Arthur Morgan House Bed & Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Service4.7
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
49 Reviews

Write A Review

Perfect weekend getaway

5 on November 22, 2013

We were so pleased with Arthur Morgan House. The atmosphere is so comfortable, and relaxing, and everything was clean and inviting. The location was perfect for walking to everything in town that we wanted to do and see. The food was wonderful, with several yummy choices. The owner was more than accommodating and available for anything we needed. We will definitely stay at Arthur Morgan House again!


Fantastic experience

5 on July 07, 2013

This was a fabulous place to stay, it was clean and private with great food and an artistic feel. Loved the area too!


Love this Bed and Breakfast!

5 on June 30, 2013

My partner and I have stayed here for her birthday getaway for the past 5 years. We have always enjoyed our visits to Yellow springs and staying at Arthur Morgan is always a pleasant experience. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the food is always interesting and tasty. Susanne is a wonderful host and full of helpful information about the area if you need help planning your stay. We are looking forward to our stay this year and trying out another room at this beautiful inn!


Charming, and perfect for our sibling reunion

4.8 on June 16, 2013

Arthur Morgan House is a delightful historic home perfectly situated on lovely grounds by a quiet street, just a few minutes' walk from downtown Yellow Springs. The rooms are spacious, beautifully appointed, immaculately clean and very comfortable. Our breakfasts around a large table in the bright cheery dining room were delicious, nutritious, and served by our charming hostess Suzanne and her helper. Coffee, tea, ice water and mints are always available. We made good use of the delightful living room (including the piano) for our family gatherings before and after dinner. Suzanne runs her B&B with a blend of welcoming warmth, helpful knowledge of the area, and comfortable efficiency--check-in and check-out are a breeze. Definitely recommended.


Low-key natural setting

5 on May 13, 2013

Owner and staff are non-intrusive but always available to respond to your needs and questions about the area. House is comfy and quiet. Breakfast is plentiful, fresh and of so delicious. Rooms are clean and attractive with lots of natural light filtering in the divided light windows. A delightful stay.


A dream of B&B

4.6 on March 07, 2013

I arrived in Yellow Springs late in the evening after a long flight from Switzerland and I was so pleased and happy to find a kind and warm welcome in Arthur Morgan House. The B&B is located in a quiet green residential area two minute walking distance from the main street of Yellow Springs. The house is really beautiful with a relaxing garden and parking places. You will find very nice bedrooms (mine was Woodpecker's Nest) with bathroom and all you may need, a cosy living room and a comfortable dining room, where you can meet interesting guests, appreciate the delicious breakfast prepared by Brian, the Chef, or have a cup a coffee with Kathy, your guardian angel. Wonderful stay, everybody made me feel like at home. Isabella


As comfy as a bird in a nest!

5 on January 20, 2013

The Arthur Morgan House was truly one of my most memorable places to stay. I was drawn to stay here because of the organic bed option and my health issues. From the moment I spoke with Suzanne on the phone to when I walked in the door to a glowing scene of a bird in its natural habitat, I felt cared for and welcome. The room was clean and warm. And throughout the house special details such as filtered water, LOCAL free range eggs and bacon for breakfast, tea and coffee, music, movies and books, and special art work were available for my enjoyment and comfort. But mostly the organic options showed me that AMH truly cared about my overall well being while I was a guest in their HOME. Thank you Suzanne and AMH for caring! Mo.


Great weekend getaway

5 on January 10, 2013

Spent a Saturday night at the Morgan House. Was very impressed with the cleanliness of the room, and the quietness. Did not eat breakfast there, as we slept in and rested, but the menu looked wonderful. Can't wait to go back in the summer and enjoy yellow springs. Thank you so much for sharing your rooms with us.


A terrific find at great value

5 on October 26, 2012

We stay at B&B's some 6 times a year, this year so far in Toronto, Maine, Massachusetts. So we're not B&B newbies. AMH was a reasonably priced get-away for R&R, hikes, reflection, reading, and restaurants. Arthur Morgan House exceeded our expectations in all categories! Homey and unpretentious atmosphere! Terrific cooked breakfast each morning for which we were able to select entrees. Very clean throughout the inn. Room had lots of extra small touches other inns don't - extra electrical outlets in convenient places, two nightstands, rocking chair, open-able windows with tree views, wi-fi throughout house, and downstairs laptop. Even great coffee, which shows innkeeper Susanne's appreciation for features often overlooked at breakfast time.


relaxing getaway

4.8 on July 22, 2012

The Arthur Morgan House was clean and decorated with style. The theme of a different bird for each room was carried out tastefully. The breakfast with organic ingredients was artfully prepared and served. We had a relaxing, peaceful time.


Wonderful Stay at AMH

5 on June 27, 2012

Location was peaceful, rooms were clean and unique in their decor. Food was terrific! A very easy and pleasant experience.


Amazing stay, we'll definitely be back!

4.8 on May 30, 2012

The food was delicious, rooms were very comfortable and clean. We'll definitely be back!


All around fantastic!

5 on May 29, 2012

My new bride and I stayed here two nights for our 'mini-honeymoon'. The house is located within easy walking distance of downtown Yellow Springs, and we found it comfortable and welcoming. Susanne's hospitality is first-rate, and her cooking... oh, my! A different delicious menu is offered each morning, and Susanne uses ingredients from local farms as much as possible. The great pleasure of our visit extended even beyond our stay, as Susanne found and returned to us an earring that my wife had lost in the room. If you plan to visit the Yellow Springs area, you can do no better than to stay at Arthur Morgan House! We will definitely be returning to enjoy Susanne's gracious hospitality.


Satisfactory

3.0 on April 09, 2012

Beds were comfortable, food was good however a little lacking in the sincerity category - felt a little like they were trying to be pretentious when warm and relaxed would've gone a lot farther.


Fantastic bed, yummy breakfasts!

5 on April 04, 2012

This B&B has the most comfortable beds I have ever slept on at a hotel. We slept fantastically well, and it was such a pleasure to wake up to Susanne's delicious, locally sourced breakfast. We loved the clean lines and welcoming vibe of our room - we could have spent all day relaxing on the porch or lingering over coffee, but the Glen and hiking beckoned!


Arthur Morgan House

4.6 on June 09, 2011

An elegant house located within easy walking distance from downtown Yellow Springs. Excellent, comfortable rooms, great food and Susanne is a congenial and knowledgable hostess


quaint & comfortable

4.0 on June 01, 2011

The Arthur Morgan B&B is lovely find in YS - close to the bike trail, Glen Helen and a short walk into town for dining and shopping. We parked the car and didn't use it until we headed home. Suzanne's hospitality is welcoming but definitely not intrusive. It was obvious that many of the other guests were 'repeaters' - always a very good sign! oh, great coffee too


Great Escape

4.0 on December 31, 2010

We had a wonderful one night stay at the Arthur Morgan House. The hostess is engaging and she provided a very healthy breakfast. Accommodations are first rate. The location is excellent to many local activities - shops, parks, dairy, winery and mill.


a great experience

4.8 on October 21, 2010

I recently spent two evenings in the Arthur Morgan House. The location was excellent, the meals served were superb, and Susanne made me feel at home. I stayed in the Heron's Nest and recommend it to anyone looking for a clean, colorful, spacious room. I will definitely be returning.


A wonderful stay in a historic residence

5 on September 23, 2010

We stayed at the Arthur Morgan House in the middle of September and had a wonderful time. Our booking was so well organized, we had no fears about mixups and everything went completely smooth. Our room was beautiful as was the town of Yellow Springs. Our hostess, Susanne Oldham, is a fantastic cook and wealth of information about the local area. She is so easy to chat with, we probably kept her chatting after breakfast for way to long but she was much to polite to mention it. We highly recommend a stay at this historic residence. The town is wonderful too, but tends to roll up a bit early, so we recommend arriving early in the afternoon to take full advantage of the shops, restaurants, and parks.


Ideal place for a stay or a family gathering

5 on August 17, 2010

Arthur Morgan House combines the feeling of a carefully well-kept house, with the grace of tasteful furnishings, and an easiness of atmosphere. The African art on display in the living room, and available for very affordable sale, adds a unique and lovely element. But at the center of our stay was the innkeeper, Susanne Oldham. She is welcoming in a flexible and helpful way, discretely allowing of privacy, yet a delight to engage in conversation. Susanne prepares a thoughtfully selected breakfast menu--bountiful yet within her style of simplicity, wholesome with fruits, berries, yogurts, and creative omelets and pancakes. A quiet gem!


Wonderful experience

4.8 on August 14, 2010

What a wonderful experience We had at The Arthur Morgan house! It is in a great location- a close walk to the restaurants in town and very peaceful and quiet throughout the day and night. The entire home and the rooms are all clean and cozy. I thoroughly enjoyed my delicious home cooked meals and Suzanne is so helpful and friendly! The coffee is delicious as is the fresh cream, orange juice, fruits, breads, and eggs.


John and Helen Heffernan

5 on February 08, 2010

The room was so peaceful. I felt instantly at home. The overall feeling was one of peace and relaxation. The food,which was incredibly good and fresh, was only matched by the conversation. Susanne was a perfect hostess, keeping us well served while providing great conversation on a variety of topics. A good time was had by all. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.


returning to yellow springs

4.4 on December 22, 2009

Recently my sister and I spent a weekend at Arthur Morgan House, a return to Yellow Springs after being away many years...the house is delightful, comfortable and not pretentious, a home I had admired from the outside many times when I still lived in Springs...it is so convenient to downtown and for hiking the Glen Helen reserve...and Susanne cooked up the best baked egg I have ever had...delicious!


A memorable experienced in Yellow Spring, Ohio

5 on December 01, 2009

We rented two rooms for one day after the Thanksgiving holiday, and were really impressed with the elegance of the arrangement in the rooms and the house. It was certainly a memorable experience for our family to stay a weekend in the charming small town.


Wonderful

5 on November 23, 2009

Took my hasband for an overnight birthday getaway and was delighted by the whole experience. I liked that no one hovered over you when you checked in and were free to just go about your business. I would and will go back and recamend it to every one. Clean and nice. Great plus for runners it is so close to the running/bike trail you won't have to skip a work out.


clean, cozy, and QUIET

4.0 on September 20, 2009

What a wonderful experience I had at The Arthur Morgan house last weekend! It was is it in a great location- a close walk to the best restaurants in town and very peaceful and quiet throughout the day and night. The entire home and the rooms are all clean and cozy. I thoroughly enjoyed my delicious home cooked meals and the staff is so helpful and friendly!Their free trade coffee is delicious as is the fresh orange juice, pancakes, oatmeal, and eggs. I was so sad to leave and cannot wait to return next year for a longer time.


What a charming time I had!

4.4 on September 07, 2009

I spent three nights here... so relaxed and peaceful. The breakfasts are superb, the manner in which the inn is run is so smooth that it seems as if it's non-existent. Susanne is absolutely helpful, hospitable, and spot-on with everything. You are in good hands. I will return, I have talked a friend into just being in Yellow Springs and staying with me there. Have no worries... this charming place is exactly what you need and it pricing point is exact, in my opinion. Loved it! Weekend Yogi from Pittsburgh.


Fabulous family weekend

4.8 on July 09, 2009

The experience staying at Arthur Morgan was wonderful! Two of my sons came along with their wives for my 50th high school reunion. It was wonderful to be in Yellow Springs and so close to 'downtown,' such as it is, maybe it should be called 'downvillage,' and feel right at home. The food was delicious and the fellowship delightful. Thank you again! Eve Odiorne Sullivan


very pleasant surprise

3.8 on June 24, 2009

We found this B&B on the web and little did we know what a gem it was. Tucked in Yellow Springs the home of Antioch College. We were greeted with acapella singing (not the norm) and enjoyed a Peruvian dinner in town.


wonderful getaway

4.8 on June 13, 2009

We have stayed there twice-so far-and it really is wonderful. It's welcoming, private, and close to everything in town. It's nice and clean and the beds are so comfortable it's hard to get up for breakfast. Great breakfast and Susanne could not be a more gracious host.


A Great Place to Stay

4.0 on May 27, 2009

The Arthur Morgan House is a welcoming, peaceful place. The breakfast is wonderful. The bedrooms and baths are well-furnished and very clean. The screened porch provides a lovely place to sit and enjoy nature. It is within walking distance to downtown and the biking trails are great! We have visited twice and plan to visit again. Dianna and David from Louisville


The perfect solution!

4.4 on May 23, 2009

The Arthur Morgan House provided convenient and superb hospitality for a group event that was larger than I could accommodate. Susanne's breakfast was beyond superb in it's visual presentation and delicious healthy choices! Thank you! Jennifer, Creative Explorations Women's Retreat


Yellow Springs Experience

4.2 on May 14, 2009

Very pleasant, we are repeat customers to this B&B. It is located very close to town so you can walk to most everything. Rooms are very pleasant and Susanne is great - very accommodating. Breakfast was excellent both days. We'll be back.


A Great Find

4.0 on May 10, 2009

This B&B is a great find that is friendly to those using the Great Miami Bike Trail system. Suzanne and her staff are personable and make your stay a relaxing experience. Breakfast is a great treat!


Wonderful stay

4.2 on May 06, 2009

Susanne was enjoyable to talk with and made for an interesting evening. Would like to spend more time talking with her in future stays. Make sure she serves you the homemade cranberry nut toast in the morning.


Weekend recharge

4.4 on May 03, 2009

Comfortable, bright and clean rooms, Cozy fireplace in the welcoming common area, Delicious breakfast, Delightful Innkeeper, Stones throw from Glen Helen Nature Preserve, I'll visit again and again.


Terrific Anniversay Getaway

5 on April 20, 2009

My wife and I stayed here to celebrate our 5th wedding anniversary, returning to reconnect with our favorite haunts from when we first met. The Arthur Morgan House exemplifies everything we love about the area... wonderful hospitality, eclectic art, free thinking, and a refreshing openess that makes you feel right away like you're a treasured friend. This was our first visit, and will most certainly not be our last.


There is a reason why I keep coming back

5 on April 18, 2009

I always look forward to my visits at the Arthur Morgan House. This most recent trip in particular. At the end of a long day working with clients, I really appreciated being able to "come home" to the Arthur Morgan House. Comfortable, relaxing and Susanne's hospitality makes this a wonderful place to stay. Marty Baddeloo


Great Weekend

4.2 on March 31, 2009

Parks in the area were great! Service & food were great. Made us feel at home. Don't miss Sunrise Cafe & Winds for Dinner.


Soothing getaway

4.4 on March 26, 2009

It's a wonderful old house, full of history; a very warm, laid-back atmosphere, with daily newspapers, 24/7 hot drinks, good conversations, comfortable living room. Guest rooms are charming, comfortable, well appointed. Breakfasts were delicious, with wide variety.


Outstanding!!

5 on March 25, 2009

Comfortable, relaxing, a wonderful place to stay any time of the year.


Yellow Springs

4.6 on March 20, 2009

My son and I found this wonderful place, for a second time, it is a corner of beauty and sanity, with great service, a nice owner, great breakfast, elegance and quiet. I recommend it to anyone traveling in that part of Ohio, near neat stuff like Indian mounds, good hiking, great dining and the Underground railroad. Look forward to next time. Miriam and Ben


Perfect

4.6 on August 05, 2008

Home made cookies greeted us and there was the perfect mix of privacy's company. The beds were soft, the bathrooms cleaned. I would live there!


Divine Relaxation

5 on July 08, 2008

Attractive and simply furnished rooms, immaculately clean, well lit. High quality mattresses, pillows,and linens. The living room and screened in porch and dining room are comfortably furnished and decorated with African art and crafts from Susanne Oldham's continuing interest in Africa. The food is imaginative, and well-prepared to your order. The guests are invariably good breakfast company. Susanne is world traveled and an accomplished musician; she is well informed about local and regional activities and dining. A massage in your room is divine - Susanne will arrange it for you. I go three to four times a year, to attend a yoga retreat or just to lay around - with at least two fine restaurants and many masseuses and yoga teachers in the area, it is easy to design and enjoy your own retreat - an easy drive from many locations in Kentucky, Indiana and Ohio.


nice

3.4 on June 09, 2008

comfortable, well appointed rooms. excellent service. wonderful location


The perfect escape

5 on February 04, 2008

The Arthur Morgan house is an absolute gem and the perfect escape from the world. My wife and I first visited during the Summer of 2006 and have enthusiastically returned a half of a dozen times since. The rooms are bright, spacious and well-appointed and the breakfasts are always fresh and delicious. The secret to the Arthur Morgan’s success is in the relaxing atmosphere Suzanne, the proprietor, has created. Over the Christmas holidays, we took some friends visiting from the UK to spend a night there. Afterwards, we all agreed that our favorite moment of that week was a quiet moment sitting in front of the fireplace, reading books and listening to some music we selected from the CDs offered at the B&B.


Arthur Morgan House is FABULOUS

5 on February 02, 2008

I've stayed there several times; the food is always fresh, well prepared and delicious; the atmosphere is relaxing, everything we need is right there; Susanne is a wonderful hostess and fellow guests always interesting. Best B&B I've ever stayed in.


Great locatiion, Great food,

5 on January 31, 2008

This is the best place to stay in the area located in one of the most interesting small towns in Ohio. It is the only place to stay that is within walking distance (one block) from downtown Yellow Springs (all 2 blocks of it) and just a couple of blocks from the Winds Cafe, (a must if you have any interest in food). The house was built in the 20’s by Arthur Morgan who for 20 years was the President of Antioch College and latter became the head of TVA under Roosevelt. The rooms are very clean and charming, but not overly decorated, no Victorian here! A warning, there are no televisions in the house (fine with me), but there is a nice library of DVDs and a DVD player for guests to borrow. In addition to free high-speed internet (a real convenience), there is a computer for guests to use in the living room. The breakfasts are tasty and creative made from organically produced/grown food (much of local), and really good coffee (locally roasted I am told.) The innkeeper, Susanne, is a classical flutiest by training and has recently completed a two year stint in southern Africa with the Peace Corps. She has an in-depth knowledge of the area (she was born there) and will help you get the most out of your stay. She is a great host and must have a lot of patience to put up with the likes of me! Although small, Yellow Springs has a delightful 60’s laid-back flavor with lots of interesting shops and boutiques, all an easy walk from the door. There is also great hiking and biking just a couple of blocks away. It’s just a great place for a getaway no matter what your interests, and Arthur Morgan House is THE place to stay.


Arthur Morgan House Bed & Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $80 - $125
  • Reviews (49) 4.6
  • Rooms 6
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-9377671761
  • Fax 1-9377672106
  • Mobile 1-9376722823

Visit Website »

View details

Top