Alan Gardens Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.3

View details

  • Guest room4.2
  • Service4.4
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.4
  • Dining4.3

Score Breakdown based on
23 Reviews

Write A Review

A perfect place for a Toronto downtown visit

4.8 on August 16, 2013

A lovely place at a perfect location. Everything in downtown is within walking or biking distance. Try the Bixi bikes! They're great. Nadia was a very helpful and kind host. A place where we would definitely come back to.


Wonderful moment

4.2 on August 03, 2013

We had a great time in this lovely B&B. The landlord is marvellous, full of nice stories and good advice about the town.


Perfect Location in Toronto

5 on June 12, 2013

This B&B is in a great location, close to streetcars on Dundas and College. We parked in the back in a secure spot and left the car for the weekend. Nadia serves a great breakfast and has a wealth of ideas for your stay. We will stay again.


Enjoyable stay

4.0 on April 22, 2013

The suite was spacious, nicely furnished with quality beddings and towels, the hostess has helpful advice on getting around in Toronto and serves a tasty breakfast. The Alan garden in spring bloom was great treat.


Met our needs for our stay

4.0 on November 14, 2012

Nadia spent a lot of time talking with us when we arrived, showing us a map, recommending restaurants, etc. Good location. Would have been nice to have some DVD's and board games available. Food was plentiful - fresh fruit, oatmeal, eggs, ham and toast both days.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your review. We always appreciate the time it takes for guests to send reviews. We certainly will provide game boards in the near future. Unfortunately the DVDs were not brought to our attention as we have and had DVDs for our guests. We look forward to hosting you again and perhaps a game together.


it's all about location, location, location!

4.2 on November 05, 2012

It will be hard to find a quiet B&B that close to the city center with a private parking space.


A Comfy B&B

5 on September 18, 2012

A delicious breakfast greeted us with the bonus of Nadia's delectable porridge! And her other guests were interesting visitors from abroad, which enhanced my stay in Toronto. Proximity of Alan Gardens along with Nadia's map made it easier & quicker to find the places I wanted to visit. I'd readily return to this b&b! - Juliana, USA


Outstanding B&B

5 on September 01, 2012

My wife and I stayed there for 5 nights in end of August 2012. We had a wonderful stay, the room was big and clean, the host was extremely helpful with both tips about Toronto and our stay, and always trying to save us money. Breakfast was very good, and lasted us thoughout most of the day. She even packed us sandwiches when we went on a day trip to Niagara Falls (and booked the trip for us as well). B&B is close to downtown but in a quiet street and it's easy to walk almost everywhere from there, but steetcar and subway is not far either. I'm going to stay there again if I ever visit Toronto again. Sigurdur


Convenient, comfortable, congenial

3.8 on May 16, 2012

On a quiet street but convenient to Queens Park, UofT, etc (a few blocks' walk to subway). A helpful host who knows her city and provides an excellent breakfast.


Great Value

3.8 on December 22, 2011

It is a great place to stay if you want to be close to the city's core. The subway is pretty close by and the Eaton Center is about a 15 min walk. I always stay at Alan Gardens Bed and Breakfast when I go to Toronto. Coffee with Nadia in the morning is a nice bonus, she knows a grea deal about the city and is a great resource.


Lovely stay

4.6 on December 21, 2011

This is an adorable B&B in the heart of Toronto. Nadia is very nice. Her home is the top floor of the building and she keeps the B & B up very well. She can give lots of tips on what to see and makes a lovely breakfast. It is more like visiting a friend than staying in a hotel.


Perfect stay in a perfevt locatiom

5 on August 28, 2011

We had two perfect large, elegant rooms (one with sun-deck) in this historic house with a superb breakfast. We enjoyed talking to our friendly, intelligent innkeeper, she gave us lots of valuable tipps. The Annex neigbourhood is great, safe and within walking distance of Korea Town, Litta Italy, Kensington Market and Chinatown. The house is situated on a quiet street and is so beautiful. What a gem!


Interesting corner of Toronto

5 on August 19, 2011

Nadia is an outstanding host, offering very personal service and great tips for Toronto; the B&B attracts very interesting people, making the whole atmosphere very stimulating; would definitely go back!


Séjour à Toronto

4.0 on July 24, 2011

Une très bonne adresse pour visiter Toronto grace aux conseils de Nadia.


Home away from home

4.6 on July 04, 2011

Nadia is well traveled and knew how to make my stay much like if I were at home. Its a great location. Thanks Nadia :)


Tranquility Suite - May 2011

4.0 on June 05, 2011

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights, end of May 2011. Nadia is a delightful and thoughtful host. Excellent full hot breakfast every day. Good location - easy access to all of downtown, by foot, taxi, streetcar or private car. House has undergone a good renovation and modernization. Tranquility Suite has ensuite bath and is on the back of the house, second floor. Spacious, comfortable and quiet. Definitely worth recommending!


Close to the city

3.2 on April 27, 2011

The location of this property was fantastic. We walked all over Toronto, and then walked to Cabbagetown for dinner. Our set of rooms was at the rear and quiet, and the towels provided in the private bathroom were the best on our entire trip!


Good-value place to stay

3.8 on April 24, 2011

Hearty and healthy breakfast, nice room, location close to Eaton's Centre, trolleys, subways. Nadia is pleasant and helpful. My only concern was the neighbourhood - a bit dicey, especially the next street over.


wonderful

4.6 on September 22, 2010

Wow, how can the one price include taxes, parking, breakfast and the normal room? It was an incredible price but just as important, it was an incredible experience. I have only good things to say. Great room with a very comfortable bed, big clean bathroom, delicious breakfast, and good company! Plus, it's within walking distance of downtown. I absolutely enjoyed it and highly recommend it to others.


Good Value

3.2 on August 26, 2010

The en suite room was spacious and clean with a very comfortable bed and upscale linens. A good value since it included a full breakfast and parking. The breakfast was very nice with good, strong coffee. The neighborhood did not look great as many homes are being rehabbed and there was no sign for the B and B which made us a little nervous. The yard needs to be better maintained and some indication of the business to make guests feel more comfortable and welcome. We walked to downtown theatres and restaurants and felt safe.


Alan Gardens Bed and Breakfast in Toronto---the best!

5 on August 06, 2010

I recently had the good fortune to stay at the Alan Gardens Bed and Breakfast in downtown Toronto. It was really amazing. Nadia, the proprietress, was such an attentive and cordial host and made sure that I was well looked after. The room was kept scrupulously clean over a 4 day period and it was super-comfortable. And I warn you: Nadia serves up the best breakfasts I have ever experienced at a B&B. Another plus is the neighborhood, which adjoins a park and is close to shopping, restaurants and only minutes from the heart of Yonge St in central Toronto. I give Alan Gardens 5 stars on all fronts and highly recommend it. David Chard, Taipei


Fabulous!!!!!!

4.0 on March 26, 2009

Upon arriving at Nadia's I immediatly felt at home! My room was gorgeous and came equipped with television, DVD & wirleless access. The bedding was 'soooo' comfortable and the breakfasts delicious!!! I highly recommend Alan Garden B&B to anyone visiting the city or just looking for a day away.


One of Toronto's Best Kept Secrets

5 on October 12, 2008

Tucked into the heart of Toronto, we discovered Alan Gardens bed and Breakfast. It was close to the rich culture of Cabbage town, Ryerson and, of course, shopping downtown. We loved the Tranquility Suite at Alan Gardens. It was a private unit and peaceful as promised. Our breakfast was delicious and conversation was stimulating. We appreciated the warm professional manner of Nadia the owner. Her hospitality was outstanding. We would recommend this B and B to any weary traveler or a couple who want to get away and discover Toronto. Garry and Anne


Alan Gardens Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate CAD 100 - CAD 145
  • Reviews (23) 4.3
  • Rooms 3

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-4169679614
Top