The Oval Door Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
237 Reviews

Write A Review

a home away from home!

5 on November 22, 2014

I stayed for two nights at the Oval door and when I arrived, I was severely jet lagged, I have to say, the minute i stepped into the room, I felt so relaxed and I slept like a baby, the bed is so comfortable. the room looked so beautiful. the following morning, I had breakfast prepared for me by Nicole, best breakfast ever!!! Nicole was so nice and helpful, and such a great cook. Overall, this stay at oval Door B&B is one of my best memories in Oregon!


Best B&B in Oregon

5 on November 17, 2014

Melissa and Nicole are the most gracious hosts and provide outstanding breakfasts and tasty treats for your room. If you aren't hungry when you awake, you will be when you open your door and take in the fragrant aromas of baked goods and breakfast downstairs. The rooms are spacious, very clean and well appointed right down to the robes and complimentary glass of wine in the hall refrigerator. We stay at the Oval Door every time we are in Eugene and this is the most comfortable and relaxing home away from home. The Oval Door is located within a few blocks of downtown where there are plenty of excellent restaurants and several music venues that provide a wide genre of music. We have been visiting the Oval Door for years, as recently as last week, and would recommend the Oval Door to anyone whether for a night or a week.


wonderful breakfast

4.0 on November 07, 2014

looking forward to visiting again


A B&B like home~!

5 on October 31, 2014

I ALWAYS stay at the Oval Door when in Eugene. It's the most homey, comfortable B&B I've stayed in. I love the rooms (stayed in almost all of them), the wonderful breakfasts, the service and the helpful recommendations of Melissa and Nicole (owners). I can't say enough nice things about The Oval Door.. Great location also.


Comfortable B & B

4.6 on October 14, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Oval Door B&B. It was clean, comfortable and the food was great. Complimentary wine, drinks and chocolate chip cookies was fabulous! Thank you Nicole and Melissa!


The Oval Door

4.4 on October 11, 2014

Great location, great place to stay


Great Stay at the Oval Door

4.6 on October 09, 2014

The room was gorgeous and very comfortable. The accommodations and area were very interesting and well worth the visit. The staff made us feel at home and the food was excellent. We plan on returning as soon as possible.


Oval Door

5 on October 08, 2014

The owners and staff were friendly and very accommodating. The food was excellent, the room was very pleasant.


Best B&B ever

5 on September 18, 2014

We have stayed at b&b's for 30+ years and The Oval Door is without a doubt the best anywhere. The staff is superb, the food is 5 star and the amenities go beyond description!


November 2013

4.8 on September 04, 2014

We stayed at The Oval Door for 2 nights. Not long enough. Very friendly. Great management. The breakfasts were unique, and outstanding each morning. It was quiet at night, even though it was downtown. The scent of fresh chocolate chip oatmeal cookies was always in the air, as they were baked daily. Good location. Excellent food. Wonderful people. I would stay there again in a heartbeat. For my Father, it was a great 1st B&B experience, but set a standard difficult to follow. Ken


Not fancy, but very comfortable and great location

4.8 on September 02, 2014

You can't beat the location. It's an easy walk to downtown, several good restaurants, cute shops, the Saturday Market, the Fifth Street Market, and Univ of Oregon. Our room was small but comfortable. The breakfasts were excellent, with sweet and savory options every morning. Melissa, one of the owners, is a real estate agent. We are interested in relocating to Eugene, so she took us on a tour of neighborhoods and properties, and marked the neighborhoods we liked on a map for us. She is patient and very knowledgeable about the area. This isn't an overly fancy B&B, but it's very homey and comfortable. We will definitely stay again at the Oval Door.


Nice!

4.6 on September 02, 2014

Worry free, clean and friendly. Gracious hosts with coffee service and a great on time breakfast.


Home away from home

5 on August 29, 2014

I am a regular at the Oval Door whenever I travel through Eugene. This B&B is superb. Clean, comfortable, cozy, welcoming yet private, outstanding hospitality with treats and an option for coffee to be delivered to your room In the morning, and delicious breakfasts. Melissa and Nicole have made a perfect little spot for travelers to relax and recharge.


wonderful stay

5 on August 28, 2014

Very nice and relaxed atmosphere. Wonderful accommodations. Friendly and helpful hosts. Highly recommended.


Outstanding again !

5 on August 28, 2014

Everything was Outstanding. The breakfasts are to live for and the air conditioner really helped too.


Highly recommended

4.4 on August 25, 2014

This B&B is very well run by two charming ladies. They both have a love of food and entertaining, which is evident in every aspect of the B&B. The room was super comfortable, and the breakfast was outstanding - we loved our stay. Also, the complimentary beverages and cookies are a great touch!


Spacious room

4.8 on August 23, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised with our spacious room (Queen Ann's lace), the tasty breakfast, not to mention to complementary wine, beer, coffee, cookies, etc. and were glad we chose a B&B within walking distance to many good restaurants.


Just wonderful

5 on August 16, 2014

Room is clean and the right size for 2 people. Our room does not have a bath tub, only a shower, but that was fine with plenty hot water. Very quitet neighbourhood. Having breakfast with other guests were nice. And it was tasty as well. Highly recommend this place!


Couldn't have been happier!

5 on August 08, 2014

Loved this B&B. My fiancée and I stayed in the forget me not room. The rooms was in spectacular shape, very clean and orderly. The Oval Door is situated in an easy to get to location with lots to do nearby. The breakfast was the best I had ever had, but don't tell my fiancée ;). I'm putting down the oval door as my go to place when I'm travelling to Eugene.


The Oval Door B&B was quite a delight!

5 on August 06, 2014

Very accommodating, we arrived late and they gave us information on how to get to our room. Breakfasts were delicious! And the whole house is very charming. I will be visiting again


Phenom B&B

4.6 on July 28, 2014

I was very happy with the accommodation. We stayed in the Wild Rose room and it had a twin bed for my teenage daughter. The beds were comfortable and the room was very clean. The breakfast was outstanding. Fresh fruit, homemade scones that were still warm and a poached egg on whole grain bread, avocado and tomato. If my daughter decides to attend UO I will definitely stay again. I would highly recommend the Oval Door.


Wonderful stay!

5 on July 26, 2014

We had a fabulous time at the Oval Door! The room was very comfortable, the breakfasts were delicious, the hospitality was generous. And the hosts were wonderful, always available and very helpful. Great price, too! Highly recommended.


Fantastic!!

4.8 on July 25, 2014

So helpful in every way. Great breakfast! Comfortable bed and good air conditioner!


The room was lovely and very comfortable. Fantastic Experience!!

4.4 on July 21, 2014

We were met at the door by the owner, Melissa, who welcomed us to drop off our suitcases in the room before the actual check-in time since it was much too hot to leave them in the car all afternoon. Her hospitality (especially the food!) was exactly what we needed. We also purchased the Oval Door Cookbook which promises many more exceptional breakfasts in the future. Thank you!


A charming BB in Eugene

4.8 on July 09, 2014

I discovered this BB a few months ago, and so far have stayed there twice as I occasionally travel the I-5 corridor from California to Washington. I plan to continue to make this my overnight in Eugene. Can't say enough good things: the house itself is charming and has an interesting history; the bedrooms are beautiful; everything is very clean; if you want to relax without going anywhere there is a library with lots of reading material, comfortable places to sit, a computer, and wine and glasses for you to help yourself; the living room and areas on wraparound porch have inviting furniture; parking is off-street and lit; there is a buffet outside the bedrooms with help-yourself water, tea and cookies. Breakfast itself is a treat. The owners are accomplished chefs and the breakfasts are delicious. You can also sign up for the time you would like coffee delivered to your room in the AM (one of my favorite "perks") All in all, I highly recommend this BB.


outstanding

5 on July 07, 2014

I enjoyed my stay and will come back


Eugene oasis

5 on June 21, 2014

Such a comfortable oasis! Very cozy and appreciate all the special homey touches like readily available coffee, tea, beverages and cookies. Alot of care has gone into this place. Wonderful breakfast!


Great place to get away

4.6 on June 17, 2014

We will choose this place over any hotel in the area without question. The breakfasts were outstanding and the room was great.


Best B&B in Eugene

4.6 on June 17, 2014

All was good, eggs Benedict were by far the best I have had. Very pleasant and helpful host. Highly recommend, you won't be sorry you stayed here.


I'll go back if ever in Eugene again

4.4 on June 09, 2014

Nice place, friendly host, great breakfast. Also a good location - quiet neighborhood street walking distance to perfectly good food. Very comfortable living room, provided wine, beer, soda, coffee, tea all day - this was a rare treat. Breakfast was outstanding. Room was nice - nothing special, but a perfectly nice b&b room. Will be first choice if I return to Eugene.


We like it so much we came again

5 on June 07, 2014

This is a delightful retreat within walking distance to downtown, but quiet and comfortable. Breakfast is in the dining room and is perfect for morning conversations with fellow travelers. The food is superb. There is complementary wine and beer available. It felt like going home to Mom's house, well at least those Mom's in the movies and books. Good night John boy! We were there for two nights. We were in town looking at property. Then we headed up to the Seattle area for a few days. We loved our experience so much we booked an extra night on our way home to Sacramento. This will be our go to place as we make our plans to move to Eugene next year. Dan and Ruth


The Oval Door in Eugene Oregon

4.8 on June 04, 2014

Delightful place to stay. It far exceeded all my expectations. Would stay again in a heartbeat. Will recommend to all my friends. Love this place!!!


Visit family

3.0 on May 31, 2014

Very convenient and a good location


Oval Door rocks!

5 on May 10, 2014

When driving between Seattle and San Francisco, I always stop at the Oval Door. It's like coming home!


The Oval Door

4.0 on May 10, 2014

My sister and I had a very nice 1 night stay at the Oval Door B & B in Eugene, Or. It is very convenient location, we were able to walk to dinner and downtown. From the book full of menus, to the freshly baked cookies it was all we needed for a very enjoyable stay.


The Ultimate B&B experience

5 on May 09, 2014

Being a frequent and far ranging traveler for more than twenty years, I have encountered the entire spectrum of the hospitality industry. From Five Stars in London to tents in the arctic's northwest territories. And without reservation or exception, I can say that my three night stay at Eugene's "The Oval Door" B&B was comprehensively the best travel accommodation I've ever had. From the big picture: the location walking distance to downtown, to the layout, perfect in size and proportion, ease of parking, exceptional cleanliness; to the details, the best breakfasts I've ever eaten in a B&B, the coffee stations, the ease and efficiency of communication of guest needs, the library, the "hands-off" not hovering and trusting the guests to be conscientious and courteous without going over a textbook sized list of rules. The experience was all the more surprising as, from the names of the guest rooms I had lesser expectations, but I found the owners Melissa and Nicole to be exceptionally educated and supremely good at their business. In fact, as I lay in the king sized bed on the third floor looking out the window at the electric green foliage covering the property's 200 year old trees, I thought about asking if they would consider copying their business model in a franchise. It's that good.


Best B&B in Eugene

5 on April 25, 2014

I love this B&B. When I can't get in I am so disappointed. Just had another lovely experience there this week. Cathie from California


Pleasantly Surprised

5 on April 16, 2014

My husband and I were headed down to California from the Seattle area on a road trip to visit friends, so we decide to stay in Eugene for the night. We booked a room in the Oval Door for a Thursday night and they offered a mid-week discount which was nice. We were greeted warmly and ushered to our room after being offered a glass of wine and freshly baked cookies. The room was so lovely and welcoming. They really put effort into small details that made the space extremely comfortable. The next morning we enjoyed visiting with other guests as we were treated to a truly delicious breakfast. We were so pleased with our stay that the following week on our way back up the coast in the pouring rain we called the Oval Door and took their last room for the night. We didn't have any qualms leaving the coast for Eugene to what felt like our home away from home!


My favorite place to stay in Eugene.

4.0 on April 05, 2014

Perfect location - easy walk to wonderful restaurants, Kiva market (amazing local wine collection), the train station, and pleasant walks. Very efficiently and comfortably run. One small issue with short supply of hot water, but the owners are getting that fixed. The bed was extremely comfortable and I slept soundly.


Fantastically relaxing B&B!!

4.8 on March 30, 2014

This was my first stay in a bed and breakfast. It was just the calm and relaxing moment in time I was looking for. I went in with some thought in my head of what it would be like, and left with knowledge that it is something so wonderfully different. I hope to plan more stays both here at The Oval Door as well as other places across the map!


Had a great stay!

4.6 on February 24, 2014

I was in Eugene for just one night for a job interview, and decided to stay at the Oval Door rather than a not so nice motel nearby, and I am glad I did. We stayed in the English Daisy Room, since it was the cheapest, and we're still in university and therefore trying not to spend all our money in one night! It was worth the difference to stay here rather than the motel. While the room was nothing too fancy, it was nice for the night and had everything we needed! We roamed around the rest of the house a bit, and it was perfect for just the one night. We arrived after hours, but there is a person whose available overnight for assistance who showed us around, which was great! There was complimentary beer, wine & cookies! We also got coffee delivered to our door, which was wonderful! The breakfast was also delicious! I'm vegetarian, and they accommodated my needs, although I would probably let them know in advance if vegan, since everything I ate besides a grapefruit (which was so yummy since they broiled it) had dairy in it. The owners let us check out late even though we had forgotten to mention it earlier, so that was really wonderful. If I am back in Eugene for a visit, I'll definitely consider The Oval Door.


Cozy, welcoming, delicious

5 on February 18, 2014

Everything about this place is pure hospitality. Laid-back, comfy - it feels like you're at your favorite relative's house. Beautiful library, plush couches and complimentary beer and wine. It's a low key place to settle in and relax. Great location to walk to restaurants, and an incredible breakfast feast in the morning. I won't stay anywhere else when I'm in Eugene.


The only B&B to stay in Eugene

5 on February 10, 2014

This is the third time we have stayed at the Oval Door - and every time the stay has been wonderful. The rooms are always comfortable and exceptionally clean. The breakfasts are worth the stay alone! Many B&B's require that you have breakfast at a set time - here you can have breakfast at any time within a two hour period - plus you have a choice of breakfast items! (You can also order in-room coffee in the morning) Both Nicole and Melissa are wonderful hosts and really want to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.


A home away from home

5 on January 16, 2014

We have stayed many times at the Oval Door and it is always our first choice of a place to stay in Eugene. A very convenient location for walking downtown or to the river walk and exceptionally friendly and helpful inn keepers. Plus the breakfasts are delicious.


Oval Door Review

4.8 on January 01, 2014

The Oval Door is very clean and quiet, and the innkeepers are respectful of the level of privacy guests require. It is conveniently located near downtown Eugene, and free parking is provided. The breakfast is delicious, may be delivered to own's room, and my request for vegetarian, gluten-free meals were accommodated. My only, very minor complaint is that I didn't see any of the "homemade cookies" mentioned on the website!


Great breakfasts!

5 on December 14, 2013

Quiet at home feeling but close to downtown Eugene.


Great place to stay if attending Wings Seminars

4.6 on November 27, 2013

very nice overall


Always great

4.8 on November 23, 2013

Always my preferred place to stay in Eugene. The location, people, food and comfort are top rate.


Wonderful stay

5 on November 07, 2013

The breakfast's were especially amazing. We were there 5 nights and every breakfast was different. Great conversation around the table. Nicole and Melissa are wonderful.


oval door B and B review

5 on November 03, 2013

great stay, everything was wonderful.


Beautiful and warming B&B.

5 on November 01, 2013

Nice quiet night on a beautiful street near everything. Sweet ladies that thought of everything.


just dandy

4.6 on October 27, 2013

yes/was very good/thanks


Outstanding B & B

5 on October 21, 2013

We stayed in the Morning Glory room - at the top of the B & B and it was wonderfully private - and spacious. The owner was very helpful with making recommendations about activities, restaurants, etc. And the breakfasts were outstanding. We're very sensitive to noise and the location was a little noisy, but either keeping the window closed or using earplugs fixed that. We will definitely stay here again.


Relaxing, charming, great food!

5 on October 14, 2013

We had a great time at Oval Door. Restaurants are walking distance from the inn and the staff was friendly, helpful, and accommodating. Plan to eat breakfast at the inn as the food was fantastic. I highly recommend Oval Door.


Great place

5 on October 07, 2013

Very friendly and helpful. Nice quiet rooms


Wonderful time in Eugene

4.8 on September 30, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Oval Door. Our room was quiet, spacious and so comfortable! Breakfast was delicious and both Nancy and the owner were friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay there again.


Frittata

5 on September 26, 2013

The breakfast frittata was a work of art, and I took a photo to remember it, it was that good. Lovely place to stay. Best deal in Eugene for upscale night.


Beautifully appointed and at the edge of downtown

3.4 on September 25, 2013

Great restaurant recommendations from a pleasant staff. I would love to return during cooler months to enjoy snuggling up in front of the fireplace~


Wonderful B&B: Great Food and Close to the Heart of Eugene

4.8 on September 23, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Oval Door in Eugene. A short walk to the downtown (many great restaurants, art galleries, exhibits and the Saturday Farmer's Market, which is exceptional) and not a far drive to many local wineries. On-site parking, friendly and welcoming hosts and terrific food/breakfasts. The house itself is lovely, with a wrap-around veranda, and our room was clean, quiet and very well-appointed. We would stay here again in a heartbeat. Thanks for your stellar contribution to our Oregon adventure.


Home away from home

4.8 on September 22, 2013

Fantastic bed and breakfast with wonderful touches such as coffee delivered to your room in the morning and chocolates by the bed. Complimentary beer and wine are available for guests to enjoy along with delicious homemade cookies. It truly feels like a home away from home with guests sitting around the dining table for breakfast exchanging stories and tips for things to do. Will stay again next time I am in Eugene however the bamboo room beds were rather uncomfortable so will choose another room.


great B&B

5 on September 21, 2013

Nice rooms, great food and friendly, helpful owners and staff.


Wonderful location and great place to stay!

4.8 on September 18, 2013

We've stayed at the Oval Door B&B many times and always enjoy it. The location is outstanding, literally within short walking distance to the very interesting downtown. It is in a lovely neighborhood with many fine old houses. The inn itself is always clean and inviting; the staff couldn't be nicer and the breakfast is the best! I highly recommend The Oval Door for anyone staying in the Eugene area.


Comfy B&B in Eugene Oregon

4.0 on September 06, 2013

This was only my second B&B experience but it was very pleasant. The Oval Door is very clean, service excellent with outstanding breakfasts. Rooms were very comfortable, and quiet even though it was a full house my weekend.


Comfortable and Warm environment

4.8 on August 28, 2013

I stayed at the Oval door for 5 days, and was greeted by everyone in a warm and friendly manner. The room was comfortable and clean, and gives you the at home feeling. The breakfast was delicious every morning. I loved having fresh fruit every morning added to my breakfast. I would definitely go back there.


The best B&B I have stayed at, no question!

5 on August 24, 2013

Owners and staff were warm, friendly, and welcoming. The flexible breakfast schedule and coffee in your room in the morning was unsurpassed. And, breakfast was delicious! We stayed for 5 nights and every morning breakfast was different. The room was always clean, and the bathroom spotless. It was nice to sit outside on the porch and read or have coffee or a glass of complimentary wine. We had a very relaxing stay and would love to come back someday! Thank-you from the happy couple from Connecticut!


Oval Door Inn Eugene OR

5 on August 22, 2013

Very clean and comfortable room. Fresh, healthy choices for breakfast. Super delicious, too! Only a 3 or 4 block walk to the Saturday Farmer's Market. A 7 or 8 block walk to a bike rental shop and to the Park along the Willamette River.


Loved my stay at the Oval Door B&B in Eugene!

5 on August 18, 2013

Great food, great room, great house, warm staff. Oval Door made my stay in Eugene comfy and easy. Loved it!


Our favorite place to stay!

5 on August 18, 2013

Melissa and Nicole have created the ideal B&B environment. Their hospitality is second to none! The food is fabulous. Our bed was the most comfortable and the sheets the thickest, softest I've ever slept in.


simply the best

5 on August 12, 2013

the Oval Door is exactly what you'd expect in a top level B&B. luxury,charming and beautiful baths. a romantic friendly feel, topped with a sumptuous breakfast. thank you Melissa for a wonderful experience while staying at the Oval Door. oh and a great location.


Charming and Delicious

4.8 on August 12, 2013

The owners of The Oval Door were as charming as their establishment and very helpful as well. We had a very late arrival and they gave us accurate driving instructions as well as easy entry into the bed and breakfast. Breakfast was one of the primary reason's we booked our stay at The Oval Door and it was truly delicious.


my first B&B experience

4.4 on August 09, 2013

This is my very first B&B stay. This visit to Eugene was to be visiting with people so the road work right in front of the inn did not dampen the stay as much. I would definitely enquire about any unavoidable situation like that in the future when I want to return for a quiet relaxing stay. Otherwise, I love the hosts, the people I've met. The bed is very comfortable. Room and bathroom is very clean. And I woke up every morning (not an early person) to be able to eat Melissa's cooking. I would definitely be looking at Oval Door for my next visit to Eugene. Thank you everyone for a lovely stay.


Great B&B in downtown Eugene

3.6 on August 06, 2013

Very nice and convenient place to stay.


Recommended

4.4 on August 03, 2013

We stayed just a Night at the Oval Door B&B. Bad the Quee Anne Lace room which was quite spacious. Melissa gave us a warm welcome. Breakfast was nice. the Oval Door is near to the town center and the restaurants. we World stay the again. .


The Best of the Best

5 on August 01, 2013

The Oval Door has everything we were looking for in this style of vacation. Welcoming, relaxing, super clean beautiful rooms, delicious breakfast, friendly and a great location. This B&B is perfectly siituated where we could park our car and stroll downtown where there were many choices for dining, shopping and a super Saturday farmers market. thanks to Melissa being the perfect hostess, even packed an early morning Togo breakfast to catch an early early morning flight.


"The Wild Rose room"

5 on July 20, 2013

This was my second time staying at the Oval Door - the first time was so exceptional, I had to come back. And this time I brought the whole family! The Oval Door is just a wonderful place to stay, location is perfect and the food is splendid. Melissa and Nicole are there to make your stay perfect, and willing to meet any request. You won't regret your stay at the Oval Door!


Beautiful B&B

5 on July 05, 2013

Everything was just as promised. The owners were delightful. And breakfast... absolutely scrumptious!


Father's Day weekend

4.4 on June 21, 2013

Had a delightful stay. They were able to accommodate our daughter joining us for Fathers Day breakfast. Felt at home. Able to hang out in the quiet house.


Great experience!

4.8 on June 10, 2013

We came down for a one-night stay for our daughter's wedding in Eugene. Easy, easy deal! Plus, the room was comfortable, clean and the food was excellent!


Charming and Perfect

5 on June 10, 2013

I have stayed at the Oval Door several times. It is perfectly located for anything in Eugene, parking is sufficient and the grounds lovely. They did everything just about perfectly (and I do visit a fair number of B&Bs). Perfect cookies; FABULOUS owners/service; charming rooms. Would not seriously consider staying anywhere else in Eugene!!


Great place to stay in Eugene

4.8 on June 04, 2013

Lots of extras and a gourmet breakfast to boot. Wine in the evening and a fridge with soft drinks and beer all day. Walking distance to everything. Great hosts.


Great place!

5 on June 01, 2013

The Oval Door is clean, quiet and comfortable. Walking distance to the Saturday market and town and located on a tree-lined neighborhood street. The breakfasts are fantastic and the owners are friendly and accommodating. Highly recommended as a place to stay in Eugene.


Perfect place to enjoy Eugene

5 on May 28, 2013

The nicest b&b hosts I've ever met! I would definitely stay here again! The house made me want to cozy up and enjoy the day right there at the house. Breakfast was super delicious, and the company at the table was pleasant.


The oval door in Eugene

4.6 on May 27, 2013

We had a delightful stay here. Melissa was wonderful to meet our needs. I would recommend the Oval Door to anyone traveling to Eugene, OR.


Overall Four Stars

3.6 on May 26, 2013

Overall, we would give this B&B four stars. We have not stayed at B&B's before, so do not really know how it compares. Everything was perfect; the food was outstanding.


Very nice stay

5 on May 17, 2013

Very romantic and cozy. Larger room than was expected, and wonderful breakfast and amenities. Outstanding value. Thanks!


Great B & B within walking distance of everything!

4.0 on April 11, 2013

We stayed a night at the Oval Door because we were seeing a show at the McDonald Theater. We walked to the theater, as well as the Ninkasi Brewery and then in the morning strolled around the University of Oregon campus. Breakfast was delicious and our room was adorable. Thanks!


Everything and more

5 on April 08, 2013

The home, the welcome, the accommodations, the arrival cookies & refreshments, the wonderful breakfast, and the other guests ALL contributed to a memorable stay. We arrived tired, and departed feeling refreshed, renewed and looking forward to a future visit at The Oval Door. Don't miss this gem if you are visiting Eugene.


Cozy b&b

4.0 on March 31, 2013

Very classic environment with cozy, clean, rooms! Staff are very accommodating and helpful, we were offered complimentary drinks upon our arrival. Downsides: walls are paper thin, I felt like the whole house could hear us at whisper tones, if it was a full house I could only imagine we would've heard everyone else too. Was expecting more from breakfast, and more choices to choose from. But overall was a very lovely experience at a great value, will return!


Devine!

4.8 on March 20, 2013

Beautiful bed and breakfast located in a very nice easy going downtown Eugene neighborhood. Wonderfully decorated, fabulous meals, very comfortable, friendly hosts. Every detail was perfection. Walking distance to conveniences. Easy access to shopping, freeways, etc. I was unfamiliar with the area but found that I could easily navigate to anywhere I needed/wanted to go. I look forward to return visits.


Oval Door - Nice Touch

4.2 on March 12, 2013

Inn keepers have thought of everything to make you feel at home. Quiet neighborhood and excellent breakfast.


Home away from Home

4.6 on March 06, 2013

Great location, fabulous innkeepers, clean and comfortable...they think of everything!


Home away from home.

5 on March 05, 2013

My husband and I are re-locating to Eugene and stayed in the Oval Door before purchasing a home. Nicole and Melissa made a possible stressful time for us a very pleasant situation. From the gourmet breakfasts to fresh baked cookies in the afternoon, it felt as if they were always available tending to our every need and endless questions without being the least bit intrusive. I look forward to staying with them again sometime and will definitely recommend it to our out of town friends and family. Shelby & Tommy Young


Relaxing, charming, close to great food.

4.8 on March 05, 2013

Actually a Christmas gift from our daughter. Our visit was luxuriously relaxing. The immaculately kept older home was charming and we felt very welcome to spread out into the main floor rooms. Still am wide eyed about the generous offerings in the hallway refrigerators. And fresh homemade cookies. Wow. Jan and MaryAnn Northey


Love It

5 on March 04, 2013

We love the Oval Door for its ambience, the quiet, the good beds and the scrumptious breakfasts. We also meet interesting people around the breakfast table.


Look forward to a stay in Eugene now!!

5 on February 19, 2013

This is the 2nd visit I have made in 2 months, first with my husband then on a business trip to Eugene. I absolutely love the atmosphere and the owners as well as the night innkeeper are wonderful! I honestly look forward to the next time I have to travel. I leave 4 kids and a husband at home when I go and it is tough but having a nice comfortable homey place to stay helps. The winter special has made it workable for me to stay on business under our budget. Thank you!!! I/We will be back.


BEST B&B

5 on January 24, 2013

OVAL DOOR provides consistently outstanding B&B in a welcoming, respectful enviroment!


A trip to the coast:)

5 on January 11, 2013

On our way back from the coast and stopped in Eugene to visit friends. We love the Oval Door and have stayed there many times. In fact when we are in Eugene we will only stay at this great B&B. The owners are so thoughtful and accommodating that you just think that you are at home. We especially love the cookies on every floor and sitting in the library enjoying a complementary glass of wine. Thanks so much Jean and Dewayne


OUT STANDING B&D EXPERIENCEE

5 on January 03, 2013

Our experience far exceeded our expectations. We much more pleased with our stay here than any other place we stayed on our trip. We will stay at this B&D any time we are in the area. Larry & Linda Dennis


The Best B & B

5 on December 29, 2012

I stayed here with my elderly mother for five days over Christmas vacation. The breakfasts are wonderful, the beds very comfortable, the owners delightful and the rooms charming. I highly recommend the Oval Door.


Great B&B

4.6 on December 02, 2012

The house is lovely and the service is wonderful. The only thing to be aware of is the bedrooms are up a long flight of stairs.


A reason to come back to Eugene.

5 on November 25, 2012

Our second stay at the Oval Door was even better than the first. The neighborhood is ideal and the atmosphere is perfect.


Outstanding place, location, hostesses

5 on November 04, 2012

We have stayed at the Oval Door over a number of years on treks up and down I-5. It's always a treat and Eugene is a delightful city.


Delightful stay

4.4 on October 28, 2012

After a full day of activities in Eugene, this was a delightful place to come home to and relax.


Wonderful!

5 on October 17, 2012

We stayed at the Oval Door B & B for a weekend getaway and it was perfect. In addition to a spacious, quiet room, the breakfast was outstanding. I frequently stay at B & B's and The Oval Door ranks at the top of the list. A big thank you to Nicole and Michelle for the warm hospitality.


Great find

5 on October 14, 2012

My only hesitation in writing a great review of The Oval Door is that I'm worried I might not be able to get a room the next time I visit my daughter. It's conveniently located near downtown. The rooms are comfortable (and cute) and the breakfasts are gourmet good. There were some vegans in our group and our hosts made lovely options for them. On our last day, we had an early flight and our hosts made us a breakfast to take on the plane.


A great memory in my summer holiday

3.6 on September 19, 2012

Comolimentary drinks, book shelves, enjoyable guests, and comfortable location made our stay memorable one. By Oval Door, we will remember Eugene forever.


comfy atmosphere, lots of noise

3.6 on September 17, 2012

The Oval Door has amazing chefs and a nice, comfy "living room" atmosphere. Being in an old house, however, you do get a lot of interior noise, the temperatures are hard to control if you want it cooler (maybe not often?), and the train noise is really loud.


Eugene's best B&B

4.8 on September 13, 2012

My wife and I have stayed in many B&Bs throughout New England as well as in the midwest. The Oval Door compares with the best of them. Rooms were beautifully appointed, spacious and clean bathrooms, and the food spectacular. The proprietor was friendly and very accomodating. We will be going back for sure.


great value!

5 on September 13, 2012

We arrived after normal hours, but were given clear instructions prior to our arrival of how to check-in. We were warmly greeted by the house keeper who happened to be on site when we arrived and she was able to provide great dinner suggestions. Our room was pleasant and the beds comfortable. The street traffic noise was a little loud around 7am (we opened our window while we slept). Breakfast was very good. A great deal for the price!


The Oval Door is awesome!

5 on September 07, 2012

This was our third stay at the Oval Door, and THE place to stay in Eugene. Excellent breakfasts, helpful and friendly staff, very clean throughout. Private baths in every room, free coffee/tea/wine/soda all day and night, and great homemade cookies should you need a snack. Internet service and WiFi. Highly recommend.


Minor bumps but overall lovely

4.0 on September 06, 2012

I notified Melissa I would be coming in early in the AM (she confirmed) but was not told that my room would not be available when I arrived. Also, after driving 336mi to get here I was told that there was no bathroom for me to use because they were all in the rooms! Had to find my own bathroom & return at 2. Would help to have that clarified for other early birds. I only met one of the owners, Melissa. She was quieter than other B&B hostesses...didn't inquire about my stay or engage in conversation. She did get right on fixing the downed internet and made a great fritatta the morning I left! Otherwise, room/cookies/amenities fabulous. Parking lot is for smaller vehicles but plenty of on-street parking options. Superb location, lovely building.


Gracious and welcoming

5 on September 04, 2012

Had a really nice stay-- love the cookies and free beer! Little touches make such a difference. And the breakfast was delicious. Walking distance to shops and restaurants too.


Great Hospitality and Food at a Clean and Comfortable B&B

4.4 on August 30, 2012

One of the nicest B&B stays I've ever had. The breakfasts were outstanding - fresh baked breads and pastries and local ingredients in the made from scratch main courses. Clean and comfortable bedrooms and public areas. Warm hospitality without being intrusive. Nicole and Melissa are terrific!


Wonderful stay

5 on August 27, 2012

Oval Door B&B is one of the best inns we have ever stayed at. The room was comfortable, the innkeepers delightful and the food outstanding. The location is perfect, we could walk to our son's apartment and to downtown restaurants. Looking forward to staying with them again in the near future.


We didn't stay

5 on August 27, 2012

They had no rooms available. Why don't you check this before you keep bothering us for a review? Otherwise you get fake reviews.


A quiet retreat close to the city center

4.8 on August 21, 2012

Although the B & B is in an older home, we had air conditioning in our room and everything we needed. The only drawback is having no elevator, which can be difficult if you have a heavy suitcase to lug up a long staircase.


A Second Home

5 on August 17, 2012

Another outstanding stay in what has become our "second home" when we visit our daughter in Eugene, Oregon. The Oval Door deserves 5 stars!


One night stay

4.0 on August 14, 2012

I needed a place to stay for one night while traveling to the southern Oregon coast area. The Oval Door was about halfway for me. It easy to get to from the freeway, had plenty of places to eat nearby, and was a clean and comfortable stay.


Outstanding B&B Experience!

5 on August 13, 2012

This was our first B&B experience, and wow, we were so impressed! The home is relatively new construction, done in the original style of the 1920's era neighborhood. The proprietors were very friendly and gave us very clear instructions on all aspects of our stay. We had a nicely appointed room, including having a private bathroom. But what really blew us away was the breakfast! Choice of an amazing home cooked egg frittata or sumptuous raspberry-sour creme pancakes to die for! Add in fun conversation with the other happy guests around the dinner table and we wished we had booked a longer stay!


Le Jazz at OFAM

4.8 on August 13, 2012

We always stay at the Oval Door when we come to Eugene to enjoy some "culture," i.e. performances at the Shedd.


Wonderfully relaxing

4.0 on August 03, 2012

Spent a very nice two days here. Very convenient for a nice walk to downtown. Comfortable accomodations and amazing cookies at bedtime.


oval door

5 on August 01, 2012

Best breakfast we have ever had! Very cute and clean rooms, and courteous staff. Will be back for sure!


Oval Door

4.8 on July 30, 2012

This is my third visit and I hope to come again. Lovely, convenient location, wonderful ammenities : access to fridge, beverages, home made cookies and out of this world breakfast! Highly recommend.


Great place to stay! Location, people, and rooms all fantastic!

4.6 on July 30, 2012

The location is perfect (right in the middle... a walk from everywhere), the innkeepers were super cool and helpful, FRESH AMAZING COFFEE, free craft brews in the fridge, and lastly... the rooms were HUGE and really really nice. There is nothing I would improve!


Will recommend and hope to stay again

5 on July 15, 2012

The owners have created an elegant, comfortable, and pleasant environment for guests. The shared areas are inviting. The smell of freshly baked cookies each day was comforting. A nice glass of wine on the lovely porch was delightful. Very nice to meet the other guests over a delicious breakfast. The Oval Door didn't raise room rates during the Olympic Trials which says a lot about these owners.


The Oval Door

5 on July 08, 2012

The Oval Door was by far one of the best B&Bs we have ever stayed in. Our room was so comfortable and clean! Our breakfast was to die for and those late night cookies...Yum! Nicole and Melissa have a real gem...only place we will stay on our next trip to Eugene, Oregon!


A great place to stay

5 on July 06, 2012

A lovely place with generous service and ammenities. Would stay again.


Lovely stay in lovely Eugene.

4.4 on July 06, 2012

My stay was short and sweet. But I can't recommend The Oval Door highly enough - My room was nice and clean and my bed was warm and comfy. This charming B&B also comes with Nancy, the loveliest hotel manager/caretaker you'll ever meet. As I had a super early morning train to catch, I missed breakfast, but Nancy made me a special little breakfast pack so that I didn't have to eat expensive-not-so-yummy-train-food. Wonderful stuff!


A little piece of heaven!

4.6 on June 25, 2012

We were greeted at the door by Nicole, who is incredibly gracious. She shared with us the operation of the B&B and then took us to our room at the very top of all the stairs on the third floor. Our room, the Morning Glory, could not have been more perfect or more comfortable. We were very impressed with the cleanliness, organization, or amenities! The bed was so comfortable that we actually thought about getting one just like it. King size and the best mattress ever! We look forward to staying there again.


Morning Glory June 2012

4.6 on June 24, 2012

Right downtown, walk anywhere, lovely porch to relax on. Very quiet setting, easy parking. Big tub and high powerful showerhead, guest robes, big comfy bed with huge pillows, coffee brought to your room in the morning! I will certainly stay here again and recommend it to anyone.


A Terrific B and B

4.8 on June 24, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the Oval Door many times and it is always a treat. There is warm hospitality and outstanding food. We like the location which is an easy walk to the main shopping/restaurant area and also isn't far from a delight river trail.


One night stand

4.4 on June 19, 2012

Nice location walking distance to restauratns and stores. Owners were great. Perks such as beverages and library were unexpected. Everything was better than expected.


Exceptional stay at the Oval Door

4.6 on June 12, 2012

This bed and breakfast was recommended to me and I was extremely happy with it and would recommend it again to anyone staying in Eugene. There was lots of room in the house to relax aside from the rooms, a guest computer, sofas, complementary wine and home made cookies. I really loved the breakfast, we had fritata and french toast - mmmmm.


The Oval Door Review

4.2 on June 06, 2012

My stay at The Oval Door was quite a pleasant one. Nicole, the Innkeeper / chef, did a fabulous job at making us feel welcome. Highlights include enjoying complementary wine while sitting on the cozy window-seat in the library and indulging on the extravagant breakfasts that were freshly prepared. The total bonus were the homemade oatmeal chocolate chip cookies left outside my room. The only slightly negative point about the stay was the varying temperature throughout the inn- one room would be freezing and the next would be hot, so bring layers!


Wow! I've never been more impressed!

5 on May 22, 2012

I spent two nights here in May 2012. I've spent a lot of time in luxury hotels all over the world, but I've never been in a cleaner place with more impecable service! I highly recommend The Oval Door. The breafasts are amazing!


Oval Door's Excellence

4.8 on May 16, 2012

The Oval Door is a great Eugene location and B&B. The ammenities were above and beyond and the breakfast was fabulous. I definitely recommend this B&B to those who like the intimacies of a home rather than a hotel!


Peaceful and beautiful

5 on May 13, 2012

Everything was perfect. This was a perfect place to stay for Moms' Weekend. Fun on campus and quiet and relaxing at the B & B.


From the first minute we got there it felt good. Nicloe was there to great us , and we felt right at home. I only wish every B&B

5 on May 09, 2012

and hotel had the same gracious welcoming. The breakfast was outstanding all from scratch and homemade. The warm cookies in the afternoon was a nice touch too! We will return!


Vacation Surprise at the Oval Door

5 on April 26, 2012

I stopped at the Oval Door in Eugene for a short vacation visit with family. I'd never stayed at a B&B before and I was delighted. The staff all were warm and welcoming, the room was very pleasant and comfortable, the breakfasts were delicious, and I had some wonderful conversations with the folks I met at the breakfast table. I plan to stop over the next time I'm in Eugene.


a first choice

5 on April 23, 2012

Great location, very quiet, immaculate, comfortable the best breakfasts and gracious owners.


A Great Stay

5 on April 15, 2012

The Oval Door perfectly combines elegance and casualness. Elegance: careful attention to detail; rhythyms of innkeeping attenuated to guest comfort; spacious well-kept sleeping and common rooms; unbelievably good food. Casualness: friendly, warm and open; in the center of the city, near downtown, university, and bike paths; very comfortable place to kick off your shoes and relax. Can't say enough good things about this lovely establishment.


wonderful and relaxing stay at oval door

5 on March 26, 2012

The owners and host are very welcoming with a relaxed atmosphere. The house is well kept. We stayed in the morning glory room. It was nicely decorated without too many decorations. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was nicely laid out. We had only wished we could stay another day to just relax and enjoy the soaking tub. The breakfast was delicious with two entree choices and a great fruit parfait and scones. The provide cookies, drinks and other things to help you enjoy your stay. It's in an easy to find location in dwtn Eugene. I would definitely recommend it and hope to go back.


The Oval Door felt like going home

4.0 on March 14, 2012

We felt very welcome at the Oval Door. The staff provided for our late arrival. In the upstairs hallway, We found hot tea and coffee on a tray and a cookie jar of home-baked chocolate chip cookies. We signed up for what time we wanted coffee in our room the next morning and breakfast in the dining room. In our lovely room, there were chocolates by our bed, bathrobes hanging in the closet, and stamped postcards on the desk. The breakfast the next morning was outstanding. A different version of eggs Benedict using goat cheese, lox and a sour cream sauce. Talk about gourmet! Next time were in Eugene, we're booking again!


My yearly Eugene getaway....

5 on March 06, 2012

I am a repeat customer of the Oval Door. I love love love it! The rooms are comfortable and peaceful and the food is incredible!


Love this B&B!

4.8 on February 27, 2012

This is our 3rd of 4th stay at the Oval Door and we tried a different room this time and loved it just as much as our previous wonderful one! The breakfast was lovely and the other people very nice! A great place to stay!!!


Wonderful Experience

5 on February 24, 2012

The Oval Door is in a woderful location to access downtown Eugene. The home is pleasantly serviced by Nicole and Melissa. The room was spacious and confortable. The breakfast was top-notch.


Fabulous stay!

4.0 on February 22, 2012

I felt at home from the moment I walked through the front door. Such a warm atmosphere! The decor was beautiful. No detail was forgotten! The breakfast was gourmet and specified to my tastes. And the owners truly made me feel like family. I will DEFINITELY return!!! :)


We love staying at the Oval Door

4.6 on February 15, 2012

Whenever we are in Eugene we try to stay at The Oval Door. They provide excellent service, are very helpful, beds are comfortable, and the breakfast is excellent. They also go out of their way to accommodate any food allergies.


My Favorite Place in Eugene

4.0 on February 13, 2012

I have stayed at The Oval Door numerous times over the past 6+ years. It is always a place that enables me to look forward to business trips to Eugene. I can be very productive and very cozy simultaneously....and that cannot be said for many places. The location is within walking distance of the downtown core yet it is very quiet. The owners are very helpful but not intrusive. The food is delicious and I always want to stay longer than I can.


Anniversary Stay

3.8 on February 05, 2012

We adored our time here. We are planning our next date weekend in the Queen Annes Suite again!


Wonderful Bed and Breakfast

5 on February 01, 2012

We stayed in the Morning Glory Room, it was beautiful. The service was nothing short of amazing! And can I say one of the best breakfasts ever! And I am dairy free and I let them know ahead of time and was well taken care of. I will be recommending this B&B to all of my friends and will definitely stay there again. W~


Lovely stay at The Oval Door

4.6 on January 30, 2012

We had a quiet & peaceful stay and enjoyed being able to walk to all the great shopping areas. The bed was so comfortable and the room & private bathroom...spotless! Fresh cookies & beverages available near our door each day. We will definitely return and can happily spread the word about...The Oval Door!


Oval Door Gives the Best

5 on January 29, 2012

Nice to have scent of cookies baking on arrival and then have them offered to us!


Wonderful facility and staff

4.0 on January 21, 2012

We were in Eugene for our nephew's gallery show. The Oval Door room and breakfasts were superb. And the inkeepers couldn't have been more accommodating. We had family in from California and Washington. We were able to meet in the living room prior to dinner and after the show. It was such a lovely place and worked perfectly for our needs


Amazing food in a welcoming atmosphere

4.4 on January 17, 2012

I can not say enough about the incredible food we were served every morning during our three night stay. It was outstanding. We felt very at home at The Oval Door. There were many little touches that made our stay lovely. Homemade oatmeal chocolate chip cookies in the evenings, complimentary beer/wine, stamped Oval Door postcards, and more. We would definitely return.


Nice Place

3.0 on December 22, 2011

The Oval Door was a nice place to stay. It was extremely clean & the staff was friendly & helpful. The location was quiet & perfect for what we wanted. We would stay there again.


An awesome B&B, and great value, too

4.4 on November 13, 2011

The Oval Door is one of the BEST B&B's I have stayed in, and is consistently great. Wonderful food, free beer & wine in the evenings, free wi-fi, and a computer and a printer there for free use, too. Very pleasant owners, too!!!


A great place to stay

4.4 on November 09, 2011

We were in Eugene visiting our daughter and were very pleased with the Oval Door. We felt very much at home and the innkeepers were friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were delicious. We will definitely stay here again.


Beautiful experience!

5 on November 04, 2011

Simply wonderful!


The Oval Door is wonderful!

4.0 on October 31, 2011

First of all the location of the Oval Door to Eugene central is great! Walking distance to many attractions. The theme and interior decor of the Oval Door was very comforting with antique and current furniture. It is very clean and the beds are very comfortable. Actually I did not want to leave. The breakfast food is to dye for...I was so spoiled!


Eugene 2011

4.4 on October 29, 2011

Aces. If you can't like The Oval Door you can't like anything.


Lovely stay

3.8 on October 16, 2011

We enjoyed the friendliness of the inn keeper and appreciated being left to ourselves. There's no air conditioning in all of the rooms only one that I know of. And the windows don't have blackout shades so street light kept me awake. And the bed was too hard for me but perfect for my husband. The food was very good and the rooms are nicely decorated. Overall comfy, warm and welcoming.


Accommodating

4.2 on September 25, 2011

We have stayed at the Oval Door twice now. Both times have been a very pleasant experience. They were very accommodating with our dietary requirements. I highly recommend staying at the Oval Door.


OVAL DOOR DELIGHT

4.4 on September 25, 2011

We stayed in Queen Annes lace for two nights. Our room was very large and comfortable. The room had a portable airconditioner that was loud and turned on and off. I didn't think it cooled the room off the way Central Air would, but it was a heat wave when we were in Eugene. The proprietor Melissa was very nice and the property is in a nice quiet neighborhood. Lots of drinks including beer, win and soda were supplied through out the day. Just enough parking spaces and there appeared to be street parking available also. The food was good and there were wonderful cookies on our arrival. Overall a very nice stay.


Oval Door

4.0 on September 22, 2011

This is the 2nd visit my husband and I have made to the Oval Door, and once again, we give it very high marks! The hostess, Melissa, greeted us at the door with warm cookies. Our room was automatically upgraded to a larger one, there was wine in the fridge for our enjoyment and the breakfasts were gourmet delicious. The location is perfect to walking to town yet peaceful for sleeping at night. Thanks for a wonderful visit!


The Oval Door in Eugene OR

3.6 on September 17, 2011

What a gem! Provided a wonderful respite in a cozy setting. Loved the coffee served to the room in the am. Many nice touches and attention to detail!


Love the Oval Door, staff and yummy breakfasts!

4.8 on September 07, 2011

Rooms are clean, quiet and have great air conditioners in them. The staff is friendly and welcoming. The breakfasts are fabulous and they do a great job accommodating food allergies, even gluten-free. We love staying at the Oval Door.


Relaxing

4.2 on September 05, 2011

Was greeted warmly, She showed us around the house. Let us know that we had complimentary beer or wine. Gave us good directions to a restaurant that we could walk to. Prompt service of coffee brought to our room. Breakfast was fresh fruit, jucie, coffee, hot and yummy.


A nice time.

4.0 on August 31, 2011

My wife and I had a nice time staying for three nights. Melissa's breakfasts were amazing, there was always refreshments available, and the cookies gave me some extra pounds.


best b+b ever stayed at

4.6 on August 30, 2011

very, very good. the only thing I would do differently would be to install a bathtub instead of a shower - but then that would mean taking-down a perfectly good shower, so what's the point of that? breakfast was very good - neither mingy nor overblown - though as a consumer of strong coffee, I still needed my espresso. the hosts are outgoing, thoughtful, and well-organized.


my favorite Bed and Breakfast

5 on August 29, 2011

I stay at the Oval Door every summer and feel like I am coming home. I love the warm and friendly atmosphere and look forward to the delicious breakfasts.


Pleasant stay at the Oval Door

4.0 on August 21, 2011

Arriving past the dinner hour it was a treat to find fresh cookies awaiting in the cookie jar; tea,wine, coffee available in the library, and a cool (this was the summer) comfortable room. I will be back!


Calm and cozy city rest stop

3.6 on August 19, 2011

The Oval Door is in a lovely, leafy neighborhood, close to downtown Eugene. It was a nice, homey place to touch down on a long drive through the Pacific Northwest. Thank you.


Immaculate B&B - A Charming Retreat

4.6 on August 14, 2011

Our stay at the Oval Door greatly exceeding my expectations. The entire building was immaculate - from the common area, to the dining room, to the rooms we were assigned. The owners have thought of everything! We were greeted with complimentary wine, beer, tea, sodas, etc. Have a craving for something sweet? No problem - there are biscotti waiting for you. Everything was well-planned, from the amenities in individual rooms, to the "library" where you could pick up movies, music, games, books, etc. We only had one night at the Oval Door and could see spending a week, using it as a hub to explore the surrounding area. Breakfast was fantastic, from the juice selections to the egg-in-a-hole. Also, there are many restaurants within walking distance for a nice dinner. Would definitely recommend.


Oval Door

4.4 on August 12, 2011

My husband and I loved The Oval Door Bed & Breakfast in Eugene, OR. The innkeepers, Nicole and Melissa, are accommodating and personable, and they serve up delicious breakfasts (they are graduates of the Culinary Institute)- the fresh blueberry crisp was a wonderful 'starter,' and we were given a choice of two entrees that were different on each of our three mornings). The rooms are lovely- simple, but beautifully appointed and tasteful...it is one of the few B&B's that was not too 'girly' for my husband's taste. I would have appreciated an additional well-lit mirror to use when my husband was using the bathroom. The inn and the room was wonderfully clean, and the only reason I did not rate it with 5 stars for cleanliness was a faint odor of mildew from the shower curtain in the bathroom. We appreciated the complimentary beverages, water, wine, and homemade cookies available for guests, as well as the library, and the porch swing for reading and relaxing. I highly recommend The Oval Door, and we will stay there again if we have a chance to return to Eugene. Many thanks to Nicole and Melissa for our very pleasant stay! Mary Sue and Ben, Dallas, Texas


A great Eugene sleepover!

5 on August 10, 2011

We were in town to ride the Blackberry Bramble Century. We needed an early start and the hosts made sure we had an early but tasty and nutritious breakfast before our 100 mile bicycle day! The cookies and tea whenever you want them are a nice treat!


A Delightful Two Days

3.6 on August 09, 2011

My wife and I spent two great days at the Oval Door. Our room was larger and better appointed that we expected. The innkeepers were friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were gourmet quality. Homemade cookies and good wines are available in the late afternoon/evening. But do pay attention to the published arrival times or you may find no one to admit you when you arrive. We had to park on the street both evenings as there were inadequate spaces in the lot.


Excellent place to stay

4.8 on August 07, 2011

This is a beautiful B&B. Our room was lovely and the building was warm, welcoming, and charming. The breakfast was amazing! I would definitely recommend the Oval Door and would definitely go back if I was travelling through Eugene again.


Wonderful Inn

5 on August 06, 2011

Peaceful oasis, great breakfasts, love the coffee delivery to our room. Great to come back from a day in Eugene to the mouthwatering fragrance of baking cookies.


Lovely respite on our college hunting extravaganza

5 on July 29, 2011

We chose to stay at the Oval Door over our "weekend off" from our 2 week college hunting trip of the west. It was lovely - the breakfasts were incredible and our fellow guests quite fun.


Mistake in length of stay in Eugene

4.6 on July 28, 2011

The only thing that was wrong with our stay is that we should have arranged to stay in Eugene for at least one more day. The gals do a great job.


wonderful stay with gracious hosts

5 on July 28, 2011

We enjoyed a comfortable stay as well as delicious breakfasts. Melissa and Nicole were amazing hosts and even went out of their way to secure a reservation at another B&B for us in October (during a U of O football game) because they were booked. Also, my daughter forgot her calculator for an exam at U of O and they graciously lent her theirs for the day. The room was spacious, spotless and very comfortable. The living room downstairs was inviting and wine, beer, sodas, and yummy homemade cookies are readily available. We will be back soon!!!


Very nice place to stay

4.8 on July 12, 2011

We were very satisfied with our stay and will be staying there again if we are in the Eugene area. Food was exceptional and the rooms were large and comfortable.


Central B&B

3.4 on July 11, 2011

Great location and attentive service. Breakfast was delicious! Lots of little extras like a library, glass of wine, coffee and tea, etc.


they have thought of everything

4.8 on July 04, 2011

No attention to detail is spared in making sure that your stay at the Oval Door is superb. From warm cookies to complimentary cold drinks to extra blankets and pillows....the innkeepers are always a step ahead.


Great B+B

4.0 on July 03, 2011

A very clean and cozy B+B. I had a comfortable 3 day stay at the oval door and would definitely come back on my next visit to Eugene. The price was very reasonable and the breakfasts were wonderful. Highly recommended by this traveler.


Right place to stay

4.8 on June 30, 2011

Nicely renovated. Quiet location. Very good breakfast. Very clean and roomy room. Air conditioning is perfect and quiet. Bathroom has instant air heating. Parking is a bit tight (well it is a residential area) and under camera surveillance.


Oval Door B&B

4.6 on June 26, 2011

Very comfortable accommodations and the staff was very friendly and helpful.


Loved the Oval Door in Eugene, Or.

5 on June 08, 2011

Our room was spotless, cozy and comfortable. Nice conversations around the breakfast table with warm hospitality. Much nicer than a hotel.


comfort in downtown Eugene

4.0 on June 06, 2011

The Oval Door is a lovely B&B in the heart of Eugeen, convenient, great food, nice room!


Lovely, lovely, lovely!

5 on May 26, 2011

From the view of the towering horse chestnut tree out our 3rd floor window to the incredible breakfast (sensational scones, decadent eggs Benedict) to the homemade cookie jar (addictive!) to the dinner voucher and suggestion of a fabulous French restaurant (BELLY!), we couldn't have been happier with our one-night stay at The Oval Door. The room was sparkling clean and our little diamond-shaped window in the bathroom was charming. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the entire layour was open and uncluttered, unlike many other B&Bs where you can't sort out your things from their things. Nicole couldn't have been more helpful or accommodating and everything was just wonderful. I took a risk in on this one (internet reviews only) but was well rewarded for my trust in fellow travelers high marks for this charming establishment with THE single best breakfast in Oregon.


Another fabulous stay.

5 on May 19, 2011

We always look forward to staying at the Oval Door whenever we are in Eugene. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The breakfasts are always delicious and well prepared. All the rooms were filled during our recent stay so the conversation at the breakfast table was lively and interesting. The innkeepers are always helpful and go the extra step to ensure that their guests are well taken care of. And, the smell of fresh baked cookies that greet you when you return every evening! We felt like little kids, running to the cookie jar.


Charming and friendly

4.6 on May 19, 2011

Want coffee brought to your room in the morning? Enjoy gourmet breakfasts? Like a little complimentary wine? This beautiful, centrally-located b&b has all that plus free, off- street parking, gorgeous rooms with private baths, free wifi and a friendly, helpful staff. Enjoy!


I love this place!

4.6 on May 16, 2011

I have been returning to The Oval Door in Eugene for 13 years. It is a welcoming destination when you are in Eugene, OR. Nicole and Melissa are wonderful cooks and innkeepers.


Wonderful B&B

4.6 on May 15, 2011

This was a wonderful place to visit en route from Washington to California. The innkeeper was extremely accommodating and very helpful with restaurant recommendations. The breakfast was delicious. Will definitely consider this B&B on any future trips through Eugene.


A great place to stay

5 on May 11, 2011

This is my 3rd or 4th visit and I am always very happy with the service, the cleanliness of The Oval Door. It is so nice to be greeted in the morning with the wonderful smells and smiles from the host. The rooms and decor is warm and inviting and Nicole is ther perfect hostess. Ron Oster San Diego Ca.


The only place to stay in Eugene !

4.2 on May 08, 2011

Loved the rooms, the food, the people, the oatmeal chocolate chip cookies. Fantastic place to stay. It was very peaceful, relaxing and quiet. I would highly reccommend it.


Long weekend in Eugene

5 on May 05, 2011

My daughter and I stayed at the Oval Door for a Long weekend, we were there for the 2011 Marathon. Nicole and Melissa were very accomodating to our needs. The breakfasts were superb. The rooms outstanding. They accomodated our bike rentals, gave us suggestions for dinner, and even provided a high carb breakfast the day of the marathon without us even asking. We will stay here again if we are in the area. A beautiful house. Nice touches with the cookies and the wine/soda.


Great neighborhood; excellent accommodations

4.0 on May 05, 2011

Thank you for some great food and extremely comfortable accommodations. You helped make our trip to Eugene even more special.


Another terrific experience!

5 on April 29, 2011

I think this is my 5th or 6th stay in about 8 years. Oval Door has always been a lovely place to stay and eat. The staff members are wonderfully accomodating and always makes me feel comfortable and relaxed after a long day of work. I can't imagine ever staying anyplace else in Eugene.


Oval Door

5 on April 28, 2011

We were very pleased with our stay at the Oval Door. Gracious is the word that comes to mind. The breakfasts were fantastic, the room very comfortable, the sheets were soft, neighborhood quiet.


Wonderful!

5 on April 04, 2011

Our stay at the Oval Door was excellent. The personal touches were fantastic - coffee delivered to our room in the morning, and a choice of entrees for breakfast. Also, the bed was extremely comfortable - moreso than my bed at home!


Lovely!

4.4 on March 18, 2011

I would absolutely stay here again. However, I'm a decaf coffee drinker and picky about the quality. My only complaint is the decaf was not up to par. Truly, every else was wonderful.


The best "home away from home" ever!

5 on March 17, 2011

We recently stayed at the Oval Door and loved it! It is charming and kept up-to-date, but still feels like a comfy old home. The Innkeepers pay attention to every detail and even accommodated my husband's "gluten free" needs. The room was beyond lovely, with a huge soaking tub, large bed, TV, and coffee or tea in the room. We had a glass of wine in the library in the afternoon (no charge), and enjoyed sitting by the fire and relaxing. The food was imaginative and sumptuous. I want all the recipes - which I found on their website! We found that when we needed something, it was there for the asking. If we wanted to be left alone, no one bothered us. We had such a warm and amazing experience that we can't wait to go back! We are going to plan a vacation around the Oval Door.


Poor Service this time :(

2.4 on March 15, 2011

Very disappointing this time. I am a repeat customer.. more than a half dozen stays. Unfortunately this time the service was very poor. I felt like an intruder in the home when greeted by the B&B owner. In fact, I thought I had been met by a new employee and did not realize that she was the owner until I called after the visit to express my concerns. Next day the breakfast was not edible. What should have been the highlight as it had been in the past, I had a spinach/egg dish that had an undercooked egg that simply I could not eat. When I called later, the response I got from the partner about my visit was equally unsatisfactory. I had apparently come at a time that was hard on the other partner and she hoped I would try them again. No offer to make it up to me. No offer to figure out a way to make this visit more palatable. Needless to say, I won't be back. Sorry for this comment this time. However, a B&B is all about the service and the breakfast. This time, Oval Door far under-served this guest.


Home Away from Home in Eugene

4.2 on March 07, 2011

This is a wonderful B&B in Eugene Oregon. It is within walking distance of downtown and the Saturday Market. The price is very reasonable considering the amazing breakfast. The also have a refrigerator full of drinks for their guest and home made cookies which was a welcome treat after running around U of Oregon all day with our daughter. Nicole and Melissa are lovely woman very willing to help you with ideas of outings in the Eugene area.


It was a first time

4.8 on February 24, 2011

Fairly centrally located and in a town that is easy to navigate, this was a great alternative to local downscale motels. Personable, great food and quiet.


My Stay in Oregon

5 on February 23, 2011

We had a wonderful time at the Oval Door the atmosphere was warm and inviting. the rooms were large and nicely decorated. the beds were very comfortable. the food was the real treat. the breakfast was an adventure every day. Delicious and innovative My favorite was the baked grapefruit. this is the only place for me when I go to Eugene


Mary and Dave

4.6 on February 17, 2011

We did not feel well while we stayed at the Oval Door. appreciated staff letting us stay in bed without interuption.. Excellent service most apprecitaed.. Wireless connection did not work in our Wild Flower Room.. a disappointment.


My stay at the Oval Door

5 on January 28, 2011

It surpassed my expectations. the place was beautify and the service was top notch. Would definitely visit again!


Home Away From Home

4.2 on January 11, 2011

Welcoming Innkeepers and home environment. It was a lovely 5 day stay in lovely surroundings, nice guests and delicious breakfasts. Coffee, Tea and Drinks were always available. We took advantage of the warm fire in the fireplace while visiting with our family and playing games in the library. Our bedrooms were very comfortable and quiet. We highly recommend the Oval Door and hope to return again. Sally Valle - Houston, Tx.


Lovely, even in the rain

3.6 on December 18, 2010

I knew the neighborhood because I grew up 6 blocks away. I live in San Francisco now. It was nice to have a place to come 'home' to after spending the day with family (my Mothers 75th birthday party). Slept extremely well in their Morning Glory room. Enjoyed 2 sumptuous breakfasts prepared by Nicole and Melissa.


A perfect place to unwind at day's end

5 on December 17, 2010

I was in Eugene for business that required that I stay for an entire week. I loved being at the Oval Door - it felt like home. Christmas decorations were going up and everything was perfect. The owners and staff are extremely welcoming and great cooks. Highly recommend this for a relaxing stay in Eugene.


Lovely experience

5 on December 13, 2010

The best night's sleep on the road I've ever had! Peaceful & rejuvenating atmosphere; impeccable service. We were made to feel at home immediately, from the in-room coffee service to the fresh baked treats in the cookie jar, this place is fantastic! Can't wait to come back.


Comfy stay

4.2 on November 22, 2010

The breakfasts are fantastic and rooms cozy. Love having tea/coffee/hot chocolate available anytime and cookies also :)


Enjoyable stay

4.0 on November 17, 2010

Stayed for three nights. Very friendly staff, excellent breakfasts and delightful accommodations. Close to fairgrounds. Will return.


Wonderful stay at The Open Door

5 on October 29, 2010

My wife and I spent two wonderful nights at the Open Door B&B in Eugene and we'll be going back. Great spot to relax and enjoy a great city.


Oval Door Observation

4.2 on October 22, 2010

Very comfortable, but lighting a bit poor if you like to read. Recommendation for dinner was perfect for our needs.


Lovely

5 on October 22, 2010

Quiet and lovely! A wonderful inn and hosts were so helpful. Awesome location in Eugene, I didn't need a car for my business trip at all. thank you!


Relaxing Stay

4.2 on October 19, 2010

Nicole made an effort to meet all of her guests and we enjoyed an early evening glass of wine in the living room.


October visit

4.6 on October 14, 2010

Very comfortable with great innkeepers. Outstanding breakfasts. Beds and linens were first class. Very nice to have wine and cookies available in the evening. Common areas including living room and library/den were a great place to meet and talk with friends from the area. Internet access including the use of the house computer was very appreciated.


Bamboo Room

4.4 on October 04, 2010

Great location - a variety of great restaurants within walking distance. Overall great experience.


Lovely Welcoming

5 on September 30, 2010

very welcoming atomosphere, lovely lively breakfast conversation, very enjoyable


Fantastic B&B

5 on September 28, 2010

A fantastic B&B which felt like home. The library is a great place to cosy up on the window seat with a good book and glass of wine. Or relax in the sitting room. A full list of restaurants in the area (with menus) is available but don't eat too much - the breakfasts are great! I would definitely return.


Oval Door Repeat Customers

5 on August 18, 2010

We have stayed at the Oval Door on four separate occasions while visiting our daughter in Eugene. All of our stays have been from 4 to 6 days. We have recently booked our fifth stay for two days in December. Melissa and Nicole are wonderful innkeepers. Their breakfasts are always delicious and they are considerate of the needs of their guests. The rooms are extremely clean and feel like home!


Awesome B&B

4.6 on August 18, 2010

I have stayed at Melissa & Nicole's B&B numerous times, and will ALWAYS stay there when in Eugene. They are the super at providing 'just what you need', and are also a very business friendly for us business travelers... wi-fi, a computer & printer we can use, and just a great place to get away from it after work. I stay at a lot of B&B's, and this is one of my top 3!


Perfect in every way!!

5 on August 26, 2009

Spent 6 nights at the Oval Door and had the most wonderful experience! Charming home, wonderful hosts, spectacular breakfasts, immaculate rooms, with not a detail overlooked. So many little "extras" that made me feel pampered....I highly recommend staying here when in Eugene.


from the Texas duo

5 on July 21, 2009

We had a wonderful stay here. The room(size and bed) were so comfortable. The breakfast was the best (necterine and blueberry granola baked). The staff and Nicole were so pleasant to talk with. We had conversation with many of the other guest. It is fun learning about other people and how they live.


excellent

5 on May 11, 2009

I've staying at B&B's, and this is one I will definitely return to. It was priced right, offered privacy, good location, and a wrap-around porch (my favorite!).


Eugene at it's best.

5 on April 22, 2009

The Oval Door is nestled in a residential neighborhood within walking distance of d/t Eugene. Excellent , warm, friendly atmosphere. Large rooms, skilled help. the best for your money.


Above and Beyond

4.8 on February 04, 2009

This place surpassed my expectations. We will definitely recommend this to friends! Melissa and Nicole sure know how to host!


A Must Stay

5 on October 15, 2008

Beautiful, cozy felt like home! Breakfasts are excellent and the Innkeepers are very pleasant and helpful. A must stay!


The oval door exceeds expectations

4.8 on August 19, 2008

My husband and i stumbled upon the oval door in eugene as we visited the area on vasation. The location within walking distance from downtown, was an asset but the comfort, cleanliness, convenience and cuisine set it apart from the others. I highly recommend.


The Oval Door

4.6 on August 19, 2008

What a lovely B&B. Surrounding tree and inviting breakfast was wonderful.


I love staying here!

4.2 on April 23, 2008

I have returned to the Oval Door several times, and my wife loves it, too! I am usually here on business, and they fit that need very well. Free hi-speed internet, and computer and printer should I need it, GREAT coffee brought right too your room, and a very nice breakfast. They even had some nice complimentary wine in the evening!!!


A Great B&B in Eugene

4.6 on December 06, 2007

We were in Eugene last August. We stayed here for 4 days and enjoyed the experience greatly. The room was excellent, the food was beyond excellent as was the coffee and hospitality. We hope to return again.


A lovely bed and breakfast experience

5 on July 31, 2007

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Oval Door. The rooms are beautifully appointed but not fussy. The breakfast was excellent. The staff were friendly but lowkey. The b and b is located in a nice quiet neighborhood. I felt very relaxed at the Oval Door and would definitely stay there again.


The Oval Door

Details

  • Nightly Rate $109 - $185
  • Reviews (237) 4.6
  • Rooms 6
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5416833160

Visit Website »

View details

Top