Get a free $60 gift card with a $300 gift card purchase

Recent Reviews in Oak Bluffs, Massachusetts

Martha's Vineyard Resort at The Martha's Vineyard Resort (Oak Bluffs, Massachusetts)

3.2 reviewed on August 25, 2014

Great place to stay in Oak Bluffs away from all the tourism

View more reviews for this inn


My Martha's Vineyard at The Martha's Vineyard Resort (Oak Bluffs, Massachusetts)

4.2 reviewed on August 14, 2014

I stay at the Martha's Vineyard Resort every year...Ms. Claudette is so nice and welcoming...look forward yo return year after year!

View more reviews for this inn


A nice place in a good location at The Martha's Vineyard Resort (Oak Bluffs, Massachusetts)

4.2 reviewed on July 15, 2014

My family recently stayed at this resort. We stayed in room 8. It was very clean and the staff was very nice. The location is great - a very quick drive to Oak Bluffs and Vineyard Haven. We're planning on returning!

View more reviews for this inn


Happy, Happier, Happiest! at The 1720 House (Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts)

4.2 reviewed on November 14, 2013

The 1720 House... Found it on TripAdvisor as we were looking for a quiet, pretty, place to stay while we attended a family reunion over Columbus Weekend. Upon arriving, it was late due to a flight-delay, we found a welcome note and our room key waiting for us in the foyer. We got to the room - Garden Room (definitely ask for it! - and even my husband approved of the decor! HAPPY! The next morning, we stumbled down to breakfast... Fresh bread (local!!), plenty of coffee, and a side yard with comfortable chairs in which to enjoy it in? HAPPIER! The reunion was really great. The Vineyard was such the perfect place to see everyone. We were so tired on Monday...A quick call by the owner, and a cab rolled up to the Inn and took us to the ferry. As we climbed into the cab, the owner said to make sure we called her directly to book our next stay and that she'd make sure we got the Garden Room: HAPPIEST!

View more reviews for this inn


A BEST BET at The 1720 House (Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on November 11, 2013

I have stayed in B&B's in many places and countries and was so pleased to have booked into The 1720 House. Its attractive, historic, comfortable and the owner and her staff were endlessly helpful in every way possible. They made our trip a great adventure,sending us to best restaurants, hiking trails, fine art gallerys and of the track places tourists might never find. Owner is a great conversationalist and other guests there were quite interesting/

View more reviews for this inn


A VERY FAVORITE PLACE TO STAY at The 1720 House (Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on November 10, 2013

we recently spent 5 days at The 1720 House. We had booked 3 days and loved it so much we extended our stay. Our room was lovely, immaculate and had a glorious mattress and real down comforter. The house smelled of gardenias and lavender, not overpowering but perfect. Breakfast ...continental was very good; homemade breads,fresh fruit, quality yogurts and 1st rate jams. The staff took excellent care or us. will return soon

View more reviews for this inn


A Quiet Pick Me Up at The 1720 House (Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on October 01, 2013

The convenience of the 1720 House just blocks away from the ferry. the atmosphere is excellent in the guest rooms and the homey in the shared areas. Variety of local guide books, cook books and daily newspapers. Great breakfasts (most importantly great coffee). An extraordinarily kind innkeeper with great ideas for day walks, trips and dinner. We loved our stay!!

View more reviews for this inn


Clean, comfortable, great location, historic house at The 1720 House (Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on September 26, 2013

This is like coming home that is if you lived in a house built in 1720! The owner, Abby and the house manager, Lucinda are like family and go the extra mile to make your visit enjoyable. The house, including the common areas, living room, sitting room, screened in porch, and dining room are warm, inviting and clean as are the guest rooms and bathrooms. The sitting area under the large shade tree on the side of the house is most relaxing. The house set amongst flowers and green lawns is a picture of serenity. If you want to explore Vineyard Have you are just steps away from the old town with it's shops and other places to explore. Want something off the tourist trail just ask Abby or Lucinda who have lived on the island to know all those special spots and the activities of the season. What more could you ask for!

View more reviews for this inn


Our very favorite Inn at The 1720 House (Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on September 17, 2013

We love The 1720 House for its beautiful look, fantastic service and location/ The staff is first rate, informative and friendly and have great ideas on where to go. We recently had a small wedding party booked in and the owner made certain that everything went smoothly, even helping us find a great caterer to do the rehearsal dinner. Wish they had been our event planners

View more reviews for this inn


A REAL TREASURE at The 1720 House (Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on August 31, 2013

This was our second stay at The 1720 House. We love everything about the Inn: the location is a block from a lovely calm harbor beach great swimming and beach walking with views of boats and mansions along the water, a few blocks from the town which has really good restaurants and classy stores and the best independent book store I have been to. Its a walk from the ferry. The 1720 House is beautifully furnished, feels spaacious and airy and the rooms are comfortable...esp the beds. Organic fruits, home baked breads and many other treats for breakfast. The staff is outstanding and always willing to do anything to make staying there a great pleasure. They help plan my daughts 2014 wedding and put flowers and a card in our room for a birthday we were celebrating

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent home away from home! at The 1720 House (Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on August 28, 2013

The 1720 House is an excellent home away from home. Abby, the owner, and Lucinda, the house manager are exceptionally friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. The 1720 house is in an excellent location and has beautiful rooms. They provide a delightful breakfast that includes coffee, tea, cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit, and the most delightful bread you will ever taste. Our 11 days spent here were nothing short of fantastic. Thanks so much to both of you!

View more reviews for this inn


Fill like home at The Martha's Vineyard Resort (Oak Bluffs, Massachusetts)

4.0 reviewed on August 19, 2013

The staff is extremely friendly and you fill like home atmosphere.

View more reviews for this inn


First B&B experience at The 1720 House (Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on August 13, 2013

Wonderful hospitality and service. Warm and homelike. Fitting of the Island.

View more reviews for this inn


Exceptional! at The Martha's Vineyard Resort (Oak Bluffs, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on August 07, 2013

My home away from home!! Perfect ambiance - great service - and beautiful room!

View more reviews for this inn


"Delightful B&B" at The Martha's Vineyard Resort (Oak Bluffs, Massachusetts)

3.4 reviewed on August 04, 2013

We were very pleased with the resort, which we found to be quiet, well-kept, and suitable for our needs. The innkeeper, Claudette Niles, was extremely hospitable and provided a lovely breakfast each day as advertised. If you're looking to save some on lodging costs during a visit to Martha's Vineyard, I recommend this resort.

View more reviews for this inn


MV Resort at The Martha's Vineyard Resort (Oak Bluffs, Massachusetts)

3.2 reviewed on July 28, 2013

Overall charming resort, quiet retreat, walking distance to area amenities and bus stop is in front for other attractions. Claudette is a gracious hostess.

View more reviews for this inn


Spacious, Quiet, Comfortable & Close to town at The Martha's Vineyard Resort (Oak Bluffs, Massachusetts)

4.6 reviewed on July 26, 2013

We wanted a place close to Shark Week activities in Oaks Bluff but far enough away from the noise and crowds to relax. Claudette's Resort was perfect. Large rocking porches. Huge rooms WITH kitchens! Delicious continental breakfast. Personal attention. VERY clean. Private parking. Better than renting a house! We would recommend DEFINITELY!

View more reviews for this inn


Colonial, intimate feel: The ultimate B&B at The 1720 House (Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on July 25, 2013

The kids and I had never stayed in a B&B, and we weren't sure we'd like it. We loved it. Well, I loved it. The kids are teenagers. They grudgingly admitted they didn't totally hate it. The 1720 House is the ultimate B&B: beautiful early 18th century architecture, but with all the modern conveniences my kids require. Intimate enough that I made several new friends, but private enough that the kids did not. On a quiet, tree-lined street, but within walking distance of Vineyard Haven's "downtown." Abby, the owner, turned out to be one of the most fascinating people I've met in a long time. If you ever go to the 1720 House, you want to ask her to tell her Groucho Marx story. And Lucinda, the manager, was endlessly kind and patient. She spent a great deal of time helping me figure out how best to entertain my hard-to-please kids and loaning us the supplies we needed for our days trips around the island: beach towels and umbrella, water bottles, picnic plates, etc. The kids and I now plan to pay the 1720 House the ultimate compliment: We plan to return in the fall. If Abby and Lucinda will have us.

View more reviews for this inn


Comfortable and Convenient - great visit! at The 1720 House (Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts)

4.6 reviewed on June 30, 2013

Arrived on a gray, stormy evening and Abby, the owner, could not have been more gracious. The guest room was very cozy and the shared bathroom was spotless! The 1720 House is in walking distance to the ferry and to the jitney - great for seeing all parts of the Vineyard.

View more reviews for this inn


Love this place! at The 1720 House (Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts)

4.8 reviewed on May 17, 2013

I always stay at the 1720 House on Martha's Vineyard. The owner, Abby Hirsch keeps a well run place with a friendly staff that assists her in the general comforts, but especially in helping to find our way to fun/interesting/unusual things to do. It's really close to the ferry, Vineyard Haven, public transport, has parking and bikes. Great prices, trouble free, charming.

View more reviews for this inn


Pleased to recommend at The 1720 House (Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on May 17, 2013

Everything is lovely about the property and staff. What a well taken care of Inn. Happy to come back soon. They made my stay very enjoyable.

View more reviews for this inn


GREAT FIND at The 1720 House (Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on May 09, 2013

THE 1720 HOUSE IS AN APLUS PROPERTY ON marthas vineyard. Lovely and comfortable, nice rooms, friendly atmosphere and the staff is quite good at suggesting places to go what to see and where to eat.They attract an affluent , upscale and attractive group of guests. I went as a single person and felt really at home

View more reviews for this inn


Quite A Treat at The 1720 House (Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on April 29, 2013

We spent 4 days at the really lovely 1720 House very near a beach and town and enjoyed every minute of the visit. Property is so attractive,casual and elegant. The owner and her associates are helpful,friendly and arranged a number of tours for us. We were impressed by how well kept this property is and we also thought the other guests were interesting and friendly. One was a well known composer and the other an economist who had written a best selling book. We will be back in the summer

View more reviews for this inn


WHAT A WONDERFUL PLACE at The 1720 House (Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on February 21, 2013

the 1720 House is one of the most welcoming places I have stayed at. It's authentic and comfortable and charming with great beds. Everyone who woks there makes a big effort to make the guests satisfied. Spend at least 3 days to get to know the island. Winter is a great time for a visit. Ask Abby the really interesting owner about her service"Creative Cultural Service" She can arrange private tours of artist studios, painting lessons guided tours to anywhere. A fee is charged for this extra but well worth the money

View more reviews for this inn


Joyous to stay at The 1720 House at The 1720 House (Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on September 30, 2012

The 1720 House is the most interesting B&B stay I've had in a long time. Everyone is happy and helpful who works there. Breakfast...continental is delicious.....beds high end comfortable...fall foliage impressive......short walk to town and ferry and beach....informed tips about places to go and good food. Other guests who were there when I stayed were so intelligent and all had something to say about books and politics and even farming. If you get to the Vineyard stay there

View more reviews for this inn


Great Little Inn to Stay In at The 1720 House (Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts)

4.6 reviewed on September 15, 2012

The on site manager, Cheryle, was absolutley a delight and very helpful. The housekeeping staff was great as well. The location to town is perfect offering a short and pleasant stroll down mainstreet. Located in a tree lined neighborhood with lovely gardens. Yummy Breakfast and comfortable rooms.

View more reviews for this inn


Bison on the Vineyard at The Martha's Vineyard Resort (Oak Bluffs, Massachusetts)

3.8 reviewed on August 30, 2012

We had a wonderful stay. The room was clean, the venue was very charming and close to downtown. The hostess, Miss Claudette, was great.

View more reviews for this inn


5 reasons to stay at The 1720 House at The 1720 House (Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on August 27, 2012

1. The property and gardens are lovely. 2 The Inn is well run and the owner and her team make everyone feel special and well taken care of. 3. Breakfast is fresh, tasty and artfully presented. 4 An easy walk to town ferry and beach. 5. The bedding is super comfortable

View more reviews for this inn


Friendly, Relaxing, Great Location at The 1720 House (Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts)

4.8 reviewed on August 26, 2012

We stayed here over a beautiful July weekend. The rates are very reasonable for Martha’s Vineyard. The B&B’s owner, Abby, has kept the charm of almost 300-year-old place and has filled it with appropriate furnishings from her personal collection and that she found in yard sales. We stayed in the Blue Room, which shares a bath with the Brown Room. Some rooms have their own private baths with various size beds. We got to explore most of the rooms, all of which were all very clean and comfortably furnished—and all had their own special charm. The bed was extremely comfortable, the room quiet, the air conditioning effective, the bathrobes a welcome addition, and free wifi was throughout the house. The windows also opened for fresh air. Breakfast was fruit, cereal and roll, which suited us just fine. There was a charming sun room and a beautiful/comfortable back year…all of which we were welcomed to use. The location was perfect for Vineyard Haven…right on Main Street just a few hundred steps from the stores, island buses, and the Black Dog Tavern. Abby and her staff Cheryle and Bella, were all very friendly and fabulous. They loved to interact with their guests and want people to really enjoy the island. When Abby learned that we like beautiful gardens, she called up her friends to see if could visit their garden. When she learned that I love old trees (one of the oldest of which is in her beautiful back yard), she told me where to find others. She made sure we knew about the spring rolls at the Saturday Farmer’s Market in West Tisbury (a treat not to be missed), and the galleries around the areas. She also suggested which restaurants not to miss and cautioned us as to which to avoid. Location, price, charm and friendliness make this a recommended place.

View more reviews for this inn


Old place but very clean and tidy! at The Martha's Vineyard Resort (Oak Bluffs, Massachusetts)

3.6 reviewed on August 23, 2012

Old room (#3), but very clean and tidy, Great common/public place with pool table, TV and checker table. Good light breakfast in the morning, missing coffee sometimes. About 5 min drive from Oak Bluffs center, approx. 20-25 min walk. Public transportation passes in front, stop on fly.

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. The 1720 House (4.71)
  2. Tivoli Inn (4.47)
  3. The Madison Inn (4.00)
  4. The Martha's Vineyard Resort (3.89)
Top
}