The Pelton House Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.3
  • Services4.6
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.5
  • Dining4.5

Score Breakdown based on
149 Reviews

Write A Review

pelt on june 2014

4.8 on June 27, 2014

We were in the "Water" room and it was very nice. Clean, soft bedding, bathrobes, small but updated in tasteful decor.


Time well spent with the Pelton House

4.6 on June 04, 2014

We really loved our stay at the Pelton House. We had some time restraints and they were so flexible with us. We were really grateful. There were always chocolate chip cookies on counter. We felt really at home.


What a gem!

5 on May 29, 2014

This place was totally unreal. Not only was the room so lovely and MUCH bigger than expected, but everything was pristine and the beds were really comfortable. We had access to the garden, as well. The breakfast was totally delicious! Added bonus: we could walk just about everywhere around the city center. Will definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone.


RAVE REVIEWS!!

5 on May 03, 2014

I have already told MANY friends about this lovely, warm home and the incredible VALUE it is! Any time we stay in Ashland again, you can bet it will be at Pelton House. All of my pre-arrival interactions with them were gracious and accommodating. We were celebrating our anniversary, so chose the Metal Suite for its oversized tub. Upon arrival the owner gave us info on several excellent restaurants. The house's location puts it an easy and lovely walk to these many amazing restaurants. Back at the suite, the tub was just what the doctor ordered to make for a thoroughly relaxing evening. We were then greeted with the inviting scent of fresh baked chocolate chip cookies! She was going to bring them up to our room, but we met her in the dining room for warm cookies and were able to choose from a variety of yummy teas along with them. Breakfast was DE'lish ... hot coffee, orange juice, fresh diced fruit cup, freshly baked scones, a baked egg & asparagus frittata, and sausages ... all this while being waited on hand and foot by our gracious host! All this pampering for a mere 75 dollars! Whaaaat??!! SO thankful for the discovery of this gem in Ashland!!!


Lovely stay at The Pelton House

3.6 on April 14, 2014

My husband and I planned a short getaway for our anniversary, but we were on a fairly tight budget. I was excited when I found a genuinely nice B&B with a budget-friendly room! We stayed in the Water Room, which was bright, fresh, and clean. Breakfast was delicious and the owners were very accommodating and friendly without being overbearing. My one complaint was that it seems that the Water room is over the owners' living quarters, which was never explained to us. While it may or may not have changed our plans to stay at The Pelton House, I would've appreciated the heads up, as we heard most footsteps, felt and heard doors opening and closing, etc. (It did let me know why our room was so much less expensive than similar rooms or other rooms in The Pelton House!) All of that said, we did enjoy our stay at The Pelton House, and we thank the owners for their hospitality.


Excellent Choice in Ashland

4.4 on March 29, 2014

Mary, the operator, was very conscientious about meeting our needs and even made some last-minute changes so that we'd be more comfortable. Our room had a very comfortable bed, a beautiful skylight, and a very roomy bathtub. Easy walking to the theaters, restaurants/shops, and amazing Lithia Park. Great home base for relaxing in this unique village.


Comfortable and friendly

5 on November 14, 2013

A relaxing, tasteful, comfortable and friendly place. We've been staying here for many years. Delicious breakfasts. Easy walk to festival theaters, shops and galleries.


Delightful location - Charming owner

4.8 on November 09, 2013

We have stayed in a number of B & Bs and guest houses in Ashland. This was our first time at Pelton House and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The owner is truly genuine, warm and helpful. Since the location is so close to town, parking seemed tight, but the owner directed us to the small lot behind the house, very close to our cottage. We walked to the Community Market, to dinner, to the play, for coffee, etc. One feels as though one is in the heart of everything without being on the busy road or in a commercial area. The post office and alley provide a nice buffer from Lithia Way. Even in late October, Breakfast showed a full house, as every seat was taken. It seemed the true theater lovers visit after summer, many of the guests had been to Ashland and to other venues throughout the country. That made the conversation very interesting. Great find for a reasonable price!


Last weekend of OSF

4.8 on November 06, 2013

This was our second stay at Pelton House and we plan to go again in the future. Mary is a wonderful hostess and we were even able to check in early. She accommodates individual dietary needs for the breakfast and has freshly baked chocolate chip cookies waiting to welcome us! The location of the Pelton House to the venues is perfect. We highly recommend this B & B!


Pelton House double-booked our suite! Had to find other accommodations

1.0 on October 25, 2013

8 months before our visit to Ashland, we reserved a suite at Pelton House to share with our my sister and her family. I talked with an elderly woman at Pelton House and gave her our credit card information, which she had some difficulty with. So we talked again a few days later and she ran the card without difficulty. I asked for a confirmation, but she said it wasn't necessary with their size B&B, that the reservation was complete. About 5 weeks before coming down, I called to see if we could extend our stay by a day, only to be told there was no reservation, that the suite had been booked for a year. Not only did we need to locate alternative accommodations, this error resulted in my sister and her family not being able to come for the annual family trip to Oregon Shakespearean Festival. I can not express how unhappy I am with this failure to provide basic industry-standard practices. I certainly won't consider their establishment again, despite the good recommendation we'd gotten.


Contemporary Victorian Charm

3.6 on October 23, 2013

Lovely Victorian charm updated with clean contemporary stylishness. So close to town that the car keys never left the room. Breakfasts shared with other guests were fun and delicious.We will definitely return :)


Pelton House

4.2 on October 20, 2013

Great location, I love the "water" room above the garage- very private with an extremely comfy king size bed. Would gladly stay again. Breakfast was plentiful, but too much bread & fruit for me- perhaps that changes daily though.


Pelton House stay

4.6 on October 17, 2013

My husband and Istayed at Pelton House over the weekend. It was a lovely welcoming B&B. Mary, the hostess, ensured we had all we could possibly need, including advice about local amenities. Breakfast was delightful. It was gourmet rather than the usual fare. The House itself is very convenient to the Main Street and it is very picturesque. The room had a lovely modern ensuite.


A Short Notice Trip

5 on October 07, 2013

At the last minute my wife and I decided to see a couple of plays in Ashland. We were able to find tickets to two plays and then found this nice Bed & Breakfast. The room was clean, new bathroom with both a shower (multi- headed shower) and a bathtub and the real bonus was the hot tub right outside our room! Coffee was ready first thing in the morning and the breakfast was just great. All of this and only two blocks to the plays we wanted to see. We would stay here again......it was a very positive experience!


cypress room

4.0 on October 02, 2013

when we went online, room in Pelton house was avail but she sent e mail to say it was no longer avail. we were placed across street. Room was OK but not like others and bed was a little saggy. breakfast was fantastic and Mary was very nice.


Excellent B&B in Ashland

5 on October 01, 2013

We only stayed for one night but we'll definately return. Pelton House is a delightful B&B located in the historic Railroad District. It is only a few blocks from the downtown and Shakespeare Festival. We stayed in the Metal room - it was large (bathroom had a shower & soaking tub). No TV but does have wifi. Breakfast was very good - they will accomodate dietary restrictions. The house and grounds are very nice. We'll return for a longer stay.


Great place to stay in Ashland

4.4 on September 30, 2013

Pelton House is a great place to stay when visiting Ashland. The staff are very helpful, the breakfast is first class and the location is ideal, within easy walking distance to the theatres and restaurants. The rooms are nicely decorated, the beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms well equipped. We have stayed at Pelton House twice now and look forward to coming again in the future.


2nd Stay at a great B & B

4.6 on September 29, 2013

We stayed in the Earth room and it was perfect and beautiful. There is a spa outside that we enjoyed with a glass of wine. Breakfast was delicious and it is fun to meet the other guests.


Ashland's Shangri La

5 on September 06, 2013

My friend and I stay at the Pelton House whenever we can book it for our annual reunion. Unfortunately, we don't make plans far enough in advance. Since we generally stay for an entire week, more often than not there will be days during the week we've chosen that are not available. Just shows you that the Pelton House is beloved by...too many. There have been years when we book what we can and then move to different location for the remainder of our stay. We love the Fire Room with its twin beds and gorgeous bathroom. The house is in a convenient, quiet location near downtown Ashland. The breakfasts are amazing. And when you return from an evening OSF performance, there will be cookies waiting on a plate baked just for you (or so it seems). We love Brenda and Mary, and you will too.


Unexpected Gem in Ashland

4.6 on August 28, 2013

This was a great deal and a lovely place to stay. Not only was the room lovely, the food divine and the service incredible, but the grounds themselves are beautiful and right by the middle of town. I highly recommend it.


Our Stay at Pelton House

3.8 on August 28, 2013

Lovely clean, comfortable, spacious accommodation(luxury Bathroom!) within easy walking distance of Shakespeare theatres, shops and restaurants. Friendly welcome and home made breakfast. Would stay again when visiting Ashland.


The Pelton House

4.0 on August 24, 2013

We enjoyed our stay there very much, and it was very close to the theaters.


very relaxing

4.6 on August 22, 2013

Very relaxing atmosphere and close to everything. You can walk to the theaters. Food was very good and everyone was so friendly.


Nice rooms, great location

3.6 on August 21, 2013

The location of this B&B is ideal for going to the Shakespeare Festival. It's our second time staying here. The rooms are nice, we enjoyed the Earth Room, with it's private entrance and jacuzzi off the patio. The staff are very nice and helpful. We did think that the quality of the breakfast had declined. Also, we informed the staff, well in advance, of a food allergy and again the night before and they still didn't remember it when they served the breakfast. Such a shame. So, we would recommend it for location and the rooms, but not the food.


Highly recommend

4.8 on August 19, 2013

I looked at many options for accommodations and am happy I chose Pelton House. The house and the grounds are charming. The room was clean, bathroom had all amenities and the shower was wonderful. We met fun people at our breakfasts --and then went for walks all over town to work off the delicious meal. Ideal location to walk anywhere and parking is easy and safe. We will go back next year.


Fun and cozy place to stay!

5 on August 12, 2013

We had a great time at the Pelton House. The breakfast was delicious and the Hostess was very accommodating.


What an absolute treat!

5 on August 09, 2013

My son and I treated ourselves to this lovely bed and breakfast at the end of a four day camping trip. Even though we arrived late, our hosts were so kind and received us with absolute graciousness. Mary's generous spirit made us feel welcomed and well taken care of. The place was quaint, cozy and still luxuriant in its own way. Just steps from downtown, it was so easy to take a walk about town and return "home" again. Breakfast was divine, the company of other guests quite delightful. I highly recommend the Pelton House for anyone who wants to find that home away from home. I only wish we had stayed longer. But we will be back!


JulesFrankDee

4.8 on August 08, 2013

The location was very convenient (walkable) to the theater. There were many eating establishments within walking distance. The hostess was very congenial and accommodating. We enjoyed our stay and would stay again.


Beautiful and close to the theatres!

4.4 on August 07, 2013

First time at this B&B. Beautiful room, gorgeous bathroom. Would like to have more interaction with the hosts.


Pelton House

3.4 on August 04, 2013

Convenient location


Convenient and Beautiful

4.2 on July 25, 2013

The Pelton House was very close to downtown Ashland and the Shakespeare theatre venues. The food was delicious and the room comfortable and private. The shower in the bathroom was spectacular. We would stay there again.


Wonderful -- highly recommended

4.8 on July 25, 2013

Highly recommend this wonderful B&B - great location in Ashland, wonderful hosts who went out of their way to accomodate us, clean and super-nice room, great value for money. We'll definitely be back. Thank you Mary and Brenda!


Our First Bed & Breakfast Experience

4.4 on July 20, 2013

My husband and I just celebrated our 6 month wedding anniversary at The Pelton House. We had never been to a bed and breakfast and were so pleasantly surprised! The Pelton house was so much more welcoming than any hotel. Our room (Water) was beautiful, fresh, quiet, and clean. The breakfast was delicious and the ladies who work there were very kind and welcoming. We will definitely be back!


Like staying in a friend's guest room

4.4 on June 26, 2013

Our room was very comfortable and gave us access to common kitchen, dining and patio areas. We felt very much as if we were welcome guests in a friend's or relatives' home. The manager, staff and other guests were quite friendly and helpful. The location is excellent, and permits walking to any downtown destination.


loved it!

5 on June 26, 2013

Very nice.


Loved the Whole Experience

5 on June 22, 2013

From the moment we walked into this beautiful, cozy home and were greeted by beautiful photographs of owls and other birds, to the super snuggly bed and gorgeous bathroom, the entire stay was sublime. Delicious cookies left out on a plate for guests, excellent breakfast and GOOD coffee. I cannot recommend this place enough. I can't wait to return.


Affordable gem

5 on June 20, 2013

I had never stayed in a B & B before staying at The Pelton House, I wasn't sure what to expect. The room I had wanted was not available when I originally booked and they told me that I would have to switch rooms mid-stay. I didn't mind that, the rooms they were putting us in were a little larger and a little more expensive, but not by much. When we arrived the first thing I noticed was how beautiful the yard was. There was a large tree with a swing and an outdoor table with an arbor over it, for a shady dining spot. When we walked in, it was peaceful and cozy. We met Mary and she remembered that I had booked this for my birthday. She showed us to our beautiful room, we stayed in the Metal room, and told us we wouldn't have to move rooms. YAY! The room was fairly good sized with a king bed, but the star of the show was the bathroom. The shower and tub were separate. The tub was large enough for my boyfriend and I to fit! The toiley was also behind it's own door which wad another nice perk. I was amazed how quiet it was, my boyfriend and I commented we weren't even sure anyone else was staying there. Of course, we saw everyone at breakfast, but outside of that, the house was pretty quiet the rest of the day. Breakfasts were delicious and the coffee was good and strong. They also had cookies in the afternoon that were homemade and really yummy. I have zero complaints about The Pelton House and can't imagine staying anywhere else when I travel to Ashland. For the price and value, you can't beat it!


Great value

4.6 on June 15, 2013

Within walking distance to everything important plus included parking. Very accommodating to my special dietary needs.


A Delightful Stay at Pelton House

4.6 on June 10, 2013

Pelton House is an excellent option for those attending plays at OSF. It is very comfortable and charming and close to everything. The two bedroom suite is considerably less expensive than two hotel rooms or a two bedroom cottage. The breakfast is ample and tasty, and the morning conversation with the other guests is very interesting and enjoyable and turned out to be an unexpected bonus to staying in a bed and breakfast.


memorable night

4.6 on June 06, 2013

The water room was quite delightful with its own balcony, simple and efficient furnishings and strong bed. We will be back. Nigel and Katherine.


Relaxing Stay

5 on June 01, 2013

My husband, son and I had stayed here once before 2 years ago and had such a pleasant stay that we once again decided to come to the Pelton house. We were unable to stay in the same room we did last time (Sequoia) but Mary did offer us the Woods suite and it was wonderful. Two adjoining rooms with a shared bathroom worked perfect for us. The breakfast was wonderful and the other guests were very nice. Mary and Brenda are very quick to ask you if you have any food restrictions which I find so refreshing. My son and I are lactose intolerant and Mary/Brenda were very kind as to serve us dairy free foods. The second day they were going to be putting a little bit of cottage cheese in the quiche and Mary was quick to find us and see if that would be okay....if not she offered to substitute for us. I assured her that a little bit of dairy would be okay and thanked her for asking us. They have a refrigerator full of water and sodas and freshly baked cookies every afternoon. I had tea the first morning and Mary remembered that and without me asking offered tea to me the second morning. The Pelton house makes you feel at home. We will stay there again.


Repeat Customers

3.8 on May 30, 2013

We visit Ashland, OR at lest twice a year and have stayed at the Pelton House since discovring it five years ago. We have experienced six different rooms and enjoyed them all. Love the uniquie bathrooms. The breakfasts are outstanding and the innkeepers very accomodating.


Clean, Quiet, Very Close

4.0 on May 25, 2013

Pelton House is clean, quiet, and in an excellent location. Owners are kind. Ample parking and 2 blocks from downtown and from coop. Metal room is upstairs, has comfortable King bed, ceiling fan, thermostat with AC and heat. Bathroom is as big as bedroom with tiled shower stall, soaking bath tub big enough for 2, separate toilet. You get keys to lock your room and for front door which is locked in evening. Living room to lounge in with nice sitting area, magazines and newspapers. Small fridge in entry. Coffee at 730 and breakfast at 9. Breakfast was homemade and plenty of food. Most of the guests were regulars who stay at least once a year and it was comforting to know that people keep coming back. No lace and flowers here which is refreshing. Great place and would recommend.


Wonderful Reunion

4.8 on May 13, 2013

We had several lovely stays at the Pelton House. Breakfasts were substancial and delicious. Beds were comfortable and the tub in the Manzanita suite was luxurious. We enjoyed the walking distance to the heart of Ashland, the Oregon Shakespeare Festival , restaurants and the food coop for picnic lunches in the backyard. We had a wonderful family reunion where we could all gather comfortably under the shade of the magnificent cedar tree.


Marvelous

5 on May 12, 2013

Pelton House is full of warm and wonderful people. Some of the guests have been coming since it opened. I lucked into a room at the last minute. The bed was oh so comfortable, the tub divine, and the breakfast delicious. The cookies that welcomed me on my arrival were so tasty I almost scarfed down the whole plate. I loved every minute spent here.


Loved it again and will definitely return

4.6 on May 12, 2013

This is our second stay atnPelton House and we were very pleased once again. Mary is a gracious host and we always meet interesting people at the delicious breakfasts. It is so conveniently located you don't need to move your car once you arrive. We plan to make this a yearly trip.


B&B walking distance to the Oregon Shakespeare Festival

4.0 on April 29, 2013

Great Breakfasts. You may not be hungry the rest of the day. It was great to park the car and never need it for the rest of the stay. Almost everything is within walking distance. I met a number of people during the stay who had been to this B&B multiple times over the years. When they come to town it's the play they always stay. If you're going to one of the OSF Plays and need a play to stay you can't go wrong.


Home away from home in Ashland

4.6 on April 14, 2013

We have stayed at Pelton House many times because of the warmth and caring of the owners and proximity to the Oregon Shakespeare Festival. We missed seeing Mary and Brenda this time, but Karen did a lovely job of making us feel comfortable. We like the Water Room because of the privacy.


Excellent Getaway Experience

4.2 on November 12, 2012

It was my first visit to Ashland and staying at the Pelton House was perfect. I loved the location and being able to walk to everything downtown, in fact we parked the car upon arriving on Thursday and didn't use it until we left for home on Sunday. Brenda and Mary are gracious and generous in their hospitality. Their recommendations for activities and restaurants were helpful and accurate . . . we ate some great food and loved the art walk evening on Friday night.


Reliable, well-appointed Ashland B&B in a good location

4.4 on November 05, 2012

A nice inn within easy walking distance to the OSF and restaurants. Rooms are spotlessly clean, pleasant, and well-appointed. The breakfasts are fine, if not spectacular. I've been visiting the OSF for over 25 years, and this is my current 'default' B&B, for its combination of location, ambiance, and value.


Ashland visit

4.8 on October 30, 2012

Stayed only one night - it was great. We had 3 couples ( a total of 2 rooms) and all of us were exteremely happy with our stay.


Pelton House is a great place to stay.

4.8 on October 19, 2012

Mary and Brenda keep a warm, clean, comfortable, and friendly place. Our bed was very comfy and the bathroom was gorgeous!! The food is well-prepared and beautifully presented. They made a special entree for me each morning because of my allergy to milk. I would have appreciated a little more variety--I had eggs each of the three mornings--but this is a very small thing. Beware, the cookies left out for guest in the evening are amazing and irresistible!!


Excellent accommodations close to theatres

4.6 on October 14, 2012

I liked the clean modern furnishings within the Victorian rooms. The beds were great. The bathrooms (shower only in the two rooms we were in) were lavishly tiled with vessel sinks. Our hostesses were friendly but unobtrusive. Breakfasts were very good. Located just three blocks from the restaurants, theatres and the park beyond. A very positive experience. Cute Pekinese, too!


An evening at Pelton house

5 on October 08, 2012

This was my last day/overnight in Ashland, and it was the perfect way to end my visit. Mary is so kind and thoughtful, and I made some new friends at breakfast!


Our first time at The Pelton House

5 on September 30, 2012

The Pelton House was an outstanding experience. Being in town was so convenient. The B&B community added a whole another dimension to our Ashland experience. Being able to discuss plays, the different interpretations and sharing experiences was truly an unexpected but thoroughly enjoyed and remembered time. It was very much appreciated they accommodated my dietary restrictions. I would recommend the The Pelton House when staying in Ashland. Enjoy.


A pleasing experience

4.6 on September 27, 2012

Very helpful and informative reservation process over the internet and by phone. Had to ask however for a confirmation email.


Great stay in Ashland!

4.8 on September 22, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay. The rooms were comfortable and not too "frou-frou," like some B&Bs can be. Breakfast was delicious, and the hosts were so gracious and helpful.


love this place!

4.6 on September 16, 2012

This is my favorite place to stay when I come to Ashland! I love that it's within walking distance of the theatre as well as shopping. Very nice owners!


Great Place - stay here every time

4.6 on September 13, 2012

This B&B is actually two properties. Both times we've been in the rustic home across the street from the Pelton House Property. Each time a differen room. The rooms have everything you need. And the Inn Keeper makes the best fresh cookies EVERY day, hot out of the oven! Plenty nooks and out of the way spots for a relaxing sit in the yards. Off the beaten path just on the edge of town but within easy walking distance of all downtown/Shakespeare happenings.


Manzanita

4.6 on September 10, 2012

The house exterior could use some upkeep--picket fence needs painting, drain in Manzanita shower could use unplugging. Breakfast menu items great, but could be updated.


Cookies and convenience

4.4 on September 10, 2012

Mary and her daughter are great hosts. Mary gave detailed and easy to follow directions to the B&B when we arrived in town. We were greeted with freshly, warm, chocolate chip cookies and directions to the Shakespeare Festival - just four blocks away - the main reason for choosing this location. Parking at the B&B, easy walk through the town. Coffee and tea, and a real kitchen available in the house we stayed in across from the regular facility. Breakfast was prepared earlier than usual for us as we had an early departure. Baking is a speciality - a sponge-cake-like upside down pancake of sorts preceeded by a fruit compote. Both Mary and her daughter were friendly, helpful, and conscientious. We'd stay here again.


A delightfully awesome experience!

5 on September 04, 2012

For a first experience in a B&B in Ashland it was wonderful! We loved every minute of our stay....the service was incredible and the food outstanding. Thanks for our special anniversary get-a-way!


OSF Great Find

3.6 on August 29, 2012

Very clean, good breakfast, very nice and helpful owners. Went to Shakespere and only had to walk two blocks. Great location for that.


Pelton House

5 on August 17, 2012

Being greeted as we came on the property and welcomed. It was nice to be told it was okay to be early and we only waited five minutes for our room to be ready. Food accommodations were no problems. Food was great. Helpful and accessible. Great place to stay. Will go back again!


fabulous location to the OSF theatres!

5 on August 16, 2012

I usually travel with a girlfriend to visit Ashland and the theatres. This is one of the few B&Bs that have twin beds available.


Places to Depend On

4.8 on August 13, 2012

Just stayed for a Thursday-Friday over-nighter in Ashland. As usual the Pelton House was welcoming and a very good place to stay. Staff will assist in any way they can. Breakfast was very good the next morning. The second floor Water room was warm at first but it cooled off nicely without using the fan or the air conditioning which were there as back-ups to the nightly breeze through the window. Very clean and certainly recommended!


We keep coming back!

5 on August 08, 2012

In addition to being a lovely B & B with hosts that make you feel right at home, Pelton House has lovely yards outside of each of their homes where guests can relax in the shade with a good book or bottle of wine. We've shared some special encounters with other guests there. In addition, it is so close to all the theaters and restaurants that you never feel hurried.


Pelton House Ashland OR

4.6 on August 04, 2012

Great location for attending the theater. Nice back yard to relax in. Our room was great and the bathroom was beautiful Breakfast was basic but good. Nice to have a guest refrigerator available. Mary was very attentive to be sure our needs were met. We will stay here again.


Great place to stay - basic rooms

3.8 on July 27, 2012

Loved the location and the cooked breakfasts were great. Nothing too much trouble and very hospitable. The only quibble is the rooms are spacious but very basic. No cupboard storage for clothes. Really just a bed and a TV


Fabulous b&b! We loved it.

4.4 on July 19, 2012

The owners are very friendly and the rooms are lovely. Comfortable beds, very nicely decorated rooms, beautiful yard. The food was AMAZING!! Fresh cookies when we arrived and breakfast was homemade scones, fresh fruit, delicious baked eggs & veggies, great coffee. . .yum. I would go back just to eat breakfast there. We stayed in a 2 bedroom/1 bath suite. The only thing I would change would be to have a lock on our bedroom door and our bathroom, as my husband and I stayed with our daughter and would have like the assurance of privacy for our "alone time". Thank you! We would definitely come again.


Great experience

5 on July 19, 2012

We loved our stay at Pelton House - beautiful room and bathroom, lovely hostess, and great food. All around a great experience.


Pelton House visit

5 on July 18, 2012

The B&B was great, breakfast was good and the garden and yard area were a great place to hang out. It was in close walking distance to downtown, a great food co-op and the theaters.


great B and B, great location

4.4 on July 17, 2012

This was our second stay at the Pelton House and we were just as pleased as we were the first time. The location is perfect for attending OSF. We walked everywhere- to the plays, Lithia Park, restaurants-no car needed once we got there. The room was very clean, very tastefully decorated- no cutesy Teddy bears and country knickknacks-cozy but with clean, contemporary style. The owners are friendly, easy going and very accommodating. The breakfasts are always delicious-Brenda is a talented cook and especially wonderful baker. Awesome scones and muffins at breakfast and irresistible fresh cookies every afternoon. We'll definitely go back.


Outstanding

5 on July 17, 2012

The Pelton House was a delight. Good food, friendly people, beautiful rooms and bathrooms. Enjoyed our visit very much and would definitely stay here again when in Ashland


Our favorite!!!

5 on July 10, 2012

We're frequent visitors to Ashland...Pelton House is our number one choice. When our favorite room isn't available, we try other lodging but always come back to Pelton House. It can't be beat!


Pleasant stay. Close to theaters, etc.

4.4 on July 05, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Pelton House. I was a bit nervous at first, never having stayed at a bed and breakfast before, but really enjoyed it once we settled in. We stayed in the Manzinita rooms ( across the street from the main house). We had the entire floor to ourselves ( with the exception of the laundry room, which no one came to use during our stay) and my friend and I enjoyed each having our own room to sleep in. The service was excellent, and the innkeepers were helpful, but not at all pushy. We felt like we had free run of the common areas of the house. We even had plenty of room in the large fridge for whatever we wanted to keep in there. Our favorite room was the sun room with all of the open air and the view of the garden. We had tea there each day with tea we served ourselves from one of the many teapots in the kitchen. (if you are a tea snob, you may want to bring your own or buy some from the Adalante Gallery and Tea Bar in town, as the selection, while varried, was not very high quality). The property is easy walking distance to town and the theaters, as well as to the co -op grocery and deli. Breakfast was in the main house. The food was yummy, but high on the starch and sugars ( which I really enjoyed, but my friend wanted more protein, etc.) I was sad to have to leave when we did, as there was no room at the inn for the rest of our stay in Ashland. This was the nicest of the six different places we stayed on our 8 day road trip to Ashland and back. If there is room, I hope to stay again ( and for longer) next year.


Pelton House- our favorite B&B

5 on June 26, 2012

Pelton House is our favorite place to stay in Ashland and we have stayed there many times. It also happens to be our favorite B&B anyplace. The breakfasts alone are worth the stay. I feel like I'm staying at a loving aunt's home. The proximity to the theater is great too. We can walk to everything from Pelton House.


Pelton House the place to stay in Ashland for quality and value

5 on June 25, 2012

Lovely B&B with really welcoming staff. Excellent prices for the location and the quality of rooms, food and service.


Outstanding

5 on June 24, 2012

Wonderful place, wonderful hosts, great company. Breakfasts to die for. All in all, a must for anybody staying in Ashland.


All this and a great location too!

4.4 on June 09, 2012

The accomadations were great, but the kindness of the people will make me go back.


Pelton House is Great

4.6 on June 04, 2012

Great location for theater goers. Very informative and amiable hosts. Interesting clientele. Fun dogs. Everything one could ask for in a B&B.


Nice little getaway.

4.0 on May 31, 2012

The room was very clean. The bathrooms (they showed us some of the other rooms) are incredibly well done. There's even a separate heater in the bathroom, which I found to be an excellent touch. The exterior of the house could use a little bit of maintenance, though. Overall, it was a great value for the price.


a Jewel in Ashland

5 on May 23, 2012

Very nice, homey, cozy. Luxurious bathroom. Every little detail thought through. Loved wood decor


Lovely

4.8 on May 21, 2012

Pelton house is a lovely place to stay. Beautiful unique rooms. We always meet interesting friendly people here. We return very year and will continue to do so.


A Very Nice Stay

4.8 on May 19, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed overnight at the Pelton House on our way to Monterey from Portland. We found the room and the hospitality to be impeccable. While not originally planning to do so, we were fortunately able to stay once again in the same room ten days later on our return trip home. we are looking forward to returning for a longer stay in the fall.


Great service at Pelton House B&B.

4.2 on May 09, 2012

We stayed in the Sequoia Room. It's a great room with a king and 2 twin beds and lots of space. It is also right next to the shared kitchen with full facilities. We had to leave early, before normal breakfast. Brenda cheerfully made us a scone, yogurt parfait and oatmeal. I don't know what the normal breakfast was that day, but ours was great. We will return to the Pelton House.


Walk to the theatre

3.6 on May 07, 2012

A good stay in Ashland. Pelton House needs a fresh coat of paint and yard work done


Nourishing Comfort with a touch of Elegance

5 on April 15, 2012

The Pelton House is pure delight to one's senses. The historical home sits within the center of Asland's quaint village, making access to all the sights and delights a short stroll away. Each room is thoughtfully richly appointed with contemporary furnishings, luxurious baths and bedding that embraces the body in total comfort. Breakfast is not for the faint of heart! Eggs benedict,breadpudding, gloriously colorful fruit plates and breads are served by the wonderful hosts as you join in at the country table in lively conversation. The white picket fence surrounding the home, contains a spacious magical garden of green grass, budding flowers and willowy trees inviting one to sit and reflect in soulful presence, refreshing the spirit. I love The Pelton House!


Love, Love, Love this B&B!

5 on March 07, 2012

My Significant Other and I have stayed at the Pelton House many times, and our last stay in the Earth room was amazing! The private hot tub was such a treat. We love the modern, spacious, and inviting interior designs of the rooms here, particularly the Earth and Water rooms. And Mary and Brenda are both such welcoming and lovely hosts. We HIGHLY recommend this B&B!


Pelton House Review

4.8 on March 05, 2012

We were able to obtain an off-season rate which was an amazing value. The hostess was so sweet! Breakfast was amazing - we got shirred eggs and a bread pudding. Prior to each course, you get a cup of fruit, juice and coffee/tea. There are always cookies out. It was so homey. Really excellent stay.


Thanks Pelton House!

4.4 on February 22, 2012

The staff were very nice, and I felt the room was a great value! Very centrally located in Ashland's Railroad District, but a block or so away from the busy streets so we still got quiet. We could walk to everything!


A bit strange.

2.6 on January 13, 2012

Our visit was a bit strange. Though the accomodations (water room) were nice, it wasn't the traditional bed and breakfast warmth and friendliness that I was expecting. Before we arrived we spoke with the owner on the phone and gave her our ETA. When we got there, we walked up to the front of the main building and rang the bell. We were greeted by bewildered guests, and led to believe that we were in the wrong place (even though Pelton House was on the sign). After a few confused minutes, the owner came rushing over from across the street. She guided us to a back cottage where our room was and told us the main house was being rented in its entirety to a family. I would have appreciated finding out about this prior to arrival. The water room was nice. There was a gas (fake) wood burning stove, comfy king size bed, and a clean and modern bathroom. The TV was tiny and only got about 5 local channels, which was not a huge deal as we didn't want to spend too much time watching television our one night in Ashland. Take note about the water room: there is a large skylight right above the bed, which was charming in the evening but shone bright light into our eyes in the morning. There was also a strangely old, lint-covered robe hanging on the coat rack in our room - very out of place in the otherwise sparkling environment. The breakfast was disappointing. Because the main house was off-limits we were instructed to walk across the street to eat breakfast in the owner's tiny kitchen. It was awkward and not very comfortable. We were served fruit, blackberry muffins, and then fruit-topped bread pudding. As strange combination if you ask me. The food was OK.


A good nights sleep, but a great breakfast

3.8 on January 10, 2012

We were not able to get the water room, and was in the building adjacent. The bedroom interior nearly the same as hoped for....the breakfast was the outstanding item to complement on. We will plan to stay here again when possible.


Tasteful and attentive

5 on November 26, 2011

We have had the good fortune to stay in three of the Pelton Houses's rooms and loved each of them, the owners have excellent taste and give great attention to detail. Mostly though we have been pleased with the personal attention to our needs (traveling with small children). The house is one block from the center of Ashland, in a quiet, pleasant neighborhood, and includes a beautiful large garden and exceptional breakfast menus.


Cute B&B in a Cute town

4.2 on November 21, 2011

My husband and I stayed here after a camping trip - so the accommodations were welcomed! The breakfast is great and the service is nice. We stayed in the Fire room. We really liked the decor and the bathroom shower had lots of room and good water pressure. No picture of the Fire room was posted online so we were surprised to find our room had 2 twin beds instead of 1 queen. The owner said she informed us, but that wasn't the case. Anyhow, just be aware if you stay in the Fire room that it's 2 twin beds. Also- owners if you read this, please update your website. Other than that, we had a pleasant stay. Did I mention breakfast was fabulous?!


Pelton House in Ashland, Oregon

4.0 on November 13, 2011

Great website and easy to navigate. Simple, but delicious breakfast. Very friendly and helpful owners.


shakespeare

4.4 on November 10, 2011

Great location. Welcoming hostess. All the details taken care of. Highly recommend.


Perfect Place to Stay

4.6 on November 09, 2011

I picked the Pelton House because it was between the Shakespeare Festival and my favorite restaurant in town, The Peerless. My son and I stayed in the room, Fire, which had two twin beds and was located in the main house. I was pleasantly surprised by the comfort and modernity of our room and bathroom (gorgeously done in slate with an amber raised glass bowl sink). The robes were a nice added touch. I would definitely stay here again.


A Great Little B & B

4.8 on November 05, 2011

Pelton House is a nice, cozy place and perfect for walking downtown, to a play or to Lithia Park. The breakfast is terrific and Brenda was very nice about fixing a special oatmeal for my husband. We enjoyed our stay. I did think the bathroom was rather small in the Water Room and needed a shelf (at least under the sink) to put your stuff on. But, that's minor compared to the comfortable feeling we had while we were there.


First Stay at Pelton House

3.0 on November 04, 2011

The Pelton House is in an excellent location, only a couple of blocks from the Shakespeare Festival and local restaurants. Although small, the room was very nice, if a little dark. The staff was very kind. It was a fine place to stay, but nothing was extraordinary, which is why I have rated that everything met our expectations.


A Home Away From Home.

4.6 on October 22, 2011

We stayed for several nights in the Pelton House, and have been raving about it since. Even with theatre and the beautiful scenery around, this place still managed to be a highlight of the trip. The staff went out of their way to be courteous and accommodating; the location was perfect - a short walk from everything, but in so quiet a location it felt more remote than a suburb (perfect for relaxing outside, in the beautiful garden). All was very clean and quiet, yet friendly and close to everything. A perfect combination. Kudos!


Pelton House

3.4 on October 18, 2011

Comfortable and convenient. The shower stall in the Wood room was worth the visit


Old Friends

4.0 on October 14, 2011

The Pelton House Divas are old friends that we love seeing year after year. They always make room for us even on short notice. Their rooms are lovely, breakfast is delicious, and they are a short walk to the theater!


It was a lovely stay

3.4 on October 11, 2011

I enjoyed my stay at the Pelton House. I especially loved eating the chocolate chip cookies. The owners were very nice, as well.


Pelton House

3.8 on October 07, 2011

Very quiet, larger room than expected, good food, good company, good location.


Nice B&B

4.2 on October 04, 2011

The service was great, and we really enjoyed the breakfast. Overall, we had a great stay.


A lovely stay

3.6 on October 03, 2011

Our room was in the house across the street from Pelton House. A bit small, but comfortable, and the bathroom was charming. Pots of decaf and regular coffee are set up for the morning, providing fresh coffee whenever you wake up and push the button. The hostess was delightful, atmosphere friendly. Would definitely return.


Manzanita near perfect for two couples travelling together

4.0 on September 23, 2011

We were two couples who stayed in the Manzanita rooms in a cottage across the street from the Pelton House itself for a couple of nights in early September 2011. Each couple had a separate upstairs queen bedroom and shared an expansive spa-type bath and shower down the hallway (a washer and dryer were also available, but we did not use them). Downstairs in the building, we shared with occupants of two other downstairs rooms, a nicely equipped and stocked kitchen, and several pleasant sitting and eating areas (inside and out -- perfect for the hot days and pleasant evenings we spent). Cookies and breakfasts were very tasty, if not gigantic; just right for us. Best of all, the facilities are located in the heart of downtown Ashland, a few short blocks from OSF venues, very pleasant morning walks in Lithia Park, and within easy walking distance to Ashland's many restaurants, shops, museums, galleries, and bookstores. The price for the Manzanita and breakfasts, considering the time of year, competition and location, was very fair for 4 people in separate rooms.


WONDERFUL IN EVERY WAY!

5 on September 20, 2011

Pelton House exceeded our expectations in every way. Breakfast each day was delicious. The rooms were clean and well organized. Love not having TV's in the rooms! Mary and Brenda (and little Warren) were most gracious hosts. My cousin and I plan to return to Pelton House next chance we have to travel to Ashland! Carole Matteson and Patricia Matthews


Lovely Stay in Ashland!!

5 on September 09, 2011

We were very pleased with the accomodation at Pelton House. We stayed in the Water room and it was quite lovely - comfortable bedding and beautiful decor. The breakfast was incredibly delicious and Brenda, the hostess, was very friendly and helpful. We would certainly stay here again and recommend it to our friends.


Third time Stay

5 on September 05, 2011

Can't say exceeded our expectations because they were as good as we have experienced in the past. Lovely, convenient place to stay. Very helpful all the way from recommending restaurants, pointing out birds nesting, and putting out blankets to take to the outdoor theater.


Cute place to stay

3.6 on August 26, 2011

We like this B&B because it's right in town, but quiet. One bonus is the tasteful, modern decor - none of the frilly/cheesy decor that is common to many B&Bs. The friendly staff never hesitates to accommodate our dietary restrictions. Would definitely recommend.


Extremely Pleased!

3.8 on August 11, 2011

Only there for one night...sadly, but enjoyed the lawn chairs, cute room and cool house. We got to stayed in the McCully house. Too many BIG pillows on the bed and nowhere to put them but on the floor. Thanks for the breakfast coupon, too! We dined around town...


Wonderful stay and wonderful people

4.8 on August 08, 2011

This inn is wonderful, with warm, friendly, and competent innkeepers, and is a great value as well. There are many various options for room/bed configurations, all in cozy and wonderfully renovated rooms and houses. The breakfasts are a highlight, and the many homey touches made us feel like Pelton House is a home away from home.


Unique & Comfortable B&B

5 on July 29, 2011

We stayed for two days & nights, we loved the rooms & breakfast. Wonderful!


Pelton House, Ashland, Oregon

4.0 on July 26, 2011

Great place to stay - the room was spacious and had tons of character. The food was excellent!


Our 6th Stay at Pelton House

4.8 on July 22, 2011

Our stay was just as good the first time as well as the 6th time. Hostess of the house was gracious and very accommodating. Rooms tastefully decorated and comfortable. We felt welcomed and at-home. Breakfast was tasty and presented "Bon Appetit" quality. Location of the house was ideal....2 blocks from downtown and theaters.


Ashland Pelton House mini vacation

4.8 on July 15, 2011

Our stay at the Pelton House was absolutely needed. The Earth room with it's own private hot tub and mini courtyard was perfect. Quiet, clean and the hospitality by Mary and her daughter was second to none. We will definitely be back. The location to downtown and the theaters is unbeatable.


Outstanding

5 on July 14, 2011

We stayed in the Cypress Room and it was outstanding. We have already reserved it for next year. The food was excellent and we enjoyed the afternoon home made cookies each day! Mary was great and made our stay very welcoming.


Pelton House review

5 on July 09, 2011

y stay at Pelton House, which was also close to the theaters. The room was large and comfortable, and the breakfasts were super. We also enjoyed talking not only to the guests but also to the owners.


Great Stay

4.4 on July 03, 2011

We loved the Pelton House. Great hosts and wonderful breakfast. Close to everything. Will be our first choice next time we are in Ashland.


location, location, location

3.6 on July 02, 2011

Perfect spot to stay in Ashland- close to everything. Breakfasts are really delicious and plentiful. Rooms were pleasant enough, but the general property is in need of some deep cleaning and repairs.


Pleasant Stay

3.8 on June 25, 2011

I would recommend this place highly. It was within walking distance to theater, shopping and dining. The breakfast were very good and they cater to your needs. The staff was very friendly and the afternoon cookies a delight.


Very nice place to stay

4.0 on June 15, 2011

We stayed here last year and will return later this year. Brenda was very helpful in making a reservation. Be sure to call them because the website doesn't show all the available rooms.


Lovely B&B can't wait to return

5 on June 12, 2011

The garden was beautiful, rooms large and well decorated, always cookies out freshly made Huge delicious breakfast perfect place to stay. Ashland was a delightful town to visit


Nice rooms and great service!

3.8 on June 06, 2011

The rooms are great. Very comfortable beds and lots of room. The innkeepers are very friendly and accomodating. Breakfast was fancy and yummy, though if you are looking for something to really hold you over, this will not. Lots of pastry type sweets, but no protein. Otherwise, this was a great value (especially their off-season rates)!


Wonderful hosts at the Pelton House

4.4 on May 26, 2011

Mary and her family are generous hosts and made me feel right at home. Location is close to dining and the theaters.


Charming B&B

4.8 on May 23, 2011

Very convenient for attending the Ashland Shakespearean Plays. The breakfast was excellent. Parking can be difficult. Overall highly recommended!


Pelton House Ashland

5 on May 23, 2011

We've stayed several times at the Pelton House and always have a great time. The rooms are quite comfortable, even luxurious, and the bathrooms pretty spectacular.


Great Girlfriend Getaway

5 on May 18, 2011

We rented the house across from the main B&B for four days. We loved it. Lovely rooms, great kitchen, nice outdoor area and fresh baked cookies every afternoon, need I say more? Everything is within walking distance, one friend lost two pounds even though we ate great food and drank perhaps a bit too much.


Earth

5 on April 28, 2011

Beautiful room, very comfortable bed, slept great! Wished we could have stayed longer. Will return if possible.


Pelton House is Outstanding!

5 on April 27, 2011

The Pelton House is close to shops, eateries and to the Shakespeare Festival. The breakfasts are wonderful and the rooms are comfortable. Mary and Brenda are the PERFECT hosts. We travel to Ashland three times each year and wouldn't stay anywhere else.


Very nice B & B

4.0 on April 21, 2011

Very nice B&B, super nice owner, cook, etc. Lovely bedding, which I really care about, and nice light breakfast with congenial crowd both mornings. Beautiful bathrooms. We enjoyed it.


Quick stay -- but we'll be back!

4.0 on April 20, 2011

We enjoyed the Water Room, which was airy and private. The innkeeper was gracious, breakfast delicious, and the conversation with the other guests great fun. Also very nice dogs..... And a very convenient location to boot.


Very Delightful

3.6 on April 10, 2011

Very delightful weekend stay at the Pelton House. Innkeepers were friendly and helpful with ideas and suggestions; the room and bathroom were spacious and comfortable; and the breakfasts delicious. Will definitely stay here again.


Repeat Customers

4.2 on April 02, 2011

This was our 4th stay at Pelton House, with 5th and 6th stays upcoming. We find Pelton House extremely convenient to the theatres and downtown shops and dining. The staff is friendly and efficient, rooms uniquely decorated and breakfasts delicious. We highly recommend Pelton House!


Great Place!

4.6 on March 30, 2011

Great selection of accommodations. Rooms boutique hotel-like; bathrooms exceptional. Great personal service and home-made breakfasts. Perfect location for Oregon Shakespeare Festival.


Great stay

4.8 on March 15, 2011

We enjoyed all aspects of our stay at Pelton House. The house and our room were exceptionally well decorated and presented. The location is ideal for Ashland theater and for strolling the main street and the Railroad District. The welcome was warm and the breakfast quite good. We'll be back.


Pelton House B&B

4.8 on February 27, 2011

gracious hostess, wonderfully comfortable rooms, easy access to downtown, fantastic food! I will certainly return.


Pelton House in Ashland is Outstanding!

5 on February 24, 2011

Everything about the Pelton House and our stay was superb! Mary, our host, and her family are delightful. Our room was cozy, clean and lovely. The location is ideal for those who prefer to walk to activities, shopping and food. Our breakfasts...yum! We'll stay there again and highly recommend The Pelton House.


Coziness and a wonderful breakfast!

3.8 on November 28, 2010

My husband and I stayed here recently. It was a lovely place, but we opted for the cheapest room; the water room. It smelled a little foul, but seemed very clean and cozy. In hindsight, I wish we had chosen a nicer room and we will likely do so if we stay there again. The breakfast and hospitality were above and beyond what we expected. The women who run the place are very sweet and welcoming. The proximity to downtown cannot be beat, as it is just a short walk away.


Cozy stay at Pelton

4.2 on November 15, 2010

I stayed for 2 nights with 2 girlfriends on the Wood room, which has two connecting bedroom and a door leading to the dining room. (the drawback was that I heard everything from the dining room, including the chairs) We truly enjoyed the stay in this cozy house. The breakfast was fresh and homemade (quiche one day, and hot cake with a plate of fruits the other day) The photo showing the bedrooms did not do the place justice. I was reluctant to stay at this place because the furnitures looked too modern in the photos but in life, it was actually a modern classic and tastefully done. The towels and bed sheets were clean.


Summer visit at Ashland's Pelton House

4.2 on August 20, 2010

The Carriage House "Fire Room" was restful and decorated in a lovely way with good a/c, if needed. The yard with comfortable chairs and table was a treat to share with the house golden retriever, Honey. Everything downtown was within in walking distance. My only suggestion would be to have a breakfast menu at each table to help eaters gauge their eating; e.g., fruit, muffin, juice and then bread pudding followed. I would have gone "easy" on the muffin at the beginning of the meal.


Perfect Place

4.0 on August 17, 2010

My sister and I had never been to Ashland, so I made the reservation here by change and it was a wonderful find! Mary, the owner, was always making fresh batches of cookies, the rooms were wonderful and the location could not have been more convenient. We also loved meeting and talking with the other guests at our fantastic breakfast. We will return here when we can.


The Pelton House was a Godsend

4.0 on August 10, 2010

I was fairly tired and dusty from the road when we arrived. Our hostess immediately poured me a tall glass of iced water and treated me to homemade chocolate cookies and ginger snaps. I relaxed in the wonderful, private jacuzzi in our room (Metal), used the razor and other amenities provided, stretched out and enjoyed! Came out alive and refreshed! The hostess was caring and attentive, yet not intrusive. Breakfast was so good I actually shut my eyes to enjoy the flavors of baked eggs, which I have not had in years. This B&B was truly a Godsend to me. I highly recommend it.


Incredible!

5 on July 17, 2009

We stayed here about a month before our first child was born for a kind of last get away. I had seen the pictures online, but I was blown away when we actually got there and saw it in person. Every room was modern and gorgeous, very clean, the people were wonderful, and the food excellent. Plus, it was so close to everything that we walked everywhere. We will stay there again for sure!


Great surprise

5 on September 28, 2008

Clean, quiet, friendly, and good food...Who would have guessed it? Pat Iantorno


Fabulous everything

4.6 on August 22, 2007

What a wonderful place to stay! We had the Manzanita suite and it was lovely--the bath was totally luxurious. The innkeepers are charming, the breakfasts delicious, and the location can't be beat. Looking forward to staying again.


Relax in Ashland

4.8 on July 05, 2007

We stayed in the Water room, it is seperate from the main house and upstairs. It was very calming and spacious. The hosts were very accomodating and the breakfasts were wonderful! We will stay there again!


The Pelton House

Details

  • Nightly Rate $75 - $175
  • Reviews (149) 4.5
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5414887003
  • Toll free 1-8664887003
Top