The English Garden Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
32 Reviews

Write A Review

Wonderful Historic Home

4.8 on July 25, 2013

I found The English Garden through their website. I traveled by train and was glad to learn that it was within walking distance from the train station. The house was lovely, my room was wonderful and the breakfast delicious and plentiful. Virginia was an excellent hostess who treated you as a guest In her home instead of a stranger. This was my first stay at a B & B but will not be my last, although I will compare all of them to The English Garden. I hope to make this an annual stay and would recommend it to anyone.


A Great Place

5 on August 08, 2012

We spent a week here while attending a Tellington TTouch workshop nearby. We had a wonderful time! The house is lovely, our room was very nice and Virginia is a fantastic host. She was understanding of our desire to adjust breakfast time, even seeing the need and offering before we asked. The food was great, and portions substantial. We loved walking around the Stockade and along the river with our dog who also gives The English Garden B&B two paws up!


A Truly Enjoyable Stay

5 on October 04, 2011

This was our second stay with Virginia - and this time we brought the dog! The house is historic and is furnished with lots of antiques, but also has the modern conveniences we all want. She makes the best breakfasts ever, and is very accommodating of food allergies. If you will be in this area, by all means stay here! You won't be disappointed!!


English Garden B&B Schenectady

4.0 on October 03, 2011

Rooms are lovely, gracious hostess Virginia, made our stay comfortable and answered our many requests. Would recommend this BnB to all!! Good eats too!


Wonderful hostess!

4.8 on October 03, 2011

The innkeeper was a wonderful hostess. She made us feel like part of her family. Her grandchildren were a delight.


A terrific place to stay!

4.6 on October 29, 2010

The innkeeper was very, very accommodating. We stayed here one night while changing trains from the Lakeshore Limited to the Adirondack lines. Virginia provided transportation from and to the Amtrak station. At breakfast we met several people who had stayed here longer and one gentleman who stays here often while in town for business. A really great B&B.


Fabulous B&B!

5 on October 06, 2010

Charming home, great breakfast, warm and friendly hostess. Wonderful stay!


Warm & Historic Getaway

5 on January 20, 2010

Virginia was so accomodating ot our specific dietary needs and made our experience of traveling with dogs delightful and memorable. A gorgeous home in a beautiful, historic town!


A pleasant interlude

5 on October 15, 2009

Wonderful accommodations, great food, charming neighborhood, very helpful staff. Overall a very enjoyable stay.


A Fantastic Place to Stay

5 on October 07, 2009

A fantastic place to stay! A great B & B, even for people for think they don't like B & Bs. Virginia the innkeeper has found the perfect balance of so many factors that sometimes trip up B & Bs. The decor is charming and old-fashioned, without being fussy and claustrophobic. Virginia provides just the right amount of friendly welcome and helpful suggestions for restaurants and excursions. And she makes you feel so comfortable that it truly is like staying at a friend's house. And the breakfasts! Virginia is a splendid chef, cooking up some of the best quiches and other egg dishes you've ever had, serving them with fresh fruits and great baked goods. If you're going to the Capitol District, don't even think of staying anywhere else!


A Delightful Establishment

4.8 on September 23, 2009

A delightful B&B, like staying in a truly historic Revolutionary War Era home with all the modern conveniences. Food was fabulous.


Wonderful & Quaint

4.6 on September 23, 2009

Authentic 18th century B&B with modern bathrooms. Excellent food served at breakfast.


Great taste of yesteryear

4.8 on August 17, 2009

A beautiful old home in a historic area. Friendly and hospitable host who serves a great breakfast. A good stop-over.


Spacious & Comfortable

4.8 on August 14, 2009

We had a delightful stay at this B&B in the historical district. The room was spacious & comfortable & Virginia the innkeeper and her vamily were gracious and hospitable. Breakfast was delicious. The immediate area had restaurants & a college.


You'll love it here

5 on June 12, 2009

My wife and I have been guests here twice in recent months and absolutely loved it. The owner (Virginia) won our hearts with her friendship as well as her service, even providing an early breakfast before we left for a pre-dawn flight. It was like spending a weekend in another century, surrounded by the charming 18th century Stockade homes. We enjoyed a spacious room with a comfortable side porch. - Larry & Betty


Great B&B

4.2 on May 12, 2009

Large, comfortable, interesting rooms with delicious breakfasts and charming host.


The Best B&B Ever!!!

5 on May 07, 2009

I was greeted with warmly, never for an instant did I feel a stranger in Schnectady,NY- largely because of where I choose to stay. I arrived on the train, Knowing The English Garden B&B was only 2 blocks from the train station- I ventured in the direction of what I was told was Union St., yet questioned some gentleman in front of a local tavern as I passed- they told me exactly how to get to The English Garden B&B. The room or shall I say suite I stayed in was spacious, neat & clean- included a refridgerator with ample bottled water for my stay. The Innkeeper, Ms Virginia Bohn, was a most wonderful hostess- attentive to my needs & concerns throughout my short stay. The breakfasts were wonderful- I had mentioned I was keeping a low carbohydrate profile, and that I was a decafinated tea drinker; each morning I came down to a hot pot of water and an array of choices of teas. Fresh fruits (melons & berries) accompanied the delicious breakfast quiche. Next year I am planning to arrive a day earlier for this conference, I would love to spend an extra day in Schnectady, especially because I know I have a great place to stay, at a very reasonable price to boot!!! - KAD, Alexandria, Va.


A Real Gem

5 on April 10, 2009

I stayed at the English Garden for the better part of three weeks and I honestly can't say enough good things about the room or the service. It was truly a home away from home. Virginia (owner) truly makes the house a home and her breakfasts are not to be missed. If you've got the choice, this is it!


first time B&B stay

4.6 on March 11, 2009

I was impressed with the inn. The location was convenient and the room beautifully decorated. the service was very pleasant and made us feel right at home. The breakfast was also excellent! I would definitely return again!


Fantastic

5 on February 25, 2009

It was a wonderful experience. I was so impressed when I first saw my room, but the breakfast the next morning was the best ever!! Will definitely stay there again!!!!!


biking thru in September

4.2 on October 09, 2008

A bit tough to get to while biking from the canal path, but well worth it. Local to good eats (Pinhead Susan's great). would stay again!


Historic Home

4.2 on October 03, 2008

At the end of a very long day with delayed flights, Virginia was waiting for us at the front door with a warm welcome. Our room was quaint and well-appointed. We enjoyed a great visit with Virginia over Belgian waffles with wild blueberries. The Stockade District is very interesting and over four centuries old. We took a self-guided walking tour of the old homes and parks steps away from English Garden. Great value for such an historic home.


Quaint little B&B in Charming upstate NY town

4.8 on September 08, 2008

Everyone here, especially the B&B owner, seemed very nice. She really provided a home away from home atmosphere. One suggestion:framed photographs in the rooms are better than printed pictures of flowers and landscape.


Historis Retreat

5 on September 02, 2008

What a warm initation to B&Bing! Virginia's delicious breakfast and our spacious comfortable room guaranteed that B&B's will be our preferred choice as we travel. A real bonus was the history of this pre-revolutionary home.


The English Garden Bed and Breakfast

5 on August 18, 2008

This is a great place. Beautiful garden, great bed, lots of privacy. Super food evening and morning.


Visiting family

5 on July 29, 2008

The stay at the English Garden B&B was outstanding.


The very warm English Garden

5 on April 16, 2008

What an excellent time my wife and I had while staying at the English Garden. Virginia is a wonderful host and very helpful with guiding us around the city. The quaint garden is a nice quiet retreat. We will be staying here during every visit to Schenectady.


Relaxed in Schenectady

4.4 on April 14, 2008

My wife and I spend 3 nights here, and really enjoyed the spacious room and great location. Ginny was a very gracious and flexible hostess. Next time we'll visit when it's a little warmer so we can enjoy the old buildings without freezing!


Historic Charm

5 on April 14, 2008

I stayed at the English Garden for 2 nights while visiting Schenectady. What a wonderful place to choose!! I stayed in the Martha room which was beautiful and very spacious. The home has such an authentic feel of the time period in which it was built. Virginia is a most gracious and welcoming host. I felt like I was right at home! The food was outstanding, as was my entire stay!! I will definitely be back!


The English Garden,very charming

5 on April 14, 2008

My daughter and I stayed at the English Garden for two nights while in Schenectady. We both thought it was a very charming place. The Hostest made us feel very comfortable and the breakfast we were served on both days was wonderful. I would recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone.


Delicious treat

5 on April 14, 2008

The room was enormous and comfortable. There was a porch off the room (a little chilly for this, but makes me want to return). Ginny is a wonderful host and the breakfasts were terrific. Of course, falling in love with the Stockade district of Schenectady had absolutely no bearing on this memorable weekend! :)


Enjoy

4.8 on March 31, 2007

I stayed for 3 nights at Virginia's English Garden while in my home town for a funeral. I love the stockade area and had hoped for an authentic place to stay. The home was decorated with antiques and comfortable beds. My room was huge with large windows that had french doors opening to a porch. It was March and chilly. So the room was a bit cool. Hard to heat those 12 foot ceilings. But there was a cozy bathrobe to wrap up in and plenty of blankets. I would love to sip my coffe out on the porch in the summer. The breakfast was delicious and the service was stellar. I had a truly wonderful time and will stay again.


The English Garden Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $110 - $175
  • Reviews (32) 4.8
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5186306760

Visit Website »

View details

Top