Heron Haus Reviews

Overall
4.4

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Service4.4
  • Value4.2
  • Cleanliness4.5
  • Dining4.3

Score Breakdown based on
258 Reviews

Write A Review

Perfect place to stay in Portland!

5 on November 13, 2014

Excellent location - 5-min walk to NW shops and cafes, but in a quiet residential neighborhood. Very cosy, clean, and comfortable with 2 dining rooms and sitting areas. Free parking outside in the courtyard. We stayed in the Rogue and Rose rooms on the 2nd floor - both were lovely with private bathrooms and sitting areas. Everything was clean and well thought-out. Breakfast was always fresh and delicious. Tea always available, and port and cookies are served in the afternoon. Pam was a great host - friendly and eager to help guests. I think there are 6 rooms in total, so you get to meet other travelers. Overall an excellent place to stay - we highly recommend it and hope to return soon!


Heron Haus was great!

5 on November 07, 2014

The out-of-the-ordinary breakfasts at Heron Haus were superb! And the fresh cookies and liquor sample in the evening made it a nice place to come home to.


Our Stay at Heron Haus, October 2014

5 on October 31, 2014

An excellent, well-run B and B. Friendly and welcoming. Beautiful old estate, nicely furnished without all the silly ruffles that afflict so many American B and B's. Room immaculate and very comfortable, like home. Quiet and restful among the trees and high above the city traffic. Lots of reading material in books and pamphlets that explain every aspect of Oregon living and touring. A library full of books one wanted to stay and read. Breakfast was exemplary. Original interpretations of classic egg dishes. Coffee and tea available all day long. Port and cookies set out in the evening. Easy parking. We were impressed and would gladly stay at Heron Haus again. Grateful guests, BJ and EP


A Relaxing Stay

5 on October 26, 2014

I am a solo, non-driving, traveler visiting from NYC and I found Heron Haus to be an excellent place to stay in Portland. The room (Willamette) was very comfortable and quiet, and had a nice alcove area for reading/thinking/napping. I also liked the sun room on the main floor overlooking a planted yard area as a place to enjoy coffee while perusing The Oregonian. The breakfasts were creative and hearty, and the conversations with the other guests made the experience interesting and informative. It was easy for me to go just about anywhere I wanted to go in Portland by using the NS streetcar and the 15 bus that stop a few blocks down the hill, or by walking. My stay at Heron Haus was very relaxing and I would like to stay there again. Kevin Anterline


An all round enjoyable experience.

3.8 on October 18, 2014

At Heron Haus B&B the staff went out of their way to make for an enjoyable stay. Breakfasts were brilliant. The Haus was a joy to be in.


Absolutely wonderful!

5 on October 17, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at this B&B and we had an amazing experience! This was our first B&B and we are hooked! The breakfast was devine, atmosphere was warm and welcoming and the place was charming! Coral was a wonderful host and she created a lovely atmosphere! We loved it!!!


Awesome B&B

4.8 on October 14, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 nights with Heron House and would certainly stay there again. The bed was extremely comfortable, our room (one of the larger ones) was so pleasant with two couches for sitting, the interim innkeeper was friendly, helpful and willing to spend time with guests just getting to know them a bit better. The breakfasts were delightful and the area couldn't be beat! You'll enjoy your stay there. The only reason for the 4 stars under cleanliness was that the shower was badly in need of repair with broken tiles .


Our stay

4.2 on October 11, 2014

We spent two nights in the Mt. Hood room, which was beautiful and spacious, and the staff, especially Coral, was very friendly and hospitable. The breakfasts were very nice and the location very convenient to the many attractions close by. A great stay! We will be back for sure.


Comfortable and Convenient

5 on October 06, 2014

We flew to Portland to visit our son and daughter-in-law. We chose Heron Haus partly because it is less than a mile from their apartment. The location turned out to be absolutely perfect: we left the car there and walked nearly everywhere. Our room was charming and comfortable with nice views. Pam and Carl made us feel welcome, we enjoyed the company of the other guests at breakfast, and the imaginative breakfasts tasted wonderful. We look forward to visiting again!


Excellent Location

3.0 on September 26, 2014

Heron Haus is a comfortable, large stately home in a fabulous location in Norhwest Porland close to everythng. Breakfasts were quite good. Pam, the owner, went out of her way to provide a pleasant stay. The B&B experience of meeting people from all over was lovely. As in all older, multi-story homes, there are stairs, something to take into consideration, but not a problem for us. Fantastic Portland, with its interesting sights, incomperable restaurants, and natural beauty is at your feet when you stay at Heron Haus.


Amazing breakfasts

5 on September 17, 2014

The house and room were beautiful, but what stood out to us most were the breakfasts. They were huge, unique, and delicious! In a great food city, they stood out as some of the best meals we had.


Lovely Place

3.4 on September 17, 2014

The room was great. Breakfast a little earlier than most other B & B I have been to. The view from the room was great. A bit of a hike to get there on foot. Over all experience was great.


2 nights over $500 with no water pressure in shower! Rooms need updated.

2.0 on September 17, 2014

Location is good fellow travelers, but for the price you can stay at a really swanky hotel. Our room on top floor was very "tired" looking. View was a window over the desk. Old decor (80's style), and TERRIBLE showers! (Barely enough pressure to wash, 5 min to get warm enough to shower and I Hate to waste water). We told innkeeper while we were there to make sure it was addressed for the next guest. No compensation offered. The innkeeper did not introduce herself when we arrived and we did not see her until the second morning. (Had to stay the minimum of 2 nights or we would have left after the first night). Bummer. So again for 2 nights, $550 with tax, you can stay at the best hotel in Downtown. Side note. We did directly ask for compensation twice for the barely functioning showers after leaving, no response. I would expect after they saw how bad it was we would get an apology at least. Nothing. This was the worst value of any Bed and Breakfast we have ever stayed in. We have stayed all over the US and in Europe.


Great Place to Stay

4.6 on September 15, 2014

Nice location with great dining recommendations.


Excellent B & B

4.6 on August 29, 2014

Heron Haus is well located within walking distance of Portland's wonderful Rose Garden, good restaurants and transportation to the downtown core. Guests have access to the main floor lounge and sun room as well as the patio. The breakfast was excellent and coffee, tea and cookies are available in the evenings.


Great place to stay in NW Portland

4.4 on August 24, 2014

Pam created beautiful and delicious breakfasts using fresh, nourishing ingredients and served Portland-roasted coffee which met the high standard I had been promised. Heron Haus is located within easy walking distance of good dining and fun shopping. It is possible to board the light rail close to the B&B, but we found it so well located that we easily walked into the Pearl District, downtown, China Town and even the Portland Art Museum. I hope I have another opportunity to stay at Heron Haus .


Perfect setting

4.8 on August 22, 2014

My wife and I had a wonderful three day stay at Heron Haus. The house is beautiful, filled with art, books, and comfortable furniture. Our room was spacious with a wonderful view of the Willamette and nearby mountains. Breakfasts were filling and delicious. Pam Walker, our host, was wonderful, suggesting great hiking trails and nearby restaurants. Heron Haus is within walking distance of Washington Park, the Japanese and Rose Gardens, and is only minutes away from downtown Portland via car.


Heron Haus Rocks

4.2 on August 22, 2014

My stay was very enjoyable, with a great welcome and the sense that my comfort and enjoyment really mattered. Nice dinner recommendations and very quiet for sleeping even though the house was full.


Beautiful location!

4.4 on August 20, 2014

Set in such a great neighbourhood, and Pam gave us such good recommendations for local shopping and dining.


Heron Haus is not what it used to be

2.0 on August 17, 2014

The furnishings were not quite what I remembered. The shower in our room was moldy, tile chipped, overall needed repairs. The breakfasts were tiny and I guess going for a natural experience. The new owner was not nearly as welcoming as the previous owner. I won't be back.


A delightful place to stay in Portland

5 on August 11, 2014

We reserved the Cascade Room (3rd floor) for 3 nights. The house is gorgeous, and is located in the Nob Hill area (NW Portland). It is walking distance to fine restaurants and shopping, as well as Forest Park (Pittock Mansion, Japanese Gardens, Rose Garden, hiking trails, etc.) Pam was very gracious and welcoming, even though we showed up over an hour before check in time. She spent a great deal of time telling us about dining locations and other attractions, and marking them on a map for us. Our room was stunning, with an amazing view. It was spotless, spacious, and decorated in a manner that was both elegant and comfortable. Everything we could possibly need was available. Breakfasts were organic and gourmet. Our only slight complaint was that it wasn't offered until 8:30-9:00. As we are early risers, we would have liked to get going earlier. But the meals and company (chatting with other guests) were well worth the wait. In addition to the lovely interior, Heron Haus has a nice patio set-up that is very relaxing. I highly recommend Heron Haus for a high-end Bed and Breakfast experience in an ideal location. Chris and Mardy Cowan


3 days in Portland

5 on August 10, 2014

Room and clean B & B with great views in a great part of town. Walked to Rose Garden and restaurants. Delicious breakfast and good company.


Lovely Location and beautiful property

3.8 on August 04, 2014

We spent 3 lovely days/nights at the B & B - very nice room with large bathroom. Exceptionally clean and well appointed. Breakfasts were lovely and inventive. The Innkeeper was a great resource in helping us choose activities and restaurants and her recommendations were spot on. It is a walk up the hill - but a great quiet location close to a nice shopping and restaurant area.


A lovely retreat

4.6 on August 04, 2014

We used the inn for a reunion including six couples, perfect for an inn with six rooms. The venue is quiet and beautiful. We could walk to good restaurants, and the inn was convenient to downtown. We could not have done better.


Nice location

4.0 on August 03, 2014

We were able to set out on foot and see most of the city.


Perfect B&G for our group.

4.0 on July 24, 2014

Large rooms, gathering spaces, patio. Large library. 6 rooms, 6 couples. Perfect for a reunion. Great location. Pricey but decent value. .


We loved it!

4.2 on July 21, 2014

We were so happy to have found this place at the last minute. It was located in a very nice residential neighborhood but also very close to trendy restaurants and pubs. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. And, we liked that we were pretty much left alone. The back garden and sitting area is beautiful and we enjoyed sitting around and gazing out the window. But best of all, the breakfast was absolutely delicious! Thank you!


Quant seaside village

4.6 on July 20, 2014

This B and B actually faces the river, but along the coastal highway could not be better located. The inn keeper is very organized and the home is super clean. Breakfast is wonderful!


Portland Getaway

4.6 on July 14, 2014

Lovely home with spacious and very comfortable rooms. Great breakfasts. Wonderful peaceful patio/garden. We love to stop by Elephant's Deli to pick up lots of great items and have dinner outside in the garden on one of our evenings there. Great location with parking too.


Heron Haus

4.2 on July 12, 2014

Very beautiful old home. Pam is a fantastic host. Breakfast was good but sometimes odd combinations. Perfect location. We will return!


Weekend Stay

3.6 on July 02, 2014

The room was spacious and nicely furnished. Everything was very clean and easy to use. Breakfast was delicious and the staff friendly. When we asked about the pancakes, they explained how they were made. I would recommend this B&B to anyone and we will likely return at another time.


Absolutely lovely!!!

5 on June 25, 2014

Staying here was a wonderful experience! Have to admit, I was apprehensive when approaching the Heron Haus because the streets around it were packed with vehicles and people... BUT there is a private driveway leading up to private parking behind the house. When you arrive, you are in a different world. You cannot see the streets, it is lovely and quiet and the grounds are exquisite! Everything was great, from the spacious rooms to the breakfast to the various public rooms available for guest use. We stayed in the Rose room and it was great. Breakfast was delicious. The host and assistants were really nice. The location was perfect for connecting to anywhere. This is now permanently in my favorites. I will be posting this same review on Tripadvisor cause they deserve an A+.


We had a great time.

5 on June 24, 2014

Heron Haus was the best B&B we've experienced in Portland. Everything was great--food, service, location. We will stay there again.


Great setting and location.

3.8 on June 23, 2014

We loved being able to walk to restaurants, etc. in the evenings. Walking around the neighborhood and being a part of this old historic neighborhood is the best. The house is beautifully decorated, not overdone but graciously done. The whole experience was comfortable, warm, inviting and beautiful.


Old and newer charm...

3.8 on June 18, 2014

Stayed 3 nights with 2 other couples and Heron Haus was near enough for walking to lots of shopping and restaurants. Also near transportation to get to the sights!!


Outstanding

5 on June 09, 2014

Heron Haus B&B is the only place to stay in Portland. The location couldn't be better. Perched on a hill yet walking distance to the Nob Hill District. Close to great shopping, dinning, coffee shops, bistros & pubs without being claustrophobic. The hospitality and atmosphere are very welcoming. We will be back!


Beautiful location, but

3.0 on June 03, 2014

The Heron Haus is located in a beautiful, quiet neighborhood within walking distance of many shops and good restaurants. Our room was on the third floor which was a mistake because there is no one to help with luggage. Rooms are spacious and comfortable but I awakened with spider bites one morning so be sure to check for spiders. There was one seating for breakfast and "hot" entrees are served at room temperature. Care was taken to attend to dietary restrictions. Portland is a great city and if you want a change from a downtown hotel, consider this B&B.


Over all Fantastic place to stay.

3.8 on May 20, 2014

The House is amazing! Rooms are great! Food is fantastic, But not filling for breakfast. over all wold recommend the Heron Haus.


Romantic Getaway

5 on May 20, 2014

Heron Haus was an amazing getaway. I surprised my girlfriend with a trip to Portland and this was the perfect quiet and comforting place to spend time together. Super short walk to downtown trolley, and great sight seeing advice from Pam and Carl. Got ENGAGED the day we left, Thanks to Heron Haus !


Beautiful, charming house; great location

3.6 on May 18, 2014

Early May provided a perfect backdrop to Portland and hero Haus. Everything was blooming! Wine/Sherry in the late afternoon was a welcome addition. Great location for scenic walks.


Hidden Destination

5 on May 15, 2014

This splendid house is located in one of Portland's historically prosperous neighborhoods in the northwest section of the city. The massive interior is warm and welcoming with many cozy spots both to sit and visit or read. Each room is comfortable and spacious. A delicious full-size breakfast is served each morning. Northwest 23rd Street, complete with a wide variety of shops and restaurants, is just a few blocks away. The streetcar comes by regularly on 23rd to transport its passengers to all points of downtown Portland. It is easy to see why so many of us keep coming back.


Home Away From Home

4.8 on May 07, 2014

My husband and I had the most wonderful time at Heron Haus. Absolutely amazing location, gorgeous home, luxurious bed, and delicious breakfast! We really couldn't have asked for much more. Thank you Pam!!!


Three nights in Portland

5 on April 24, 2014

Wonderful stay with friendly people. Many thanks.


ideal vacation

4.8 on April 15, 2014

Great location, wonderful hosts.


Fantastic place to stay!

4.4 on April 14, 2014

I would recommend HH to anyone, the room was big and cozy, the location was great, the breakfasts were absolutely wonderful, and the bed was so comfy. This place is worth the cost!


Portland Visitor

4.4 on March 30, 2014

A rare gem, very close to almost all things on the west side of Portland.


Portland stay

4.6 on March 19, 2014

Stayed here for several days while visiting Portland. Perfect location to get to anywhere in Portland.


Heron Haus

4.2 on March 18, 2014

A great place to stay. It was in a great part of town and the food was delicious. A little pricey,but overall it was a great stay.


Just above the rest

4.6 on March 13, 2014

Our stay at Heron House was just perfect: the room, the food, and the neighborhood. Perched just above the downtown shopping district, it's in easy walking distance to shops and great restaurants. We wouldn't stay anywhere else when visiting our son who lives in the NW district.


Made us feel at home!

5 on March 08, 2014

We loved our stay. Everyone was friendly and accomdating.


Stay-cation

5 on March 05, 2014

Lovely room, with exceptional view of city within walking distance of fun neighborhoods. Outstanding breakfast. Friendly hosts. It was a delightful evening getting out of the house, yet not leaving town. We'd recommend it.


A Great Find in Portland!

5 on March 04, 2014

My wife and I were visiting Portland for just one night on our way north. I'd visited Portland many times for business, but never for pleasure, and my wife had never visited at all. Through a little research, I found Heron Haus and it is a great find! It's located on the hill just west of the Alphabet Soup District in the NW area - full of restaurants, galleries and other shops. It's also about a 15 minute walk to the Pearl District, also home to many fun Portland restaurants and nightlife. The inn is an older, larger home with six rooms. Our room was very spacious, with a working gas fireplace and an awesome view east of the city and Mt. St. Helens in the distance. The owners were very gracious and hospitable. They made us feel welcome in the room, described the area to us and recommended restaurants. There was Port and cookies waiting when we returned from dinner, and breakfast was delicious. It's part of the Karen Brown network of inns. We've stayed in Karen Brown recommended inns all over the world and have never been disappointed. If you near Portland, stay at Heron Haus!


A Home Away fro Home

5 on February 23, 2014

Our second visit to the Heron Haus, was as comfortable and lovely a stay as our first. Our innkeeper, was very available and attentive and produced delicious full breakfasts each day. We stayed in the 3rd floor suite, Manu, and were delighted with the views of the city as well as the ample room to spread out. Being in the Nob Hill area of Portland allowed us ample opportunities to take walks among the other lovely homes perched on the hills. Also, being about 1 mile from the Pearl district with it's shopping and restaurants made us perfectly situated.


Hope we have the privilege of returning

4.8 on February 09, 2014

My mom has travelled the world and never takes a bath in any lodging, that is until she stayed at Heron Haus because it was just so clean. The room we stayed in, Makua, was so utterly charming with such outstanding views. The house is simply gorgeous and so tasteful and elegant. I went on numerous walks in the neighborhood, just heading uphill. The neighborhood is a delight for a walker, the views and the tasteful, elegant homes. What a pleasure.


Anniversary Getaway

5 on February 02, 2014

We enjoyed a 3 night stay at the Heron House. We slept very well in our quiet room. The bed was very comfortable and the sheets are amazing!!! Breakfast is exceptional! We enjoyed something different each morning, with fresh ingredients and unique flavor. It was delicious and filling. There is lots of conversation at breakfast as you eat with the other guests and share experiences. Pam is a wonderful host and her staff was fantastic. I will definitely stay there again as we visit the area.


A great location in Portland

4.4 on January 30, 2014

Our two nights here were very comfortable. Innkeeper is helpful with information and logistics. We enjoyed the very walkable neighborhood - uphill to enjoy the scenic views and just a few blocks to a great shopping and dining area.


Our 40th anniversary getaway

4.0 on January 27, 2014

Had a wonderful time. Wish we could have stayed longer.


Great B&B; Good Location; Our Portland Home from Home

4.6 on January 16, 2014

We have stayed here several times and plan to come back. Spacious, comfortable rooms, with a variety of floor-plans to be expected in an older mansion converted to B&B. Tasty but healthy breakfast, thoughtfully accommodating our dietary restrictions. Big library with overstuffed reading chairs and a wall full of books. Guest refrigerator, computer and WiFi. Free coffee and cookies pretty much all the time. Attentive but not intrusive hostess. Ample parking. Three blocks from the "restaurant rows" of 23rd and 21st Streets. What more could you want in a place to stay? Well there is a one-block steep hill to climb to the steeper driveway. And it is a little pricey, but you get what you pay for; still an excellent value.


Cozy place to stay in Portland

3.8 on January 15, 2014

We loved our stay at Heron Haus. Pam was very helpful in giving us dining recommendations and reservations. Nice quiet location, within reasonable walking distance to restaurants and shops, not super close to Pearl District. Positive trade off is we did have a great view of downtown. Our breakfast was excellent and we had a great conversation with other guests. Exactly the B&B experience you want.


Nice get away weekend

4.0 on January 02, 2014

We found this place online. It is on a hill and the old narrow driveway was a bit intimidating but once you poke your nose around the corner it revealed a nice large house with enough parking. We stayed in the red room which was quite large. We walked to the streetcars about six blocks away and for $5 had an all day pass to the whole city. It was a fun weekend for the two if us. We hit several restaurants on 23rd and there was plenty of nightlife for entertainment.


December in portland

4.0 on January 01, 2014

Lovely Innkeeper. This Inn is located in a a great location. Restaurants and shops very walkable distance. Rooms clean and comfortable. Only 20 minutes from airport. I would highly recommend this property to stay at.


Elegance in Portland

4.0 on December 31, 2013

I would just like to say that this place was wonderful. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. We came here right after Christmas to get away from the normalcy of our day to day activities. Close to the Max and all the great 'tax free' shopping. The breakfast's were great and the house itself was very nice. Really nice restaurants nearby, albeit a little expensive.


Excellent B&B

4.8 on December 17, 2013

Excellent choice in a great location


NOVEMBER 2013

4.2 on November 21, 2013

extremely peaceful, quiet and most restful sleep ever. Coming for Texas, I was a bit taken back that there was NO air conditioner in the rooms however, after opening every possible window, I slept soundly. My first visit to Portland was delightful.


Beautiful place to stay

4.8 on November 07, 2013

We spent two wonderful days in these cosy and familiar B&B! Diana and Reimund, Germany


Wonderful stay, will some again

4.6 on November 03, 2013

Very much enjoyed my stay at Heron Haus. I beautiful home in a very convenient location in the city. Had a wonderful room and enjoyed breakfast every day. A nice touch was that every night when i came back from sightseeing a bottle of nice port and some treat was always out. Will definitely stay again.


First time in Portland

5 on October 28, 2013

We had the most marvelous stay at Heron Haus. Pam's recommendations on where to visit and eat were excellent! I cannot wait to return!!


Outstanding Stay.

4.8 on October 27, 2013

Two wonderful days. Extraordinarily architecturally rich neighborhood. Beautiful fall colors. Wonderful and exotic restaurants within walking distance. Delightful and gluten free breakfasts, served by our gracious host. Magic. We will be back.


Wonderful 4 nights in Portland

4.8 on October 25, 2013

Excellent place to stay.; wonderful freshly made breakfasts; sherry/cookies in the afternoon; comfortable room; warm, accommodating hosts. No negatives. Location is on a hill near the 23rd St neighborhood shopping/dining/drinking section. Walkable for the fit traveler. Would return if visiting Portland again.


Pleasant Stay

5 on October 25, 2013

Delightful room - very large, and with a fireplace! Breskfast was delicious. And the innkeepers were quite helpful. Also in a great location. Highly recommended.


Showing its age!

3.6 on October 20, 2013

It is still a great location but is beginning to show signs of age. It needs painting and updated on the inside. Carpets need to be replaced, fans needs dusting and holes in walls need to be filled where pictures were removed by previous owner. Breakfast was okay but not great.


Location was wonderful!

2.8 on October 09, 2013

The room we stayed in had a nice view, the temperature was good, and it was as to be expected in an old house. The stay met my expectations. I had read the reviews of the breakfast and initially was going to opt out of the breakfast but changed my mind when another guest told us the breakfast was excellent. I am used to eating amazing food and was disappointed that the breakfast had very little flavor. Maybe they don't season food due to their own dietary resrictions or those of other guests, but if I stay again- I'll eat breakfast in Portland since there are many amazing restaurants in the town. Overall, the home met our needs and expectations.


Heron Haus on Nob Hill in Portland, OR

5 on September 29, 2013

Great service, excellent location, outstanding breakfast. Easy walk to many excellent restaurants and shops on 21st & 23rd. We will definitely stay at Heron Haus again.


heronhausstay

4.6 on September 23, 2013

Nice stay, good location for visiting gardens and NW Portland, good for walkers, hilly, great restaurants within walking distance, nice garden at B&B, helpful and relaxed ambiance.


Heron Haus, Portland, Oregon

4.8 on September 22, 2013

Outstanding!! Very wonderful accomodations. Very cordial owners with many helpful recommendations regarding places to see, things to do, and where to eat. It was a thoroughly enjoyable 3-day stay.


Friendly, spacious, great location

4.0 on September 22, 2013

Convenient location for exploring Portland without a car if you can walk moderate distances: can walk to Washington Park, and to the streetcar, which gets you all around. Many fine restaurants nearby. Pam is a friendly and helpful hostess.


Wonderful B&B!

5 on September 17, 2013

This is a great B&B, very convenient to just about everything in the city, but just far enough away that it feels very quiet and secluded. Rooms are great, staff friendly and helpful, food is fantastic!


Heron Haus

3.2 on September 03, 2013

Heron Haus is beautiful as expected and the room was extremely clean and comfortable. Common areas were lovely but this is what we expected when we booked this B&B. Hence, the 'met expectations' ratings. Also, if you plan to walk to town at night, wear appropriate sandals and have a small flash light as the road to Heron Haus is steep. The downside was the food. Sweet potato hash with a small egg on top and a side of blueberry cake one day. Sweet potatoes omelet with dry blueberry cake the next. Very recycled. Whether you are a 200lb. man or a 100lb. woman, the portion was the same.In the afternoon, a plate of cake mix type of brownies was left out for the guests. Maybe the cook was on vacation. On a minor note, we (as good tippers) do not like to find notes in rooms indicating that tips are appreciated, that we can but the linens if we like them or be greeted by a note that states 'You can buy the mugs for $16' if you like...all when a guest is confused by whether or not to use a mug or a paper cup at the coffee station. Low end for high end B&B.


Portland weekend getaway

4.6 on September 02, 2013

Great place to stay in walking distance of fantastic restaurants and shopping. The Mahina room was nice and spacious, clean, and perfect for our quick trip.


Great first visit but needs some cleaning!

3.6 on September 01, 2013

Enjoyed our first stay at Heron Haus. Great location with proximity to the Rose Garden, the Japanese Garden and the Pittock Mansion. Wonderful breakfast served. However the stairwell carpet was filthy for the two days we were there. And the room ceiling fans needed cleaning. Correcting those two details would have done a lot for our impression of Heron Haus.


Unpleasant surprise

3.2 on August 30, 2013

The house itself is very tasteful and in a lovely location. Unfortunately, I had to leave early because the air conditioning units caused the entire room to vibrate so strongly that even the desk vibrated! That made it impossible to work, in addition to being very loud. There was absolutely no kind of compensation offered; in fact, I had the feeling that no one really cared. Nevertheless, I had to pay for both nights in full. Also, it was at times difficult to reach anyone by phone.


Heron Haus

4.6 on August 26, 2013

The room layout was a bit odd as to the bathroom, but it worked for us. We loved that they had good lighting for reading in bed. That is usually a problem with other B&Bs and hotels.


Great way to experience Portland

4.2 on August 23, 2013

The Inn offers a perfect location from which to launch an exploration of Portland on foot. The historic home is a gem and well maintained. The breakfast is gourmet, abundant and delicious. The rooms are quiet, spacious and very clean. We especially appreciated our hostess' recommendations for where to eat, what to experience, and how to get around town.


Wonderful B&B in Portland

4.0 on August 19, 2013

Beautiful house in the heart of Portland. Very friendly and helpful.


Nice weekend

4.0 on August 15, 2013

The property is outstanding, and well cared for. Rooms are very nice. Not a bargain, but probably priced right. Very convenient to the NW District shopping and restaurants. Breakfasts were fine, but not outstanding.


Heron Haus is tops!

4.8 on August 11, 2013

The beautiful B&B was at the top of steep driveway. Pam welcomed us warmly and gave us a tour of the house. We stayed in the Makina Room and it was the size of a small apartment! The view out the window was gorgeous-especially the sunset! We walked down to the Alphabet District for sight-seeing the beautiful homes, shopping and dining. Walking back up was great exercise. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Heron Haus!


Stay in Portland

4.0 on August 10, 2013

A wonderful breakfast, meeting other interesting guests, attentive staff.


July getaway

4.8 on August 06, 2013

A great experience we loved it and will stay there again.


very good

3.6 on August 03, 2013

we had a very pleasant stay at the Heron haus. Very good advice for dining too. Thank you, Marina and Christian


A wonderful getaway

4.4 on August 02, 2013

We booked our one night stay at Heron Haus online, depending on their website and reviews to guide us. We made the right choice. Booking was easy and Pam, the proprietress, confirmed it quickly. The house is just lovely. Our room was spacious, bright and clean. It was modern but full of character. The bed was super comfy with nice pillows, smooth sheets and a great mattress. Breakfast was served on time (8:30 am) and was yummy. They catered easily to gluten free and vegetarian. We would have liked to stay longer and would go back again.


A great B&B experience

4.8 on August 01, 2013

We were very pleased with the Heron Haus. Our room was very comfortable and the breakfast was really outstanding. A great location for walking in nearby parks and neighborhood. Highly recommended!


HeronHaus

4.4 on July 25, 2013

A beautiful property making our recent visit to Portland even more special.


3rd OUTSTANDING visit

5 on July 18, 2013

Each visit has been better than the last. The location is great - easy access to downtown Portland, but with an exclusive, private feeling to the property. The breakfasts are a surprise and delight every morning - and Pam adjusts to any dietary requests with aplomb. I just wish they had a frequent stay points program!


Great Portland Retreat

4.4 on July 17, 2013

Stayed here for three nights around July 4th. Great location close to Nob Hill and Streetcars, and close enough to Washington Park to walk. Beautiful Victorian with nicely updated and spacious rooms. Nice original public rooms, though some updates and even a bit of decluttering would improve the experience. Outside areas could use a more frequent water blast, understanding mold is hard to control in wet Portland. Nice touch with the family style breakfasts. Would recommend to others.


Great B&B walking distance to NW 23rd ST and the Trolley

4.2 on July 12, 2013

Great place with a great location. Beautiful old house on top of NW Portland area. Easy walking to our favorite shop and restaurants on NW23rd and 21st street. Loved our stay there and will definitely be back for another stay.


Enjoyable Stay

4.8 on July 01, 2013

Heron Haus is located in a pleasant neighborhood of large older houses with plenty of shopping and restaurants close by. Our room was very large and comfortable, and the conversation among the other guests at breakfast was also a treat. I would come again if we get back to Portland.


Lone Business Traveller

5 on July 01, 2013

The house is beautiful and the neighborhood/location is great. I took the train for business and was able to walk everywhere I needed to go. The linens were incredible. Pam was especially wonderful. She made a nice sack-breakfast for me with a hand-written note, because I was leaving early in the morning for a business meeting. Thank you for a very pleasant stay. This will be my first choice for lodging in the Portland area next time I am in town.


wonderful way to take in Portland

4.0 on June 30, 2013

Great place to truly see Portland.. Local stores and restaurants.. great walking trails near by... wondrful views of the city from many of the rooms... Pretty nice way to see Portland versus your traditional Marriott!!


Nice place

4.6 on June 29, 2013

Stayed here while traveling for business, working downtown Portland. Very pleasant and comfortable. Nice location, nice setting, nice rooms, nice people, good coffee. No complaints. I would stay there again.


Lovely stay for a fun getaway!!

4.2 on June 20, 2013

Very accommodating and kind. Pam makes the YUMMIEST breakfast!! All in which are so healthy, unique and delicious.


Comfort nest in the hills

3.0 on June 20, 2013

Very nice place to stay, lots of room, but the mattress was much too soft, so we did not sleep very well. Well located, but not an easy access if you walk; you need a decent physical fitness.


Room with a View

5 on June 15, 2013

Perfect location for access to Washington Park (rose gardens), fine dining and lovely shops. Best breakfast at a B&B I've ever experienced. Pam and her staff were informative and very helpful. Mahina room had a fabulous view of the city. All in all, a wonderful time!


Lovely Place to Stay

4.0 on June 07, 2013

Beautiful -lace. Great breakfasts. Wonderful location.


Heron Haus

4.4 on June 02, 2013

Location next to Nob Hill was excellent. Breakfast was really good too, but host was a little passive aggressive due to us showing up 2 hours early only to drop off bags. This was something she commented on and would not let go despite my apologies. Otherwise, Heron Haus is beautiful and I would stay here again even with the host.


Excellent!

5 on May 24, 2013

Mon épouse et moi avons passé une nuit à cet endroit. C'était merveilleux à tous les points de vue; acceuil,...


Location is fantastic

2.8 on May 16, 2013

Location in the city is fantastic. Disappointed in the breakfasts, it was as if the chef was trying to be too creative with the dishes being served. The port and cookies in the afternoon were delicious. The air conditioning unit was quite loud. The house and property are beautiful. The owners were friendly once we got to know them, they gave us helpful information for both restaurants and sightseeing.


A relaxing oasis near the hopping spots in Portland!

5 on May 15, 2013

From the cookies before bed to the smell of fresh coffee in the morning, Heron Haus was perfect! A great place to relax! Conveniently located next to Portlands hot spots!


Great Staff; Beautiful Location

4.8 on May 14, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Heron Haus. I'm a big tea drinker and hot tea was available at all times, as is coffee. Breakfast is thoughtfully planned and served; a lovely side of prepared vegetables was a welcome addition to standard American breakfast fare.


A little gem in Portland.

4.0 on May 13, 2013

This delightful B & B had all the right personal touches that added quality to out stay in Portland!


Home away from home

4.6 on May 07, 2013

Much more comfortable to return home after long day to a real home-y room than a sterile hotel room. Pam was super professional, friendly and thoughtful. Awesome location. Looking forward to returning to Portland and staying at Heron Haus again.


Great experience!

5 on May 06, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay - very relaxing.


One of our favorite places to stay in Portland

4.6 on May 05, 2013

Beautiful old house in the NW Portland Nob Hill area. It is a nicely restored 3 story house. Many rooms have a nice view of Portland. It is in a Quiet neighborhood but walking distance from 23rd street. Rooms are large and very comfortable. Great place to stay summer or winter


Very professional B&B

5 on May 04, 2013

The Heron House was a four star experience in all respects.


B&B in close proximity to Pearl District

3.2 on May 01, 2013

It appears there are no other accommodations this close to the Pearl District. It's a towering mansion located in a lovely tree-laden area within walking distance to the cool shops and boutiques. All the rooms are large and well appointed. There is a sun room to enjoy an afternoon Port with cookies. An outdoor area is also set up with tables and chairs. Games and books are abundant in the "library." We didn't eat breakfast, but a full breakfast is provided. A key is provided to the front door, so accessibility is easy. Free parking is provided. It's a nicely furnished, very spacious facility.


Great Location and Room

4.4 on April 29, 2013

The house and room were beautiful and in a great location near the downtown area. My only issue was that I thought the breakfasts were a bit too exotic. I would have preferred a more conventional meal. Overall, though, a beautiful, restful B&B.


Heron Haus is awesome!

5 on April 17, 2013

Very friendly owners and also very helpful. We stayed for seven nights. Awesome breakfasts - too big actually! We will stay here again on our next visit to Portland


Outstanding B&B, highly recomend the Heron Haus

5 on April 11, 2013

Our 4 night stay at the Heron Haus was delightful. The rooms are very comfortable, spaceous, clean, and quiet. Every breakfast was unique, delicious, filling and pleasantly presented. There were fresh baked cookies every evening. Pam and Carl Walker are wonderful inn keepers and their staff are friendly, efficient, and helpful. The Heron Haus is ideally located in a cul-de-sac close to downtown Portland, hiking trails, and gardens. I highly recommend the Heron Haus.


Awesome B&B

5 on April 09, 2013

Second time staying here. Same great experience! Supportive and kind hosts cooked delicious vegan food for us as requested, provided a gorgeous home to relax and lounge in, and the location is close to all things fabulous in Portland. Highly recommended for your next R&R trip!


Heron Haus Rocks!

4.8 on April 07, 2013

Best Breakfasts in town and a wonderful location. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are lovely. We'll go back to Portland just to stay at Heron Haus.


Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Portland

5 on March 28, 2013

This is the second time I've stayed at Heron Haus. Both experiences were excellent. The food is fresh, creative and delicious. The rooms are spacious and airy with comfortable furniture. My favorite is Kulia for the great view. When, not if, you go, call ahead for directions. It can be tricky to find, but once you've found it, you'll be glad!


Get Away with Daughters

4.4 on March 25, 2013

My daughters and I stayed in the Manu Room with the extra bedroom. Very nice views, clean and big enough that we could unwind each in our little space. Breakfast was gourmet, so its not your eggs and bacon which was fine for me. The B&B is very close to boutique shopping, restaurants and you can walk to Pearl District. Its close to street cars and buses. My girls want to come back in the summer and I would stay here again.


Nice Weekend

4.2 on March 22, 2013

We stayed in the Kauni the room has lovely windows with wooden shutters that surrounded the room. Many original features of the home were retained on the conversion to a B&B which is nice in keeping with the period of the home. The website did not disclose this room has only a stand up shower which was OK but not what we had expected. The food was well made but OK but unusual (i.e. salad with breakfast.)


Perfect Weekend Getaway

4.6 on March 15, 2013

My wife and I had a great stay at the Heron Haus! We only stayed one night as we were just in Portland a short time. The room was great, the breakfast was fantastic, and the house is just gorgeous. Definitely a place to stay if you are ever in Portland!


Wonderful, homey stay in Portland

4.2 on March 15, 2013

Large, comfortable public and private rooms. Delicious breakfast that satisfies without overfeeding you.


Excellent

5 on March 14, 2013

Clean, quiet and quaint.


Lovely and enjoyable - would recommend!

4.0 on March 11, 2013

Lovely and enjoyable - beautiful setting


Portland in Feb

3.4 on February 23, 2013

Very nice property, I would stay again.


Loved Portland and the Heron Haus

4.4 on February 18, 2013

My husband and I visited Portland for an extended weekend. The Heron Haus was perfect, romantic, quiet and beautiful. The rooms were spacious and clean. The age of the house shows in some ways, creaky floors and chipped paint. All these things add to the charm and homey feeling. The breakfast was amazing. I am vegan and my husband vegetarian and every breakfast was catered to our liking. My husband really enjoyed himself at meal times. The hostess, Pam, was full of ideas for places to eat and things to do on our vacation. We couldn't fit them all in so we will be going back.


Beautiful city view!

4.0 on January 30, 2013

The room was very comfortable and charming.The common rooms were lovely and functional. We really enjoyed the library with the large window seat. The breakfasts were scrumptious and our hosts were very friendly and accomidating.


Great Way to Spend a Weekend

3.8 on January 26, 2013

Our visit to Heron Haus was a last minute decision based on photos. I was seconds away from booking a hotel and am so glad I didn't! Heron Haus was a great decision! Instead of feeling cooped up in a hotel room, after biking, and eating, and touring and the other exhausting aspects of visiting a new town, my daughter and I retired to our huge room, turned on the fireplace, and curled up on separate couches while while we rehashed the day and made plans for the next. We had absolutely everything we wanted - a roomy desk, lots of light, a view, a comfy bed with comfy pillow, maps, closets, a lovely house to roam, a sense of security, etc... and we felt very comfortable padding downstairs for coffee or tea or a cookie. We had a car and were happy we did - it was very cold and I wouldn't have liked to wait for a bus at night. Since parking was easy and free, it wasn't an inconvenience and when we didn't want it we left it behind. Overall, a perfect long weekend.


Weekend at Heron Haus

4.0 on January 24, 2013

Nice old house, quite convenient. We enjoyed our stay very much.


My wonderful stay at Heron Haus

4.8 on January 21, 2013

Flexibel check in time. A ten year tawny port wine for the afternoon cocktail hour. Fresh cookies. Comfortable and spacious room with a view, WiFi and separate bath. Delicous breakfast. Quality teas and coffee. Stately neighborhood. Beautifully maintained inn. Plenty of parking. Easy walk to Portland's Alphabet district for shopping and dining.


Very pleasant and well appointed

5 on January 17, 2013

The hosts and their employees are also kind, considerate, respectful of privacy, and in a good mood.


Quick break in Portland.

4.4 on January 13, 2013

We had a wonderful, three-day stay at the Heron Haus. Welcoming, warm, friendly, spacious are adjectives that come to mind. A delicious home-cooked breakfast, family style, gave us the opportunity to chat with the other guests. Good exercise hiking up and down the hill to eclectic shops and an array of good restaurants. We would definitely return!


Wonderful Stay at the Heron Haus

5 on December 30, 2012

We were very pleased with our stay at the Heron Haus due to the following: easy to find; enjoyable views of Portland; good parking; friendly service/host; beautiful house; and great breakfast.


Good choice in Portland

4.4 on December 18, 2012

Quiet, peaceful surroundings, good location: what else do you need?


So Happy!

5 on December 11, 2012

This was our first time in Portland, and Heron Haus was located near all of the things we wanted to do. It's unreal how quaint and romantic the place is, and our room was perfect with a great third floor view (from on top of a hill no less), a working fireplace, and an extra sitting room. The breakfast was delicious and presented beautifully, and we had a delightful discussion with the other visitors and Pam as we ate. Would stay there again in a heartbeat.


Heron Haus

4.2 on December 09, 2012

Pleasant and comfortable. Great location. The breakfast could be improved.


Elegant property in the West Hills

4.8 on November 21, 2012

This is an elegant property that's close in for enjoying NW Portland but hidden away in its own wooded garden setting. The house is huge and filled with nice touches, so it really feels like a special treat to stay there. The owners were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was French toast, apple chicken sausage and sauteed veggies. I would definitely stay there again and will recommend it to people looking for a B&B experience in Portland.


Cozy and VERY Portland

5 on November 12, 2012

My stay at the Heron Haus was wonderful. My room was immaculate and had a fireplace to add to the ambiance. The amenities were up to par with any hotel I have stayed in and far surpassed most hotels on the quality of the common rooms-very historic and lovingly maintained.


Charming B&B

4.6 on November 06, 2012

Quiet, cozy and relaxing. Great location! Short walk to great food and shopping.


Great location and experience

4.6 on November 04, 2012

Hard to beat. NW part of town is gorgeous and free of the riff-raff you see in other parts. 23rd is a few minutes walk away and has tons of great shops and restaurants. Transit stops are close too. The b&b itself is very nice, clean, staff is friendly and helpful, and breakfast is top notch. Highly recommended.


lovely B and B

4.6 on October 27, 2012

A lovely B and B in a great part of Portland, OR. The rooms are beautifully decorated and spacious. My only complaint is the lack of a bathroom on the first floor.


Introduction to Portland

4.6 on October 24, 2012

What a wonderful introduction to Portland. We can't wait to visit again. Coral, you were fabulous ! ! !


Very pleasant stay

4.2 on October 20, 2012

A very pleasant and relaxed environment, well located to sample some of the most interesting parts of Portland. Lot's of public relaxing space in the house, hospitable innkeeper, and pleasant other guests. Some were there to run in a half marathon, which meant they missed breakfast- the host made accommodations to feed them before and after. This was almost our first B&B stay in the US, so not a lot to compare with, but a nice introduction.


Lovely historic B&B

3.8 on October 15, 2012

Lovely house, on the hills of Portland, with comfortable guest suite. Delicious breakfast.


Close to Attractions and Dining

4.2 on October 11, 2012

The breakfasts were very large and delicious, but a little heavy on the carbs. It was very close to nice restaurants and shopping, so it made it an easy city stay.


Portland Stay

5 on October 10, 2012

The Heron Haus was beautiful and the people were exceptionally friendly and welcoming. We could not have had a better time. The breakfasts were delicious and well served.


Outstanding

4.8 on October 09, 2012

We picked this B&B for its location close to where we wanted to be for our visit but would recommend Heron Haus for your stay in the Portland area in general. Rooms were spacious and the atmosphere was friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were an unexpected delight - restaurant quality. You will love it.


Heron Haus Mediocre

2.4 on October 04, 2012

This B&B is located in a nice neighborhood and is clean. I think that the pictures make it look more attractive on the inside than it really is. The owner is minimally engaging, rather than making you feel like she loves what she does. Your only option for breakfast is a hot breakfast served from 8:30 to 9:00; no choices. If you are trying to get off early to sightsee there will be NO cereal with fruit! Just how difficult and expensive can it be to have cereal and bananas sitting out?


Great stay in great neighborhood

4.6 on October 02, 2012

Heron Haus is an ideal B&B for those wanting to explore Portland. Tucked away in the hills just above NW Portland and near the Pearl District you have the best of both worlds - urban experience, beautiful home. Especially enjoyed the sunroom and the breakfasts. Pam is a low-key, informed and friendly host.


Gracious living

5 on September 30, 2012

Lovely, quiet house with great service and breakfast in a great part of town. Near good restaurants with wonderful happy hours; public transportation; and Washington Park with miles of hikes.


a great place to stay in an outstanding location

5 on September 30, 2012

Heron Haus is a charming b&b located in gorgeous Nob Hill. Walk the great neighborhood and to fabulous restaurants and Washington Park. Pam and Carl are gracious hosts that will help you in selecting restaurants and activities. Pam's breakfasts are a wonderful way to start the day. We highly recommend a stay at Heron Haus. R&C, Wheaton, IL


Beautiful home away from home

5 on September 26, 2012

Great neighborhood, architecture and view of downtown Portland below from my room. Pam was a gracious and concerned hostess. The room was immaculate and I slept well. I only wish that the fireplace in my room was turned on, but it was summertime. The cookies and port were nice when I got back in the evening. I missed breakfast, though, because I had to leave early. Oh well, next time...


Girlfriends Get Away in Portland

4.4 on September 24, 2012

Beautiful home, excellent location, large room ... I would definitely recommend to other travellers.


Excellent B&B

5 on September 22, 2012

This is a beautiful location! The picture does not do it justice. The host family was very accommodating and helpful. The breakfast was amazing and the room comfortable and beautiful. EXCELLENT BED! Soooo comfortable!


Charming B&B, Wonderful Staff

5 on September 17, 2012

Gourmet breakfasts were delicious. Excellent location. Close to dining, shops and public transportation. I would definitely stay here again.


A Very Enjoyable Time at Heron Haus

4.4 on September 14, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our three night stay at this beautiful B&B. Our room was large and very nicely decorated. Each morning's breakfast was delicious and well balanced. Pam was very helpful in offering suggestions for near-by attractions and dining options-many of which were within walking distance.. If we are ever in Portland again, we would choose to stay at Heron Haus.


Lovely place

5 on September 11, 2012

This picture does not do justice to this B&B. The room was wonderful, exceptionally comfortable bed, charming garden to sit outside, surprising wine and cookies in the evening. The breakfast was amazing and the host family did their best to make us feel welcome.


Great Stay at the Heron Haus

5 on September 10, 2012

We had a great stay at the Heron Haus. Pam and her staff were great! The breakfasts were great and we had port and cookies out every night upon our return. Heron Haus is within walking distance of almost everything. It is in a beautiful area in NW Portland and close to Forest Park, the Japanese and Rose Test Gardens, as well as tons of shopping and eateries. The rooms were quite nice and very quiet. When we are back in Portland, we will definitely be staying at the Heron Haus!


Heron Haus

4.6 on September 09, 2012

Very friendly and accomodating. We would have liked to have stayed longer! Fantastic location-we walked everywhere. The breakfast was delicious.


historic elegance in Portland

4.0 on September 06, 2012

While the bathroom fan didn't work, and a small shelf next to the bed would be useful, we found the room to be quiet and very comfortable.


Best B & B near downtown Portland

3.8 on September 03, 2012

Will definitely stay again, close to NW23rd (easy walking for regular walkers), accomodations are very nice, and breakfast was unique but very tasty.


Heron Haus

3.0 on August 29, 2012

Everything as expected from the website. Good advice on getting around from the proprietors.


Beautiful home in a beautiful city

4.6 on August 28, 2012

Heron Haus is a stately home set high on a hill above Portland. It is close to the Rose Garden and the Japanese Garden, although there is not a very direct walking route to the parks. It is only a few blocks from a trendy area of shops and restaurants where a streetcar to downtown also stops. Unfortunately the walk back to the B&B is all uphill, doable but it's a slower walk after the delicious cuisine served at the 21st or 23rd Street restaurants. The house is very accomodating to its guests with several seating areas for socializing or quiet reading. A computer is available for the guests as is free wi-fi. The room we stayed in was large, with a gas fireplace, large windows, two closets, a couch and a writng desk. The hsotess was very accomodating, even allowing us access to our room before it was ready for us so that we could drop our luggage off before returning our rental car. Breakfasts are varied and very tasty, although some might find them less than filling. They are not the hearty breakfasts one might be used to eating in B&B's, but they were more than adequate to fuel us through the morning and into the afternoon when we stopped for a snack. All in all, I would highly recommend Heron Haus B&B as a very worthwhile place to stay while visiting Portland.


Great Portland B&B!

4.8 on August 25, 2012

We spent four nights here and would definitely stay here again. Great location, great breakfasts, large room with a wonderfully comfortable bed!


Thumbs Up in Portland

3.8 on August 23, 2012

Great location in Nob Hill and within walking distance of many restaurants. The room contained maps and brochures of the city and area. Pam was very helpful in planning our day trip to Mt Hood. Definitely recommend


August Getaway

4.2 on August 11, 2012

The location of the Heron Haus was great, easy walking distance to many shops, restaurants and bars. We were in the Mahina Room and the room itself was fantastic, lots of space, great views, everything perfect with the exception of the shower. For some reason they built the shower using a fiberglass kit which was in sore need of replacement. There were gaps at the bottom and some ater damage. Such a great place I do not know why they went so cheap on the shower, should have spent the additional money and built in a shower with mortar and tile. Other than that it was a great place and will definitly stay there again next time I am in Portland. Roy Balfour


A Great Place to stay

4.8 on August 08, 2012

The location was fabulious. The room was beautiful, and the service was perfect. Every evening we would come back to find port and cookies on the dining table -- it was a wonderful touch. The breakfast was delicious, and they were easily able to accomidate our vegetarian and glutin-free diets. I highly reccomend Heron Haus.


Charming B&B

3.0 on August 05, 2012

This place is well situated - close to downtown area and still in a very quite neighborhood. The breakfast was every morning different and so unique and delicious !


Portland Getaway

4.6 on August 02, 2012

The garden patio area is lovely. Instead of dining out our last evening in Portland we went to Elephant's Deli and bought some goodies to have for dinner on the patio. Lovely and relaxed evening with beautiful surroundings and a nice bottle of wine. We will be back!


A Knight with the Herons

4.6 on August 02, 2012

We were well received - promptly attended to and graciously accommodated. The room was very comfortable and expertly arranged. We he'd to leave early the next morning, so our hostess prepared us a "breakfast to go." all things were very nicely attended to. Thanks!


Biannual visitors to Portland

4.2 on July 26, 2012

Have stayed here often over the years since Pam bought and started operating the business. We have stayed in several other top-rated B&B'sand hotels in Portland previously and now stay only at the Heron Haus, both due to the facility and the location on Nob Hill. The facility and common areas including large sitting room, library, closed porch and outside garden have always offered outstanding value.compared to most B&B's we have frequented throughout the U.S. The rooms, given the age of the home, are generally well equipped and comfortable with the only exception being the air conditioning in the summer. It gets quite warm in Portland and the A/C units in the rooms are inadequate (on an average summer's day we struggled to get the room temperature below 80 degrees at night). The bedding includes exceptional microfiber sheets, which can be purchased through Pam (we did).


Happy to be back

4.6 on July 19, 2012

Host was warm and pleasant, rooms were clean and as advertised, house and location made the entire experience worth going back to in the future.


A lovely place to stay in Portland

4.0 on July 18, 2012

Our charming room (Manu) with its separate bedroom and extra large bathroom was perfect for the three of us. The innkeepers have a nice balance of helpfulness and discretion, giving good advice when we needed it and allowing us plenty of privacy. The homecooked breakfasts included were delicious, substantial and healthy. The inn has beautiful public rooms and a very nice terrace. Its location is convenient to all the pleasures of NW Portland, while being just removed enough to be quiet. We definitely will stay at Heron Haus again whenever we visit Portland. Susan, Robert, and Robert


Heron Haus, Portland

4.2 on July 08, 2012

Great information about local activities and dining. Enjoyed both recommended restaurants and recommended bicycle trips!


Excellent B&B!

5 on July 08, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay. Thanks for the dinner and transportation tips Carl. And Pam - You're cooking was great! Paul is still raving about your cookies!! Maria and Paul Wronski


Heron Haus - June 2012

4.4 on July 07, 2012

The hosts were extremely polite and helpful. The romm we stayed in was wonderful - we could see Mt. Hood. The location was convenient.


Heron Haus Portland

3.6 on July 01, 2012

Room was gorgeous, and fresh cookies in the afternoon and port out in the evening was a lovely touch. Also a very nice library and extremely good coffee in the mornings, with the morning newspapers.


Wonderful stay at the Heron House

5 on June 28, 2012

My wife and I spent 2 nights there in mid June 2012. This is a first rate B and B. It is an old mansion built in 1904, with lots of character. We had a spacious room with cozy fireplace and king bed. The room was impeccably clean. Gourmet breakfasts were enjoyed each AM. The location was perfect for us, west Portland and easy walking to chic shopping. I would give this B and B my hightest recommendation...M and C of Grand Rapids, Michigan area.


Lovely

3.6 on June 27, 2012

Heron Haus is in a gorgeous neighborhood in NW Portland. It and the surrounding houses are a treat to be in and among. Our room was spacious and had lovely touches sa original art. The innkeepers do a great job and are very responsive.


Vacation Bliss Near Gardens & Portland's Best Neighborhood

5 on June 26, 2012

We loved our stay at this very charming Inn in the leafy Nob Hill district of Portland. The breakfasts were creative and delicious--we are all Vegetarian (and one Gluten-Free)--so we appreciated the staff's mindfulness in accommodating all of us. Ideal location, too. One day we hiked up to the Rose Gardens & Japanese Tea Gardens, and spent another day wandering through the young, hip neighborhood of 23rd Avenue, with great cafes and shops. The Inn rooms were lovely and spacious with lots of sitting areas and views of the city. Beds were deliciously comfortable. This is an ideal spot for a special vacation, honeymoon, anniversary, etc. It's much more beautiful on the inside and in person than is shown in photos. A real jewel!


Portland and Heron Haus

4.6 on June 02, 2012

Location was fantastic. Within easy walk to Alphabet District, trolley, and yummy bars and restaurants. We took the Forktown tour in the Alphabet District.Check it out because it was so fun. We ate and drank our way around the streets. Breakfast every morning was so good. Cookies and Port out for a night time snack


Stay in May 2012

3.0 on May 23, 2012

We really liked the location of B&B - very close to Washington Park, restaurants, in the very hart of the historic resident district. The owners were very friendly and willing to accommodate our special requests (about arrival time). The room was excellent. It actually exceeded our expectations. The only small problem we encountered were ants (just make sure to keep your food in the refrigerator downstairs, and you will do fine). Breakfasts were good too. Excellent selection of teas.


Highly Recommended!

4.6 on May 16, 2012

Heron Haus was absolutely everything I wanted for a B&B stay and way more. It's beautifully located just outside the city center, wonderful innkeepers, welcoming, great food, just good all around. I feel the rooms are very reasonably price as they are absolutely comfy and charming. I will definitely be going back to Heron Haus on my next trip to Portland.


Spacious and gracious

5 on May 02, 2012

Beautiful B&B and helpful host. Fabulous neighborhood. Walking distance to Pearl District and close to Jeld-Wen Stadium. Go Timbers!


Cozy and Comfortable

5 on April 26, 2012

Our family had a lovely stay at Heron Haus. It is a beautiful and cozy house in a beautiful and convenient location. Pam and Carl were friendly and offered lots of information about the area (where to eat and where to go, and where to catch the trains). The atmosphere at Heron Haus was quiet, relaxed and down to earth. The breakfast was delicious and served by friendly staff. Our room was clean and comfortable and we loved waking up to the view of the gorgeous green trees and the beautiful blue/gray sky. It was a very nice stay!


Portland Pearl!

4.4 on April 24, 2012

favorite place to stay in the Knob Hill district of Portland


Fabulous B&B

5 on April 23, 2012

This B&B was fabulous - especially the food! The neighborhood is beautiful, Walkable and full of great shops and restaurants.


Beautiful, historic B&B in great part of Portland

5 on April 18, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed two nights at Heron Haus. It was perfect! The house is absolutely beautiful, as is the surrounding area. The neighborhood is quiet, but easy walking distance to streets filled with shops & restaurants. It's also an easy (but moderately hilly) walk to the Portland Japanese Garden and Rose Garden. We will definitely be returning -- highly recommended!


Lovely, Serene Stay

4.6 on March 04, 2012

We love the location. We loved walking around the hilly neighborhood, admiring the homes and landscaping. We also loved walking to the shops and restaurants in the Alphabet District. Pam was helpful and gave us highlighted maps of some trails she suggested for us. Breakfasts were wonderful and creative. Our room was clean, spacious, and the bed and linens were comfortable. We would love to stay here again.


Cozy B&B in a fantastic location!

4.8 on February 29, 2012

Breakfasts were exquisite, hot tea and homemade cookies in the evenings, comfortable bed, we will be back. Great place to stay and see the city!


a treasure

4.6 on February 27, 2012

A truly beautiful Grand Old Home. The restoration and up keep are all top notch. With advanced warning and clear communication my slightly early breakfast was not a problem. The linens are sumptuous! The view from my room was panoramic as the Heron Haus sits up on a hillside. I would definately recomend this lovely place and hope to visit it again!


Great Stay

4.0 on February 27, 2012

Great location for neighborhood. Rooms are very large and quiet. I would certainly recommend it for people who need a place to stay in the neighborhood. The owners were very friendly.


Prima!

5 on February 23, 2012

I have only positive things to share about Heron Haus. Some highlights: spacious, comfortable room (Makua); fine breakfasts that accommodated our diets (vegetarian); hilly, safe, lovely neighborhood, a walker's dream; evening tea, coffee, port, and cookies; the New York Times and The Oregonian, every day; a relaxed atmosphere; excellent library and living room (common areas). Not since Portugal have I experienced lodgings so nice. Thank you to our hosts.


Heronhaus - Outstanding!!

4.8 on February 05, 2012

The property is well kept and in an excellent location near restaurants and shopping and Washington Park. The common area is very large with a comfortable front room and cozy library. A computer is provided for guests' use. Breakfasts were outstanding!! Highly recommended!


Best B&B experience ever.

5 on December 29, 2011

We enjoyed a festive Christmas weekend with Pam and Carl. The B&B was beautifully decorated, breakfast was delicious, and the beds were incredibly comfortable after long days of Portland walking tours with our friends. If you're looking for a place to stay in Portland, Heron Haus is the tops!


Very enjoyable stay at Heron Haus

4.6 on December 20, 2011

We needed to spend two weeks in Portland and were looking for a place that would provide a more comfortable stay than a typical hotel. We picked Heron Haus and were very excited that we did. Pam and Carl provide excellent service to their guests. The hotel is clean and well maintained, the breakfasts are outstanding. We highly recommend Heron Haus. Oxana and Serguei


One of the best Inns I have ever visited.

5 on November 27, 2011

This Inn is beautiful and Pam is so very pleasant without being intrusive. The breakfast was the best and we have been to Inns in the US and Europe.. I told her that her creativity in cooking put her at the top. Great location for walking and shopping and eating along 21st and 23rd.. So glad my son moved to Portland so I could experience this Inn.


Affordable Accomodations In A Great Location

3.6 on November 26, 2011

We stayed at Heron House several years ago under the "old regime" and came back anyway - and we're pleasantly surprised to find the establishment under new management. The rooms are clean and cozy (gas fireplaces keep them warm!) and the new hosts are friendly and charming, and the location is any easy walk from some of Portland's outstanding shops and restaurants. As somebody else said somewhere, if you've been avoiding Heron Haus, it is more than safe to go back now.


Heron Haus

5 on November 15, 2011

Heron Haus is lovely. The breakfasts are amazing, definitely five star. The rooms are elegant and comfortable. I highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast


Portland in October

5 on October 29, 2011

We spent a week at Heron Haus and loved it. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. Pam's culinary skills make breakfast the best way to start the day. The port and home made cookies make a nice bedtime treat. This is a great value.


Definitely Recommend Heron Haus

4.0 on October 19, 2011

Heron Haus was great! Hosts Pam and Carl were very accommodating and the breakfasts were excellent (as were the evening cookie treats). We felt right at home. Bed and pillows were both quite comfortable. Easy access to Nob Hill dining & shopping. I would have preferred the listed amenities include bathrobe and TV but not including that on the information was better than including it and not having the amenity available. We would definitely stay there again, and will recommend to our friends.


a must!

4.2 on October 17, 2011

Heron Haus is one of those to-do's when you visit Portland. Absolutely fun and gorgeous neighborhood. Thanks for the delicious breakfast Pam! We could tell you enjoy cooking.


October in Portland

4.4 on October 10, 2011

Extremely good breakfasts; friendly innkepers, room was excellent (except floor squeaked loudly - but no one below). Would definitely stay again for the inn and the location so near many great restaurants in the Nob Hill area of Nortghwestern Portland.


Such a gret place to stay in Portland..

4.0 on October 09, 2011

We always feel at home when we stay here, the breakfasts are wonderful, Pam and Carl are lovely warm people.


Love this B&B

4.6 on September 14, 2011

I love this B&B. My husband and I have spent 3-4 nights at a time here, during 6 different visits to Portland over the last 17 years. We loved it when it was run by the previous owners, and we love it even more now, under the care of the current innkeepers. Pam is a very helpful and welcoming innkeeper. The food is much better than it was when the B&B was run by the previous owner. The rooms are spacious and well supplied. The beds are lovely and comfortable. We love the location, close enough to downtown but in a much quieter and upscale area near Washington Park and Forest Park. We always hike both when we are in Portland and this B&B is close enough to walk to the trails. The only reason I am giving Heron Haus four stars, rather than five, is because on our last trip, a couple with their 21 month old toddler was staying at the B&B and the fussy toddler kind of ruined the ambiance of the place. I understand that it is the nature of toddlers to cry, throw things, generally throw a fit. This is why they should not be staying in a B&B like Heron Haus. Some B&B's have separate cottages, or allow patrons to eat in their rooms. This is not the case with Heron Haus. Heron Haus has one dining room and all must eat breakfast at the same time in this one small dining room. A crying toddler, making lots of toddler noise caused all the adult patrons to have to yell over the din she was creating. If the B&B does not have separate quarters for babies, perhaps children under 5 should not be allowed. In the future I will be more careful to check the policies about such things before booking reservations at B&Bs, even ones where we've stayed previously. I hope the current innkeepers at Heron Haus will reconsider their policies about allowing babies and toddlers..


My stay at the Heron

4.8 on September 11, 2011

I would recommend the Heron to anyone. The interior and grounds are beautiful; the rooms are elegant, spacious and comfortable. The breakfast fit my dietary limitations and the staff was helpful.


Heron Haus

3.4 on September 04, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights to attend a wedding at the Hoyt Arboretum. Heron Haus is in a great location, close to shopping and restaurants, but still in a quiet neighborhood. We stayed in the Mahuna room and it was huge and very comfortable. We did not eat breakfast at Heron Haus because we needed to get out early to get stuff done, but it looked like a wonderful spread and served by friendly people. We would definitely stay here again.


Quiet gem

4.4 on September 01, 2011

This is a lovely property in a quiet residential neighborhood convienient to restaurants and parks. The staff were very pleasant and helpful, and the breakfasts were delicious. I would definitely stay there again.


Our stay at Heron Haus

4.0 on August 27, 2011

Very tastefully furnished with great attention to detail. We really felt we were sharing the host's home with its spacious rooms, library and pretty garden. The rooms themselves were large and comfortable so you could equally spend time in these. Providing coffee/tea at 7.30am, iced tea when you came in from touring and then port and home made biscuits in the evning was a nice touch. The breakfasts were imaginative and beautifully presented with fresh fruit a key feature. On the one occasion my husband felt he would have appreciated some toast and jam to finish off with as the portions were smaller but the next day it was more than adequate. We would certainly return.


Cozy and beautiful place to stay!

4.8 on August 23, 2011

We stayed at Heron Haus in this middle Aug for three days. It was really beautiful and cozy place to stay in nice area. Mrs.Pam was very kind and nice person and the breakfast were wonderful everyday with excellent coffee. We wish we could stay more! The room was big enough to three people and nicely cleaned. We will go back to Heron Haus for sure again!!


Loved it!

4.2 on August 22, 2011

Heron Haus is a wonderful place to stay in Northwest Portland. The Inn is beautiful, the innkeepers and staff are friendly, the food was excellent, and the location is perfect.


nice bed and breakfast

4.0 on August 21, 2011

We stayed at heron haus for 2 nights while visiting Portland,Oregon on a northwest vacation. The room was nice. Bathroom could have been updated. Breakfast was yummy. Good location to get to things in the city. Walking distance to lots of things to do and to city transportation system.


Great location

3.0 on August 19, 2011

The location of Heron Haus is terrific: within easy walking distance of 23rd street and the Pearl District. Also close to the downtown streetcars. This B n B has changed hands, and hence the physical environment has been upgraded a bit. We missed the warmth and enthusiasm of the previous owners, but overall this is a worthy place to stay. It would be nice to have a map of the area that actually includes the streets with Heron Haus and 23rd street, as the map in the rooms (from Powell's bookstore) is of an adjacent area, but doesn't show those staying in the B n B how to get there.


Nice stay in a great location

3.8 on August 09, 2011

The innkeepers were affable and informative, the breakfasts were delicious and accommodated vegetarians, the house is big and beautiful and the location is perfect for walking to 23rd Avenue, the Pearl district and Washington Park. The high-season rates were competitive with a hotel, with a nicer stay. Recommended.


Excellent location

3.2 on July 25, 2011

Great location near NW Portland shops, dining and the Rose and Japanese Gardens. Not far walk from the trolly line, which will get you downtown and into the Pearl District. Lovely breakfast. There was everything we needed in the room and it was large, but design is just not that special. Driveway to the house is very steep and narrow. All said, though, we would stay here again as the location is great and the place is acceptable.


A B&B Gem!

5 on July 23, 2011

We truly enjoyed our stay at Heron Haus! Pam and Carl are great hosts. The house is lovely with several comfortable spots such as the library, parlor, and garden patio to sit and relax. Their restaurant suggestions were perfect. We really got a feel for Portland's foodie culture. Heron Haus is perfectly located in the Nob Hill area - within walking distance to many restaurants and shops as well as big beautiful homes and gardens. We would definitely stay there again and recommend Heron Haus to anyone visiting downtown Portland.


Wonderful Stay

4.0 on July 18, 2011

The property is absolutely beautiful. We had a wonderful stay. The accommodations both in the room and on the main floor were wonderful. We loved the outdoor sitting area and since we had such nice weather, we didn't take time to enjoy the lovely indoor sitting room. The breakfasts were delicious; my favorite was the blintz casserole, yum!!


A Wonderful Stay at Heron Haus

4.8 on May 24, 2011

Our recent stay at Heron House in Portland was just perfect. Pam and Carl are great hosts. Pam even helped us find a computer store in Beaverton to get a special cable we forgot for the laptop. More to the point, Heron Haus is situated in a great location - within walking distance to both Washington Park via a back way and to the great restaurants around 23rd Avenue. We highly recommend Heron Haus and really hope to come back soon!


great B%B

5 on May 19, 2011

fantastic breakfast! Neat room and great location. Didn't hurt that it didn't rain the day we were there and we went to the rhodadendron garden in full bloom


Delightful week in Portland

5 on May 17, 2011

I recently had the pleasure of staying at the heron Haus B & B in Portland Oregon. I selected it because it was close to my daughter's house and it appearred charming on the website. They were quite understanding when I had to change my arrangements three different times during the week prior to arrival. My arrival was very late and they were quite very accommodating. The rooms are lovely and very comfortable. The breakfast is beyond any expectations. I did not expect 3-4 delicious courses and that breakfast lasted me all day until supper that evening. My particular room included a spectacular view of downtown Portland and the gardens. The bed was super comfortable and the space was very generous. Parking was easy and the location was close to many shops and restaurants alsthough also very secluded and quiet. I will not hesitate to stay there again. It is indeed a great home away from home.


Great place to stay!

4.0 on May 16, 2011

Food was delicious, service was friendly and helpful, location was perfect. I wouldn't stay anywhere else!


Beautiful house and great location

4.4 on May 16, 2011

If you're looking for a bed and breakfast that is beautiful and tasteful (no teddy bears or doilies), this is the spot for you. Nice owners, excellent breakfast, and spacious house. I had an early flight out on my last morning, and they left some fresh-baked banana bread and some fruit out for me to take on my flight. A great stay!


An excellent experience

5 on April 27, 2011

I was very impressed with Heron Haus in every way. It was beautifully kept up, the rooms were great, and the breakfasts were very, very good. I have food allergies, and Pam made me a gluten and dairy free breakfast each morning - beyond the call of duty. I will surely return. Thank you!


Perfect spot

4.2 on April 19, 2011

Quiet, great location, warm hospitality, great food... what's not to love about Heron Haus? Definitely will return.


Portland weekend getaway at Heron Haus

5 on April 17, 2011

My husband and I drove down from Seattle to spend our anniversary weekend in Portland. We stayed at Heron Haus and were delighted. Our room was very comfortable and very clean, the breakfasts were delicious and gourmet, and Pam (innkeeper) was very gracious and helpful. Heron Haus is within walking distance of the Portland Saturday Market, lost of boutiques, restaurants and coffee shops, so that was perfect for us. We will be back! :)


Awesome!

4.8 on April 11, 2011

Everything was beautiful, but breakfast could of been a little larger in its portions. Our hosts were very warm and hospitable. We will definately stay there again and recommend it to others. Thank you, CLiff & Kat Robb


At home in Portland

3.8 on April 09, 2011

This B&B is one of two I recommend for Portland, each of them offering a different experience. Pam is a wonderful chef. Breakfast is always fresh, delicious and beautifully presents. In addition, the portions are just right so you are not overfed to begin your day. The rooms are all bright and open with wonderful beds and each has a very cozy welcoming feel. In the summer, the sunporch is a serene spot for coffee in the morning or a glass of wine in the evening. The neighborhood is one of the best in Portland with an easy walk to the shops on "trendythird" (23rd Ave NW) and a very short drive, long walk, to nearby Forest Park, one of Portland's most extraordinary destinations. While Pam and Carl welcome families, the gymnastics action early in the morning in the room above us with three young children was a little annoying; but the overall ambience of the Heron Haus kept the inner irritation at a minimum.


Perfect for Portland!

4.8 on March 10, 2011

This was my second time staying at the Heron Haus, and I will definitely stay again! The service, friendliness, and food were wonderful. The location is perfect for walking to restaurants, boutiques, and art galleries...not to mention the fantastic view of the city and the mountains. Truly a gem! Pam P, Milwaukee, Wisconsin


Great place to stay...over and over again!

4.6 on February 20, 2011

We have stayed at this B&B four times in the past year. The room is fabulous, we love the locale - it is within walking distance of just about anything one would want to do, and we enjoy the innkeepers, who always have good suggestions of local eateries and places to go. It has truly become a "home away from home" for us when we have to go to Portland for frequent doctor's appointments. Larry and Gayle, Donnelly, Idaho


A nice B & B in NW Portland

3.8 on February 10, 2011

Last weekend we stayed at the Heron Haus. It was surprisingly quiet and comfortable in the room on the 2nd floor. A great location from which to walk to the NW shopping area of Portland and to great restaurants (or catch a street car to downtown).


Beautiful City and Beautiful Inn

3.4 on January 26, 2011

My daughter and I stayed for two nights and fell in love with the Nob Hill area of Portland and the Heron Haus Inn. Some things were average, like the cleanliness and service, other things were exceptional like the views and the food. We would both stay there again and hope to some day. The driveway is narrow and a bit scary, but the parking was worth it. It is close to great shopping and dining and the home is spacious. We did have to contend with some workers that were working on electrical and accidently tripped the alarm to the fire department. We were a bit unnerved as I had to let the firefighter in as there was no sign of the innkeepers - but I did so and told them I was sure it was a false alarm since there were workers there. The innkeepers never did check on us during the alarm issue, I did think that was very odd.


Outstanding B&B

4.0 on January 25, 2011

Very large and comfortable room. Convenient off-street parking. Very quiet. Location convenient to popular Northwest restaurants and shopping.


Surprisingly Quiet

3.0 on January 19, 2011

My husband and I stayed in the Kulia room with the spa. It was nice, although I was surprised to find that the spa and the fireplace were in the bathroom. When I booked the room I thought we would be sipping coffee in front of the fireplace and then a dip in the spa afterward. But since the fireplace is up near the ceiling that was not possible. Pam was very nice and made an excellent soufflé for breakfast. This would be a nice place to stay if you are not native to Portland. My husband and I both grew up here and so we know the area quite well. Overall a good place to get away for the night.


If you are lucky, you will be able to get a reservation at the Heron Haus!

5 on January 17, 2011

Lovely, elegant historic home with gracious hosts and gourmet breakfasts. My home away from home in Portland!


Weekend get-away

4.2 on January 17, 2011

We had a lovely time staying at Heron Haus. The hosts, Pam and Carl, were very kind and helpful. Our room had a beautiful view overlooking downtown Portland, the bridges and Mt Hood. We could also make out Mt St Helens and Mt Rainier. It was also quiet and private. We enjoyed lingering on the window seat in the library after breakfast. We loved being walking distance from great shops and restaurants. We loved exploring the nearby Pittock Mansion and Macleay and Washington Parks.


Beautiful house, beautiful neighborhood, beautiful city.

4.0 on January 04, 2011

This was a great place to stay in Portland. The house has a great charm to it. The service was good and personable. Our room was enormous. The breakfasts were very good. The first morning we had a wonderful soufflé, the second morning we had tasty french toast made with mascarpone. The only complaint my wife and I have is the very short time frame you can have breakfast. You are told to be there between 8:30 and 9:00am. This gave us a certain amount of anxiety realizing that we HAD to wake up, shower and be ready to eat within this 30min window. I think there should be a minimum of a 1 hour window for breakfast. Anyways... that's our only complaint. Everything else was great. The owner gave us great advice on places to eat and things to see. We ate dinner at a nearby restaurant called Paley's Place. It was fantastic. We also walked to the Japanese Gardens from the house. We highly recommend going there (it's still beautiful in winter, and possibly better because of the lack of crowds). The neighborhood surrounding the Heron Haus is amazingly beautiful. We walked and drove around looking at houses for hours. I saw some of the most beautiful and detailed houses I've ever seen. The restaurants, coffee/tea shops, Pubs etc... on 23rd ave and 25th ave are great places to go. The bus system makes it easy to get downtown so you don't have to worry about parking. Portland is the most beautiful modern city I've ever seen. As a yacht captain I've been to every major coastal city in the US, many in Mexico, through most of the Bahamian and Carribean waters, and have been through Europe (my wife and I have been in Italy for 6 months). Portland is definitly a city you must see. The Heron Haus is a great place to call home seeing it. P.S. We did a 3 hour bike tour with a company called Pedal Bike Tours. It was great. We highly recommend it.


A charming place to stay, even if you live in Portland!

4.6 on December 30, 2010

Living 4 minutes from this inn didn't diminish its feeling as a romantic, hidden get-away. In fact, though we'd driven past it for years, we'd never seen it from the street, so it truly is a hidden secret--one well worth finding! Thank you for the lovely place to stay and for the delicious breakfast--visiting with other guests in the morning reminded us of our stays in B and Bs in Europe!


Excellent

5 on December 22, 2010

Great experience, the breakfast and coffee was excellent and the staff were friendly and accommodating. The driveway into the house is a little treacherous but I still would fully recommend Heron Haus.


Great location and beautiful place

3.8 on December 15, 2010

3 night stay at Heron Haus was exceptional. Pam was accommodating to our dietary request and scheduling needs and offered great suggestions for dining in the area.


See the real Portland from Heron Haus

3.6 on December 15, 2010

We had a great stay at Heron Haus. Situated in on of Portland's great neighborhoods with great views and accessibility. Room was large with one of the most comfortable beds I have slept in. Breakfast was just right. Will recommend to both friends and family!


Couldn't have been better!

4.8 on December 08, 2010

Heron Haus is spectacular! Hospitality beyond compare in an ideal location for exploring the city of Portland. The excellent public transit of Portland is a five minute stroll through a lovely part of the city. Breakfast was an epicurean delight, each day something new: French toast, frittatas, blintzes, oh my! We can't wait to return! -Elyse and Jonathan


Heron Haus was exceptional

5 on December 08, 2010

Kulia room was cozy and the in-room spa was an excellent way to end the day. Breakfasts were extraordinary, not your typical B&B eggs and bacon fare; there were invariably fresh cookies when we returned from our daily outings. Not necessarily good for our diets, but too tempting to pass up.


Lovely property

3.8 on December 08, 2010

Beautiful house, great breakfasts, friendly staff and guests. Really great view of the city and Mount Hood. The only issue was that we saw about 10 beetles in our room during the weekend. Ick.


Like a small Inn

3.6 on November 20, 2010

We especially enjoyed being able to walk to the neighboring shops and restaurants. This B&B felt more like a small Inn to us, which was nice. The rooms are nice sized and relaxing. The breakfasts were wonderful! We look forward to another stay.


We'll be back

5 on November 18, 2010

I loved the spaciousness of this B&B. Lots of places to read and contemplate on the first floor while enjoying the architectural charm of this early 20th century house. After walking all over the Nob Hill area, I came back, poured myself a cup of tea from Pam's extensive offerings, and found a comfy place in the beautiful library to warm up and read. There is also a charming, enclosed porch (a little cool in the winter) where you can contemplate while watching the stone waterfall. We stayed in the Mohina room which has a very comfortable sitting area in front of a fireplace with views of Portland. It also has ample closet space. The location of Heron Haus is great for walking to and exploring the Nob Hill area boutiques and eateries, and of course, the rest of Portland is in easy reach via the city's impressive transit system. One of the highlights of our trip was walking from the Heron Haus to nearby Forest Park, walking up the Tunnel and Cumberland Trails with a stunning reward at the top of this moderate hike .... the Pittock Mansion with beautiful vistas of the city below. Breakfast at the Heron Haus is fantastic .. especially the tasty, lighter-than-air French toast. We hope to make Heron Haus a yearly retreat.


Wonderful breakfast!

4.0 on November 09, 2010

Pam made a wonderful breakfast each day. She also provided a wealth of information about the area which made my visit outstanding!


Perfect Portland Location

4.0 on October 28, 2010

Lovely B&B, walking distance to great shops, dining and the tram, large comfortable rooms, charming hosts. Would come again and will recommend to friends.


Heron Haus

4.4 on October 22, 2010

Pam and Carl are warm hosts. It was a great get away, just wish we had more time. The breakfast was filling enough for the two of us to tramp around downtown and then have a late lunch. The only heads up for Kulia is that the sink is in a different room from the toilet/shower/spa. It wasn't a problem, just unexpected.


Quaint Weekend on the Hill

3.4 on October 16, 2010

The Heron House is a lovely B & B Set in a quaint neighborhood of Portland within easy walking to a charming downtown district filled with shops, restaurants and fun. Rooms were charming, spacious and clean. Nicely decorated. There was a library room, sun room and a lovely outdoor patio with a fountain but we weren't given any instruction if we could actually USE these areas so we were unsure. The morning breakfast was a lovely presentation and served well, but both mornings we stayed the food was very "Sweet". Not quite what we had expected as neither of us are much for sweets. (We over heard a few of the other guests comment also). Better to offer a non sweet breakfast :) The owner is a lovely woman. Very professional and runs the house well. We would recommend this B & B to our friends and family and will be back~


if price not a hinderance...

3.6 on October 12, 2010

Heron Haus is a certainly magnificent home architecturally. Best if you are in town on holiday or shopping. Breakfasts absolutely superbe (8:30-9:30). Definitely good enough to structure your plans around, if you can. If on business however the 8:30 and 9:30 hours firm, and unfortunate to miss. Arrangements for an iron never came to pass...worked out having a kettle for tea by the last day. A wrinkled shirt and loud stomach grumbles for this conference goer this time! Suggest confirming needs in advance if can't fit into schedule. Very accommodating otherwise. City knowledge and suggestions for shoppers! Price pays for beauty of place. Very disappointed not to get 15% off for contacting and booking on line.


Happy at Heon Haus

4.6 on October 08, 2010

Pam could not have been more accommodating to my sister and me during our two night stay at this lovely bed and breakfast. The place is immaculate and is in a beautiful setting very close to the hip boutiques and cool restaurants of Nob Hill. There was no need for us to venture further than this great area full of mature trees and interesting Victorian houses. Definitely recommend this.


Day in Portland

3.8 on September 27, 2010

The facility was very nice and the service was also very good.


A wonderful restful B&B

5 on September 04, 2010

We just love this B&B. The house is lovely, the service great, the room impeccable and the breakfast was delicious. This is our second visit and we would definitely stay again.


Week in Nob Hill - Enjoy!

4.2 on August 31, 2010

Quick three day get away to Portland. Lovely room, in a wonderful house. You can sit in the library, have a pleasant drink on the patio or get caught up on your emails. Great walks to wonderful restaurants nearby. Easy to get downtown without driving! Pam is a helpful host with up to date suggestions for excursions. Breakfast was a treat! Officially my new favorite B&B. Theresa Calgary


well run but

3.6 on August 18, 2010

Heron Haus is well run, beautiful and walking distance to a great little shopping/dining district. My room was large with a good desk. There was coffee, tea and cookies for snacks. On the negative side I got bit by a spider at night and the base of the shower was a bit icky. I would stay here again though I just like things super clean and I notice everything. Don't expect the innkeeper to be really jolly/friendly either. Pam is the one I interacted with and she has a reserved personality. She is helpful and does seem to enjoy the B and B. However, if you are used to staying at B&B's run by those fantastic people people you will be disappointed.


Great getaway to relax in this B&B jewel.

4.8 on June 06, 2009

I made the trip to visit family and staying at the Heron Haus made the trip very special. The B&B was great to stay at with a nice breakfast to start the day. The hostess made the trip planning easy and arrival welcoming. We liked the historic charm of the B&B and felt at home throughout the stay. We really enjoyed 5 minute access to special little shops and good food. I would definately go back to this b&B and plan on that in the future.


Heron Haus

Details

  • Nightly Rate $115 - $225
  • Reviews (258) 4.4
  • Rooms 6
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5032741846
  • Mobile 1-5032741846

Visit Website »

View details

Top