Central Park West Brownstone Reviews

Overall
3.6

View details

  • Guest room3.7
  • Services3.5
  • Value3.7
  • Cleanliness3.8
  • Dining3.3

Score Breakdown based on
26 Reviews

Write A Review

Awesome location!

3.8 on June 21, 2012

I stayed in 1R, one bedroom flat at 61 West 83rd with my wife and 2 daughters (early 20s). Minor negatives first: beds were not very comfortable and pillows were a bit flat. There were no dish cloths or dish towels and only a medicine cabinet mirror in the apartment. This is an apartment and not a bed and breakfast. All meals are on you. The room was clean and served us well. the location was sensational. Subway and bus stops were within two blocks. Restaurants of every variety lined Columbus and Amsterdam just a block and a block and a half away. Several 24 hour delis near by for nice late meal when the restaurants quit serving. Walking/running/biking in Central Park every morning was amazing. Sally at Cook travel was responsive before we arrived and we didn't need her after we arrived. We would certainly use them again and recommend this to anyone.


Recent Stay In New York December - January 11/12

4.0 on January 08, 2012

My family and I found this place to be a great location, quiet and out of the way. The subway is on 81st street and costs you 2.50 to ride directly into Times square taking about 5 minutes. Cab fares from times square $9.00 Max. It is close to the museum and central park (Strawberry fields and the dakota appartments for you beetles fans).This place is close to a few resturants which have breakfast lunch and Dinner. These places are nice and well priced. (If you like sushi Matsu is really nice). For those who want room service or to be waited on this is not for you this is a self contained unit..(Your in New York who wants to stay in their hotels anyway). We found the residents of the unit to be nice and helpful and the contact lady Sally was lovely and easy to deal with. I would and will be recommending this unit to all my friends and those who want to listen. Thanks a lot


Excellente

4.0 on September 29, 2011

The view was exccellet in front of the street. The place was very cozy. Near to the metros station. Really its a good alternative to stay en ny


Spent the night

4.0 on September 16, 2011

I spent one night at this bnb. We had the one bedroom with the outside patio. The place was clean and linens and towels freshly laundered. The sink in the bathroom was clogged up and I worked on it with a plunger with no luck. We didn't call management because it was so late. The patio was a disaster. It was overgrown and trash was strewn about. The furniture in the picture was no longer there. The rental agent told us to go to Central Park if we wanted to sit outside. I am allergic to mold and being on the lower level, the unit had mold. If you are allergic, I wouldn't stay there. My friend has no allergy and was not bothered. Overall, the unit we stayed in was a bit dated and could use some tlc, but was clean and convenient.


Great Location - Very old room

2.4 on September 14, 2011

I recently stayed for 5 days/4 nights. The location was great, lots of great shops and restaurants located near. Just 2 blocks from central park. However, I booked one location and received keys for a different location and was never told of the change of location. It was near impossible to get into our actual room as the lock didn't work and it took at least 5 minutes when coming/going to lock/unlock the door. The air conditioner was in the closet and had to be set up (it was a hot in NY!!). The shower did not work and we were forced to take an odd combination of a bath/shower. There were no additional towels/paper towels. The room came with two beds but there were only enough sheets/blankets for 1 bed. There are just a few fixes that could have been done to have made this a great stay!


Friendly hosts, awesome location!

4.2 on September 13, 2011

The place is classic New York. Beautiful brownstone on historic block. The buildings were built in the 1880's, Near Central Park West and museums. Easy to get anywhere, bus and subway are all near by. I came home late at nite and never felt in danger. There are sidewalk cafes up and down Columbus avenue filled with young people eating and having a good time. No breakfast but great delis all around. Laundry right next door. Clean and cozy, Jackie was great. We called and she was waiting outside the door for us.Travel agency around the corner took care of our every need. We had the best time and this sweet apartment contributed to our fun


Best Location Near Midtown and Museums

5 on September 13, 2011

I have stayed there a couple of times. The location can not be better.. No breakfast, but there are restaurants and delis which deliver less than a block away. Central Park location is a dream. Close to subway. Times Square is an 8 minute ride away... Met Museum is a short walk accross the park,, Museum of Natural History is two blocks away... This is a really safe area, tucked into a block were brownstones are selling for $10 million... The hotels were all charging $400 a nite for a small room. But the one bedroom I stayed in was more like a suite.. Separate kitchen and bathroom, one flight up... My little dog was welcome and it was all very easy to arrange. Sally at Cook Travel took care of everything and even told us where and how to park our car on the street for free.. Charming, clear apartments with a flat screen TV and everything we could want. I especially liked the fact that we could cook lunch and dinners. Will definately stay again.


An Unsatisfactory Experience

1.6 on September 04, 2011

The Innkeeper was difficult to contact before and after we arrived in New York. We would have been out on the street for several hours without an alternate location to wait for contact and room preparation. The room appeared to be under renovation (large paint cans/supplies stored in the closets) and the bathtub appeared dirty/mouldy awaiting caulking). No cleaning/service was provided during our stay, and a supply of towels/linens stored in our closet disappeared after the first day. We consider the experience unsatisfactory and would not consider another stay at this location.


Great location

3.4 on August 28, 2011

The best thing about staying in this Brownstone was that it felt like staying in a home not a cookie cutter tiny hotel room. The furnishing was not the most modern but it was very comfortable. We loved having a full kitchen including wine classes and high ceilings. The bed in the bedroom was comfortable but "THEY MUST REPLACE THE MATRESS ON THE PULLOUT COUCH!" Please throw away the extra bankets and buy some new ones. The comforter and blankets for the pull out bed were gross. There were plenty of extra towels but no extra sheets for the pullout bed. I emailed before we arrived and called for sheets but they never came. We would stay here again if they would just take care of the above items.


Nice place near the park

3.4 on August 17, 2011

We were happy with our stay at the Central Park West Brownstone. The rooms were good-sized and the bed was comfortable. It is very close to Central Park, we walked to the park every day that we were there. If you have a group of more than two you may want to bring extra towels and washcloths.


Great way of enjoying New York!

4.4 on July 09, 2011

This flat was a great place to say in New York. The living room was very good sized and the room was adequate. The location is ideal being near from Central Park and the Museum of Natural History as well as many nice restaurants for breakfast. We would definitely consider coming back!


A Gem in Manhattan!

5 on June 30, 2011

This is the third time I have stayed there.. Sally is wonderful... It's like our own private Pied a Tierre in Manhattan.. We love it... A hotel would charge $800 a nite for a suite like this. We always stay in the apartment with the large garden and we bring our small dog. We tried staying in a cheaper place uptown, but it was in Harlem, bad neighborhood, and hard to get around town. This place is near everything. one block and a half from the subway..We had breakfast delivered to our door from Andys Deli for $7 per person, eggs and bacon. The apartment is always clean, and Sally and Carlos are around the corner to help us with anything. The Location is fabulous... near Central Park and all the museums.. It's a private apartment... We have recommended it to many friends and they all love it too. I was a bit reluctant to write this because I am afraid too many people will find out about this gem in Manhattan.


New York 16-20 June 2011

4.8 on June 27, 2011

I had a great time and would like to specifically recognize Sally of Cook Travel. She was very accommodating and allowed us to store our luggage before check-in time.


odd beginning,happy ending

3.4 on June 19, 2011

Good will upgrade of the room unfortunately did not meet our intention ,but the innkeeper did her best to correct the situation. We could end our stay in NY happily.


Value for money

2.8 on June 16, 2011

Great location, nice area and easy walk to subway. Good size apartment but hadn't been cleaned properly, stuff from previous occupant still in drawers and half eaten food in fridge, cigarette butts on outside window sill.


Great apartment on the best location

5 on June 14, 2011

I recently stayed in 1br apt. for 4 nights. It was a cozy, well cleaned apartment, with wireless internet and cable TV. No breakfast, but we had it delivered every morning from Lenny's. It's a fantastic location and we could not have chosen a better place. A very safe area with easy access to transportation and close to good restaurants, bars etc. Also the neighbors were friendly and helpful. Staying at the apartment help make our visit to New York a fantastic and superb experience.


duped

1.8 on June 05, 2011

Apparently bed and breakfast means something different in NYC. The proprietor left a few pages in a folder stating welcome to the Central Park West Brownstone "Bed and I'll tell you where you can find your own breakfast". I picked up the keys from a doorman at a property several blocks away. It was clean but in disrepair.


Good deal, but some details missing

2.6 on May 27, 2011

The apartment was spacious and the kitchen was well-equipped. For us the location was ideal, but for those who want to do more downtown, a bit far. (Subway stop just 3 blocks away, though.) It was details that were an issue--no soap in the bathroom and the info said there was a hairdryer, but there was none. Also, it is really only 1 B--no breakfast. All that said, the price was right for a stay in NYC.


Great Location and Value for the money

4.2 on May 02, 2011

Separate apartment with kichen and private bathroom. Next to Central Park and all the museums.. No breakfast but plenty of restaurants within a 100 yards. All deliver. Had a great time.


Close To Everything I wanted To Do

4.0 on November 06, 2010

I chose this B&B because all the other ones seemed to be in iffy neighborhoods. I wanted to be near the subway, Midtown, and Museums. I was not disappointed. All the well located hotels were costing over $400 per nite, so I was pleasantly surprised by my charming studio apartment with a terrace. We cooked a little for my kids and ate out at 6 different restaurants nearby. Great neighborhood right off Central Park West. We walked everywhere from the apartment. Clean and neat. Sally was grest telling us about all the local attractions.. Would go back in a heartbeat.


Perfect Location

5 on November 05, 2010

I stayed there a few weeks ago and found the location perfect. Walk to all museums. My unit had a quiet little garden. There are ten great restaurants about a block away and they all deliver. No breakfast but Lenny's had bacon and eggs at my door every morning. Huge flat screen TV,,, Close to the park in a well furnished clearn one bedroom. Sally met us there and showed us how to park on the streets. She is wonderful.


Everything I expected

4.0 on November 01, 2010

I have stayed with Sally twice in two different rooms.. She if very friendly and always available. Location is fantastic. One room had an outdoor terrace looking out over back gardens. Another time, last august, I stayed in a one bedroom with a full garden out back which was great for my little dog and my smoking husband. It is near all the museums and half a block from Central Park. Two blocks from the subway, near restaurants. Not much breakfast but I was told that in the beginning. Both apartments were clean and charming. I will go back again and again.


poor service

2.0 on September 14, 2010

it is not a b&b, no breakfast included! it's just an appartment.the room is ok, the location great. BUT: everything became a problem: getting the key took 3 hours, they wanted us to pay 50 dollars to leave 2 suitcases for a couple of hours and the person who handels the appartment writes in a very rude way. so certainly the only time we went there!


not a bed and breakfast

1.4 on August 20, 2010

We stayed here for seven nights and although the location is good, the standard of accommodation is poor. This is not a B&B but is a studio apartment that is let out for short term stays. There is no-one on site to help and breakfast is not included. Our booking was mishandled, the host was rude and unhelpful and it is only because of the kindness of a neighbour and the owner of the property that we managed to get our room at all. The building entry is poorly ventilated and the room is basic. If we had realised what this rental was really like we would have booked a hotel which would have worked out at about the same price.


Perfect Location!

4.2 on June 24, 2010

The place was well kept, it was very clean and charming. Sally was extremely friendly and helpful. The location was perfect, it was near everything I needed, the subway, pubs, and good restaurants. I will surely come back in the future.


Best Location Near Central Park West

4.0 on June 24, 2010

Beautiful block,,, Best location in town. Friendly travel office around the corner manages the property.,. I stayed in a charming sun filled studio apartment with private bathroom and kitchen. Historic brownstone. Clean. Breakfast was not much, but Sally, the manager, is great.


Central Park West Brownstone

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2125951567

Visit Website »

View details

Top