Glenlaurel Inn Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.1
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
16 Reviews

Write A Review

Perfect Night away

4.6 on October 20, 2014

This was a fabulous place to stay for a night away. The cottages are clean and very private. The breakfast is outstanding! The staff were friendly. We will be visiting here again!


A great, romantic getaway.

4.4 on October 15, 2014

We stayed two nights in an East croft to celebrate our anniversary. Loved the accommodations including the screened porch and private deck with hot tub. The food served in the dining room was excellent. We also had dinner and breakfast delivered to our room. Dinner comes early and is designed to be microwaved so you can eat at your convenience. Breakfast was good - much lighter fare than the food served in the dining room. We couldn't eat that much breakfast 2 days in a row! We spent a lot of our time hiking in Hocking Hills State Park - beautiful. We will definitely return to GlenLaurel.


Perfect Getaway

4.4 on September 30, 2014

Perfect getaway with my now fiance! We love to come here in the fall and enjoy the scenery and Glenlaurel provides more then enough to satisfy a peaceful escape


The Perfect Getaway

4.8 on September 17, 2014

My husband and I stayed in the Elliot Croft for our 13th anniversary. This was our first time to the Hocking Hills area. The location and setting of Glenlaurel was just beautiful. We could have just stayed on the grounds, if there weren't any other sites to see. The Elliot Croft was very clean and cozy. The crofts were just far enough apart, that it felt like you were the only ones in the area. The hot tub on the deck made for a perfect end, to a long day of hiking. The 3 course breakfast was amazing every morning, especially the creme brule french toast! The evenings live bagpipe music made the setting feel like you were actually in the Scottish Highlands. My husband and I would highly recommend a stay at Glenlaurel if you're looking for a relaxing, romantic get away!

Innkeeper Response
Your glowing review is much appreciated! Our crofts and cottages are a wonderful choice for those wishing for a little more seclusion on their escape - we often liken them to mini vacation homes. You're right, you could certainly spend a whole trip and not leave the estate - between the candlelit fine dining, links golf, pub, hiking and spa services, why go anywhere else? But we're glad you took time to visit the rest of the Hocking Hills while you were in the area. Come back soon!


A perfect choice for our Anniversary

4.0 on September 13, 2014

We were staying at the Macintosh cottage and enjoyed every minute of it. The Cottage is beautifully decorated, very quite and romantic . It was very clean and the service was outstanding . We enjoyed breakfast in the very elegant dinning room. We will definitely come back and recommend Glenlaurel Inn to our friends and family.

Innkeeper Response
We're delighted that you chose us for your anniversary getaway! Our Anniversary Club is a wonderful incentive program for guests who choose us as an anniversary destination - please be sure to request more information when you're planning next years celebration. Recommending us to your friends and family would be a high honor. Thank you for your review, and for sharing your experience at Glenlaurel Inn.


Unplug, unwind and treat yourself

5 on September 07, 2014

The MacDonald Suite at Glenlaurel is a beautiful place to relax while enjoying solitude and a lovely view of the grounds while only being steps away from the ambience downstairs that is the Manor House. I can only imagine how thrilling this place looks in autumn and with snow. Surely a gem in a every season!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind review. Our 140-acre estate is beautiful any season, but you're right - autumn and winter views can be especially thrilling. You'll simply have to come back to experience those seasons for yourself!


21st Anniversary getaway

4.0 on June 08, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the McGregor room, it was perfectly sized, quaint and romantic. Spotlessly clean. Staff are all very friendly and accommodating. We had the 6 course seafood meal on Fri, it was delicious, but picky eaters beware. The chef was very cordial however and even changed my husbands appetizer because he does not eat mussels. Its a lot of food, and by dessert you will be completely full. Kudos to the chef on his Halibut with leeks over lentils, just amazing! We had dinner in our room Sat night, which was just perfect for us, it was casual and cozy and we could eat on our own schedule, the food was equally delicious! Breakfasts were good, not traditional Scottish fare, but good. Very filling. The grounds are beautiful, very well kept and the trails were easily traveled, and gorgeous scenery. There is so much to do, or not do, its up to you. Left completely relaxed and rejuvenated, planning our next trip before our next anniversary!


Wonderful getaway!

4.8 on June 03, 2014

We were married at Glen Laurel and have returned for our anniversaries The crofts are very private, cozy and intimate. Food is delicious. The trails are beautiful and easy to navigate. We even tried the golf. Fun but terrible score. There are many things to do and see in the area or you can just relax and "distress" in your croft. We would recommend Glen Laurel to anyone.


Glenlaurel Inn - Our Anniversary Destination

4.8 on May 20, 2013

If you are looking for a cozy, quiet get away in a beautiful setting, you should truly consider Glenlaurel Inn. Since we discovered this gem so close to Columbus, we have made Glenlaurel our Autumn anniversary get-away for a few years now. We have stayed in both the West crofts and in the Campbell room, and loved the cleanliness, ambience, and comfort of our accomodations. The manor and the crofts are done in a warm Scottish decor, but not overly so. The food is always delicious and the presentation is appealing to the eye. If you dine here, you will meet the chef, as s/he comes out to chat with each table. If you chose to attend the pre-dinner happy hour, you will find the pub enjoyable. The staff is always friendly and the experience is so nice, that we are again booked for this October in the Gordon croft. There are trails on the property where you can take a nice hike. Hocking Hills State Park and Canopy Tours Zipline are very close by. I recommend these destinations as well.


An incredible getaway!

4.8 on September 06, 2012

The best kept secret, (but it shouldn't be a secret) in the beautiful hills of Ohio. The entire package from the grounds to the spacious accommodations to the incredible gourmet dining is perfect. You would never think you are in Ohio, rather a resort area in Europe - how about Scotland! The setting is perfect for couples and my wife and I have celebrated three anniversaries there now...and it is just as wonderful in the winter as the summer. And all of the details are thought of to make your stay quite enjoyable. (PS - You have to hike down in the gorge on the property and be sure to visit Cantwell Cliffs nearby...) Kudos to Chef Eric for the unbelievable dining! Bravo!


A Glorious Surprise!

5 on June 13, 2011

I surprised my husband with a weekday getaway from Columbus. We disappeared into the Hocking Hills to a winter wonderland getaway! It was a great overnight. Beautiful lodge with a clean hot tub and full room fireplace. Super Romantic!! The dinner meal and breakfast were superb!


Macgregor All the Way

4.6 on October 08, 2009

We stayed in the Macgregor room, inside the Inn, and was without a doubt the very best room. Intimate and beautifully decorated, we were in Heaven. We stayed for dinner one evening and that was also delightful.


The BEST of All the Rest!!!

4.8 on April 30, 2009

Cottages are amazing! The staff is incredible! The food is absolutely the very best! A bit pricey, but Glenlaurel is our absolute favorite getaway! Best to get on their email list and always ask about their specials. You will NOT be disappointed. We have been eleven times! :)


The best the hocking hills has to offer

5 on April 21, 2009

My wife and I have styaed at Glen Laurel 8 times now in a 2 year period. It is without a doubt our favorite spot, we even spent our honeymoon there. Everything is perfect from the accomodations to the service to the food.


Romantic and relaxing

4.8 on June 10, 2008

We were at Glenlaurel less than 48 hours, but it felt like a week! That's how relaxed we were...and how much food we ate! This place just can't be beat. I can't wait to go back!


Glenlaurel Inn

4.8 on January 08, 2007

We've stayed at B & B's for 24 years now, and this is in the best three where we have stayed. A beautiful setting, gorgeous room, outstanding staff and great food! What a romantic place.


Glenlaurel Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $189 - $369
  • Reviews (16) 4.7
  • Rooms 19
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-7403854070
  • Fax 1-7403859669
  • Toll free 1-8008097378

Visit Website »

View details

Top