Sakura Ridge Farm and Lodge Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Service4.6
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
64 Reviews

Write A Review

Best place to unwind for a weekend getaway

4.6 on May 30, 2014

My husband and I spent our anniversary weekend at this place and this is our second time there. It is hands down the best place for a relaxing do-nothing kind of weekend. The weather was glorious, and view was just breathtaking. I could not stop taking pictures of Mt. Hood from every angle in the garden every few hours with the ever changing cloud and lighting. The ground was well maintained and the garden is tastefully designed while completely in harmony with the surrounding. Deanna and John are wonderful host and easy to talk to. Breakfast with fresh produce from the garden is healthy and tasty. My husband is vegan and Deanna made wonderful substitute for his plate. We have traveled extensively and it is wonderful to have a such unique place so close to our home (Portland) that we can count on to call it a home away from home any time we want.


Sakura Ridge Farm and Lodge is our favorit B&D to date!

5 on March 31, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Sakura Ridge last month for a trip combining a getaway and also evaluating Hood River as a potential destination for relocation. We made the perfect choice deciding to stay at Sakura Ridge. Deanna and John were perfect hosts and we enjoyed our discussions about life in Hood River over their sumptuous breakfasts each morning. Watching the baby lambs running around the pasture from the dining room was a special treat. We spent the days touring around Hood River and eating at the various restaurants suggested by Deanna and John. The evenings were spent relaxing in the room playing Scrabble over a bottle of wine. We stayed in the Orchard Room, the best room in the house. The floors are heated which was divine. My husband loved the fact that the jeans he layed on the floor the night before were warm when he put them on in the morning. ;-) And the bathroom was beautiful. I wish I had taken the time to enjoy the soaking tub. It overlooks the orchard and looked heavenly. The view of Mt. Hood from the property is breathtaking. We would definitely stay there again and would recommend it to anyone looking for a getaway in Hood River. The only recommendation I would make is to create an option for darker window coverings in the room. I definitely need a dark room to sleep and the current drapes are extremely light so there's no chance of sleeping in past daybreak unless you bring an eye mask. But you wouldn't want to sleep in and miss their amazing breakfast anyway! Thank you Deanna and John for a fabulous stay!


Amazing view! Best Place to Stay in Hood River

4.6 on August 09, 2012

Sakura Ridge was absolutely fabulous for a weekend getaway for my husband's birthday in the fall. We stayed in the Valley Room (the least expensive) and it was a bit small - for our next stay I would definitely upgrade to a larger/nicer room. The grounds were gorgeous, the b&b was clean, well decorated, and very cozy. The view of Mt. Hood was breathtaking. The breakfast we were served was delicious. And the owners were very friendly and accommodating. I would recommend this lodge over and over, we will most definitely be back!


Beautiful stay in every way

4.8 on November 14, 2011

The room was beautiful and peaceful with a notably comfortable bed. From waking up to a stirring view of Mt Hood to the delicious breakfast to a delightful walk on the farm, it was a special experience. I highly recommend that you seek out this wonderful B&B set in a sublime location. The owners are friendly but unobtrusive and the town of Hood River is a bonus.


A B&B that is a must when in Oregon

4.6 on October 15, 2011

This one of the best bed and breakfasts we have ever stayed in (and that is alot)!!! The B&B is beautiful, the rooms lovely, the bed like sleeping on air. The view is exquisite, the farm beautiful and relaxing. Deanna and John were lovely hosts, friendly and they go out of their way to meet your needs. The breakfasts were scrumptious, we would recommend Sakura Farm and Lodge to everyone. Rich and Kay


Great getaway

4.2 on October 14, 2011

We spent a couple of nights here as a relaxing get away. The room and views were great, the hosts very friendly and food was excellent. We'll be back!


We had an amazing time!

5 on October 02, 2011

We wanted to have our family all stay with us at Sakura Ridge for our wedding. We chose the location because it is so beautiful and the rooms were unique and tranquil. Deanna made planning our wedding there very easy and everyone had an amazing time. Many of our friends and family told us that ours was the most unique and beautiful wedding they had been to.


Spectacular!

4.8 on September 29, 2011

Unbelievable views. Clean comfortable room. Amazing breakfast!


Autumn at Sakura Ridge

4.4 on September 20, 2011

Deanna is a welcoming hostess. Her breakfasts are distictive, ample, and delicious. Rooms are well appointed and extremely clean. Setting and 360-degree views from the wrap-around porch are out of this world! Perfectly framed by the dining room window is Mount Hood, just 20 miles away.


Lovely stay and lovely view!

3.6 on September 13, 2011

I was looking for a nice place to stay in Hood River - out of the way, but not too far with a good view. Sakura Ridge was great. The animals out back are a bonus!


The perfect place to stay in EVERY WAY.

5 on September 05, 2011

There is too much to say good about the experience of staying at Sakura Ridge. Having traveled around the world for many years - this is my favorite experience. From the food that excels to the aesthetics in every detail. Nothing has been overlooked inside or outside. One can feel every part of you relax and feel good from the common rooms to the individual rooms. You never feel like you are staying in just another Bed and Breakfast. The owners are present when needed, and could not be nicer. But they let you enjoy your stay and the environment they have artfully created. I am not that easily pleased generally, but Sakura Ridge is amazing. G.Leeds, Seattle, WA


Best That It Could Be

5 on August 27, 2011

Our stay in the Orchard Room was just wonderful. The room is perfect and the two views - one of Mt. Hood and the other of the Odell Valley were superb. The private deck gave you both views. The bath is special, with a soaking tub over looking Mt. Hood and a wonderful shower with glass that lets you look out on the orchard. The breakfasts were wonderful. The grounds are so beautiful, with flowers and vegetables everywhere. There really isn't a thing that I could possibly say that is negative. If you have a chance to go and stay in the Orchard Room, do so!


Fabulious! I'll be Back.

5 on August 27, 2011

Another delightful stay at the sublime Sakura Ridge (my third) has once again has been to brief. Staying at the splendid yet at the same time comfortably informal lodge one almost feels privilege to share in the owners vision of harmony, grace and ideals of healthy living. Deanna and John have fashioned a most extraordinary B&B experience. Deanna creates scrumptious breakfasts of farm fresh ingredients appetizingly presented from her gourmet repertoire. Her long interest in the preparation of healthy fine food is apparent. From the soothingly landscaped Lodge guests savor breath taking views I would liken to those at the Grand Canon, Monument Valley, or perhaps high on a mountainside in the Himalaya. On those wonderfully clear days common in the Cascade Range guests can actually experience that preoverabal "I can see forever' feeling. Anchored upon the grand Mt. Hood this big sky image may soon end up as your computer screen saver. I particularly enjoy strolling among the many vegetable and berry gardens often in lovely raised planters that adorn the marvelously landscaped property adjacent to the Lodge. Pastured sheep graze on slopes falling way to the Hood River Valley far below. All of this set among the fruit groves of this real working farm. Guests catch occasional glimpse of Farmer John as he tends to his chosen vocation of producing wholesome food stuffs. His attention to detail and gift for understanding natural processes is apparent. I'm already planning my next tour of the Pacific Northwest and look forward to again basing myself at Sakura Ridge during my stay in the lovely Columbia Gorge. PJ


Don't miss this place! It's fabulous.

4.2 on August 25, 2011

Sakura Ridge R&L is the best B&B we have stayed in for years. As former B&B owners ourselves, we set high standards and are not easily impressed. We absolutely loved Sakura Ridge! The lodge is gorgeous, the rooms are spacious and have beautiful Northwest decor (we saw two of them). Breakfast is exceptional, with organic fruit and vegetables. Deanna is a quiet, warm hostess and her staff is friendly. John was busy on the farm but everywhere we went, everyone smiled and waved. We stayed in the Mt. Hood Room and did not want to leave. The weather was perfect for sitting on our patio and gazing at the mountain for hours. This B&B is not to be missed.


great atmosphere, great view to the Mount Hood

4.8 on August 21, 2011

warm atmosphere, pure nature, very nice hosts, delicious breakfast together with other people


A beautiful setting, but felt amlittle ackward

3.6 on August 20, 2011

Sakura is located in a beautiful setting...Mt. Rainier visible from every viewpoint, lush gardens, the sounds of the farm animals, the orchards, and many extra amenities like heated floors, walk in showers, soaker tub, etc. Our breakfast of smoked salmon egg scramble with chives and cream cheese; lightly dressed greens, and fresh cherries was delicious. The only drawback was the fact that we felt somewhat in the way. Yes, this is a working farm. The owners are busy. But there was minimal interaction from the wife of the husband/wife team. Showed us our room, brought breakfast to the table the next morning. Very little interaction. Seemed very different than the general concept of a B&B where guests are looking for a bit of personalized service. Also, being a farm B&B, it seemed odd that they would charge guests additinal fees to explore the various areas of the farm. If farming is your passion, and you're inviting guests to stay on your property, why not help immerse guests in the experience if they so wish? overall, if looking for a beautiful place to stay with unbeatable views and little interaction with anyone, then this place is perfect. The only d

Innkeeper Response
We attempt to make every guest's stay enjoyable and apologize we did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your valuable feedback.


An Expensive Gem not to be missed.

3.6 on August 13, 2011

We arrived at Sakura and well it is indescribably beautiful. The Setting is as advertised, marvellous views of Mount Hood. The Orchards are great to wonder through, the Gardens are fantastic. Colours, meadow type landscaping. We had a room with a Patio area and sat out with our Wine and cheese and Salad and just gazed in awe in between reading our books. The comfortable bed and the bathroom with heated toilet seat were to die for. Inside the lodge are some great personal touches, quiet places and breakfast is served at a large table so you get the chance to meet the other guests, we met some super interesting folk. The place is just so serene. No TV's in the room. wonderful. if you are desperate there is one in a small lounge.The only thing I would have liked was a choice of cereal for breakfast. Breakfast was a cooked American (bit like bread pudding) with fruit. Freshly picked cherries were irresistible There is also coffee, tea, soft drinks available 24 hours a day. Would I go back. DEFINITELY. stayed August 2011


Sakura Ridge

5 on August 10, 2011

Can't wait to go back!


A Romantic Getaway

4.8 on August 10, 2011

We needed some time reconnect, and time at Sakura did the trick. We walked the property, seeing wildlife and gardens galore, and the breakfast was simply amazing! Would go back again in a heartbeat.


A Piece of Heaven

5 on August 10, 2011

A wonderful place for a personal time-out. A place to rest and reflect. A venue to explore the farm and stand in awe of their work, their organic committment and the sheer beauty of their property, their gardens and the view of Mt. Hood. The breakfasts are fantastic, all ingrediants from their farm. It is a picture perfect experience - inn all respects.


the ultimate bed & breakfast!

5 on July 31, 2011

An incredible spot! High on a ridge nestled in a pear orchard above Hood River Oregon with beautiful spacious rooms and great views of Mount Hood. Quiet, relaxing, romantic. Gracious hosts who provide a wonderful home made breakfast with their own fruit and vegetables as well information about the Hood River area. If you are looking for that perfect setting for a romantic weekend, Sakura Ridge is the place to go!


Hood River Oregon Trip

5 on July 29, 2011

Beautifull scenery,friendly Innkeepers and a quiet rural area. We thought it was just a great place to relax.We would like to return sometime. Larry & Judy Park


Incredible

5 on July 28, 2011

After looking at all the possibilities Hood River has to offer, I am so glad we chose Sakura Ridge. While it is not situated in the immediate downtown area, the views from atop the ridge make the drive worth it. Incredible setting, wonderful, intelligent hosts really make Sakura Ridge a stand out. You won't want to leave!


Terrific view and peaceful B&B

4.2 on July 23, 2011

The B&B is a bit out of the way, but is worth the effort to stay there. A working orchard, chickens, geese, sheep, and produce/flower gardens surround the large, comfortable home. The food was great!


Outstanding view

3.8 on July 17, 2011

Truly a calm and restful place. I would stay there again without looking at other possibilites in the area.


Amazing Views

4.6 on July 11, 2011

The property was gorgeous. Clean, comfortable, and very friendly and knowledgable hosts. The breakfast was good. We'd definitely go back!!!!


OUtstanding AND completely exceeded my expectations

5 on July 11, 2011

What a sanctuary. This place was beautiful, peaceful, comfortable and amazing. We looked across the farm, the valley hillsides, and Mt. Hood in full view. I considered my room a work of art, wonderfully put together. Breakfast was even artful. We had a little trouble finding it, but that turned out to be because of a wacky GPS system. It's very easy to locate once you know. The innkeepers were both humble and helpful. I want to live there.


Quiet retreat with amazing views

4.4 on July 08, 2011

We had a wonderful time. The layout of the house allows for privacy and comfort. The views of the valley & Mt. Hood were unparalleled. The warmed toilet seats are an absolute luxury - wow!


Great setting, great people, great details.

4.6 on July 06, 2011

The main house is great -- rustic with modern finishes and details. Breakfast was outstanding and they were very accommodating to us vegetarians. Will definitely go back again!


Anniversary get-away

3.4 on July 06, 2011

The building and view are outstanding; In my opinion, you could not ask for a more ideal location. Very quiet, very serene. There were a lot of ammenities in the B & B, but I thought it might have been nice if the hosts were available to explain things. I was very happy with our stay, but based on previous B & B experiences, a little more involvement from the hosts would have been appreciated; a little too impersonal for my tastes. However, I would recommend--very clean and tastefully decorated.


Great Experience

4.8 on July 06, 2011

Spotless and private accommodations with a view of Mt Hood (from the Mt Hood room) that is nothing less than truly magnificent. John and Deanna are very pleasant hosts (and serve a delicious breakfast) and are to be commended for their business and the way they treat their guests. A beautiful building with great room suites. We'd love to have the chance to book a longer stay here in the future.


A slice of heaven

4.8 on June 27, 2011

Sakura Ridge wowed us from the very moment our tires hit the gravel road up to the Farm entrance. Upon making our way through the gate and setting our eyes on the Mt. Hood-framed lodge, we couldn't believe our good fortune at having selected such a perfect escape. The grounds were idyllic. Our room (Orchard) was a delight. The bathroom's features and hardware were outstanding. The geese and sheep outside right of the back porch served as the perfect alternative to television-watching. The breakfast each morning was creative. And, most important of all, the hosts were absolutely endearing.


Wow!!!! What a gorgeous spot!!!!!!

5 on June 25, 2011

Totally Quiet, impeccably clean, gorgeous views out every window. Peaceful. Attentive owners, beautiful decor- Asian inspired. Can't say enough. Don't miss this spot if you want to relax and soak up the natural beauty. A hidden treasure. We have already booked a return trip for next month. Can't wait. You will not be disappointed.


Beautiful and restful setting

4.2 on June 23, 2011

Rooms were comfortable, functional and thoughtfully appointed. Common space is very spacious and flows smoothly from inside to outside. Location is beautiful without being fussy. Views are breathtaking.


Sakura Ridge

5 on June 20, 2011

Sakura Ridge is a gem and a magical experience. Overlooking Mt. Hood, a joy to behold at any time of day, the lodge itself is beautifully crafted, very warm and welcoming. SR is one of the most unusual B&Bs we have ever encountered. The breakfasts are superb! You will be surprised and delighted by the whole experience.


Sakura Ridge

5 on June 12, 2011

This was a serendipitous gem! We were in the area having visited the Timberline Lodge. The entire Hood River valley is beautiful but this property is the crown jewel. Mount Hood is the backdrop for this log home with wrap around porch. There are 84 acres of orchard land surrounding, with pears, cherries and apples growing. The landscaping is lovely, nice rooms, good restaurants closeby. Next time, need to spend longer!


Luxurious and relaxing....perfect combination

5 on June 05, 2011

My husband and I spent a night in this truly beautiful bed and breakfast and only wish we could have spent more time. The accomodations are simply perfect, and the bento box breakfast, with garden grown contributions, was the icing on the cake. Highly recommend.


Best Bed and Breakfast accomodations ever!!!

4.8 on June 04, 2011

The view from the room overlooking Mount Hood and the valley below is spectacular. The room itself was spotless, ample size and VERY QUIET. It is of the beaten track but a great value and we will go back.


Sakura Ridge is Outstanding

4.6 on June 01, 2011

John and Deanna run an exceptional lodge and provide exceptional value for the healthy price charged. The room was ready and immaculate despite our early arrival. The lodge itself is a marvelously built and maintained structure and the location above a valley facing north toward Mount Hood - and yes, we did see it clearly one day - provides magnificent scenes and crystalline air. The rooms are discretely separated to provide privacy and are tastefully but appropriately appointed for the semi-elegant country ambiance. The orchards and bee hives as well as the slowly maturing geese and ever-hungry lamb are a comforting but unobtrusive backdrop to the stay at Sakura Ridge. The breakfasts prepared by Deanna are of Michelin quality, featuring fresh and canned items from the farm - but be sure to have a healthy appetite ready. We had to leave quite early on our last day, but Deanna thoughtfully prepared sandwiches to go and brewed some excellent coffee to send us on our journey. The Sakura Ridge Farm and Lodge is a pleasure that the relatively high-end traveler who enjoys quiet, natural settings of grace and beauty will not want to miss. Scott Oak Park, Illinois


Mt Hood Heaven

5 on May 31, 2011

This is the second time I've stayed here and I love the peace and quiet. There is no TV and for me no cell phone coverage so I consider that heaven!


Amazing place to stay

4.8 on May 29, 2011

We stayed here in early May while hiking in the area. I cannot wait to return, but for a longer time. Our room was immaculate, and extremely well designed, as was the entire lodge. It was very quiet and we slept so well. What is amazing is that there are huge picture windows in the common room and dining room which are like a great room together, and Mt. Hood is framed by these windows! It feels like one is in Switzerland. The grounds are beautifully kept, green lawns, raised beds, an orchard, and I am sure countless other features that escaped me. Deanna was very friendly, we did not meet her husband, and her cooking is wonderful, certainly more food than one could eat, and very high quality. We bought some of her homemade preserves to take with us. We are eagerly looking forward to returning and spending more time, it was such a relaxing and beautiful place.


Beautiful view of Mt. Hood

4.2 on May 23, 2011

Sakura Ridge is a lovely bed and breakfast. The view of Mt. Hood was unbelievable. Very serene, away from the highway but a short drive into Hood River for numerous excellent restaurants. The breakfast was very creative and fresh.


Amazing getaway

4.4 on May 23, 2011

The setting is incredible, with a sweeping view of the valley and Mt Hood. The lodge feels like it was just built, and it goes beyond clean and comfortable to be downright luxurious. We felt cared for but not intruded-upon, the food was incredible, and there was really nothing negative to say about it. It was hard to leave, and we would go back in a second. Thanks!


The Joyer farm is a marvel

4.6 on May 20, 2011

My daughter and I drove up to be greeted by two friendly kittens. The view of Mt. Hood and the town was a pleasant surprise. Deanna and John Joyer keep a manicured landscape and marvelous orchards and vegetable gardens. The lodge rooms are spotless, posh and tasteful, and the breakfast was both delicious and healthy. Deanna kindly filled us in on the town, the farm, and the best ideas for touring the countryside. Nothing was disappointing except how quickly our time there passed. Their red haired gardener lass is straight out of a Robert Burns song and is as charming as she is ruddy.


Visit Sakura Ridge!

5 on May 16, 2011

My daughters stayed at Sakura Ridge as a birthday gift from me. They really enjoyed the stay and said they wished they could have stayed a week. They especially enjoyed the views of Mt. Hood (particularly from the bath tub!), the wonderful breakfast, and the peaceful moonlit garden. Well worth the price and definitely somewhere we would visit again.


Sakura Ridge - May 2011

5 on May 09, 2011

It was one of the best B&B we have ever stayed in. Great experience. And thanks for doing a great job! We will definitely consider re-visiting when we are in that area again!


Sakura Ridge is rejuvenation for the soul

4.6 on May 08, 2011

We stayed at Sakura Ridge over Easter weekend and were treated to outstanding hospitality, fantastic food and beautiful surroundings. The secluded Mt Hood location is unsurpassed in beauty. We wandered the orchards entertained by chickens and friendly cats. At night we snuggled in for a good read by the wood burning stove. Easter breakfast was an extravagant spread in a beautiful dining room. John and Deanna were especially kind to let us leave our bikes for a few days while we did some hiking on Mt Hood. They are friendly, laid back, and generally wonderful people. We will be back.


Great again.

5 on May 05, 2011

My wife and I had another great stay at Sakura- the hosts are wonderful and accomadating, the room very comfortable and well appointed with an awesome view of Mount Hood. The setting is extremly relaxing yet minutes from Hood River-we'll be back.


Wonderful place to stay!

5 on April 02, 2011

Sakura Ridge is beautiful! We went in March when it was still winter conditions. I can only imagine how much more beautiful it will be in the spring or fall. The rooms are wonderful and have beautiful views. Everything is so comfortable and cozy. It is so peaceful and quiet too. The inn keepers are great hosts and we look forward to returning in the future.


wonderful spot

4.8 on March 15, 2011

We loved this place--very well done and gorgeous setting. We stayed in the Mt Hood room which was private with a great view. Breakfast was fantastic too. We plan to visit again.


You cannot go wrong staying at Sakura

4.6 on February 22, 2011

The house itself is just gorgeous. Architecturally interesting, tastefully furnished and decorated. The Orchard Room has a large, comfortable king bed (which admittedly my wife thought felt "lumpy"), heated floors in winter, A/C, a soaker tub, huge shower, and an amazing view of the grounds and the valley. The owners were friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable of the area. Breakfast was unique, tasty, well-executed, and filling. We skipped lunch. We can't wait to visit again.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for this review and feedback. We will most certainly look into the bed situation and look forward to your return to Sakura Ridge!


A Great B and B Find

5 on February 16, 2011

The Orchard Room is great, the bathroom is super nice and the view of Mt Hood was Awesome!!! Do not sleep in and miss breakfast... you'll be sorry.


Wonderful experience

5 on October 27, 2010

Both the lodge and the people were outstanding - the room was beautiful, the view stunning, the grounds gorgeous, the owners extremely friendly, the food fabulous. My friends and I were extremely pleased with our experience and will return.


Fantastic lodge setting with great views

4.4 on October 25, 2010

Staying at Sakura Ridge was a great experience. Overall my wife and I had a great time. Be sure to bring plenty to do as there isn't much at the Lodge to do other than read/walk. I suppose that's why you go to a B&B though, peace and quiet. The breakfast was good but very interesting. We were served a Japanese style breakast consisting of salmon and several other asian dishes. I have to admit, we were expecting pancakes and bacon etc, etc...


Great Atmosphere, Beautiful Setting

4.0 on October 22, 2010

The Sakura Ridge Farm and Lodge is a great place to stay in the Hood River area. Great rooms and common ares in the Lodge. The views are fantastic and grounds are very colorful and well maintained. Deanna and John are great hosts, and the food is excellant.


Beautiful spot, wonderful place for a mini-moon

4.4 on October 20, 2010

Weather in the valley was perfect for a short newlywed getaway. But the Sakura Ridge folks probably can't control the weather. Everything else, however, they have in exceptional order. The overall decor, beds, food, and ambiance were impeccable. We arrived later in the afternoon than planned owing to a tire repair in route, learned we were sharing the most of the space with a group of women on an annual sojourn, then relaxed on our secluded patio with wine, cheese, bread and a spectacular view of Mt. Hood. We had no need to hide from the other guests but it seems worth noting that we easily could in our own area or one of the two main common areas. Heated bathroom tiles were a treat the next morning and the varied and abundant breakfast was out of the ordinary without veering into an art deco experiment. Perhaps the only nod towards improvement is that we found the bedroom too warm in the middle of the night. We closed off the bathroom and opened the patio door to allow the cold October air in which solved the problem. We're reserved a room for a longer honeymoon and celebration of friends and family for next summer and expect Sakura to have a special place for many years. Special not only as the place we spent our first wedded days but due to the care invested by Deanna and John.


Great

5 on September 25, 2010

Everything was perfect. We will stay there again and often and have recommended several of our friends to stay there. Ed and Jan Markquart, Seattle


Wonderful views

4.6 on September 14, 2010

Sakura Ridge Lodge is in the most idyllic location with views stretching for miles with Mount Hood taking centre stage. Just sitting and looking at the view was worth the money. Hospitality was great, breakfasts imaginative and the farm grown cherries divine. Lots of space to sit in the communal areas, but we were just happy to enjoy the peace and quiet on our patio.


A little piece of heaven

5 on August 31, 2010

This bed and breakfast exceeded our expectations. The lodge itself is so comfortable and clean. There were more areas open to us than most B & B. There was the main room of the lodge and a fire place room below. There was also a massive deck open with tons of seating. Breakfast was wonderful and featured items from the farm. You felt like you were away from everything but it was only five miles to Hood River. A definate do again.


Spectacular and Soothing!

4.8 on August 03, 2010

Experiencing all that Sakura Ridge Farm and Lodge offered was both exciting and soothing to my soul and psyche. The elegant, cabin-style lodge offered me many places to relax surrounded by the open outdoor natural beauty of the mountain and valley plus lovely landscaped grounds. I found several cozy, private patio and deck areas as well to enjoy quiet moments in the fresh country air. The indoor and outdoor gathering spots and main breakfast room were graced with unique regional and international, crafted furniture and artistic accessory pieces, like the three huge black, iron hanging deck bells and the four stone, garden columns. The service by our hosts Deanna and John was so very hospitable, gracious and helpful. The cleanliness of my room, and the entire lodge, was top-notch and topped-off with delightful special touches of fresh-picked country floral bouquets and other surprising delights. Anyone for a smooth Belgian chocolate? My spacious bed was more than comfortable and I awoke so refreshed each bright morning to the quiet bleating of lambs that frolicked in the field just below my patio. Soaking in the grapefruit-scented waters in the deep, bear-claw tub was just the relaxation I needed after vigorous outdoor hikes. The unique sweet and savory breakfasts were not only so healthy and nutritious but also generated much pleasant conversation and comraderie, not to neglect mention of the tasty, homemade cherry jam and honey from the orchard and farm. Deanna, our hostess was graciously charming and informative as we planned visits to nearby Hood River wineries, a lavendar farm and the Timberline Lodge of Mt. Hood. My stay at Sakura Ridge Farm and Lodge was a wonderfully satisfying and delightful experience, both spectacular and soothing for my summer get-away vacation. I'm anticipating that it will be an equally spectacular and memorable winter get-away retreat!


Look No Further...

5 on August 15, 2009

Having stayed at Sakura Ridge Lodge many times, I can highly recommend this wonderful getaway. The host and hostess, John and Deanna Joyer, are a delight and go OUT OF THEIR WAY to make sure that your stay is both fun and comfortable. Of all the bed and breakfasts I have stayed in, this is BY FAR my favorite. Why? Because the accommodations are far and away the cleanest, most inviting, and friendly. Heck, the last time I was there, the celebrity guest (who you would know from Woodstock) ate breakfast with us and regaled us with stories that both entertained and informed!! And let me tell you, the meals she prepared were on par with the five star restaurants I frequent. My wife and I were invited by the owners to pick fresh vegetables and fruit for our meals! As if that weren't enough, Deanna Joyer is a gourmet cook who, I found out later, has attended cooking classes in Tuscany!! Where else could you find such a place at so reasonable a cost???!! The bed in our spacious, impeccably decorated room, was so comfortable I slept throughout the night. In the morning, I was gently awakened to the country sounds of farming. The fresh air was such a sensual delight. What an experience! I could gush on and on but you would think I was exaggerating. I can assure you that, after years of traveling, I have come to appreciate the rare gems of hospitality and ambiance that dot the world. If you are of the same mind, you will immediately appreciate Sakura Rigde Farm and Lodge upon your arrival. And will savor the memory. How can it get any better than this? I truly don't know, and once you have sampled the genuine caring and hospitality of John and Deanna Joyer, you will be able to answer this question for yourself. It simply can't!! In summary, do yourself a favor and head on over to Sakura Ridge Farm and Lodge for an absolutely memorable experience that will last a lifetime. And aren't wonderful memories what life is all about?


Hospitality With a View

5 on August 13, 2009

Sakura Ridge and its innkeepers/owners John and Deanna Joyer practice the art of hospitality. They and their elegantly simple and beautiful lodge provide a welcoming refuge for folks travelling. The rooms are so comfortable and clean, the location grounding and at the same time inspirational with Mt. Hood right before you. One can settle in with comfort and receive in return the gift of space..and full noursihment for the way. The breakfasts served are not only a delight to the eye, they are also so full of life for the body. I have stayed at Sakura Ridge several times, and find that each time the spirit of hospitality enlivens my soul. I would recommend that on your journey, if it takes you through the Columbia River Gorge, to be sure to stop in Hood River and stay at Sakura Ridge!


Best in the West!

5 on August 06, 2009

Sakura Ridge Farm and Lodge is one of my favorite destinations. As a matter of fact, I just returned home from a relaxing two-day visit at this outstanding property. Not only is the view of Mt. Hood spectacular and the valley pristine, it is one of the best B&B's that I have ever visited. The innkeeper/owners, Deanna and John Joyer, were gracious and thoughtful hosts. They exceeded my expectations by going out of their way to ensure that my stay, and that of the other guests, was enjoyable and memorable. They made me feel like I was at home (maybe even better) and I hated to leave this morning. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND Sakura Ridge Farm and Lodge and I look forward to my next visit.


Over Rated and Over Priced

1.8 on July 12, 2009

Beautiful cabin lodge with Spectacular View of Mt. Hood. Unfortunately that is where compliments end. As someone who has spent the last 15+ years traveling coast to coast and outside the US, ALWAYS staying in B&B's rather than motels/hotels, I feel we are a knowledgable judge of such accomodations. This B&B is indeed a working pear/cherry farm, with obviously merely a means of the hosts to make some extra money. While not rude in any way, they were virtually "impersonable" showing no real interest in their guests other than to PROMPTLY collect their money. In contrast to most other B&B's where our hosts have been truly interested in assisting their guests in any way possible, Sakura Ridge hosts seemed completely disinterested. The rooms were small and poorly furnished, the noises of a working farm awakened us as early as 6AM. Breakfast time was absolutely fixed, with not even so much as an offer to alter from their schedule. I could continue with critical examples of their lack of hospitality, but it would seem overkill. Needless to say, we can NOT recommend this B&B to anyone who is accustomed to staying in anything other that a Holiday Inn Express.


Sakura Ridge Farm and Lodge

Details

  • Nightly Rate $175 - $245
  • Reviews (64) 4.6
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5413862636
  • Toll free 1-8774725872

Visit Website »

View details

Top