Bellaterra Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.1

View details

  • Guest room4.1
  • Service4.3
  • Value4.0
  • Cleanliness4.1
  • Dining4.0

Score Breakdown based on
15 Reviews

Write A Review

Cozy and elegant

5 on September 17, 2014

Stayed in the Sunrise Room for a night and really enjoyed my visit. Owner is welcoming and down to earth- very easy to talk to. We liked being able to come and go as we needed (no curfews/lockouts just be quiet and mindful), and the house is beautiful. Breakfast was lovely. We just had the Continental due to our schedules, but there was plenty to choose from. I could tell the house had been very lovingly restored, and each room had unique furnishings (we peeked in the vacant ones, couldn't resist). Lair Hill can be a bit tricky to navigate, but owner gave great directions, and this is a pretty close-in location that most visitors wouldn't know about. I'd definitely stay here again. Thanks for a wonderful night's rest in a lovely old home.


I love Bella Terra and Ellen and Evan.

4.4 on November 15, 2013

I have been staying here for a few days each month while attending a training in Portland and I always look forward to coming back. So far I've stayed in three of the rooms. I love the individuality of the rooms, the comfort of the beds and the hospitality of Ellen and Evan. They have everything provided and will help you with directions, recommendations and anything you need. If you are looking for a four star hotel, this isn't it, so go find one and pay for it too. And in this neighborhood, add on another $20 for parking EVERY night. If you are looking for sweet unique comfort at a really great price - Bellaterra is your place!


Worst B&B Ever

1.2 on October 16, 2013

I have stayed in many B&Bs and this is by far the worst one I have ever encountered. It is dirty. I almost had an asthma attack when I tried to close the curtains and they were full of dust. The rug in the room was dirty. The dining room where we ate breakfast almost made me sick. Not to mention breakfast was terrible. The bacon and eggs were cold and when I asked to have them heated up, they heated the turkey bacon (Ug) and not the eggs. I cannot understand how anyone could give this B&B a good rating. They should be reported to Bed and Breakfast.com as a totally unsatisfactory establishment. Not to mention to the city of Portland as not meeting standards of cleanliness in hotel establishment. Unbelievable.


Bellaterra B & B Portland Oregon

5 on September 03, 2012

We stayed here for three days, broken up by five days in Seattle area. We had a great stay, very friendly people, nice feeling throughout and all the guests enjoyed it. Felt like living at a home, not a motel or business of taking care of people. Lots of flavor in the house and rooms- it takes you back to quieter times and 75-100 years ago- not bad for fast paced America- would stay here again for sure- the breakfast was fine and could b eprepared hot or continental. I would recommend it to any and all.


A pleasant and very comfortable stay

4.4 on May 30, 2011

I stayed in the wonderful Borealis room from whose bath tub you can have a wonderful view over the lake. Ellen was a very friendly and nice host who always was concerned about me having a great time and also made every "extra"-request possible if being capable of it. I´m from Germany and as I was only staying for two weeks, I didn´t have that much time to explore the city entirely on my own, but through her useful tips it was very easy for me to get quickly around town and find different locations quicker. Oh and the breakfast was very delicious, too. I only can recommend staying at Bellaterra!


Incredible Portland Experience

5 on January 04, 2011

My roommate and I were attending a Murder Mystery party on New Year's Eve in Portland on Macadam Ave. We were looking for a place to stay within walking distance and found Bellaterra. After talking to our host Ellen, she let us stay later (due to no occupancy the next day) and offered to cook us breakfast later than normal (noon). Her generosity as a hostess was amazing. The old Victorian House had been remodeled and converted into an exquisite bed and breakfast. Ellen gave us a tour of each room upon request. She named each room with a different theme which gave each room a specific feel. I recommend this place to everyone. The hostess is amazing and the view of Mt. Hood on a clear day is spectacular.


perfect

5 on November 26, 2010

a bonus was how close it was to the bus system and our host was able to help us find the correct bus to ride the food was delicious and convenient to our schedule


a bitit pricey and noisy for cost

2.8 on November 21, 2010

This was a fine bed and breakfast...fairly local if you have a car...but a bit pricey for accocomations and meal.


very comfortable B&B in good location in Portland.

4.0 on November 03, 2010

Stately old home in SW Portland just minutes from downtown and access to I-5. Beautiful room, comfortable bed and linens. Food and service was very good and we would highly recommend it to others. The pumpkin pancakes were delicious and appropriate for Halloween weekend!


Enjoyed my stay

3.6 on October 13, 2010

Wonderful location, quiet street, clean, relaxing, felt like home.


Interesting

3.2 on September 09, 2010

Price was pretty low, so can't really quibble. This is a very old Victorian home which is probably undergoing gradual improvements, but you should expect the place to appear in very antique condition. I only saw my own room, which had some fun twists--the owner clearly has her own unique vision, which I enjoyed. My bed was comfortable and had everything I needed for a brief stay. The neighborhood is a bit complicated to find by car, but once you've driven the route it's not difficult. I didn't stay for breakfast.


Most Beautifully Decorated Room

5 on August 30, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for our 22nd anniversary and thoroughly enjoyed it. We have never been in a more beautifully decorated room especially at this price. Much attention has been paid to detail and we are sure at an expense. This is the only place we have ever stayed where there were colored sheets on the bed that felt like Egyptian cotton. And the trim in the room is a work of art. We stayed in the sunrise room. The breakfast was most ample although my husband would have liked more meat. The proprietor was very friendly. We found this place looking under "most romantic B&B's in Portland and it certainly is!


A Memorable Place to Stay

4.8 on March 14, 2010

When we arrived the proprieter was there to greet us. We felt very welcomed and very at home. The B&B has been lovingly restored with great attention to detail. Close to downtown and located in nice older established neighborhood with coffe shops within walking distance. This is a real find and wont be a secret for long. Highly recommend. - 5 stars


Unique Hideaway

4.6 on November 11, 2009

It's not often you find a place like this. Our room here (the Woodland suite) was a rare combination of comfortable & aesthetically noteworthy. The location is favorable, the food is good and the details are charming. Everyone we met on the staff were helpful, relaxed, and very friendly. I highly recommend it.


Great Find

3.6 on November 11, 2009

Uniquely attractive and cozy rooms (better than the photos portray, I felt), wonderfully friendly and informative hosts, relaxed atmosphere, healthy food and a location that is central yet clear of the downtown hubbub. A great place to stay for visitors hoping to get to know Portland and it's environs. I recommend it. And I miss that river rock shower basin.....


Bellaterra Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $75 - $150
  • Reviews (15) 4.1
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Mobile 1-5033328125

Visit Website »

View details

Top