The Lamplight Inn Bed & Breakfast – Berlin, Ohio Reviews

Overall
4.9

View details

  • Guest room4.9
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
50 Reviews

Write A Review

Great place to stay.

5 on April 26, 2014

My husband and I have stayed at the Lamplighter many times. Always enjoy the time we are there. Located close to everything that we want to do. Company and food is great. Love to hear the owner play and sing at breakfast.


Our Weekend Get Away

4.4 on April 26, 2014

Me and my wife had stayed here last year, it was my wife's first experience staying at a B&B. Over all our stay was a wonderful one, and would consider staying again. It was nice to listen to Larry play the piano and listen to his singing, I would like to also had the time to have discussion with other guest as to were they were from and see what they had to say about the Amish lifestyle they have experienced during their stay


Great Stay at the B/B with the Singing Innkeeper

5 on April 23, 2014

We stayed at the lamplight inn about 2 years ago. The overall experience was great. The Innkeepers were friendly, food was good, and the property was very well kept-up. Conveniently located to Berlin and surrounding Amish communities. Would very highly recommend to anyone. Great experience overall.


Beautiful

4.0 on April 23, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Lamplight for a quiet weekend away from the kids. It was lovely. The grounds are wonderfully maintained, the innkeepers friendly. The two things I did not appreciate were both at the morning breakfast. First is that the innkeeper sings. He plays piano and sings beautifully, but what I wanted to do was talk with my husband and the other guests. Can't do that when he's playing and singing. The second is that the owners are Christian, and their faith is talked about from the very Christian prayer at the table, to religious talk at breakfast. So if this kind of thing bothers you, stay away. It is very intensive and overwhelming.


Will we stay here from now on

5 on April 23, 2014

The Lamplight Inn Bed and Breakfast is beautiful, romantic, relaxing absolutely worth the money. Actually my husband and I believe it was worth much more. The innkeepers are wonderful people. Larry is most definetly but I would have liked to talked to his wife a little more. He was wonderful so I'm sure she is perfect also. We really enjoyed the conversation and appreciated the one on one conversation. Our room was perfect for us and the much needed weekend away. We only had one complaint. The legs on the bed are to hidden we must have kicked our toes and tripped over the legs a "million" times. But really we were in no way disappointed and we will be returning next year and the year after and the year after that and so on. Thank you so much. Oh also your singing a piano playing was beautiful we loved it


Our Trip to Berlin Ohio on Motorcycle

4.0 on April 23, 2014

My wife always wanted to visit the Ohio Amish area and learn their way of life. We recently purchased a Harley Davidson and the adnevture was on. I searched for bed and breakfast in the area and selected The Lamplighter Inn after several conversations with the owners over the phone. We traveled the country side from Michigan and finally arrived at our location. we turned into the driveway not realizing until it was too late the the drive was up hill and fresh gravel, a motorcycle nightmare. Carefully I made it to the paved section without incident. My suggestion would be to notify cyclist in advance that the drive is gravel and up hill because since the Inn you really can't tell until you turn. Now, once we were there, what a wonderful experience. We were walking distance from the stores and market area, the view was spectacular and the rooms were excellent. Breakfast along with the piano session was indeed a treat. Plan on returning soon, keep up the good work, Miie & Rhonda from Farnington Hills, Michigan.


I only stayed one night as I wanted to sample Amish country with armish hospitality real nice in the town and had lunch in local dinner and dinner up in the charm swish restaurant , but the lamplight inn real nice enjoyed my stay

5 on April 12, 2014

The stay was to sample Amish hospitality which I received my stay in the lamplighter was very nice and enjoyable my mate Larry a real entertainer the place was full with nice folk and we all enjoyed the most entertaining breakfast I have ever had with Larry playing the grand piano the rooms are spotless the view to die for so a very nice place to stay would recommend


Our favorite B&B

5 on April 06, 2014

The Lamplight Inn is truly a traveler's delight. My husband and I have been there several times over the last several years, and are never disappointed in our experience. The rooms are all sparkling clean and decorated beautifully and tastefully down to the last detail. It is easy to get a wonderful night's sleep as the beds are very comfortable and the area is so quiet and peaceful. Larry and Helen are fantastic hosts. Helen's breakfasts are always quite delicious, and Larry's singing and piano playing make this B&B unique. As stated, we have been there many times, and always look forward to going back. By far the nicest B&B we have ever stayed in.


Great B&B

4.8 on October 10, 2013

Beautiful location, restful, peaceful; great place to unwind from the cares of the world. Great hosts. Loved the 'tulip' story.


Great Place for Needed Time Away

4.8 on July 30, 2013

We have stayed here numerous times, and we go back because we can depend on a comfortable, clean, and friendly visit. There is a lot to love here: the innkeepers, the soft yet firm beds, the soft water for bathing, lovely and tasteful decorating, a beautiful view of countryside, and a delicious breakfast. You can't go wrong by choosing The Lamplight Inn.


Immaculate; well appointed rooms; relaxing; quiet; scenic location

4.6 on July 27, 2013

This is our 2nd stay at the Lamplight Inn B&B. It is very centrally located in the Amish country of shops; restaurants and scenic countryside. The rooms are exceptionally clean and very well decorated. The beds are delightfully comfortable as we slept very well. The view from the back side of the Inn represents the picturesque farm country & the rolling hills. The wrap around porch with wicker chairs provides an early evening gathering spot to enjoy the site, and the company of each other. Beside the very enjoyable amenities of the B&B, the most attractive feature is the singing and commentary from Larry Wilgus during your morning breakfast. Not only was the breakfast very tasty, but the "Singing Innkeeper" adds a personal touch making the Lamplight Inn a truly memorable experience. My wife and I highly recommend this B&B....it is exceptionally clean; relaxing; great location; and a unique experience for your getaway. Don & Ruth Ann


Cordial,serene,clean,relaxing,caring,quiet,beautiful.

5 on July 24, 2013

When we go to the beautiful and serene Amish area, we choose the beautiful,serene,warm and cordial innkeepers to stay with... Larry and Helen Wilgus at the Lamplight Inn. It has everything that complements a visit to the Amish environment. The inn is within short proximity of the beautiful arts, crafts and wonderful Amish Family-style restaurants yet the inn is set within the quiet farmland area of Berlin, Ohio, surrounded by acres and acres of hills. Sitting on the balcony one can enjoy the cows and horses in the distance grazing and roaming the area. Inside the rooms are truly immaculate. But what truly makes the Lamplight Inn unique are the Innkeepers, Helen and Larry(aka The Singing Innkeeper)....and equally cordial is Mary, the kind sweet lady who cares for the rooms and the kitchen. The delicious home cooked breakfast is prepared by Helen and during breakfast Larry provides beautiful piano music and very interesting and educational commentary regarding the music and also the Amish area and traditions. We felt the sincere caring, warmth and love that came from Larry, Helen and Mary. Staying at the Lamplight Inn, to us, is the only place to be when visiting this scenic, relaxed and serene area in Ohio. We feel very fortunate to have Larry, Helen and Mary as our friends. Very highly recommended. Ron and Marilyn


The Lamplight Inn B & B is a 'shining example' .........

5 on June 26, 2012

While our stay is still fresh on our minds... we want to express to all who may be pondering over staying at 'The Lamplight Inn' ... and say to you... "this lovely romantic inn excels in every minute detail possible." There is no fault to be found!! Thank you, Larry & Helen for all the love & care that you have poured into your inn & its guests... it shines on your faces and in our hearts also. :)


Serenity!

5 on April 20, 2012

Our stay was a unique and memorable experience. Everything is so sparkling clean - including the grounds and the exterior of the bed and breakfast!! Very impressive! The rooms are gorgeous! We chose Cameo Rose - and what a beauty of a room it was! We felt very pampered. Great food and the Singing Innkeeper made all guests feel very welcomed and entertained!!


Relaxing after Thanksgiving....

5 on November 29, 2010

A great place to go and relax. Great food, warm, cozy bed and "soft water" for the shower. I'm gluten intolerate and Helen prepared a "safe" breakfast, while Larry provided great entertainment. Loved the music and the local lore. We appreciate the extra effort. Retirement has opened a lot of B&B doors for us over the past couple of years and this is definitely one of the cleanest and most charming. Decorations rate a high 10..... Thanks for the memories.. We will be back... Pete & Judy Fairmont, WV


25th Anniversary Gift we aren't able to use

4.0 on November 10, 2010

We recieved a gift certificate from our family for this Inn for our 25th Anniversay. When we called to make our reservation we were told we could not use this certificate during the month of October. The Inn sold this certificate to our family and never stated anything about limitations or exceptions, nor does the certificate itself indicate any limitations. The innkeeper advised us that they only recently began this policy for gift certificates. It was not in place when they sold one to my family and never discussed it any manner. I understand the innkeeper can do anything he wants with his Inn but the new policy should only be in effect for gift certificates he sells after he institutes the new policy. Good business practice dictates that the seller honor his obligations made at the time of the sale and fulfill the transaction that was made in good faith with the buyer. It could be interpreted as deceitful to sell a gift certificate to someone and then when they try to use tell them, oh, by the way, we changed the rules in the middle of the game. Gift certificates sold prior to the inception of this new policy should be honored under the good faith of that sale and the rules in place at that time. If the rule was in place at the time my family made the purchase, they wouldn't have bought it and instead gone some place else so we could enjoy a few days during our actual anniversary month. Sadly, we just don't know what to do...............

Innkeeper Response
Following a phone conversation with the review writer, further research was done and it was concluded that the decision to exclude the month of October on previously purchased gift certificates should be reconsidered. The change in policy, therefore, will apply only to gift certificates purchased after the change and on which the words “GC not valid during October” appear. New gift certificates will continue to be valid for two years from the issue date (excluding October), which affords recipients ample opportunity to enjoy their gift.


Wonderful weekend

5 on September 27, 2010

This was our first time there and we were joined by our sister and brother-in-law from California. We enjoyed the immaculate room and our "stuffed" French Toast was incredible. People forget that at a B&B you are a "guest" usually in someone's home and need to remember the hosts and their preferences. I have stayed in many similar accomodations all over the world and if you are not flexible you should not be traveling.


Refreshing Getaway at Lamplight Inn B & B

5 on March 10, 2010

What a wonderful experience we had at the Lamplight Inn B & B on March 8, 2010. The rooms were tastefully decorated and immaculately clean. The breakfast was outstanding and we were treated royally. We will definitely return and tell all of our friends.


Relaxation, comfort, great food and entertainment, all in one place.

5 on March 03, 2010

My husband and I recently stayed at the Lamp Light Inn Bed and Breakfast. Larry and Helen were fantastic hosts. We were the only guests staying with them at the time, but we still received wonderful service. We thoroughly enjoyed Larry's performance at breakfast, and we wish that all of our breakfasts could be as tasty as the one that Helen made for us. Our stay at the Lamp Light Bed and Breakfast was actually a gift, but we will definitely be returning. The rooms were beautiful and spacious. The king sized bed was very comfortable. We enjoyed having private access to our room. The bathroom was large, with a nice sized jacuzzi and a shower as well. There was a large selection of movies at our disposal. There are plenty of local attractions, and the area is simply lovely. Thank you Larry and Helen. We had such a wonderful time in your gorgeous bed and breakfast.


Comfort and Luxury

5 on March 02, 2010

Once you have stayed at the Lamplight Inn, you will never want to stay anywhere else! The friendly Innkeepers add to the enyoyment as does the piano playing and serenading by the "Singing Innkeeper" during the delicious breakfast. We love it!


the very best . . .hands down

5 on February 28, 2010

We were greeted immediately upon entering, personal service at every corner, extremely cordial inn keepers wanting to please, wonderful food and music performance in the morning . . . absolutley nothing missing from this wonderful, one of a kind inn. Don't miss out!


Outstanding Amish Country Victorian

5 on February 26, 2010

The Victorian highlights of this Inn were emphasized by the pristine snow cover as we drove down the street to the Inn. Hostess Helen was able to check us in quickly since we had registered on line. From the pictures on line my wife had chosen the room call "Timeless Romance". How beautifully decorated !! It contained a Kingsize bed, a corner fireplace, an armoire with flatscreen Satellite TV and DVD player. The bathroom contained a large jacuzzi tub and separate shower. We adjourned for the evening after picking a nice romantic movie from the nice selection provided by the Inn. We did help ourselves to the wonderful cookies and teas available in the common room. The breakfast provided the next morning was well prepared with more than ample proportions. The highlight of breakfast was being serenaded by Larry, the Host, on the beautiful grand piano.He did a nice selection of romantic tunes, music themes, and classical pieces. Larry & Helen were full of information on the local places to shop and sightsee an we spent a nice day and returned for another relaxing evening. The breakfast the next morning was completely different but also excellent and Larry played a different selection of tunes. All in all it was 2 wonderful evenings in a beautiful setting with good food and congenial hosts. Dale


We left the busy-ness and stress of the last few months behind.

5 on February 25, 2010

Even as we were driving to Berlin, Ohio, knowing our destination, we knew that we would be letting go of the busy-ness and stresses of the last several months. Once we entered the Inn, we sensed a gentle atmosphere, one of acceptance and caring. We were pampered immediately by the way we were greeted and given a small tour. Our room was an elegant decor of the Victorian past with the most modern amenities, complete with a king size bed, warm lighting, a fireplace, big screen TV (although seldom used), DVD player, comfortable chair, and wireless connection available. The bathroom features a jet-tub/jacuzzi with a chandelier above, as well as shower stall - all very elegantly appointed. The breakfast is one-of-a-kind with the inn-keeper serenading for about 20 minutes on the baby grand piano, accompanying himself to romantic love songs while we enjoyed a full-course, home-made breakfast featuring freshly made sausage, eggs, and breads, etc from the Amish country-folk. It was hard to leave, as we were refreshed and relaxed. We will be revisiting The Lamplight Inn as often as we c


Exceptional

5 on February 25, 2010

A neat place for quiet rest, solitude if desired and taking in the essence of Holmes County and Amish country. The accomodations are the best and the innkeepers are wonderful hosts. Truly, a great value. W.Fish, Canton, Oh


Very nice B&B...Super convenient!!!

3.6 on February 23, 2010

Very nice house. Inn keepers are super nice and welcoming. Very convenient to all of the shops and restaurants in Berlin. Highly recommend. A+++


not impressed

4.0 on February 06, 2010

My husband and I were not impressed, yes the room was clean, only met one innkeeper thought that was odd, as we have stayed at other inns and both welcomed. I do not eat meat I told them what I would like just a plain cereal, toast, nothing special, they sent me out wheat pancakes that were awful. Also, not everyone eats wheat, regular pancakes yes, wheat? Not everyone is health consious being away from home means eating things we enjoy and ask for! Not impressed the innkeeper is called the singing innkeeper he sings a couple songs and then talks talks talks, more singing less talking please, overall not satisfied.


A wonderful weekend getaway

5 on July 30, 2009

This was our 3rd stay at the lamplight. As usual everything was wonderful. The atmosphere and warm welcome this home illuminates are second to none.


Heaven

5 on July 15, 2009

Not sure on how you can improve on perfection! The view incredible. hospitality superb! Peace, beauty, serenity, my vacation every year!


Unforgettble

5 on July 05, 2009

Honoring 45 years of marriage with this luxury inn is now in the forefront of memories of the journey that has taken us all over the world to see the beauty of nature and to meet the warm embrace of humanity. The musical serenade by Larry, the excellent food, the cozy accomodations and atmosphere outweighs the honeymoon cabin with spiders in the shower and cold hunky oatmeal for a romantic getaway.


Great stay!

5 on July 02, 2009

The inn was very relaxing. the views are wonderful. the innkeepers were very gracious. the food was excellent, and so was the singing and piano playing!


A Fantastic Place!

5 on June 24, 2009

The Lamplight Inn was a great place to stay!


Amazing!

5 on June 24, 2009

This has become our getaway! It is just breath taking and relaxing.


peaceful

5 on June 19, 2009

Excellent setting in the midst of Amish country, very accessible location, yet you sense a quiet and serenity not found elsewhere. Facilities are the best around and the innkeepers are the very best!


Beautiful inn

5 on June 18, 2009

Beautiful scenery, wonderful hosts, delicious breakfast. The singing at breakfast was delightful!


quiet and peaceful

5 on June 18, 2009

We have enjoyed our third stay with the singing innkeeper! Each year we come to sit and read, shop, etc. A quiet, peaceful stay in a beautiful B&B!


Lamplight Inn

5 on June 18, 2009

We spent 3 nights at the inn in celebration of our 4th wedding anniversary. We enjoyed the accommodations and hospitality of Larry and Helen.


Phenomenal

5 on June 18, 2009

My wife and I come to the Lamplight B&B every year. We stay in the same room and look forward to it every year. I have never had better service and felt more relaxed when I visit this wonderful place!


Anniversary dream

5 on June 18, 2009

The inn is the best B&B I have every stayed in! This is my third stay here, the rooms are clean and very nicely decorated. The food is delicious and the morning serenade is unforgettable. My husband and I will be back!


one of a kind...

5 on June 18, 2009

most beautiful inside and outside- breakfast music by the innkeeper (live) sets the mood for a wonderful day- Delicious food- outstanding decor- luxury!


Lamplight Inn

4.8 on June 18, 2009

exceptional stay!


Sunset in Berlin

5 on August 02, 2007

We loved our stay at the Lamplight Inn! The sunset was incredible and the peaceful setting gave us an anniversary to remember!


A+++ in every way

5 on August 02, 2007

Every aspect of our stay at the Lamplight Inn far exceeded our expectations. The setting is perfect for the area and the home is perfectly decorated for harmony with the home's setting. Beauty is everywhere the eye rests. Breakfast there was the best of our 30-day stay at eight different B&B's last month. Helen and Larry could not have been better hosts - with music as a plus!


Gateway to Amish Country

5 on August 02, 2007

Absolutely THE MOST restful, beautiful, well thoughtout B & B my wife and I have EVER stayed at. The experience was the finest example of B & B. We are making plans for fall colors in Amish Country at Lamplight. Larry and Helen were we great.


A beautiful inn!

5 on August 01, 2007

This was our first stay at a Bed and Breakfast and what a wonderful place we picked! The inn is very charming and beautifully furnished. Breakfast was delicious and we loved the breakfast serenades and stories. This was a quiet and restful place with beautiful views of the Amish farms but close to lots of things to do. We loved our stay in Ohio Amish Country and definitely recommend a stay with Larry and Helen.


Beautiful and very relaxing

5 on May 21, 2007

My husband and I were needing to make some important decisions so we decided to go away for a couple of days. We had never stayed at a Bed & Breakfast before. I will have to say that God must have guided us to The Lamplight, because it was the most peaceful, restful and friendly place. We thoughly enjoyed every minute of it. The music at breakfast was so nice and Helen even hugged me good bye. We will go back and stay again as soon as we can. Loved it!


"Best Of Show"

5 on April 24, 2007

Having made two visits to this splendid facility, I must recommend it all who may be traveling through the beautiful community of Berlin or any of the surrounding municipalities. Larry and Helen Wilgus are the perfect hosts for such an elegant retreat. The accomodations are beyond the norm and the breakfast was truly a culinary delight. All of of this while being serenaded by "The Singing Innkeeper" is what made our stay truly "The Best Of Show"


Wonderful retreat!

5 on April 22, 2007

The Lamplight Inn was a beautiful retreat perched right on the edge of an amazing view of Amish Country. The inn & rooms were beatifully decorated. Larry & Helen (innkeepers) provided warm & welcome hospitality for our weekend stay - we will definitely go back!


Wonderful hosts-like paradise

5 on April 21, 2007

The setting has to be one of the most beautiful in Amish country with hosts that couldn't do enough for us. Home and suites are elegant yet warm and cozy with wonderful amenities and food. We'll go back.


Beautiful nourishment for body and soul!

5 on April 20, 2007

Lush meadows and fields dotted with giant horses and strong men plowing while freshly washed shirts and linens wave gaily from clotheslines is the spring scene from the Lamplight Inn porch, a step out of your tranquil and beautifully decorated room - you are immersed in peace and beauty! Then, the lush melodies of a bygone Romantic era by Innkeeper Larry at his grand piano are as delicious to your ears as his wife Helen's heavenly ambrosia and other delicacies are to your taste! Ah! Is heaven like this? I hope so!


A place to relax

5 on April 19, 2007

Our first visit to the Wilgus' Inn was more than we imagined. We knew we would relax, but our stresses immediately melted away as soon as we stepped inside. When it was time to leave we wish we had stayed an extra night. We've been back several times, being serenaded with music in the morning with a breakfast feast better than we would make at home! Larry and Helen's warmth and hospitality makes you feel you've known them as dear friends all of your life. We've enjoyed watching DVD's from their personal library with several other guests in the common room in the evening. We plan to make their home, our home-away-from-home.


The Lamplight Inn Bed & Breakfast – Berlin, Ohio

Details

  • Nightly Rate $115 - $165
  • Reviews (50) 4.9
  • Rooms 7

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-3308931122
  • Toll free 1-8665001122
Top