Recent Reviews in Orange, Virginia

Fantastic weekend for a special occasion at Walden Hall (Reva, VA)

5 reviewed on November 18, 2015

We stayed at Walden Hall as a surprise weekend jaunt for my girlfriend's birthday. I had read the reviews on-line, and seen the pictures, and was very impressed. The photos and the reviews simply could not do the venue justice. The reality was FAR FAR better. Firstly, my experience of booking the reservation was very smooth, and when I talked to Eric, he was super helpful. As soon as I got off the phone, I knew that this was going to be a good weekend. He was congenial, resourceful, and full of great ideas for what we could do for the weekend. We arrived late, and Eric came and checked us in very quickly, gave a grand tour, and showed us all of the amenities. We were speechless - the house is spotless, modern, the lighting is amazing, and the suite we had - the Walden Grand Suite - it was beyond our expectations. The fireplace was gorgeous, complete with a lamb skin rug, the lighting was beautiful, the bathroom was great, and the shower was beautiful, complete with a his and hers shower. Eric was a phenomenal host, and he was attentive to our every need. Upon our arrival he gave us a complimentary bottle of wine (great!), and we enjoyed two amazing breakfasts at this beautiful estate. I would HIGHLY recommend this venue for a weekend or a night. It is well worth the time and money. Thank you Eric and Evanne!

View more reviews for this inn

Excellent B&B at The Mayhurst Inn (Orange, Virginia)

4.2 reviewed on November 11, 2015

Jack and Pat are very gracious hosts. They helped us considerably finding adventures to have in Orange and surrounding towns.

View more reviews for this inn

Highly Recommened at Walden Hall (Reva, VA)

5 reviewed on November 10, 2015

Walden Hall was absolutely beautiful inside and outside. We stayed in the Longfellow Loft and loved it! The breakfast was our favorite part, so delicious! Walden Hall definitely exceeded our expectations and I would highly recommend staying!

View more reviews for this inn

Great place to stay at 200 South Street Inn (Charlottesville, Virginia)

4.2 reviewed on October 27, 2015

Have stayed here many times. Great, friendly staff. Convenient to restaurants and shopping. Wine and cheese in afternoons. Fresh baked cookies, breads, and muffins. Nice farmer's market across the street on most Saturdays. Always my first choice in Charlottesville.

View more reviews for this inn

One of the best! at Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast (Orange, Virginia)

5 reviewed on October 21, 2015

We absolutely loved Chestnut Hill. We stayed in the Alexander Daley suite and it was perfect! Kathleen and Troy are excellent hosts and the breakfasts are fabulous. We had a wonderful time and if we return to the area, we'll be sure to return to the inn. Stay there - you'll be glad you did!

View more reviews for this inn

A Great Stay at The Mayhurst Inn (Orange, Virginia)

4.8 reviewed on October 20, 2015

The place is beautiful. Jack and Pat were gracious hosts and very nice. The breakfasts, wine and cheese were all delicious. We were SAD to leave and hope to return some day.

View more reviews for this inn

Rainy Weekend Stay at Inn at Westwood Farm (Orange, Virginia)

4.6 reviewed on October 18, 2015

I stayed at the Inn Westwood Farm for two nights on a rainy weekend. I was there for a wedding in the area. When not occupied with wedding activities I found a lot of things to do in the area even though it was raining. The Inn is very close to Montpelier, James Madison's house, as well as to downtown Orange (small but quaint) and a reasonable drive to Charlottesville. The hosts are wonderful, the rooms are luxurious and extremely comfortable, and the breakfasts are delicious. A great place to unwind and enjoy the country.

View more reviews for this inn

Luxury for a great price at Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast (Orange, Virginia)

5 reviewed on October 17, 2015

Chestnut Hill is like a mini all-inclusive resort experience. Wonderful cookies and a great hours d'oeuvre on check in, easy access to great local wines, beer, sodas and coffee or tea, clean and excellently decorated rooms with the softest bed I've ever slept in, and an outstanding breakfast in a refined setting. Stay here; you'll be glad you did.

View more reviews for this inn

Wonderful B&B at The Mayhurst Inn (Orange, Virginia)

5 reviewed on October 13, 2015

Wonderful place to stay. We chose Mayhurst to avoid Charlottesville and still be close to Momticello. Jack and Pat helped us figure out how to best spend our time so we were able to fully enjoy Monticello and Momtpelier (Madison's home) as well as James Monroes's home. Jack is very knowledgeable about the significant history of the Mayhurst Plantation and all things Civil War. Food was super, they serve wonderful breakfasts and even have their own coffee brew which is perfect.

View more reviews for this inn

A quiet and lovely getaway from the busy city at Inn on Poplar Hill (Orange, Virginia)

5 reviewed on October 12, 2015

My husband and I stayed here for our 10th wedding anniversary, traveling from Northern Virginia right outside DC. We stayed in the Blue Willow Room, which was beautifully decorated with a 2 person jacuzzi bathtub. Coffee and tea were provided outside our room in the morning. Victoria made delicious 3 course breakfasts. One day I had monkey bread, fruit and shrimp and grits with a poached egg. Another day I had a croissant with chocolate, fruit yogurt and granola, and scrambled eggs, bacon and pumpkin french toast. A game room is provided for your enjoyment with a comfy couch for reading or watching the football games as my husband did. The grounds are lovely and you feel completely removed from the hustle and bustle. Marty and Victoria were excellent hosts with tasting passes for local wineries and recommendations for dinner. Highly recommend for a long weekend getaway particularly during the fall wine tasting season.

View more reviews for this inn

Mayhurst Moment at The Mayhurst Inn (Orange, Virginia)

4.0 reviewed on October 10, 2015

Jack and Pat were gracious hosts Jack even made a last minute dinner reservation at a local restaurant for us, much appreciated. Very comfortable stay at a historic home Breakfast was absolutely delicious

View more reviews for this inn

Absolutely Perfect at Inn on Poplar Hill (Orange, Virginia)

5 reviewed on October 09, 2015

In planning an anniversary get-away, I wanted an older style house and rooms, with fantastic rooms and breakfasts, wonderful hosts, special breakfast dining arrangement by the fireplace, and in proximity to the vinyards we wanted to visit. I found exactly what I was looking for in the Inn on Poplar Hill! We didn't bring our dogs with us (although we could have with certain dog-friendly rooms), but they even had a young puppy and older mature big dog to meet our dog-depravation needs away from ours. I am very happy with our get-away here and am already recommending it to my friends with similar get-away tastes! I hope to visit the Inn again on another trip!

View more reviews for this inn

The best B&B! at Walden Hall (Reva, VA)

5 reviewed on October 03, 2015

My first visit to Walden Hall is one to remember! I needed a getaway after visiting family in Virginia and stumbled upon this gem of a place. It´s a beautiful house, and the interior design/decoration of the rooms merits a spread in home and architectural magazines. Aesthetically speaking, this is one of the loveliest B & B's I have ever experienced. (Honestly, I had begun to stay away from them in my travels over the years because I didn't like the decor or service of many.) Walden Hall has made a new believer out of me. I slept peacefully on the luxuriously soft sheets on a bed with just the right firmness and eagerly looked forward to the gourmet breakfasts served each morning. Delicious! Evanne and Eric make you feel at home, providing an astonishing number of amenities and delights. I did not have time to experience an in-room massage but I will be scheduling one on my next visit. Most of all, I appreciated their attention to detail. Eric made reservations at two wonderful restaurants during my stay and he somehow ensured that the vineyards knew I would be arriving for tastings. Clearly Evanne and Eric have a strong relationships with these places. I was so appreciative of the special requests that they put in for me. Truly a relaxing, peaceful, and elegant getaway. I'm sending all of my friends.

View more reviews for this inn

Wonderful small wedding venue!! at Holladay House Bed And Breakfast (Orange, Virginia)

5 reviewed on September 29, 2015

We recently had a small wedding at Holladay House for our daughter. Sharon was outstanding in all aspects of the wedding preparation and planning! She was a joy to work with, clear in her communication of what she could do. She arranged for the justice of the peace, the cake, provided recommendations of restaurants for the wedding dinner and was in every way someone I felt I could rely on in the wedding planning process. And on the day of the event, when the ceremony was supposed to be in the park and it was raining, she turned the parlor into a cozy spot for the ceremony all on a moments notice. Holladay House is a beautiful bed and breakfast with old world charm, lovely decorations, excellent attention to detail as well as sparkling clean. I can't speak to the food or accommodations as all her rooms were booked except one for the bride and groom. But as a venue for a small wedding, we couldn't have asked for a more wonderful experience. Thank you Sharon!

View more reviews for this inn

Outstanding on All Counts: Wholeheartedly Recommend This Delightful, Elegant Retreat at Inn at Westwood Farm (Orange, Virginia)

4.0 reviewed on September 26, 2015

The inn is beautifully appointed, but the attention to each and every detail is what makes it exceptional. There is elegance and warmth everywhere you look, without a hint of pretension. There were beautiful fresh flowers in every room. I really had the sense that the owners had thought of everything it might take to make a person (or even me personally) comfortable. The toiletries were organic, beautifully fragrant, and especially made for the inn. There were copious amounts of towels in the bathroom so one didn’t have to ask for more. Morning coffee (with soy milk if you’re dairy free and let them know!) is outside your door by 7 a.m. Bottled water is available all the time should you need some for a road trip. Breakfast is a scrumptious and beautifully-presented culinary adventure. The weather cooperated, so we were able to eat outside while enjoying the magnificent views. The table linens were lovely. There were multiple fresh juice options offered. The toast was the first and only decent gluten-free toast I’ve found, and it was served with house-made fig preserves. The food itself made us truly sorry were couldn’t eat all of our meals at the inn. Delicious! Elizabeth and Jay were knowledgeable about the area and able to give us dining and activity recommendations to suit our preferences. The whole experience was lovely from top to bottom. We felt as welcome as we would visiting family, and enjoyed social interactions with the innkeepers, who would engage as much as guests desired but also pick up on cues when one needed space. We left thinking we must come back at least once a year from now on. We were at the inn for only two nights but we felt so refreshed that it was as if we had been away from the hustle and bustle of DC for a week! We recommend the Inn at Westwood Farm wholeheartedly. You will have a fabulous time, and your taste buds will thank you too (even if you have food sensitivities)!

View more reviews for this inn

Wonderful anniversary getaway at Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast (Orange, Virginia)

5 reviewed on September 25, 2015

My husband and I had our honeymoon at Chestnut Hill, so is was great to come back and receive the same top notch service that we previously had before. Kathleen called ahead to see if we needed reservations for dinner and recommend several local places to eat, and they also recommended several local wineries to go to once we arrived. The room we had previously stay in was already booked, but when we arrived, we found out that the person had cancelled and Kathleen had already moved us over to that room. We love how the owners make an effort to remember folks. It really makes a difference, and we will certainly be back!

View more reviews for this inn

Exemplary service/hospitality at Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast (Orange, Virginia)

4.4 reviewed on September 22, 2015

Kathryn and Troy do a terrific job in accommodating their guests!

View more reviews for this inn

A Little Bit of Heaven at The Inn at 400 West High (Charlottesville, Virginia)

5 reviewed on September 21, 2015

I came east to spend a mother-daughter week in DC where my daughter works. She is in a high stress job and I wanted to cap off our week together with a perfect weekend get-away! After some research I settled on the Inn at 400 West High, and did I bat 1,000!! After a fun and scenic drive from DC we approached the lovely Mediterranean Inn that was a picture postcard! Greeted by the lovely and gracious Carolyn, we were gently shown around and to our room, the McIntire, which could have popped right out of the pages of Beautiful Homes & Gardens magazine! We spent a wonderful two days and nights at the Inn. Slept on beds like clouds, ate perfect food, not too heavy, just right to start our days, and spent time taking in the fantastic historic downtown mall which was just a few blocks away! We couldn't have asked for a better end to our mother-daughter vacation and it will be a beautiful memory for us, one we hope to repeat on my future visits to this beautiful side of our country (made especially beautiful because my daughter resides here)! Jamie Fidler & Paige Creigh Laguna Beach & DC

View more reviews for this inn

Outstanding in every way! at Inn at Westwood Farm (Orange, Virginia)

5 reviewed on September 02, 2015

The Inn at Westwood Farm is as near-perfect a bed and breakfast experience as we could wish. Gracious hosts Jay and Elizabeth have thought of everything--decadently comfortable bedding, delicious breakfasts using the freshest fruits and eggs from their laying hens, and complimentary and discount tickets to the many area sites of historic and gastronomic interest. We used the B&B as a base to explore historic Orange County, Virginia, including James Madison's Montpelier, the Barboursville winery, and the Southern Living designer show house.

View more reviews for this inn

Great stay again at our favorite B&B at The Mayhurst Inn (Orange, Virginia)

5 reviewed on August 26, 2015

Jack and Pat do an absolutely superb job hosting their guests. From wine and cheese in the evening to a delicious breakfast the next morning, it's all first rate.

View more reviews for this inn

More than I had hoped for! at Holladay House Bed And Breakfast (Orange, Virginia)

4.6 reviewed on August 24, 2015

Stayed at the Halloday House for just one night and it was lovely! Was upgraded to a bigger room upon check in and had a great chat about the inn. The town is small, but has one of the most amazing restaurants just a short stroll from the house. Everything was superbly clean, quiet and well stocked. The complimentary wine, beer and coffee was a real surprise! Breakfast was delicious! I now know why the biscuits are the talk of the town! I wish we had been able to stay longer. We will definitely make an effort to come back! Thank you for a wonderful stay!

View more reviews for this inn

Relax and Enjoy at The Inn at 400 West High (Charlottesville, Virginia)

5 reviewed on August 23, 2015

We had a wonderful anniversary weekend at the Inn. The McIntyre was perfect. We enjoyed the balcony at sunrise and sunset. Food was wonderful and our hosts were fun and very accomodating. Perfect location for walking to dining and shopping and getting out into the beautiful Virginia countryside. We will be back. Thank you Carolyn!!!

View more reviews for this inn

Birthday getaway at The Inn at 400 West High (Charlottesville, Virginia)

5 reviewed on August 21, 2015

My husband and I stayed at the Inn for his birthday August 17 and 18, 2015. Totally random selection for the Inn and couldn't have been more pleased. Not only was the Inn within walking distance of downtown, Carolyn and the staff were charming and very hospitable. Our room, The Altamant, was beautiful with an amazing shower. We had the most delicious breakfast each day prepared by a lovely and talented young chef named Ann. She was a delight. Enjoyed our stay immensely-- highly recommend this Inn and we'll definitely be back!

View more reviews for this inn

Comfortable and Caring - Perfect at The Inn at 400 West High (Charlottesville, Virginia)

5 reviewed on August 21, 2015

My daughter and I had a wonderful 2 nights stay at The Inn at 400 West High in July, 2015. We felt taken care of. Key points and highlights: The People - Independent or Chatty, Up to You Carolyn and 2 lovely young women who served us breakfast (our "Hosts") were all friendly, helpful, & kind. They were helpful with information (what to see, where to eat, Carolyn especially helped with finding a doctor for us to see during our visit - thank you!), chatted if you wanted to chat, but also gave their guests their independence if they didn't want to talk or visit. Felt free to enjoy the community room, grab a cookie, sit and read in your room or outside or in the kitchen. Felt free to come and go. Beautiful, Clean Rooms and Inn The McIntire Room was comfortable, clean, and beautiful with its fireplace, comfortable bed, own private balcony bathed in sunshine and comfy chairs & tables, and the spacious, clean bathroom. Quiet nights. Free wifi and TV. The entire inn was decorated beautifully. Plenty of space, and you felt free to come and go. Lots of nooks and cushions (a window seat) to tuck away into. Great Location Short walk to the old town area with lovely shops and restaurants. Short drive from Monticello. Close to the University. Tasty Breakfast - Prepared and served with smiles. We were asked if we had allergies, and breakfast was served in an open and sunny room. When we had to rise and leave early for a balloon ride, they prepared a breakfast snack for us & left it in the refrigerator so we would see it in the morning. When we arrived back from the sunrise balloon trip, we made it in time to have a full breakfast. Handy and Helpful We bought an umbrella when it rained, were given as a gift a book that my daughter had started to read but didn't finish, and were guided to a doctor when we needed to make a visit. There was always something to snack on, something to drink. We felt very welcomed and at home. All in all, a wonderful stay!

View more reviews for this inn

Great location at 200 South Street Inn (Charlottesville, Virginia)

3.6 reviewed on August 17, 2015

Great location, but our room was in the basement level and it felt like it. The a/c unit was quite loud so we left it off. The breakfast room is cramped.

View more reviews for this inn

Beautiful house and grounds at Inn at Westwood Farm (Orange, Virginia)

5 reviewed on August 12, 2015

We really enjoyed our weekend at the Inn at Westwood Farm. The innkeepers, Elizabeth and Jay, were very warm and welcoming. The inn is simply and tastefully decorated with nice public spaces, including a parlor where daily papers are set out, a library with a ton of books and board games, and a tv room in case you need to get a screen fix. The rooms have very comfortable beds, and the bathroom was quite large. Our favorite part was the inn's grounds. We loved the big open space and the gardens. The inn has a flock of chickens, including a colorful character of a rooster, that provides the fresh eggs for breakfast. Don't worry, Ziggy won't wake you up - the windows provide good sound insulation. There are also a sweet cat and dog to be found on the grounds (but not inside the inn - they are relegate to the yard and innkeeper's quarters). The neighbor has a friendly pair of horses and a donkey that occasionally graze in a paddock on the grounds who will shamelessly beg for treats - you can find a tin of these in the inn's kitchen.

View more reviews for this inn