Union Gables Reviews


View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Service4.6
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Onsite Dining4.4

Score Breakdown based on
17 Reviews

Write A Review

Wonderful three days

4.4 on August 13, 2015

We spent three days at this inn with two other couples and were very impressed with the quality of the rooms and the service. Jane and Page could not have been nicer. They were attentive to every detail. We would definitely return again.


5 on May 26, 2015

This was our first stay at a Bed & Breakfast and we were so happy to have found Union Gables. It was my husband's birthday and upon arrival, there was a birthday card in the room for him. Such a nice personal touch. The entire Inn and premises were super clean. We were very impressed by the architecture and decor. The staff was very welcoming, polite and accommodating. The complimentary wine, before dinner hours, was a wonderful way to wind down from our long drive. Wine in hand, we explored the beautifully maintained property and garden areas, in ground heated pool area and spacious relaxing front porch. Prior to leaving for dinner, we enjoyed a game of pool in the billiards room. The Inn was centrally located, within walking distance to great dining, shopping and pubs that hosted night entertainment. It was also a very short drive to the casino, which was a wonderful way to end our evening. The made to order breakfast and service was great, hosting a separate room filled with fresh fruit, juices, breads, yogurt, mini muffins. They also had great coffee and selection of Stash teas (available throughout the day/night). We stayed in the Edward room, which was spacious with and en suite, filled with natural sunlight, a comfortable king sized bed and lovely decor. All in all, our stay at Union Gables was a wonderful and memorable experience.

Time Machine Bliss

5 on March 31, 2015

My siblings and I are located across the US so we found Saratoga Springs to be a perfect meeting place. Our decision to stay at the Union Gables was 1st based on the confidence and warmth from the reservation phone call with Jane. Carla and Jane (& chef Bruce) made our stay more than perfect! Elegant yet casual, historical enlightenment, superb food and service. We visited every area of the Inn and sat in every seating and fireplace area! We loved it so much we are returning for a summer retreat visit and a winter visit to celebrate our birthdays! Jane, our Innkeeper was instrumental in our success of our family reunion. As we hugged farewell I found myself with a tear in my eyes, as I knew I would truly miss Union Gables and look forward to a speedy return!! Thank you all for such a beautiful experience.


4.6 on March 02, 2015

We finally got to enjoy, so much, a stay at Union Gables after having driven by it during the last 30 years! Thanks to Tom and Jane for making us feel right at home from the minute we arrived to the last cup of coffee before leaving. Our only regret was that we did not have a chance to spend more time relaxing in front of the fireplaces and taking in the beauty and comfort of our surroundings. But we will rectify that in the future! Sarah & Wally Morrison

The calm after the storm

5 on March 02, 2015

While in Saratoga for a kids chess tournament that was held at a neighboring convention center, it was a welcoming option for our family to retreat from the chaos of that hotel into our Union Gables home for the weekend. We felt like we were at home. Our room was relaxing, quiet and had everything we needed. In this environment we were able to relax, prep for tournaments and decompress. This was our second stay at Union Gables and we'll certainly return. Kids aren't normally allowed at the inn but they were kind enough to make the exception for this weekend, which allowed parents to better prepare their kids for the tournament (something difficult to conceive of had we stayed at a commercial hotel).

A great Valentine's weekend getaway.

5 on February 17, 2015

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Union Gables this past Valentine's weekend. The Inn is beautifully restored and well maintained and after speaking with Tom it's obvious he and his wife Barbara take great pride in their properties which shows. Jane is a terrific hostess who was very accommodating and the breakfast was excellent. Our room was very comfortable, with the fireplace making it especially cozy on some very cold evenings. My wife and I look forward to future stays at Union Gables!

Met my expetations...

3.0 on February 17, 2015

Only complaint...(if there was one) is the bed pillows...too stiff! Like my feather pillows best! I still slept soundly, though.

Beautiful, delicious and pet-friendly!

5 on January 19, 2014

This was our first stay at Union Gables and is now my favorite of the 8 B&Bs I've ever stayed at. We stayed in the Library Room which was lovely. Perfect for us. Jane was so helpful and friendly. She helped us choose and also called in our takeout order to a wonderful Italian restaurant the first night, which was especially helpful since we needed to stay in with our dog who was still recuperating from last minute surgery. Jane even supplied us with dinnerware to enjoy our takeout dinner. Assortment of hot beverages and homemade cookies at night and even more delicious breakfast full of options. Jane gave us ideas of how to spend our day out and about and made calls for us to get more information. We snowshoed at Saratoga Spa State Park, shopped and went to movie theater. Enjoyed our personal hot tub in the room too. Next time we might try cross country skiing or even visit in the warmer months to take advantage of more activities. Nearby Saratoga Spa State Park is also a great place to walk dogs in nature anytime of year.

A very happy veteran!

5 on November 12, 2013

My fiancé and I took advantage of a Veterans Day special The Union Gables was having. The owners opened their establishment free of charge to Veterans on both Sunday and Monday nights. From check in to check out everything was first class and perfect! Rooms were clean, elegant, and rustic. There was wine served during the evening by the fireplaces and warm homemade cookies before bed. The breakfast in the morning was made to order and the best I've tasted in a very long time. My fiancé and I cannot wait to go back soon. The appreciation I felt as a veteran was amazing. A special thank you to both Tom and Barbara, Gregory Goodale

Excellent choice in Saratoga.

5 on October 29, 2013

Excellent location. Breakfast was delicious...even included local made warm maple syrup. Hosts are very knowledgeable about the area. Learned many new things. Property and furnishings are spectacular. Late night wine and fresh baked cookies were a nice treat.

Lovely B&B

3.8 on July 11, 2013

Very pleasant. Lovely porch and gardens. Pool not open when we were there, but will be nice when open. Rooms quiet and comfortable.

A Wonderful place to stay.

4.8 on November 11, 2012

We stayed here in October 2012 for 3 nights and had a great experience. I had been to Union Gables previously (probably about 15 years prior) under the prior ownership, and had a great experience, and I think it has only gotten better since then (I already had high expectations). The service was fabulous; the owners and staff made us feel at home and very comfortable, always checking in on us (even the contractors doing maintenance work on the grounds were nice!). The breakfast prepared for us was abundant and delicious. The building and grounds are well maintained. The Union Gables B&B is within 3 minutes walking distance to the main park, and 10-15 minutes walking distance of the main street of town. Thank you!

10/2012 Stay

5 on October 17, 2012

Great location, spacious room (Bill-pet friendly), hearty and made to order breakfast, great and informative hosts. Minutes away from the main shopping/commercial area (Broadway-loaded with restaurants), Congress Park, Saratoga Race Track and Casino, Etc. Plan on going again.

Fabulous Stay

5 on July 12, 2012

My husband, and I along with my brother-in-law and sister-in-law stayed here over the 4th of July holiday for two nights. We were so happy with this B&B and the exceptional service. Breakfast by Steve was wonderful and having morning coffee and breakfast on the patio surrounded by truly beautiful and immaculate gardens was a rare treat. Tom and Barbara are gracious hosts and their home is perfect for visiting Saratoga Springs. Only one block's walk and we were in the heart of all the action. We will definitely be staying here again.

Lovely Area, Beautiful Home

4.0 on January 03, 2012

My wife and I used this B&B on a whim and it turned out to be a fabulous time. The area was beautiful (if you love historic homes) and had great downtown shopping. If you're looking to get away from the hustle and bustle Saratoga and Union Gables are a must!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for the lovely review in January. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Saratoga Springs and at Union Gables in December. Bed & Breakfast keeps your name and information confidential but we hope to see you again very soon! Best wishes, Tom and Barbara

Short stay

4.0 on September 01, 2011

We only stayed one night, which does'n provide much basis for reviewing service and dining. However we were very pleased with the spaciousness and location of the room. The viw from the third floor turret was very good. We would certainly stay again, perhaps longer though.

B & B at its' best!!!

4.0 on July 20, 2011

This B&B was absolutely breathtaking! Innkeepers were wonderful, like old friends we hadn't seen for awhile!! We truly enjoyed the wraparound porch and all of the beautiful landscaping!! Breaksfast was "off the hook"!! We cannot wait to go back! So much to see and do!

Union Gables


  • Nightly Rate $125 - $485
  • Reviews (17) 4.6
  • Rooms 14
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5185841558

Visit Website »

View details