Wagners 1844 Inn Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
29 Reviews

Write A Review

Loved It

5 on September 30, 2014

We stayed at Wagners Inn this past weekend. We loved it. Right in the heart of Sandusky and Barb could not have been a better host. Had a great time and a great breakfast. I highly recommend staying with her and Max. The house is clean and beautiful. Breakfast was excellant. If you are looking for a B&B in Sandusky, this is where you want to be.


Like Staying with Family that Leaves You Be

4.2 on January 03, 2012

Innkeeper Barb chats with you as little or as much as you like, and guard dog Max charms even the dog-neutral among us. Many B & B reviews praise the food and homemade baked goods, but the Wagner truly deserves to be acknowledged for serving up parfaits with carefully chosen fresh fruit and gooey treats for those of us already on detour from our 2012 resolutions. The decor makes you feel like you are in another time--what a wonderful escape.


Quaint "Inn"

4.0 on September 18, 2011

Barbara & her dog Max warmly welcomed us into their home. It was so nice to find an Inn that also allowed our four-legged family members. This is a rarity and I appreciate Barbara's willingness to go the extra mile to accommodate us. She even made dog treats and had samples in the room for our two dogs which they loved I might add. Our room was very clean and the Inn was decorative and cozy. We felt like we were at home. Thanks Barbara & Max for making our stay at the lake an enjoyable event.


Highly Recommended - would go back again and again

4.8 on June 02, 2011

Barb, the innkeeper, is extraordinary friendly, an amazing cook and very discreet, flexible and laid back. The breakfasts are so unique and delicious - you feel you're at your grandma's kitchen. The rooms are spacious, very clean and comfortable. The location is perfect - grocery store basically across the street, moments from downtown dining, moments from the lake and no more than a 5-6 minute door-to-door drive to Cedar Point. Free wifi is just (extra) icing on the cake!! We would not stay anywhere else if we went back to the area.


What a wonderful getaway

5 on May 11, 2011

We had the wonderful opportunity to stay with Barb and Max for a very restful and interesting visit. We enjoyed the front porch, the billard room, our room, the parlor, the delicious breakfast with homemade muffins and fresh, sweet fruit. Too many fascinating details to list. Having come in the spring, we plan to visit again seasonally. Thanks Barb and Max for a much needed respite. Bobby and Diana


Wagner Inn B&B

3.8 on October 06, 2010

Barb & Max were very friendly & delightful. Food was great -- dining was elegant!


A stay in historic serenity

5 on October 03, 2010

having never stayed at a B&B, I didn't know what to expect. My first experience was so pleasant and relaxing that I'm eager to do so more often. Hostess Barb was very friendly, knowledgeable of the local area and very accommodating. her dog Max was a big teddy bear of an animal too. Complete satisfaction, hands down.


A Peaceful Weekend

4.4 on July 22, 2010

I took my husband to Cedar Point for his birthday and wanted to have some quiet time in Sandaway, too. Wagner's was a perfect location, provided a peaceful night's sleep and a wonderful breakfast.


What a wonderful venue!

4.8 on July 22, 2010

We were looking for a place where family members could meet, visit, and enjoy each others' company. Wagners 1844 Inn, with the three rooms, living room, and pool room exceeded our expectations. Our host was gracious but not intrusive, with wonderful breakfasts and great tips for places to eat and insider directions. We definitely recommend a stay here!


Cedar Point get-away

5 on July 20, 2010

This was a terrific choice for our adult family get-away to Cedar Point. It was wonderful to come back "home" after a day in the park; gather in the Living Room and relax with Barb's dog Max. Barb's breakfasts were delicious and the table looked like the cover of a magazine. The canopy bed was comfortable and romantic. We had a wonderful time!


Wonderful!

4.6 on July 16, 2010

We were fortunate enough to stay at the Wagners 1844 Inn on a recent motorcycle trip through Ohio. The accommodations were excellent...the food superb. The location was perfect for us to be able to park the bikes, walk to town and enjoy the riverfront area. Thanks for a wonderful stay!


Quaint, Clean and Comfortable

5 on July 08, 2010

I frequently travel because of my business. I’ve never stayed at a B&B, but it turned out to be a good decision. Barb Wagner, the proprietor, has 28 years of experience. She was handy to answer my questions about the area and there was also quiet space to work. Max the big lovable dog completed the at home feeling. There was a heat wave during my two night stay and I was grateful for the A/C. Barb always had fresh baked breads and plenty to eat. It was wonderful to have pleasant and interesting conversation with the other guests over breakfast. It was much nicer than having breakfast alone in a restaurant. Thank you Barb and Max!!! Jan.....Beach Bum Jewelry


Barbara is a welcoming innkeeper

5 on July 07, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at Wagner's Inn. Barbara and her furry friend welcomed us into her home where the decor was beautiful. The bed was comfortable. The house was clean and the value was outstanding! Breakfast was fantastic, too! She made a warm blueberry coffeecake and sent us on our way with a bag of zucchini bread to snack on!


Wonderful Place!

5 on May 10, 2010

What a Wonderful Place Wagners Inn is! Barb and doggy Max were awesome hosts and the hospitality was fantastic! Situated by beautiful parks and close to the waterfront. Hoping to come back again soon! Sylvia - Sherwood Park, Alberta Canada


Fantastic

5 on September 27, 2009

If you're looking for somewhere to stay near to Cedar point... this is it. Friendly, clean and great value for Money. Would definately visit again !!


Weekend Adventure for the Ambs Family

5 on September 26, 2009

This was our 2nd visit to Wagner's Inn. My husband and I, as well as our 2 doggies had a wonderful visit. We love the Inn, and Barb and her doggie Maxie are the best. Barb loves dogs and we were welcomed with open arms. What's also very nice is that the Inn is in the heart of Sandusky. You're just steps from the lake. Wonderful walking for us and our doggies. Not to mention the breakfast was outstanding! I


A good home base.

4.0 on September 13, 2009

We had an excellent stay here, the house fits the theme down to the small details. The decor was very nice and made us feel like we were back in time; this is a great home base for Cedar Point, Put-n-Bay, or Pelee Island. We will certainly stay here for other trips.


Best B&B ever!

5 on August 29, 2009

We loved it, it was more perfect than we imagined ! Great place for a summer weekend get away. Very quaint neighborhood. Walking distance to the port for the Goodtime I. We're planning another visit next summer with our friends. We highly recommend it!


Had a Wonderful Time!

5 on August 09, 2009

This was our first time we stayed at a bed and breakfast and we absolutely loved it. The place was beautiful, comfortable beds, and delicious breakfasts. We were very close to Cedar Point and took a ferry to Put-In-Bay. We had such a wonderful time! Thank you to Pat and Barb...


Dream come true

5 on August 06, 2009

We were celebrating our 60th wedding anniversary and our 3 children and spouses took us there. Seemed like a dream staying at Wagner's. Barb was so gracious and had the best breakfasts for us. Would go again!


Quaint B & B

5 on July 28, 2009

We arrived early and Barbara was more than willing to let us check in so we could catch the 3:00 ferry. The B & B was so pretty, conveniently located, and very comfortable. Barbara is a wonderful hostess and we'll definitely stay there again!


1st Timer in Sandusky

5 on July 27, 2009

Researched many places to stay in Sandusky for overnight stay and I did something unusual - picked a B&B (Wagners1844Inn) over hotel. I was superbly pleased with the gracious hospitality, quaint older building yet had full amenities, a relaxed setting that included an ole billard table of my youth, and especially pleasing was Barb's homecooked breakfast and personal attention. The value of the Wagners 1844 Inn home-like stay (completely comfortable and peaceful) verses unanticipated noisy and routine hotel protocol proved the smarter choice by far. Only 8 minutes from the driveway to the Cedar Point Amusement Park gate! Making our early morning on time start really easy.


Great respite

4.0 on July 16, 2009

Charming B&B near Cedar Point. Comfortable, great beds, friendly owners who tell you shortcuts to the park. Good for singles, couples, or families. Very nice, not luxurious.


Hello B&Bs

4.6 on July 16, 2009

We stayed at Wagner's for the weekend of the 4th. It was our first stay at a B&B. We were very pleased. The house is in a beautiful neighborhood, conveniently located from the lake and down town. The house and yard are very wall maintained. There is a quaint atmosphere created by all the antiques used for decorating. Very cozy. Barb is an excellent hostess. She provided us with insight on things going on in the community, she's a great cook, and she is very personable and easy to talk to. This was a wonderful intorduction to B&Bs and we will definitely consider them for future travels.


great experience!

4.2 on July 08, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Wagner's Inn for 2 nights in July, 2009. The Canopy Room had a very comfortable bed, charming furnishings, and a ceiling fan which made sleeping with the windows open very relaxing. The billiard room was fun the rest of the home was filled with antiques. Barb made great and different breakfasts for us each morning. And I can't forget to mention Maxi, the adorable dog of the house. He was so calm and sweet and well behaved around us. I would certainly recommend anyone to stay for a few nights a this great B&B.


enjoyable

3.0 on July 01, 2009

This was our honeymoon vacation. We had a wonderful time at Wagner's 1844! Charming rooms, delicious food, and an interesting and fun hostess!!


Great Place

5 on June 12, 2009

Wagners Inn was the perfect place for our Honeymoon Getaway! The rooms are beautiful, the bed was fantastic, the bathroom is friendly, and the pool room was perfect! Breakfast was incredible, and Barb was pleasant and inviting. Her dog made us feel right at home. We would go back in a second and reccomend the Inn to anyone!

Innkeeper Response
Thanks for your great review. i was happy to be a part of your wedding celebration!


Comfort and style combined

5 on June 01, 2009

There's an elegance about the place without any pretension. Rooms are spacious and nicely decorated, with comfortable beds and nice bathrooms. Easy to walk to attractions, but you may never want to leave the breakfast table!

Innkeeper Response
Thanks for your great review. It was apleasure having you and I am glad you enjoyed out town.


nice and tasteful residence

4.6 on July 24, 2007

We had the opportunity to stay for 3 nights at the Wagners Inn. It was the best choice we could ever make for a stay in Sandusky. The distance to Cedar Point is even less far than from the commonly known Budget-Motels. The bedroom offered a lot of space and almost all the rest of the house was available to use. The host is a extremly welcoming Lady with lots of useful information of the area. We really appreciate her hospitality. Her dog will be cept outside in the backyard if you are not a pet-lover. The breakfast ist just georgeous. Homemade bakery supplies vary with a nice selection of fresh fruit, real good coffee, and, and , and. It is defenetly no mistake to choose WAGNERS INN.


Wagners 1844 Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $125 - $125
  • Reviews (29) 4.7
  • Rooms 3
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-4196261726
  • Mobile 1-5672190124

Visit Website »

View details

Top