Heartland Country Resort Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.3
  • Services4.8
  • Value4.1
  • Cleanliness4.5
  • Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
64 Reviews

Write A Review

What a beautiful location!

4.6 on February 19, 2014

We stayed for Saturday after Valentines Day and had in-room massages. We had a WONDERFUL time! Our room, the massages, the romantic location, the jacuzzi, the fireplace, the homemade breakfast.....everything was AMAZING!!! We love this getaway and can't wait to return! This was our 2nd visit visit. Three times is a charm!


greatest trip ever

5 on December 23, 2013

The service was great ,although it has new management. But the new mgmt. really goes above and beyond your needs, when you make reservations they ask if theres a certain diet that you or your group have and they will accommodate your needs . also if you don't know I will tell you . They will certainly treat you like a royal member of the kings court. Because if its something that you want or require they will make it happen the owner was a consierge for the stars in new York for several years and he brought his resourcefulness with him.... a super must go .... if you love PRIVACY....much more splendor.... a younger but traditional atmosphere...HORSES GALORE.


heartland beautiful

5 on December 20, 2013

M husband and I have been to Heartland numerous times.. we absolutely love it.. It is so peaceful and relaxing.. the staff is wonderful, it is a beautiful place no matter what you are looking for.. it is a nice getaway for a romantic weekend or to spend some time with the family.. we will definetly be back.. cannot wait to go back and see everyone.. sincerely Kris and Biba Warner


Heartland Review

4.0 on August 26, 2013

The resort was very charming. The people were very welcoming and promoted privacy during our stay. There are many pets on the farm which are friendly. The wooded secluded setting creates a romantic environment. The whole atmosphere is a perfect get-away, taking you back to a simpler and more relaxed way of life. There are horses, too!


Relaxing getaway

4.2 on July 27, 2013

Quiet, relaxing, lovely!


Nice Getaway

3.8 on July 26, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at heartland for our anniversary. Great facilities and service. The farm animals, location and horseback rides were everything advertised. The only thing my shy us away from coming back is the price. While not unreasonable, there are many other things we could do for the same amount of money.


Quiet and relaxing

3.6 on July 04, 2013

Enjoyed Time With My Daughter, Loved The horse Riding AnD the Girl Who Took Us Was Very Friendly. Not Much Else To Do Tho..The FarM Experience Was Just A Few Chickens ANd A Couple Of GoAts.The Room And STaff Were Both Very Nice. Make Sure You Take Food To COok Or Call N Make ReservationSFor Dinner Ahead Of Time As They Need ToGroceryShop Ahead Of Time.Very Nice Place And Wonderfu Friendly People.


Fun and Relaxing

4.2 on April 11, 2013

The staff was great. They were very helpful in all aspects of our stay. We went horseback riding as well and had a wonderful and interesting ride! My horse "Doc" was quite the character. We would absolutely stay again and hope to this summer! Thanks to the entire staff for making our stay such a relaxing and fun experience!!


Weekend in the country

4.0 on April 05, 2013

This was a lovely place to get away from it all. The only drawback was that you really get away from it all--there are no restaurants in the nearby town, and there are two small convenience stores, but if you have specific dietary needs, you will not be able to find what you need.


Warm and Welcoming

4.4 on January 03, 2013

Great spot for a short stop on your road trip or an extended stay. We brought our doggie and she loved it here too! Amazing custom breakfast made just for us!


Marlus & Tanya's Wesley

5 on November 16, 2012

This was a wonderful experience. This was my husband and mine 1st time horse back riding and it was great. We purchased the romantic package that included dinner and breakfast. All os f the meals was made to perfection. But we especially enjoyed the candle light dinner. The jass music was a nice added attraction.


Great get away!!

4.0 on November 11, 2012

The cabin was quite and serene, Rufus the gray cat was my company for the weekend. Riding a horse was very fun and Danny shared so much knowledge about how to ride safely. The time I spent there was just what I needed to spend time away with God. Oh and the food, one word YUMMY!!.


Girl's getaway weekend

4.0 on October 19, 2012

Met 3 if my friends from high school for a getaway weekend. We had a wonderful time trail riding, enjoying the fresh air & catching up in our lives. The staff were welcoming & pleasant. Definitely recommend this B&B. Plan ahead so you can take advantage of the microwave & fridge. Loved the little personal touches of bottled water & snacks.


A great place for the family

4.2 on September 17, 2012

The hospitality was excellent. Dorene worked hard to ensure we had a nice time and she succeeded. Highly recommend.


Relax, renew, and RIDE!

4.6 on September 10, 2012

This was a mid week getaway for two old friends. The facilites were top notch, the beds comfy, the staff accomodating. After many years away from horses, we were permitted to hang out in the barn, groom and tack our mounts. The animals are well cared for, docile creatures. We had a fantastic trail ride. My sides (along with a few other sundry parts) still ache from laughing so hard. Breakfast was hearty and tailored to our palate. We even "convinced" the hens to lay a dozen eggs for the road. I would highly recommend Heartland to anyone who wants some get a way time in a rural environment, with suburban comforts!


Heartland Country Resort

5 on August 03, 2012

Had a great time -- very clean -- told everyone about our stay -- planning to go back soon! Only riding one in Ohio!


Girls' Retreat

5 on July 30, 2012

I took my two little girls (10 & 5 years old) fir a 2 day retreat & lil time. They had our "little adventure!" Heartland was perfect, it was private and had animals & horses to keep the girls entertained. We will be back!


Relaxing pet friendly country getaway

4.4 on March 11, 2012

I've stayed at the Heartland a few times, and I have never been disappointed yet. The country atmosphere is relaxing and family friendly. The breakfast was delicious, and we didn't leave the table hungry! We enjoyed feeding the chickens, petting the goats, playing with the barn cats, going on a trail ride thru the woods, watching movies in our cabin, playing games, soaking in the jacuzzi tub, and taking our dog for long walks on the property. The staff was friendly and attentive. I especially appreciate having a nice B and B to stay at that is truly pet friendly as my dog loves to getaway as much as I do. We look forward to our next visit!


anniversary get away

4.8 on February 22, 2012

We found the owner, Dorene, to be very helpful and accommodating. She answered any questions we had and even recommended dining and activities for us. We will be planning a return visit.


The perfect weekend

4.0 on November 25, 2011

Had the time of my life there with my girlfriend. Then the next day her daughter came up and spent the night and went horseback riding. It was an amazing experience. Would recomend it to anyone wanting to do something special for there loved one.


Cozy cabin with whirlpool tub

4.8 on October 26, 2011

A wonderfully peaceful place. The staff was wonderful, including the very friendly and curious cat, George. We booked an hour of horseback riding and were pleasantly surprised to be given the option to trot and canter. We had a great weekend and will return!


Lovely farm cabin get away.

3.0 on April 11, 2011

My husband & I were looking for a nice place to stay not too far from home for a little spring break weekend getaway w/our 3 kids. The cabin we stayed in was rustic yet charming. I think we stayed in the North American cabin which had 2 bedrooms-master w/full bath & second w/full & cot w/half bath. The sofa in living room opened up to bed which was more comfy/desireable for our 9 year old. There was a small fireplace that warmed us up after being out on the unusually chilly March day. We had a fully equipped kitchenette where we ate our own breakfast from home and take out pizza. We couldn't get the dvd to work to watch some of the older movies offered. Wish there were directions, b/c it didn't work like most do but the VCR did. The Jacuzzi didn't work either so that was a bit disappointed for the kids who wanted to use it since they aren't allowed to use mom/dad's at home. We asked to do farm chores and the nice young man led the kids and was informative-they brushed the horses, fed dogs, cats, goats, chickens and collected eggs too-their fave. part! We went on a hour long horse trail ride that was a lot of fun. Fast food places were nearby but stay away from Kelly's pizza, it was a mess, bathroom had hole in floor, no soap & sink didn't work. My husband thought it wasn't as clean as it should be, it was a little dusty but bedrooms, bathrooms clean. There was a bonfire that we were going to use but it got too cold at night & was too dark that the kids were scared to be out in woods! Overall nice little getaway, Very nice propreiter. Kids loved going to visit animals whenever including the golden retrievers that roamed the lodge and puppies upstairs but couldn't hold them b/c they were 'champion' puppies that were sold. My kids said they would love to return next year. we'll see...I personally like to try new places.


romantic birthday surprise

5 on January 30, 2011

My boyfriend brought me here for a weekend getaway for my birthday. This was the best birthday I have ever experienced. This resort is secluded, comfortable and the staff & owner pampered us. We couldn't have enjoyed ourselves more.


Already looking forward to my return trip!

4.4 on January 25, 2011

I spent a couple weeks looking online for the PERFECT secluded getaway. What I found at Heartland was exactly that,....PERFECT! I came the weekend of Jan 21st following a big snow storm. The countryside looked absolutely beautiful blanketed in the snow! Shelly made me feel at home and was ready to take care of any detail that I needed. Jeanie came each night for a wonderful full body massage...'bout put me right to sleep each time! When I wasn't being pampered by massage, hot tub, or the serenity, I was joined by George and Fluffy, the resident kitties from Heartland. It made my stay feel like I was in a home. VERY cozy! I will DEFINITELY be back soon!


A great place and pet friendly too

4.0 on October 18, 2010

Angie was great. She makes a great breakfast, and we appreciated her suggestions regarding the area. We borrowed the kitchen to make a quick stirfry. My husband is a convert to massage thanks to Sue (maybe I can get a few now!) The animals were great. Macy and Jake were cute with their lampshades.. hope they're both all better! The grounds were beautiful and peaceful. The stars were like diamonds twinkling in the sky. We brought our little dog and he loved it too. We'll be back.


Great weekend getaway

4.2 on October 17, 2010

I had a great, relaxing weekend and the staff made me feel welcome and comfortable. Highlights were the meals, with many items right out of the garden, and the trail rides. I will definitely go there again. There were some issues that were not dealbreakers for me but might be for others. The water supply is well water with a strong sulfur odor. The host supplies bottled water for drinking, but when taking a shower or using the jacuzzi the smell is quite strong. In addition, on one evening I could hear conversation from one of the other cabins so clearly it was as if the people were in the same room with me. It wasn't loud or obnoxious but it was kind of weird. Other than that, the weekend was everything I hoped for and more.


Honeymoon

5 on September 08, 2010

This place is a true gem! The staff is amazing. The animals, horseback riding and scenery where amazing to. We will be back!!


A Wonderful Weekend

5 on July 20, 2010

Very quiet and relaxing. The staff was wonderful, the room was perfect. A wonderful place.


Great find!

4.8 on July 04, 2010

Very tastefully decorated resort in a country setting. We visited in early April for our anniversary. It was a wonderful weekend as we spent time on the quiet grounds, went horseback riding at the nearby stables, and enjoyed the pets! The cats are especially friendly. The breakfast was good and the owner was very attentive. In all, we would definitely recommend this B&B.


A Wonderful Weekend

4.6 on June 22, 2010

We had a wonderful, romantic, relaxing weekend. The staff was exceptional, the trail ride was beautiful, the food was wonderful, the room and jacuzzi was spacious and inviting. We would definitely suggest this getaway to anyone!


First Time Stay at a Bed and Breakfast

3.8 on May 25, 2010

Fabulous place! Loved the peace and quiet with the barnyard animals. Daily breakfast was excellent (spoiled me)! Pricey, but worth it. There were three of us with 2 small dogs and the rooms were clean and neat. Loved sitting out on the private porch. The service was great and all our needs were met. Very friendly staff. I never thought I would care for a bed and breakfast stay and I was extremely pleased with our trip. Very relaxing. We had the whole place to ourselves after the first night. Would highly recommend this B&B!!!


PEACEFUL GETAWAY

4.2 on May 24, 2010

The service at this B&B was outstanding. They went above and beyond to make our anniversary trip special. The animals are super sweet and it is nice to be able to stop and just breathe for a bit.


Sweet B & B

4.2 on May 18, 2010

What a wonderful B & B. The staff are so sweet and really make you feel at home.


Who Would Have Guessed?

4.8 on May 04, 2010

Not even an hour from our front door we found the Heartland Country Resort and entered a place foreign to our suburban lives. Open spaces, friendly surroundings, clean, well-kept facilities and a staff that catered to our every request. The morning trail ride was outstanding but nothing matched the spectacular night sky. Living in the city we forgot just how spectacular the stars can be but there they were for us to marvel at and enjoy. We'll bring the telescope next time and do some serious exploring. I have no doubt we'll be back for another dose of country comfort.


Can't wait to go back

5 on April 14, 2010

I took my husband to Heartland for a birthday getaway. It is very convenient to get to from Columbus. Our stay was wonderful. The in suite massages to the quiet and beautiful surroundings to the amazing breakfast...it was perfect. The staff is very attentive and made us feel at home. I love the relaxed atmosphere and the animals around. We can't wait to go back next month with the kids and dog. The kids can't wait to go horseback riding and play with the animals. Highly recommend this B&B.


Spring Getaway

4.0 on April 07, 2010

My husband and I and our two children stayed at the "Native American Suite" and were pleasently surprised with the layout and surrounding grounds. The suite was comfortable and clean and allowed us to spend quality time together. The community room offered a place for us all to go together yet do our own thing. The children loved to feed the animals and ride the horses. Your staff was courtious, kind and accommodating. The breakfast served to us in the morning was perfectly prepared. We really enjoyed our stay at you establishment and will be sure to reccomend it to our friends and family.


Great escape!

4.8 on March 29, 2010

Excellent accommodations with lots to offer for a weekend getaway. The staff made us feel like we were right at home!


Fantastic country get-away!

5 on March 14, 2010

We had a fantastic stay at Heartland Country Resort. We went in March (a rainy weekend too) to celebrate my husband's birthday. The rooms were very comfortable and the staff was incredibly friendly and welcoming. We had a fantastic stay! Breakfast the next morning was AMAZING - Angie did a wonderful job cooking! The rooms are very spacious and comfortable. We stayed in the Woodland Suite, which had a great fireplace and a small kitchenette with a microwave and mini-fridge - lots of room for snacks! We would stay here again without a thought! Despite the weather, we had a great stay. Mansfield and Mt. Vernon are close by too.


Romantic Mid-week Getaway

4.0 on February 06, 2010

My husband and I got away for an overnight In January. Mid-week was great because we had the entire place to ourselves. Even though we were the only ones there, the staff was very attentive. All of the rooms were very clean and attractive and we loved the in-room massages! The barn is beautiful and a neat place to hang out. We will certainly spread the word and hope to come back in the fall for a stay and trail ride. Thanks so much.


Heartland Country Resort

5 on December 09, 2009

Wonderfully relaxed environment refreshed my spirit. Nice staff. Great place!


Girls weekend getaway

4.6 on November 19, 2009

Eight close friends stayed in the lodge loft and had an absolutely wonderful time. Susan and Dorene were gracious hosts and gave us lots of privacy while still making sure we were taken care of. We did a group trail ride, brought sushi in, and stayed up late in our jammies having a great night out. Who says that 30' somethings can't have a slumber party?? Thanks for the wonderful time away!


A beautiful and relaxing place to spend your weekend

4.4 on November 04, 2009

The suite was very cozy and we felt right at home. The horse rides are wonderful and so much fun. The staff are fun to talk to and always accomodating. We will definitely be going back!


My weekend with my grandaughters

4.6 on October 26, 2009

My grandaugters age 6 an 13 loved the resort. They loved the animals and especially the trail that they and myself and two daughters rode horseback. The trail riders were so experienced my six year old was able to ride a big horse which made it a great experience.


Beautiful Setting and Very Friendly Staff

4.6 on September 07, 2009

We enjoyed a wonderful stay in the Native American Suite over Labor Day weekend. The suite was very clean and comfortable, but we spent most of our time outdoors and in the main building which connects to the area where the dogs, horses, chickens and goats live. My 2 children loved all of the animals! The horse trail ride was a lot of fun, and we enjoyed some time at the campfire making s'mores on our final night at Heartland. The only change Heartland should make is to put a new shower head in the suite we were staying in. Other than that, everything was wonderful and we were sad when the weekend was over.


Ideal place to get away from it

4.0 on August 30, 2009

What are you going to do in the middle of Ohio? Everybody leaves Ohio for the summer! That was the reaction we got when we mentioned we would be spending 4 nights at Heartland. We is a family of 3 with a 4 year old daughter. Now our visit has ended, we can only conclude we proved them all wrong! Heartland is a ideal place to get away from the rush in the city (we also visited Chicago, Detroit and Toronto during our trip). It is really located in the middle of nowhere, has numerous animals and provides the personal touch you just can't find in the city. Breakfast is cooked on order and delicious. The rooms are very well equiped and really quiet. Although it is worth it to get to know your neighbours as the aircon is shared between the three suites. We can really recommend Heartland if you want to get away from it all.


3rd time visiting Heartland

5 on July 31, 2009

What a wonderful, beautiful & peaceful place to stay. It is so nice to see the same staff since 5 years ago from our 1st visit. Thanks for having us, Heartland!


Highly recommended B&B

4.0 on July 15, 2009

Our visit to Heartland in mid July was my second, but my first with my husband. Our daughter was attending horseback riding camp and we rented one of the suites for a get a way. Love all of the ammentities at Heartland and the very attentive staff. Wonderful food at the Inn for breakfast is a great way to start the day. The only change we'd suggest is basic cable tv in the suites. Other than that, everything was wonderful and far exceeded our expectations.


Awesome Getaway

4.0 on June 24, 2009

Relaxing trail rides, beautiful landscaping and a romantic cabin.


Rest, Relaxation, and Delicious Food!!!!!

5 on May 23, 2009

We utterly enjoyed ourselves. The staff are wonderful people who accommodated every need down to purchasing sun block for us because we forgot it. It is so serene and peaceful at the resort, just the get away we needed. The cleaning services for the room was excellent and the food was absolutely delicious. We would definitely recommend this bread and breakfast facility to anyone who is looking for peace, quiet, and friendly people. P.S. the farm animals are great!!!


citified amenities in the country

5 on May 19, 2009

This warm country inn offers clean and luxurious rooms in a friendly atmosphere with old country charm.


wonderful weekend

4.6 on May 19, 2009

We had a wonderful time at eh resort. the staff was so friendly, accommodating, and laid back. We will go back!


Relaxing and peaceful getaway

5 on May 17, 2009

My husband bought this getaway for my mother and I for a christmas gift. We used it in May when the weather was warmer. We had a great time riding the horses. what an adventure. The staff was wonderful. Perfect place to get away in the heart of the country.


Gift of Love

5 on May 16, 2009

This was a Christmas gift from my son-in-law for my daughter and myself. His mother is deceased and his father is in a rest home. He wanted us to get away and enjoy each other for the week-end. We had a wonderful bonding time and it was the greatest gift of love ever. Thank you for making it great!


Country charm and luxury

5 on April 13, 2009

I stayed at this delightful B&B with our daughter and granddaughters (3 and 1) when we brought the girls to meet extended family. The suite perfectly suited our needs, the breakfasts were wonderful, and the staff was friendly and very accommodating. We are looking forward to a return visit!


very nice B&B

4.4 on April 10, 2009

great breakfast!


Good Getaway

4.4 on March 31, 2009

Nice area in the country but not too far from major highway or other areas. Friendly staff, warm, inviting and cozy accomodations made for a good getaway! Friendly pets were part of the environment...we wanted to adopt one of the cats that stayed on our porch much of the time, and inside with us other times, making himself comfortable and coming up to us for attention now and again. Horseback riding was fun with a nice, scenic ride and friendly guide. The only drawback for us was feeling a bit isolated as we were the only ones on the premises overnight; no other guests or staff.


A time of escape

5 on March 19, 2009

A place where come to push the reset button, and start a fresh, renewed and replenish.


very relaxing!

3.6 on February 27, 2009

We went for a Valentine's Day getaway and had a wonderful time. Very relaxing and romantic weekend!


Nice but getting pricey

3.4 on November 16, 2008

I have stayed at this B&B several times over the last 10+ years...and have enjoyed my stay. I do think that the prices for the logged suites are beginning to exceed the quality of the suites. I usually stay in the Woodland suite (last visit in 08) and it has not been updated since my initial stay years ago. A water softer would be a great addition to the suites\B&B :)

Innkeeper Response
In response to this review, I would like to say that we have only increased prices occasionally since 1994, and did so in the spring of 2008 due to the major renovations and improvements that were made to the property for our guests. We have many repeat guests who like the Woodland Suite as it is, so it was the only suite that did not receive a major makeover. In the last few months, we have offered a winter package special and other specials for Valentine's and Spring Break, which make a current Heartland stay even more affordable than it was in the past, before the price increase. As for the water softener, we have always used water softeners in each building, and we have several hot water heaters to make sure our guests do not run out of hot water for their jacuzzi baths. We are installing a new well in the spring of 2009, and we have several more improvements planned. We do try to provide quality service and have many amenities included in a stay to provide value to our guests.


Spring Break in the Country

4.2 on October 07, 2008

Heartland is always a refreshing get away. The Lodge is beautiful and relaxing. The food was incredible. We had a special dinner and it was gourmet quality. This is our favorite B&B.


Weekend Review

5 on September 30, 2008

Accommodations were outstanding, close to home - secluded & beautiful, Privacy requested. Personnel were friendly & offered wonderful service from meals to trail riding.


Lovely, Lovely

4.4 on September 13, 2008

We stayed at Heartland with our two children. We had a wonderful time. The kids loved the animals and we loved the peace and quiet. The staff was excellent and attentive to all our needs. We definitely will go back.


Springtime in Horse Country

4.6 on September 10, 2008

We stayed at the Hearthland for a period of three weeks and enjoyed everyday. The suites are lovely and the lodge is outstanding. The staff is better than that. Angie and Doreen were extremely professional and accomodating. We were traveling with our two dogs and they loved it even more than we did the open fields great play areas. The animals at the farm were fun, especially Jake and Maggie the goldens. Well worth a weekend or week.


Great bed and breakfast!

4.4 on August 21, 2008

This was our first stay at a bed and breakfast and, after lots of research, we settled on Heartland Country Resort. This place is located on a GORGEOUS farm, with lots of animals and peace and quiet. It was wonderful to play with the animals, walk the farm or just sit on the swing on the front porch and read. We took advantage of the horseback riding and our guide, Nick, was great! It's really wonderful for a romantic, peaceful getaway or even a place to take your children for the weekend. The staff (especially Angie) were so friendly and accomidating and the breakfast is AMAZING! I strongly encourage anyone to stay at this b&b -- we are already planning our next stay!


Heartland Country Resort

Details

  • Nightly Rate $180 - $225
  • Reviews (64) 4.5
  • Rooms 4
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-4197689300
  • Fax 1-4197689133
  • Toll free 1-8002307030
Top