, 2010

We recently chose the Fox River Bed & Breakfast for a ‘Girls Weekend’, and are so glad that we did! It was comfortable, cozy and the perfect setting for relaxation. The grounds were amazing and there was a lot of interesting places to visit within walking distance of the house. The breakfast was incredibly delicious! The hostess, Charlotte, is amazing and goes out of her way to make you feel welcome. We stayed in the Lindberg room which was beautifully furnished. All together very affordable. I would recommend this B&B to friends and look forward to a future visit!

View more reviews for this inn


Fox River at Fox River Bed and Breakfast (Ottawa, Illinois)

5 reviewed on January 12, 2010

We had a great stay at Fox River B&B. It was cleaned and cozy. Breakfast was delicious! Charlotte was a great hostess! We felt right at home!

View more reviews for this inn


Fox River Bed and Breakfast Inn at Fox River Bed and Breakfast (Ottawa, Illinois)

5 reviewed on December 17, 2009

My two daughters and I had a wonderful time. Really sorry we couldn't stay more than one night. We placn to make this an annual visit.

View more reviews for this inn


Must stay to believe at Fox River Bed and Breakfast (Ottawa, Illinois)

5 reviewed on December 17, 2009

Fascinating history, thoroughly relaxing, perfect accommodations. Can't recommend enough!

View more reviews for this inn


Serenity Plus at Fox River Bed and Breakfast (Ottawa, Illinois)

5 reviewed on December 08, 2009

Located in a quiet,calm setting. Delightful home. Delicious food. Gracious host.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Comfort at Fox River Bed and Breakfast (Ottawa, Illinois)

5 reviewed on November 06, 2009

Stayed in Lindberg Room. Wonderfully furnished, quiet stay, lots of TV stations, cozy. Beautiful grounds & near to everything necessary. Relaxing music with awesome hot homemade breakfast -- as much as you want to eat. All at an affordable price.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Experience at a Very Reasonable Cost! at Fox River Bed and Breakfast (Ottawa, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on September 22, 2009

I found the Fox River B&B on line while I was looking for somewhere to stay in the Ottawa area during a 5 week relocation jig. The rooms were very clean, the area very scenic, and Charlotte (hostess) was very accommodating & made my transition back to the midwest very easy. I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a clean, friendly place to stay (and the prices are very reasonable).

View more reviews for this inn


Great value for a great place at Fox River Bed and Breakfast (Ottawa, Illinois)

5 reviewed on August 24, 2009

This is a beautiful little house in the countrysides of Illinois. The innkeeper is a sweet lady who does everything she can to make you feel at home. This is the best place I've ever stayed at, and still at a low price.

View more reviews for this inn


Delightful Stay at Fox River Bed and Breakfast (Ottawa, Illinois)

4.6 reviewed on September 03, 2008

I stayed at the Fox River in August of 2008 while on business in Ottawa. This beautiful and historic house is well run and very accommodating. I would never have thought of vacationing in northern Illinois, but after staying here, I want to go back.

View more reviews for this inn


A Must Stay!!! at Fox River Bed and Breakfast (Ottawa, Illinois)

5 reviewed on June 13, 2008

I treated my husband to a stay at his first B&B. I didn't tell him until we were on the road where we were staying because he would have complained the entire time he knew. As it was, when I told him we were staying at a B&B and would have to share a bathroom with other guests, he started tensing up and started complaining. I asked him to keep an open mind. He has not stopped bragging since we came home! He is telling everyone he knows about Fox River B&B and how nice it is and how wonderful Charlotte, our hostess, was. The house was beautiful, the food delicious, the tranquility a very much needed reprieve from the normal grind and I can't wait to go back!

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. The Homestead B&B (4.92)
  2. Fox River Bed and Breakfast (4.87)
Top
}