INDEXG B&B Reviews

Overall
4.4

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Service4.4
  • Value4.2
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining3.9

Score Breakdown based on
12 Reviews

Write A Review

Nice place for a short stay.

3.8 on August 20, 2009

I stopped here on a short trip to Toronto, I had a pleasant stay with a warm greeting even with my tardiness and a warm goodbye. Suki the house cat seems very comfortable and so was I. The only negative was the low water pressure but other than that, the bed was very comfortable, and the breakfast was more than I expected, as it was advertised as "cold" but they had quite a few warm options. For me it was a little tricky to find but once I did it really did not seem all that hard to get to. The gallery is definitely worth a look, I wish I had spent more time but it is just right for a short stay.


Great find in a big city.

4.8 on November 24, 2008

I was in Toronto for a convention and it was so nice to have a friendly place to stay while I was in the city alone. The location was conveniently near the streetcar, so I was able to get to and from the convention center easily. The rooms were comfortable and clean. Holly and Lee were incredibly nice and accomodating even when my flight was delayed and I arrived much later than expected. Their art gallery is incredible and well and I ended up taking home a couple of prints that I really liked as well.


INDEXG B&B provides a unique, lovely experience

4.8 on November 03, 2008

We gave up a cozy suite in Cabbagetown in order to stay at INDEXG B&B, and we're very glad we did! INDEXG B&B is a bed and breakfast in the Arts District of Toronto, and it is also a part of that arts district, for it is built over INDEXG Gallery. The second floor of the gallery has been converted into five guest rooms, and the architectural details of the gallery space have been left intact. The art has been left on the wall, also, so that each room (as well as the hallway) is a small gallery. INDEXG is located in a quiet neighborhood, and the rooms are designed to be contemporary, functional and tranquil. Striking colors, Asian-style lavatories and built-in desks create just the right space for everything from sleeping to watching HD TV. The lights breakfasts (breads, cereals, yogurt) are delicious, the streetcar stop is very close, and both the Gladstone and Drake Hotels are a moment away. Dining takes place in the main gallery, and INDEXG's hosts are warm, helpful and intelligent, but never intrusive. We especially enjoyed the time we spent with them, and they were very helpful in guiding us through Toronto. INDEXG B&B is run with environmental sensitivity, so guests can make their own beds (ours was amazingly easy to make each morning), and there are extra towels in the closet, if needed. In keeping with the code of green living, soap and shampoo are in dispensers, rather than in packets. There is ample room to hang clothes in the closet, the nightstand drawers are very big, and a hair dryer is supplied. This is one of the best B&B experiences we have ever had, and we have stayed in a lot of B&Bs all over the world.


woderful place and Landlords

4.6 on October 29, 2008

We find this place from tripadvisor and we haven't particular expectations. The landlords were very nice and alway ready to give us suggestions about the city and the things to do. The room was clean and very nice with nice paintings on the walls. we raccomand this B&B to everyone and certainly we'll be back to them for our next trip to Toronto.


"Our Best Stay Yet in Toronto!"

5 on October 07, 2008

We visit Toronto 2 to 3 times a year and usually stay in one of the Hotels. We decided to try something different this time, for our 4 day visit, and we are very glad that we did. Staying at this B & B was a great experience! This family owned B & B has a very modern decor and is super clean. The owners are very friendly and extremely helpful. Breakfast consisted of a variety of breads, bagels, hot & cold cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit, juice and tea or coffee. It was more than enough to get you off to a good start for the day. The bus stop was almost right outside the door and the transit system is great. Or with a short walk to Queen St we were able to find everything we needed. We loved IndexG and will definitely stay there on our next trip to Toronto.


Nice new place in an interesting location

4.2 on September 23, 2008

A newish b&b in a working art gallery in the trendy part of Toronto. Rooms laid out in a modern style and very clean. You eat breakfast in the gallery itself! If you arrive in the city by train, don't bother getting a cab there - just get the streetcar from Union to Gladstone Avenue, it's just round the corner. Or you can walk it in 30 minutes passing all the boutiques and great places to eat on Queen Street West.


Great place for a great price

4.8 on August 23, 2008

Just came back from a 3 day visit to Toronto, where we stayed at IndexgB&B. The room was great - very comfortable even though it was the smallest room there, and very clean. Breakfast was royal, hosts very friendly and helpful, bus stop pretty much outside the door. It was just a great place to stay.


B&B or condo hotel???

2.4 on August 22, 2008

Located in the art/design district the INDEXG B&B is not really a B&B considering my definition. The concept (art gallery/B&B) is basically a good one but INDEXG B&B turned this into a condo/hotel instead of a B&B. Rooms are nice & recently renovated but nothing fancy. The announced price is actually the base (couple extras, for example: parking (10$), tax, extra charge for single night,...). So the announced price is not that attractive. Breakfast is a continental one, it means: no eggs, no variety (during our stay we had the same Breakfast 3 days in a row)...kind of sad. Service is minimum. Very cold welcome: First words were "Hello, may I have you credit card?" Repeat: No, I'm expectating much more from a B&B.

Innkeeper Response
We are sorry to hear our B&B did not meet your expectations. Our goal is to provide a comfortable/relaxing environment for our guests. Our aim is not to have fancy decor or extravagant amenities and our rooms are just as you can see on our pictures. Our place is family run and our hosts are very friendly and will NEVER greet someone by asking for their credit card right from the start!!!! We always try to make sure our guests know how to get around the city and recommend them to restaurants etc. We try to give our guest the privacy they need and therefore will not force them to have a conversation with us if they do not seem like they want to be bothered, perhaps that gave the impression of "cold and minimum service"??? As for our continental breakfast, it is vegetarian. Items might be similar but we do try to have something different every day! We do have a variety of items for guests to CHOOSE from and have been told our breakfast is generous and has exceeded our guests' expectations. It is impossible to cater our breakfast based on a single guest's particular taste. If one is looking for eggs and bacons then they should look for a B&B that serves FULL breakfast! As for the extra fee comment, everything is listed clearly on our website. 5% tax is a standard charge for running a business in Toronto and it is in no way a hidden charge! We do not consider parking as part of accommodation and have limited parking spots. We only charge a nominal fee of $10 per day, very reasonable for 24 hours parking! We understand our B&B is very different from the traditional ones people are used to and we stressed that in our introduction. From our perspective, we are a unique/alternative B&B, not a hotel nor a condo.


Our New Favorite!

4.6 on July 23, 2008

Our small company recently rented every room at the INDEXG for a weekend. After looking at more traditional B&B's, we chose INDEXG for its more contemporary look. The INDEXG is located in a convenient community West of downtown. The area is clearly a center for contemporary art and culture. It oozes style, with great places to eat and drink right around the corner, on Queen. We never made a plan, and were always satisfied with the food, entertainment and shopping options in the neighborhood. Speaking of Queens - the neighborhood is entirely Gay-friendly. In fact, I think its going through the Gay gentrification thing: Lots of updates to older housing and interesting lofts in the area. Yonge Street is an easy ride by bus (and other) mass transit, and taxis are easy to come by. The unique nature of the INDEXG itself cannot be overstated. Perfectly suited for the artistic neighborhood, the B & B is a piece of artistic expression itself. Each room is perfectly appointed - nothing too much or too little - with its own color/vibe theme. Each bathroom compliments its room. (4 of the 5 rooms have ensuite baths: The fifth has a private bath with its own key - just feet away from the room.) Breakfast was served in the INDEX gallery, which takes up the first floor of the building (the B & B is on the second floor). The art is contemporary and clean: Expect the same for breakfast. Ample breads, bagels, cereals, and fruit - you won't find heavy food (or "to order") here. We were always completely satisfied, and glad to be eating among the gallery's current exhibit - a great way to start the day. We felt the room rates were very reasonable - cheaper than a lot of rooms we had seen at other B & B's and hotels. Certainly, the experience was totally unique: A break from the many, massive downtown hotels that seems to blend into one-another.


urban and artsy

4.6 on July 20, 2008

My husband and I enjoyed our visit in May 2008. We have stayed in over twenty b&bs. Our first in an art gallery. Excellent and creative idea. The area had other art galleries, coffee shops, shopping. Close too Chinatown and Harbourfront. We would recommend for a different experience


urban b&b

3.6 on June 25, 2008

very clean, helpful and friendly staff, felt very safe. will definately stay there again


Unique, comfortable b+b

5 on June 03, 2008

I stayed here last month for a couple of nights, and would stay again. The hosts are very friendly and helpful, the rooms are brand new, and the breakfast was generous with a very good choice. It was cool to eat within the gallery spaces too! In a nice, arty area. We walked everywhere, but in hindsight its easier to explore the city on public transport.


INDEXG B&B

Details

  • Nightly Rate CAD 90 - CAD 120
  • Reviews (12) 4.4
  • Rooms 5

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-4165356957

Visit Website »

View details

Top