4.2 on August 17, 2014
Overall, we had a wonderful stay. The room was gorgeous and very clean. We ordered the gourmet basket. the steak kabob was great, but the tuna was way overcooked. But the rest of the food was really good. We really enjoyed the experience of having the gourmet basket delivered to us. I loved the wine cellar and the overall feel of the bed and breakfast was very classy and we will definitely come back and stay longer.
5 on July 06, 2014
My husband & I have stayed here several times, & absolutely loved it every time! We have stayed in several different rooms, and were pleasantly surprised every time. The rooms are clean, beautiful & extremely comfortable. There are many things to do on the grounds. The place is peaceful and relaxing. The food is made fresh, served to you, and is delicious! The service is very nice, never rude! The Hide Away Country Inn is above and beyond what you'll expect. We can't wait to stay again!
4.8 on March 04, 2014
Quiet and cozy. Very nice service. We didn't get to eat in dining room as they weren't open on Mondays.
3.6 on February 18, 2014
I guess having a 'confirmed/printed' reservation means nothing to these people. Imagine being told 'sorry' on your Valentine/Anniversary (40th anniversary by the way) -- these people need to get their act together. We did get to stay on the 13th but had no hot water in the bathroom, no TV reception and all the candleholders around the tub were burnt down and matchsticks in the bottom :( What a shame because the room was gorgeous and the environment was peaceful.
5 on November 26, 2013
We enjoyed our stay it was beautiful view especially from the private deck in the hot tub. It was peaceful and romantic!
5 on October 16, 2013
So far I have experienced excellent service! The staff is very friendly and go above and beyond to provide you with satisfaction. The surroundings are beautiful and food is excellent.
5 on October 10, 2013
Our visit was very relaxing. Everyone we met were great. The food was delicious. Our room was lovely.
5 on September 09, 2013
If you love country, relaxation, romance, and luxury stay here! We had the most amazing time and didn't leave the grounds once. They have everything you need, want, and more. We stayed in the smith room and the Louis XIV rooms. They wee both very different but equally amazing in detail and comfort.
5 on September 06, 2013
Very good time, cozy place, nice staff, excellent food.
5 on August 22, 2013
Just outside Columbus OH is a charming escape from the city. The staff was incredibly attentive. The owner personally checked on us. Cute, clean and quiet. Sit on a hammock and watch the sun set - no attention to detail overlooked.
5 on August 21, 2013
Great service! Great food! Soft bedding!
5 on August 17, 2013
The atmosphere, room, and most importantly food were all excellent. We would come back again in a heartbeat. Also we felt like it was great value!
5 on August 15, 2013
Service was outstanding. Rooms were clean,comfortable, relaxing Food was delicious Area of Inn was gorgeous
5 on August 14, 2013
Very much enjoyed our stay, great service, great breakfast and great dinner the evening we arrived. Great place!!!
5 on August 13, 2013
Excellent service and food. Wonderful staff and facilities.
5 on August 13, 2013
4.8 on August 09, 2013
Food was really good.
4.8 on July 15, 2013
Pros: ~Peaceful and relaxing environment ~Welcoming, friendly, and accommodating staff and owner ~Clean and spacious room ~Comfortable furniture ~Very comfortable bed (no b. bugs) ~Relaxing Jacuzzi for two ~Excellent food ~Room service option ~Quiet surroundings Cons (suggestions we would have liked to have): ~Have Dish Network...would be nice to have some premium channels (HBO/Showtime) ~Need treading on the stairs next to the Jacuzzi as they get slippery ~Would be nice to have an electronic shade/covering to cover skylight as it gets very bright in the bedroom Overall, we greatly enjoyed our stay and plan to stay again in the near future!!
4.2 on June 23, 2013
enjoyed a nite in the hunters den. had a great dinner and was greated with a fabulous breakfast...will visit again
4.6 on June 13, 2013
They were friendly and helpful. Loved the oak suite. The food was wonderful. We will come again.
1.4 on March 12, 2013
Wedding day was in September, and nothing turned out as it should have. They have no professional cook (they have a cook, not professionally known). The wedding is not worry free. They rent all their tables and chairs (demonstrating that they are NOT a premier wedding sight). The tent is old, has numerous poke holes throughout, if it is raining all your guests will get wet. The owner is definitely NOT easy to work with, pour paperwork. The breakfast is not anything special. If you read all of the comments, they are usually angry (like we were with the terrible service) or sugary sweet (leading me to realize that you can write a good comment from anyone's computer. We had to set up all of our chairs. Not great for renting the entire place for our service. You pay large amounts to have to do all that. They expect you to carry those same chairs to the tent for the reception because they do not rent enough to cover both spots. If you rent the entire grounds for two days like we did, the rooms do not get clean. The beds might be made, but they are not swept, trash taken out, etc..... The employees they have are constantly quitting, probably because they don't get paid what they were told. Their are numerous complaints about the owner. One of our guests in the wedding party, asked for towels (three times during the day). They NEVER got them, because the small staff is all needed in the kitchen to make the wedding meal. The wedding planning is a joke. You might be shown what the time frame is for your wedding, but you won't see your wedding planner during the day of the wedding, she will be working at the bar the entire time. This is one big rip off! 20% gratuity is added to everything you spend there (and no gratuity is certainly merited!!)
Mrs Mother of the bride; I am so sorry it rained upwards of 6 inches the day of your daughter's wedding especially after several months of record setting draught. I am so sorry that a disgruntled employee has contacted you and caused your special moment of your daughters wedding memories to be tainted from her attack on the 23 year old business. I apologize for not cc (copying) you on all the communication for the 7 months of daily emails from you and your daughter. We answered each email from each person and provided copies of the the break down detail of the last minute changes to the wedding plan, including the allowance for the camper on the grounds, and the many other items. I'm sorry for the health issues you were experiencing on the weekend of your daughters wedding , as I have been facing the same challenges of sensitivity to food allergies for several years. If we could have changed the items out of our control I definitely would have done so immediately. Please accept my apologies for the 6 inches of rain. The smile on your daughters face, as I helped to adjust her gown before she walked down the aisle was priceless. I'm sorry you did not get to see her in that moment. I will never forget how happy and beautiful ...she was radiant. I hope and pray that when you look back as the years come, the memories will reflect that of what the beautiful pictures show, the true meaning of the day.
1.8 on January 09, 2013
Stayed for 2 nights with my daughters. The spa had 1 person so our 2 hour spa treatments took 6 hours. It ruined the whole day. We ate dinner there one night and the fish was terrible. We couldn't even eat it. Cleaning out room meant replacing our towels. They didn't even empty the trash. Not worth the cost!!!!!
Wow I wish something would have been said by anyone in your group during your stay or at check out. We are completely over whelmed by the comments, as the enormous tips that were left through out your stay to our staff was very much appreciated, but did not reflect this review. We have tried to touch base with you as soon as we saw the review comments and have had no return phone calls. I would like to make this right with you but I need to hear from you.. The spa treatments were as per directed to make your weekend nice slow and relaxing. If we would have known that you wanted the treatments at the same time we could have arranged for more therapists. The housekeeping staff was asked to do only what was done per a person in your group. Please contact us at your convenience. To anyone reading this or planning a Girlfriend Getaway... As of March 11, we have refurbished a non used suite at the Inn into a Girl Friend Getaway suite. Up to 10 people can get either an Asian pedicure, or hot stone pedicure at the same time. And up to 4 people can get massages at the same time.
4.4 on October 26, 2012
We decided that we wanted to get away for our 12th anniversary. We had never gone away without the kids before. What a wonderful time. The food, the room the serenity. It was wonderful and we look forward to returning.
5 on October 08, 2012
Excellent time for relaxation!
5 on October 08, 2012
5 on October 06, 2012
5 on October 06, 2012
A beautiful place.
5 on October 06, 2012
Excellent caring owner. Terrific chef with great menu.
5 on October 06, 2012
Great place with great employees and amenities.
5 on October 06, 2012
Each time my wife and I have stayed has been phenomenal! We have always been treated like we are the most important guests present. The rooms are always clean & beautiful, way better than any regular, even top-end, hotels.
1.4 on August 22, 2012
We made a reservation here to celebrate our anniversary, with the hopes of it being a nice quiet weekend. When we arrived, we found out that our room had been double booked, so we were moved into a "deluxe room". This room was in the basement, with NO ventilation (i.e. windows that opened), yet it had a fireplace - can you say fire hazard!? My allergies immediately went wild. To "fix" things the keeper brought down a large fan/ventilation system that made ridiculous noises all night. Then they said we'd get a complimentary bottle of wine with dinner. Well once we got to dinner, we were told that we could only have the house wine (which was awful). The food was ok - but beyond overly priced. I had also ordered the package of melted chocolate with fruit, pretzels, and marshmallows... this was a small ramican of melted chocolate, 3 strawberries, 4 small pretzels, 3 marshmallos, and two mini paint brushes - all for $50. What a crock! Needless to say - our weekend was a bust. I will never return here, even if I were offered a free weekend. You have been warned.
We tried to do everything possible to keep the SUPRISE his wife had planned for their anniversary. Sometimes no matter how hard you try. You can not make everyone happy. His wife wanted the upgrade and loved it.
2.0 on July 09, 2012
We were treated like a burden and unwanted while staying for two days at the Hideaway Country Inn. The owner was the worst of all the employees. Her and another employee did not treat us like paying guests until we were paying our bill at check out. The head housekeeper was the friendliest person we met during our stay, but sadly we only saw her for a few minutes. The advertise 'gourmet food', but actually the chef quit before our stay and someone else was doing the cooking. Don't ask any questions, they will treat you like an idiot. And don't believe everything on the website.
1. Credit card was declined. 2. Guest had no cash to pay. 3. Threw tempor tantrum trying to get us to discount stay, due to not having funds to pay. 4. Even got up grade for FREE. 5. Left before sheriff got there. 6. His future sister and brother-in-law paid for his stay. Best part of being an innkeeper. You get to meet all kinds of people. Just be aware payment is expected for services rendered.
4.6 on June 27, 2012
From the giant chess set in the front yard to the rustic tree swing out back, to the culinary garden by the breakfast room, to the newly redecorated tavern, to the double jacuzzis in the room, to the exquisite cuisine at breakfast and dinner, we couldn't have asked for more. Peter and Susan
4.2 on June 19, 2012
We purchased this two-night getaway because it was listed on a Living Social discount. We checked out the rooms on the website first, and visited the inn on Memorial Day weekend. We stayed Sunday night and Monday night, when dinner is NOT served. Our breakfasts were exceptional, and delivered to our room. We had the chocolate fondue in our room, which included strawberries, marshmallows, cookies, and pretzels to dip in the warm chocolate fondue. Small paintbrushes were included, in case we were feeling creative. Our bed was very comfortable, and the heart-shaped whirlpool tub-for-two was in the room. Despite the inn being fully booked the night of our arrival, we heard almost nothing from our fellow guests, only the creaking of the wood floor outside in the hall. This inn is staffed with friendly helpful ladies who will do whatever they can to make your stay as good as possible.
4.8 on March 05, 2012
Everything was wonderful, people were friendly & helpful, jacuzzi & fireplace very romantic, great food delivered to our room. We loved every minute, thank you, we'll be back.
3.8 on February 27, 2012
Took my girlfriend to the HideAway Country Inn for her birthday. I accomplished my goal of surprising her. Staff was terrific. Would come back again.
1.0 on February 27, 2012
I had bought the Living Social deal (LS). When I called to make the reservation, I asked about the included VIP seating for the chefs dinner. She told me it was a candle light dinner, you have your own private server and room. We found out they had charged us $159 for this. I went to the front office (FO) and they said "I wasnt on the phone with you when you called in, but I promise it's worth it, you'll end up spending about the same if you dine in the regular dining room." For $159 you would think a bottle of wine for the table would be included? We had 2 glasses of wine, for $12 on top of the automatic 20% gratuity. We looked at the dinner menu and realized we could've spent about half if we dined in the regular dining room. We saw the "eat chocolate naked" fondue set was in our room. I did not order that, but thought it was included in the deal. They ended up charging me for $39. The restroom light/fan didnt work nor did the lights over the jacuzzi. I told Debbie about it and she said she knew about it and had to go check the breakers. We never heard anything back, and it was never fixed. There was only decaf coffee in our room, and the cofffee pot looked like it hadn't been cleaned for days. I went to the FO and she said "oh, well do you want coffee delivered with breakfast tomorrow?" I said yes, I saw her write it down on a ticket. We did not receive coffee. I went to the FO again, She replied with "Ya, things got crazy this morning, everybody wanted something different." We left to do some shopping. When we came back, we noticed that two bath robes were gone, along with 3 towels. They replaced it with a hand towel and a washcloth. Nothing about the room or service felt like an upgrade. The FO kept coming up with excuses for everything. Never once did I get a "Sorry" from anyone when i came to them with a problem. This turned into a total of $900 trip with all their fee's. I only rated everything a 1-star because 0-stars was not an option.
Private Candle Light Dinners for 2 are in the private dining area with over 2 dozen candles, wood burning fireplace (when the weather is cool enought and all winter). The 5-course dinner includes items that are different than on the regular dining menu. A private server ie butler service. 2 hours of dining time. Only 2 booked per evening per private dining room. Wine spectator award winning cellar. Sorry but there are over 160 different choices.. What a great experience. The President of Honda America loves our private dining room. as well as a number of celebrities, managers, and business owners. Many engagements, baby announcements, anniversaries , and birthdays are celebrated with our private candle light dinners for two. Food allergies and special requests have exceeded guests expectations ! I invite you to book your own Private 5 course dinner for 2 in one of 3 areas 1. The library 2. The formal dining chandelier room. 3. The Wine Spectator Award Winning Wine Cellar.
5 on February 12, 2012
The HideAway is incredible. The service, the food is perfect.
5 on January 16, 2012
We were blown away by the service and dining at The Hide Away. We stayed in the Out of Africa Loft and it was twice as beautiful as the pictures I saw online. It was a surprise for my boyfriend and he lost it when we walked in the room. The downstairs was lit up with bunches of candles and the Jacuzzi was ready for us, I had asked them to set it up before we arrived. Once we unpacked and relaxed for a while we went over to the dining room for dinner and was shocked to find they had a Gourmet Chef. the meal was unbelievable and very well priced for every thing we got. The next morning after a fantastic breakfast we had massages in the spa that completed the perfect couple days!!!!!! Thank you so much for a great holiday its the best we have ever had. We will be back
You made me smile. Very big! Yes, Out of Africa is one of my favorites. Next time treat him to the Hunter's Den. He will love that one too. Thanks for the review. We sincerely appreciate it.
5 on December 05, 2011
This was a wonderful experience for my husband and I. The place was beautiful, the service was fantastic.
2.0 on November 06, 2011
We stayed in the Garden Room and it had a full bed. I thought it would be bigger but checked back and realized the website did not indicate the size of the bed. It was very comfortable though. Nice private bath with the 2 sinks. The private balcony is really half of the balcony with what seems like tall privacy fencing to separate the other half for the adjacent room. The place seemed old so EVERYTHING creaked! Going down the stairs, down the hallway, the chairs, the bed...EVERYTHING! The place was pretty clean so no bad comments there. I can't comment on the food because we didn't try dinner or breakfast. What wasn't worth the stay was the service. When I would call the front desk, Mark (I believe) made me feel as though I was bothering him...as though he had other more important things to deal with. The hot tub worked great at night, but the next day we couldn't get it to warm up. I called the office to get some help and he told me it would take a little time since its a lot of water. At checkout, he accused me of not leaving the cover on the tub during nighttime, which we DEFINITELY made sure to do, knowing we wanted to get in the next morning, too. The "Satellite Television" didn't have the basic channels. We had to tap into their awful WiFi by going to the downstairs hallway just to stream the LSU-Alabama game on an iPad. (While making reservations, Debbie boasted that they had the Big Ten Network...couldn't find that and neither could room service person). The "fresh baked cookies" were nowhere to be found. I don't recall seeing an "under counter refrigerator" but I could be wrong about that...so we got sodas from the vending machine outside, and those were warmer than the other sodas we already had and left out on the balcony to keep cold. In conclusion, I would NOT recommend this place. It makes me wonder what it takes to be a part of the "Diamond Collection here at Bedandbreakfast.com."
We appreciate your feedback and are happy that you appreciated the cleanliness of our facility. That is one of the most important features when staying away from home, isn't it? Perhaps having someone show you around the room briefly would have made things easier. We will work on that. There is a small built in refrigerator and coffee maker as well. We went back and checked the Satellite TV and it does work. Perhaps you weren't acquainted with the type of remote as often happens when introduced to a type different than your own. That isn’t your problem though, it is ours. Having written instructions for the remote and making sure ALL the staff know how to operate it should resolve that issue. Thanks for bringing it to our attention. ‘Creaking sounds’ part of the ambiance of a older home and this is something to be expected when you stay in a 1938 historical B & B as is described on the website. If you’d prefer something more modern then one our suites would delight you. Pictures and descriptions are on the website. I will find out the bed sizes and add them to the web description. See? Your feedback has already been a positive help. Regarding the hot tub issue we had two staffers who did see that the cover was left off over the evening and it was raining that day so it was inevitable that the water would be cold. Unless of course, and I wasn't there, it was a different hot tub that they observed. I apologize for that situation since our hot tubs are wonderful and something I would look forward to also. Being a Diamond Collection member is something we don't take lightly. Out of over 11,000 facilities that are part of bedandbreakfast.com only around 200 meet their standards. We are so pleased that we have been re-certified again for 2012. Their reviews are thorough and it is an honor to be part of the Diamond Collection. We will work even harder this year to make sure that guests like you are treated as Diamond Collection quality visitors.
4.2 on November 03, 2011
My husband and I stayed at the HideAway Country Inn and had a wonderful relaxing romantic time. We hope to be able to visit again soon.
4.8 on October 30, 2011
Had a wonderful experience at the HideAway
5 on October 19, 2011
meals were the best ever ! We were full for the rest of the night. Felt like a guest in a friends home. They could not have done anything to make it better.
5 on August 30, 2011
Awesome place, so great we have booked reservations for my husband to stay and work at the local hospital for 6 months. They really take great care of us, from dining to spa to wine cellar.
Thank you for your kind review. For your convenience we have a new website up now at www.hideawayinn.com. Here is something interesting to note for wine lovers: The new book, '1000 Great Everyday Wines from the World's Best Wineries get specific about the two Ohio wines that made this list. The HideAway Country Inn serves both. The authors write, "Among the more than 100 wineries in Ohio, Kinkead Ridge is one of the state's most compelling. Unlike the offerings of so many of its peers, Kinkead wines are never thin or insignificant, but have rich, varietal character and great balance. Owner Ron Barrett's gentle touch with Cabernet Franc has produced a full-bodied, richly complex wine with fragrant aromas of violet and black cherry, and enticing notes of spice, plum and red berries. It is an outstanding offering at a very modest price. The floral, honeyed Viognier/Roussanne is delicious too. Its elegant mix of orange blossom and tropical fruit flavors is set off by sharper notes of kiwi and guava. A crisp, acidic finish makes for a truly satisfying experience." Why not ask for one or both on your next visit?
3.8 on July 25, 2011
While the Hideaway Inn might just be a very romantic place to stay for couples, my sisters and I found it to be a very good place to stay for a girlfriends or sisters trip as well! We pampered ourselves with the head-to-toes massages and received great service while staying there. We only had breakfast, but the food was good and we felt like we got very good personal attention. The room was clean, well maintained and confortable. Great attention to customer service and to personal needs of guests. Thanks!
Then you and your friends are going to love what we are in the planning stages now for. The words jewelry show, make up fun, massage and appetizers are part of it. Keep track of this either on our website or Facebook! The new Bistro should be open by then too. Thanks for your review. Hope to see you soon.
4.8 on July 03, 2011
It as an amazing place, the food was superb, every single corner it is as if designed for romance. It is a place where you can actually escape from the rest of the world and have a world apart.
4.4 on June 27, 2011
We had a wonderful getaway for our anniversary. The Out of Africa room was great, we will be back!
Out of Africa is one of my favorites! But my husband loves the Hunters Den.
5 on April 28, 2011
There are really no words to descibe the service or comfort of our stay.It was the coziest,classy,personal stay that I have had in quite the while.My guest(who we were celebrating his 58th birthday) and my grieving the death of my husband in October was completely fullfilled by the caring and professionally staffed. We wanted to run away from lifes' problems and this Inn did everything Above and Beyond my expections!Debbie, Chef Michael and Staff went out of there way to help us meet our needs.Thank You Laura&Al
3.8 on April 25, 2011
We have visited many inns over the past years to celebrate our anniversary. The Hideaway Inn is a perfect location for a romantic weekend. We stayed in the Tree House Suite and were very pleased with everything. Beautiful setting in a quiet location. This is a lovely old home that has been refurbished with modern conveniences. Wine cellar a very nice touch. Dinner was cozy with a great presentation of food. We would definitely consider returning to experience a different suite.
Our new website is up and running. (The old one was hacked into by a former employee who also posted negative reviews all over. Waiting for the FBI report on that.) But it did motivate us to develop a new website and you can really get a feel for each room. New pictures also will help you pick out a different suite. Check out our activities page (Under The Inn heading) and perhaps visit during an area event too. We want you to have a memorable experience...Again!
5 on April 24, 2011
we found this picture perfect place on the internet, and were celeabrating our anniversary. so we were hoping for the best. we were happily surprised to find the staff very friendly and happy to make your experience wonderful, food was fantastic, including breakfast in bed. our room was beautiful, clean and just what we had hoped for,with a fireplace and a jacuzzi a beautiful romantic weekend
3.0 on April 20, 2011
I recently stayed here on the living social promotion. Sunday - Tuesday so it was quite dead. Our room, the garden room, was small compared to the other 2 rooms we looked at when the maid was cleaning. Our bed was small, only a full. It didn't say on the website that it was a queen or king, I guess I just assumed it would at least be a queen. The hot tub outside was nice, however we had a window above our suite and there were little kids in the window looking out and dancing/making faces at us. Not romantic or private. It was clean. A couple of ants but that is expected in the country. The breakfast was fine, no complaints. We didn't eat dinner there either night because of only having one option for food. Luis was excellent. Anything we needed he got right away. Great guy! The ground were lacking. Maybe because it was early in the season, or the crappy weather, but there was nothing to really do right there except the Chess game which is a nice add on. The worst thing about the whole place was the smell of the water. I understand it is well water, and I was brought up on well water growing up, but it did not smell like rotten egg. It was so bad we had to shower with the window open and keep the window on the door open as well when we showered. So it also gave the hottubs an "ocean-like" smell mixed with the cholorine. All in all it's a nice little quaint place. I am glad I got the Living Social deal, otherwise I think it's a little pricey for what they offer.
Thanks for coming to visit us. The particular day you were here seven other rooms were occupied so there was not a huge variety of rooms to choose from. We apologize for the water. Sometimes, out in the country, the well water will give off a funny odor. We do send our water through a filtration system in order to get the best quality of water possible. We will be sure to check the filters. In regards to the menu, we actually offer a wide range of top-notch food from our outstanding chef. Come visit again when the weather is nice so you can experience all that the Hide Away Country Inn has to offer!
4.8 on April 17, 2011
What a marvelous getaway! Everything about our stay was first class. Rooms and service were wonderful. Hats off to the chef! Dinner was outstanding! Already planning a fall getaway at the Hideaway Inn. I couldn't have had a more relaxing and enjoyable birthday mini vacaqtion. Many thanks to the staff for making this a memorable visit.
4.6 on April 11, 2011
I purchased a voucher on LivingSocials Deals and was very pleased with our stay. We had a beautiful room with a jacuzzi on the balcony. The food was fantastic. In fact, my husband had the shrimp with andouille sausage fettuccine and said it was one of the best dishes he has ever had. The only change that I would like to see them make would be to provide more information on activities in the area.
You will be pleased to know that our new website is up and there is a long list of activities posted. Please check out the website at www.hideawayinn.com. On the menu under 'The Inn' you will see 'Attractions and Activities.' We are in process of getting them posted on a google map however they are listed with their addresses. Some activities shown are: Sleigh rides (winter), Carriage rides (warm weather); Horse back riding (May-October); Area trails for hiking and birdwatching all year long; Charter Boat (warm weather); Under the Dining catagory there is a section marked Dinner and a Show. Here it has a listing of the events in the local theatres for that month. Thank you for your suggestion. We have done just what you asked.
3.4 on April 03, 2011
The concept of the Hideaway Inn is wonderful. It is truly tucked away, but just a few minutes away from town. The chef was excellent. Every meal was served with a delicious homemade muffin of some kind. The owner is very personable and warm. She sat with us at breakfast and inquired about our stay. The food was a little pricey and did not offer much in the way of fish and poultry. It cost $9.00 to add a chicken breast to a salad. The jacuzzi tub was wonderful! If you are not use to well water, the smell can make you sick. We were disappointed in the cleanliness of the room. We had to request that the dust and cobwebs behind the bed be cleaned. The window and curtains were full of dust and cobwebs also. The owner saw to it that our dust concerns were taken care of immediately. The mattress on the bed in the Carpenter Suite is old, lumpy and sags. I felt like I was sinking. It did not make for a very good nights sleep. Overall, I will say that the friendliness of the staff made up for the lumpy bed and cobwebs.
4.6 on March 30, 2011
We spent two nights at HideAway Country Inn. The staff made us feel as if we were in our own home and did everything possible to make our stay an enjoyable one. Each room is furnished in a different style and each is exceptional. Well worth a visit if you are in Ohio or passing through. Jerry & Helen Lyons
4.2 on February 14, 2011
My husband and I were looking for a romantic and quiet place to reconnect and just get away, and we found it at the Hideaway! We enjoyed our stay and are looking forward to visiting again!
5 on February 05, 2011
EVERYONE FROM THE RESERVATION OPERATOR TO THE INNKEEPER TO THE OWNER TO THE MASSAGE THERAPIST AND THE ATTENDANT FOR OUR ROOM WAS OUTSTANDING AND VERY PROFESSIONAL BUT PERSONABLE. THE FOOD WAS JUST WONDERFUL. WE WILL BE SPREADING THE WORD AMOUNG OUR FRIENDS.
4.0 on January 11, 2011
I booked 4 rooms at the inn to celebrate my mother's 75th birthday with all the sisters, granddaughters, aunts, etc. in mid December. After booking I discovered some less than positive feedbacks on this site and Tripadvisor which greatly concerned me. I telephoned the Inn to discuss my reservations, explaining that this was a very important occassion and that I could not risk dissapointment. I was reassured by the management that the problems occurred during a period under which the house manager was undependable and was since fired. A new chef was hired and I was told that all would be wonderful. Shortly after that, the chef personally called me to discuss the multiple course private dinner that I requested. He too promised that wewould be pleased. Well, we were definitely pleased when we left and I hope to return next year again. The rooms were absolutely beautiful, charming, clean and comfortable. The service was great and the Chef was true to his word! Dinner was course after, wonderful course of the best quality, creative presentation and professionally served cuisine. I didn't imagine that this quality could come out of anything but a trendy metropolitan establishment. I have been a caterer for a large established firm in Columbus for over 20 years and I am hard to impress, but I was very impressed. I think you will be too!
Thank you so much for understanding and giving us a chance to overcome the fraudulent reviews. We are in the process of contacting the websites with the reviews posted by the former employee who went on later to cause even more problems with our old website. We are submitting the FBI reports on the matter to them. However two weeks ago our new website went up and we feel it is even more user friendly and descriptive that before. Please check it out at www.hideawayinn.com. If you have any suggestions please let us know. We hope to have you visit us again very soon. Great new wines!!
4.2 on January 09, 2011
We got a real deal on this room and it was a perfect anniversary getaway. The food was great, the room was great, and I have never experienced better staff outside of 5 star hotels. We had a wonderful time. The only negatives are (1) the coffee is shockingly terrible, and (2) it's an old house so you can sometimes hear other guests clearly.
5 on January 03, 2011
This is my wife and I second stay here and the food and atmosphere is second to none. If you looking for a ton to do and see then this may not be for you but if you are looking to getaway from it all this is the spot for you. This stay we stay in the main house and was very nice being able to roll out of bed to go down to an incredible breakfast by the fire. Then a return upstairs for a whirlpool tub for two. A trip to Cooper's Mills for out of this world jams, jellies, and all things good. Back to the room for naping before heading down stairs for dinner with a trip to the wine cellar. The food with the new chef was outstanding. Last but not least the Owner Deb Miller is wonderful in the care to detail and making sure your stay is one that you want to repeat. Darren and Elizabeth.
4.2 on December 24, 2010
Was looking for a romantic place to take my wife that wasn't too far away. Found a diamond in Bucyrus. Isnt' exactly cheap but the rooms and the dining are worth every penny if staying at a romantic inn is what you are looking for. You will doing yourself a favor by dining there as well. Chef Mike is amazing.i will never look at salmon again the same thanx to him whipping up some cajun flavor for us. we will return. I want to stay in the Africa room!
4.6 on November 15, 2010
The Innkeepers were very accommodating, and their new chef, Mike, is world class. Overall a nice place for a romantic get-a-way.
4.2 on October 07, 2010
If you are looking for a quiet, comfortable getaway this is the place for you. We awoke each morning well rested anticipating a delicious breakfast. The Innkeepers, Reeves and Melodie were very gracious and accomodating
2.0 on September 27, 2010
Though we shared the obituary of our family member, the owner accused us of lying about his death and would not let us out of our reservation. She was abusive and completely inflexible. Because this happened to be our anniversary weekend, we decided to make the most of it and try to enjoy ourselves despite the circumstances. We chose a loft suite for its jacuzzi tub and fireplace, however, the fireplace was not functional. When we asked about it we were told we were unreasonable for expecting the fireplace to be turned on this time of year. (It was late September and the temps went down into the 40's while we were there). We paid extra for a room with this feature and specifically requested a room with a fireplace when we made the reservation. No mention was made that they don't turn them on until early October. On top of all this, we could hear the guests in the next room, our bed was distractingly creaky and the skylights directed the morning sun directly into our eyes, hindering us from receiving the much needed rest we needed after such a stressful weekend. Needless to say, our visit was very disappointing. We surely did not receive what we expected for the price.
4.8 on May 25, 2010
Dinner choices - excellent. Wine choices - excellent. Service - excellent. Overall - excellent!!
2.0 on May 24, 2010
We arrived to find our room had been double booked so we were upgraded. The upgraded room smelled like someone had been chain smoking in the bedroom, so they moved us to a smaller room. There was only well water in the room. A smoke detector in the downstairs hallway of the B&B had a low battery and beeped all night long. The walls are paper thin and everything squeaks so we heard our neighbors and anyone walking up the stairs all night long. The bed didn't even have a matress protector, just a fitted sheet. The room had nowhere to sit except the bed which squeaked like crazy. At 9:20 pm we had to head into town to buy bottled water because no one was in the office and there wasn't any water on site other than well water. We had asked for extra pillows and they never returned with any. Part of our package included a chocolate fondue set. They brought it to us a few hours late then as we went to use it we discovered there was nothing to light it with, therefore we couldn't melt the chocolate. We skipped breakfast the next morning just to checkout because it was so miserable. When we explained all the problems to the person at the front desk the next morning they said they were at the front desk until 10 pm and we should have informed them of the issues, but when we went into town (well before 10 pm) the office door was locked and there was not a person to be found. I would absolutely NOT recommened this B&B. It was a terrible time and couldn't end fast enough.
Thank you for your comments, I do hope your wife had a beautiful baby, as I understand she was due to deliver anytime. It was our understanding that your wife had booked an upgraded suite from the 50% special promotional thru the Fish Radio Station in Cleveland. She wanted to suprise you with the jacuzzi in the suite, and for her back. The room with the package did not include a jacuzzi. The ammenitites that went with the package were in the upgraded suite that you chose not to use. When you switched rooms, it was inadvertantly missed on the move. We do have a pop machine for your water needs outside and visiable from both buildings. Our office was open until 11 p.m. We do have a limited staff, but there is a buzzer located at the front desk that rings to our staff personnel when they are attending to the needs of other guests. We do wish you the best.
3.0 on April 16, 2010
The room was beautiful and well-kept (Africa room). However, the grounds were lacking. Chairs needed cleaning and painting. The food was okay, but not what we would have expected for the price. This inn seems to have not kept up to the standards it had at our last stay.
Yes the chairs are rocking chairs and yes they did need to get painted. The weather had not cooperated to be warm enough to scrap and paint, as we do each fall before the winter hits, and each spring when the weather maintains over 65 degrees for a week. The buildings and fences have to warm up and keep temperature. Please revisit the paint is continuing as we have already applied 50 gals of paint. As long as our interns hang in there, the updates will be finished soon!! Please feel free to come and help. LOL Actually since your last stay 5 years ago, we have added the following: work out room with treadmill, and eliptical, massage room, expanded the kitchen into a commerical teaching cooking school kitchen,added a wine cellar, re-concreted the sidewalk, and added a new sign. The place did look ugly with the snow just finish melting. Now the flower are in bloom and wow is it pretty!!
1.6 on March 02, 2010
Room ice cold when we arrived. Went to dinner blue smook downdraft and we told waitress. Handle on spa cold broke. Food worst we ever experienced. Bathroom no place for toothbrush, etc, anything on sink very small and shower no place for soap or shampoo. Would not recommend or stay again.
I am sorry we did have problem with the fireplace in the dining room. The guest did check in during the cleaning process and their room had not been double checked. We tried to accomondate them since they did arrive 15 minutes after the last guest checked out. Please come when the your Suite is Perfect anytime after 4 p.m.
5 on December 08, 2009
Escape your life and be treated like royalty, the food was awesome and the staff second to none. For a place to disconnect from the outside world and reconnect to your life come to the hideaway.
5 on September 28, 2009
This is one of the FEW bed and breakfasts we found that will take a one night stay. With 2 kids in sports, dance, and music, it is very hard to get away. Check out their last minute specials. I was able to suprise my wife with dinner and a massage.
4.4 on June 04, 2009
We stayed at HideAway Country Inn on our wedding night. It is extremely easy to find off State Rte 4. Upon our arrival, we saw a family of dear grazing the corn fields in front of the inn. The scenery is absolutely beautiful! They even had a lifesize chess board on the grounds. It was such a peaceful night after our crazy packed wedding day. We stayed in the "Treehouse" room which has its own staircase entrance. The room was a full suite with jacuzzi and all. The room was extremely clean and comfortable. The bed was very soft that we fell asleep in a matter of minutes. The staff was very courteous and hospitable (I had a small reservation issue that was resolved after a single phone call). I highly recommend staying here. I believe my wife and I will have to return for our anniversary!
4.8 on May 19, 2009
My wife and I enjoy coming here every year for our anniversary. Very clean, great friendly service, really good breakfast.
5 on May 12, 2009
We just had our wedding here. Wow is it beautiful. I can not wait to have time to go thru our 700 pictures!!!! The Photographer just fell in love with this place. Debbie and the Staff were the best around. I am a sales manager at another hotel. A very large hotel in one of the big Cities of Ohio. The staff here went out of the way. They did more for us than we would be able to do at our hotel. All the staff cared even to the guy who takes out the trash. The great part was that we could have the party go as long as we liked, as we took over the entire Inns' 12 rooms. The breakfast was amazing. The Grounds beautiful. The Staff exceeded our every need. They said Hide Away does over 300 weddings each year, now I understand why... Bar tenders were very engaged with each person. Servers were neat and clean, prompt with wonderful food. We did not even know clean up was going on. Then to top it off, a member of our wedding party asked to have the room --- lit on fire.. This meant the staff set up 48 candles around the jacuzzi, filled the tub, dimmed the lights, turned on soft music, a romantic dream for an exhausted bride and groom. I am understating the beauty of the room. Absolutely incrediable. If you are questioning having your wedding here.. by all means DO NOT. I repeat Do Not Pass UP this PLACE !!! They take on the wedding as if it was their own personal family wedding.. By ALL MEANS HAVE YOUR WEDDING HERE !!
3.0 on March 08, 2009
Even though it was a nice place it was not worth the money they are charging for a room and watch for "extra" fees added on when you are checking out. We had to dispute several.
Thank you for bringing this to my attention. As I was out of town at a Professional Innkeeping conference. I am not sure what the problem was, if you would please contact me so I can make it right, I would appreciate your response. HideAway Country Inn does not charge for items that are not ordered by the guest. Any extra fees are sales tax at 7%. The guest has not addressed the situation with us.