Harbor Lights Inn Reviews

Overall
3.9

View details

  • Guest room3.8
  • Services4.3
  • Value3.7
  • Cleanliness4.0
  • Dining3.9

Score Breakdown based on
64 Reviews

Write A Review

Wonderfully Cozy

5 on January 17, 2014

I came here with my sister and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The bed was exceptionally comfortable, the firelog really nice, sherry and chocolate? Not much more a girl can want.. a view of the harbor perhaps? Nice terrycloth robes, movies, games, books... I haven't even gotten to the breakfast which was delicious!!! LOVED our stay and would definitely be back!


Something about lipstick on a pig...

1.8 on January 06, 2014

, thought this place looked centrally located at a fair price. Boy, was I wrong. First B--Bed: What was this place was in a former life? It's obvious they made an attempt to spiffy up by adding a few throw pillows and an extra mattress pad to the bed, but beyond this, I've had more comfortable stays at a Motel 6 for a fraction of the price. The rooms were drafty, the bathroom tiny (with tiny towels), the screen door to the patio overlooking the "harbor" (i.e. a parking lot) was broken. There was dog shit in every corner of the "yard." I should have known we were in trouble when we walked in the place and it reeked of smoke despite being a non-smoking establishment. The rooms had tacky particle board furnishings from the 80s right down to the TV with a VHS player in it. The bedding was covered with animal fur. To their credit, there was complimentary cream sherry in the room on arrival and the robes were plush. Second B--Breakfast: Holy shit, the food was so poor I wouldn't feed it to my dog. Literally, I cannot believe B&B.com allows these place on its site. The breakfast was served in a tiny little dining room with plastic covered tables like a diner. The coffee was so disgusting there aren't enough tiny tubs of creamer to fix it. Did I mention the Crystal Light? Yes, instead of juice for breakfast, they served some kind of sugar-free instant juice mix. The breakfast choices the each morning were between some sort of greasy pile of ick and another unidentifiable pile of ick. Alongside said (tiny) piles of ick was some rock hard melon that must have been cubed with a hacksaw. (I've eaten at my share of dives and would have given anything for a dive-quality breakfast at this point.) I would not recommend this place to the budget traveler, let alone someone looking for a B&B experience. Frankly, I probably wouldn't stay here if they offered me the room for free. It was just that bad.


Nicel kept, and a great location

3.8 on September 23, 2013

A little on the expensive side, given the number of small properties along the coast, but the staff are great and the rooms are clean and well kept. Depoe Bay is just minutes from a lot of the central coast.


Terrific Stay

4.6 on September 09, 2013

Very warm and charming place. Had a great stay with my girlfriend. The location was ideal for sightseeing up and down the coast.


Exactly what we needed for a weekend

4.2 on June 13, 2013

We found this little B&B through an groupon package. I had never heard of Depoe Bay or the Harbor Lights Inn, but I can tell you we will be back again. We instantly felt like we were at home in this cozy little spot on the harbor. Our hosts were helpful, sociable, and excellent cooks The resident cat that kept following me back to the room was an extra bonus. I happen to be a cat lover and he's wonderful.


Great Place

4.6 on May 08, 2013

Owners and staff were amazing. They truly lived up to their motto of arrive as a guest and leave a friend. We had both breakfast and dinner at The Harbor Lights and Bob is an excellent chef. We would recommend Harbor Lights to anyone looking for a nice escape the the coast.


Just what we needed

4.0 on November 22, 2012

Our stay at the Harbor Lights was so worth it. We spent a very relaxing Saturday making our way down the coast line. By late afternoon, we were tired and needing some TLC. We were greeted by Bob who gave us the 5 cent tour. He was warm and had good ideas for eateries and things to do in the vacinity. We ended up cozied up in our room with a nice view of the Harbor and all the boats. We went out only once for a quick dinner and then brought dessert back to enjoy by the fire. Both us of commented on getting a wonderful nights sleep and felt so relaxed as we dinned on a great breakfast. The whole experience was perfect and we are already planning our next trip to Harbor Lights.


Nice Quiet Place

3.8 on October 26, 2012

Easy to find....very comfortable and rooms face the small bay. Great breakfast-nothing fancy-but yummy Americana.


Excellent escape in a romantic location

4.2 on October 17, 2012

Bob and Beni made our stay very enjoyable with many personal touches. The Harbor Lights Inn looks out on the harbor in Depot Bay and is adorned by lights and great views. The rooms were comfortable and private with a fireplace and complimentary Dark Chocolate and Sherry. We were allowed to borrow as many DVDs out of their collection to view, as well. The bathrobes are luxiurious!


Greeted by a cat is a wonderful arrival.

4.6 on October 05, 2012

The wife and I stayed a weekend and really enjoyed everything. This is a wonderful B&B and we plan to return. The hosts are extremely personable. The view of the harbor is lovely and the gentle creaking of the docks and boats were a wonderful sound to fall asleep to.


Charming B&B on Yachats Harbor

5 on September 15, 2012

This is an outstanding B&B right on the harbor at Yachats. Our room was large with a private deck facing W. Our room had so many wonderful touches; chocolates and sherry, a fireplace and beautiful bedding. The common areas are a fabulous Inn, beautiful public spaces. Breakfast in the morning was a Crab Fritatta, need I say more? Fabulous! Bob and Benni are great hosts and we enjoyed the dog and cat also. You will thoroughly enjoy your stay at Harbor Lights Inn!


peaceful and quiet

3.4 on September 12, 2012

owners were very nice. place was kept up. if you like water you can't get much closer.


Will be back !!

5 on August 27, 2012

Sherry and chocolate welcomed us into our lovely room and the evening just got better and better. We sat and watched the fishing boat activities from our patio. After a good night sleep we enjoyed a home made breakfast. We really liked the resident cat. Bob and Beni were perfect hosts. Sandra and Ken


A cozy harbor setting

4.8 on August 27, 2012

The picture says it all. This is an oversized B&B with friendly, personal service. All rooms face the quaint, cozy harbor. Parking feels protected at the end of a dead-end street tucked behind the inn. We had a lower floor room with walk-out to the pleasant patios you can see in this picture. We could walk bicylcs around to our patio area. Living room and breakfast room are both large and comfortable. Breakfasts delicious. Whale watch tours and fishing trips leave from the building next door.


Great Folks!

5 on August 27, 2012

Bob and Beni are the best. Great hosts, full of information, and Bob makes the best omelet on the planet. Many improvements and additions are coming soon, so we look forward to revisiting next year. CH


Lovely

4.2 on August 24, 2012

A lovely room with nice deck overlooking harbor. Sherry and chocolates was a nice touch.


Harbor Lights, Depoe Bay, Or.

4.8 on August 15, 2012

Had a really great time, folks were great. Rooms were very nice. We had an amazing time.


Harbor Lights Inn

4.8 on August 15, 2012

Comfortable and quiet. We will return.


Had a very enjoyable stay at Harbor Lights Inn.

4.4 on August 09, 2012

Nice quiet room. Great breakfast. Very relaxing and enjoyable stay. We would love to return to Harbor Lights Inn, and will recommend it to family and friends. Depot Bay is a great coastal town.


3rd Anniversary

4.4 on August 06, 2012

This was our second stay here. Love the location & hospitality of Bob & Beni.


Great Place/Awesome People

4.2 on July 28, 2012

The view, the staff, the room were excellent. Activity in the harbor was a neat treat ... something to see almost all the time.


nice

3.0 on July 24, 2012

the room was nice and clean, however I don't think we would go back. I prefer to have a small refrigerator in my room and a coffee pot.


Super Pet Friendly Hotel!

2.2 on July 16, 2012

I knew my wife and I were in for an experience when we drove up. The attached garage door was open halfway to view all the clutter and a makeshift fence to keep in animals. The entry way had to the left a cat or dog food and water dishes...to the right was an unopened potting soil bag just laid on the curb of their rock garden (?...the bag did not move during our stay). The owner Bob was nice, but right when we entered we could smell smoke and asked him about it....He confirmed tenants can only smoke outside. We suspect the smell remains from when smoking was legally allowed and/or one of the owners smoking inside. Due to the door behind the check in counter left open, you could see all the clutter of the kitchen. We received a tour when we got there. Surprise, The ice machine is also a community refrigerator on the first floor (no refrigerators in the rooms). We were also informed that the front door is locked at 6pm, due to no one at front desk and one of our keys will allow us in after hours. Could this explain why our bathroom had a plunger too? If we had plumbing problems were we to be our own plumbers too? Yes other reviews are correct, walls are thin and you can hear other tenants snoring. The next morning while walking down the stairway to breakfast, I noticed some updated chandeliers have been installed. The paint job of the ceiling unfortunately was not completed and you can see what the previous paint was. Bob did give two breakfast options, but fresh fruit would have been nice. While dining we noticed how cluttered the ambiance is. Since website pictures have been taken they have added statues/figures, all sorts of artwork with quotes or sayings, and the breakfast tables are glass covering a hodgepodge of personal mementos, pictures and magazine cutouts. Luckily we are not allergic to pets, but if you are stay away! Plenty of signs asking not to let out pets, imply owners have indoor cats and dogs.


Harbor Lights Inn

3.0 on July 12, 2012

OK place; friendly, quiet and comfortable. Rooms nothing special but nice. Looks a little run down especially outside.


Quiet little get-away B&B

4.2 on July 12, 2012

Although we had a short stay, this B&B was perfect for moderate accessability-not remote, yet quiet and restful. Seagulls created the most noise, which is great..


Will go there again!

4.0 on July 03, 2012

I really enjoyed our stay at the Harbor Lights Inn, the room was confortable and clean. The breakfasts were excellent, and the prices were afforable. The owners were very helpful with questions that we had and offered suggestions where possible. I see us going back again.


Cute place, friendly owners, nice view

3.2 on June 13, 2012

This place is cute, and the owners are very nice. However, if ou are a light sleeper know that the walls are thin so if you have snorer in the next room you won't get any sleep.


Only stay here if there is nowhere else to go

1.6 on June 06, 2012

Do not believe the comments on their web site, read this one or Trip Advisor, I wish I had! A check in that finishes at 6pm when the Innkeeper locks up, No tea/coffee until 0630am, we had to go to a local gas station for coffee. The 'breakfast cooked to order' was what the Innkeeper had decided to cook with no reference to the guests, no cereal, toaster but no bread, no juice, no fruit... Need I say more


Go For It

4.0 on June 03, 2012

A very pleasant stay with very friendly owners. DVDs to borrow and a fridge on main floor for all to use. Great breakfast (DO NOT MISS IT). Just 5 minutes walk from shopping.


Honeymoon stay

3.2 on May 23, 2012

This is a quaint and lovely place to stay with great views and wonderful food. The hosts were great! The prices were a bit much in my opinion but I will definitely come back again.


A Gracious Stay with helpful innkeepers

4.4 on May 11, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Harbor Lights Inn. The location is terrific, right on tiny Depoe Bay. It's in a quiet neighborhood so we enjoyed being able to leave our patio door open at night for the fresh air (and the sound of the rain.) The room was of a nice size. Room to move around and nicely appointed with very comfortable beds, ample storage space and additional seating at a small table and the desk. Complementary sherry was a lovely touch. Breakfasts were very good - omelets, eggs benedict, french toast, etc. We especially appreciated the innkeepers- Benni & Bob who've prepared some very helpful guides to things to see and do in the area and were happy to recommend places to grab lunch or dinner. They know alot about whale watching and are happy to provide information on that. We adored their delightful golden retriever, Parker, who we met on our last morning. How one keeps an 80+ lb. golden quiet & out of sight is beyond me but Benni & Bob do, out of respect for their guests who may not appreciate dogs as much as we do. They also have a delightful cat, Joey who will pay you as much or as little attention as you wish, and a seeminly shy Pekinese, Charlie. Overall, the stay was very nice. Comfortable, homey but gracious.


Wonderful

5 on March 17, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at Harbor Lights Inn 3 times now and have been very please. Bob and Benni are very hospitable and made our stay very relaxing. Highly reccommeded!


Comfortable B&B

4.4 on February 23, 2012

This was our second time staying at Harbor Lights and it was just as we had experienced the first time. Bob and Beni are wonderful hosts and made us feel right at home. My only suggestion is to have more up-to-date TVs in the rooms (flat screens). In the winter, we find ourselves spending more time in the room, due to the weather and it would be nice to have a larger, more modern TV to watch movies on. It's a small thing, but would go a long way toward making the stay more comfortable.


Harbor Lights Inn, Depot Bay OR

4.0 on January 02, 2012

We stayed one evening with friends. The Inn is wonderful and all rooms have a great view of the smallest harbor. The Innkeepers are friendly and helpful. The rooms were very nice and the beds were very comfortable! The breakfast in the morning was delicious! We enjoyed going sight seeing, wine tasting and ended up in a local restaraunt with a live band that was fabulous! We plan on returning hopefully for 2 nights!


Wish I was still there!!!

4.0 on November 13, 2011

Wonderful Hosts Incredible, made to order, breakfast Loving, cuddly pets Perfect location All round top notch


This place has a nice view but is not a bed and breakfast

2.0 on October 28, 2011

I don't think an establishment that has 13 rooms qualifies as a traditional bed and breakfast. The rooms had little sound barriers. We could hear EVERYTHING our neighbors were doing. The breakfast was not as good as most "continental breakfast" I have had in many hotels. The innkeepers were nice.


Smoky Rooms

1.8 on September 18, 2011

We were so excited to stay at Harbor Lights Inn. When we arrived, we were greeted warmly and showed straight to our room, which was across the hall from a door marked "Employees Only". As it turns out, the room across the hall is where the owner and his wife live, and smoke, all day long. We found this unpleasant, to say the least. Our 11-month old son slept poorly, and my husband and I woke up with headaches. Our clothes and bedding reeked of cigarette smoke. Nowhere were we warned that we (and our baby) would be subjected to secondhand smoke all night. We will certainly not stay here again.


Don't believe everything you read!!

5 on August 10, 2011

We read reviews before our stay... You really need to skip reading the bad reviews because, this place is a wonderful place to stay. We were greeted by a friendly owner, and gave us great suggestions for places to eat, see, and have some fun.. Breakfast was just what we needed to kickoff our day. We met some great people, and had a relaxing stay.. This is a great B&B place. We highly recommend this place... And of course planning a future return stay at this place for Depoe Bay trips!!!


Review of harbor lights inn

3.2 on August 03, 2011

We had a VERY relaxing time and this is what we were looking for - THANKS


Harborside Hospitality

3.6 on July 24, 2011

We really enjoyed watching the harbor activity throughout the day. The inn was quaint and the hospitality was superb. By the time we left we felt like we were leaving the home of good friends.


Wonderful weekend!!

4.8 on July 18, 2011

We had a great time at Harbor Lights. What a wonderful place to stay - great inn keepers, food, view and rooms!


comfortable and relaxing

3.8 on July 13, 2011

Comfortable rooms overlooking the little harbor - beautiful view. The breakfast was good but nothing out of the ordinary. The managers were fun & quirky.


Relaxing and friendly

4.0 on June 22, 2011

I had a wonderful stay at Harbor Lights Inn. The location is great! Bob & Beni were so nice and accomodating. The breakfast was amazing and just perfect eating it out on the deck over looking the harbor. They went above and beyond - filling my cooler up with ice to keep my fresh caught fish cold. I highly recommend staying here and going for a fishing trip or whale watching. I'm booking my next weekend get away now!


Nice room and great service with an awesome view

4.4 on June 21, 2011

We wanted to branch out a bit from Portland on our second trip to Oregon and decided to check out the Coast for a couple of nights...we could not have found a better spot or place--especially at the Groupon rate we had. We would definitely return for the hospitality, great location and tasty breakfast...preferably for longer that two nights. Bob and his wife were very helpful in planning activities and it was a real treat.


Great harbor location!

4.2 on June 12, 2011

Great location and wonderful hosts. A perfect beach getaway with super-comfortable beds, great room views and lovely amenities.


Harbor Lights Inn

3.2 on June 09, 2011

The location of the Inn is convenient to Whale Watching and Fishing Charters. It was farther from the beach than we wanted. The room was large and the bed comfy. One drawback was that the maid service was poorly done. The bathroom counter top wasn't cleaned and there were crumbs left all over the desk. We used a wine glass and it wasn't replaced. The other drawback is that the walls are very thin and we could hear a television from another room. The public areas are very nice and there is a great outdoor deck. Bob's breakfast was delicious. We probably won't stay there again because of the location.


A bright spot on a grey weekend

4.0 on June 03, 2011

The weather for our first trip to the Oregon coast was grey and dreary, as everyone said it would be. But, our stay at Harbor Lights Inn was bright and sunny.


A lovely stay at Depoe Bay

3.6 on May 25, 2011

Our stay was pleasant and peaceful. Our room was clean, well appointed, and slightly more spacious than I had expected. Breakfast was great both mornings, and the inn keepers were friendly without being intrusive. I will definitely keep this place in mind for future vacations.


We enjoyed our quiet weekend retreat

3.4 on May 15, 2011

Thank you for a quiet, comfortable, refreshing experience. Everything was great!


Nice Stay

3.6 on May 09, 2011

We found the Inn a good value with the Groupon deal, but it's too pricey without it. The room was nicely appointed, clean and comfortable. The fireplace was a bonus. The jacuzzi tub was small and not really practical for a soak. The walls were a bit "thin" but overall quiet. Breakfast was good, innkeepers very helpful. Nice location, very relaxing. Nice view of the harbor.


its the best

4.0 on May 05, 2011

it was the best time of my life staying at the harbor lights inn the inn is so cozy and nice the fireplace inviting it felt like coming home you know they say you cant go home well now you can. and the inn keepers beni and bob are the best you made my stay the best thank you james daniel


SAVE YOUR MONEY!!!

1.8 on April 07, 2011

Bought a Groupon for Harbor Lights Inn (included 2 night stay, bouquet of flowers, $25 bottle of wine)...we booked our 2 nights for our anniversary and couldn't wait...the time came to check in and in about an hour, we checked out...YES, we checked out 1 hour after checking in. Absolutely horrible... The Good-- The Innkeepers are very nice and the "common area" downstairs is very nice The Bad-- We stayed in Room 301 (Admiral)...the paint job was absolutely horrible, it looked like a kid spent an hr just slopping paint on the walls...there were dead bugs smashed on the wall, the curtains had paint all over them, the back of the tv stand is coming apart and the tv is an old box unit, the bedding looked like it was 10-15 yrs old with stains, the headboard and pieces broken off and had been glued on (they didn't even try to make it look nice, glue everywhere), the table and chairs out on the balcony are left out there so they are extremely dirty, the jetted tub looks like it came from the 80s (it is a regular tub with some jets and the tub looks like they just rinse it out and haven't used any cleaner in years), the "bouquet" was just daisies with food coloring in the water to change the color of them and you could tell they had been there days, our promised $25 bottle of wine was a bottle that you could get at the local safeway for $15, you could tell that they had allowed smoking in the Inn at one point as you could smell the old smoke, while not strong, it was always there and as a non-smoker, just unacceptable. We felt so uncomfortable, we didn't want to lay on the bed, we didn't want to look at the room, everything was just horrible. Maybe the other rooms are decent, but 301 WAS HORRIBLE...We had stayed 2 nights before this in Lincoln City so when we checked out, we went back and stayed another 2 days there (Beachfront Manor) and enjoyed the rest of our trip.


A well run B&B with opportunities for adventure and gourmet dining.

4.4 on March 27, 2011

A charming harbor view for an escape or adventure. Our trip included breakfasts hand-prepared by the Host, selections of DVDs and books from the lending library, and quaint sounds from the harbor. Our host and hostess are "in the know" for local adventures and gourmet dining picks. We watched whales from the boardwalk and saw an Elk family in a neighbor's yard. Yes! We'll be back. Treat Portland, Oregon


Very comfortable and good value

4.4 on March 23, 2011

Bob and Beni were fantastic hosts. The inn is very comfortable and the breakfast is substantial. The inn is on the bay and is a little bit of a walk from the main oceanside area, but most people would be able to reach the ocean in under 10 minutes.


Stormy weekend at Harbor Lights

4.0 on March 04, 2011

Spent a Sunday and Monday on a stormy February weekend in the Admiral's room. Clean, homey and relaxing. Used a Groupon for half price lodging which is about the right price during winter months. Don't think we would pay full price since there are a lot of lodging options along the coast. Bob & Beni, Innkeepers were gracious, friendly and looked after our every need. Bob cooks the best eggs ever, from Eggs Benedict one morning to any way you want 'em the next. The room was spacious and clean, fireplace was a nice touch, burned a firelog both nights. It could use a small loveseat or upholstered chair, but we used the living room couches downstairs for reading and relaxing since we were the only guests. Could be a bit crowded with a full house. The old jacuzzi tub even worked, so kudos for the upkeep. All in all, we enjoyed and would come back.


Nice staff, nice rooms; bring earplugs

3.2 on February 24, 2011

We tried Harbor Lights Inn on a Groupon, without which we never would have heard of Depoe Bay, let alone found the Harbor Lights Inn, which is tucked back away from the main road. The room was nice. It was large and had a balcony with chairs, a fireplace (with an Inn-provided log and matches) and a Jacuzzi tub (though the stopper on the sink was broken and the bathroom door jammed). The staff is great and they make you feel welcome. When we arrived, we were given a tour (they have a common room overlooking the harbor as well as books and DVDs free for guests’ use) and welcomed to our room with sherry and dark chocolate (and binoculars and an umbrella). Bottled water is provided and there is a communal fridge. They also serve a hot breakfast every morning from 8:30 – 9:30 with two options. Our choices were Eggs Benedict or a Bacon Cheese Omelet the first morning and a Bacon Cheese Omelet or Oatmeal Cookie Pancakes the second morning. Our major complaint was that the hotel was not quiet. We could hear our neighbors quite clearly, as well as noise from outside (for example a dog barking from 6:30 - 8:30 in the morning). And the Inn is located next to a Coast Guard station and every morning (I think it was a little after 6 AM) a horn would go off. It was not restful. Overall, I think the price is a bit high for what you get. Without the Groupon our bill would have been $560 for 2 nights. Ocean-view rooms are available at other hotels in Depoe Bay for a comparable price.


Wonderful Hideaway

5 on February 13, 2011

Such a warm and welcoming environment. With our love of pets and the "house critters", we felt very at home. Very friendly, clean, and relaxing. Would highly reccommend to anyone. The "Tidal Raves" resturant near by provides a fabulous sunset dinner!


This place comes highly recommended

4.6 on February 02, 2011

Good Friends of ours gave my husband and i glowing reviews about this place so we decided to get away and check it out. WOW! We were not at all disappointed. We were welcomed with opened arms and treated like royalty. Pampered to the fullest making it extremly difficult to leave. The rooms were spacious equipted with a real wood burning fireplace, our own private patio overlooking the Harbor and the bed was super comfy. We had a ball at the lounge getting to know the innkeepers Bob and Beni as well as the other guests staying. What gracious and caring hosts. They supplied us with all the information we needed to get us around the coast and all its "hot spots". I do not want to forget to mention that breakfast was amazing both mornings. We had so much fun that we are already planning our next trip back and this time bringing the rest of the family and pets! You will love staying in this adorable comfortable fun loving environment. We feel we truly made friends for life at the Habor Lights Inn. We will be back soon!


Who did the marketing borchure for this place?

1.0 on January 02, 2011

The worst Bed and Breakfast ever. A week later and I'm still reeling from the cost to stay in this dump. Don't let the photos fool you, this place is not what it is advertised to be. Let's just hit the highlights. The location of the inn was not at all what the pictures lead you to believe; while the inn looks great from the "harbor", you should see the view from the opposite direction; it's OK if you like overlooking into a small confined marina of boats, not the harbor that was mis-adverstised. And what were you supposed to do with those binoculars? The only thing one could do with them was to look into the boats anchored along the docks. Absolutely no other scenery! The building was permeated with the smell of stale cigarette smoke. The hallway leading to the room (Captain 101) had not been cleaned recently and was dingy and musty. The room had no charm whatever and its cleanliness was very questionable. The bathroom was small and much in need of a cleanup- sink stopper would not work, bath drain was clogged and the tile grout was in need of a mold control. The promised chocolates were two pieces of Dove bite size candy that can be purchased in any Walgreens. The wood burning fireplace was equipped with a Duraflame log which we were cautioned NOT to light due to the backdraft down the chimney for which there was no damper control. We were so taken back with the condition of the facility and its questionable cleanliness that we opted to check out early morning and not trust eating breakfast there. The cost ($260 per night with tax) was exorbitant as proven by our next night at a B&B in Cannon Beach at $60 less cost and with a charm and cleanliness next to none. In short, I feel that the local Motel 6 would have been a much better alternative. I will never return to the Harbor Lights Inn nor will I ever use the BedandBreakfast.com web site as a source of places to stay. My trust is gone. Steve Stem


Depoe Bay's Gem At The Docks

4.6 on August 03, 2009

Harbor Lights Inn is positively the pride of B&B's not only at Depoe Bay, but along the Oregon coast as well. Bob & Beni are the perfect hosts for those who are road weary, ready to relax and most of all ready for good conversation and waiting to be spoiled. After four hours on the road (that should have been 2 hours!!) and +103 degree heat, my wife and I arrived Friday evening, 7/31/2009 with our two little dogs for a weekend of R&R. Totally exhausted and ready for some fun, we were greeted with smiles and happy wagging tails by Bob & Beni, Pardner & Charlie at this wonderful pet friendly Bed & Breakfast. We came strangers and left good friends (hugs included) with our hosts following two nights of being pampered by the best! Harbor Lights Inn was clean, COMFORTABLE, hospitable but most of all very accomodating and convenient to the road traveler. If you like to go fishing in the ocean or just go for a whale watching tour, the Depoe Bay harbor is just steps away from your room door, literally! If you're looking for food, The Sea Hag is delicious food with live music and great hosts as well just a couple of blocks away and rubs elbows with many fine local shops of knick-knacks etc. The beds are super comfortable and you have the use of VHS movies, books and DVD's which are provided at no charge for personal use in your room. We were greeted in our room with a sip of sherry and some chocolates which was very nice following our road trip to this fine destination. The breakfast was simple and tasty and just enough to get you going with a choice of pancakes with fruit topping or eggs benedict with a light seasonal fruit garnish. The coffee is local and very good as a choice or tea, juice and water. We hope to visit again soon and wish Bob, Beni, Pardner and Charlie the best with our utmost thanks for supporting Western Oregon University Athletics Silent Auction with their generous gift package donation.


a place to return to

5 on August 03, 2009

This is a place you go again and again. Bob and Beni (and Pardner and Charlie) provide wonderful service; front and center anytime you need them whether providing wonderful ideas for things to do or a coat if you're going whale watching. The rooms all have wonderful harbor views. Most have fireplaces which we hope someday to use but haven't because there is too much to do in the area! This is a beautiful, restful, restorative place.


Dog Friendly!!

4.0 on July 23, 2009

We brought our doggies with us. The innkeepers are so wonderful about dogs. There is a little park within walking distance that is so nice for walks. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. We had a room on the lower level with a patio door to the outside, great for those midnight excursions with the pups for a potty break. You don't have to disturb anyone else. We will stay here again!


Great place to stay!!

5 on July 11, 2009

We have traveled to every state and many places in Europe and this B&B is one of the best we have ever been too! It has a real "family" feel to it! The managers could not have made us feel more comfortable. The breakfast is one that you will not forget! The room was complete with special touches and the balcony, overlooking the bay's activities, was very entertaining. It is walking distance to great seafood restaurants. We couldn't think of anything we needed or wanted that this place didn't have!


Jewel of the emerald coast

5 on September 02, 2008

Fantastic place overlooking the beautiful harbor, super comfortable rooms and very quiet. There is a nice bar lounge and dining area which we really enjoyed alos nice parking off the highway Someone did a great job fixing this up beautiful Mansion you'll love it.


Harbor Lights Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $129 - $189
  • Reviews (64) 3.9
  • Rooms 11
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5417652322
  • Phone 1-8002280448
  • Fax 1-5417652350

Visit Website »

View details

Top