The Inn at Brandywine Falls Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Service4.7
  • Value4.3
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
23 Reviews

Write A Review

Heaven

5 on April 02, 2014

From the minute I stepped inside I knew I was in the presence of very special innkeepers. Katie and George not only thought of every convenience and warmly welcomed me, they put on the most gorgeous and delicious breakfast in their beautiful antique-filled dining room. There are nooks and crannies to hideaway for reading and/or writing. The kitchen is filled with the smell of freshly baked bread. I want to go back. :)


Last Minute Stop

5 on October 23, 2013

My wife and I were driving west from New Jersey and decided to stop at the last minute. We called BrandyWine just in time for our exit from the expressway... and are so glad we did. George and Katie were the most gracious and friendly of hosts greeting us with smiles and a warm welcome. The house is lovely and our room comfortable over looking the falls. Breakfast... leisurely and delicious. We recommend Brandywine highly.


Somewhat Disappointing

3.8 on July 19, 2013

The setting of the Inn at Brandywine Falls is fantastic. The Falls themself can be heard outside our bedroom window and our favorite part of the day was a morning walk to view the Falls. You can't get any closer to a true National Park experience! But we were disturbed by the seemingly inhumane treatment of the Innkeepers' goats who had great big wheels tied to their necks as a means of keeping them inside a fenced area so they wouldn't eat the landscaping around the Inn. One night they bleated pitiously and I was very sad. The amount if fencing and the gate you must get out of the car to open (it was dark and rainy when we arrived) is also unsettling. We did not get the kind of "welcome home" feel we so often enjoy and look forward to when choosing to stay at a Bed and Breakfast. Sorry, but we will not be back again even though we pass that way quite often and it is a convenient stop off the Interstate.

Innkeeper Response
Animal lovers can relax. Our goats are pets. They are not raised as food for humans. Like all goats, they are escape artists and the thin plywood discs they sometimes wear to keep them off the highways are carefully sized to their stature so they roll as the goat walks or runs. They are decorated as pinwheels so observers may imagine they are moved by the wind. They do not complain about the discs, but they often complain about where they are. We have 3 "salad bars" (pastures) for them, and they regularly complain about being in whichever pasture they are in. So go figure. Oh, the gate. Yes, one must open it and close it after. The purpose is to keep our dog and goats off the road and an estimated 1200 white tail deer outside our oasis.


A wonderful get-away destination

5 on May 29, 2013

http://thepurpledotter.wordpress.com/2013/05/29/the-inn-at-brandywine-falls/


Loved the Granary

4.6 on May 23, 2013

George and Katie are wonderful Inn Keepers, very helpful in suggesting places for dinner and things to do around the park. The Granary was truely a wonderful private place to stay for the night. We had plenty, of time to explore the falls arcross the yard. Its is also close enough that i could get up before breakfast and go for a 4 mile hike. I was looking for the huge snake!!! lol you'll have to ask George to explain that over your breakfast. He LOVES to tell the story.


Wonderful Place

4.6 on October 05, 2012

We had an amazing stay in the Granary. George and Katie are very gracious hosts. The breakfast was very good and we met some very nice people. You can socialize and still have time to yourself. It is evident that George and Katie truly do enjoy being hosts of there B and B. This was a very relaxing and great place to get away from the hustle of the everyday worrd. The Cuyahoga Valley National Park is a very beautifull place.


Charm is another word for magic. . .

5 on October 05, 2011

The setting is lovely, with an eye for detail that extends to everything, from the omelet garnish at breakfast to the simple bent wire hanger holding the Cuyahoga Valley calender. The rooms are lovely; the suites both charming and quirky. The beds are exceptionally comfortable. There's a kind of New Yorker sensibility about the place, both sophisticated and self-deprecating - and most of all, fun. The breakfasts are exceptional. There you socialize with fellow guests and get to know the host and hostess - without any question the sources of the magic. The best analogy I can find is: imagine spending a night at the home of E B and Katherine White. If those names don't mean anything to you, you need to read 'One Man's Meat' and 'Charlotte's Web', and go spend some time at the Inn at Brandywine Falls. Howard and Susan Wetzel


Overrated

2.6 on June 20, 2011

My wife and I have visited over 100 B&Bs in the US and Europe and were excited to visit this one after reading a few very positive reviews. However, we were somewhat disappointed with the charm and comfort of the room and common areas, but most importantly with the very high price. The location within the National Park was nice but the proximity to I-271 did produce some minor traffic noise. Breakfast was excellent and very convivial.


Always a treat!

5 on January 16, 2011

We go every year! We love it. Katie and George are outstanding at what they do and great people to get to know!


Wonderfully Charming...

5 on August 02, 2010

I must admit, my husband and I had never spent a night at a bed and breakfast. We had originally looked into renting a cabin in this area. But found none. So we booked "The Loft" due to they offered bringing breakfast to your door if you stayed in that suite. Upon arriving everyone seemed to arrive at the same time. And they handled it wonderfully...offering us beverages. George and Katie were just amazing! We loved hearing George's stories and just how his thoughts on the day to day things were. That we ended up opting for eating breakfast with everyone come morning. Figuring we could eat breakfast in our own loft the next morning if it wasn't our thing. This was NOT the case. We enjoyed ourselves and the stories and getting to know everyone. [And the food! My goodness mouth watering delicious.]I must say if I could bottle up what Katie and George have in personalities and stories and sprinkle them around our dinning room table for meals I would have. They made our stay all the more memorable...And "the loft" was charming as well as the inn that we enjoyed having a look around in. I can not possibly word how much this time away with them in their inn touched us. Will we be back again...ABSOLUTELY! We bought one of their books that has recipes in it as well as stories that makes one think back to the inn keepers and their wonderful spirit...I seen a sign that stated..."Beautiful young people are accidents of nature, But beautiful old people are works of art." by Eleanor Roosevelt And indeed this holds true with the inn keepers Katie and George. They were beautiful people that I feel blessed to have met. And as for the bed...we contemplated how to manage tying it down to the roof of the jeep with the pillows tossed in back. Comfort beyond compare! But at last...we ended up leaving it for the next time we visit.


Warm, Beautiful, and Caring

5 on January 01, 2010

Warm - the atmosphere with in the home was warm, relaxing, and overall just charming because George and Katie Hoy truly cared about and for us. Beautiful - the Inn beautiful and is situated next to a beautiful waterfall. Caring - George and Katie cared about making everyone feel right at home from the excellent food choices (VEGAN OPTIONS) to being sure that my 15 year old son was included in each conversation. Kudos from Colleen Schemrich


Great B&B

4.8 on October 18, 2009

My wife & I love to stay at B&Bs or small hotels. We enjoyed evey minute of our stay. George & Katie are great hosts. Great breakfests.


WONDERFUL!!!

5 on August 02, 2009

This was our first Bed and Breakfast. It was a wonderful experience. George and Katie are wonderful Hosts. They took care of all the details! They made us feel welcomed and comfortable. The breakfast was amazing. A royal feast. George and Katie have enriched our lives by just one visit. The location is wonderful - right by Brandywine Falls. Beautiful scernery! We will come back again!


An Amazing Experience

4.0 on June 21, 2009

We stayed at Brandywine Inn for just 2 days in June. We celebrated our 2 year anniversary. We stayed in "The Loft" and LOVED it!!!


George and Katie's Amazing B and B

5 on December 05, 2008

We've stayed at The Inn at Brandywine Falls five or six times. We've wanted to try out some other B and Bs, but always find ourselves going back to George and Katie's because it doesn't get any better than this! The house is gorgeous, the scenery is so peaceful, and the hosts are incredible. The breakfast-table talk (George's stories) is worth going back for again and again. On a scale of 1 to 10, we'd give it a 15.


Brandywine

4.6 on November 11, 2008

delightful stay.


Autumn adventure at the Brandywine Falls

5 on November 03, 2008

wonderful! Have never enjoyed a B&B as much before. hope to see you again. As comfortable as an old show. As elegant as a breakfast at Sardi's. hosts are instant friends.


Beautiful, comfortable, and quiet

4.8 on October 29, 2008

The inn's accommodations are beautifully rustic in appearance, while also very comfortable and offering modern conveniences. Excellent service and meals, scenic location.


brandywine

5 on October 27, 2008

wonderful stay!


wonderful, wonderful!

5 on October 27, 2008

Very lovely- the falls, grounds, the company, the guests. Delicious breakfast- especially the oatmeal and pancakes. And the hosts are wonderful!


Brandywine

4.4 on October 22, 2008

Lovely room, delicious food, interesting and helpful owners.


Home Again

5 on October 14, 2008

Katie & George Hoy are the ultimate hosts : Warm with intelligence, they put the "R's" in R&R.


Inn at Brayndywine Falls

4.6 on October 13, 2008

Great Stay!


The Inn at Brandywine Falls

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-3304671812
  • Phone 1-3306504965
  • Toll free 1-8883063381

Visit Website »

View details

Top