Homestead House Reviews

Overall
4.9

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.9
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
75 Reviews

Write A Review

Wonderful!

5 on September 02, 2014

We had never stayed in a B&B before and did not know what to expect. The rooms and service was exceptional. Breakfast was one of the highlights of the weekend. We will definitely be making a return trip.


So great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

5 on August 24, 2014

Homestead is wonderfully appointed. Comfortable, quiet and the breakfast was fabulous. Innkeeper was wonderful. Lovely spacious rooms and bathrooms. Gorgeous antique furniture. No stone left unturned. We throughly enjoyed our stay. Will come again.


great, over and over again!

5 on August 18, 2014

been here now several times and never get bored. great room, fabulous breakfast and she only seem to host friendly guest!


Home away from home!

5 on July 16, 2014

Homestead House is our home away from home! We wouldn't even think of staying any place else! Accomodations, breakfasts, and innkeeper, Deanna, are the absolute best!


B&B done right

5 on January 04, 2014

2nd Christmas I've spent at Homestead. Location pleasant (next to a small diverse shopping street, rooms interesting, beds comfortable, plumbing good and the food terrific. Dee has clearly maintained her interest in cooking for her guests and introducing new recipes. I'd highly recommend this place to anyone wanting a comfortable stay in the Cleveland area. My esteem is shared by the other 3 family members who have stayed here.


Most enjoyable

5 on October 28, 2013

Could not have asked for a nicer place to stay, we stayed for a week while looking for somewhere more permanent for out 4 month stay in Cleveland and seriously considered staying at the B&B for the 4 months. 3 course breakfasts conversing with other travellers from all corners of the world and even locals that want a nice getaway....fantastic stay....would recommend to everyone.


OUTSTANDING!!! FANTASTIC!!!!

5 on August 26, 2013

Our stay at the Homestead House was a wonderful and relaxing experience. We stayed 6 nights and looked forward to each new day while we were there. Deanna Rowe our Hostess was so hospitable and made our stay very enjoyable and the breakfast that she cooked each morning was out of this world. It made you look forward to getting up each day to see what she had prepared for you. The room we stayed in was so peaceful and relaxing. Sitting on the front porch each morning enjoying a cup of coffee and the view of downtown which has a lot of neat shops and eateries which we enjoyed very much. We definitely will stay there again on our next visit and recommend this B and B. I WOULD RATE THIS AS A 10 STAR PLACE OR BETTER.


Homeststead House a Hidden Treasure in Norheast Ohio

5 on August 21, 2013

We stayed at the Homestead House the weekend of my nephew's wedding. It was fabulous. The rooms are beautiful. The beds are comfortable. The food was fantastically delicious. The Owner, Host and Chef Deanna Rowe was the best. I cannot express Thanks enough for making my family feel so comfortable and at home.


Wonderful stay

5 on August 18, 2013

What a fantastic and peaceful place to stay! Breakfast is home cooked and fantastic!


Wonderful!

5 on August 06, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Homestead House! Deanna Rowe was and excellent hostess and an excellent cook!


Home Away From Home

5 on February 23, 2013

Just stayed at the Homestead House Bed and Breakfast for 7 nights, Feb. 13-19. Was our first ever experience at a B&B. The rooms were great, clean and well maintained. The food was way beyond what hotels serve. The owner could not have been more accommodating. Will never stay at a local hotel when we visit the area again.


Beautiful weekend

5 on February 21, 2013

February 16, 2013 weekend turned out the be one of the greatest weekends of our lives. My guy and I wanted to spend quality time together while enjoying the quietness that a B&B offers. We were amazed as to how beautiful the house was. It made us very happy that we chose it. Kudos to Fred and Deanna, they were very gracious, caring and wonderful hosts. We enjoyed the Sanctuary room and look forward to staying there again in another beautiful room. THANKS!!


Relaxing night before my wedding

5 on February 13, 2013

My husband and I decided not to spend the night together before our wedding so I volunteered to go elsewhere. All my family had full houses. I didn't want to impose on my friends. I just really wanted some relaxing alone time before my wedding day. The B&B was located just 2 minutes from the salon I was getting my hair done for my wedding. I got there late after my reheresal dinner (I picked up my key earlier in the day). I got there & got into my room without any problems. Very cute, antique style decor. Bed was comfortable & it was nice having my own bath. It was nice to find basic toiletries in my bathroom in case I had forgotten to bring something. The room was spacious, I got to lay there and relax & watch tv. I slept wonderful all night. The B&B even got up early to accomodate me & the time I needed to leave for my hair appointment & made me a wonderful breakfast. It was soooooo good. Not your normal cereal, toast or pancakes you would expect. Nice gourmet foods. It help set the tone for my special day & put me in a great mind set. Would recommend this for out of town guests or for locals who are looking for a little escape. I felt like I was on a trip when in fact I only live 15 minutes from the B&B.


Highly recommend

5 on November 05, 2012

We had a great experience! Our room was extremely comfortable and clean. The breakfast was excellent. We will be back. Already have passed word onto relatives and friends!


Elegant accomodations, generous homelike service.

5 on November 04, 2012

This gorgeous old home has every modern update necessary to make your stay comfortable. We stayed in the Fine Arts room with beautiful and comfortable four poster bed and heart shaped jacuzzi. The coffee was delicious and served upstairs for easy access early in the morning, and our charming hostess offered to serve breakfast early for us when she learned we would be gone before the regularly scheduled meal since we had to get on the road as early as possible on Sunday for a long day's drive. Also, without our asking, she offered to make us a vegan breakfast to meet our dietary preferences, and it was absolutely delicious! I can't recommend Homestead House B&B highly enough. Stay here at your earliest opportunity. You'll want to come back again and again.


Inspirational Elegance

5 on February 26, 2012

I had the pleasure of spending the weekend here for Deanna Adams' Women Writers' Winter Retreat and I'd recommend this B & B to anyone looking for a retreat of any kind. Our programs and meals were in a spacious carpeted room with a fireplace and lots of sconces and recessed lights. We were cozy as we watched the snow fall outside through the tall windows. I also got to lounge in the sitting room in the upstairs quarters during a break when invited by some of the ladies who were staying in the adjacent rooms. The facility incorporated just the right mix of antique furnishings and modern appliances. As elegant and delightful as it feels to exchange ideas on fine Victorian-style upholstery, let's be honest - we really don't want our Victorian experience to be TOO authentic, right? The innkeeper maintains a large kitchen and lots of bathrooms. She has coffee pots, microwaves and refrigerators everywhere for any treats you may bring. You also may appreciate the LCD TV's in each room in case you do want to tune into the 21st century while on your retreat and their sleek nature shouldn't be too upsetting to your aesthetic ideals. The innkeeper made it a point to set expectations about food appropriately: "This is a bed and breakfast - we use real sugar. And real butter, too." By renovating an historical building, decorating it with antiques and insisting that her ingredients be "real," she is not just a B & B operator, but she is also a steward for preserving history and making it possible for us to continue to enjoy much of what we long for from the past right here in the present. Within reason, of course - she did double check to make sure there were no serious dietary concerns nor any allergies.


outstanding bed & breakfast

4.0 on February 25, 2012

This beautiful Victorian Bed & Breakfast with unique bedrooms was perfect for our weekend last summer. The front porch has rocking chairs-ideal for resting. Deanna was very welcoming and gave us some ideas for places to visit!!! The breakfasts were 3 course meals with recipes that were homemade by Deanna. I've been to a few bed & breakfasts, but this one is truly outstanding!!!


First B&B Experience

5 on January 16, 2012

Homestead B&B more than exceeded our expectations! The room was gorgeous and relaxing. Mornings with coffee right outside our door and a breakfast beyond words! The uniqueness of the breakfasts made each morning an anticipated event. We loved that Deanna came out with her coffee cup, sat with us and talked like an old friend. So homey, comfortable and welcoming....we'll definately be returning!


Excellent B&B

4.6 on November 08, 2011

My wife and I came from North Carolina and stayed at The Homestead for the week in visiting family. We have stayed in a lot of B&Bs during our travels, and this was one of the best B&Bs. It was fun chatting with the innkeeper and the guests during breakfast, particularly the business travelers from the Republic of Ghana. Highly recommend this B&B!


An Oasis in my business travel!

5 on September 04, 2011

My stay at the Homestead House was a welcome respite from my usual business travel. It is Deanna's gentle presence and attention to detail makes the lovely house so comfortable and relaxing. The Parlor on the second floor was the perfect to have impromptu meetings with my associates also staying there. The breakfasts were fabulous, Deanna's preparation of recipesfrom her grandmother and variations of deserts like champagne poached plums and granola parfait were wonderful. The location if great for easy strolls to downtown Willoughby for a dinner at numerous restaurants and an ice cream desert. The accommodations were perfect, modern bathrooms and comfortable beds. What I liked most was Deanna's sincere desire to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. Traveling extensively across the United Stated for business, I have seen a lot of hotels and my share of B & Bs, this is now my favorite. Finding that space where you can get some work done, take a easy walk to dinner and get some needed rest after a hard day is truly a welcomed Oasis. Thank you Deanna!


Deanna made my wedding perfect !

5 on August 10, 2011

We had the entire house for the weekend of our wedding which gave us the intimate feeling we had hoped to create. The beauty and elegance of the B&B was exactly what we wanted and we can say the same for Deanna, too! The breakfast was a scrumptious new offering each morning. I remember walking down the first day and being amazed at what she prepared and how much she made! She served huge delicious homemade dishes that included something for everyone. The house is beautifully decorated with pieces that complement the age of the home. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, all with personal bathrooms that are updated to give you modern conveniences that are always appreciated. It is well located, easy to find and convenient to everything we needed. Everyone walked to downtown Willoughby for great a dinner and drinks in the evenings and enjoyed the late nights on the comfortable front porch. Deanna exceeded every expectation we could have ever had for our wedding day and a B &B experience. She set the bar high for every other inn and at every chance I get I tell everyone to stay at The Homestead House. Even if you are local to Lake County it’s a great get away and awesome experience. We spent our honeymoon at B&B’s across the East coast and honestly there wasn’t anyone who could compare to The Homestead House... especially for the price!! Thank you Deanna!


Wonderful, relaxing weekend with fabulous hostess!

5 on June 05, 2011

I stayed here in May 2011 for a relaxing weekend, and it was perfect! My room was warm and inviting, quiet and clean. The breakfasts cooked by Deanna were so delicious, can't say enough! I felt very pampered, she served my last breakfast out on the porch, and even left me wine and chocolate covered strawberries in the bubbler tub for my last night! What a wonderful weekend, I will definetly be returning!


Loved our stay

5 on May 27, 2011

The inn is beautiful. Rooms are very comfortable. Service is excellent - wonderful breakfast. If you have the opportunity, please stay at this inn. Incredible.


Great experience!

5 on May 10, 2011

I flew to Ohio on a business trip during the month of April After a long day of travel I was pleasanlty surprised by the welcoming staff and atmosphere offered at the Homestead House. Delicious food, clean room and a great location in the downtown area.


A Delight for Every Sense

5 on March 14, 2011

My husband surprised me with a stay at the Homestead House for my birthday. We have visited Willoughby very often over the years and were familiar with the many excellent restaurants and main street shops - all walkable from the Homestead House. I was eager for our stay. Deanna and her husband's efforts at restoring this grand house are apparent in every corner of the house. With so much history in the walls, they put in extra effort to maintain the integrity of the era while updating each room and adding bathrooms to each guest room. The furnishings all have a story and Deanna shared many of them as she showed us through the house. Because of the location - downtown Willoughby - it is fortunate that the Homestead House has its own driveway/parking lot; it came in handy during our extremely snowy stay. Breakfast was not for the light eater - 4 courses served on lovely china and shared with the other guests. One of the pleasures of bed and breakfasts is whom you meet during your stay. It was a lovely way to spend the morning; chatting about shared experiences while savoring the rich flavors of pineapple with maple, homemade biscuits with cinnamon/chocolate butter, eggs in a cup of bread with cream sauce and bacon, and waffle with hazelnut spread and whipped cream...I needed a nap after we finished! I could not have planned a more relaxing, satisfying stay and am planning our next stay...this time for two nights! Stacey and John K.


Completely Pampered!

4.8 on February 05, 2011

Deena is a wonderful hostess and she completely pampered me. I had the fortunate opportunity to be the only guest during my stay. She brought breakfast to my room one morning, started my car to warm up, and had coffee ready as soon as I awoke. It was a terrific experience and I hope to be able to stay there again.


Deanna rules

5 on January 27, 2011

I spend four wonderful days here with my buddy Matt. It truly does not matter your age or your country of origin, but when you stay at this B&B, you can feel like a young lad again, being pampered with care and gourmet home style cooking that only a Mother could give (no disrespect Mom)" Love Kees (The Netherlands)


What a great experience!

4.0 on November 22, 2010

This was my first experience with a Bed & Breakfast and it was fantastic. I think I started with a top echelon B&B and am now spoiled. I will now use Homestead House as the measuring stick for future stays at other B&Bs. The rooms are nicely decorated, spacious and extremely clean. The beds are comfortable, and the food was amazing. Deanna is an engaging hostess and I enjoyed hearing the history of the house. I will stay here again when I return to Willoughby.


Worked well for family

5 on November 15, 2010

I had family visiting from out of state. Remodeling in our home was behind schedule and I had no place for them to stay. I called Homestead House and they had two wonderful rooms. We were able to visit comfortably in common areas. I live about a mile away and was able to join my family for a wonderful breakfast each of the two days they were there. The other guests and the hostess made the visit even more memorable. When my family left for the next leg of their trip, they stated that they would love to stay at Homestead House when they come back to Willoughby.


Wonderful breakfast

4.6 on November 10, 2010

We stayed two nights at this lovely home and had a really relaxing stay. Deanna was extremely helpful and friendly. We loved the breakfasts she served. They were incredible. We usually don't go back to a place, just try other ones in different areas, however, the breakfast was enough that we might stop again next year when visiting our son.


Friendly, accomodating, and fantastic food!

4.6 on November 03, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a couple of days as a weekend getaway and we loved it. The innkeeper was very accomodating with our late arrival and we both enjoyed chatting with her over breakfast. And breakfast both days was incredible. This place is known for its food and there is a reason. The room we stayed in was so nice and comfortable, I loved it. We would definitely go back.


We Will Stay Again, and Again, and ...

5 on October 22, 2010

Homestead House was a fabulous place to stay! The room we stayed in (Victorian Rose), came with a very comfortable canopy bed and fireplace. The bath was wonderful and breakfast was beyond great. We will definitely be returning again and again.


We loved it.

4.8 on October 11, 2010

We just returned from a wonderful vacation that started with a two night stay at the Homestead House. We were delighted to have happened onto this great B&B online. The reviews were so complimentary that we decided to stay. We were so pleased. Breakfast was delightful as one of the recipes was from her grandmother. Breakfast always included 'dessert'. The rooms were clean and welcoming. We would encourage friends and family to stay. It was an incredible value for the money. Don't miss this one! Dina is passionate about her B&B. She should be proud.


Top of our list for places to stay!

5 on October 08, 2010

We attended a wedding in the area over the Labor Day weekend and stayed at the Homestead House. What a wonderful two day stay. Everything was first class from check-in to check-out. The rooms were warm and inviting and it was so quiet. Deana is not only a super hostess, but a fantastic cook. Breakfasts really started your day. I wish she'd do a cookbook because I'd be using all of the recipes. When we returned in the evenings there was a plate of warm cookies awaiting us. If we didn't have to be home so quickly I would have planned another couple of days. If you're in the area this a treat you do not want to pass up.


Top Ten

5 on August 18, 2010

We normally stay at B&B's whenever possible, and had the pleasure of staying at the Homestead House while enroute to Chatauqua, NY. Deanna was very helpful and provided us with a healthful breakfast. I can honestly say that the Homestead House ranks in the top ten of B&B's that we have encountered.


Willoughby Wine Adventure

5 on August 14, 2010

We recently visited the Willoughby area and stayed at The Homestead House B&B. I must say that we were in awe with the appearance of the house upon our arrival. The room was totally and completely first class all the way, from the furnishings to the cleanliness we were absolutely delighted. That was only the beginning of our amazing stay. The first morning we were served one of the best, if not the absolute best breakfast we have ever had! Deanna, the owner, is an incredible hostess and absolutely amazing cook! Everything she prepares just melts in your mouth; and she is an absolute joy to sit and chat with! Deanna’s knowledge of the area only added to the complete package. We will return to The Homestead House again! Mary and Roy


The BEST!!

5 on July 26, 2010

This is the best bed and breakfast around. This was our second time staying and I hope to be able to come many more times. Deanna is the best host and best cook around. Her breakfasts were the highlight of our day and were always delicious! The rooms are very cozy and beautiful, that I hated to leave them each day. Thanks for making our vacation wonderful!!!


Pre Holiday Stay

5 on May 30, 2010

My fiancee & I love this B&B! Each day's breakfast topped the breakfast from the day before. Deanna is a wonderful host She's upbeat, perky, interesting, and bends over backwards to make sure you're happy. Our stay was 2 weeks before Christmas & with the snow & Christmas decorations downtown, we were so relaxed. We highly recommend The Homestead House.


Hard to leave Homestead House

5 on May 14, 2010

I am thinking of staying in Willoughby forever. The Homestead House was my first experience staying in a B&B. It exceeded all of my expectations. The studio was beautiful, clean and very large. It is nicely decorated and has all of the thoughtful touches of home. Deanna went out of her way to make me feel comfortable and had great suggestions on the local attractions. Did I mention her breakfast meal? WOW, it looked beautiful but most of all it tasted even better. She sat and talked and connected with each and every guest. The Homestead House is a jewel in Willoughby. Diana from San Francisco


Warm & Cozy

4.2 on April 16, 2010

3 year ago we had my daughters Bridal shower in the dining room. She was getting married in May. We were given a tour of the house and I was sooo jealous because of all the beautiful antiques in the house which gave it a warm and loving feeling. I then knew I had to give my daughter and son-in-law the best wedding present, above the wedding, that I could. Their wedding night in one of these gorgeous rooms. The one I picked had a whirl pool or jacuzzi (I can't remember which) in it and they just loved it. They slept very well in the antique high bed. They enjoyed their breakfast the following morning before they left for the airport. I was so glad that I had made that decision.


Amazing Anniversary

5 on March 21, 2010

Deanna is the Queen of southern hospitality. She provided everything and more for our stay in the Victorian Rose Room. If you want to stay in a room that is immaculate, velvety soft and romantic then this is the one to pick. The bubbler tub was incredibly relaxing especially in combination with the coazy private fireplace. We are locals to the area, and felt as if we were seeing Downtown Willoughby for the first time! I have and will reccomend the Homestead House to anyone I konw looking for a retreat. The prices were very reasonable. A full 3 course breakfast was provided that kept us satisfied until dinnertime! Delicious and mouthwatering! A wonderful place to meet other travelers and share a few kind words and stories. I can't wait till our next anniversary so I can request another stay in the breathtaking Homestead House.


1 Year Wedding Anniversary

4.8 on December 29, 2009

My husband surprised me with a stay at the Homestead House for our one year wedding anniversary....It was awesome!!! I love the fireplace in the room, breakfast was very nice-great conversation too. Deanna even took our picture in front of the beautiful Christmas tree the night we went out for dinner!!!! The town is very charming as well. We'll be coming back for sure!!!!


My home away from home

5 on December 10, 2009

I have traveled on business to NE Ohio extensively over the past two years. Sometimes for several days, sometimes for several weeks. Initially, I was fortunate enough to be booked in the Homestead House by my client in Willoughby. As a middle aged man, I have come to know the B&B as my home away from home. I have the privacy to keep any hours, the service that takes care of any need, wireless service to run my company and the comfort of sitting on the front porch, watching historic downtown's foot traffic as if I was relaxing at my own home. Incredible!


Awesome!

5 on November 28, 2009

I'm a local and stayed at Homestead with a friend from out of town. We were tired after being out all day and it was wonderful to be welcomed to this beautiful B&B. Ours rooms were outstanding and the hospitality Deana gives can't be beat. Breakfast in the morning was about the best I've had in a long time. We will be back again, and I'm recommending to everyone I know!


A truly superior place

5 on October 20, 2009

I found this B&B on the internet, wanting something a little special for my wife and I while visiting the area to do some wildlife photography at North Chagrin Reserve. We were not disappointed as it was everything and more as depicted on the website. We stayed in the Fine Arts room for 4 nights. The forethought and effort that went into the restoration of this immaculate facility is apparent when you drive up and enter the front door. It has a museum quality about it without sacrificing the homey, cozy atmosphere. Deanna, our hostess, made us feel right at home with "southern hospitality" and breakfasts that that were exceptionally pleasing to the eye and to the appetite. The custom made matress, the quiteness, and all the various amenities in our room made for restfull, relaxing nights. We would definitely go back again as this was without a doubt the best place we've ever stayed.


Great Place!

5 on October 07, 2009

Great location in a pretty little town. Old home well restored with all modern amenities. The breakfasts were excellent . . . delicious, unique and plentiful! Innkeeper very helpful with restaurant advice and things to do.


Outstanding in Every Way

5 on October 05, 2009

Wow, from the wonderfully comfy bed which gave me the best night's sleep in years, to the four course breakfast that kept us full til dinner, this place is out-standing. Deanna also provides helpful tips on sightseeing, navigating and local restaurants plus she'll relate the colorful history of the house for you. We stayed in the "Speakeasy" Room which is a story unto itself. Definitely a true gem.


Changing my mind about B&B's

5 on September 14, 2009

Here’s a short list of why we have not found B&B’s to be desirable in our professional travel: 1. We do not like climbing stairs with heavy luggage 2. It’s no fun to run out of hot water! 3. One was infested with lady bugs! 4. We do not like small beds! To be fair we usually do not have the time to enjoy all that they might offer; we would rather stay at a Hampton Inn with a king size bed, that has an iron and ironing board, and plenty of hot water! Oh, but do I have a wonderful story to tell you!!  Last night my husband and I stayed at The Homestead House Bed & Breakfast.This beautifully restored mansion, built in 1884, located in historic Willoughby, Ohio, surrounded by quaint shops and excellent restaurants has changed our mind forever.  Our lovely room was spacious and well appointed with everything we needed and coffee right outside our door in a warm sitting area. But, never did we dream that we would wake up to the BEST BREAKFAST WE HAVE EVER HAD IN OUR ENTIRE LIFE!!!!  We would have gladly climbed ten flights of stairs (we only climbed one here), slept in a small bed (ours was a king size bed), and taken a quick shower (it had a beautiful bathroom with plenty of hot water), to experience this delectable, mouthwatering, scrumptious, yummy and absolutely delicious breakfast.  I couldn’t adequately describe to you all that she (Deanna Rowe, Innkeeper) prepared but let me try… we began with poached plums (with the most amazing sauce over them), eggs that were beautifully presented in a gorgeous breaded cup with a salsa that was to die for, and the last course was a killer french toast that had an incredible cinnamon syrup, strawberries, whipped cream and just a hint of chocolate, too!  Oh, I almost forgot.  Her coffee was simply perfection.  She told me the secret, but my lips are sealed.  You have got to get to this beautiful and elegant Victorian mansion, folks!  It’s truly an experience you will never forget.


Outstanding

5 on August 28, 2009

Stayed here during my Mother's 90th Birthday celebration held in Willoughby, where I grew up. The Homestead House was restful, spotless, charming, and is run by a terrific host and chef. Wait until you see the breakfasts! Definitely would return. 5 Star all the way around. A real plus is the location, right in the heart of Willoughby. Don't miss the Saturday morning marketplace in front of City Hall.


Homestead House

4.6 on August 03, 2009

We chose this B&B from the internet and thought it might be alright. In fact when we arrived we were over the moon with the location, the facilities and the welcome. The breakfasts were unbelievable and Deanna was such a source of information about the area. Finally Deanna has been the only person we have found in our tours of America that has been able to make tea like we do at home in England. We would be happy to recommend this B&B to any of our friends and family.


Another Good Reason to Visit My In-Laws!

5 on July 25, 2009

Let me tell you - a car trip to Ohio from Texas is a real grind! Having to sit in a small apartment visiting in-laws isn't exactly my idea of a vacation. Still, I am grateful that I have such sweet relatives. I am also very grateful that I found another reason to visit the Willoughby area: The Homestead House! What a wonderful B&B! Both the house and hostess (Deanna) are charming! The breakfasts were, as my husband said, "Something out of one of those gourmet magazines!" We stayed in the Speak Easy room which was very homey, clean, and comfortable. Our three-day stay was very enjoyable. I plan to make Homestead House my sanctuary every year from now on when I visit my in-laws!


Relaxing Affordable Elegance

5 on July 05, 2009

My husband and I came for a Wedding but the Bed and Breakfast Experience at Homestead House took the limelight. Our room was so nicely decorated with Antiques and the Mattress was so comfortable we had trouble getting out of them in the morning. Not to worry! We jumped out of those beds as soon as we smelled the scrumptious foods cooking in the kitchen below! The food was out of this world!!! And after exploring the lovely unique town of Willoughby it was so relaxing to sit in the rockers on the large and comfortable front porch. This was in fact the cleanest B&B in my experience and Deanna was so accomodating to let us check in slightly earlier so we could change before the Wedding. Wonderful place and I am looking forward to future Anniversaries, birthdays, and Girls weekends at this B&B with so many things to do in the immediate vacinity!!!


Home Away From Home!!!

5 on May 11, 2009

This is a fantastic B & B in downtown Willoughby with "out of this world" breakfast served by Deanna. The rooms have a beautiful decor and extremely comfortable beds. The baths reminisce of English elegance. The hostess makes you feel very welcome.


You HAVE to stay at this B&B!!

5 on May 04, 2009

As a surprise birthday get away, I booked a room for my man and I. We had never stayed at a B&B. Deanna greeted us at the door and after getting our reservation, she walked us to our room, showed us around and even hand-drew a map of the town for us along with suggestions for meals and things to do. Clean, beautiful, romantic and even though the house is historically old, it was quiet. The bathroom was spotless and convenient - the two person bubbler tub was awesome! Deanna is an excellent cook - we had a three course breakfast and all the coffee and juice you could want! She sat down with us and the other three couples and told us the history of The Homestead along with pictures! We will definitely be back here - the town is quaint and Deanna is the best! After our first stay in Deanna's B&B we are hooked! We stayed in the Victorian Rose room - beautiful, romantic and so relaxing! Thanks Deanna! Don't let this B&B get away - stay HERE!!!!


Pretty place-good food-outstanding service

5 on March 24, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at Homestead House. The innkeeper was very pleasant and an excellent cook. Our room was pretty, with a large comfortable bed. Everything was clean. It is so much nicer to stay at a B&B rather than a large hotel. Will definitely stay there again if in the area.


Great First Time Experience!

4.6 on March 08, 2009

I decided to surprise my husband with a "night out on the town". I really wanted to do something different and decided to find a B&B. I first priced the B&B's in downtown Cleveland, but then I realize there was a B&B within five miles from my home. I called the Homestead House and all the rooms were booked. A few minutes later Deanna called me back to advise the Victorian Rose room was available! Thank goodness for caller ID! The room was very clean and the bed felt like we were sleeping on a cloud. The jacuzzi tub was fabulous! Deanna is a great host as well as a great cook. We will be back.


A Treasure to behold!

5 on January 29, 2009

What a charming place! The Homestead House also puts a new benchmark to attain in Breakfast, OMG, YUM! If your looking for a quaint get-away with a cool dowtown, you will be absolutely delighted with this B&B. Deanna will make sure you are satisfied with your stay, my wife and I were completely satisfied!


I'd love to go back!

4.8 on January 07, 2009

The Homestead House is a very charming place and our room was large and comfortable with luxurious bedding. Deanna is a wonderful hostess, and she prepared a wonderful breakfast for us. We can't wait to go back! Bonnie


Wonderful place!!!!

4.8 on October 21, 2008

My husband and I stayed for two nights in the Victorian Rose room. We really enjoyed our stay and Deanna was so helpful and very pleasant. The breakfast was beyond anything that I expected. She is quite a cook. Thanks for a delightful time!!


A wonderful find - awsome

4.8 on September 14, 2008

My wife and I stayed in Fine Arts Room it was very comfortable. We were looking for a weekend escape from the routines of life, the Homestead was a wonderful getaway. Deanna is a most gracious host. She went well beyond the call of duty to make sure our visit to Willoughby was memorable. Two Thumbs up.


Wish we could have stayed longer!

5 on August 23, 2008

My husband and I stayed 2 nights in the Sanctuary Room and it was fabulous! Deanna is a fantastic innkeeper. Everything was so inviting - from the rocking chairs on the front porch to the luxurious bedding in our room. The breakfasts that Deanna prepares and serves were extraordinary. Not only were they delicious to eat, but enjoying them on the beautiful china added to the entire experience. We enjoyed the company of other guests at breakfast and the conversation all around was wonderful. Deanna was happy to accommodate a special dietary request and genuinely wanted to make our stay comfortable. She recommended places and restaurants in Willoughby that we might like and even drew excellent maps to get us were we wanted to go! I wish that we could have stayed for a few more nights, but Deanna sent us off with surprise - a homemade treat that was totally unexpected but really shows that she loves what she is doing. Marsha - Pennsylvania


a pleasant stay

5 on August 14, 2008

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at the Homestead House and loved our time at this beautiful, historical home! The innkeeper, Deanna, was very friendly and helpful by offering suggestions for local activities and restaurants, and she even hand-drew us a map as to where everything was (most within walking distance)! The homemade breakfasts were excellent, each with 3 or 4 courses. The house is also only about a 15-minute drive from beautiful Headlands Beach in Mentor, Ohio, so my husband and I enjoyed some time there, too. We would definitely recommend this bed & breakfast to anyone!


Comfortable and cozy

4.0 on August 06, 2008

We felt welcome right away! Our room was very nice and clean. The breakfast was amazing. We would come again!


Pure Luxury!

5 on July 24, 2008

After seeing all of the reviews, I really dont have much more to add that's new, but I wanted to write about what an incredible experience we had at the Homestead House. We went for 5 days as we needed to be here for an appt at the Cleveland Clinic, and it was so luxurious staying here! Deanna is a wonderful hostess because she's very interested in her guests, but also gives them a lot of freedom. She told stories every morning over breakfast, was full of ideas of places to visit, readily helped out with anything from giving directions to offering advice, and just made you feel like you'd known her for years. Her breakfasts were absolutely amazing--truly gourmet. The rooms are beautiful and really felt luxurious. The first night there were chocolate covered strawberries on our pillows! The town of Willoughby looks like the set of a play with all of its window boxes, hanging plants, fountains, and small town charm. There's an excellent ice cream shop and lots of good restaurants within walking distance, but it's also an easy drive into Cleveland (about 20 min), which is nice. I would absolutely go back to Homestead House!


July 2008 Get-away-weekend

5 on July 20, 2008

My husband and I were looking on the web on a Friday nite after a stressful week and saw this beautiful bed and breakfast. We took a chance (9:00 p.m.) and called. I received a call back within 30 min. Deanna called and said they had one room open because of a cancellation and we took it. It was the most beautiful stay we could of ever asked for. Deanna is a very warm and caring person and made us feel at home. She informed us of all the sites to see in Willoughby and surrounding areas, we chose to visit the near by wineries. Had a great time at three of them. The SANTUARY room was just beautiful (wait till you see the bathroom) and the breakfast was unbelievable. We had coffee on the front porch, which she had ready at 7:30 for the early risers. We recommend Homestead House for a great get-away stay. This was just what we needed.


A lovely, newly restored property

5 on July 08, 2008

This property, in the lovely little town of Willoughby, Ohio, has been recently renovated from top to bottom. We liked that we had a parking space in the rear of the building, off the street. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and pretty. The bathroom in our room (Victorian Rose) hosted a double bubbler tub and separate shower stall. The bed was cozy--we didn't want to get up in the morning! Deanna's food was delicious, with yummy coffee and tea and fresh fruit alongside two hot entrees. The dining area is very spacious, and it would be a lovely place to host a dinner for perhaps 30-40 people. We had a very busy weekend, and Deanna was always available to answer questions when we had them. In my view, this B&B provides an excellent combination of old-fashioned beauty and modern convenience. I would not hesitate to recommend this property to anyone.


Homestead House

4.6 on June 11, 2008

We stayed 3 nights in a very nice room. The building was beautifully restored and furnished with antiques. The owner/hostess was very hospitable. The breakfasts were fabulous two course meals. My special dietary needs (no dairy) were catered to without a problem. The whole experience was very positive and the Homestead House is highly recommended.


My Birthday surprise

4.4 on May 20, 2008

My husband surprised me for my 50th birthday. We love to stay at B & B's when we travel, and even though this one is practically in our back yard I had been wanting to experience a stay since it opened a year and a half ago. It was perfect! My husband had given me flowers and Deanna put them in a lovely pitcher and put them in our room, brought us bottled water, the room was quiet and the bath tub… well you will have to experience that for yourself. Breakfast was fabulous – 3 courses. It really felt like we had gotten away.


Charming Inn in Fun Historic Area

5 on April 23, 2008

This is a fantastic place to stay! Newly renovated, fantastic hospitality...and the very welcoming and kind owners provide an amazing three-course breakfast. The rooms are clean and charming. Right around the corner from a great coffee shop and lots of cool restaurants, including a local brewery.


Beyond my hopes

5 on April 14, 2008

On short notice, my husband and I decided to visit historic Kirtland, Ohio. I wanted to try a B&B so I called Homestead House. Deanna was very helpful from the start. I love places full of history and unique decorations and this house has both. My conversations with the hostess were one of the highlights of my trip. Deanna was helpful in planning our day trips to Amish country and local museums and was truly interested in our experiences. She also helped us reserve massage times and recommended places to eat and shops to visit. A wonderful bonus was the fun breakfasts she served. They were delicious and beautiful. Our beds were comfortable and the rooms were large and inviting. We would love to return and will recommend this B&B to any planning Kirtland trips.


Absolutely Fabulous Time!!

5 on March 23, 2008

My husband and I wanted to do some wine tasting on the East side of the state. We're from Michigan and have done the Erie Wineries (Sandusky area). We wanted somewhere quaint to stay in for 1 night around the wineries. I just googled B&B's online, and came across the Homestead House. I also found it on Tripadvisor. The Homestead house far exceeded our expectations. This was mine and my husbands first visit to a B&B. The room was Amazing. The atmosphere was incredible. The breakfast...well we can't stop talking about how wonderful it was. We're already planning a late summer trip to the Homestead house! The food was something out of a magazine. The presentation made you not want to eat it! But, we're so glad we did! Deanna was an absolute gem. Her hospitality and kindness were greatly appreciated. She even made us additional cookie before we left ( she puts lavender type cookies on your bed for you at night). I mentioned to her in the morning how much I loved them, and she came back to our room an hour later with 6 more for us to take home! I highly recommend this place!!


Fantastic!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

5 on February 04, 2008

I work at very large corporation in which we have been going through buget cuts. We just went through a reduction in force. I needed a place for our Off Site Dinner that could keep me in budjet, since we had lost people I did not want to spend a lot. The owner was so helpful. She gave me ideas of places to get my food, let me bring my beverages, made the coffee for me. She even made the desert to save me money. The place settings were spectacular. When we arrived she waited on us hand and foot. Gave my group a tour and the history behind the Homestead house. I can't say enough about my experience. We also had a person in our group that was coming from Colorado Springs and stayed overnight in one of the rooms. She told us it was the best experience she has had in a bed and breakfast.


GREAT EXPERIENCE!

5 on January 07, 2008

We can't say enough about our stay there! Everything was superb, a room one doesn't want to leave and lots of areas to lounge and relax in. A hostess who served a five or seven course breakfast not only to us but also to our guests on short notice. We will return to enjoy your wonderful accommodations! Thank you.


OUTSTANDING - 5 stars!!!!!

5 on December 10, 2007

Our company had a employee holiday party at the Homestead House and we were taken back by everything! Deana was attentive and welcoming, she went over and beyond the call of duty to make sure we were happy and had a joyous occasion. The Inn is gorgeous, since it was the holidays it was decorated accordingly, and Deanna sponsored facility tours for our staff, which everyone loved. The feedback was how cute and spacious the rooms were. Every staff member will not only remember this holiday party but I'm sure will tell everyone they know about Deanna and the Homestead House.


Great B&B in Historic downtown Willoughby

4.2 on November 21, 2007

We recently stayed in this B&B for our anniversary/birthday and had a wonderful time. Being from the area (Euclid), I never thought to look close to home when I was trying to pick somewhere to stay and I'm glad I did. We arranged a late check-in (which wasn't a problem) and went to eat downtown before turning in for the night. The innkeeper Deanna made us feel right at home. The house itself was recently rennovated and blended modern accomodations with old-World charm. We stayed in the Victorian Rose room which was a great deal ($120) and were pleasantly surprised. The room had a beautiful four-poster bed which was very comfortable. Everything in the bathroom was brand new including a jacuzzi tub which was great. Breakfast was served around 9 am and consisted of a fruit compote with homemade biscuits, a baked egg and smoked bacon dish and cinnamon crumb French toast. Everything was superb. If you're staying anywhere near the area and are looking for a great deal on a B&B I highly recommend Homestead House.


Homestead House

Details

  • Nightly Rate $95 - $120
  • Reviews (75) 4.9
  • Rooms 5

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-4409461902

Visit Website »

View details

Top