White Oaks Lodge Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Service5
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining5

Score Breakdown based on
12 Reviews

Write A Review

nice home, excellent hospitality

4.8 on July 28, 2013

Wonderful breakfast! .. very helpful and accommodating hosts :) comfy and clean rooms for sure!


A little piece of Heaven

5 on July 17, 2013

We booked into this spot, July 4-7th on a recommendation of a friend, it's a winner! Secluded, spacious, beautiful. We've never stayed at a B&B before so didn't know what to expect. Our room was so clean, bed so comfortable, your own bathroom and clean fresh towels every day. Food - mmmmm, we still talk about Judy's French toast. Des & Judy made us feel right at home. They are such great hosts and you find that they soon become much more than hosts, they are friends. The lake was our retreat, fished two full days, caught lots of fish and sun. Wow, just what the doctor ordered! We will most definitely be back. Thank you for making our first B&B a memorable one :) Bruce & Kathy

Innkeeper Response
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Return customers become great friends. The fish in the lake continue to grow and multiply for your next visit. Hope to see you soon.


Excellent stay!

5 on November 06, 2012

I surprised my boyfriend by taking him to the White Oaks Lodge for our anniversary. We had such a wonderful time. It was both of our very first time ever staying at a B&B and Judy made our stay unforgettable. The bedroom was exactly what i had wanted for our stay, with a beautiful jaquzi tube and plenty of windows over looking their well kept property, and plenty of natural light. I love camp fires and i asked Judy if she didn't mind if we had a fire down by the water. While we were out having dinner in town, judy brought down everything we would need for an easy starting fire, as we would be getting back in the dark. It was perfect. And we so appreciated her doing that for us. The next morning we had the best homemade Belgian waffles, with bacon and eggs, a great fruit salad, and yogurt, and juice, and coffee.... and i'm probably forgetting what else because there was so much! I have to also say that i am missing their cat Ginger terribly. She was the highlight! We are definitely coming back here to stay here and we can't wait!


Very nice surprise

5 on October 25, 2012

We found this small piece of paradise travelling from Algonquine Park to Kingston. It was simply perfect, for the beauty of the house and rooms, the kindness of Judy and Des and delicious breakfast and aperitives. We would like to find, around Ontario, only this kind of B&B, thank's


Our favourite place to stay. We are repeat guests!!

5 on June 08, 2012

Beautiful location - great place to get away and be close to nature. Hosts are friendly, gracious and accomodating. Breakfasts are truly impressive - always a huge spread that is carefully prepared and includes traditional favourites and often some uniqye surprises. Value is amazing for what this place offers. Will be back again, no doubt!


Kayaking and B & B

4.6 on September 14, 2011

Stayed here twice this year (2011). Fantastic service, superb meals! Judy is an amazing hostess!


Wonderful stay

4.8 on August 14, 2011

The breakfasts were fantastic and always kept us full through lunch. Des and Judy are incredibly warm and inviting and really put you at ease. The lodge is on a large quiet property with walking paths and lots of wildlife around -- we saw deer, hummingbirds, wild turkey and chipmunks just looking out the window. The room was large and the bed was comfortable. We would definitely return.


Amazing Getaway!

4.6 on August 10, 2011

We stayed at the cottage run by Des and Judy and we had an amazing time there. The cottage is very secluded and well-equipped. We would definitely come back :) Thanks Judy & Des!


Wonderful!!! Unforgetable!!!

5 on August 08, 2011

My wife and I stayed there 4 times already and are going to come many more times. The place is perfect. Clean, comfortable and very very relaxing. Judy and Des (the owners) are great hosts. And we also recommend to order dinner there - Judy's cooking is perfect.


Explore the flora and fauna of Eastern Ontario in comfort

5 on June 04, 2011

This was my second stay at White Oaks Lodge and I look forward to many more relaxing vacations on this beautiful property. The hosts, Judy and Des DesLauriers, are warm and welcoming, and it is obvious that they enjoy sharing the natural beauty of their property with others. My husband, mother, father and myself recently spent a May weekend exploring the many trails on the DesLauriers’ property. We encountered deer, wild turkeys, a blanket of trilliums and wild columbine, and numerous species of birds. Prior to hiking we were treated to sumptuous breakfasts that included cranberry pancakes, blueberry Belgian waffles, fresh fruit, yogurt, eggs, bacon, sausage and toast; the homemade jams and jellies are lovely. We had an opportunity to try out the horseshoe pits in the afternoon, and then dined at two great local restaurants in nearby Havelock and Norwood. After such active days, it was wonderful to return to White Oaks and share the events of the day with our hosts prior to retiring to exceptionally comfortable rooms where no convenience was overlooked. I highly recommend this B & B for time away with family and friends; naturalists will find it particularly captivating!


a really special B&B

4.6 on June 01, 2011

We had a wonderful time at White Oaks! Judy and Des are wonderful hosts and made us feel so at home. The rooms are large with ensuite bathrooms which is fantastic, and are really nicely decorated and very clean. There are several things that really stood out to me about our stay. Firstly, Des and Judy are great conversationalists, and put us right at ease. Also, our breakfast really exceeded my expectations. The blueberry pancakes are a house specialty I understand, and a real treat. They put out a huge spread and I really felt so taken care of. Finally, we were able to take our Vizsla puppy with us, and he was treated like a member of the family which we so appreciated. They have a huge property and we were able to fit in a fantastic hike. We are already planning our second (and third!!) trips back to White Oaks so that we can enjoy more of what they have to offer. Next time we will plan ahead so that we can enjoy more of their great outdoors activities while we are there. I don't normally write reviews, but with the great service combined with delicious food and outstanding outdoor setting I really felt that I had to let others know about this great B&B experience. You will not regret a stay at White Oaks and we cannot wait to go back. Thank you Judy and Des!


Great Value Get-Away

4.6 on March 27, 2011

We were looking for a quiet place to decompress and rejuvinate and found this gem on the internet. This home has recently been built but has the ambiance of an old farm home. Rooms are clean and well appointed. Breakfast is substantial and lots of it. Dinner was escargot, roast beef, lots of wine and great conversation. Remembrances; watching the deer and wild turkeys in the back yard from the breakfast table, walking the trails in the woods and along the lake, how the owners Judy and Des took us into their home and made us part of their family. We have stayed in many B&Bs, this one is a gem, highly recommend. We are going back.


White Oaks Lodge

Details

  • Nightly Rate CAD 80 - CAD 125
  • Reviews (12) 4.8
  • Rooms 4

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone (705) 778-5280

Visit Website »

View details

Top