Mt. Scott Manor Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Service4.7
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.5

Score Breakdown based on
48 Reviews

Write A Review

Review long overdue!

5 on September 28, 2013

My husband and I had the wonderful experience of staying at Mt Scott back in March of this year. We loved it. Della was a great hostess and a wonderful cook - best pancakes ever! Della, I need the recipe, please! If we are ever back in the Portland area we will definitely be back. Thanks bunches!


Great place, great people

4.6 on July 25, 2013

Host and hostess were very friendly. Quite area with wild life to see. BUT close to the down town shops and airport. Would gladly stay there again.


Della and that view!

4.6 on September 02, 2012

We stayed for just two nights as a quick side-trip from Seattle. Della was incredibly sweet and welcoming, provided great conversation, and we knew things were off to a great start with our welcome bottle of wine. The very large porch out back was an idyllic spot to sit back with a glass of wine and to enjoy the tranquility, the wind blowing through the trees, the company of the house cats, and the family of deer that ventured out of the woods. Breakfast in the morning was delicious (French toast with cinnamon and maple syrup, eggs, bacon/sausage, yogurt, cereal, more fruit than you can shake a stick at, coffee, juices... a feast!). The house itself is extremely clean, the indoor air fresh, beautifully decorated, and had none of the ostentatious frills-and-flowers that accompany so many B&B's. Loved throwing open the window in the morning to the crisp, clean air and a beautiful view of the mountains in the distance and down the hill atop which Mt. Scott Manor is perched. Will definitely be making plans to return!!


Beautiful and cozy. Great experience.

4.4 on August 29, 2012

We have stayed at a lot of Bed and Breakfast all over the world. By far this one rates number one! Della makes you feel at home instantly. The bedroom was very nice with plush bedding and beautiful appointments. The deck facing their 15 acres of land is beautiful and very relaxing. Mt. Scott Manor is number one! We are looking forward to our next visit. Richard and Lynda Sussman Alameda Ca


Nice Weekend Getaway

4.2 on August 13, 2012

We recently had a nice weekend getaway at the Mt. Scott Manor Bed and Breakfast. The location is in a nice relaxed neighborhood backing on to an open forest area where deer can be seen in the evenings. The hosts were pleasant and made the stay relaxing. We had rented the Master Suite which was huge and had a nice jacuzzi tub as well as a large shower with two shower heads. The bed was soft for our tastes but otherwise everything worked out well and the price was very reasonable for what we received. I would recommend this B&B to anyone who wants some extra roomy comfort in a nice setting with nice hosts.


Hospitality like family...

5 on July 17, 2012

This was our first time in Oregon, and we picked the perfect place to stay. Della was an amazing hostess, making us feel like we were staying with relatives. Her cooking is amazing... she makes THE best pancakes we've ever had. Her knowledge and love of local wildlife bring the animals to her doorstep. Della and her beautiful home are both gems we are very happy to have stumbled across.


A welcoming home.

5 on June 24, 2012

Having researched many B&B's for our weekend away, I settled on Mt. Scott Manor due to positive reviews of the breakfast, comfort, owner's etc. Needless to say, we were not disappointed in any way. Upon our booking, Della was very polite and welcoming; asking if we would like a chilled bottle of champagne in our room to greet us. Our original time schedule changed slightly and upon calling Della, we were graciously accommodated. We found Mt. Scott Manor easily and Della greeted us with a welcoming smile and provided a tour of the B&B. We were invited to help ourselves to the wet bar, kitchen goodies and coffee. We stayed in the Master Suite which was huge - over 1000 sq.ft. The first comforting feeling of the Suite was the cleanliness. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very quiet. Della asked if breakfast at 9am was okay, to which we agreed and the next morning we filled ourselves on yogurt, scrambled eggs, bacon, the best pancakes we have ever had, coffee, orange juice, tea and conversation with other guests and with Della. It was an absolute delight. Over the weekend we made ourselves at home at Mt. Scott Manor and became close to Della and Virgil (and Vincent and Jeff) and felt part of their family. We were welcomed unconditionally and for that we are very grateful and will be booking to Master Suite again soon for a weekend of restoration!


A near miss

4.0 on June 19, 2012

It was a lovely home in a great location, a good value, and had very friendly hosts, but breakfast was always late, so we didn't get a start on our day until nearly 10:30. If breakfast was at 8:00 instead of 9:30, it would be perfect. If you're on a more relaxed schedule, it's a great B&B.


Beautiful house, room and surroundings

3.8 on May 01, 2012

We were booked in for 2 nights but stayed an extra night as we were so comfortable in our lovely room. Very hospitable hosts.


Can't say enough

5 on April 05, 2012

Stayed for part of our honeymoon and had a wonderful stay. Della is an amazing person and takes great effort in making sure you feel pampered and at home. The food was great. We stayed in the master suite and loved it. Relaxing and comfortable. We will defiantly stay again.


Great Scott !

5 on September 16, 2011

My girlfriend took me here for 3 nights ...and what a wonderful place it was to spend my time with her after arriving from Scott .land ! The hosts are wonderful , the time spent there was soo relaxing , Della and Virgil are so nice and two more interesting people you would be hard pressed to find. The food which was seved up was great. All in all a truly wonderful place to stay if you fancy something more than the usual run of the mill establishments !


Beautiful place with very nice host

4.8 on August 27, 2011

We enjoyed our 2 day stay at Mt. Scott Manor B&B. If you are limited in time and have to rush, and get started very early in the morning,- this place is probably not for you. If you want to relax, have nice wine and cheese (or something else) supper on the deck with beautiful view and see animals from the forest coming to the backyard, this place is for you. Della does everything to make your stay enjoyable. She has nice rooms, serves filling breakfast from 9 to 10, and gives you a bottle of vine (you chose the kind you like) at night.


The Place to Stay in Portland

5 on August 25, 2011

Sip a glass of complemtary wine or beer on the deck while watching the deer stroll the grounds or the racoons visit in the evening. Della and Virgil are wonderful hosts and will make you feel right at home in their beautiful house. The rooms are spotlessly clean and the beds and pillows a dream to sleep on. In the morning we were treated to a full breakfast of fabulous home made blueberry pancakes, eggs, choice of bacon or sausage. There was also fruit, toaast, yoghurt and cereal if we wanted a lighter choice. Fruit juice, coffee and tea always available. We found it a good base to visit downtown Portland and the Columbia River Gorge (only 20 minutes away). Excellent value. We would definitely stay here again. Wendy & Steve Calgary, Canada


Had a Wonderful Time

5 on August 03, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for two nights and we had a great experience. The Master Suite exceeded our expectations. It was big, very clean, and romantic. Big shower and big jetted tub for two was really nice. The breakfast was top notch, as were all the snacks and drinks available for us. The baby deer in the backyard were really adorable as well. Della was a tremendous hostess. She treated us with respect and we felt like we were at home. Della has thought of everything for her guests. She provided games, food, wine (or sparkling cider), movies, cable tv, any type of breakfast you want, internet, etc. If you need any advice or directions she kindly advices and helps you out. If you prefer company, she obliges, if you want to be left alone, she obliges. I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast. It's out of the city in a nice quiet neighborhood and the price is suprisingly low for what you get. We will stay here again.


Loved the jet tub in my room! Very cute & comfortable.

5 on February 22, 2011

I would highly recommend Mt. Scott Manor! I loved my stay, & my favorite thing about my room was my bathroom with huge two person, jet tub w bubbles! My boyfriend & I stayed there for Valintine's Day pre-weekend & stayed in the master bedroom, it was a huge suite w a huge bathroom,bedroom, a walk-in closet the size of my bedroom at home, and living room w tv & vcr. This is a great place close to the city & far enough away to just relax & enjoy. The breakfast in the morn was a huge meal, waffles, eggs, baccon, coffee, & juice.


A most delightful experience

5 on November 10, 2010

Being veteran B&B'ers we feel that the person who has not experienced the pleasure of Della and Virgil's company should book a weekend and get to know two of the world's more interesting people! We consider our time spent at Mt. Scott Manor to be one of the highlights of our visit to Oregon! Nothing could have been improved on. From the tasty home-made bread to the wines, from the wildlife to the park-like setting, from the exquisite rooms to the stocked bar and fridge.Everything was "top drawer".I can't say enough good things about these innkeepers. They put the comfort of their guests above their own and make sure you feel as though you were in your own home.We booked for two nights and ended up staying ten! Marvelous-keep up the good work


Della is the best!

5 on October 06, 2010

Okay, my sweet girlfriend from Spain surprised me with a reservation at this B&B in Portland, OR unfortunately we were in New Hampshire at the time and her intention was to book a hotel in Portland, ME. We had reserved the master suite for two nights and called the day our reservation was for and Della accepted the cancellation with no penalty. It's refreshing to work with someone like Stella during a quasi-traveling-crisis and especially considering the current state of the economy. I will be sure to refer Della to friends and family and look forward to some day making it to Portland...OREGON!


Excellent B&B

4.4 on September 20, 2010

We spent our wedding anniversary here and had an amazing time at the Mt Scott Manor. Its a beautiful house with a great location. Della & Virgil were excellent hosts and their service was top notch. It felt like we were visiting our relatives. They are both just way too accommodating. Della is a great baker and had baked some awesome cookies and cakes during our stay there. She always had some yummy treats ready for us. Our room was great and very clean. (Orient Suite) I would highly recommend this B&B


BEST Bed and Breakfast in Portland!!

5 on April 23, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon and we LOVED it! We stayed for almost a week and had zero complaints. The service was completely top-notch, we felt like royalty. The setting for this B&B is so beautiful, it's tucked away in the hills (but not far from the city) so we felt like we were miles away from everyone (which was exactly what we wanted). Breakfast was AMAZING with Della's homemade waffles, along with anything else we requested. Everything was fresh and delicious. It was also very clean and cozy. We couldn't have chosen a better place and are excited to go back!


I love my annual visit!

5 on March 10, 2010

I've stayed at Mt. Scott Manor twice now while attending training courses for work. It's a great house in a beautiful location and Della has been a joy to stay with! Mt. Scott Manor beats the heck out of a hotel for about the same price! I plan on staying there every time I'm in town.


Terrific stay at the Manor

5 on November 28, 2009

Our stay at the manor was great. Our hosts were very delightful and the room was clean and extremely quiet. We hope to stay again on our travels back and forth from Spokane, WA. The eggs from the hen house were delicious :)


Luxury in the country but close to everything

5 on August 24, 2009

We stayed for 3 nights and have nothing but wonderful things to say about Della, Virgil and the lovely Mt. Scott Manor. To say they are accommodating is a serious understatement. The Master Suite is beyond roomy and comfortable and the master bath is enormous. The decor throughout the home is lovely and tasteful. The 800 thread count Egyptian cotton sheets were absolutely luxurious! The other rooms looked lovely too and all are a great value. The manor house is tucked back into a beautifully wooded residential area and you really feel like you are out in the country. The taste of the freshest eggs every morning reinforces that feeling. Della serves up a very tasty home cooked breakfast made with lots of love from her and her feathered friends... We really enjoyed watching the chickens antics and I couldn't hear the roosters while in Master suite... had no trouble sleeping in until breakfast time. From the manor you are a 15 minute ride to catch the Max... Portland's wonderfully efficient and fast train transit system. (Virgil seemed happy to give us a lift to and from the stop upon request) and another 15 minute zip on the train into the heart of downtown. I hear they are opening up a new section of the Max that will stop about 5 minutes from the manor. It is also only about 15-20 minutes from the manor to the airport as well as great shopping and dining at the Hawthorn district. It was about 5 minutes to Eagle Mountain golf course... this is the perfect place to stay if you are attending a wedding or event at the Aierie as we were. I will surely call Della the next time I have occasion to return to the Portland area.


Deer Lovers

4.0 on July 30, 2009

We stayed at Mt. Scott Manor in early July. The rooms and service were great. We loved the visiting deer each evening. It was quiet and relaxing. Breakfast was at 9AM so if you are planning a day of sight seeing, it was a little late start, but I am sure the owners would accommodate an earlier start. We had a full breakfast with eggs, bacon and waffles or pancakes. We were very satisfied with out stay.


"Such a treat"

5 on July 02, 2009

A friend and I spent 3 nights here while attending a seminar at Reed College. Della and Virgil were wonderful hosts and did everything they could to make our stay comfortable and memorable. I feel like I have some new special friends.


wonderful and peaceful B&B

4.6 on June 29, 2009

It was so relaxing to come "home" to this lovely B&B each day after a 3 day seminar at Reed College ~ gracious host Della was always welcoming and always had treats for us like chocolate cake and pie : ) The kitchen was always well stocked with food- coffee always available as well as bottled water, soda and juices in the fridge. The master suite is awesome, lovely views and a bathroom bigger than my house : ) My favorite room was the great room with fireplace and leather sofas where I studied each evening. Oh, so comfortable!! I will definitley recommend this manor to my Seattle friends. It is only 7 miles- about 12- 15 minutes to Reed College. Thank you, Della and Virgil


Beautiful B&B!!!

5 on June 02, 2009

This was my first time ever staying at a bed and breakfast and I couldn't have asked for more! Our room was beautiful and spatious, much more than I expected! We had a wonderful stay here and would definately recommend it! The service was excellent, Della is such a great hostess and a pleasure to chat with.


One of the best!

5 on May 21, 2009

We love b&b's and Mt. Scott Manor is the best and the essence of why we love them. We love b&b's and Mt Scott is one the best. Why would we not love it? Breakfast to order, fresh eggs from the "girls", sparkling clean rooms, beautiful scenery, wild duck on the little pond, deer and warm hosts. Della catered a wonderful dinner for us, our family and the recent grad from Reed. It allowed us to be together as a family, away from the noise and bustle of a resturant. Definitely a fan and wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else. Stan and Linda


Good Value Stay

3.2 on May 06, 2009

Difficult to find but enjoyable night's stay


Awesome!

5 on January 01, 2009

Great people! Highly recommend!


Fabulous hilltop retreat!

5 on December 18, 2008

I stayed here for a night, and was very impressed with the property, its location, and the warm hospitality of my hosts! My room was very large and comfortably furnished. The bathroom had a Jacuzzi, which was simply delightful after a long day of travel! I arrived early enough in the day to sit on the back deck and enjoy breathtaking views of the forest. The owners have some chickens in the backyard, a cat, and I even some some deer wandering through the backyard! I was greeted with homemade bread (delicious!) and fresh coffee, as well as a great recommendation for dinner and a nightcap afterwards. Virgil and Della were the sweetest hosts, and attended to my every need. Would highly recommend this B&B to anyone traveling through the Portland area!


We had a wonderful time

4.6 on August 22, 2008

My wife and I recently spent 2 nights at this lovely bed and breakfast on our way back home to NY from Seattle and we had a fantastic time. Not only was the atmosphere friendly and generous, but we were upgraded to a bigger room at no charge to us. We thought the breakfast was fantastic and would highly recommend this place to anyone who didn't want to stay directly in a city environment.


I want to come back right now!

5 on August 20, 2008

I really enjoyed my stay. Yes, it was like staying at someone's house, but that's what made it so great. Della was always up for a chat, and ready with a bottle of wine or shacks if you were hungry. Breakfast was relaxed and just like a Saturday morning at home when I was little. It's the perfect place to stay for someone who wants to relax. If you are uptight or in a hurry, maybe not as much for you, but there is always the continental breakfast if you want to leave early, or Della really will cook a personal breakfast for you at any time after 9. Best Bed and Breakfast I have ever stayed at. Never felt more welcome. Thank you Virgil and Della!


Nice place, but...

3.8 on August 11, 2008

This B&B has many amenities, including help-yourself snacks and wine and a back deck that overlooks the woods. However, the atmosphere is more that of a private home where one has been invited to stay overnight by friends-of-friends than of a professional establishment. For example, we had to sit down at the table and wait while the hostess cooked each person's breakfast individually, rather than being served all at once. She also keeps an odd assortment of animals, including a peacock, and asked for our help in finding her cats. I found all of this made me slightly uncomfortable, although there was nothing wrong with the accommodations, food, etc.


Best bed and breakfast ever.

5 on August 07, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed here for three nights and we had the most wonderful stay ever. I would recommend this bed and breakfast looking for a clean and quiet place to stay in near Portland. Della was the best hostess, she went out of her way to make us feel welcome and comfortable. Breakfasts were fresh and delicious every morning. The rooms were big and really clean. Her animals were really sweet and the peacock was beautiful. We did not want to leave the bed and breakfast and will definitely stay her next time we come to Portland!


The Georgian House 1828NE Siskiyou portland OR

5 on July 24, 2008

Clean, neat, close to bus line,historic district, antique decor, personable, helpful hostess, excellent breakfast, all the comforts of home and more


About what I expected

3.2 on July 15, 2008

The room was a little smaller than I thought it might be, but the quality was very good. I was particularly impressed by the service which the hosts rendered to us, and the delicious breakfast.


Enjoyable

4.2 on June 10, 2008

The host and hostess were pleasent, interesting, and gracious. The accommodations were superior, the hostess was an excellent cook and the views were superior. A peacock was a bonus.


Great

4.2 on June 10, 2008

What a beautiful home! We enjoyed everything about our stay, the wild and domesticated animals were a plus.


An Unexpected Delight!

5 on May 23, 2008

Since I had never stayed in a Bed and Breakfast before, I was somewhat wary about what I would find. My husband and I were pleasantly surprised with the outstanding accommodations and the personal service provided by Della, our hostess. The room and accompanying bath were clean and pleasant, and the towels in the bathroom were so soft and luxurious. I might also mention that Della is a marvelous cook and went out of her way to provide delicious food and drink, including homemade bread and cherry pie. The manor is close to Portland, but you would never know it due to the serenity and beauty of the woods just beyond the porch. It was really a wonderful experience.


Great Place to Stay

4.2 on May 20, 2008

Master Suite way above average; outstanding hospitality; breakfast was good but nothing special (eggs, pancakes, cereal); great view; we enjoyed being able to turn the coffee on when we were up early; chocolates everywhere; cheese tray in the afternoon; we will be back!


Beautiful show house but...

3.2 on April 09, 2008

This is a beautiful house, definately built for show but the game room was not adequately prepared as described. If you have any sensitivity to smoke, you might beware as sheets, towels, walls and all smell very strongly of smoke. The walls also seemed very thin and we could hear people during day and night. Della was a wonderful pampering hostess with delicious breakfasts each morning and seeing the wildlife each day in the yard and sky was a treat.

Innkeeper Response
Dear Guests, We regret being required to ask Guests not to play their acoustic Guitar and Bongo drums in their room but to use the Game room on the ground floor or on the 100 foot long deck instead; however we do have to consider the comfort and needs of all Guests. As stated in our Web Page, we do not allow smoking in the Guest areas or the sleeping areas of our home at any time and we never have; But also as stated we do provide comfortable smoking areas out-side and in one large room that is adjacent to the Garage, said room has a large window and it also has it’s own evacuation fan that vents outside through the roof, the door to said room is more heavily weather stripped than the doors that lead outside, to prevent smoke from entering the home. Many Guests have told us they appreciate this. As of this date, there have been no other complaints, but we have made immediate enquiry of other non-smoking Guests and friends, they assure us they do not detect smoke odor as you have described. Thank you for your comments, and as always we will try our best to improve our Manor and its services as we become more experienced.


Great B&B for peaceful stay near Portland

4.8 on April 07, 2008

The manor has 2 gracious hosts with Della exuding the desire to pamper and serve her guests. I was treated to wine, cheese with fruit and other snacks. There was a standard bacon and eggs breakfast in the mornings that was served with a smile and good conversation. The B&B was clutter free and had several beautiful common rooms. (The house is just gorgeous). The bedrooms each have their own full size baths and have all the finishing touches of spa quality bath products and robes, along with bottled water and chocolate truffles. They also have high speed WiFi access (great for me). The wildlife and scenery was beautiful. They have wildlife visitors daily! I would highly recommend this B&B for those that want to get out of the city but remain within driving distance (I think it was about a 20min drive into downtown Portland). If there is something missing that you had expected, just ask. They are both eagar to please. This B&B offers above and beyond what I had expected and I was quite satisfied with my stay. I will be staying there again when my travels take me back to Portland, Oregon.


Best vacation ever!

5 on March 26, 2008

We stayed with Della and Virgil over the New Year holiday and were blown away by the experience. The house is beautiful and the accomodations are first-rate! Della is an amazingly gracious hostess whose goal is to tailor your stay to your personal needs and make her home yours. It will be the place I stay in on all my future trips to Portland.


Mt Hood at Sunrise Blew Me AWAY

5 on January 29, 2008

It was like going to a slumber party with friends--warm, friendly, and fun. Della had coffee ready for me and prepared my breakfast. I felt like royalty. I stayed in the Sunrise Suite, and the bedding was luxurious. I wanted to wait on HER!


Loved Mt. Scott Manor!

5 on January 26, 2008

Stayed at the wonderful B&B while vacationing with a friend in Portland. Perfect location in a tranquil setting with frequent glimpses of wildlife. Wonderful hosts, Della and Virgil, made me feel at home in an instant and were always attentive and concerned about any needs that I might have. Super comfy beds and amazingly quiet! Will definitely be back when in Portland.


An Outstanding 10 Day Vacation!

5 on January 23, 2008

I had the chance to enjoy both the Master and Sunrise Suites during my 10 day stay with Della and Virgil. Both rooms were immaculately clean with plush mattresses and bedding. The jacuzzi tubs were a wonderful treat at the end of long days of adventure! Della and Virgil were wonderful hosts - attentive to every need and request and wonderful and interesting folks to talk to, besides. The house was ideally located between town, the airport, and major interstates to the coast and natural areas. I literally felt like I was enjoying a "home away from home" while on my vacation in Portland.


A Warm Christmas

5 on January 12, 2008

My husband and I visited family in Portland for Christmas. Our stay at Mt. Scott Manor was an extremely pleasant addition to our holiday experience. Della and Virgil made everything personal and special. We enjoyed the deer, peacock, birds and raccoons. Della baked cookies when we brought our kids over to enjoy an evening of pool and games. I will definitely return!


A great spot

5 on December 11, 2007

My fiance & I have stayed in many B & Bs in the past & this one is one of the best. It is a great value, a beautiful spot, & an elegant home- without being stuffy. The breakfast was delicious & our entire stay was easy & relaxing. We were there during heavy rainfall & the house was warm & cozy. The Inkeepers provide friendly personalized service, but also leave you to enjoy your stay. We highly recommend this spot.


Mt. Scott Manor Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $100 - $150
  • Reviews (48) 4.7
  • Rooms 4
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5034774949
  • Fax 1-5034774149

Visit Website »

View details

Top