Gilded Swan Bed & Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.9
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
42 Reviews

Write A Review

Exceeded our expectations!

5 on November 16, 2014

What a beautiful treasure the Guilded Swan turned out to be. I planned a romantic quick getaway for me and my boyfriend this Veterans Day and Elaine was icing on the cake. From the moment I contacted her for a reservation to even now....she has made a lasting impression. We drove from Columbus but spent the day relaxed as made our way up. We stopped at one of the many nearby vineyards and enjoyed the afternoon with great wine and pleasantries from the locals and barkeep. When we made it to the B&B Elaine was there to greet us and ensured we were comfortablely settled in. Our evening was quiet and very comfortable in the beautiful king suite. The home is beautiful from top to bottom and we enjoyed gazing at all of the delights Elaine has collected for the home over the years. Breakfast was yummy and enjoyable with good conversations from the tenants and Elaine's company at the table. We are grateful to have been able to stay with her and look forward to another adventure really soon. I would highly recommend anyone looking for a lovely place to stay in the lovely town of Ashtabula.


Veterans Day Gift

4.8 on November 12, 2014

Elaine Swanson is not only a great cook and hostess but she graciously gives back; offering her four beautifully appointed rooms to veterans on this holiday, simply as a thank you to those who have served our country. My husband and I entered this Victorian home in Ashtabula to find a beautifully renovated, immaculately clean and well appointed Victorian home. Communication prior to our warm welcome was clear and timely. Our room had a king bed with private sink and toilet and shared a huge bathroom with shower offering every amenity, including a microwave for early or late coffee or tea. Another room we saw had a queen bed and a large en-suite bathroom with whirlpool tub. The dining room table was beautifully set and our complimentary breakfast was a feast of coffee, juice, fresh fruit, a scrumptious potato and cheese strata with hot cheese sauce, sausage served with warm maple syrup and warm cinnamon streusel muffins. Elaine we discovered is an accomplished artist, which shows in her wonderful decorating and attention to detail and is very civically involved. If you are in the Ashtabula County area, we recommend this as a great place to stay a few days. Elaine is very helpful and knowledgeable about things to do and see in the area and you will leave feeling quite pampered. Thank you!


Set the bar high!

5 on November 12, 2014

This was our first stay at a B & B and we were a bit unsure of what to expect, we were greeted by the beautiful owner Elaine, who quickly made us feel both comfortable and welcome. The house was filled with period pieces fitting of its' age, which added to the ambiance of romance and sophistication. A private and lovingly prepared room provided needed rest and relaxation. Breakfast was abundant and delicious. We were absolutely honored to stay as quests of Elaine for Veterans Day, and were treated like royalty from start to finish. We will definitely return and be sure to tell our friends. Thank you Elaine for setting such a high standard and for caring so much. Your kindness was deeply appreciated and will be long remembered. ~ C & C


What a treat, house full of atmosphere, and owner delightful.

5 on September 02, 2014

My husband and I needed a night away, and not too far from home. We arrived and met owner Elaine, and toured the house. Love those homemade cookies waiting for us! Wonderful Victorian home, and so homey and clean. We toured the Harbor area, had a fabulous Mexican dinner (and margaritas just blocks from the house. The best was the stuffed french toast for breakfast, AMAZING! I enjoyed sitting on the front porch reading, playing cards and game. We are welcoming empty nest after 30 years of parenting!


Comfort, charm, and hospitality

4.8 on July 20, 2014

Elaine's Gilded Swan was the perfect place for my weekend with my mom on an ancestry trip. We stayed in the main floor suite - spacious, charming, clean, and comfortable. We bought lunch items at Cleveland's West Side Market before going to Ashtabula, and enjoyed them in the Gilded Swan's kitchen before heading out visiting the area. Elaine's breakfasts - tailored to even this vegetarian! - were tasty and beautifully presented. She and Tony are so knowledgeable about the area and offered great suggestions of places to visit. Highly recommend.


History and Hospitality

4.8 on July 19, 2014

On a geneology journey with my daughter we were two night guests of the Gilded Swan. Elaine and Tony are attentive and were of great help with information to aid our data gathering. The home is a treasure of vintage decor providing insight into the early days of Ashtabula. Each breakfast was oh so tasty. This quaint and elegant retreat should satisfy most all people desiring a special experience - even without the need for a special occasion. It would be a delight to return for more of the attentive care amidst special surroundings.


GREAT PLACE TO STAY

5 on July 09, 2014

We stayed at the Gilded Swan on the 4th of July Weekend 2014. The Bed & Breakfast was absolutely charming and hospitable. We enjoyed Elaines wonderful breakfast . The location was great for Lake Erie and Geneva on the Lake. Rooms were just beautiful and very well maintained. We loved all the antiques all over the house. At first we didn't think it would be private enough but, we didn't here the other guests at all.. Breakfast was particularly nice as the conversations with the other guests at a formal table was incredible. You are served your meal and it is cleared away when you are finished . They used real china. Was a great trip and would do it again in a heartbeat.. Great stay for little money. cj and rick


We'll be back

4.8 on July 08, 2014

We’ve stayed three times at the Gilded Swan (3 different rooms) and will be back again. All were comfortable and furnished with details to explore. Some of the rooms share a shower, but I have never been inconvenienced by that, and all rooms have toilets and sinks. Two of the rooms have Jacuzzis. Staying there is like visiting family. We were greeted with genuine friendliness no matter what time we arrived. There are furnishings and knick knacks everywhere creating a Victorian atmosphere. There are comforts of home like a kitchen, use of the refrigerator, fresh cookies (and sometimes scones), and amenities around the house to enjoy. She even left me a pot of tea in the refrigerator for iced tea in the evening. Elaine and Tony are expert tour guides for selecting places to visit and how to get there. They are very knowledgeable about the city which lends to fascinating conversations. Like I said, it's like visiting family! Elaine will prepare a wine and cheese plate for you for an affordable price. And if all that isn’t enough Elaine is an excellent cook and sets a beautiful table with Victorian flair, even real silver cutlery. Count yourself lucky if you are there when she cooks stuffed French toast. Make sure you have her tell you about how she bought the house and all the work that has been done on it and you will understand her passion for operating a B&B.


Gilded Swan - a great stay

5 on June 09, 2014

Although the owners live off-site, they arranged their schedules to greet when I arrived and adjusted the breakfast time to fit my schedule. And, what a tasty breakfast it was! The room was comfortable and very attractive. The Gilded Swan was a great place to stay


Great Experience at the Gilded Swan

5 on April 28, 2014

My husband and I spent a night at the Gilded Swan as we "wined our way" through Ashtabula County. The décor is stunning with great attention to detail. Tony was a terrific host and we thoroughly enjoyed his company as well as the delicious breakfast he served us. We stayed in the Vintage Suite which was beautifully decorated, roomy and very comfortable. Would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone visiting the area - you won't be disappointed!


How generous

4.6 on November 24, 2013

We were surprised to learn that the Gilded Swan B&B in Ashtabula was offering a free night's stay for veterans on Veterans Day. What a very gracious gesture. As a Vietnam veteran, I haven't seen any establishment that generous to vets. It warmed my heart, and I felt honored, as I'm sure the other vets did who came this year. Elaine is a woman of many talents, and my wife and I were impressed with all she's done with the house. Tony made us a bountiful breakfast and gave us a thorough history lesson and sightseeing guide to Ashtabula. How many B&Bs boast former mayors as tour guides? Thank you, both, for your kind and thoughtful offer.


Enjoyable stay

5 on November 21, 2013

We contacted Elaine on Monday night, right after our grandson was born, because we wanted to travel to Ashtabula the next day to meet him and visit his parents. Even though she was out of town, she and Tony made arrangements to accommodate us. What a treat! Tony met us at the door, gave us a personal tour of the house which was charming and immaculately clean. After we'd spent time with our new grandson, we were able to relax and enjoy a good night's sleep. Tony served us a delicious breakfast and we thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast conversation with him. This is definitely the place we will stay on our next family visit.


A "Treasure"...

5 on November 04, 2013

My daughter and I enjoyed a wonderful weekend at the Gilded Swan. Not only is the B & B a treasure, but Elaine is as well. Her warm and generous personality invites you to relax and make yourself comfortable. Breakfast was over the top and a major YUM!!! I look forward to sharing the experience with my husband soon. Thank you, Elaine.


Gilded Swan

4.8 on October 28, 2013

Just returned from my birthday weekend at The Gilded Swan. Elane and Tony were awesome and gave great advise about where to go and dine in the area. Elaine's breakfasts were to die for - never knew french toast could be so good! The home was elegant and clean and we enjoyed ourselves very much...........


One of the Best B&Bs

5 on October 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Vintage Room at The Gilded Swan on Oct. 11, 2013 to celebrate her birthday. We've stayed at many B&Bs before, and this is by far one of the best! It's situated within easy access to great wineries and scenic covered bridges, and more. Elaine was the perfect hostess, very friendly and knowledgeable of the area and its history. Her breakfast made us sorry that we could spend only one night, for now. We'll be back!


Our Third Stay at The Gilded Swan!

5 on September 16, 2013

We stayed at the Gilded Swan for our third time on July 26th & 27th, 2013. My wife and I came to Ashtabula for my 45th high school reunion (AHS). The B&B is located two blocks from where I grew up, I was in my old neighborhood! Almost like going home. The breakfasts that Elaine served were not only outstanding taste wise but they looked like what you see in food magazines. We stayed upstairs in the Harbor Room this time. Spotlessly clean old Victorian charm. This is our third stay with Elaine. What more need I say except we'll be back! (At Christmas time there is a Christmas tree in EVERY room! - Been there.)


Wonderful getaway!

5 on September 08, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Vintage Suite at the Guilded Swan for two nights for a short getaway. The suite was beautifully decorated along with the rest of the house. We were amazed to find out that Elaine had handpainted most of the wall decor in the house. We were disappointed that we didn't get to meet Elaine, as she was out of town during the time of our stay, but our host, her husband Tony, was very gracious, informative and also a great cook. The breakfasts were fantastic. Tony gave us some great recommendatons for dinner and sightseeing in the area. We would definitely recommend staying at the Guilded Swan if you are ever in the area..


beautiful getaway

5 on August 26, 2013

We stayed at the Gilded Swan during a weekend getaway to see the Conneaut D-Day reenactment. The Vintage suite was just beautiful! I loved all the little decorative and historic touches everywhere. The breakfasts were incredible. We are thinking of making the D-Day weekend an annual event, and if so, we will be back regularly.


Outstanding - and breakfast rocked!

4.6 on August 23, 2013

My sis and I needed a place to stay as re-enactors for the D-Day event in nearby Conneaut. We were very impressed and treated very well. The hostess Elaine accommodated all our needs and more. But the best part was the company at breakfast and the breakfast itself!!! people traveling to the event made for good conversation. The breakfast was superb! Home made bisquits, scones, breakfast casserole with eggs, potatoes and cheese sauce. Fresh fruit, coffee, tea and juice. She had homemade muffins upon our arrival and check in. I would highly recommend this B&B if coming to experience Ashtabula. The next day upon our exit we stopped in town and checked out the many shops and Farmers Market. They have a few museums but some are not open on Sunday so be sure to ask Elaine. It was a beautiful day and stayed to check out the Bridge going from Ashtabula to Conneaut and the harbor area. Beautiful place to be in summertime.


Perfect!!

5 on July 27, 2013

We booked a weekend for my parents and could not have been more pleased. The house is decorated beautifully and the breakfasts were delicious. More importantly, though, Elaine was the most gracious and personable hostess, even sitting down with us at breakfast to visit and share her knowledge of Ashtabula. We will definitely book at the Gilded Swan again!


A peaceful getaway at the Gilded Swan

5 on July 06, 2013

It was time for a short getaway with my wife so I chose the Gilded Swan. It was a beautiful home and Elaine provided great hospitality. The breakfast was fantastic and offered many choices that were all superb! Our room was berautiful and it was a great value. If you come to the area, the Gilded Swan is a great choice.


Stunning

5 on June 21, 2013

My husband and I were looking for a place to stay for a short getaway. What a wonderful place. The Bed and Breakfast was beautifully decorated, the breakfast was delicious, the innkeeper was very friendly, etc. I could go on and on lauding the praises of the Gilded Swan. I would certainly highly recommend it to anyone who wants a unique place to stay.


Surprisingly Personalized

5 on March 18, 2013

Our stay at the Gilded Swan was wonderfully refreshing, comfortable and surprisingly personalized. Our hostess, Elaine Swanson, catered to my vegan diet beautifully, introducing me to creative meals I hadn't even thought of. The B&B is within a 10-minute drive of a beautiful beach/park/pavilion, Lakeshore Park, where you can take a walk along the lake shore, beach comb, or simply sit and enjoy a great view of the lake (you can't really tell it's not the ocean!). The rooms are beautiful and tastefully done, the mood was restful, and the proprietor was just part of the entire delightful experience. I would totally recommend this B&B; in fact, we will probably return to it in the future.


cozy

5 on October 19, 2012

My husband and I got to experience this B&B in September 2012. We were very pleased with our stay! Our host made a fabulous breakfast for us! If you enjoy being by a fireplace, go for the room on the first floor! Very romantic atmosphere! Loved the decor of such a gorgeous home! We highly recommend others to go and enjoy this B&B!


Wonderful Weekend

4.6 on September 26, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary during our stay and it could not have been any better. We were so happy we didn't want to leave. Also, Elaine's husband is a wonderful cook!!


Excellent value

5 on September 25, 2012

This house is charming, the food is great and Elaine is a wonderful hostess. Two of us stayed for one night and we want to come back and experience it in the winter. Thanks Elaine.


A Hidden Gem

4.8 on September 06, 2012

We were extremely happy with our stay at the Gilded Swan. The place is beautifully decorated and well maintained. The rooms were nice, clean and very comfortable. Elaine made our stay very comfortable and we loved the interesting converstations we had over delicious breakfast. She was also very helpful with her suggestions about the places to visit and good restaurants nearby. We will definitely be visitng this place in the future.


Wonderful B&B Near Lake Erie

5 on September 05, 2012

My wife and I spent two nights at the Gilded Swan in the Lake Erie room over Labor Day weekend. We absolutely loved staying and this lovely B&B, furnished with many antiques. The price per nice was very reasonable, especially given that our room had a two-person whirlpool tub. Every morning Elaine prepared a delicious breakfast (I usually skipped lunch because I ate so much!). If you're looking for a B&B close to Ohio's wine country, you should definitely check out the Gilded Swan.


YES!!! It is possible to find a B&B proprietor who LOVES what they do...

5 on September 02, 2012

Kudos to Elaine Swanson. What a beautiful home, outstanding service and hospitality!! We stayed last night in the Vintage Suite...it was PERFECT. We felt at home. Breakfast was phenomenal. It was beyond our expectations. You can truly see how much love and passion Elaine has for her B&B!! Thank YOU Elaine, you are a breath of fresh air and it is refreshing to know that this just isnt a "job" for you.... its a passion!!! See you again soon... Your beyond happy and impressed guests, Catherine and Carmen!!!!!


Fantastic Retreat!

4.6 on August 25, 2012

We bicycled from Bloomfield, Ohio on the Greenway bike path to Astabula. Elaine greeted us with fresh baked cookies, wine, ice water, ice tea and a very inviting smile. We really enjoyed the house and it's history. The rooms were charming and very relaxing after our journey of 33 miles on bicycles. Breakfast was great as well! Fresh berries, a great French toast egg bake with sausage and fruit muffins. This was a very enjoyable stay!


What a deal!

4.6 on June 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this bed and breakfast for two nights while staying in town for a wedding. Two other guests of the wedding stayed at the same time. When we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised that the rooms were spacious and well decorated. Our room, the grape room, was on the first floor and was very quiet. The owner, Elaine, was a gracious and welcoming host. She spent much time chatting with us at breakfast and answering any questions we had. The highlight of our stay was definitely the breakfast. My favorite part was the poached pear with blueberries and vanilla though the stuffed french toast with cream cheese, honey, nuts and peaches came in a close second. For the price, this bed and breakfast is a great value. We have stayed at other bed and breakfasts equally as nice for much more money. The only thing I was missing was a mini fridge with bottled water in the dinning room and a cookie jar with homemade cookies every day. We would pay 5-10$ more a night for water and cookies.


Amazing in Ashtabula

5 on April 04, 2012

Absolutely beautiful decor and a positively charming hostess. Elaine Swanson does a superb job of welcoming you to this quaint B&B. She is very knowledgeable of the local activities and restaurants, not to mention an amazing cook! Anyone heading to Ashtabula county should definitely consider staying here!


A Comfy, Nautical Delight!

4.6 on March 27, 2012

I searched the Ashtabula area for a bed&breakfast and ended up at The Gilded Swan for a one night stay on March 16, 2012. The set up with the owner before I arrived was comfortable. I was plesantly surprised when I arrived at this elegant Victorian home. I was left to come and go as I pleased with good security. After dinner I wondered in amazement at all the historical artifacts and antiques that filled the rooms. I was gradually transported to a bygone era. My room was the "Lake Erie Suite" filled with cool nautical antiques and decor. The jacuzzi tub was a delight complete with an impressive gold swan faucet. I was impressed with Elaine's decorator touch throughout The Gilded Swan. You could tell that much care went into the display of everything. The area was very quiet and I fell asleep like a baby. In the morning, I was served a wonderful sausage omelet with lime yogurt over peaches. The coffee was great along with delightful conversation with Elaine, our host, leaving me with a charming experience. I look forward to returning to this great bed and breakfast when I visit the area again. Thank you Elaine!


A Snowy Experience

4.0 on January 15, 2012

We stayed at the Gilded Swan B&B during the first heavy snowfall of 2012. We enjoyed the experience with Elaine's personal touch. The room was clean and well kept. We were met each morning with a fabulous breakfast and warm conversation. Even though the snow was piling up outsice she timed our daily adventures with the snow removal service so it would not inconvenience anyone. I recommend this place if your heading towards the Ashtabula area.


Our first stay

4.4 on November 28, 2011

It was labor day weekend and we were bringing friends up that have never satyed at a B&B before. My boyfriend and I have stayed at several in the area and tried to do last minute booking at our usual B&B but they were all filled so I found the Gilded Swan on line. When i called she answered first time and was very pleasant to deal with. The house is an old victorian and is very roomy my friends and I had a wonderful time our rooms were clean and reasonable in price. The house was a little further away from the winerys but we always use a cab service (Premier cab) and they knew were to pick us up at. All in all we enjoyed our stay with Elaine and the Gilded Swan and will be visiting again.


Like Opening a Box of Chocolates

4.2 on October 12, 2011

Every room was Victorian, but uniquely different in detail and flavor. Our bedroom had a four-poster bed with a fireplace, (gas, I think), and the linens and bedding were luxurious. The bathrooms were deliciously decorated and our hostess was very professional and personable. What a nice surprise!!


A Gem in Ashtabula

5 on October 10, 2011

Get ready for a lovely evening and a breakfast that charms (and pampers the palate) in this gem of a B&B. Elaine is the ultimate host—turning over her ‘museum quality’ Inn to her guests to enjoy. Family history is blended with antiques and period pieces in a way that calls each guest to each room to examine carefully selected and placed items—and there are so many to enjoy. Combine this with a two-minute ride to the Western Reserve Greenway and you have a lasting memory. Thank you, Elaine! The Kelley’s


Outstanding B&B

4.6 on October 05, 2011

The Gilded Swan is a beautiful and comfortable B&B. We rented 2 rooms in October, 2011, and had a wonderful time there. The home has been totally remodeled and the rooms are lavishly furnished in a victorian style. Elaine prepares a delicious, hearty breakfast. The area is residential/commercial but we felt very safe there. This is a great place to stay if you bike the Western Reserve Greenway which is nearby.


First-time B&B guests

5 on September 11, 2011

My wife and I stayed a night at The Gilded Swan, and we truly enjoyed ourselves. We didn't know what to expect from a B&B, as this was the first time staying at one, but we were impressed with what we found! We stayed in the Vintage Suite, which includes a four-post bed, a whirlpool tub, a kitchen and dining room, and more cute decorations than we could count. It is located in Ashtabula, a 15 minute drive from Geneva on the Lake and its many wineries. Another great thing about this B&B is the breakfast. We dined in a very ornate room and were served a multi-course meal from the mayor of Ashtabula, who is one of the operators of The Gilded Swan. He was very friendly and was quite a talented chef! Overall, my wife and I would highly recommend staying at The Gilded Swan.


Outstanding B&B

5 on September 07, 2011

Both my wife and I are teachers as well as old house devotees and antique dealers.We travel a great deal and stay in bed and breakfast establishments all over the United States. We will usually select one to visit during each major holiday and spend two to three days at the same place to get a feel for the establishment as well as the area. During our visit to the Ashtabula area, we stayed two nights at the Gilded Swan. We stayed in the Celestial Chamber. While one of the smaller rooms, we did not feel cramped. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room was quiet. The shared bathroom was large and well appointed. Room was tastefully decorated with period antiques as well as a cherub theme. The common areas of the house-large living room, library, and dinning room were also tastefully decorated with period antiques. The whole house was very clean and neat. The house has a very comfortable home feeling. Appreciated the fact that the house has wireless internet as we always travel with a laptop to keep in touch with the outside world. Breakfast was outstanding! Beautiful dining room and with well set table. Food was outstanding and plentiful. Breakfast conversation was a high light of the trip as all guest ate together in a family type meal. Hostess was very gracious and knowledgeable about a variety of topics. Would definetly stay here again!!!


Great Place to Stay

4.2 on September 06, 2011

This b&b was very clean. The breakfast was excellent. Wasn't too sure about the neighborhood when we drove up to the house, but felt safe once we were there.


Treats You Like Family

5 on August 08, 2011

We stayed in the guest room pictured, decorated in grapes/wine theme. The picture does not do the room justice. That king sized bed is not crowded in the ample room, plus there is another room with a kitchen style sink and sitting area, plus a third area - a small dressing room to hold two suitcases and one dresser. We were very comfortable. There was a whirlpool tub in the bathroom, and terry robes, too. The room is outfitted in antiques and interesting trims. Open the drawers and find things that might have been there like white gloves or an antique curling iron. I requested a bottle of wine and cheese plate to be ready for us our first night, and our hostess had a huge plate of various options and a local bottle of wine chosen for our palate. We enjoyed sitting by the fireplace in our guest room and enjoying them. Our room had a private entrance that was very convenient to the off-street, fenced-in parking area. Our hostess served us three course breakfasts that were delicious and served with vintage table settings. She is an experienced baker/cook professionally, and a college professor in the hospitality trades. Professionalism abounds in all areas of the B&B. The common areas of the house include the kitchen (where our hostess left snacks for us), and sitting areas furnished in period antiques. There is a library where books are welcomed to be used, traded, borrowed, etc. There is wireless Internet. Our hostess helped us with local attractions, directions, and reservations. It felt like visiting family!


Gilded Swan Bed & Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $75 - $105
  • Reviews (42) 4.8
  • Rooms 4
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-4409921566

Visit Website »

View details

Top