Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
108 Reviews

Write A Review

Slice o' Heaven!

5 on October 21, 2014

I've been to the Caldwell House twice in the past 2 months because it's that AMAZING and have sent a number of friends who are equally excited to stay. Not only is it cozy, cush and charming, the owners and staff cater to special diets with a smile! Chef Dena says "pies on the pillow" for her nightly treats, I say, "slice o' heaven" for the entire stay.


The best B&B we have ever stayed at!

5 on October 15, 2014

We felt like we were staying with good friends in a five star hotel. Dena and John are the most hospitable hosts and the facility is truly a blend between the charm of an antique home with all of the conveniences of modern life. The big screen TV's, internet, and queen size beds fit in beautifully with the charm of the rooms and the large claw bathtub. A perfect day ends with a perfect piece of pie baked by our hostess, Dena. We could not improve upon one aspect at our stay and we will surely return! Thank you for a truly memorable weekend, Terry & Ric

Innkeeper Response
This is so kind of you! We enjoyed your stay with us as much or more than you did! You were so much fun to be around. Please come see us again real soon!


Most Outstanding B&B

5 on October 15, 2014

We arrived three days early for our 45th West Point Reunion in order to stay at the Caldwell House, see the Fall colors and tour the Hyde Park area. Our reunion at West Point was wonderful, but our stay the Caldwell House was actually the highlight. Our room was exceptional in every way - spacious, romantic...perfect. The fireplace between the bedroom and bath was gorgeous. The breakfasts were gourmet, five star, homemade creations by Dena. John designed a beautiful daily menu every morning for the guests, which included Irish blessing, weather for the day, and list of items the occurred in history on that day. Everything about Caldwell House is outstanding and special. The beautiful grounds are a lovely place to stroll around, sit under a canopy of massive trees, or just sit in one of the many gardens, or on a cozy love seat on the wrap-around porch. The evening "pie on your pillow" was another unexpected added touch of gracious hospitality. The availability of snacks, cookies, fruit, yogurt, tea and coffee at any time during the day made for even more amenities. We toured the Roosevelt Manson and Library, Val-Kill, Storm Mountain Outdoor Art Center and the Vanderbilt Mansion, all recommendations by John, who gave us great maps and directions. John and Dena are lovely, helpful, but not imposing, magnanimous hosts. What a wonderful, unforgettable stay we had!

Innkeeper Response
Wow! Where do we start? I guess thank you, thank you, thank you would be a good place! We so enjoyed having you stay with us and our breakfast conversations were enjoyable and memorable. We are so pleased that your stay with us was everything you had hoped for. Please, come see us again soon!


Wonderful stay worth the money

4.8 on October 10, 2014

Whether it's Dena's delicious breakfast or an individual pie (with beautiful smile) she personally delivers to your room after dinner or John's stimulating conversation and knowledge about the area at breakfast, you are going to love your stay at the Caldwell House. Visit Hyde Park, West Point, and other local attractions but at night, you'll return to this wonderfully homey and comfortable inn with two terrific innkeepers. Well done, Dena and John


Will definitely return

5 on October 08, 2014

Love this beautiful house and the warmth of the owners. Great experience- very sad that we only stayed one night! Thanks again so much

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much. We sure do hope to see you here again real soon!


Wonderful

4.6 on October 06, 2014

We had a really nice stay at the Caldwell House. The service was professional yet personal, and it was all good. We rented bikes and went on a day trip, to Storm King sculpture park. Hope to come back next time we´re in the states. //t+e


Beautiful place!!

3.6 on September 27, 2014

The breakfasts were delicious- very hospitable hosts.


Fall city escape

4.4 on September 16, 2014

We thoroughly enjoys out stay at the caldwell house. John and Dena were incredibly helpful about the surrounding area and made sure that everything met our needs as well as giving us some helpful discounts (which we loved). Breakfast in the main house was great and the staff were very friendly.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave such kind remarks. We surely hope to see you here again soon!


Lovely, relaxing stay

4.6 on September 02, 2014

We stayed for three nights in the Vineyard Room, which was spacious and comfortable. It has a gas fireplace which we unfortunately did not use because the weather was hot. The innkeeper gave us a tour of the other rooms in the Carriage House and main house and all looked very inviting. The breakfasts served were wonderful, and Dena and John made us feel like family. We hope to be back again!

Innkeeper Response
We hope you are back again, soon! We really enjoyed your company.


Nice B&B - House Rooms Preferred

4.0 on August 26, 2014

Stayed in Annex Room. Amenities very nice but a bit disappointed in decor. Did not feel like luxury room for $325/night. . Very nice breakfast In main house dining room. From what I saw, rooms in the main house are definitely worth it. There are many positives - free internet and access to HULU which My teenaged daughter loved. Owners are perfect hosts and would provide zany thing requested. Restaurant suggestions were excellent. We ate ate at a very simple Italian restaurant with THE BEST lobster ravioli I ever had in my life. I would definitely recommend Caldwell. House with a room in the main House. I was lucky to get the last room the night before - it just was not very special.


Lovely Weekend Escape

5 on August 16, 2014

We only stayed for two nights, but had a wonderful time. Dena and the rest of the family were fabulous hosts. We are Brooklynites who came without a car, and Dena was so kind as to drive us to and from the train station, and even drop us off at Storm King! Lovely people, and a lovely place to stay. We'll be back.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much. It is guests like you that make it so easy for us to your host. We hope to see you here again soon!


Wonderful hosts and staff!

4.4 on August 08, 2014

We were greeted personally and warmly and then led to our delightful room. We loved the grounds, the super comfy bed and had a terrific time talking with the inn keeper. We plan to return and for a longer stay.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks for your warm remarks. We do hope you will come back soon and stay longer. It was a pleasure to host you!


Two delightful nights at Caldwell House

4.2 on August 07, 2014

Upon late afternoon arrival, we were met and given a complete tour of the inn. The main house has six guest rooms and we were the only guests in it. The home is gracious, free of orders, well lit and extremely comfortable. We stayed in Harmony Hill which is extremely spacious, quiet air conditioner, door to balcony and has a gas fireplace that opens into bathroom as well (can be an issue of privacy for those who don't want to be seen while in there...). It is a well appointed bathroom (though lacking adequate counter top space) with air jetted tub, robes, TV ...the works. There is no separate WC. The mini iPad on the desk offered great concierge services as well as other apps pertinent to the area. TV was very easy to operate and Extensive channels to choose from including HuluPlus. Truly, wine glasses, umbrellas...they have thought through what a traveler just might wish for! There is a well stocked guest pantry downstairs and full size frig to put any of your perishables in. The 9:00 breakfast was shared with one couple staying in the other inn on the property (four rooms out there). The meal was creative but fell a little short of being praise worthy. As non-meat eaters, it was appreciated that they were willing to substitute a veggie patty. Sitting on the front porch, listening to the sounds of the countryside was so delightful. There are two restaurants within walking distance but both were closed/unavailable while we were there. You are a 10-15 minute drive to a handful more to choose from. Easy and gorgeous drive. We appreciated the "no kids, no pets" policy. It is a bit off the beaten track but we are so glad we stayed and would highly recommend it. Next time we would stay in the Catherine Caldwell room because of the larger "2 at a time" bathroom.

Innkeeper Response
We hope you'll come back soon! We'll keep the Catherine Caldwell Room waiting for you!


Awesome Atmosphere

4.6 on July 31, 2014

The proprietors and staff was most helpful and accommodating and went out of their way to accommodate my mobility disability and were constantly checking on my comfort and their concern was amazing and sincere.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks for taking the time to write such kind remarks. We sure hope to see you here again in the near future. All the best,


Long weekend with friends

5 on July 24, 2014

Lovely place with wonderful Innkeepers! Alan & Rebecca

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much. Please come see us again soon!


Perfect getaway for our "Day-vaction"

4.8 on July 14, 2014

Because of my partner's busy work schedule this summer we can't plan a vacation. I decided on Friday that we needed a quick getaway to escape city life and his stress at work and I was so lucky that there was one room (Butter Hill) still available at Caldwell House for Saturday night. It was perfect! Dena was so warm and welcoming and after a day at Brotherhood Winery and Storm King, we were very happy to come back to such a comfortable, cozy and quiet room. Even though we were only there for one night, we left feeling refreshed (and full of delicious breakfast).

Innkeeper Response
We're so happy that you enjoyed an enjoyable and restful - yet brief - respite from you hectic lives. We sure hope you'll be able to visit us again soon!


Wonderful B&B

5 on July 09, 2014

The place is beautiful and tranquil. The hosts are great people and the breakfast was amazing. The afternoon home baked chocolate chip cookies were a favorite. We immediately felt welcome on arrival. The room was immaculate and very comfortable. We would definitely stay again and highly recommend this place to everyone.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us. I'm (Dena) especially glad that John didn't raid the cookie dish before you had your afternoon treat!! ;-)


We loved our stay at the Caldwell House!

5 on July 08, 2014

My husband and I recently had our mini-moon at the Caldwell House, and we were so comfortable and relaxed and well taken care of the whole time! We were exhausted after our wedding week, and needed the R & R that we received so badly! We took the train up from NYC, as we didn't want to be bothered with driving - and taking NJ Transit was super easy. Dena and John were lovely hosts, and thoughtful and caring conversationalists. Dena even bent over backwards to give us rides to and from dinner on the 4th of July when it became clear that we couldn't get a cab on the 4th and there was only one restaurant open that night in town, a few miles away. The room was so comfortable, with the big TV with Netflix and a little fireplace. It rained for most of our visit, and we didn't even mind as we were so cozy in the house. When it wasn't raining, we walked around in the green and trees and it was so beautiful. Loughran's, the pub a few minutes walk away from the B & B had live Irish music on the Thursday night that we arrived, which was so fun. We loved our stay at Caldwell House and look forward to when we get to return for another visit!

Innkeeper Response
Wow, it is so kind of you to write such a lovely note. We love hosting people on their honeymoon or anniversary. It makes the mood around the Inn so much more romantic. Please come see us again - either for your "full-moon" or anniversary, or anytime!


Perfect West Point Graduation

5 on July 03, 2014

Our family stayed at the Caldwell House for our son's graduation week at West Point. Dena and John made the week perfect. They took care of a million details including helping us plan a very large back yard dinner cook out for several cadets and their families. This was an absolutely wonderful place to stay and we will definitely be back!

Innkeeper Response
We so enjoyed hosting your family for your son's graduation and appreciate your letting us join in the festivities. West Point graduation week has been a really special time for us, largely because of the incredibly wonderful families we get to meet and become friends with. All the best to your son and family. Hope to see you back here soon!


Lovely place, lovely people

5 on June 30, 2014

Dena and John were helpful from the get go, when we relayed our dietary restrictions. The inn was immaculate and tastefully designed. We loved the little touches, such as the teddy bear "baring" a welcome message as well as the chocolate mints on the pillow. It felt like being a guest at the home of old friends. We hope to return in the fall to enjoy the foliage.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a nice review. Please do come visit us in the fall - we guaranty that you'll love it! Until then, all the best,


Fabulous B & B

5 on June 18, 2014

By far, Caldwell House is the best B & B we have ever stayed at. John & Dena are so warm & friendly. Our room was just beautiful! The breakfast that Dena served was delicious. We hope to return in the fall. The Coopers

Innkeeper Response
Thank you! We like to think that we're the best because the guests who stay with us - you are the BEST! Hope to see you in the fall. until then, all the best.


The Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast is SUPERB!

5 on June 18, 2014

My husband, James (Barry) and I spent two nights at The Caldwell House on June 9th and 10th. John and Dena were absolute delights as hosts! We adored John's stories and the breakfast that Dena provided each morning was beyond delicious!!! Back in SC, we miss the very beautiful and charming area surrounding The Caldwell House...and we miss our room! If you are looking for a wonderful, quaint stay in Upstate New York, I highly recommend The Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast. Sincerely, Mrs. Bridgit McLeod Cheraw, SC

Innkeeper Response
How kind of you to leave such a nice review. We enjoyed hosting you and hope to be able to see you again soon!


Amazing Stay!

5 on June 12, 2014

We had a great stay at the Caldwell House. Me and my wife came here for our "Mini Honeymoon" as a stopover between our wedding and our actual Honeymoon in Jamaica a month later. We couldn't have picked a better place! The house was beautiful! We stayed in the Harmony Hill room which was amazing! Walking distance to a couple of restaurant's and a great ice cream stand and close driving distance to many other great attractions. Breakfast was delicious each day. Highly recommended!

Innkeeper Response
That's awfully kind of you to take the time to post such kind remarks in what must be a very busy and hectic time for you both. We so enjoyed having you here and hope you'll make it an annual event!! :-)


A Lovely Stay

4.8 on June 09, 2014

The Caldwell House is a Beautiful B & B. The rooms are very,very clean and the beds are so comfortable you will wish you had no reason to get out of bed.We needed to leave early the morning of our departure and Dena made sure we had breakfast to go,how sweet. A stay at the Caldwell House will mean you will be taking more weekends away. Enjoy..

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for such a kind review. We'll be sure to let our house staff know about your wonderful remarks! Please come see us again soon!


Exceptional B&B!

4.8 on June 08, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Caldwell House while visiting West Point. The house was clean and in immaculate condition. I think they have struck the perfect balance between modern amenities with historic charm. Dena is an outstanding cook, and I would say her breakfast alone was nearly worth the price of admission. John has a fascinating background, and he was incredibly humble and accommodating. I whole heartedly recommend the Caldwell House.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks so much. It was our pleasure to host you and we hope to have that pleasure again the near future! Until then, all the best.


Relaxing weekend getaway!

5 on June 03, 2014

We visited The Caldwell House during a weekend pleasure trip to Orange County. Our children chose the inn for us as a gift. We were not disappointed! Staying in the Trestle Room, we found the inn to be clean, the bed was so comfy, the breakfasts were yummy and the innkeepers made us feel "at home". They were welcoming, informative and helpful about activities and dining options. The always available beverages, snacks and fridge space were an added bonus. Sitting on the front porch enjoying the view with a cup of coffee in the evening and morning was so relaxing We would definitely stay there again and would encourage our friends to do so if they were in the area! Larry and Linda

Innkeeper Response
We are so pleased that you birthday gift turned out to be enjoyable! You are such a lovely and pleasant couple and it wa a joy to host you. We certainly hope you'll make this a regular stop. Until we meet again - all the best to you and your family.


Great place to stay in the Hudson River Valley

4.6 on May 14, 2014

My Daughter had her wedding nearby at the FIEST at Round Hill and a friend asked us to check out Caldwell House as an option to a standard hotel. We did so in December and were impressed. Besides her and her husband my wife and I stayed and two other couples that are friends and were attending the wedding also stayed. I can speak for all of us that we were very pleased with the accommodations and enjoyed our hosts for the 2 nights we were there in early May. The setting is great, rooms very comfortable and well equipped. Breakfast was excellent. The common area provided a great place for our group to get together. We will return.

Innkeeper Response
We're so sorry it has taken us this long to respond to your very kind review. Between wedding celebrations and West Point graduation, it has been busy, busy, busy! We sincerely hope that you will find your way back to this part of the Hudson Valley and come see us again. Until then - all the best to you and your family.


First time at a B&B

5 on May 12, 2014

Caldwell House was the first B&B my wife and I have ever stayed in. That being said it was outstanding. The staff is warm and accommodating and the home made breakfast is awesome! Thank you John & Dena.

Innkeeper Response
We hope that your introduction to the B&B world will make you regulars. We enjoyed hosting you and hope to see you here again soon!


Our Relaxing Stay at the Caldwell House

5 on May 08, 2014

We stayed two nights last weekend at the Caldwell House to attend a wedding of our close friend daughter's. We stayed with two other couples that are close friends and we all very much enjoyed our experience at this special B&B. The grounds and front porch are very inviting and the home is very cozy, warm and inviting with all the special touches. The innkeeper's Dena and John were so warm and friendly and made our stay so comfortable. The breakfast's were superb! We definitely recommend the Caldwell House for your next getaway. Kate and Tom

Innkeeper Response
Thanks so much. We are so happy that your wedding/reunion experience was such a special time for you all. We certainly ope to see you back this way again. You were all such lovely people!


Best B&B ever

5 on May 08, 2014

This was a great experience. I especially liked the breakfast setting where all the guests were seated at one table. It generated some great conversation!. The breakfas fare was amazing! The rooms were spotless. I am planning on making a return trip.

Innkeeper Response
Best ever??!! How will we top your last stay next time? Thank you so much for your kind remarks. We really look forward to seeing you again. Until then, all the best,


Epitome B & B!!!

4.8 on April 15, 2014

My best friend surprises me every year with a birthday get-away and this year was to the Caldwell House. You don't have to be in love to appreciate the splendor of the Hudson River Valley and this beautiful B & B. Even just as two female friends, we were in awe of the beautiful accommodations and amazing surrounding area of the Hudson River Valley. This B & B is what you dream one should be like. The age of the house, the wraparound porch, the decor, etc...and the amenities, which were above and beyond what I ever expected. If you don't have it, they do! The beds & linens were extremely comfortable, breakfasts were glorious, but most importantly, the Innkeeper's Dena & John made our Caldwell House stay a memory we will always hold close to our hearts. I would highly recommend a trip to Salisbury Mills, NY if you're looking for any type of get-away!

Innkeeper Response
Knowing that your "21st" birthday celebration was so enjoyable really makes us fee good!. It was a pleasure to host the two of you and we sincerely hope that you will find your way back to us real soon!!! Until then, all the best,


Bliss

4.6 on April 06, 2014

My husband and I stayed one night at the Caldwell House to escape the craziness of life. It was a much needed stay of peaceful relaxation. We stayed in the Harmony Hill room- what a beautiful treat! With the fire place, cozy king size bed, massive spa tub and private balcony, it was hard to leave. The owners, John and Dena, were extremely welcoming, inviting us into their home as old friends instead of strangers. Breakfast, oh that was a delight. Dena satisfied our palates with a fantastic spread of homemade bread, egg pizza, poached pears with raspberries, bacon, and plenty of coffee and juice. I wished I lived closer to invade the breakfast hour on a daily basis, We cannot wait to visit the Caldwell House the next time our journeys find us in the Hudson Valley.

Innkeeper Response
We are so happy that your stay was everything you had hoped for. You were wonderful guests and we look forward to hosting you here again soon!


IN LOVE!

5 on March 17, 2014

My girlfriend & I were celebrating an anniversary & decided to visit the Caldwell house it was our first time at a bed and breakfast and let's just say we loved it!! Very cozy the hosts are the sweetest people you could meet gave us a tour of the beautiful house. We fell in love with the room! Didn't want the night to end. Can't wait to go back in the spring/summer to enjoy it some more. Keep up the good work!

Innkeeper Response
We are so happy we were able to play a small part in making your anniversary a special one. Can't wait to see you here again!


Beautiful and charming

4.2 on February 10, 2014

A stunning and charming house. Fabulous food and hosts very attentive and lovely people

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your review. We really appreciate your kind remarks!


Great find!!!!!

5 on February 10, 2014

My girlfriend and I were looking for a getaway and needed to recharge batteries. Dena, John & The Caldwell House were the perfect solution. Our hosts were amazing! Our room was amazing! Our cookies were amazing! Breakfast was perfection!!! We look forward to going back and spending more than one night with them. We feel like we have a great place to visit with new made friends and bring our old ones with us.

Innkeeper Response
We, too, look forward to your return! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Caldwell House and that you were able to get the rest you deserved. Until we see you again, all the best!


Excellent

4.6 on January 05, 2014

My wife, infant daughter and I had a wonderful (short) visit to the Caldwell House. John and Dena were excellent, responsive hosts. We stayed in the brand new Freedom Road room, which is separate from the main house and so was perfect for a family with a baby (hard to find at B&Bs). Highly recommended.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks so much. We enjoyed hosting you very much. We do hope you will come see us again soon!


Five Stars for John and Dena!

5 on January 04, 2014

This past New Years, I stayed at the Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast. Although I have been a guest several times in the past, I figured it was time to write a review. John and Dena are spectacular hosts and their professionalism, and welcoming personalities truly made my stay even more remarkable. When I arrived, they brought me throughout the main house of the B&B to give me a tour to see the new (and beautiful I might add) renovations! The room I stayed in, "Tressel", had the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in, I was amazed! The room, bedding, and bathroom were especially clean. The housekeeping staff, whom I also met, were very friendly and accomodating. I also find it unique how every room had an iPad in it. It made making plans for new years, finding restaurants, and figuring out directions easy when I was relaxing before bed. The amazing hospitality, Dena's decadent food, and the unparalleled service and comfort John, Dena, and the staff of the Caldwell House provided are a few of the reasons why I tell all of my friends and family about it. John and Dena run an amazing business, and the success of the B&B is an outstanding reflection of their hard work, dedication, and passion for the industry and their guests. If you have not stayed there before, it really is essential for you are missing out on one of the greatest B&B experiences in the Hudson Valley! Excellent job John and Dena - keep up the great work!!


Warm, Welcoming and Comfortable

5 on January 03, 2014

After much searching for B&Bs in the area, we decided to stay at the Caldwell House for a winter getaway. Let me tell you, this gorgeous house offers old world charm with new world amenities. The remote control fireplace and jacuzzi tub combined with the wood floors, history and detailed craftsmanship throughout the house gave us a great mix of coziness and luxury. Dena's breakfasts are phenomenal and John's stories are expertly told around the table. The location was perfect for the wine trail and after a day on the trail we had a hilarious game of scrabble in the game room. The bed was extremely comfortable as was the rest of our stay. I have been highly recommending the Caldwell House to anyone looking for a nice weekend getaway. Look no further, this is the place to stay! Looking forward to returning in the spring for hiking and outdoor activities. Thanks again John and Dena!

Innkeeper Response
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our recent upgrades - jacuzzi tub with fireplace seem to be just what needed! We are always humbled when people talk about us - it's our guests that make the Caldwell House such a special place. Please come see us again soon!


Outstanding B&B. Awesome hosts!

5 on December 05, 2013

Let me start by saying, when we arrive we were greeted by Dena and she immediately made us feel at home. She took us on a brief tour and showed us our room. We stayed in the Harmony Hill Room. The room was well decorated, loaded with technology, and simply comfortable. The bed was top quality. They even had a I-Pad in the room for our use. They thought of everything. Aside from the amenities of the room, the house itself was beautiful. We did not spend a lot of time in the common areas due to our our schedule. I can't say enough about John and Dena, the hosts. They made us feel like family. They made sure we were comfortable. The breakfasts were fabulous. Sunday we had Gingerbread French Toast. That alone was worth the trip! If you are thinking about staying in Orange County, NY, there is nothing to think about. Stay at the Caldwell House. If it is not available on the dates you want, change your dates. It is that good. Thank you for a wonderful weekend!

Innkeeper Response
Thanks so much for such a generous review. We take great pride in how the renovation of the Harmony Hill (and now the Carriage House) Rooms have turned out. It gives us great joy that you enjoyed your stay so much. Please come back again!


Better than I ever could possible expect!!

5 on November 26, 2013

Never stayed at a bed anb breakfast, but after staying at the Caldwell House I doubt I would ever stay anywhere else. John and Dena made us feel like family from the moment we met them. Pleasant, smiling, upbeat and could not do enough to make it feel like home. Our first night there and my girlfriend looked at me and said "I want to stay here forever"....was like a beautiful dream, but was reality! Dena's cooking alone will bring you back. Husband John and daughter Meghan were a class act. Place was spotless and beds will make you sleep for days. A cozy, beautiful experience. Beautiful grounds and surroundings. Without a doubt plan to return. Ang/Jo NNJ

Innkeeper Response
We are so happy to know that we have introduced you to the "B&B experience" and that you enjoyed it so. I think you grossly underestimate how much it is people like you guys that make the experience so special. The breakfast conversation we had on Sunday with everyone there was so wonderful. A whole group of people who, just hours before were strangers to each other, sitting there for nearly 3 hours talking, joking, sharing, and laughing. It was so nice - and so sad that it had to end! Please come see us again soon!


Just too Brief...

4.8 on November 10, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our stayed at the Caldwell House...our stay was just too brief. We arrived on Friday evening much later than we had planned and after ordering dinner from one of the nearby eateries, we retired to our room. We were able to stay over at the Carriage House, which had just opened. Our room was beautiful and very comfortable. We were up early the next morning and after breakfast, headed out to the game at West Point. So unfortunately, ee didn't get to spend much time at the Bed & Breakfast or explore the surrounding area. We plan to go back as soon as we can to spend more time. John and Dena are excellent host.

Innkeeper Response
We sure do hope you will come back soon to visit us!! It's kinda funny, I can't tell you how many people come up to a West Point game or to visit a cadat only to tell us "geez, we didn't realize there was so much to do around here" or "it sure is pretty up here, we need to come back for a longer stay!" Until we see you again, take good care!


Perfect getaway

4.8 on November 06, 2013

Caldwell house bed and breakfast provided the perfect romantic getaway. It allowed for the privacy of a hotel with the calmness of the countryside. It is just 1.5-2 hours outside of NYC, and extremely easy to get to, but feels as though it's a world away. John and Dena are incredibly hospitable and always willing to help in any way necessary. I would highly recommend the caldwell house bed and breakfast to anyone who wants to spend a few nights away.

Innkeeper Response
We really appreciate you taking the time to post such a nice review. Thank you so much and please come see us again, soon!


What a fabulous way to arrive in the USA

4.4 on October 26, 2013

Tired, jet lagged, convincing teenage girls (English fans of many US shows) that it's a good idea to see a little bit of real America before doing New York...just the most lovely welcome with hot drinks and cookies, gorgeously warm rooms on a cold October night and a delicious breakfast.


Wonderful

5 on October 25, 2013

Little did I know, when we arrived at the Caldwell House, that all of the stress that I had dealt with would dissipate like a vapor. The Finnerans' effervescent joy washed all of the cares away. The accommodations were perfect and the food scrumptious. Though there is much to do nearby, it was a delight just to be able to relax. The beautiful grounds, fireplace, movies, tablet and the jacuzzi, created a blend of the antiques with the state of the art. If you need somewhere you can relax and be refreshed, the Caldwell House is the place for you. Try it, you'll LOVE it!!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for such kind remarks. We've worked hard to blend the old with the new to give guests a special experience. Please come see us again, soon! PS. Can we hire you to run our PR Dept? :-)


great stay

5 on October 23, 2013

The Caldwell House was great. The room was comfortable, well appointed and romantic. Dena, John and their family were welcoming, knowledgeable and gracious without being obtrusive. The local area had good offerings for casual dining and site seeing. Overall wonderful experience.


Excellent Bed and Breakfast

4.8 on October 17, 2013

My wife and I spent our first wedding anniversary at the Caldwell House and could not have been happier with our experience. We loved it! John and Dena were incredibly accommodating during our stay, and even drove us to and from their B&B to the train station. They also gave my wife and I two champagne glasses to help celebrate our anniversary. Our room was very well appointed, and included some nice modern touches such as a flat screen TV, Netflix and iPad. I'd definitely recommend the Caldwell House to anyone looking for a scenic getaway and very hospitable innkeepers.

Innkeeper Response
We are so happy we could play a part in making your 1st Anniversary a special one. Hope you'll be back every year to celebrate!


Wonderful Wedding Night.

4.8 on October 16, 2013

We recently had the great pleasure of spending two wonderful nights at the Caldwell House as the first leg of our honeymoon. The owners, Dena and John are an absolute pleasure. Warm, inviting and interesting. The room was exceptionally clean and filled with charm and comfort. The food, prepared by Dena, defies description. Every single item she prepared was quite simply the best we've ever had. This is a one of the finest most professionally run B & B's at which we've ever had the pleasure to stay.

Innkeeper Response
How nice of you to share such nice comments! We hope you'll make your wedding anniversary an annual event here at the Caldwell House!


Ahhhh!!!!

5 on October 15, 2013

My husband, son and daughter-in-law spent a wonderful weekend at the Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast not long ago. We all enjoyed a football game on Saturday and afterward they found other things to do while I relaxed the remainder of the time. I enjoyed sitting outside on the balcony overlooking the beautiful grounds. The crisp air was relaxing, but the best relaxation was found inside. Time in the jacuzzi followed by a good book next to the fireplace, was heavenly. A great night's sleep capped off by a delightful breakfast...creme brulee french toast?!!!! I got into my car very stressed and overwhelmed on Friday and returned relaxed and energized on Sunday evening. In the world where so much is demanded, we all have to find somewhere to get the wind back into our sails. I have found such a place. Many, many thanks to the Finnerans for creating such a wonderful experience for folks like me!!! I can't wait to return.

Innkeeper Response
Our motto, for people coming from NYC, is "we're only 60 minutes but 200 years away". Sounds like we were able to accomplish that for you! Please come see us again!


Fabulous evening at Caldwell House

4.2 on October 10, 2013

Hosts were warm, friendly and funny. Public rooms welcoming and bedroom was terrific, well-appointed, and included the surprising addition of a tablet for internet browsing. Breakfast was outstanding quality - just more than this person could consume. I would definitely return!

Innkeeper Response
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come see us again, soon!


What a relaxing accommodation.

5 on September 23, 2013

We arrived after dinner and spent the rest of the evening relaxing in front of the TV. Early the next morning, we fixed ourselves coffee and sat on the front porch, watching the sun touch the creek and light up the trees. John's company and Dena's breakfast were delightful, as was the company of the other guests staying in the house. I would stay there again.

Innkeeper Response
Isn't the front porch in the morning special??!! The Caldwells knew exactly what they were doing when they pointed the house in that direction. Early morning is such a special time watching mother nature wake up along the creek. Looking forward to seeing you again soon!


Relax in peace and comfort by going back in time with today's technology

4.4 on September 02, 2013

We searched and searched for the perfect B&B, one that would be clean, provide our own bathroom, a/c, a TV and have Internet, yet have all the original charm of a "real B&B" in a beautiful scenic area that had lots to do in the surrounding area, and we found our paradise here. From the moment we walked in the door, until the moment we left, we felt like royalty, yet we were also very comfortable. Dena and John (the owners) welcomed us, they made sure that they honored any all food allergies or whatever we did or not eat for whatever reason. By the way, Dean is an AMAZING cook. The entire B&B was beautiful, filled with everything that one could imagine or need, day or night. There are games, snacks, and beverages available whenever one desires. We did not want to leave. As soon as we got home, we contacted our friends, and are planning a weekend to go back with them.

Innkeeper Response
We are so happy that your search for the "perfect B&B" led you to us! We try very hard to make everyone's experience a special one and we are gland we could do so for you. Can't wait to see you and your friends - and we'll have some pleasant surprises for you with some of the new work we've been doing around here.


Caldwell House - a great B&B in small town NY

5 on September 01, 2013

We only spent one night at the Caldwell House, but as we left, we wished we had more time to spend there. Dena and John are wonderful hosts, welcoming us with warmth upon arrival and spending quite a lot of time telling us the house’s history, talking about renovations they had made and making recommendations for local activities and food options. The house itself is circa 1800 and is full of interesting materials and antiques. John and Dena keep it immaculate and the guest rooms are all large, comfortable, private, quiet and have private, individual bathrooms. If you must remain connected, they have wifi and excellent TV options (including a flat screen) in each room, but truth be known, we didn’t use any of that. We were just enjoying the peace and quiet, the comfort of the bed and sitting areas and the adventure of staying in an amazing old building. Loughran’s next door proved to be a very good place for dinner and our fellow guests also had good things to say about Bella Luna just down the road. Dena’s breakfast in the morning was outstanding and sent us all off into the day pampered and smiling. In all, Caldwell House is an excellent choice for spending a night or much longer and Dena and John will make sure you are comfortable, happy and well taken care of. [August 2013]

Innkeeper Response
We wish you could have spent more time, too. We so enjoyed having you and your wonderful company. Please come see us again soon!


A warm and weloming environment

5 on August 25, 2013

The accomondations were wonderful. The hosts were warm and friendly and made us feel right at home. Looking forward to going back

Innkeeper Response
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back and visit us again soon! John and Dena


Our recent stay at Caldwell House August 2013

4.6 on August 23, 2013

My husband & I spent 3 nights at Caldwell house and enjoyed our stay very much. We were greeted warmly by John & Dena and then shown to our beautiful room. The bed was very comfortable, nice linens and all the comforts of home. Breakfast was wonderful and very very filling! We took several day trips and found it an easy drive to West Point and Hyde Park. We intend to return with friends some day!

Innkeeper Response
We sincerely look forward to that return trip you are planning. It would be wonderful to have you as guests again! John and Dena


Quick But Satisfying Stay

4.4 on August 19, 2013

We chose to stay at Caldwell House the night before the West Point Triathlon instead of one of the local hotels in Newburg. We realized we wouldn't have a lot of time to enjoy the house because of all the things we had planned to do in the area, but we decided to stay there anyway because we knew it would be a great way to relax before the triathlon. We're certainly glad we made the decision! We arrived Saturday afternoon and received a warm welcome from John, who gave us a short tour of the house before taking us to our room. When we explained that we needed to leave for the triathlon by 7:00 am and would miss breakfast, he immediately asked Dena what could be done to help us out. She quickly told us that she would make a parfait with yogurt, fruit and granola and leave it in the refrigerator. John then showed us where to store the bike for the night and printed out a map with directions to the start of the triathlon. Our short stay was definitely off to a great start! Sunday morning brought and early start for us. (Thank goodness there was coffee in the parlor!) When we went to the kitchen to get our breakfast, we found a goody bag in the refrigerator with two generous servings of parfait, along with brownies, water and bananas. Needless to say, we wished we were going to be around for Dena's renowned breakfast that we'd read about, but her goody bag was a pleasant surprise and definitely filled us up! We hope to travel to the lower Hudson Valley more in the future and will definitely consider staying with John and Dena again...if nothing else than to enjoy that breakfast we missed out on this time!


BEST ESCAPE!!!

5 on August 17, 2013

I surprised my boyfriend with a stay at the beautiful, picturesque Calwell House for his birthday and it couldn't have been more perfect! The house is absolutely gorgeous, home-y, and immaculate. Breakfast was huge and so delicious! Unfortunately, John was out of town during our stay, but Dena was amazing. She was so warm and accommodating, ensuring every detail of our stay was truly unforgettable! We will be back!

Innkeeper Response
We are so happy that your "birthday treat" was all you had hoped for. Now it's his turn to treat you for your birthday back here!! :-)


Friendly and enjoyable!!

4.4 on August 04, 2013

We were traveling for pleasure and this was a wonderful place to say and relax.


Night Away

4.8 on July 30, 2013

My husband and I needed a night away from the kids. John and Deena were fabulous hosts. They made us feel like it was our home too. The house is decorated beautifully. The room we stayed in (Trestle) was nice too. By the way, Deena makes the best french toast ever!!! She was kind enough to share the recipe. ;) You will have a great, relaxing stay.

Innkeeper Response
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at the Caldwell House. It was our pleasure to serve you! Please come see us again soon,


Charming Bed & Breakfast

4.8 on July 22, 2013

Great stay. Had lunch at the pub around the corner. Visited the winery. Awesome weekend getaway.


Birthday Getaway

4.4 on July 22, 2013

Staying at Caldwell House B&B was part of a weekend birthday celebration that I planned for my partner. We were very pleased with our room (Trestle) and breakfast was delicious! Dena and John welcomed us like old friends. We will definitely stay here again on our next visit to the Hudson Valley.

Innkeeper Response
We are really looking forward to having you visit us again soon and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your birthday weekend. All the best and please keep in touch!


Memorable Getaway

5 on July 07, 2013

My husband and I recently visited Orange County, New York for a much needed getaway. After researching the local B&B's, we decided on Caldwell House. Even before arriving, I had communication with Dena and John regarding things to do in the area, especially 4th of July activities. They immediately looked into the local celebrations and advised us well. Our stay was nothing short of wonderful. The home is warm and welcoming and the room was very comfortable. Breakfast was outstanding, and Dena shared several recipes with me that I certainly plan to try at home. She was very accommodating when we asked for an earlier breakfast time for us due to medical reasons. It was so nice to have early morning conversations with John and Dena at breakfast and feel like we have made new friends. We can see why The Caldwell House has received awards for excellence for B&B's and would love to return again soon.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks so much for such a kind review! We sincerely believe that our success with the Caldwell House has as much to do with the wonderful guests that stay with us as it does with anything we do. It is so easy to be hospitable with the guests are as wonderful as you were. We, too, felt like we made new friends and hope that we will see you again soon. Until then, all the best!


Great b & b

5 on July 06, 2013

We went for a short get away trip. Great B & B! Dena and John were super kind, breakfast was delicious, room was clean & charming, and very relaxing. There were bath robes ready, cute hand knitted wash clothes and shampoo / conditioner / shower gel ( it would have been nicer if these were labeled) John even printed out google map direction for our next destination !! We would defiantly go back.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks! We hope that you will get to stay with us longer next time. It was a pleasure to host you. Also, thanks for the suggestion about labeling the dispensers. We've been meaning to do that! Until next time, take care.


A great stay!

4.4 on July 05, 2013

We stayed one night at Caldwell House on our way to Maine. Room and service were great, exceeded only by the warm and personal attention from hosts Dena and John. We will be back to see more of the Hudson River Valley, and we intend to bring two other couples along next time. Thanks Dena for your sparkling hospitality.


Beautiful and Friendly Caldwell House

4.8 on July 02, 2013

Loved staying at The Caldwell House for 3 nights. John and Dena are great hosts, everything was immaculate and the breakfasts were out of this world. Would definitely recommend to friends and family. Thanks, Michele and John


A Lovely B&B

5 on June 23, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at Caldwell House recently. John and Dena and their family were extremely gracious hosts and went out of their way to make sure we felt well-rested and comfortable. The rooms were charming, clean and nicely decorated. From our quiet time reading on the beautiful porch to enjoying the delicious breakfasts with our hosts, everything was just lovely. Please visit this beautiful B&B. Thanks to John and Dena for a great few days!


Coming Back Next Year!

4.8 on June 22, 2013

I took my husband here for his 30th birthday as a surprise. John and Dena were AMAZING and the B&B was absolute perfection! They added special touches to our stay to make sure my husband had the best birthday ever. And the breakfast?! DELICIOUS! We can't wait to go back!


Our New Wonderful Tradition

5 on June 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Caldwell House, in the Catherine Caldwell Suite for our June 2012 wedding. In searching the area for B&B's for this very important occasion, we visited about 3 or 4 local inns, and had tours with each of the owners. After meeting with John and Dena Finneran, owners of the Caldwell House, and seeing their gorgeous property and beautifully apportioned guestrooms, complete with full historical décor and items, as well as incorporating high-end modern amenities, we knew immediately that we had found the perfect location for our first night as husband and wife. We just completed our 1-year anniversary stay at the Caldwell House, and it was like returning home. We were looking forward to coming back, just as much to see our dear new friends, as to enjoy the lovely house, great front porch and amazingly comfortable four-poster bed! After the business surrounding our wedding weekend, we made sure this time to work time into our two-day trip to just relax and enjoy this lovely inn. There are many beautiful places to stay in the Hudson Valley, but it is the genuine warmth and hospitality that John and Dena provide, that makes the Caldwell House the best choice, with no comparison. This is even before I mention Dena's breakfast in the morning, which is just unbeatable, and ALWAYS a highlight- my husband is a Chef, and is continually impressed. We will be back each year on our wedding anniversary, without a doubt, and whenever we can get away in between!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much! As we round out our second year of ownership, we are now starting to develop our own set of traditions here. You were one of our first newlywed couples and now you are part of an anniversary tradition. We can't begin to tell you how happy it makes us feel to play some small part in making those really important days in your lives something special. We'd say "until next year" but that would be too long. Come see us again soon!


Good! Good! Good!

4.8 on June 16, 2013

John and Dena were sunny hosts, and ordered improved weather for my wife and me. We will tell all family and friends about our very favorable experience at Caldwell House.

Innkeeper Response
Ssshhh!!! You were not supposed to tell anyone that we oderred up some good weather for you - now everyone is gonna want it!!! :-) Seriously, we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we will get to see you again soon. Until then, all the best to you.


Must Visit!

5 on June 11, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our most recent stay at the Caldwell House B&B (we stay there when we visit family in the area). While I haven’t written a review before, I felt compelled to do so after our most recent stay. We simply LOVE the place and the hosts, Dena and John are wonderful. Each time we stay there seems to be something new about the B&B. We first stayed there not long after Dena and John took over. The changes they have made to the House are well thought out. They have turned what was already an extremely nice B&B into a world class Inn. They have added all sorts of modern conveniences (iPads, wall mounted flat screen TVs, Blu-ray players that include Netflix) while maintaining the charm of a beautiful 200 year old home. They are nearly done with the construction on a new room, which we cannot wait to stay in. What they have already done (they’ve redone front porch with beautiful wood, added ceiling fans and new furniture, a beautiful new stone patio on the side of the house, and tons of new landscaping) and plan to do to the grounds is amazing. They really pay attention to the details! Oh yeah, and then there is breakfast. I don’t think we have ever had the same meal twice despite having spent at least 10 nights there. It is all so delicious and the portions are quite generous. It never seems to matter whether the house is packed or we are the only couple there, somehow Dena and John make you feel special. The Caldwell House has gone from being a B&B that happened to be close to our family to a place we can’t wait to go back to –and, oh yeah, maybe we will visit our family, too!

Innkeeper Response
Wow, where do we begin to thank you? We've been trying real hard to balance all the improvements we've made and are planning to make with a desire to maintain the beauty of the original house. It is feedback from wonderful guests like you that have been such a help to us. We are so happy you found the Caldwell House while visiting your family and are looking forward to your next visit. We'll have a few new surprises in store for you!!


Excellent Stay!

5 on June 03, 2013

My wife and I spent our 9th Anniversary 5/29/13 at the Caldwell House. I checked the reviews out as I always do when staying somewhere and the great reviews I saw online were accurate. Deena and John were wonderful, and they weren't faking it. They were very accommodating, the room was very nice and clean. They had snacks for you, coffee and water. The breakfast was scrumptious.. I highly recommend the Caldwell House. Mike

Innkeeper Response
While we hope to make every guest's stay a great one, we are especially happy when we can make a special occasion getaway a memorable one for our guests! Please think us us for all your future anniversary getaways (and any other time, too :-) All the best,


The Parting Glass Band and the Caldwell House

5 on May 21, 2013

Our Band were guests at the Caldwell House last Thursday evening. We had played at Jim Loughran's Irish Pub (right next door) and were given a night of pure delight at the Caldwell House. The 4 poster bed was beautiful and the the shower was really nice ( even for a one legged guy!) Breakfast was to die for. Our hosts made us feel at home and really cared about us. I just wish we could have stayed all weekend. What a get-a-way!

Innkeeper Response
No, thank you!!! Your band provides so much pleasure for the customers at Loughran's and our guests rave about Thursday night "Irish Music Nite" at the pub. We look forward to seeing you this Thursday and hope you can stay with us again.


Caldwell House

4.0 on May 15, 2013

My wife and I spent a night this past weekend and enjoyed Caldwell House immensely. John and Dena were great hosts. Breakfast was awesome - and we enjoyed it with a great group of other guests. There is some construction now that will be completed soon but I must say it had no impact on the experience. We will return!

Innkeeper Response
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us! And thank you for putting up with the day time noise the construction guys were making. The good news is - they are done!!! We'll be posting pictures on our Facebook site so please wander over there and have a look. We hope to see you again in the very near future.


Lovely weekend

4.6 on April 29, 2013

I was in the city for work and needed a bit of R&R. Took the train and was met at the station by John. John and Dena went out of their way to be helpful and welcoming. The house is beautiful and each room is well appointed. The breakfasts were delicious and Dena is very accommodating to one's tastes... the front porch sofas have the ability to sweep one away with a good book or the morning paper! I hope to be back!

Innkeeper Response
Thanks for your kind remarks and we are so happy we were able to give you the "R&R" that you needed and wanted. It was a pleasure to have you here and we hope to see you again soon!


45th wedding anniversary.

5 on April 24, 2013

My wife and I wanted to get away for the weekend for our 45th wedding anniversary. My niece who lives in the area suggested the Caldwell House. Both my wife and I were pleased with the accommodations. John and Dena were very pleasant and helpful. Here was an Ipad in the room which allowed us to find a restaurant nearby. Dawn cleaned our room and was also very pleasant. This was a nice experience for our anniversary and will make arrangements for a return visit in the near future..

Innkeeper Response
We are so happy that your wedding anniversary w/e was special and that we had to the chance to play a small part in making it so. Congratulations on the first 45 years and here's to 45 more! John and Dena


Perfect weekend

5 on April 17, 2013

We had a reunion with college friends at Caldwell House and couldn't have found a more perfect setting. The house is lovely, the food delicious, and hosts, John, Dena, and Meagan, warm and welcoming. This was the bed and breakfast experience we've heard about, but had not found until now. Hoping to spend another weekend soon!

Innkeeper Response
You failed to mention that it was not just ANY college reunion, it was a VILLANOVA reunion!!! :-) We were so honored that you chose us for such an occasion and we hope that the Caldwell House will be your "reunion home" for many years to come! Go 'Cats!


A Beautiful Wedding Weekend

5 on April 09, 2013

Our daughter was getting married at the local Brotherhood Winery. We stayed at the Caldwell House B&B for the night of the wedding. Dena & John allowed us to come early so the bride, bridal party, my husband & myself could get dressed and ready for the wedding. The photographer came and took beautiful pictures inside and out. The bride & groom stayed the night as well and their room was decorated beautifully with rose petals on the bed and a nice bottle of champagne so they could toast their beautiful day. We are looking forward to going back to enjoy Dena & John's hospitality again!

Innkeeper Response
We are so grateful that you chose our Inn for your most special of occasions. Alison was simply beautiful and radiant and the entire wedding party was a real treat to be around. We especially want to thank the parents of the bride - Joe and Carol - for their absolute "grace under pressure". It was a beautiful day and made even more memorable for us by the wonderful family and bridal party. All the best to Alison and Gregory!


Lovely Anniversary get-away

4.8 on January 17, 2013

My Husband and I stayed overnight last weekend to celebrate our anniversary. The hospitality we recieved even before we actually came was amazing! They helped my husband plan a little "treat" for the room and greeted us at the door when we arrived. The room was lovely and the jacuzzi was bliss. This B&B was close to all the things we wanted to do and breakfast in the morning was yummy and the converation was engaging. I cannot wait to go back! P.S. I love that you can book one night instead of a two night minimum.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much! We are so happy we could be a small part in making your anniversary so special. Please come back and see us again!


Wonderful night in Hudson Valley!

4.0 on January 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed for only one night, but the night at Caldwell House was what we needed to get away from our crazy daily lives! Very quiet and quaint home, loved the coffee and goodies in the sitting room. Dina & John were great hosts, and made us feel very welcome and the breakfast was wonderful!

Innkeeper Response
Thanks so much for your kind words. We are so happy that we were able to provide a tiny bit of rest and relaxation for you. We certainly hope you will come see us again real soon!


Exceptional

5 on December 31, 2012

I can't say enough about Caldwell House. John and Dena are gracious hosts. The first two days we had them all to ourselves and it felt like staying with family. Dena's culinary skills are extraordinary. The atmosphere, history, setting and appointments make Caldwell House a bucket list worthy experience. If you don't go before you die, don't die. Frank and Becky Forthun

Innkeeper Response
Frank and Becky, Thanks so much for such a nice review! We look forward to many more of your stays with us. Happy New Year, John and Dena


Superb

5 on December 17, 2012

Fabulous bread and breakfast, convenient to New York. Can't say enough about how wonderful the hosts are and what a beautiful location. Highly recommended

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come see us again soon!!


Great Weekend

5 on December 02, 2012

Me and my mate spent the weekend at the Caldwell House...John and Dena were fabulous hosts. The breakfasts were delicious! We had total privacy when we wanted it, but had engaging conversation at breakfast, as well. It was close to the wineries and Woodbury Commons. We spent the day visiting those two places. Our room was cozy, comfortable and intimate. Loved the decor and the little "touches" that were all around the house. I would recommend the Caldwell House to anyone wanting to relax, or just spend some "down" time away. Thanks again John and Dena for everything! Rita and Frank

Innkeeper Response
Rita and Frank, What a lovely note! Thank you so much for such kind remarks. We miss our breakfast time conversation, too. Don't forget to come back for that "girls' weekend away"!! :-)


The stuff that memories are made of...

5 on November 27, 2012

I don't know why I (we) even stay in hotels. B&Bs are the way to go, and our stay at Caldwell House reminded me of that. It wasn't a hotel - it was a memory. We came back east from Cali to attend my sister's wedding. There are other B&Bs, but my brother drove by this house every day and he said he knew it would be just the kind of place I would like. My brother obviously knows me well, because he couldn't have been more right. We stayed in the Catherine Caldwell Room where there is a fab jacuzzi tub and equally fab 4 poster bed with the most comfortable linens (note this fact if you plan on getting up early - that bed will call you back for a few minutes more). Every morning you are awakened by the smells of something indulgent wafting from the kitchen. John and Dena couldn't be more gracious. It was like staying with really good friends that just happen to have this beautiful historic home. It's the kind of house you (I) can imagine waking up in on Christmas Morning (with Dena miraculously appearing from the kitchen with something sinful to eat). I never missed a hotel room, but I honestly miss Caldwell House and it's proprietors. I console myself with the wonderful memory and the knowledge that I have a great place to stay when I visit again.

Innkeeper Response
Patrice & FC, It is sooooo nice of you to not only honor us with such a wonderful review. Please let your brother know, also, that we appreciate him thinking of and recommending us. All the best to you during this wonderful holiday season!


Rest and Recreation

5 on October 29, 2012

My husband and I spent four nights at this delightful B&B. The owners, Dena and John, directed us to the nicest Irish Pub, where we had the largest most scrumptious standing rib, and to the many local attractions. Dena makes a delicious breakfast - different each morning. Really a wonderful place - would highly recommend.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for such a kind review. We are so happy we could make your stay with us all that you had hoped for! Please come see us again.


The Best Ever Place to Stay

5 on October 27, 2012

We had won a two night stay at The Caldwell House in a Silent Auction bid for charity. It was one of the best buys I had ever purchased. The bucolic setting, the history of the place and its former inhabitants, the comfortable rooms and quaint location all made it one of the nicest stays for a three day get away. The owners, Dena and John, are like family and her breakfasts are to die for. Homemade everything.. We will stay there everytime we are in the area without a doubt. Relaxation and comfort await anyone there.


Great B & B

4.8 on October 09, 2012

My husband and I greatly enjoyed our stay at the Caldwell House. The owners are extremely friendly and accomodating. Our room was very comfortable and nicely decorated. The breakfasts were delicious. We would stay here again.

Innkeeper Response
Please do come visit again. We really enjoyed having you stay with us!


Great Stay

5 on October 08, 2012

Stayed here for the night. Great bathtub. Just an awesome place.

Innkeeper Response
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come see us again!


Life's Hidden Treasure

5 on October 08, 2012

As an old road warrior, I have never had the opportunity to travel to the Hudson River Valley. It is truly my loss. I can now understand why the early settlers decided to stay. We had the opportunity to tour and experience a football game at West Point. I now understand how SI rated the game experience as the best in the country. We had a wonderful time with our engaging hosts, John and Dena. Take the time to enjoy life here!

Innkeeper Response
We are so happy you enjoyed your Hudson Valley experience as much as you did. It is truly one of the most beautiful spots on earth this time of the year! Please come see us again soon.


Great Service and Delicious Breakfast!

5 on September 27, 2012

The Caldwell House is a gem in the town of Salisbury Mills. The owners Dena and John were so welcoming and made me feel right at home. Everything was as advertised, and it was a lot more comfortable than some bed and breakfasts I've stayed at in the past. The breakfast was amazing! Dena is a great cook and was able to create special "dairy-free" raspberry crepes to accommodate my lactose intolerance. They were delicious and I was thrilled to be able to have the real "bed and breakfast" experience. There is a train station only a few minutes away that takes you right into the city, so you can get a full experience of New York. I will definitely stay here again. Thank you for the fantastic trip!

Innkeeper Response
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! We know it is hard to beat the Southern CA weather but it seems you found the Hudson Valley to be much to your liking. Please come see us again real soon!


"Wonderful Vacation"

5 on September 24, 2012

Dear Deena, John and Megan, Thank you for adding a wonderful touch to our vacation! We loved your home, talking with you and enjoying the area your Bed and Breakfast surrounds. We hope to someday get back to your part of the country. Have a wonderful family wedding!!!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for your kind remarks. We are so glad that you enjoyed yourself and we hope you will visit again soon!


A great get away!

5 on August 20, 2012

My husband and I recently returned from a wedding at West Point, and stayed at the Caldwell House for two nights. I have to echo all the other reviewers in saying that we very much enjoyed our stay! In my opinion, people make a place great, and John and Dena are simply great people! The house was beautiful, the room we stayed in was lovely and spotless! Dena is an excellent cook, and we enjoyed our breakfast each morning. I also appreciated grabbing a homemade cookie as a midnight snack! I loved the location too. We were a short drive to West Point, and it was easy to pop into Washingtonville for errands. The Irish Pub around the corner served great pub-style fare, had a nice beer selection, and was a two minute stroll to boot! No need to worry about driving. We highly recommend Caldwell House!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. We thoroughly enjoyed the time we got to spend with you and Matt. It would be great to have you as guests again - soon!!!


Enjoyed every minute of our stay at the Caldwell House Bed & Breakfast

5 on August 20, 2012

The Caldwell House is a beautiful bed & breakfast. Dena, John and Megan made us feel welcome and at home. A DELICIOUS three course breakfast is served every morning in the dining room. The rooms are very beautiful and very very clean. Enjoyed staying at the Caldwell House in Hudson Valley.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much. Please come see us again real soon!!!


Bachelorette Party Getaway

5 on August 19, 2012

John and Dena are fantastic hosts and promptly attended to our various needs. We stayed for my sister's bachelorette party. They set up wine tastings and a limo to take us to 4 of the best local wineries and set up a spa day at the local salon. They have fantastic recommendations for local restaurants as well. The rooms were spotless and charming. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway in a friendly atmosphere.

Innkeeper Response
This was our first Bachelorette Party and we were nervous about getting everything just right. We are sooooo happy that everything worked out as well as it did. Lets start planning anniversary parties??!! ;-)


A wonderful Place to stay

5 on August 06, 2012

The Caldwell House was one of the nicest places we have ever stayed in. From the moment we arrived Dena and John were warm, welcoming made us feel like guests in their home. The room was extremely well appointed and contained all amenities for our comfort and convenience. Beds were very comfortable and afforded us two great nights sleep. Breakfast was a wonderful treat that began with personalized menues and continued with delicious well prepared food and friendly service. Overall 5 stars from us. Richard& Linda

Innkeeper Response
Thank you. We so enjoyed having you stay with us. Please come see us again real soon!


A B&B that MUST be visited...Well deserved of Each Star

5 on August 06, 2012

This past weekend, my husband and I celebrated our third year anniversary at the Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast in Salisbury, NY. It was the first time that either of us had ever been to a bed and breakfast, yet it was an experience that we will never forget. It is a striking historic home. Besides the fact that the owners, Mama & Papa Finn, are some of the friendliest people that one could ever meet, the house and rooms were immaculate. Breakfast was PHENOMENAL…so much so that I had to stuff my purse with recipes! :) During our weekend stay, we visited West Point, Brotherhood Winery, and the Premium Outlets…which all very close points of interest. There was a full house. Being the last to leave, I was amazed to see that ALL of the other friendly guests were just as pleased as we were. Each guest left with a smile, offering extra praise. Whether or not you have been to a bed and breakfast on a previous occasion, visiting the Caldwell House is a MUST! It truly deserves each of the FIVE stars granted.

Innkeeper Response
Wow, can you come be our publicists??!! Thank you for such a nice review.


Wonderful get-away!

5 on August 02, 2012

My husband and I went to this lovely bed and breakfast for our wedding anniversary. John and Dena couldn't have been nicer. The inn was terrific and we had a wonderful time. I would highly recommend The Caldwell House!


A Great Place in the Hudson Valley

4.6 on August 01, 2012

Great place to stay. If you're in the area and need a place to stay, you won't be sorry

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much. Please come see us again real soon!!!


What a beautiful Inn to stay at while attending a wedding in the Hudson Valley!! I can't wait to come back in October!!

4.6 on July 23, 2012

My boyfriend and I really enjoyed our stay at the Caldwell House. The breakfast was delicious!!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much! Please come see us again soon.


Perfect Get Away

5 on June 10, 2012

The Caldwell House is an amazing place to stay while visiting West Point. During graduation, we were able to get away from the hustle and bustle and just relax! The drive to West Point was easy and short making it the perfect place to stay! I wish I had discovered it four years ago!

Innkeeper Response
Thanks so much for such a kind review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will come see us again soon. All the best - John and Dena


Gorgeous historic home & gracious hosts

5 on May 28, 2012

Immediately upon arrival, my boyfriend and I felt right at home at Caldwell. A beautiful 200 year-old home on acres of lush land, this home is charming inside and out, and the innkeepers John and Dena make it all the better. A DELICIOUS three-course breakfast is served every morning - this morning ours was mango gratin, freshly baked blueberry muffins, and a tasty hash brown quiche with fresh fruit salad. Dena always has freshly baked treats in the parlor, along with coffee, tea, and other beverages for guests' convenience. Though the local pub is literally right around the corner, everything else (winery, Storm King) is a mile or to away, and John and Dena offered multiple times to drive us wherever we needed to go. All in all, our experience here was enjoyable and we truly felt like we were at home away from home. Can't wait to come back!

Innkeeper Response
Dena and I are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. PLEASE do come see us again soon!


Outstanding Stay in the Hudson Valley

5 on April 29, 2012

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Caldwell House, in Salisbury Mills, NY. During a recent visit to NYC, we were looking for a place that was just a short car ride away, but yet would take us away from the hustle and bustle of the city. The Caldwell House fit the bill. The Caldwell House is a wonderfully restored home built in the early 1800's. Everything about the home has been carefully preserved....and on entry to the foyer, you feel like you've been transformed to a simpler and more relaxing time in history. Each guest room is more charming than the next, and all are uniquely decorated with period furnishings and their own private bath. Our favorite part about the home was the beautiful wraparound porch that overlooked the Caldwell House's wonderful property. While we were there, the flowers were all in bloom and the grounds were just gorgeous. The new owners, John and Dena are working tirelessly on the grounds to prepare them for the summer season. Breakfast at the Caldwell House consisted of a delicious multi-course meal prepared by our friendly hosts. We loved waking up to the smell of fresh bread and pastries. During the meal, John and Dena shared stories about the Caldwell family and provided a great historical perspective on the home and the surrounding area. During our stay, we visited West Point (just a short drive away) and some of the local wineries. Our favorite dinner was eaten at Laughran's Irish Pub, just around the corner from the inn. After grabbing a pint, it felt great to walk home at the end of the evening and relax in the parlor. The Caldwell House website accurately depicts all that the Inn and the area has to offer. However, nothing can capture the charm and history of this magical place in the Hudson Valley, short of staying for a night or two. We will definitely stay at the Caldwell House the next time we visit the NYC area.


A stay worth the adventure of finding it

5 on April 16, 2012

Dena and John were just great. We flew in via JFK airport and drove to Hudson valley using our GPS. Caldwell House is tucked away in the woods so getting there is an adventure of its own. We were originally set for 2 nights but ended up staying a 3rd night! The house is truly a house of history and character. Thanks, John, for making the history of the place and the surrounding truly come alive. I enjoyed our breakfast conversations about politics and other stuff. Dena, you really spoilt us with your decadent breakfast feast. Appreciated you waking up earlier to bake such goodies for us. My mouth waters when I think of those waffles, cinnamon rolls etc. Most of all, thanks for accommodating our baby Dawn. She certainly enjoyed your company! Thanks for entertaining her and helping us with our many requests ranging from using the washing machine to finding a bathtub for our girl!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for such a kind review! We enjoyed having you here tremendously and miss your precious little daughter's smile so much. It brightened every morning for us! We hope your tour of US Hospitals was successful and that you will come back to practice nearby. Please stop by and see us again!


A wonderful place to stay

4.8 on April 07, 2012

I had a truly lovely experience at Caldwell House. It was the perfect balance of peace & quiet and enjoyable conversation. Not to mention food that I'll be thinking about wistfully with every bite of plain tuna sandwich or Chinese takeout I eat for the next few weeks! If I know anyone heading up to the area, I will most certainly point them in your direction.


John....you're fired!??!!??

5 on February 19, 2012

One of our favorite things to do is B&B hunting.....it is always fun to search for new places to stay close to NYC. But it seems like that may not happen as often any more, as we came upon an awesome place and foresee returning very soon and hopefully often!! As soon as we walked through the door of the Caldwell House we immediately felt at home. John and Dena are the most gracious hosts. The conversation was spirited, the history of the area is fascinating, the Jacuzzi room was wonderful, and breakfast was a treat! Just don't wait for John to get you coffee!?.......... It was great weekend, Thanks, Al and Loretta

Innkeeper Response
Oh great, you just had to remind Dena !! ;-) She has had me running sprints between the coffee pot and the table ever since you left!! Seriously, thanks for the wonderful review. We can't wait to see you again. It was so much fun sitting around and chatting with you guys the other day. It is so good to hear that your couple of days away was all you had hoped it would be. All the best, John and Dena


A lovely house

4.0 on January 05, 2012

Charming and cosy, friendly host and great breakfast, a prefect retreat for a visit into beautiful Hudson Valley. Highly recommended.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back soon!


Wonderful getaway!

5 on December 21, 2011

Dena and John are delightful hosts, and the Caldwell House is a gem! I wish we could have stayed longer, they made us feel welcome and went above and beyond to answer questions we had before we arrived and were thorough in providing information once we got there. In addition to being a wonderful, charming place, it exceeded our expectations as a GLBT-friendly establishment.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for such a kind review. While we have only owned the Caldwell House for a short time, we hope that the pride we have in owning it and the determination we have to make it a success show through. As for being friendly, well all we can say is that is that we have been blessed with so many wonderful guests who make it so easy to be. We love telling the Caldwell story, our story, and hearing our guests' stories. We wish you the best this holiday season and hope we see you again soon in the New Year!


Great Getaway

4.6 on November 28, 2011

My wife and I wanted a place to stay while doing our holiday shopping upstate. We could not have been happier with the Caldwell House! The room was great and the hosts were extremely friendly and very accomodating. The breakfast was the best I have had in years! I highly recommend.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for your kind words. We so enjoyed having you and hope you will come again soon!


Great Night's Stay

4.6 on November 04, 2011

Historic 200 year old home. Comfortable room. Great breakfast. Very cordial innkeepers. Good recommendation for dinner in a local town. Will stay there again if we are in the area.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay. We do hope you will come again very soon!


First Time

4.6 on October 31, 2011

Stayed up at Caldwell House for the first time this weekend with my fiance, and what a weekend it turned out to be! I got there late Fridaynight, but the new owners (John and Dena) were still at Caldwell and checked me in. I went over to the little Irish Pub that is practically on the property for a drink and some live music to finish off the night. We woke up Saturday morning for a delicious breakfast, and then we ventured out for the majority of the morning. Came back just in time to miss the huge snow storm. They ended up losing power, but there were enough flashlights there to light up the entire house, and they managed to cook some pasta since we couldn't get out for dinner. Was asleep very early on Saturday and woke up on Sunday and had another great breakfast. Not only was the snow starting to melt, but John had gone out and cleaned off our car for us early in the morning, without us knowing. All in all, it was a great weekend, and I will definitely come back. It was nice to see the old owners, Gene and Carmella, still there and to say goodbye. But I think the Caldwell House is in good hands with the new owners!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your very kind message! The snowstorm certainly added a touch to the w/e that none of us had expected! As for the service, well, we want everyone who stays with us to have a sense that they have been long time friends who have come to see us. The little things we do are what friends would do for friends! We do hope you will come see us again soon!


Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $195 - $375
  • Reviews (108) 4.8
  • Rooms 10
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8454962954
  • Fax 1-8454962924
  • Toll free 1-8002105565

Visit Website »

View details

Top