John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.9

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
61 Reviews

Write A Review

Beautiful B & B in Niagara on the Lake

5 on August 29, 2014

This was our first overnight stay in Niagara on the Lake, which was actually for the weekend. We chose John's Gate after reading the reviews on the internet. It was all that we could have possibly expected and more. We stayed in the KIng room which was absolutely spotless. Meheroo, the hostess was as gracious and attentive as can be from the time of our arrival to the moment of our departure, offering help with whatever she could to make our trip and stay more enjoyable. Her breakfasts were certainly of gourmet quality. This is definately going to be the B&B of choice on our next trip to this beautiful town. Thanks to Meheroo. Scott from Cleveland


Charming and lovely

5 on August 29, 2014

A great location, just off the beaten path made it an oasis. Lovely, quiet, comfy rooms, and a magnificent three-course breakfast reflected Mary's warm and thoughtful service. A true hostess.


perfect place to enjoy Niagara on the Lale

5 on July 14, 2014

We have stayed in a few B&B's and this one certainly did NOT disappoint us. Meheroo was a gracious host and did all she could to make our stay enjoyable and comfortable. The breakfasts were so plentiful we did not have to eat lunches. She had everything you could want and more to enjoy your stay. She provided us with wine tasting coupons for the area and tips for where to eat at night. The whole stay was very enjoyable. We met some great people while we were there also. We look forward to a return visit and stay. Stephen and Shelley


Great time

5 on October 24, 2013

Our recent stay at John's Gate B&B on thanksgiving weekend turned out to be quite an enjoyable experience. As grandparents we thought it would be a hectic weekend as our three young grandchildren from Vancouver were involved in a wedding at near by Piller & Post Inn. We were in and out with rehearsals, ceremony and reception and you Meheroo were very accommodating with snacks and drinks for the children, and very informative as where we could eat and play with the children. You were always plesant and asking if we needed anything. Your breakfasts were so-o-o-o delicious. Everything was comfy cozy. Thank you also for serving coffee to relatives who visited us at the BB. For a first time bed & breakfast stay you scored a 10 out of 10.


Excellent choice!

5 on August 12, 2013

It was a great surprise to end up at this wonderful b&b! The breakfasts were amazing, Meheroo, the hostess, is extremely welcoming and helpful, an amazing woman! The room and the bathroom were spotless, and the house just a few blocks from the main street. I recommend it 100%!


Great location in Niagara on the Lake

4.8 on July 28, 2013

John's Gate is a quaint bed and breakfast centrally located! You could walk to town if you don't mind a little exercise; nothing strenuous :)! We were close to the bike path as well! The inn was absolutely spotless with a comfortable bed, wonderful linens, and all necessary toiletries. Also, there were some nice added treats like a fridge in the room, a 24 hour bar to get beverages, and a wine bottle opener and glasses. Rooms were a little small, but more than adequate and well appointed, and the bathroom was spacious. We also had good lighting and a very quiet night. Now to talk about our BREAKFAST! This was a veritable feast and entirely different both mornings we were there! Definitely gourmet: we couldn't wait to see what was coming next! It was three ample courses, plus a delicious cake to celebrate my husband's birthday the first morning complete with candle! Any breakfast that includes dessert is tops on his list! We didn't even need a snack until 2-3 in the afternoon, and then just a small one! Meherro provided lots of dinner suggestions and even made reservations for us! She even had coupons and discounts for us! In addition, she gave us lots of wine tasting coupons and maps to get around which made for a fun afternoon! This was our 4th trip to Niagara on the Lake, but we have never had such attentive service and helpful suggestions before. We will definitely return, hopefully, with friends in tow!


What a Gem!

5 on April 28, 2013

Superior accommodations! A delightful stay at this lovely B&B, well tended inside and outside. Beautifully decorated, outstanding service and fantastic breakfast! My choice for another stay for sure.


This Bed and Breakfast(Feast) is the way to go

5 on February 16, 2013

Recently , my wife and I with some friends stayed at Johns Gate for the wine festival, We were pleasantly surprised with the the sumptuous Breakfasts we were served, the rooms and Bathrooms were meticulous and the hostess could not have been more responsive to our needs which in all honesty were few because everything had been thought of. I highly recommend this B&B and will be staying there again on our next trip


BIG BIG Thank you to Meheroo

5 on November 12, 2012

Cannot give John's Gate B&B enough accolades. The beautiful home is well kept, inside and out. The rooms were lovely, and had many, many imeneties, from each room having its own private bathroom to the little dish filled with candies (and my favourites, caramels) and the nightly chocolates. Tv, wireless Internet, iron, ironing board, blow-dryer... Our hostess Meheroo, was a delight, from offering suggestions to make our stay more enjoyable / comfortable to the exquisite gourmet breakfasts. Thank you Meheroo !


Gourmet B& B

5 on October 07, 2012

Stayed for 3 days. Breakfast was unique and outstanding every morning. Special take-away breakfast for early departure morning. Meheroo is a very special person and our lives were improved having met her.


Totally Outstanding

5 on September 29, 2012

If you are looking for the best B&B experience ever look no further. At John's Gate you are treated like royalty within a beautifully furnished and comfortable home. The owner, Meheroo, is a very special person. She is passionate about the service she provides and ensuring you get the most from your stay, Her breakfasts are works of art and amaziingly high standard. These are gourmet breakfasts that better the finest hotels but don't worry she will have checked your likes and dislikes on arrival so you won't be served up something that is not to your liking. Having said that, if your preference is for a standard full English/Canadian breakfast this is not the place for you but if you want something incredibly special it most definitely is. Alan and Jane May Newbury England www.premierlc.co.uk Do you know a charity we can help?


Very elegant establishment.

5 on August 09, 2012

We had the king room. Immaculate - bathroom looked like it had never been used. All immenities provided including ice water in a thermos in the room, chocolates on the bedside tables. Meheroo made dinner reservations for us and provided coupons for local attactions including free wine tasting at a local winery. As requested I was provided with a vegetarian breakfast, very gourmet and beautifully presented. M. Bergshoeff - Markham, Ontario


a Review of John's Gate

5 on June 18, 2012

John's Gate is a fabulous and beautiful B and B, a short walk to the main street in Niagara on the Lake. Spotlessly clean, all amenities, lovely toiletries, very comfy beds plus a huge sitting area to enjoy your drinks or on the patio/porch area. You also have access to a refrigerator and juices, the breakfasts are over the top gourmet delicious and the hostess is a lovely woman. We have been to many B and B's in the region and will definitely return to John's Gate - it is 10 star plus. Julie in Ottawa


Wonderful Experience - will definitely return.

4.6 on May 22, 2012

This was our first stay at any B&B and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. From the minute we arrived, our hostess Meheroo was tuned into our likes and dislikes to ensure we had a great experience. The inn is inviting, clean and comfortable as are the rooms. Our breakfast experience was nothing short of fantastic. You share a large dining table with the other guests so conversation with new and interesting people is also a part of your B & B experience. Breakfast began with really good tasting coffee and your choice of two fresh squeezed juices. I opted for the mango, orange, pineapple and was not disappointed. We were then served fresh fruit with a light yogurt sauce in a beautiful fluted tulip cup. The main course was smoked salmon with deliciously fried potato slices, eggs, and sautéed Portobello mushrooms and fried tomatoes. Shortly after the main course we were offered freshly baked banana bread (awesome) with fresh whipped cream. The location of the B&B is perfect, close enough to all of the main attractions yet far enough away that you feel like you are in a secluded quiet neighbourhood. The walk into town takes only 20 minutes or so and is through lovely tree lined streets. My husband and I plan to return in late summer and I would definitely recommend this B & B to persons looking for a home away from home.


Chef Worthy Breakfast

5 on May 07, 2012

This was truly an unforgettable stay. Meheroo was so attentive. We arrived early and wanted to just park our luggage and come back at check-in time. It was like home only better - she booked a wine tour for us- The Grape Escape-who pickup us up within 30 minutes and after tour delivered us downtown to a restaurant we had picked. Everything is spotless and comfortable, but the gourmet breakfast she served was worth the trip! Three courses and all incredible. Chef worthy.


Fantastic!

5 on March 21, 2012

The owner/operator of this B&B "Meheroo" was absolutely amazing! My girlfriend and I stayed there for a night during the second week of March 2012. Our needs were tended to with great care especially breakfast. Me being the picky one when it comes to food was very quickly presented with an alternative breakfast which turned out to be fantastic, especially the homemade blueberry sauce! The room was picture perfect and very clean which is definitely important when spending the night away from the comfort of your own bed. Was very nice to know that during our stay we had unlimited and complimentary WIFI which came in handy when relaxing in the evening while watching NETFLIX on my trusty iPhone. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone that is planning to spend a few days in Niagara on the Lake. Not only do you have the pleasure of all that I have mentioned above but she, the owner will also arrange a package for you. For us, it was the shuttled wine tour with dinner included and it was perfect! We shall return! :-)


Great B&B! Lovely Host and Service!

5 on March 06, 2012

Highly recommend this B&B. It was a pleasure to be served by Meheroo. I wish all B&B's had such service and great food. Room was clean and atmosphere was enjoyable.


Beyond expectations!

5 on February 27, 2012

Our family of four visited Niagara on the Lake in early February. The hostess welcomed us very warmly. She was friendly, very informative and attentive to our two boys. The breakfasts were original and the children were accommodated. The B&B was very clean, the rooms had everything one good need - extra towels, hair dryers, TV with flat screen and DVD players. The children could play their MP3 players too. We have been to B&Bs before, some take children. We found most B&Bs did not take children. Our hostess was very patient and accommodating. It was a great experience and we would like to visit again during the Festival of Lights in Niagara Falls. Thank you to our hostess.


Wonderful experience!!!

5 on January 25, 2012

This past weekend 4 of us attended the NOTL ice wine festival. We stayed at the John's Gate B&B and could have asked for a more pleasant experience! The atmosphere was relaxing and comfortable and welcoming from the moment we walked in. The owner and proprietor Meheroo is friendly and very accomodating. There is a comfortable common room with comfy seating, and 24 hour access to a fridge and refreshments. It was a treat for me to be served wonderful homemade breakfasts that I did not prepare myself!! The rooms were very clean and fresh and each have an ensuite bathroom. We are already booking a return to this wonderful oasis! Thank you Meheroo!!


Excellent séjour !

5 on September 03, 2011

Gîte très agréable et très bons petits déjeuners. La propriétaire est prévenante et intéressante.


Weekend Get-Away

5 on February 03, 2011

Our stay was very pleasant and enjoyable. Meheroo was a very gracious hostess and we would recomend going there to anyone. We know that our next trip will be to John's Gate.


John's Gate was GREAT!

5 on September 22, 2010

My husband and I were treated above and beyond at this heavenly B&B. Our stay far exceeded our expectations and we had such a lovely time getting to know our hostess. She made us feel so comfortable, and she went the extra step to celebrate our One Year wedding anniversary - we had flowers and a card and chocolates waiting for us in our room on our special day, i was so touched by her kindness. She also took into account my food restrictions & the meals were wonderfully preparied & incredibly gourmet. Very impressive! We would definately return to Johns Gate and have already passed along our recomendation to co-workers and family. I can't recommend this B&B enough - and especially in a town where every other house is a B&B and trying to find the "right" one is an overwhelming task - John's Gate should be high on your list to research!


our stay

3.2 on June 28, 2010

Make sure you bring cash or a check because she doesn't take credit cards for the final payment. She wanted payment in full almost as soon as we walked in the door. We hadn't even brought our bags in yet! Food was delicious though.


The Perfect Getaway

5 on June 16, 2010

My wife and I had a delightful stay with Meheroo at the John's Gate B.and B. We were warmly welcomed and settled into a sunny, comfortable king bed sized room. Meheroo's home is beautifully furnished and boasts one of the finested porches I have ever had the pleasure to sit on, while enjoying a cup of tea and listening to the birds sing and the sun set. The breakfast was delicious. Fresh juice, delightful mixed fruit, perfectly prepared eggs, and freshly baked pastry all combined to make us feel like very special people. Meheroo was gracious and very well versed on all of Niagara on the Lakes events, restaurants ansd attactions. My wife and I travel to the Shaw Festival each year. We have finally found the perfect place to stay next year.


Truly outstanding

5 on June 04, 2010

We spent an unforgettable Memorial Day weekend at Johns Gate. The B&B could not have been more charming, and so was our hostess Meheroo. Walking distance to the heart of town, superbly clean room, great food. What mor could one ask for?


7 Star Bed & Breakfast.

4.0 on June 02, 2010

John's Gate is in a category of it's own. We arrived later than scheduled and Meheroo was still at the door with a smile. The cleanliness and quality of linen was excellent. But the best was saved for last --- the 4 course breakfast we got in the morning was outstanding. Would recommend staying here to tourists.


Best Experience

5 on April 03, 2010

My husband and I went to Niagara-on-the-lake for a couple of days to celebrate my 40th birthday. He chose the John'sGate B&B because it was the B & B of the month. From the time we arrived our hostess Meheroo made us feel welcome and like old friends. She was informative of the area, arranged a wine tour for us and made sure that she was aware of all of our dietary needs. The rooms are immaculate and the experience was unbelievable. I can't wait to go back again. I would recommend John's Gate to everyone.


"We'll Be Back!"

5 on March 29, 2010

John's Gate is an elegant bed and breakfast experience located just the right distance from the main attractions and with a delightful hostess, Meheroo. The rooms are clean, well-maintained and nicely decorated, and breakfast was delicious! We will definitely go back to John's Gate.


A Great Welcoming Place to Stay

4.0 on December 14, 2009

We spent a delightful December 09 weekend at Johns Gate for the 2nd year in a row! The proprietor, Meheroo, goes above and beyond to make us feel most welcome and comfortable. She has a delightful sense of humour which makes her seem like a dear friend rather than a landlord. When preparing her delicious breakfasts, she is very careful in ensuring our food interests, needs and concerns are taken into account. Her breakfasts are a wonderful experience and a significant reason we will continue to enjoy repeat visits to John's Gate. The house is spacious, comfortable and beautifully decorated for the season. We would highly recommend John's Gate to all of our family and friends.


Excellent - couldn't get better!

5 on November 27, 2009

From the moment the hostess opened the door and greeted us, we knew we had selected the right place. The B&B was clean and sparkling, the breakfast outdid any restaurant in town and the hostess couldn't not do more for us. The service provided is second to none. This was our third visit to this B&B and this will be our new home in Niagara on the lake. Thank you for a wonderful stay and great memories.


John's Gate - A Treasure in Niagara on the Lake

5 on November 04, 2009

Booked our stay at John's Gate based on other reviews we read. Were not disappointed. Our room was lovely and comfortable, the breakfasts were delicious and Meheroo could not have been more hospitable. From booking a wine tour, to making dinner reservations (including a complimentary dessert) to helping us map out our itinerary, we were assisted in every possible way. We will definitely return and stay at John's Gate when we do.


Wonderful B&B - and can handle gluten free

5 on November 01, 2009

This B&B said they could handle a gf diet, and they certainly did - the breakfasts were superb, gourmet, and just like 'normal'. My breakfast was like everyone else's. The room was splendid: spotless, large, and beautifully decorated, and the bed delightfully comfortable. Our hostess, Meheroo, was gracious and friendly, and made reservations for us to go on a wine tour, and also to go to dinner (and arranged gf for me). She even gave us coupons to use. Travelling gf is hard and she made it easy and a pleasure. This is an amazing B&B and I recommend it.


Beyond Expectations

5 on October 19, 2009

John's Gate proved to be a perfect anchor for our long fall weekend at Niagara on the Lake. Meheroo, the host, met us at the door and we instantly felt welcomed into a beautiful home. Meheroo was a very gracious and friendly host providing helpful information and tips. The accommodations are spectacular to say the least and the location is very good being close enough to both events in town and to the wineries to be convenient. The breakfasts truly are gourmet quality and for us alleviated the need for lunch on most days. we are already planning our next vacation to NOTL and will definitely stay at John's Gate.


Wonderful Stay

5 on September 21, 2009

This was a perfect B band B . Our room was so nice and clean. The host was very helpful with what to do , restaurants and all the rest. Her breakfast was the best we ever had. We can't wait to go back, three days was too short.


Marvellous Treat!

5 on August 11, 2009

This bed and breakfast was absolutely excellent. The interior and exterior were immaculate, quiet and cozy. The owner was very informative and a great conversationalist. We felt very secure with her knowledge and advice. My wife and I ate 3 course gourmet breakfasts each morning and the other guests were as pleasant as anybody we'd ever met. When we return to the area, we'll stay nowhere else. if you're between 25-85, I hightly recommend staying at the John's Gate Bed and Breakfast!


A Special Escape!

5 on July 28, 2009

We planned a special trip for my mother and randomly chose to stay at John's Gate. We are so glad we did --- what a wonderful experience! Meheroo, the owner, provided superb accommodations, delicious breakfasts and secured reservations for both nights of dining. We had the full run of the inn since we rented all three bedrooms. Niagara-on-the-Lake is a relaxing and beautiful escape.


Enjoying the weekend

5 on July 22, 2009

By 9am, the Innkeeper provides you with a delicious gourmet 3 course breakfast! Speaking with her regarding the dinner/theatre package makes you realize that she really cares about you enjoying your stay. Try it out!


Elegance and Friendliness

5 on July 13, 2009

The accommodations at John's Gate were luxurious, spacious, and comfortable. The hostess, Meheroo, was friendly and helpful. Not only did she recommend activities and restaurants, but she also gave us money-saving coupons. We had a wonderful stay.


A Five Star Bed and Breakfast

5 on June 20, 2009

For many years, when coming for Shaw Festival, we stay at John's Gate because we know that we will never be disappointed. John's Gate is fully air-conditioned and smoke free. A private entrance for guests has foyer, a beautiful parlor with a fireplace, LCD TV, DVD player and organ, as well as complimentary soft drinks and juice in the guest frig. Tea, coffee and water (from cooler) is also available. Wireless internet service, fax, photocopying and computer facilities are available. Upon entering, the practice of removing shoes helps to ensure that the carpets are clean. The bed linens are of the finest quality; washed and ironed to perfection -without wrinkles, clean and smelling fresh as a rose. John’s Gate is truly the cleanest B&B we have ever stayed. With the utmost care to every detail, the breakfasts are like those seen in a gourmet magazine. A breakfast served at our last visit was: Juice (mixture of 3 fruits -one of which was mango), crispy half pear, three cheese/spinach quiche with salmon and tomato at the side and homemade cranberry bread for dessert. Entrées are prepared beautifully decorated. No other B&B in which we have stayed can compare to the breakfasts served at John's Gate. The proprietor, Meheroo accommodates any dietary need. John's Gate is like a home "away from home." Meheroo is helpful in planning excursions, making reservations for dinner, theater, wine tours, spa packages and any other vacation activity. Extended-stay discounts and Senior specials are available. She is knowledgable about the area and its history. She is a special kind of person- going out of her way to accommodate your needs while on a "respite" from busy schedules.


5-star bed and breakfast!

5 on June 14, 2009

My wife and I decided to spend our honeymoon at Niagara on the Lake, and after careful searching, agreed upon staying at John's Gate Bed and Breakfast, and it truly was a delightful experience. We arrived a bit on the late side, but Meheroo was able to help us coordinate with our evening wine tour group chauffeur so we didn't miss a second of it. Upon return we went up to our room to find it impeccably clean and to our surprise found two roses and a handwritten card congratulating us on our recent union. In addition, Meheroo suggested and provided us with numerous coupons for use at the local wineries, along with a map of the area and suggestions for getting around Niagara on the Lake. Last but certainly not least, the wonderful breakfasts. My wife and I appreciate exceptional food and the breakfasts at John's Gate DID NOT disappoint. Meheroo will cook to any type of diet restriction and turn it into a masterpiece. What made it even more enjoyable was time that she spent with us during and after breakfast just talking, a lost art to some, as evident by the slanderous reviews. We plan to return to Niagara on the Lake, and when we do, we will be staying at John's Gate. Thank you for such a wonderful time!


Helpful and very accommodating

5 on January 06, 2009

We have stayed at this B&B several times and found it to be clean, most helpful and very accommodating. We were made to feel at home from the moment we entered. The breakfasts are truly gourmet, filling and well presented. The hostess offers maps, coupons and any information to help you to find your way around town and the region. We have recommended this B&B to our family and friends and have heard similar comments. We would not hesitate to return anytime. Thank you, Meheroo, for the good times.


Outstanding!!

5 on November 22, 2008

We have been visiting Niagara on the Lake for nine years now and since we found John's Gate bed and breakfast, we always stay there. The house is spotlessly clean, the breakfasts are original and very tasty. The hostess is friendly and very helpful every time in helping us find something different and something new to see and do. The rooms have flat screen TVs with DVD players, so we can watch a movie. The common living is has a large flat screen TV with a DVD player too. The hostess has tried to make her guests comfortable, in every way possible. We have enjoyed every trip to John's Gate and would recommend this B&B to anyone. Thank you Meheroo for a great stay each year.


A Lovely Stay

5 on November 03, 2008

Meheroo is a very special lady, her breakfast is filling and tasty, the rooms spotless, the bed SO comfortable you will have a hard time getting up in the morning! The B&B is just a short walk, through a charming neighborhood, from the main shopping area of Niagara-on-the lake. We had a wonderful experience at John's Gate.


A wonderful Home

5 on October 29, 2008

We couldn't believe what a beautiful place we had chosen to stay in. Rooms very well appointed, top of the line bedding and linens, delicious breakfast but most of all the welcoming hostess. A spotless home as it is customary in Canada just like the Orient - to wear indoor footwear and pamper the feet. We stay in Sept 08 and cannot wait for our return.


Awesome!

5 on October 27, 2008

From the moment we stepped on that beautiful wrap around porch at John's Gate, we felt comfortable and welcome. Meheroo has a special gift when it comes to hospitality! From the atmosphere, the food, special conversation and her making the perfect reservations and tour guide for us, she is amazing! We are looking forward to our next visit. My friend and I brought 4 other women for a girl's weekend away and for the first time, I didn't have to plan a thing. Meheroo did everything for me and I couldn't have done better myself! Meheroo, thank you for everything and please tell Diane she was the best tour guide we have ever had when visiting that area. The trip was awesome - beginning to end!!!! I can't thank you enough! Jeanne Shuey - Pittsburgh PA


Beware

3.0 on October 22, 2008

This was the strangest B&B experience of my life. The owner hovered around us constantly and admonished us for doing anything she didn't approve of. Such as putting you suitcase on a bed etc. It is a shoeless B&B and woe to the guest who turns on the TV. The beds are rock hard and the rooms have a sterile feel. She will push an extremely expensive restaurant just down the road and will be insulted if you do not go. Seemed like a kickback situation to me. You cannot pay in full with a credit card. Just a really odd place. The other couple staying there were as amazed as we were.


Lovely visit

4.4 on September 16, 2008

Our recent three night stay at John's Gate B&B was all that we had hoped. In addition to peaceful surroundings and truly gourmet breakfasts, our hostess, Meheroo, made suggestions and dinner reservations for us. She even offered us seeds to one of her plants that we had admired. We enjoyed the spirited conversations with her and other guests around the breakfast table, and would certainly make a return visit.


Hidden Treasure

4.6 on September 11, 2008

We found John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast to be a special way to end a busy vacation. The breakfasts certainly warrant the title "gourmet". It is obvious that Meheroo loves to cook and enjoys the obvious pleasure her guests express at tasting her creations. Many ingredients are from her own garden of herb and vegetables. Delightful stay and Meheroo is a wonderful host.


Proper pampering

4.6 on August 31, 2008

We are British and we stayed at John's Gate B&B during a tour of the USA and Canada. Having spent the previous night in a motel on the road, on arrival at John's Gate we realised we had booked ourselves a real treat. We were travelling with our 19 month old son and John's Gate is one of the only places in Niagara on the Lake that accepts children. Although not particularly set up for children, our hostess, Meheroo, went out of her way to make us all feel comfortable and even offered to babysit! She gladly did some laundry for us for a nominal fee and made helpful recommendations regarding a visit to the nearby Niagara Falls. She booked us a table for dinner at a great local restaurant and provided us with a voucher for a free dessert, which rounded off our stay perfectly. Last but by no means least, we should mention the fabulous breakfasts. They have to be experienced to be believed with much of the produce from her own garden. We are now home and thinking back fondly on our visit.


Memorable Stay

5 on August 30, 2008

John's Gate Bed and Breakfast was the nicest B&B we ever stayed at. The establishment was SPOTLESS and the room was comfortable. Our hostess, Meheroo, was very gracious and attentive to our needs. She even goes out her way to make dinner reservations or help you in any way she can. The breakfasts served every morning were truly GOURMET and out of this world, and, she served something new every time. Also, she went out of her way to make our wedding anniversary special. Her location is convenient to most of the area's attractions. If you are visiting Niagara on the Lake this is the place to stay!


Amazing gourmet breakfast

5 on July 30, 2008

My husband and I were looking for a B&B in Niagara on the Lake so that we could get away to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. Everything was booked at the last minute, of course, but, luckily, Johns Gate had a cancellation which we took immediately. We found the home to be clean, comfortable and charming. Our room was cozy and came complete with turndown service, chocolate on the pillow, a thermos of drinking water with tumblers and wine glasses provided, a flat screen TV and many other conveniences. It seemed that whatever we needed was right where it should be. The gourmet breakfast was amazing...three courses served in a lovely dining room...fresh, creative and delicious. Our host was warm, welcoming, caring and very interesting with a quick wit and a nurturing nature. Her attention to detail was impressive. We got the escape we were looking for plus a little bit more. We recommend the Johns Gate B&B most highly.


Fantastic anniversary!

5 on July 27, 2008

We recently returned from a wonderful vacation at Niagara-on-the-Lake. We stayed at John's Gate, a beautiful bed and breakfast conveniently located in a quiet neighborhood in town. The owner, Meheroo, kept the rooms immaculate and was an excellent cook. We looked forward to a delicious gourmet breakfast each morning. In addition, she made excellent recommendations for excursions and restaurants. We would highly recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone wanting to visit the area.


Really enjoyed our stay

5 on June 28, 2008

We really enjoyed our stay at John's gate. The property is beautifully kept and the inside was immaculate. Meheroo was a wonderful hostess; friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. She does, in fact, serve truly gourmet breakfasts. We'd stay there again.


Wonderful Weekend!

5 on May 21, 2008

My husband and I have recently returned from a weekend at Niagara-on-the-Lake where we celebrated our 20th anniversary. I had planned the trip as a surprise and my husband commented on our way out of town that I had definitely booked us into the nicest bed and breakfast in all of Niagara-on-the-Lake! Not only was our hostess Meheroo extremely gracious but served us a gourmet breakfast both mornings of our stay. The food was prepared with fresh ingredients and was so beautifully arranged on the plate that it almost seemed a shame to eat it, but once we tasted it, we couldn't help but enjoy every bite. The house was immaculately kept and very warmly decorated. Meheroo knew the area well and arranged our dinner reservation the night we arrived and even provided us with a gift certificate for dessert. She had numerous ideas for us about what there was to do in the area and gave us many different options to suit our taste. We couldn't have enjoyed our visit any more than we did and are arranging another visit for the fall. Where will we stay? Why John's Gate of course. She has spoiled us to the point that no other bed and breakfast will do.


Lived up to our expectations & more

5 on May 14, 2008

There are many B&B's to choose from in the NOTL area and John's Gate was definitely a good choice. Meheroo is a delightful hostess ... and a very good cook. Her attention to detail is excellent. She tailors her menu to her guests' likes and dislikes and even remembers which brand of tea you like and how much sweetener you use! The room is indeed well kept and there's even a flat-screen tv for your viewing. We feel confident in recommending this B&B to others.


Honeymoon Weekend

4.6 on March 21, 2008

My new husband & I stayed at John's Gate Bed & Breakfast for a weekend after our Wedding. Our hostess Meheroo was wonderful. She made sure we had information about the area, dinner reservations for the night we arrived, and booked our wine tour for the next day. Every breakfast was exceptional, unique and delicious. Meheroo made the weekend one to remember as Honeymoons should be. John's Gate is definitely worth a return visit and I highly recommend staying here to everyone.


An Exquisite Adventure

5 on November 25, 2007

John’s Gate Bed and Breakfast provided the perfect and affordable base for our grand journey. Tucked away on a quiet side street, it was only a few minutes stroll to the downtown core for shopping, restaurants and sight-seeing. And after all that walking and shopping, wining and dining, we were guaranteed a restful night’s sleep in comfortable luxury. Our room was very warm, bed soft and cozy; and with its own bathroom that was immaculate and clean. We started each day with a full and lavish 3-course breakfast, enough to fortify one’s spirit for each Day’s new discovery experience. Our hostess was very friendly, yet meticulous in her attention to every detail and ensuring her guests’ every comfort. She had an extensive knowledge of the history and sights of the area. If you are looking for a weekend get-a-away, a chance to enjoy Nature’s serenity, sample the tastes of Ontario’s “wine country”, and stroll through a picturesque town, then a visit to John’s Gate Bed and Breakfast in Niagara-on-the-Lake would be your little treat to yourself


Loved John's Gate

5 on November 05, 2007

We loved our room, the food, and especially - the company. The gourmet breakfasts were wonderful. The hostess Meheroo is generous with her time and her knowledge of the area. Her obvious love for making her guests feel welcome is experienced in all the extras she does. Staying at John's Gate is like staying with family and friends. We will go back again.


Real luxury

5 on June 21, 2007

Wonderful gourmet breakfasts that made us want to take photos of our food. Good tips on how to visit wineries, where to grab a quick lunch, and other helpful tips for seeing the area. The host could not have been more helpful.


Wonderful!

5 on May 20, 2007

On May 4th 2007 we arrived at John's Gate Gourmet B&B for a (2 night stay),greeted by the Innkeeper, Mahara wishing my husband a happy 40th BD. The places was the cleanest place I had ever stayed at, and I have traveled to many B&B within the US and Europe. The presentation of both breakfasts were breathtaking! Mahare had each course of the breakfast time perfectly, starting with fruits served in uiques stlye, a main course of each dayhad unbelevieable taste, and closed with a birhtday bananna cake singing happy birhday to my husband and the second day closed with a flakey buttterly cherry pastry. My husband and I enjoyed Mahara's wonderful personality and hospitality, felt like we were at home. The otheer guest were extremely interesting to chat with, and even had a cocktail with one couple at a local pub Mahara had directed us. I highly recommend a stay at John's Gate B&B.


A wonderful house kept by a wonderful hostess.

5 on March 30, 2007

The 3 nights I spent at John's Gate was absolutely incredible. The breakfast our hostess provided was fresh, delicious, and healthy. She was gracious enough to help us plan our days and events. She was incredibly helpful and kind to us, and we could not have had a more comfortable stay. I plan on sending other people to Niagara-on-the-Lake, and I would send all of them to John's Gate!


John's Gate Gourmet Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate CAD 125 - CAD 165
  • Reviews (61) 4.9
  • Rooms 3
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-9054684882
  • Fax 1-9054680038
  • Toll free 1-8665664283

Visit Website »

View details

Top