Herb Garden School of Cooking and B&B Reviews

Overall
4.9

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Service5.0
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness5.0
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
26 Reviews

Write A Review

An Anniversary Getaway

5 on September 14, 2014

Mary Anne & I enjoyed our stay at the Herb Garden B&B. From the moment we walked in and enjoyed homemade biscotti's until we departed following an outstanding breakfast, Chris & Paul made us feel welcome. A morning coffee on the porch overlooking the beautiful country side was just one of the many pleasure my wife & I enjoyed during our anniversary getaway. We're already planning a return visit with our son, his wife and our granddaughter.


Absolutely A Lovely Stay at this B&B!!!

5 on August 29, 2014

My husband and I stayed in Chris and Paul's beautiful home in Jefferson during D-Day weekend in Conneaut, OH. Their hospitality was friendly and warm. It felt like we had been friends for years. Our son and daughter-in-law stayed in the upstairs bedroom while we had the first floor bedroom. Both rooms, bathrooms and the entire home was spotless and the decor was very appealing. The food was superb and served on a table with sheer elegance. This was a first time experience at a bed and breakfast for us and a very positive and memorable one. We would definitely stay here again. Would highly recommend this B&B you will not be disappointed!


Just great! You have to make the experience!

5 on August 22, 2014

This was really great! The rooms are decorated so nicely, everything is super clean. The food is overwhelmingly good. The hosts are so very nice people. Don t miss this!! (Just excuse my English, I m German.)


Charm and Relaxation

4.6 on August 18, 2014

We loved everything about this b and b. Chris and Paul were welcoming and so enjoyable to talk with. Our room was quiet, very clean and very comfortable. There were so many cozy places to sit and relax in addition to our room. The breakfast was delicious. Thank you, Chris and Paul, for a memorable stay!


Fortieth Anniversary

4.6 on August 12, 2014

My wife and I had limited funds to celebrate our fortieth anniversary but we stayed one night with Paul and Chris and really enjoyed the visit. They make you feel welcome and comfortable. The accommodations are very nice and the food is terrific.Even a casual look around gives you some idea of how hard they have worked to provide a beautiful setting and relaxing atmosphere to take in and enjoy. Thank you Paul and Chris.We'll be back again. Bill and Maggie 7-26-2014


Very comfortable stay

4.6 on August 10, 2014

My wife and I booked a last minute room on the way to a fun day at Geneva-On-The-Lake. Chris and Paul were very friendly and accommodating, even gathering up firewood for us for the backyard fire pit. Our mattress was ultra-comfortable, and the room was extra clean and cozy. We hit it off with the other four house guests, and all 8 of us had a great time together!


a week of retreat

5 on August 06, 2014

I stayed at Herb Gardens B&B so I could attend my high school class reunion. Since I was traveling alone, I wanted to stay in a place that offered a safe environment. The B&B more than met my expectations. It is highly likely that I will return soon to enjoy a writer's retreat where I can work uninterrupted. Chris and Paul made me feel more than welcome.....like I was visiting family!


Wonderfully relaxing!

5 on July 06, 2014

My husband found this B+B online when looking for a place for us to stay while visiting some of the wineries along Lake Erie in the Geneva area. What a wonderful place to stay! It was scrupulously clean and beautifully decorated, in a quiet farm setting with beautiful gardens and patios. The innkeepers were lovely and friendly - they were attentive without being intrusive. The rooms are gorgeous and the area was so quiet at night, hard to believe. We had a choice of what to have for breakfast and when, and it was delicious. We will definitely stay with them again the next time we are in the area!


We enjoyed our stay in this beautiful historic home

5 on April 28, 2014

My mom and I had a wonderful time learning how to make BBQ ribs and lemon cheesecake with Chris. We picked this B & B because cooking classes were offered, and took away some yummy recipes! Breakfast was lovely and filling. The innkeepers had a resident cat that was so friendly. The cat actually added to our stay. We enjoyed ourselves thouroughly and hope to make it back this way again sometime. Jennifer & Rita


Wonderful B&B in NE Ohio

5 on April 22, 2014

We needed a place to stay to visit extended family for the weekend (mind you, it was Easter weekend no less!) in the nearby NE Ohio area and came across Chris & Paul's quaint B&B. They were the most friendly and accommodating hosts! We had delicious breakfasts prepared for us each morning and even pitchers of water provided in each of our rooms upon our late night return. Chris & Paul are both so thoughtful & considerate. We highly recommend. - The Pope's


Moments to Remember...

5 on November 22, 2013

... Chris and Paul, wonderful hosts ... A superb dining experience ... Restful accommodations beyond expectations ... Beautifully restored home ... Jefferson, Ohio, a quaint town, worth visiting Thank you, Sharon & Bill Bedford, Ohio


Wonderful relaxing get away.

5 on October 05, 2013

Met and exceeded our expectations. Chris and Paul were great host. This B & B is wonderful inside and out - the grounds are beautiful. If you want good food this is the place. We highly recommend. Judi & Peter


Charming Home in the Country

5 on August 12, 2013

We needed a place to stay overnight while photographing a wedding in Jefferson, OH. There were a few chain hotels 15-20 minutes away but we wanted to stay at a homey, local place. Found Herb Garden and Chris was so accomodating for our late arrival. When we got there, she had a glass of wine for us both and her and Paul talked to us for a while about their place and their family. In the morning, they had a homemade breakfast of waffles and hot peach compote that was better than a 5-star hotel breakfast. Then they took us on a golf cart ride around their huge farm where their extended family lived. You felt like you were back in time to the 19th century where hospitality and charm were still alive. And she has cooking demos and classes several times per month too.


A great place to celebrate an anniversary

5 on August 04, 2013

We stayed with Paul and Chris on our 39th anniversary and they helped to make it a truly enjoyable time. The accommodations were very clean,comfortable and inviting. The location is wonderful and pleasant. The breakfasts were tops and the coffee was great. We hope to not have to wait till our next anniversary to stay with them again. Bill and Maggie, Hartsgrove, Ohio


Charming friendly stay!

4.8 on June 29, 2013

Personable, helpful hosts. Charming home. Delicious breakfasts! Clean and comfortable rooms. Stairs to second floor are a little steep. Beautiful farming community.


Warm and Inviting

4.8 on April 23, 2013

We were looking for a place to stay that was close to family in Jefferson and found the Herb Garden. Chris and Paul went out of their way to make us welcome and comfortable. They went beyond our expectations when Chris offered to make us dinner after our late arrival! Breakfast each morning was outstanding and incredibly creative. What a wonderful experience!


Carl and Roberta's wonderful stay.

5 on October 26, 2012

The host and hostess were personable and supplied a lot of information about the wonderful area we were visiting. The dinner cooking demonstration was very good and the meal was delicious.


Felt Like Family!

5 on October 22, 2012

Chris, Paul, Amelia (the cat) were wonderful to stay with. I felt very much at home. The food was excellent, and the conversations stimulating. I would definitely stay there again if I was in the area:) Bonnie Savageau


Home away from home

4.8 on October 07, 2012

We not only enjoyed our stay but feel like we have made new friends. We will visit again! Gordon and Sherryl Laing


Better than Home!

5 on August 26, 2012

I chose this inn because of its proximity to the Western Reserve Greenway bike trail and all the wineries in the Geneva/Madison area. When we arrived we were warmly welcomed by our hosts Paul and Chris Martello. The home itself is lovely and well-kept, with a spacious guest room and private bath. The wrap-around porch looks out over flowerbeds and a peaceful yard. Learning about Chris's cooking school makes for such interesting conversation, and the fact that she and Paul also enjoy cycling was such a bonus! They even offer guests pick-up and drop-off service if they plan to ride the bike trail. Breakfast was wonderful, from the first cup of coffee on the porch to the fresh fruit salad, frittata, toast and bacon. Eggs were fresh from chickens on the adjoining property and even the bacon was "homegrown!" I can't emphasize enough how very friendly and accommodating the Martellos are. They truly made us feel like old friends.


Like staying with friends

4.8 on July 08, 2012

The hosts were so hospitable, we felt like we were staying with friends or family. Lovely home with wonderful outdoor spaces. Delicious meal!


Stay at the best B&B ever

5 on April 30, 2012

Beds were comfortable Love the porches Great host and hostess Food was wonderful. Never ate so healthy in my life. We will be back.


Cook, eat, bike and sleep, priceless weekend

4.0 on November 29, 2011

We truly enjoyed our weekend stay with Chris and Paul. We took advantage of the cooking class offered by Chris and Paul, wonderful food and company. The rooms were nice, within a few miles of bike trails which we took advantage of and an easy drive to the local wineries. We would certainly stay again, maybe even get a ride in Paul's sweet 1949 Chevy pickup. John/Mary


Enchanting time away from home

5 on October 09, 2011

We visited Herb Garden B&B and Herb School in September. We spent 2 wonderful days enjoying Paul and Chris' home and neighborhood. Our stay was comfortable, relaxing and enjoyable. We attended Chris' cooking school and experienced a wonderful evening, trying new foods and meeting new friends. Paul and Chris were wonderful hosts, provided information on local happenings and the bike path. We tried a new winery and amish store per their suggestions. Amazing weekend. Wonderful food, great breakfast and friendly hosts. I will recommend this herb school and B&B to all. We loved our room and all the added comforts of home. Thank you Paul and Chris for a wonderful relaxing weekend. Tina Mc


Excellent B&B in NE Ohio

5 on September 12, 2011

The food was wonderful, the herb garden beautifully laid out, Chris and Paul were very knowledgeable about the lovely area. We definitely plan to return.


"Fine Hospitality"

5 on June 11, 2011

The house, especially the bedroom that we used, was beautifully decorated and immaculately clean. We thoroughly enjoyed our personal visit while being treated to an exquisitely prepared delicious breakfast. The friendly and homey atmosphere beats any motel that we ever stayed in, and we look forward to staying with you the next time we find ourselves in NE Ohio.


Herb Garden School of Cooking and B&B

Details

  • Nightly Rate $82 - $92
  • Reviews (26) 4.9
  • Rooms 3

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 440-294-2555

Visit Website »

View details

Top