Hostess House Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.1
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
78 Reviews

Write A Review

Better than those chains, by far!

5 on November 19, 2014

A lot of detailed care is evident here. Breakfasts are delicious and healthful, too. With only 2 guest rooms in this home, your privacy is wonderful. Beds are queen-sized, and if that suits you, you will be happy!

Innkeeper Response
you two were great. We have the world's best guests.


Quaint quiet and friendly

4.6 on October 30, 2014

Milli made wonderful breakfasts which conformed to our dietary needs (gluten free, pork free, no cow dairy.) The cost was quite reasonable (comparable to a hotel stay), and the room was quiet, comfortable, and clean. One truly felt like a guest in Milli's home, rather than a patron in a mass housing facility.


Lovely home, gracious hostess

4.2 on October 12, 2014

Our stay at the Hostess House was quite pleasant. Our room and bathroom were clean and well furnished: the bed was excellent, the towels fresh daily, and the whole house spotless. Although a bit small for my husband and me, the bedroom and its private bath would be perfect for one person. Milli is friendly, outgoing and quite an interesting person to talk with. She went out of her way to make us feel welcome and to meet all of our needs. Plus, she makes lovely breakfasts!


Great Portland Alternative

4.2 on October 07, 2014

Quiet neighborhood. Owner was gracious and accommodating. Privacy respected. Will stay here again.


Great place for all we needed!

5 on September 13, 2014

This was our third visit to Hostess House and our most enjoyable yet. We consider Milli our friend now, not just proprietor of this wonderful B&B. We were in Portland for our oldest son's wedding. Such a happy occasion was even more enhanced by Milli's genuine interest in all the festivities - almost as if she was a part of our family. We felt so comfortable and at home with her. What a great lady! What a great place!


Loved this B&B

4.6 on August 24, 2014

This was the perfect spot for us. Economical and a great location for getting around the Portland area. Milli is the sweetest and provides a great breakfast.


Thanks Milli!

5 on August 21, 2014

We were so pleased with our stay at Milli's! What a wonderful hostess and well the breakfasts were amongst the best I've ever eaten. Thank you so much for everything, we will certainly be returning in the future.


as comfortable and friendly as staying with Grandma

4.6 on August 07, 2014

Cozy, clean, friendly, caring service. quiet and comfortable.


relax,enjoy

4.6 on June 26, 2014

Quiet home, beautiful view, great food. A good place to just relax and regroup!


My Stay at Hostess House

4.8 on June 04, 2014

The breakfast was amazing; I need Milli's recipes. Everything was very clean and Milli was very accomodating. My only complaint is that the bed wasn't that comfortable but that could just be a personal preference on the firmness of mattresses.


Lovely Host, Lovely Home

4.8 on May 15, 2014

Our flight arrived later than expected on a rainy night, and our delightful host Milli was awaiting us. Hostess House is very convenient to the airport. Our bed was very comfortable and beautifully made. We slept soundly every night. Our bathroom (especially the shower) was smallish, but we were pleased that it was private. When we walked into the dining room the next morning, we were captivated by sight of the gorgeous back yard, full of brightly blooming rhodedendrons. If it hadn't been raining and we didn't have a schedule to keep, the balcony would have been a perfect place for a leisurely breakfast. Every breakfast was incredible, far more than we would usually eat. We're so glad that Milli put some of her recipes on her website! It was a pleasure visiting with our warm and wonderful host. The home was spotless, and there was a wide selection of books if we had time to read. We were usually off to explore the city right after breakfast and didn't come back until late at night, but our key and the security system allowed us to come and go as we pleased. We were glad that we could leave our rental car in the driveway, which isn't always a given in an city known for street parking. The neighborhood felt very safe and quiet.


Stellar food and stories

4.2 on May 05, 2014

It was our first B&B ever so we did not know what to expect. However, we felt right at home here at the Hostess House and the breakfasts were positively delicious. Milli, the owner, took care to make sure she knew what we could or couldn't eat as well as scheduled our breakfasts as we liked it (within the 7-9am time period). The meals were balanced and great for those who are conscious about not eating processed foods; we talked at length about the importance of healthy food choices! She also has plenty of resources for those who visit the area without a set plan. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom spacious with enough hot water and showerhead pressure (I like to know this stuff when I stay anywhere). We felt comfortable and truly enjoyed our stay. Our thanks to Milli for being so wonderful!


Felt like Home!

5 on February 24, 2014

Millie was a perfect hostess! Fantastic cook with great stories. I highly recommend Hostess House! You will NOT be disappointed!


A B&B in Portland to remember

4.6 on January 09, 2014

This bed and breakfast is a comfortable home tucked away on a quiet street with a huge back yard which is spectacularly landscaped. It is just minutes from Portland's international airport and easy to find, even in the early winter darkness. The breakfast was healthy food and so visually appealing that I took a picture of it..


Amazing Breakfast

4.0 on December 17, 2013

Every morning, the hostess served the delicious breakfast. We stayed 1 week but we were treated with tasty foods! Very good services. The bad point was we gained weights. Thanks for the great hospitality.


Thank you, Milli!

4.8 on September 25, 2013

Milli, the proprietor was just excellent --- welcoming, very helpful in general and especially about all things Portland (where and how to navigate the bus system, restaurants.) She made a special shopping trip in order to provide me with non-fat milk. I was able to use the refrigerator, to reheat things in the microwave, etc. It felt like staying with a gracious aunt. My room was lovely --- both clean and quiet. The windows opened for fresh air and looked out over a wide expanse of grass and trees. The location was fine, near the airport and close to public transportation. It was easy and convenient to get to and from the places I needed and wanted to be in Portland.


Nice place, but a bit different

2.8 on September 21, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. The room was cozy (a nice word for small), the TV was okay (no cable access), and breakfast was unique. So, if you're looking for a place to rest at night in peace and you're not into a big breakfast, then the Hostess House will work for you. The hostess, Milli, is very nice and can keep a conversation going during breakfast. The house is kept around 75 degrees F, a bit warm for me. The house smells like moth balls in some places, but the bathroom is very clean, as is the entire house. So, while I can't point to anything and say, "This was bad," I likewise can't point to anything outstanding. Just an average place at an average price.


Great Hospitality in Portland

5 on September 16, 2013

We loved our stay in Portland thanks to Hostess House. It is a very homey and professionally-run establishment. It is not a fancy Victorian house like some B&Bs, but rather a great experience in someone's cozy home. Our room and bathroom were excellent with many amenities and helpful maps and guidebooks. Millie has flowers everywhere and a beautiful deck out back. But the best reason to stay is Millie herself and her ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS breakfasts--beautiful, varied, healthy and delicious. We definitely recommend. Paula & Dan


The best ever!

5 on September 10, 2013

This bed and breakfast was the perfect choice for my friend and I! The environment is peaceful, quiet and serene. The accommodations are are comforting, as well as comfortable; impeccably clean and thoughtfully appointed. This is the essence of having a 'home away from home.' What a pleasure it was to have clean and crisp cotton linens every evening. Thank you! We cannot say enough great things about the breakfasts at the Hostess House. I am talking about fresh, creative, melt-in-your-mouth breakfasts that are healthy and presented with a kind of special care that makes every morning a great morning. (Don't forget to try some of the homemade granola on that Greek yogurt.) The bottom line here is, the Hostess House is our pick whenever we're in Oregon. Cheers, to a great Inn Keeper! (And she is a "Keeper.")


Great Place to Stay!

5 on September 03, 2013

Milli is a great hostess, the rooms are comfortable, and the price was reasonable. We had a wonderful time!


Hard to beat

4.8 on September 02, 2013

Chose it for location but has become my go to stay for the future


Spring in Portland

5 on August 23, 2013

Everything about my stay at Hostess House was wonderful. The breakfasts were extremely tasty and the conversations with Milli were fun and entertaining. The rooms were comfy and clean. The yard was absolutely beautiful. I would highly recommend a stay there.


Superb Stay

4.8 on August 21, 2013

My husband and I were in town for 2 days and we stayed with Milli. Wonderful bed, wonderful breakfast, wonderful suggestions from Milli on what to see and explore. We'll be back.


Just like home

5 on August 13, 2013

From the moment I walked into Hostess House it was like coming home. I was greeted by the most lovely and charming hostess Milli who made me feel right at home in a lovely area of Portland. Milli adds such a personal touch and her meals are excellent. I will be back!


Home Away from Home

5 on August 13, 2013

Milli was the perfect hostess---attentive, kind, and experienced. She was very good at keeping company, but also good at knowing when to allow privacy. The breakfasts were very satisfying and delicious. The rooms were clean. And the house had great energy. I would definitely stay here again and recommend to friends/family that they do the same if staying in Portland.


Enjoyed to the Max

4.0 on August 12, 2013

Wonderful accommodations and professionally run B&B. Clean with a gracious hostess.


Excellent First Experience

5 on August 06, 2013

This was our first B and B experience and it was an excellent experience. The environment was quiet, food good, and flowers lovely. Milli was concerned about meeting our physical, social and spiritual needs.


Great value and great host

4.4 on July 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed this B&b very much. Millie was a wonderful hostess and her breakfasts were outstanding. Would definitely stay again.


Good value, clean and friendly

3.4 on July 20, 2013

Milli has been running her B&B for a long time and every aspect is well done. Also you can read a book she wrote about an amazing experience.


wonderfully restful

4.4 on June 21, 2013

Milli is a wonderful hostess and cook. I appreciated the time I spent resting and reading on the deck. The area is quiet and peaceful.


Holy fantastic breakfast Batman!

4.8 on June 14, 2013

Millie is the hostess with the mostest! She went out of her way to accommodate my husband's gluten issues. And it was so yummy!


Great B & B

5 on June 07, 2013

Millie was a wonderful hostess. Her breakfast was the best! We enjoyed our conversations with her. The house is very tranquil and inviting. She did a good job of letting us know exactly how things work. Overall, outstanding B $ B. We would stay there again.


Great value B&B with outstanding breakfast

4.0 on June 04, 2013

We had a lovely 4 night stay at this B&B. The room and private bath were impeccably clean. Milli was a gracious host who provided us with an outstanding breakfast each morning, as well as useful maps and local information for our first visit to Portland. We would recommend this B&B to value conscious travelers planning a trip to Portland!


A Home Away From Home

4.8 on May 16, 2013

My husband and I just left Millie's B & B this morning. The Hostess House Bed and Breakfast is truly "a home away from home." My husband and I are "low-maintenance" and we do not need anything fancy. Hence, Hostess House was perfect. However, Millie's warm and nurturing nature is not low-maintenance. It is superior in quality and very much appreciated. My husband suspected the furniture was dated 1960s. But, he learned from Millie that the dining table chairs were very well restored antiques from the 1950s! I really enjoyed the Japanese motifs around the B & B. The standout is included in the photographs above --- I'm referring to the kimono. I believe it is a kimono. The photograph does not do it justice. It is beautiful! ____ The breakfasts are excellent. As other reviewers have said, the German Apple Pancakes are a must have. They were light, sweet but not heavy. The taste of the apple slices really came through. As my husband said, "It was like an apple strudel without the heff." The Spinach Quiche is really good too (with or without the bacon bits). Millie is very attentive and she was good at answering our questions and making recommendations as to what to see. Rest assured, the next time we visit Portland, we will stay at The Hostess House Bed and Breakfast. If you're looking for a warm and friendly environment (with delicious German Apple Pancakes), this is the place to go. Thank you, Millie. Evelyn & Joseph


My stay at Hostess House April 21 - 24, 2013

5 on May 08, 2013

I had already filled out a manual postcard on my Hostess House Stay but I will tell you what I told Milli Laughlin. I absolutely felt like it was coming home to my own home. Milli was warm, inviting and a charming hostess. The breakfasts she prepared do lovingly were magnificent and served on china. It reminded me of my Aunt Thelma's family gatherings and the joy she received putting out a beautiful meal on beautiful china and silverware. I was there to visit my daughter who lived very close to Hostess House. She had just given birth to my first grandchild on April 6, 2013. I shared those moments and pictures with Milli and it was like sharing them with a cherished family member! There is no doubt I would recommend Hostess House to others and I will certainly be back!


A home away from home

4.8 on April 04, 2013

The Hostess House was a wonderful choice for a B&B. It was in a great location, with easy access to the airport, restaurants, and other activities. Milli was a great and attentive hostess and I felt like I was part of the family. We would definitely stay here again.


Welcoming presence

5 on October 07, 2012

Hostess House was a lovely spot to stay while attending a workshop in Portland. I felt welcomed and safe. Millie went out of her way to prepare food for my gluten-free needs and was good company if I wanted it or not intrusive if I didn't.


Too Good to Pass Up

4.6 on September 12, 2012

Milli is a great hostess. She opens her heart as well as her home. Thoughtful in every detail of what a guest might want for their stay. Great value and had a great time. Don't miss the apple pancakes.


Exceptional B & B!

5 on April 01, 2012

Hostess House is definitely my home away from home. Milli Laughlin sets the gold standard for Bed and Breakfasts. The atmosphere is relaxed and informal; the rooms are cozy and comfortable; the location is safe and secure (very important to me as a woman traveling alone); and Milli is friendly and accommodating. I've stayed at Bed and Breakfasts for many years both in the U. S. and overseas, and without a doubt, Hostess House ranks number one on my list! Jean Kavanagh Spokane, Washington


Felt Right At Home

4.6 on January 17, 2012

This was our second visit to Hostess House and our second time to feel totally at home with Milli Laughlin's gracious hospitality and accommodations. Milli is such a wonderful hostess - and person - that it makes staying at Hostess House a truly memorable experience!


Elderly couple from Germany

4.2 on October 22, 2011

Milli is an absolute perfect hostess, very helpful in all respects and makes you really feel at home. Her breakfasts are absolutely outstanding, considered her cooking and her ideas. Phantastic!! She also helps you to plan your stay at Portland perfectly. We'll stay with her again when we are in Portland and will recommend her to our friends in Germany! our room was not too big, nor was the bathroom, but the other one is fine having a full bathroom of its own.


Portland Visit

4.8 on August 22, 2011

We made reservations here for a visit to the Portland area. The hostess was friendly and willingly shared info about the area. The food was great. She made you feel relaxed, as if you were at home. The accommodations were excellent. I would recommend this B&B.


An Exceptional Value

4.6 on August 17, 2011

This is a simple "owner designed" ranch house in huge landscaped lot as a "backyard." Located in an older neighborhood of ranch houses, this is not a large house. Owner is very friendly and hospitable. We stayed two nights. Breakfasts were outstanding. I loved the Caramel Pecan coffee roll! Breakfast also included Quiche and an Apple Strudel. The granola recipe was a memorable "owner original" served with Greek Yogurt. Food was outstanding. Bedroom was small and simply decorated. An excellent value for the money!


Hostess House

5 on August 09, 2011

I really like Hostess House. It is quiet, clean, & fragrance free. I enjoy Milli's company too. Public transit is easily accessible, & the area is pretty good for walking.


Hostess House

4.0 on August 08, 2011

Wonderful visit. Gracious, lovely hostess! Great food. We will definitely return if my son continues to live in the area. Thank you!


Hostess House bed and breakfast

4.0 on July 31, 2011

Milli Laughlin is a most delightful and loving hostess. We were warmly welcomed into her home and shown through an immaculately clean home to our very comfortable room. We had our own bathroom and TV. The breakfasts were all home made and the pastries, homemade granola, omlets were delicious. Everything at Millie's is wonderful. We will stay here again and recommend it to our friends. It is near the airport and on the bus line to downtown Portland.


Our home between homes.

4.6 on July 21, 2011

This was our 4th stay -- a week each time, and now that we bought an Oregonian house -- perhaps our last.


awesome service and food

4.6 on July 02, 2011

Millie is an amazing hostess. breakfast was ready every morning as we hit the table and the food was the best we have ever had, anywhere. The food was all home made, very creative, and exceptional in quality. This is a first rate place. We will be going back.


A quiet, clean great value B&B

4.8 on June 17, 2011

Milli is a terrific hostess. I have stayed here twice and will come again.


Delightful!

4.8 on May 11, 2011

Milli was absolutely delightful. She accommodated my dietary needs, and exceeded my expectations with her breakfasts. Everything was delicious, and we chattered away like old friends at the breakfast table. She had a cancellation, and accommodated my request for a bathtub by changing my room. The location was perfectly located to the airport, and to my seminar. The room was quiet and comfortable, and the grounds are beautifully landscaped. My only complaint was that the water heater ran out of hot water before the tub was full, and I raced through my shower the next mornings to avoid a cold shower. I suggest the solution could be a tankless water heater, or point of use water heater.


Quiet, comfortable, good food

5 on January 11, 2011

I have stayed here many times and have found it very quiet and comfortable. The breakfasts are outstanding and Milli is a great host.


Last minute overnight stay in Portland

3.8 on December 31, 2010

I was making an impromptu trip to Portland and had to find a place - fast. I didn't want to stay in a hotel in downtown Portland because I was looking for some peace and quiet. I found that at Hostess House and the proprietor, Millie, was able to accommodate my last minute request. The place is small and it felt very cozy and warm. I will definitely recommend this place to others looking for a quiet, homey place to stay for a few nights.


The best B&B around!

5 on December 23, 2010

Hostess House is exceptional in every way! The lack of perfumes and Victorian frippery are a lovely starting place, but the breakfasts are amazing - this is not a Bed & "breakfast", it's a Bed & BREAKFAST. Milli is so sweet and welcoming, and is an absolutely astoundingly good cook.


Early December stay in Portland, OR

5 on December 13, 2010

The location of this B&B made it very easy the first evening there to enjoy a restaurant in east Portland suggested by our son, and for the next two days to access places of interest in downtown Portland. It was a lovely place to stay and the breakfasts were excellent.


A fine establishment

5 on November 04, 2010

Spotless, friendly hostess, excellent breakfasts. Unconditionally recommend.


Great value for the right guest

3.4 on October 13, 2010

Loved Millie who is a great cook and lovely person. The rooms were so-so but a good value for the price. Bed definitely could be a bit more comfortable. This is one of those B and Bs where you feel very much in someone's home, sharing their front door, worrying about arriving too late, making too much noise, etc.


Nice and Quiet

4.2 on October 12, 2010

Really great place to stay, very quiet, so if you're looking to party at all and have a crazy time in Portland not the best place for you. The breakfast, though, was really delicious and the price of the room was very reasonable. And Milli, the inn keeper was very sweet and I enjoyed talking with her at breakfast.


Excellent B&B in Portland

5 on June 17, 2010

Milli is a perfect hostess - fantastic breakfast - clean inn.


Warm Hospitality

4.8 on February 05, 2010

A warm welcome. An excellent night of rest. A breakfast that we will brag about for a long time to come.


Accurate Website Description

3.4 on December 09, 2009

Read Milli's write-upfor this is what you get at her Hostess House. We were delighted with our 8 days stay over Thanksgiving.


A place like home

5 on July 29, 2009

The experience we had staying at Hostess House was wonderful. The home is a private residence and was very comfortable. The yard was meticulously maintained with flowers everywhere. The breakfast was delicious and beautifully presented. What made our stay truly great was the innkeeper. A lovely lady who truly cares for her guests in every way.


Great Place!

5 on June 24, 2009

I look forward to returning to the Hostess House. It had wonderful food.


3rd trip

5 on June 04, 2009

Our third trip, always wonderful. Milli is the perfect hostess.


Amazing Grace, How sweet the rest!

5 on April 14, 2009

Amazing is the down home simple grace, humility, and quiet, gentle strength that abides in this place! Truly, I have been places that have purported to have all the luxuries one could want, only to be disappointed! Milli provides all one could want in a B&B and then tosses in MORE! One could not get a finer gourmet breakfast anywhere. The stay could not have been more delightful, I was deeply satisfied and refreshed! Thank you so much, Milli, for creating a place one can call a home away from home, and sharing a part of yourself with us. ~ V. Knudsen


hostess with the mostess

4.4 on January 28, 2009

Milli, our hostess, was a charming, helpful, and gracious hostess. Great food, good company.


charming and resting

5 on November 10, 2008

Millie, the hostess of hostess House, offers a very delightful home for one's stay. Tasty food, quiet atmosphere, lovely grounds make one's stay delightful.


homey, welcoming

4.2 on November 03, 2008

food was great, innkeeper is helpful and welcoming


Oustanding Breakfast

3.6 on October 13, 2008

Hostess House is in a modest Portland neighborhood, though house is clean as a whistle - room was small, though adequate. Location was convenient to city sights and wine country, also local restaurants. The highlight was the breakfasts - very complete and many home baked treats. Very friendly hostess.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks for taking time to submit a review and for your candid comments. We would like to know how to improve our room (we can't change the size) and any suggestions for improving our service. Thanks! Happy Thanksgiving, Milli


Warm, Wonderful & Wise

5 on July 23, 2008

We had a wonderful stay: A beautiful immaculate room, gourmet breakfasts and great conversations.

Innkeeper Response
As always we have wonderful guests and you two are among the ones at the top of the list.


Just like home but better

4.6 on July 08, 2008

Worth finding in the eastern end of portland in quiet Cully neighborhood. Friendly owner,Milly Laughlin does everything but sing you to sleep. Great food!


Very comfortable, warm hospitality.

4.4 on July 02, 2008

This is a very comfortable B&B at which to stay. Milli, the host, is incredibly friendly and enjoys conversation with guests. I would recommend this B&B for anyone looking for a pleasant, safe, and enjoyable stay near a nice shopping/restaurant neighborhood of NE Portland.


Great Value

4.8 on December 12, 2007

The best possible value, delicious food and gracious, friendly service.


Magnificent Milli

4.4 on November 27, 2007

I had the pleasure of staying here for 3 nights while in Portland on business. Milli takes care of her guests, from delicious breakfasts to extra blankets if needed to terrycloth robes for guest usage. She is such a warm person who takes a personal interest in her guests but isn't intrusive.


Everything you could ask for

4.0 on October 26, 2007

This B&B is near the airport, but a quick drive to downtown, and very quiet. We had our own key and heard nothing from the next room. Everything was provided, from baby cot to handrails on the tub, water pitcher to toothpaste. The breakfasts were incredible and tailored to our individual wishes. The garden is lovely and peaceful, and Milli is everything you could wish in a hostess, friendly without being intrusive. This is one of the best experiences and values I've found in a B&B.


Hostess House

5 on October 16, 2007

The is a first class B&B - One of the very best. - Personable + accommodating hostess - Very comfortable room and home - Very clean - Great location!

Innkeeper Response
When Hostess House was rated "5" in every area and all comments positive except one - VERY UNCOMFORTABLE ROOM AND HOME - doesn't make sense does it?


Just like home

4.8 on August 19, 2007

Staying at the Hostess House has all the comforts of home - beautiful view from the upstairs deck, delicious food prepared by the innkeeper, and gracious hospitality. Would definitely stay there again.


Highly recommended.

5 on July 22, 2007

The hostess was very gracious. She took the extra trouble to serve me breakfast at the crack of dawn, so I could be on my way. Staying here made all the differance! It is very clean and quiet. I plan to spend another week there in the fall.


Hostess House

5 on April 19, 2007

Very comfortable and private. Keep returning whenever I stay in Portland for Milli's company, an exceptional person, and her wonderful breakfasts. Also, a convenient location.


Hostess House

Details

  • Nightly Rate $85 - $95
  • Reviews (78) 4.6
  • Rooms 2

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5032827892
  • Toll free 1-8007607799

Visit Website »

View details

Top