Recent Reviews in Oskaloosa, Iowa

Amazing!! at McNeill Stone Mansion B&B (Oskaloosa, Iowa)

5 reviewed on February 15, 2016

The owners of this B&B are amazing! The renovation is top notch! Beautiful job, wonderful food and great hospitality! Must stay if you are in the area!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Home at McNeill Stone Mansion B&B (Oskaloosa, Iowa)

5 reviewed on February 05, 2016

We couldn't be more pleased we chose this B&B. Beautiful- every room elegant. The story behind the restoration gives you even more appreciation of the wonderful details. So clean and comfortable as well. Really enjoyed our time here and will certainly plan to return. One of our top B&Bs we have visited over the years! Thank you!

View more reviews for this inn


Anniversary Getaway at McNeill Stone Mansion B&B (Oskaloosa, Iowa)

5 reviewed on June 06, 2015

We stayed at the Stone Mansion for 2 nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The rooms were beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable. We enjoyed a jacuzzi tub in our room, as well as a private bathroom and a fireplace. The food was delicious! Overall, it was outstanding hospitality!

View more reviews for this inn


A wonderful week end retreat at McNeill Stone Mansion B&B (Oskaloosa, Iowa)

4.8 reviewed on May 16, 2015

My sister and I stayed here 2 night and attended the Pella Tulip Festival. We had never stayed at a B&B before.For a first time experience , this set the bar for any other B&B`s we ever stay at. Gary & Virginia were great as hosts, the food was exceptional and the room was beautiful. It was a great experience and relaxing time.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautifully restored and furnished B&B at McNeill Stone Mansion B&B (Oskaloosa, Iowa)

5 reviewed on April 30, 2015

This was a perfect setting for our family gathering. Virginia and Gary were wonderful, welcoming hosts. The bedrooms and public rooms were comfortable and flawless. The breakfast was great in a very elegant dining room. We highly recommend this B&B.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent at McNeill Stone Mansion B&B (Oskaloosa, Iowa)

4.6 reviewed on February 22, 2015

Beautiful house, friendly owners, great room. I would highly recommend the McNeil Mansion to anyone.

View more reviews for this inn


Elegance and Charm at McNeill Stone Mansion B&B (Oskaloosa, Iowa)

5 reviewed on January 29, 2015

Virginia and Gary made us feel right at home. They showed us around the beautifully restored mansion and gave us a little history. Our room/suite had a working fireplace, Jacuzzi tub, large comfortable bed and wonderful sitting area. Beverages and snacks offered around the clock and a hot delicious breakfast daily.

View more reviews for this inn


We loved it! at McNeill Stone Mansion B&B (Oskaloosa, Iowa)

5 reviewed on December 16, 2014

We were in town visiting family and chose to stay at the Stone Mansion for an evening. The home is gorgeous and the rooms were comfortable and included lots of homey touches (a fan, Q-Tips, snacks). We had a great time and plan to stay there each time we are in Oskaloosa.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Stay! at McNeill Stone Mansion B&B (Oskaloosa, Iowa)

5 reviewed on December 05, 2013

I was in Oskaloosa a few weeks ago for work and found this wonderful restored mansion to stay in! The home was beautiful, warm and inviting! I felt like I had taken a step back in time. The mansion was lovingly restored to it's glory days. Gary and Virginia made me feel so welcome and took time to visit with me every evening. Gary makes an amazing breakfast to start off you day. If you stay, take time to view the pictures from the restoration process. It is amazing to see the work they put into this historic home. Thank you Virginia and Gary for a very memorable and wonderful stay, Joann

View more reviews for this inn


Best Experience at McNeill Stone Mansion B&B (Oskaloosa, Iowa)

5 reviewed on September 22, 2013

This was my husband's and I's first time staying at a bed and breakfast and what a lovely experience we had. We were greeted at the door by both George and Victoria and we were given a tour of the beautiful home along with the history. They remodeled this home and did an amazing job with it. We enjoyed a lovely dessert of peanut butter pie and there was a full mini fridge of water and pop. I have to say that Victoria is very friendly and very hospital. We stayed in the red room and it was so clean and the lines smelled so nice. We were highly impressed that you could not here the other guest in our room.The next morning we ate an equisite breakfast served on beautiful china and Victoria even let me take home a delicious turtle cookie for the road. I would highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast to anyone. I will defitnely stay here again. Billy and Colleen Smith

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay... at McNeill Stone Mansion B&B (Oskaloosa, Iowa)

4.6 reviewed on March 17, 2013

I loved my stay. We are B & B People and this is the right balance... enough old to feel the quentness. Enough modern to make it comfy... We VERY MUCH LOVED THE SHARING OF THE HYSTORY!!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Mc Neill Bed & Breakfast at McNeill Stone Mansion B&B (Oskaloosa, Iowa)

5 reviewed on March 13, 2013

Gary & Virginia were the most wonderful hosts I can imagine. My wife and I were there for our 35th Anniversary and it could not have been a better experience. We will go back again soon I hope. I felt like I was home! Thanks guys!

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing!!! Beautiful Home! at McNeill Stone Mansion B&B (Oskaloosa, Iowa)

5 reviewed on February 16, 2013

Amazing!!! Beautiful Restored Home! Gary and Virginia greeted us and shared about their 7 years of restoration they did to restore the beauty of this Iowa treasure! We shared a get away with some dear friends, who also enjoy the B&B experience! This is by far on the Top of all of our list! Antiques amazing!! Food Gourmet and plenty! Thank You Gary and Virginia for sharing your beautiful home with us!! We will return soon!

View more reviews for this inn


Great Experience!! at McNeill Stone Mansion B&B (Oskaloosa, Iowa)

5 reviewed on November 04, 2012

This was our first experience in a B&B and it won't be out last. We couldn't have asked for a better experience or better hosts. They made us feel right at home and so comfortable there. And the food was EXCELLANT!! We just can't say enough great things about this B&B. Do yourself a favor-if you are ever in the area, make sure and stay there as long as you can!! You will not be disappointed.

View more reviews for this inn


Weekday Getaway at McNeill Stone Mansion B&B (Oskaloosa, Iowa)

4.4 reviewed on June 22, 2012

I found this Bed and Breakfast online while searching for a location between Ottumwa and Des Moines to stay. I love the charm and decor and hospitality. Gary greeted us when we arrived and gave us a tour and Virginia served the most delicious breakfast! I recommend the McNeill Stone Mansion highly and plan to come back again!

View more reviews for this inn


The best in Oskaloosa at McNeill Stone Mansion B&B (Oskaloosa, Iowa)

5 reviewed on June 13, 2012

The best place to stay in Oskaloosa. Owners are fantastic, could not ask for more!

View more reviews for this inn


we enjoyed our stay very much and plan on returning. Greg and Ginny have done an excellent job and are terriffic hosts at McNeill Stone Mansion B&B (Oskaloosa, Iowa)

5 reviewed on March 19, 2012

Tfstrelitz

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing Home! at McNeill Stone Mansion B&B (Oskaloosa, Iowa)

4.0 reviewed on March 05, 2012

This is the first true mansion I have ever been in! The Walkers truly make it a home. Relaxing night away -- great comfortable bed.

View more reviews for this inn


feel at home!!!! at McNeill Stone Mansion B&B (Oskaloosa, Iowa)

5 reviewed on October 14, 2011

we felt at home from the time we stepped in the stone mansion, the rooms unreal, everthing is top notch!!! beautiful comfortable to the max!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Very Elegant! at McNeill Stone Mansion B&B (Oskaloosa, Iowa)

4.0 reviewed on September 26, 2011

What a terrific restoration! 7 years in the making but worth it. Gary and Virginia were the consummate hosts. Take a look at Gary's restored Buick's. What an artist. The morning meal was one of the best of the our trip.

View more reviews for this inn


A wonderful place to stay! at McNeill Stone Mansion B&B (Oskaloosa, Iowa)

5 reviewed on August 10, 2011

This place was amazing. Everything about it was more than I expected, from the hospitality, to the rooms, to the breakfast. It was just perfect. This was my husbands first stay in a B&B, I told him he is completely spoiled for all others now, since this establishment is head and shoulders above all others I've stayed at!!! Looking forward to visiting again!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Place! at McNeill Stone Mansion B&B (Oskaloosa, Iowa)

5 reviewed on July 12, 2011

We had the pleasure of staying at the McNeil Stone Mansion B&B - it is a beautiful home that is lovingly taken care of. We absolutely loved how it has been redone and enjoyed the comfortable room with air conditioning/TV/Radio/CD player - everything you could want. We would highly recommend it to anyone! Kyle and Laura

View more reviews for this inn


Great Weekend!! at McNeill Stone Mansion B&B (Oskaloosa, Iowa)

4.6 reviewed on June 26, 2011

It was a great weekend!! The house is absolutely stunning! Gay and Virginia were very kind and did everything to make our stay more enjoyable.

View more reviews for this inn


McNeil B &B Stay at McNeill Stone Mansion B&B (Oskaloosa, Iowa)

5 reviewed on April 06, 2011

We stayed for our 20th anninversary and it was our first stay in a bed and breakfast. The mansion was adorable and our hosts were exceptional. The food was delicious. We especially enjoyed the exquisite peach french toast. We enjoyed the mansion's history. We enjoyed it tremendously and liked the way our hosts made it personable for us, even sending us with a little anniversay cake. The only thing I was a little cautious about was all of the steps, but it worked out fine and they were very sturdy and safe. Thanks for letting us stay!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Choose Wisely at McNeill Stone Mansion B&B (Oskaloosa, Iowa)

4.8 reviewed on March 14, 2011

If you don't like someone meeting you at the door to welcome you, don't go. If you aren't into beautiful, elegant surroundings, this is not the place for you. If you don't enjoy the offer of delicious,homemade cookies and an open refrigerator full of soft drinks, we don't recommend this bed and breakfast. If you aren't impressed with a completely restored historic mansion, with the finest antique furnishings in every room, you won't be impressed. If a peaceful, relaxing stay in luxurious surroundings with fresh flowers doesn't bring you joy, don't stay here. If the choice of a luscious evening dessert isn't appealing to you, you won't be satisfied. If you don't like your accommodations immaculate, you will be disappointed. If an amazingly delicious gourmet breakfast, at the time of your choosing, on fine china isn't your thing, you won't like your breakfast. If fascinating conversation with other guests or the proprietors irritates you, you could be irritated. If you don't want an absolutely lovely experience, do not visit the McNeill Stone Mansion. A visitor 2/28/10 and 3/12/11

View more reviews for this inn


We'll be staying again! at McNeill Stone Mansion B&B (Oskaloosa, Iowa)

5 reviewed on March 01, 2011

Of all the Bed and Breakfasts we've stayed in, none have been so lovingly restored while including all the modern conveniences. All the rooms were spacious and comfortable and blissfully quiet. The hospitality and food were generous and delightful. The Walkers even thoughtfully asked about and accommodated food allergies. All in all, it was a wonderful stay, and we look forward to our next visit!

View more reviews for this inn


Our Stay at the McNeill Stone Mansion at McNeill Stone Mansion B&B (Oskaloosa, Iowa)

3.8 reviewed on February 15, 2011

Our stay at the Stone Mansion B&B was to celebrate Valentine's Day. We were warmly greated and given a wonderfull tour of this beatifull mansion. The owners made us feel right at home; the true benefit of a B&B was shown with visiting with Gary and Virginia in the sharing of their experiences in the complete renovation of this home. The living room and dining areas were furnished with beatifull furniture and the bedrooms were huge when comparing to a Hotel room. We highly recommend consideration of this location as a place to visit.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Weekend at McNeill Stone Mansion B&B (Oskaloosa, Iowa)

5 reviewed on August 10, 2010

We rode our motorcycle from Missouri with another couple and felt very welcomed at this lovely B&B. We parked our bikes under the carriageway in front and were offered use of their garage. The mansion was even more awesome in person than we expected. The graciousness and hospitality of Virginia and Gary made for an "over the top" stay!

View more reviews for this inn


Daughter and Mom's get-a-way weekend at McNeill Stone Mansion B&B (Oskaloosa, Iowa)

4.6 reviewed on June 29, 2010

Just wanted to thank you for a great get-a-way for our Iowa golf outing. Enjoyed the room, snack goodies, outside patio, and nice breakfast. Hope to stay with you again very soon. Sherry and Laure

View more reviews for this inn


One of the best! at McNeill Stone Mansion B&B (Oskaloosa, Iowa)

5 reviewed on June 23, 2010

Virginia and Gary are so warm and welcoming that we truly felt at home in their exceptional residence. We were there for a wedding and even though we were gone for the evening and came back to the B&B quite late we were greeted with a note and a wonderful dessert....that really made us feel special. We hope to be able to visit again soon. Thank you Virginia and Gary from Gary (Doc) and Caroline!

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. McNeill Stone Mansion B&B (4.80)
Top
}