Distinctive Destinations Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.3
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
29 Reviews

Write A Review

Nice stay

5 on June 30, 2013

We had a very nice stay at the Lions Gate Inn, with wonderful staff and a great location. My only suggestion would be suggestion would be a smaller shower head with a more direct spray. If you are short, it's a little difficult to rinse soap out of your hair, but this is a minor thing.


Autumn Suite a winner in summer

4.8 on June 25, 2013

Our two-night stay in the Autumn Suite was very relaxing and romantic. The Inn was meticulously clean and very thoughtfully decorated, joining both the old and the new in each room. Little extras like freshly baked cookies and Keurig coffee and teas were much appreciated. Susan was a great cook and very hospitable during our stay. We would definitely recommend The Lions Gate Inn to anyone staying in Newberg.


Wonderful stay in Newberg!

5 on October 28, 2012

We had a wonderful experience at the Lions Gate Inn. The Spring suite was stunning and so comfortable. The innkeeper and housekeeper could not have been more accommodating. The breakfasts were delicious and the inviting living area was a perfect place to unwind after a day of wine tasting and shopping. We will be sure to stay here the next time in the Willamette Valley!


Can't wait to return!!

5 on October 21, 2012

This was our first time at a Bed and Breakfast, and it was an incredible stay. The accommodations were superb and the service was outstanding. It was an excellent location for touring around the many vineyards in Willamette Valley. The breakfasts were delicious and varied each of our three days there. It will be a long trip back, but we can't wait to return!


Quiet and stately accomodation

4.0 on October 15, 2012

Spent a pleasant night at the Inn recently. Very comfortable and a great breakfast. Central air is a little noisey if not used to it. Would gladly stay again


A lovely stay!

4.6 on September 18, 2012

We had an absolutely lovey stay in the Autumn room. Upon arrival, the hostess was very friendly and efficiently explained about the Inn and ammenities and gave us a quick tour. A lovely, local Pinot Noir and a cheese and fruit plate were ready for guests to help themselves in the main dining room. The room was just wonderful. Roomy enough for two. Wonderfully decorated and so comfortable. The see-through fireplace between the bath and the bedroom was great. The large, two person soaking tub was perfect. The bed was very comfortable, and the room was very clean. Breakfast was perfect, with a choice of delicious pancakes with fresh strawberries or a souffle style egg mix that was the perfect portion size. The Inn location was very convenient and we easily walked into Newberg for dinner. All in all, a 5 star experience and we would stay there again. The one and only complaint was that there is only the tub in the bathroom, no shower. The tub has a hand-held shower fixture, which works well enough, but if you are used to a regular shower, that wasn't available in the Autumn room. A minor inconvenience in our opinion.


Fantastic evening getaway

4.8 on July 31, 2012

My wife and I had nevers tayed at a B+B before and I we didn't know what we were missing out on. We stayed in the Autumn room which was very romantic. Our innkeeper made sure we had dinner reservations in town that evening and even had the menu for us to look over before we left. The breakfast in the morning freshly prepared by our chef was delicious. If only I could have had seconds! I would definitely stay here again, and will recommend to others for a trip to area.


Great place to stay in Newberg

3.8 on May 06, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at Lions Gate twice and both times were fantastic. The breakfast is excellent and the rooms are great. We've stayed in the spring and winter room and I think the spring room is the best.


Grape Weekend instead of Black Friday shopping

4.6 on November 28, 2011

We have 8 in our group (4 couples) and our stay was excellent. We enjoyed the comfort of this beautiful home and the exceptional service and breakfasts. All in all we hope to come back next summer to enjoy the outside patio area and free concerts across the street at the cultural center.


The most beautiful place!

5 on November 15, 2011

This is the nicest place we've stayed at. The rooms are beautiful (heated bathroom floors!) and the service is warm and welcoming. Food was very nice and the wine and cheese left for us was surely welcomed. We definitely plan on coming back. Newburg and the surrounding area is so nice and we enjoyed the wine tasting. The perfect place to get away.


beautiful house

4.4 on October 25, 2011

beautiful house, arts and craftsman style inside and out. Ample size bedrooms. Quiet location. Wonderful breakfast. Would stay again.


Great Choice

5 on October 10, 2011

After much research decided on Lions Gate and was not disappointed. The house is beautiful, great condition, clean and, best of all, updated private bathrooms. Susan was a wonderful hostess, very gracious, gave us some good suggestions for restaurants and made some wonderfully creative breakfast dishes. Would recommend to anyone.


Lions Gate Inn

3.6 on September 01, 2011

My husband and I enjoyed our time at Lions Gate Inn. The friendly faces and helpfulness of the staff was great. The house is a well kept 100 year+ home with a wonderful porch for those warm evenings. I would highly recommend Lions Gate Inn for a stay in Williamette Valley, Oregon.


Bartle Family Visit

4.8 on August 16, 2011

The Lions Gate Inn was very distinctive, what a lovely property and the staff were all exceptional. The staff made our group feel like we were at home and being taken care of. While we were very well prepared and had all our tastings pre-planned, the staff took great care to insure our visit was the best it could be. I would highly recommend this property for anyone looking for a home, honeymoon, winetasting, or just getting away. Accommodations were great, highly recommend the Spring or Summer rooms, the breakfast each day was fantastic, susan and Jessica made the meal wondeful and looked after every attention to detail. Wine and Cheese in the afternoon was the perfect finish to our days. I can not say enough about this property...


Got to be the best B&B!

5 on July 25, 2011

Cannot say enough good things about this experience. Enjoyed a 3-night stay and wish it were longer. Staff and surroundings could not have been better. Accommodations were excellent: linens, food, bed, helpfulness in information about the area. Perfect end to a perfect vacation.


Wonderful wine country B&B

3.6 on June 09, 2011

Excellent room and excellent breakfast. Be careful to make clear that you want your room made up each day.


wedding night

5 on August 25, 2010

Beautiful! My husband had never been to a bed and breakfast, and after one night he was sold. The soaking tub was wonderful, the bed room was comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was great, we enjoyed our's on the front porch. We will be returning in the future probably for anniversaries. No complaints.


Very enchanting

4.0 on July 26, 2010

Staff was very personable, supportive, and enthusiastic.


Great hospitality and service in a charming B&B

5 on July 19, 2010

My wife and I spent 2 nights in the Summer Suite at the Lion's Gate Inn. The house is a very beautifully restored older home. Downstairs includes a large sitting room with numerous antique furniture for lounging. A nice formal dining area is used for late afternoon snacks and for indoor breakfasts. The upstairs has the four bedrooms. Our Summer suite had a comfy queen bed with nice linens and comforter, a new flat screen TV, and a newly done bathroom with large dual shower. The amenities were very nice. Also we took advantage of the small room with tea service and a small refrigerator for wine and leftovers. The best part was the very friendly and helpful staff. All the ladies we interacted with including Sara, Renee and Lauren were so nice helping with restaurant and wine tasting recommendations. Also, the breakfasts were great with fresh fruit and two options. Our choices over the 2 breakfasts included waffles, blueberry pancakes, eggs benedict and a wonderful omelet. The price for our stay also fit the budget and the location was right in wine country so it was very convenient. We will be coming back to the Lion's Gate next time we need another batch of Oregon Pinot Noire.


The Lions Gate Inn - 2 Thumbs up!

5 on July 13, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Lions Gate Inn for our 1 year anniversary. What a treat! The room was lovely, the service was exceptional, and the grounds beautiful. It was the perfect place to relax and in walking distant to local coffee shops, restaurants, and tasting rooms. Stay here! You won't be disappointed.


The Place to Be in Oregon Wine Country

5 on July 09, 2010

Begin with an exquisite restoration of a period home that created wonderfully modern bedrooms with all the amenities. Followed with a breakfast beyond compare and inn keepers that build a positive relationship which enhances your stay with area information which enhances one's stay. We loved our stay at the Lion's Gate and found this to be the best B&B we have stayed in and we have been in many.


Lions Gate Great

4.6 on April 08, 2010

Very lovely! Service was great. Room very comfortableand breakfast yummy. Nice to have a choice of two selections.


Loved Lion's Gate

5 on March 29, 2010

This immaculately restored house is a beauty to behold. I especially enjoyed reading on the front porch in the comfy couch and eating breakfast at the marble topped counter in the big, cozy kitchen while Lauren cooked my gourmet breakfasts and Renee entertained me with stories about her chickens and art making.


Perfect inn for Willamette Valley visit

5 on November 24, 2008

We enjoyed the Autumn and Spring rooms very much. The inn is centrally located to all the best the Willamette Valley has to offer as well as being close to Portland and the Columbia River Gorge for day trips. The breakfasts are hearty and delicious. Lauren was so helpful in making our visit a perfect one.


November 2008

5 on November 17, 2008

This is a great place to stay. The bed was comfortable and the room clean and comfy. Breakfast was great. My husband and I really enjoyed our stay in the Spring room. I would recommend staying here again.


Terrific Oregon B & B

4.8 on September 12, 2008

WE very much enjoyed Lauren and Rene. They were both extremely helpful in recommending hikes and securing appointments at wineries and restaurants. Breakfast was delicious!


weekend in newberg

4.0 on June 25, 2008

outstanding restoration of a former residence; woodwork, and floors and built in cabinetry are truly special


Amazing Home Away From Home!

5 on June 17, 2008

Lauren and the entire staff at Lion's Gate Inn were amazing. It was a wonderful retreat for us and the rooms were beautifully done. A fantastic breakfast awaited us each morning, crapes were our favorite! We will choose Lion's Gate Inn again and have already recommended it to many of our friends. Everything was perfect!


A wonderful Memorial day weekend

4.8 on May 27, 2008

The Lions gate was fantastic and a real treat for the hoilday weekend. Lauren was a wonderful hostess and great chef. Could have stayed longer, but had to get back home. Very relaxing place and exceptionally clean. Will do it again soon.


Distinctive Destinations

Details

  • Nightly Rate $175 - $225
  • Reviews (29) 4.7
  • Rooms 4
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone (503) 476-2211
Top