Making Waves Boatel Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
28 Reviews

Write A Review

Why Boatel is the wave to go in toronto

3.8 on July 07, 2013

Ted and Dianne make hosting look easy. Full of tips and great stories, too


Would choose the Boatel over a Hotel anyday!

5 on September 23, 2012

Staying on the Boatel was the best getaway we've had EVER! It had the perks of staying in downtown Toronto while so being relaxing that you'd forget you were downtown! The hosts were absolutely amazing and welcoming that it felt as though we were visiting old friends. The breakfast was delicious and a fantastic way to start the day. This is an experience I recommend to everyone traveling to Toronto in the summer. We will definitely be going back!


Unigue place to stay!

4.6 on September 04, 2012

We loved our stay at the Boatel very much! Ted & Diane are great hosts. They provided us with information we needed to make our stay an enjoyable one. We hope to someday stay again.


The Girlfriends Toronto getaway!

5 on August 29, 2012

Booked our stay on the Boatel with 2 of my girlfriends and we were NOT disappointed! Loved staying right in the harbor in the middle of it all, easy to come and go as we pleased and loved being able to return between seeing Toronto for a hour rest when we wanted. HIGHLY recommend the boatel, Thanks Capt. Ted and Diane, better than a home away form home, a true experience.


Best Place to stay, nicest hosts in Toronto

5 on August 27, 2012

highly recommendable place to stay in Toronto, the hosts Diane and Ted really make you fell at home at once, breakfast is wonderful!


unique experience

3.8 on August 21, 2012

One of a kind B&B get away with locations to events in the city close by. The host Captain Ted and Diane were gracious and accomidating making sure the fine details were taken care of . The boat is very clean and facilities more than adaquate. We had our 30th annversary that weekend and enoyed tremendously. We recommend staying here even if this is just a baseball game get away


Our Honeymoon Stay!

5 on August 18, 2012

We stayed on the Boatel for three nights in Toronto during our honeymoon. We absolutely LOVED the Boatel! Diane and Ted were excellent hosts, and Diane made wonderful a gourmet breakfast every day. The mainstay cabin with private bath was roomy and comfortable. We loved the privacy and beautiful view of the city and waterfront. It was docked within walking distance of many great restaurants and attractions. We highly recommend staying here.

Innkeeper Response
We are glad that we could make your honeymoon special and that you enjoyed your visit.


I'm on a Boatel!

4.6 on July 23, 2012

My husband and I had an AMAZING time in Toronto thanks in part to Making Waves Boatel. Ted and Diane are the perfect Toronto hosts. They were so inviting and set such a relaxing atmosphere we felt like we were visiting old friends. They were there to answer any questions we had about things to do in the city. It was nice getting some input from locals. And Diane makes a mean pecan french toast :-) The guest rooms are a lot smaller than the normal hotel room, but there is plenty of space throughout the boat to lounge or get work done (free wifi!). The Boatel is in the middle of everything: a short walk of the Harbourfronte Centre, Roger's Centre, the CN Tower, a streetcar stop, and a Beer Store. You're close enough to go crazy exploring the city. And when you get tired from all the sight-seeing, you can grab a few beers from the honor bar and relax on the bow of the boat with the Lake Ontario as your backdrop (highly recommended). We had such an amazing time that I would seriously consider planning my next trip to Toronto around the Boatel's availability. It's the only way to stay in Toronto.

Innkeeper Response
It is wonderful to read reviews like this to be reminded of how much our guests enjoy the Boatel and our amazing city. We are passionate about Toronto and love sharing that with our guests to make their stay memorable. We look forward to seeing you again.


My Birthday Weekend upon Boatel 1

4.6 on June 22, 2012

Diane and Ted were wonderful hosts, making our stay relaxing and very enjoyable. Their help with sightseeing was very beneficial to our weekends enjoyment. I would recommend this very unique stay to anyone visiting Toronto. There is no better way to see the lovely waterfront of Toronto than being right on the water. Our meals were both nutritional, tasty and her presentation is comparable with a fine dining restaurant.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for the kind words. We are so glad we could make your birthday weekend special.


The best darn get away in Toronto

5 on November 27, 2011

My partner and I spent the T Giving Weekend with Ted and Diane on their Boatel. Not only is this a most unique way to spend a weekend but it is also a warm, relaxing atmosphere thanks to the Captain and his wife. Breakfasts innovative and flavourful; room quiet and comfortable as heck; and attention to detail clearly shows. Jamila and I will be back without question! JESleeth

Innkeeper Response
We look forward to it. We even have a few new recipes to share.


Perfect Alternative

5 on October 13, 2011

I'm not quite sure what I can add to the rave reviews of this charming hotel alternative but I'll try. We too were looking for a room near the Conference Center for a Green Building annual blowout. We had hoped to find a LEED certified hotel in Toronto, but did not. The regular hotel choices close to the Center were expensive and some were even full. So I googled bed and breakfast choices in the city. Among them was the Boatel which just happened to match not only our pocketbooks (Toronto is expensive) but the fact that it's a ten minute walk from the Conference location. How green can that be! Once on board, the contrast between the noise and hullabaloo of this vibrant Canadian city, was dramatic and delightfully welcome. If while considering a stay makes you wonder if you'll get sea sick or dizzy, I can say that probably due to completely benign weather, the boat hardly moved. When it did, if another motor boat passed nearby, the effect was minor and made me feel, for one, as though I had gotten up suddenly after a glass of wine. The feeling, not in any way unpleasant, lasted for only seconds. I'm not sure I would feel as sanguine if the weather was less than perfect. We stayed in the largest of the three quarters, with a very roomy bed and an en suite bath. While dark during the daytime, I was surprised that I did not feel in the least claustrophobic and because I didn't spend much time there during the day, the lack of lack was immaterial. Once on the upper deck and most especially in the breakfast eating area, all you have is light and the views, all around of the Lakefront. Can't be beat. As the other reviews have noted, the Boatel hosts are perfect. There if you need them, otherwise, you are pretty much on your own. Breakfast was wonderful as were all their touring suggestions, after first determining what sort of touring we preferred. So if you are planning a trip to Toronto, keep this option on the top of your list.


The best way to experience Toronto

5 on September 26, 2011

I headed to Toronto for a convention and ended up at Boatel by chance because the filled up hotel situation that week. To my delight I discovered a warm and memorable experience. I was treated with more hospitality that I have ever received before by a couple that knows how to make a person comfortable and relaxed. The boat has plenty of room to chill out whether inside for rain or on the back in the sunshine. The harbor area has gone thru a renaissance and Boatel has gardens galore right out the door for both lovers and joggers. The hosts waited up until after midnight to greet me and when I arrived I mused how nice a shot of scotch would be before bed.. out pops an unopened 15 year old single malt. Now I ask you, have you met someone who was that friendly to you 2 minutes after you met them? Breakfast was tasty and filling every day, internet and a nice big table allowed me to get some serious work done too!! Botel was perfectly positioned right in the middle of all the Toronto action. By some odd chance I had an iTouch with a recordings of thngs like rain, streams etc. Well I had a wooden ship recording too, which was a blast to play as I was gently rocked to sleep dreaming of subtropical islands.

Innkeeper Response
Not everyone get's the single malt ;)


Awesome location and accommodations

5 on September 13, 2011

After our first visit for four nights, we highly recommend the Boatel to anyone wanting to stay in a unique bnb in the heart of downtown Toronto. First of all the Boatel is a yacht with more room than you might imagine. Everything is layed out really well and super comfortable. We stayed in the large room which has a private bathroom including a shower. There is a closet and several drawers for storage. The bed was very comfortable as well. There are outdoor and indoor areas to relax depending upon the weather. Our hosts, Diane and Ted Greene, were great. By the 2nd day, it felt like we were visiting old friends. The gourmet breakfasts were all amazing as well! The location of the Boatel is right on the harbourfront of downtown, about a 5 minute walk to the CN tower and Skydome (Rogers Center.) This worked out great for us as we went to 3 baseball games while we were there. Public transportation is steps away and there is optional parking available right across the street. We didn't need our car the entire visit as we were able to walk just about anywhere we wanted to go in the city. I think it's safe to say that we'll stay there next time we visit Toronto.


Can't say enough!

5 on September 07, 2011

No negatives, just awareness: It is a boat and as such, space is at a premium, especially in the forward bedrooms. Bathrooms are big for a boat her size, didn't feel cramped. The Boatel is an extremely creative concept and an outstanding experience. Location in Toronto is perfect with local activity everywhere. If you are going to see baseball or other events in the Rogers Centre, the CN tower, shopping, harbor events...location couldn't be better or more unique. If trams and access to the subway where any closer they would have to come right to the stearn of the boat. Yacht is in beautiful condition and very comfortable and more on the casual side. Breakfasts were wonderful and creative. Evenings on the water at this location are stunning, and there is something about being on the water that melts the stress away. When we plan a winter cruise to warmer climates, Cap't. Ted and Diane will be our first choice! Very enjoyable, highly recommended.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your response. We really love when people are honest. The forward cabins are small but they are confortable and people always say they sleep well. At the end of the day it where you rest your head. The rest of the time you emjoy the Boatel which is why this works so well because we have so much space to stimulate your senses. Looking forward to your return visit.


Accolades for Making Waves Boatel, With Thanks

4.6 on August 25, 2011

During the interval between the closings of my sale and my purchase, Making Waves Boatel provided sterling nautical accommodation, delightfully substantial breakfast fare and very pleasant companionship, while gently anticipating and caring for my needs, and generously permitting me to extend my stay on short notice. Well done, Diane and Captain Ted Greene!


Raving for Making Waves

5 on August 19, 2011

There is no way I could have anticipated this charming spot and these excellent hosts who provided colorful, healthy food and relaxing atmosphere. I cannot wait to return and am already plotting my next business trip to the area.

Innkeeper Response
It's always a pleasure to have business travellers. We try to make your experience better than an "ordinary" hotel. Glad you enjoyed it.


Beautiful Boat ,excellent location and value!

5 on July 12, 2011

What a unique bed and breakfast! Close to everything on the waterfront of Toronto. Park your car and walk, take a street car or even a water taxi to explore the city. Boat was immaculate, breakfast was served on the "patio" deck overlooking the city and the food was delicious. Diane was very helpful in suggesting places to visit and by staying at the Boatel many discounts were available for area attractions. We enjoyed our stay so much we are planning a return visit. Check them out, you won't be disappointed! Diane and Captian Ted were terrific hosts.

Innkeeper Response
We look forward to seeing you again. Thank you for your kind comments.


Boatel for an interview

4.8 on June 28, 2011

Diane and Ted are just the sweetest, and it's clear they've been doing this a long time and really just want to make their guests happy and have a great experience in Toronto. You will feel right at home Day 1 and will want to stay longer - guaranteed! The food is UHmazing and the beds very comfortable. As a frequent business and holiday traveler, this is a must-do when staying inToronto. I previously stayed at a marriott on bloor for weeks on end, and this is just such a more please and personal stay. Highly reccomended. THANKS SO MUCH to the sweet couple for such a fantastic stay.

Innkeeper Response
It's been seven years and it just keeps getting better!


Wonderfully Gracious and Entertaining Hosts

5 on June 15, 2011

We could not of enjoyed our stay at the Boatel more. Ted and Diane are a joy and helped us out in many ways. From finding the events we wanted to participate in to getting directions and tips for where to go and what to see they were tip top. The accomodations were surprisingly large and we had access to the boat and the awesome sights from it of downtown toronto and the CN tower. Highly recommend this B&B!


Making Waves Boatel made our stay fantastic!

5 on September 30, 2010

The Boatel is a fantastic place to stay. We have stayed on boats both large and small, and the accommodations here are excellent and quite roomy. The location can't be beat, with easy access to the downtown and waterfront areas. Diane and Ted are wonderful hosts who made us feel truly at home. They also gave us great advice on getting around town and finding the best deals and great meals. We have already recommended the Boatel to friends and would be happy to stay with Ted and Diane again.


Floated my boat

4.2 on September 20, 2010

Ted and Diane are exceptionally good hosts; the breakfasts were delicious and they went out of their way to be helpful with many small touches that made the stay special.


A lovely place to stay!

4.6 on September 13, 2010

I highly recommend Making Wave to anyone looking for a unique place to stay in Toronto. Diane and Ted are incredibly welcoming and seemed delighted to share both suggestions about things to see and do in the city and stories about life on the boat. The boat itself is beautifully maintained. There is truly nothing like sleeping on a boat - gently rocked by the waves.


A wonderful, and different, experience

4.6 on July 11, 2010

We stayed for a weekend, in the largest cabin. The bed was comfortable and large, we had a private full bath, and there is nothing like going to sleep hearing the waves slap against the side of the boat, and waking up to see the sun reflected off the water onto your ceiling. There is plenty of room in the common areas, and the decor is beautiful and elegant. Ted and Diane, the hosts, are warm, friendly, and very helpful, with lots of tips about finding one's way about Toronto. One evening, they invited us to join them in a beer, and sit on the topside deck to watch the fireworks. The location of the boat is perfect - 5 minute walk, or less, to Rogers Stadium, the CN Tower, Harbourfront, downtown Toronto, public transportation, zillions of great restaurants, etc. - but quiet and peaceful. I was a little worried about proximity to Billy Bishop Airport (Porter Airlines), but the noise levels were never disturbing. A quick weekend jaunt turned out to be a relaxing, refreshing getaway.

Innkeeper Response
We're glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to having you come back again.


A Unique Experience

5 on April 26, 2010

All the comforts of home and nicer than an expensive hotel. If you are a boater or not, you will appreciate this unique experience. Bob and Elaine Houghton


Making Waves, Makine Friends

5 on April 25, 2010

I have had the pleasure of staying aboard Captain Ted and Diane Greene's motoryacht on several occasions. Being well acquainted with the bed & breakfast experience, this one stands out as the most unique. Ever wanted to stay on a classic yacht? This is your chance. The guest cabins (I've personally stayed in 2 out of 3) are very comfortable, clean and well appointed. They all offer quests some privacy - but who wants to be below decks when staying on a yacht? Both heads (washrooms), the private one and the one in the bow of the boat are clean, roomy and functional. (Remember - it's a boat). From her full-sized galley kitchen, Diane whips up amazing breakfasts. Belgian waffles are her "house" specialty and are not to be missed if possible. Evenings can be spent out in the cockpit if the weather is cool or inclement, but the upper deck adjacent to the fly-bridge is where you want to spend your evenings, perhaps sipping a scotch while Ted regales you with tales of southern cruising adventures. If you are worried about motion sickness - fear not. She is a heavy, steady and stable craft and you may only experience the slightest movement (just enough to remind you that you are on a yacht). There is nothing like falling asleep on a boat, docked in one of the most dynamic cities on the planet! Ralph Lembcke


Great hosts ... and a unique experience on the water.

4.8 on April 24, 2010

Stayed at the Boatel for a week.. did not want to leave.. Diane and Ted are great hosts... in food, ambiance and genuine care for their guests.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks for taking the time to do this review for us. Hope to see you soon at the Boatel.


1 st time visit

5 on April 24, 2010

Spent the day and evening with Ted and Diane. Their graciousness and service was and is second to none. The setting on the lake during the evening was fabulous, seated up on the deck enjoying a refreshment, the view of lake and cityscape the was an experience that we will not soon forget. The vessel was spotless and the stateroom well appointed and inviting. The kids had marvelous time enjoying their own berths. We would recommend a great stay to anyone. Its more an adventure than just another "hotel room". N.S.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks for taking the time to respond to this. Hope to see you soon at the Boatel.


A Week-end in T.O.

4.8 on April 24, 2010

Great location , its amazing being right on the water. Fabulous breakfast (a good start to any day ). Inn Keepers Diane and Captain Ted were very helpful. Looking forward to our return visit. Ann and Paul

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for posting the review. We appreciate you taking the time to do this. Hope to see you again soon at the Boatel.


Making Waves Boatel

Details

  • Nightly Rate CAD 175 - CAD 250
  • Reviews (28) 4.8
  • Rooms 3
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-6474032764
  • Mobile 1-2017443648

Visit Website »

View details

Top